View Full Version : Looking for somebody from Chung Ling, Penang
26-06-2006, 11:54 AM
Hey, I need to ask a few questions about a Chinese school in Penang named Chung Ling (is that the right spelling)?
If you are one of Chung Ling's alum or have some knowledge on the school, please do reply. :D
kimsiang
26-06-2006, 12:06 PM
hello,i am kim siang from chung ling , graduated on 2003,stpm...
what do you want to know about it?
SUZUKI GSX-R/4 (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Suzuki_GSX-R/4)
y_benjie
26-06-2006, 01:28 PM
Yes I was from Chung Ling Penang, is there anything i can help you?
hhhcce
26-06-2006, 02:12 PM
Hello there. I am from Chung Ling Butterworth. Anything you want to know about Chung Ling, you can ask me about it?
26-06-2006, 06:25 PM
Air Itam or butterworth? Air Itam ta la sedikit sebanyak... seperti kalau main bola antara sekolah sekolah mesti sekolah tu kalah 7-0 dengan sekolah lama aku.. hihihi
hhhcce
26-06-2006, 09:58 PM
Chung Ling Penang,Chung Ling Butterworth are well known for their result in government examination. Try to compare the result of your former school with Chung Ling. Please...no offense here.__earth, if you want to know more about Chung Ling, try wikipedia or you can PM me
26-06-2006, 10:51 PM
Chung Ling, Butterworth.
Sam Tet, Ipoh.
::::RESPECT::::
Actually there is three. Chung Ling Air Itam, Chung Ling Independent and Chugn Ling Butterworth.
I'm Chung Ling as well. Looks like lots of people have come forward, but what's the question? :wink:
hhhcce
26-06-2006, 11:18 PM
:lol: Welcome all chung linger, haha, I am very surprise when many people are from Chung Ling. ai wu chung ling..............
27-06-2006, 08:21 AM
whats the relationship between hang chiang and chung ling?
cutie87
27-06-2006, 09:08 AM
Anyone from Chung Ling sitting for STPM exam end of this year. Hope you don't mind to share some tips/exam papers.
Wei_Ming
27-06-2006, 10:12 AM
I thought Jit Sin or PCGHS would have been better choices... Chung Ling is kinda on a downhill in both academics and sports... going down the same path as PFS...
hhhcce
27-06-2006, 12:38 PM
Actually, Han Chiang and Chung Ling are chinese schools, but there are no relationships between them.
I thought Jit Sin or PCGHS would have been better choices... Chung Ling is kinda on a downhill in both academics and sports... going down the same path as PFS...
Are you from Jit Sin? No, Chung Ling is one of the best school in Penang. Even now, I stay at KL, when you talk about Chung Ling or may be Sam Tet, the first thing that comes across their minds is good quality.I have to admit Jit Sin is very good, but, most friends of mine think that students from Jit Sin are too quiet
Wei_Ming
27-06-2006, 01:40 PM
Actually I was from Chung Ling, Penang. SPM 2003. Currently in Singapore.
I know Chung Ling is famous because of it's former headmaster which converted the medium of instruction to English and subsequently the rebellion during the Japanese occuaption against teaching in Japanese which led to a lot of executions...
Well, Chung Ling has a very good reputation in Singapore. But I've always thought it was because of past deeds apart from the fact that the current health minister in Singapore is from Chung Ling...
27-06-2006, 03:12 PM
but heng ee students are the crazy bunch.. now all of their students gets a buzz cut.. funny as hell.. without them life would've been uninteresting in Penang.
[hijacking thread]Anyone from heng ee?[/hijacking thread]
28-06-2006, 11:29 AM
Hey all, thanks for the response. I have some questions but I start with this one. I'll post it here from time to time instead of email individually since I prefer a forum-like atmosphere compared to email.
Here is question casual one. Apart from government-fund, how else does the school fund itself?
Wei_Ming
28-06-2006, 12:34 PM
Donations from alumni and the students mainly. The government doesn't provide much in terms of funding, only teachers. I still remember my Form 5 year when we had to collect donations just so the school can have an air-conditioned hall... and I didn't even get to enjoy one second of the air-conditioning. But the school was doing quite well during my time with major expansions mainly due to donations from the rich alumni...
28-06-2006, 02:42 PM
Donations from alumni and the students mainly. The government doesn't provide much in terms of funding, only teachers. I still remember my Form 5 year when we had to collect donations just so the school can have an air-conditioned hall... and I didn't even get to enjoy one second of the air-conditioning. But the school was doing quite well during my time with major expansions mainly due to donations from the rich alumni...
Sounds like a typical Malaysian secondary school to me. Most Schools around Penang don;t even have the teachers office equipped with air conditioning.
The only school that i know for certain that has both teachers office and the Hall with A/C is St. george Girl school.
PFS has the teachers room but not the hall ..
