View Full Version : Internships/ Summer jobs

huilinchin
19-02-2004, 08:58 AM
Just received an email from a friend in CMU. It's for college underclassmen (freshman and sophomores). Sorry, upperclassmen.
Explore Microsoft is a paid experience that includes a salary, relocation, training, transportation and more! Better still, it's in Redmond!!!!!

Enjoy! :D

-Hui Lin ^_^

Explore Microsoft

Have you ever thought about pursuing a technical career in computer science or engineering? Here's your chance to experience the exciting field of software development as a freshman or sophomore, become an EMS (Explore
Microsoft Student).

Explore Microsoft

Explore Microsoft is a 5-week summer program specifically designed for college underclassmen (freshman and sophomores) and will offer the opportunity to experience working at Microsoft. This program is designed to expose students to the field of software development and encourage students to pursue degrees in computer science, computer engineering or related technical disciplines through 5 weeks of hands-on training & group
project experience.

Candidate Qualifications:

Candidates must be a freshman or sophomore enrolled in a bachelor's degree program with a demonstrated interest in majoring in computer science, computer engineering, software engineering or related technical major.
Students must have completed an Introduction to Computer Science course (or equivalent class) as well as one semester of calculus (or equivalent) by the start of the program. Candidates must also be available for the entire 5 week program (June 22nd- July 23rd). Finalists will be selected on the basis of eligibility, quality of application and demonstrated interest in the software industry. Finalists will be interviewed and offers will be extended based on this interview as well as the candidate's application.

We want to encourage students from groups currently underrepresented in the field of computer science- women, underrepresented minorities (African American, American Indian, Hispanic) and individuals with disabilities- to pursue computer science or engineering degrees. All candidates who meet
the criteria for eligibility are encouraged to apply.

How to Apply:

A complete application includes 3 items: resume, transcript and answer to essay question.

Resume: Include a copy of your resume. Be sure that it includes your e-mail address, school address and phone number, permanent address and phone number, intended major, and expected graduation date.

Transcript: Enclose a copy of your current academic transcript. If you are in the process of completing the required coursework this semester, please make a note of the classes you are taking on your transcript.

Essay Question: Please limit your answer to one page.

Describe how you demonstrate your passion for technology outside the classroom.

Please submit your completed application to:

Rani Dent at Ranid@<hidden>

If you are selected as a finalist you will be notified by March 16th, 2004 and will be notified of upcoming interviews on March 19th.

Benefits: Microsoft offers benefits designed to make your experience the best it can be and Explore Microsoft is no exception. Explore Microsoft is a paid experience that includes a salary, relocation, training, transportation and more!

Frequently Asked Questions

You will have enormous responsibility, project ownership, and impact during
this 5 week session. Take a tour of this FAQ to gain a better
understanding of what Explore Microsoft might be like for you.

How does this program differ from the Microsoft College Intern Program?

Explore Microsoft is not associated with the Microsoft College Intern
Program. Explore Microsoft is intended for students beginning their
academic studies and who want to learn more about careers in software
development through an experiential learning program.

What can I expect to do at Explore Microsoft?

Explore Microsoft will include classes to help you learn the basics of
programming and group project experience. The first two weeks will include
coding classes and exposure to each of our four core technical positions:
Program Manager, Software Design Engineer, Software Design Engineer in Test
and Software Test Engineer and the final three weeks your project group
will work together to complete a project for your product team.

Will I work in a number of groups during this experience, or focus on a
specific goal in one group?

We want you to become very involved with your group project, so we will
assign you to a specific product team while you are here. It is the best
way to make sure you have the opportunity to make a real contribution.
However, there will be plenty of opportunities to attend discussions about
different Microsoft technologies and to pick the brains of other employees
working around campus.

Where is Explore Microsoft offered?

Explore Microsoft is currently only offered at our Redmond, Washington,
campus. For more information on Redmond & the surrounding area please
visit http://www.microsoft.com/college/locations/redmond.asp

If I haven't declared a major, can I still apply?

Yes! We do not require that you be a computer science major in order to apply, however, we do require all candidates to have completed an Introduction to Computer Science (or equivalent course) and one semester of calculus (or equivalent). We're interested in individuals who have a demonstrated passion for technology and a desire to further explore the field of software development.

huilinchin
19-02-2004, 08:58 AM
Just received an email from a friend in CMU. It's for college underclassmen (freshman and sophomores). Sorry, upperclassmen.
Explore Microsoft is a paid experience that includes a salary, relocation, training, transportation and more! Better still, it's in Redmond!!!!!

