View Full Version : TAR College A level
crapzzz
09-04-2006, 06:53 PM
hey, have anyone confirmed to study A level at TARC on starting from 8th of may?
lynnz
09-04-2006, 08:45 PM
me me.... :wink:
crapzzz
10-04-2006, 08:35 AM
^bump^
caterpiez
10-04-2006, 08:50 AM
maybe me too :wink:
crapzzz
10-04-2006, 10:05 AM
anyone staying hostel??
Larry
10-04-2006, 12:01 PM
Not no discourage you guys from studying in TAR, just have a look on the following link:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1272
crapzzz
10-04-2006, 12:28 PM
mhh..... hah.. tht one is utar not tarc... :lol:
vanessa
10-04-2006, 12:31 PM
Are the Alevels lecturers good? what about the environment? My dad keep insisting me to study Alevels in TARC but I want to go HELP! TOLONG~! TOLONG~!
crapzzz
10-04-2006, 12:36 PM
Join us thr la........ from wad i heard from my seniors, they said its not bad...... all lecturers are qualified and some are good...... of coz cannot banding with HELP..... the environment is ok.... quite a good place 2 study..... at least 2 me
lynnz
10-04-2006, 01:11 PM
ya...currently have few friends studying a levels there...it's ok la according to them..but of course cannot compare with HELP la like wat crapzzz said. was actually thinking of goin to HELP but transportation would be a problem for me. kinda far from where i live. have to wake up early just to catch the HELP bus! have few friends currently studying at HELP too..most of the students there are oso from upper class..
Pisanggoreng
10-04-2006, 07:05 PM
hey...i got the letter from TARc too.......and i got the full scholarships.
but i'm not sure whether to study there or not............i still can't decide between form 6 and private colleges....... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
crapzzz
10-04-2006, 08:37 PM
Just go TARC la...... i also got the full scholarship...... and thts y my dad insisted me 2 go thr....... and the remarks are not bad too, its ok i think......
well, i come to realising this: good students usually dun go to TARC..... and maybe thts y tarc's A lvl result is not tht good compared to other colleges. But then last year, got 1 student got very outstanding result in TARC and he got the Asian Freeman Scholarship, the best dunnoe wad subject in malaysia.................
Hope my life in TARC will be contented and memorable......... :wink:
Pisanggoreng
11-04-2006, 01:52 AM
of course it will be memorable....i went there and saw so many of my schoolmates and the place there is great!!! lots of public buses...therefore transportation will not be a problem... :D
they have nice basketball courts and a mini football padang :lol: haha...not bad....love it....
crapzzz
11-04-2006, 01:54 AM
so u r going 2 tar college?
Pisanggoreng
11-04-2006, 02:04 AM
haih....not sure...one more thing, tarc is too far from my house...i have to take a bus to the taman jaya lrt station....then take a long journey to wangsa maju...wow....far man... :( ....so most probably not ..hehe..btw,.lots of chinese there..
Just choose a college in PJ, it is not worth to commute such a distance on a daily basis.
Lexirphiw
06-03-2008, 08:37 PM
I wonder whether TARC A Level will be the same as other colleges or not. From what I've seen , most colleges' students will need to study from morning 8am till late evening , daily. However , when I look into TARC's A Level schedule , at most 6.5 hours per subject per week only. Could anyone clarify this? Thank you.
prince_J
07-03-2008, 03:44 PM
TARC is doing Cambridge A level. Not really, i took my A levels in INTI and i am not really that busy. (i didnt finish it tho...)
It varies from place to place and the subjects u are taking. For example, a bio/chem student might have longer classes compared to econs/law students, due to the lab and etc...
Well, do remember, the time in classes doesnt realy reflect the quality of the course! :)
hope it is helpful...
kaixin90
24-04-2008, 02:16 AM
Is the quality of education as good as that at taylors or help?
Are there many tarc a levels student who secure a scholarship and went abroad to oxbridge? just curious..
How about the lecturers? Are they experienced?
And the equipments?
If there's any seniors taking A levels at TARC, please enlighten me.
I can't afford taylors or help, since they cost a lot.
How about Inti? What are the number of students who get scholarships to study abroad every year?
Please help
25-04-2008, 01:39 AM
Is the quality of education as good as that at taylors or help?