Wei_Ming
28-06-2006, 03:00 PM
Chung Ling is different from PFS and SGGS. It's a Chinese school, it doesn't enjoy as much government funding as national type schools. It is highly dependent on its students and alumni for any major renovation or expansion projects.
Sounds like a typical Malaysian secondary school to me.
Now, yes. But Chung Ling has the most unique history amongst the secondary schools in Malaysia so I would say Chung Ling was quite special in the past.
28-06-2006, 03:46 PM
Chung Ling is different from PFS and SGGS. It's a Chinese school, it doesn't enjoy as much government funding as national type schools. It is highly dependent on its students and alumni for any major renovation or expansion projects. .
True, but to a certain extent goverment funding is there. I don;pt know to what degree but i'm sure they get more funding then Hamid Khan, Convent Green Lane and Methodist boys school put together.
Then ofcourse you have the super funded schools like the Malay College in Kuala Kangsar.
Wei_Ming
28-06-2006, 03:50 PM
Chung Ling is different from PFS and SGGS. It's a Chinese school, it doesn't enjoy as much government funding as national type schools. It is highly dependent on its students and alumni for any major renovation or expansion projects. .
True, but to a certain extent goverment funding is there. I don;pt know to what degree but i'm sure they get more funding then Hamid Khan, Convent Green Lane and Methodist boys school put together.
Then ofcourse you have the super funded schools like the Malay College in Kuala Kangsar.
I don't know about the missionary schools but Chung Ling definitely receives less funding than Hamid Khan.
28-06-2006, 03:54 PM
Are you sure we're talking about the same Hamid Khan? If so.. let's just replace that with Haji Md Noor and Tun Uda.
There's probably 50 Secondary schools in Penang (the island)+Seberang Prai and maybe about 10 are "sekolah pilihan" I'm not sure whether chung ling are apart of that or not.
Wei_Ming
28-06-2006, 04:00 PM
What is a "sekolah pilihan"?
28-06-2006, 09:06 PM
The administration of the school/state board of education selects student that will futher their studies in those schools.
For an example, PFS selects UPSR students who scored 5As or students who do very good in sports.
That is why we always see a higher concentration of straight As students in these school.
Not that the school is good.. it;s the quality of the students.
Wei_Ming
29-06-2006, 09:20 AM
The administration of the school/state board of education selects student that will futher their studies in those schools.
For an example, PFS selects UPSR students who scored 5As or students who do very good in sports.
That is why we always see a higher concentration of straight As students in these school.
Not that the school is good.. it;s the quality of the students.
Then Chung Ling is DEFINITELY a sekolah pilihan.
hhhcce
29-06-2006, 12:22 PM
I don't know whether Chung Ling is Sekolah Pilihan or Sekolah Kawalan, because most of my former teachers said that Chung Ling is sekolah kawalan. Chung Ling and ten other SMJK in Penang have the right to choose their own students as well as their principal. FYI, in order to become the principal of Chung Ling, you must be an alumnus of Chung Ling.......
__earth, most of donations also come from the students, we are compulsory to donate RM 10 to the school funding every year. Most of the SMJK in Penang are sponsered partially (when I mean partial, only about <50%) by government...
30-06-2006, 09:52 AM
so, Chung Ling gets its fund from govt (<50%), donation from students (RM10 each; with 1000++ students?) and alumni. Might there be from somewhere else?
Concerning headmaster selection, that's interesting. While it must be an alum, does the HM come from the ministry?
Wei_Ming
30-06-2006, 10:29 AM
Chung Ling has nearly 3000 students including Form 6. The teachers do contribute some as well. But besides these sources (government, students, teachers, alumni), I don't think there are any more significant channels for funding. Btw, the government does not provide for major construction, upgrade or renovation works such as the two four-storey classroom blocks, teacher's canteen and air-conditioning for the hall... these come mainly from the students and the alumni.
Yes, I think the HM comes from the ministry.
30-06-2006, 11:03 AM
I don't know whether Chung Ling is Sekolah Pilihan or Sekolah Kawalan, because most of my former teachers said that Chung Ling is sekolah kawalan. Chung Ling and ten other SMJK in Penang have the right to choose their own students as well as their principal. FYI, in order to become the principal of Chung Ling, you must be an alumnus of Chung Ling.......
__earth, most of donations also come from the students, we are compulsory to donate RM 10 to the school funding every year. Most of the SMJK in Penang are sponsered partially (when I mean partial, only about <50%) by government...
Could you tell us more about how Chung Ling chooses its own principal?
And I would like to ask is it minimum RM 10 or just RM10? Because my primary school wanted us to "donate" minimum RM 12 ....
Wei_Ming
30-06-2006, 11:24 AM
Minimum RM10. We were actually given donation cards to ask for more. Can go up to hundreds or even thousands for those more enterprising ones. Both students and teachers are involved.