View Full Version : UoL external degree- a wise investment?
kintaro_kun
22-06-2006, 11:39 PM
what do you guys think of the university of london's external programme? i'm not expecting gibberish info that can be easily found on wikipedia or their corporate website, but rather, the views of employers, academicians and the general public, on how good is the programme, its currency in the job market, its recognition by other on par unis and professional societies, general impressions, etc.
22-06-2006, 11:44 PM
good question i think the only people that can you ask is the ex grads from the program and see how they're progressing in their career. Has it helped them? I'm sure you can find out from some website. ring up the head office and ask about how you can get in touch with them.
It is in essence, a degree from UOL. The only difference is that the course is administered at a distance as opposed to held at an institution in London. Also, '(external)' will appear on the certificate.
The UOL charter states that an external degree is of equivalent standing with a degree studied and awarded in London. So you shouldn't worry about recognition.
strikingstar
23-06-2006, 12:14 AM
I doubt every employer will go and look up what an arcane charter says. Doubt they will be as impressed if they don't deem it the 'real McCoy'.
Dr_Tay
23-06-2006, 12:33 AM
If you are pursuing it with a college in Damansara bewarned the college is a materialistic one and that is only pursuing the objective of profits and not the standard of education.
One doesn't need to affiliate oneself with a local college. The external program is between you and UOL.
Dr_Tay
23-06-2006, 12:46 AM
Just sit as an external student and don't go through the private college that is located in a valley between Damansara and Bangsar. It is so commercial that the costs are much higher than you had envisaged. Commit a pile and commit somemore - the modulus operandi.
kintaro_kun
23-06-2006, 01:02 AM
then, why must they differentiate between the internal and external by havin that "external" word there if both are of the same quality? futhermore, why would anyone wanna fork out large amounts of pound sterlings to attend UoL as an internal student if they can have an equivalent degree right at the comfort of their own home paying ringgit, baht and rupees?
well, i'm not the one goin to follow the programme, but just out of curiosity, i'd like to know more. any external UoL students/graduates in recom?
then, why must they differentiate between the internal and external by havin that "external" word there if both are of the same quality? futhermore, why would anyone wanna fork out large amounts of pound sterlings to attend UoL as an internal student if they can have an equivalent degree right at the comfort of their own home paying ringgit, baht and rupees?
well, i'm not the one goin to follow the programme, but just out of curiosity, i'd like to know more. any external UoL students/graduates in recom?
I don't know about that. The only thing that you'll be missing out as an external is the London experience, personal interactions with tutors and a few other bits and pieces. Course materials, papers and all are at the same standard.
There are instances of people who did the external degrees here and were admitted to Cambridge and all for their postgrad studies.
23-06-2006, 11:11 AM
If you are pursuing it with a college in Damansara bewarned the college is a materialistic one and that is only pursuing the objective of profits and not the standard of education.
How can you be so sure?? Are you working there or somebody of yours took up this programme before? Just curious :P
23-06-2006, 04:16 PM
Well, since i'm from imperial college and technically, we used to be under UoL as well as other pretty famous schools like King's, LSE, UCL, I'll try to answer this. This external program has nothing to do with the schools I mentioned above, so saying you're from UoL (ext) does not mean you'll get the same prestige and quality of education from them.
Personally, I doubt this external UoL program would be useful if you wanna join some of the top-tier firms like McKinsey/BCG/any of the investment banks/top MNCs but it should be ok for normal Malaysian companies since they do not know much about the different schools.
23-06-2006, 05:38 PM
Well, since i'm from imperial college and technically, we used to be under UoL as well as other pretty famous schools like King's, LSE, UCL, I'll try to answer this. This external program has nothing to do with the schools I mentioned above, so saying you're from UoL (ext) does not mean you'll get the same prestige and quality of education from them.
Personally, I doubt this external UoL program would be useful if you wanna join some of the top-tier firms like McKinsey/BCG/any of the investment banks/top MNCs but it should be ok for normal Malaysian companies since they do not know much about the different schools.
Woah, you're from imperial college!! Sorry to ask but you studied A levels or STPM?? Is it hard to get in?? If so, how's the tuition fees and such??
Actually, the program has something to do with the colleges of UOL. A rather informal one I would say.
The lead school of the external economics degree is LSE. If a candidate does well in the external program and there are places available in the LSE, that candidate can complete his studies at LSE or at any college of the UOL.
This program is a distance learning program, the course materials are the same as the ones found in London. Like I've said earlier, you'll only lose out in terms of interaction and intellectual exchanges with the tutors at UOL.
Woah, you're from imperial college!! Sorry to ask but you studied A levels or STPM?? Is it hard to get in?? If so, how's the tuition fees and such??
No, not hard at all. If you can score AAA or AAB, you are likely to be accepted.
You also need at least GBP25k per academic year for a typical engineering degree.(you might be living like a pauper with that figure) The tuition fees alone for chemical engineering is GBP17k per annum. Projected living cost for this year alone is GBP1k per month. Having said all that, the fees and living cost WILL increase every year.
23-06-2006, 06:11 PM
No, not hard at all. If you can score AAA or AAB, you are likely to be accepted.
You also need at least GBP25k per academic year for a typical engineering degree.(you might be living like a pauper with that figure) The tuition fees alone for chemical engineering is GBP17k per annum. Projected living cost for this year alone is GBP1k per month. Having said all that, the fees and living cost WILL increase every year.
Pardon me but what is GBP?? Are they refering to the english pound??
Yes
Great Britain Pound or Pound Sterling
You know, USD, CAD, AUD, SGD, RMB, MYR and all. Can't use symbols so we use currency codes.
23-06-2006, 06:20 PM
Yes
Great Britain Pound or Pound Sterling
You know, USD, CAD, AUD, SGD, RMB, MYR and all. Can't use symbols so we use currency codes.
Oh i see :oops: :oops:
Thanks!! :wink:
23-06-2006, 08:57 PM
i did A levels and i don't think it's hard to get in since imperial's now quite money hungry, and they increased the price like almost 1.5x since i first enrolled so only the new students get affected.
i think if you can get into NUS/NTU, it's better than an external UoL degree.
i did A levels and i don't think it's hard to get in since imperial's now quite money hungry, and they increased the price like almost 1.5x since i first enrolled so only the new students get affected.
i think if you can get into NUS/NTU, it's better than an external UoL degree.
Yeah, money hungry, but we can't deny that they do have standards or at least the reputation of being one of the best.
i wonder how would they survive if they keep on increasing the fees..............
24-06-2006, 05:12 AM
well, looking at the 1st years I think Imperial has about 10% Chinese now, the newly rich Chinese spare no expense in getting their children a prestigious overseas education if they can't get into the top unis in China like Tsinghua, Beijing, etc!
also, what I meant by easy is that you just need your 'A's + a decent personal statement and that's about it.