Enjoy! :D

-Hui Lin ^_^

Explore Microsoft

Have you ever thought about pursuing a technical career in computer science or engineering? Here's your chance to experience the exciting field of software development as a freshman or sophomore, become an EMS (Explore
Microsoft Student).

Explore Microsoft

Explore Microsoft is a 5-week summer program specifically designed for college underclassmen (freshman and sophomores) and will offer the opportunity to experience working at Microsoft. This program is designed to expose students to the field of software development and encourage students to pursue degrees in computer science, computer engineering or related technical disciplines through 5 weeks of hands-on training & group
project experience.

Candidate Qualifications:

Candidates must be a freshman or sophomore enrolled in a bachelor's degree program with a demonstrated interest in majoring in computer science, computer engineering, software engineering or related technical major.
Students must have completed an Introduction to Computer Science course (or equivalent class) as well as one semester of calculus (or equivalent) by the start of the program. Candidates must also be available for the entire 5 week program (June 22nd- July 23rd). Finalists will be selected on the basis of eligibility, quality of application and demonstrated interest in the software industry. Finalists will be interviewed and offers will be extended based on this interview as well as the candidate's application.

We want to encourage students from groups currently underrepresented in the field of computer science- women, underrepresented minorities (African American, American Indian, Hispanic) and individuals with disabilities- to pursue computer science or engineering degrees. All candidates who meet
the criteria for eligibility are encouraged to apply.

How to Apply:

A complete application includes 3 items: resume, transcript and answer to essay question.

Resume: Include a copy of your resume. Be sure that it includes your e-mail address, school address and phone number, permanent address and phone number, intended major, and expected graduation date.

Transcript: Enclose a copy of your current academic transcript. If you are in the process of completing the required coursework this semester, please make a note of the classes you are taking on your transcript.

Essay Question: Please limit your answer to one page.

Please submit your completed application to:

Rani Dent at Ranid@<hidden>

If you are selected as a finalist you will be notified by March 16th, 2004 and will be notified of upcoming interviews on March 19th.

Benefits: Microsoft offers benefits designed to make your experience the best it can be and Explore Microsoft is no exception. Explore Microsoft is a paid experience that includes a salary, relocation, training, transportation and more!

Frequently Asked Questions

You will have enormous responsibility, project ownership, and impact during
this 5 week session. Take a tour of this FAQ to gain a better
understanding of what Explore Microsoft might be like for you.

How does this program differ from the Microsoft College Intern Program?

Explore Microsoft is not associated with the Microsoft College Intern
Program. Explore Microsoft is intended for students beginning their
academic studies and who want to learn more about careers in software
development through an experiential learning program.

What can I expect to do at Explore Microsoft?

Explore Microsoft will include classes to help you learn the basics of
programming and group project experience. The first two weeks will include
coding classes and exposure to each of our four core technical positions:
Program Manager, Software Design Engineer, Software Design Engineer in Test
and Software Test Engineer and the final three weeks your project group
will work together to complete a project for your product team.

Will I work in a number of groups during this experience, or focus on a
specific goal in one group?

We want you to become very involved with your group project, so we will
assign you to a specific product team while you are here. It is the best
way to make sure you have the opportunity to make a real contribution.
However, there will be plenty of opportunities to attend discussions about
different Microsoft technologies and to pick the brains of other employees
working around campus.

Where is Explore Microsoft offered?

Explore Microsoft is currently only offered at our Redmond, Washington,
campus. For more information on Redmond & the surrounding area please
visit http://www.microsoft.com/college/locations/redmond.asp

If I haven't declared a major, can I still apply?

Yes! We do not require that you be a computer science major in order to apply, however, we do require all candidates to have completed an Introduction to Computer Science (or equivalent course) and one semester of calculus (or equivalent). We're interested in individuals who have a demonstrated passion for technology and a desire to further explore the field of software development.

19-02-2004, 02:14 PM
Excellent! If you're coming in July or August, remember to call me out to yum cha. 8) 8) 8)

Do you think we (as in Malaysians, probably classified as Asians) are under-represented in Computer Science / related technical fields? Both for Men and Women?