Are there many tarc a levels student who secure a scholarship and went abroad to oxbridge? just curious..
How about the lecturers? Are they experienced?
And the equipments?
If there's any seniors taking A levels at TARC, please enlighten me.
I can't afford taylors or help, since they cost a lot.
How about Inti? What are the number of students who get scholarships to study abroad every year?
Please help
Their quality does differ but to what extend, no one can be to sure. I have not heard anyone from TARC going to Oxbridge to be honest.
chele
01-05-2008, 12:53 PM
Hey! i may not be much of a help for your enquries..but i am currently studying the cambridge A levels in TARC..
It's definitely affordable, and most of the lecturers have been teaching for many years.( and they're nice too! =p ) Futhermore you can be able to get the Merit scholarship if your spm result is good =) and hold on to it so long u maintain an average results each sem.
Each subject is taught for apporximately 5 to 6 hrs in a week, and sometimes more if you are require to come for extra classes. It's all depends which subjects u take. And so the timetable is just like high school days, which is about 8am to 4pm daily.
Im not sure about the info about oxbridge though.. hopefully i do answer some of your needs here =)
tinypeon
01-05-2008, 09:34 PM
I graduated from the TARC Cambridge A Levels program last year. Here are some honest opinions:
I was in the science stream and the lecturers were very experienced, but some will be retiring in a few more years. They are helpful too, you could even expect helpful guidance if you need help with any materials outside syllabus. However, during my time there were not many skillful General Paper lecturers. A few spoke broken English but some are very good.
Not sure why when it comes to 'quality of education', Taylors emerges at the top of the list. They may have the best A Levels statistics in this country but wise judgment of 'quality' does not depend solely on that. For example, in Taylors, a student is prohibited from taking a certain subject if his/her grade in that particular subject is not satisfying. In TARC, I could see at least several rows of students with poor Further Maths grade sitting for the same exam with me. (They're not banned or anything) That explains a bit why the A Levels results from different schools may be significantly different when their quality of education is on par.
Just a piece of advice if you are intending to apply for those prestigious UK/US universities like MIT/Caltech/Cambridge/Oxford/etc: it DOES NOT really matter which school you graduate from. Getting into these top universities is a different story. You might consider seeking advices from seniors or searching for more info elsewhere. Your A Levels grade is a mere criteria they would consider, considering the fact that the number of straight A's students from A Levels is increasing every year.
On the other hand, securing a place in most scholarships is another story. An outstanding grade (straight A's) is almost a must and most require you to show leadership capabilities and have achievements in non-academic activities. It just does not depend on which school you graduate from.
If you are really going to TARC, make sure you excel in extra-curricular activities. (Quite hard since there were not many opportunities) That would ensure you at least some scholarships such as ASEAN/Nanyang to pursue your undergraduate study later.
a-level gal
01-05-2008, 10:30 PM
Hey,I will study a level in TARC this coming May.Since you'd just finished your a level there,I'd like to ask you some questions...1st,I've heard from my frends that most lecturers in TARC are taking part-time jobs,so they lack the responsibilities in teaching their students,I'm a bit worried by this.Are the lecturers really part-time and irresponsibilities?2nd,I'm taking Science stream too.Well,I heard most ppl say that chemistry is the toughest,so may i noe in your opinion,which sub is the toughest?I intend to take general paper,biology,math and chemistry.May I know can I pursue my degree in medicine only with these 4 sub?I mean without Physics this sub.3rd(personally ask question)What you want to do next after a level?4th,will there be any scholarships(including living expenses)offered for us to go overseas after a level?How can we apply for that?I'd be grateful if u can answer me these,thanks...
tinypeon
02-05-2008, 12:01 PM
In the pre-university school, most lecturers assigned for A Levels students are not working part-time. You could expect many highly experienced lecturers for science subjects - Physics, Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry. For General Paper, just pray that you'd be assigned a good lecturer. Some GP lecturers are just working part-time. They might not be competent but they're at least dedicated to their jobs.
Quite a proportion of students who didn't score perfect grade screwed up their chemistry. It might be the toughest science subject for some students, but it depends on individuals. Do expect some dense reading for the subject, just like biology.