Lepaking @<hidden> ReCom 8)

19-02-2004, 02:14 PM
Excellent! If you're coming in July or August, remember to call me out to yum cha. 8) 8) 8)

Do you think we (as in Malaysians, probably classified as Asians) are under-represented in Computer Science / related technical fields? Both for Men and Women?

Lepaking @<hidden> ReCom 8)

mpalanieppan
20-02-2004, 05:33 AM
Which is the last day they accept application?

mpalanieppan
20-02-2004, 05:33 AM
Which is the last day they accept application?

huilinchin
06-03-2004, 08:42 AM
Sorry, Pala, just saw your message. I think the deadline is as early as possible right after I have posted the message. Sorry again.

I just came across this link with scholarships for SPM and STPM leavers at home sweet home.

Scholarships:
SHELL Malaysia EP
IJM Scholarship Award
CCM Scholarships
Suruhanjaya Sekuriti (SC)

http://www.student.com.my/financial/scholarships.shtml

I'll post the same message at the scholarships forum. Sorry about that.

Good Luck! :D

-Hui Lin ^_^

huilinchin
06-03-2004, 08:42 AM
Sorry, Pala, just saw your message. I think the deadline is as early as possible right after I have posted the message. Sorry again.

I just came across this link with scholarships for SPM and STPM leavers at home sweet home.

Scholarships:
SHELL Malaysia EP
IJM Scholarship Award
CCM Scholarships
Suruhanjaya Sekuriti (SC)

http://www.student.com.my/financial/scholarships.shtml

I'll post the same message at the scholarships forum. Sorry about that.

Good Luck! :D

-Hui Lin ^_^

03-04-2004, 04:56 AM
Below is the guide given by my professor who is in Silicon Valley~!

Startup Students and Job Seekers.
You have asked me how to find jobs in startups. The following is exactly what you
need.
http://www.startuplynx.com/JobSearchHome.asp
TIPS:
1. Start by finding the companies that excite you.
2. Go the the Management page and use the Find search function to quickly scan for
any Cornell people.
3. Then send them your resume.

Summer Interns: Send your resume to the CEO (only) and offer to do all of these
jobs: (1) market research, (2) product plans, or (3) testing new products.

Graduating Students: Apply for your Dream Job to the CEO (only). Open your email
with "I think I can help you increase your company's unfair advantage."
===============
Silicon Valley is getting "frothy" once again, VCs are eager and hiring is heating
up. You have a fine opportunity to get summer work and permanently placed.

And tell your friends about NBA675, Internship in Silicon Valley, 2004.

John Nesheim

huilinchin
03-04-2004, 09:02 AM
From my ever wonderful advisor in CMU:

2004 Summer Intern Positions-Adobe Systems in San Jose, CA

The Advanced Technology Group (ATG) of Adobe Systems will have some summer intern positions available this year for graduate and undergraduate students of Computer Science. This is a great opportunity to work in one of the leading software companies and to report directly to one of Adobe's senior ATG members. Together with your mentor you will be expected to define and complete a project, usually involving programming, that represents a probe into ideas that may lead to future Adobe products. Primarily the jobs will be in San Jose, but there is the possibility of such a job in our development laboratory in Seattle.

If you are interested please submit a 1-2 page resume to:

Brenda Barnes
Adobe Systems Incorporated
345 Park Avenue
San Jose, CA 95110-2704

or more preferably e-mail it to her at:
Brenda Barnes <brbarnes@<hidden>>

Thanks,
Hui Lin ^_^

huilinchin
03-04-2004, 09:07 AM
From my ever wonderful advisor in CMU:

Summer REU at Woods Hole

SUMMER COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY ASSISTANT [SCBA], Seasonal/Temporary, Full-time
Josephine Bay Paul Center for Comparative Molecular Biology and Evolution
The Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA

Laboratory of Andrew G. McArthur (http://jbpc.mbl.edu/mcarthur)

Description:
The Marine Biological Laboratory is seeking candidates for a
seasonal/temporary scientifically rewarding position in Computational Biology
with the Josephine Bay Paul Center for Comparative Molecular Biology and
Evolution.

Duties:
Providing software design and programming assistance to the on-going
development of the GiardiaDB project (www.mbl.edu/Giardia) within the
approaches of the Gene Ontology Consortium (http://www.geneontology.org) and
GMOD Initiative (http://www.gmod.org). Primary effort will be in the use of
molecular evolutionary techniques for high-throughput phylogenetic annotation
of genomes and ESTs, using Beowulf clusters. The successful candidate will
additionally participate in projects involving molecular evolution,
computation biology and molecular systematics of a variety of organisms and
genes.

SUMMER COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY ASSISTANT [SCBA], Seasonal/Temporary, Full-time
Josephine Bay Paul Center for Comparative Molecular Biology and Evolution
The Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA

Laboratory of Andrew G. McArthur (http://jbpc.mbl.edu/mcarthur)

Description:
The Marine Biological Laboratory is seeking candidates for a
seasonal/temporary scientifically rewarding position in Computational Biology
with the Josephine Bay Paul Center for Comparative Molecular Biology and
Evolution.

Duties:
Providing software design and programming assistance to the on-going
development of the GiardiaDB project (www.mbl.edu/Giardia) within the
approaches of the Gene Ontology Consortium (http://www.geneontology.org) and
GMOD Initiative (http://www.gmod.org). Primary effort will be in the use of
molecular evolutionary techniques for high-throughput phylogenetic annotation
of genomes and ESTs, using Beowulf clusters. The successful candidate will
additionally participate in projects involving molecular evolution,
computation biology and molecular systematics of a variety of organisms and
genes.

or

email resume@<hidden>. An Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action

Employer/Non-smoking workplace.

Deadline: Until a suitable candidate is identified.

Thanks,
Hui Lin ^_^

08-04-2004, 09:39 PM
Someone with username "anonymous" submitted this:-

Varsity Comapany is a leading Sales and Marketing company based in USA. We have summer internships open to All Majors.Those interested should contact me; Patrick at 320-761 3677

jagganatha
11-04-2004, 06:18 PM
WOW.. 8O 8O if only i was in CMU I would do anything to work with Microsoft..

SpRInG
11-04-2004, 08:44 PM
no offense, but.... if are not.... so can't do anything bout that...

12-04-2004, 07:31 AM
i have absolutely no idea what your post is trying to say. Try forming a complete sentence?

24-04-2004, 07:21 AM
Freeman ASSIST PROGRAM

FIRST APPLICATION DEADLINE: MAY 7, 2004

The Institute of International Education (IIE) is pleased to announce the
first year of the Freeman ASSIST Program, generously supported by the
Freeman Foundation. This program will provide summer educational
allowances to outstanding undergraduate students from China, Indonesia,
Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam, who secure a US-based
summer internship in the non-profit sector.

The Freeman ASSIST summer internship program has three specific goals:

1) To provide support in the form of an educational allowance to students
who need funding to participate in a public service summer internship

2) To provide exposure to U.S. based community-based non-profit and
educational organizations, and experience in the non-profit sector

3) To promote exchange of views and deepen understanding of Asia by host
non-governmental organizations and the communities they serve

All applications must be received by IIE by May 7, 2004 to be considered
for a Freeman ASSIST educational allowance in the first round of awards.

Details about eligibility and requirements, and a link to the application,
may be found at the program website:
http://www.iie.org/programs/FreemanASSIST
Other inquiries may be sent to the following e-mail address:
FreemanAssist@<hidden>

thesoothsayer
08-05-2004, 12:16 AM
Hi all,

Please feel free to contact me if you are looking for an internship in a group which does network software engineering at Intel Penang. I'm not sure if we have any openings currently but it's done on a rolling basis throughout the year so if there are any openings, at least you will be considered for it. :)

11-05-2004, 10:24 AM
Check out from Silterra www.silterra.com

ONE of the first lessons many fresh graduates learn upon entering the employment market is the fact that there are more job seekers than jobs available.

In a highly competitive environment, any extra skills that a graduate possesses will give him an edge over the others. Realising the need to empower students with the necessary experience that will give them a boot-up in the field, Silterra Malaysia Sdn Bhd offers both undergraduate and postgraduate internships in the semiconductor industry.

As one of Malaysia's wafer foundry service providers, Silterra not only lets students work with advanced technology, but also conducts training, education and continuous learning for both staff and interns.

As a result of its good partnerships with local universities, Silterra offers students in engineering, physics and chemistry a chance to become interns for a period of two-and half to six months.

Read more at http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/5/9/education/7798930&sec=education