With the subject combination you've just mentioned, it's easy to get into some private universities in Malaysia. STPM would be a wiser choice if you intend to enter any public universities in Malaysia. On a side note, it's nearly impossible to enter the NUS medicine school with this combination though. That's a rather 'weak' combination.
Most students (including me) choose to pursue their undergraduate studies after A Levels. I am still stuck between choosing NTU and NUS to do my engineering course at the moment.
Unfortunately, you've to look out for scholarship opportunities for yourself. TARC might recommend you to a few scholarships such as the ASEAN scholarship if you're one of the top students. You might consider searching elsewhere for scholarship opportunities.
a-level gal
02-05-2008, 01:33 PM
If you say so,then I'd ask what combination it needs(the best)for me to pursue my degree in medicine in NUS?I mean are Physics,Biology and Chemistry these 3 sub compulsary?
And is GP neccessary for me to enter any oversea university?If it isn't,then why should I take this sub?And what actually is this sub about?Will it be taken into consideration if I enter uni later?
tinypeon
02-05-2008, 02:19 PM
It's really difficult to get into NUS medicine school. The cohort is small and due to the extremely competitive nature, taking up 4 subjects (excluding GP) will still not promise you a place there. No concrete certainty.
You could drop GP if you want to. GP is not a must but it may be used for exemption from entrance English test. Different universities have different English requirements. Make sure you check those requirements imposed by the university you're aiming for.
a-level gal
02-05-2008, 02:26 PM
Do you get any scholarships after a-level?
What about other uni?Is Physics compulsory if I want to pursue my degree in medicine?Can I just take Bio and Chemistry?
tinypeon
02-05-2008, 07:26 PM
I'm still waiting for reply from NUS ASEAN scholarship..
Here's about NUS School of Medicine. Physics is not compulsory and it will NO LONGER be an advantage in the admissions process. Your academic grade will comprise of 50% of the total admissions score, and the other 50% will be assessed through two interviews, essay and portfolio review.
a-level gal
03-05-2008, 01:39 PM
Hey,anyone going to study a-level in TARC this 12th MAY??
03-05-2008, 01:47 PM
Hey,anyone going to study a-level in TARC this 12th MAY??
which branch of TARC u mention?
i think u probably mean for those who will be studying A level..
for diploma course in Tarc,the class will commence on 20MAY..
winnie314
04-05-2008, 12:39 AM
can anyone please tell me is general paper a compulsory subject for all students in TARC??
04-05-2008, 12:44 AM
Just merged two redundant TARC A level threads.
By the way, please note the chat vs discussion policy (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6539) - avoid chatting in informative threads, and chat in the chat forum instead. Thanks!
tinypeon
04-05-2008, 08:47 AM
can anyone please tell me is general paper a compulsory subject for all students in TARC??
No. General Paper is not compulsory in TARC.
winnie314
08-05-2008, 09:05 PM
is General paper = Pengajian Am?
a-level gal
08-05-2008, 09:42 PM
is General paper = Pengajian Am?
It sounds to be.As I know,we need to write two essays in this sub,mostly about general things...
winnie314
08-05-2008, 09:52 PM
only essays?no obj or sub questions?what is mean by general things?is it tough?hard to score?
a-level gal
08-05-2008, 10:18 PM
yeah,this is what the counsellor told me that day...I think it's mostly on your general knowledge,idk...Just like you,I'll know in just few more days,i guess(when the course starts):P
Relax,dude...I think GM will b tough for me cuz I'm really poor in my general knowledge...pray hard:))
winnie314
08-05-2008, 10:46 PM
General paper is not consider as a science subject right?why must we study that subject?me too qiute poor in those general things..haih.you are going to take up this subject right?may i know why?
a-level gal
08-05-2008, 10:56 PM
No.As I know,we need to attend the class even though we dont want to take this sub(idk why).Well,if you take this sub,you'll be exempted from taking english test in the uni you're going to...Why dont just take this sub as we're forced to attend the class??If so,we wont waste our time attending the class...haha...If you dont want take GM,wat sub u want to take?How many altogether?
winnie314
08-05-2008, 11:03 PM
ya, i know tat we must attend General paper classes..is compulsory:( can i have ur msn please?easier for us to discuss..hehe:))