View Full Version : How serious are you in learning Nihongo?

19-02-2004, 10:22 AM
How serious are you in learning Nihongo? (man, why do I repeat the same question twice? :P) .. let's share stories about why and how you started taking up nihongo ... your enthusiasm in exploring it ... your future ambitions and goals in relation to this beautiful language ... shimasyou ! :D

hajimemasu!

I started wanting to learn nihongo from ... guess what? .. watching animes of course! :) :) :) .. at first I was just watching, nothing more than that ... then I started to pick up some cool and cute phrases - "nani suru no?", "syou ga nai na", "nani?", "oyasumi", "ja ne", "urusai na" etc etc ... I started to feel that I need to learn japanese .. so I took my first japanese class last fall .. and the fun began ... jeng jeng jeng ..

right now my daily life is related to japanese in so many ways ... I wake up to the japanese songs playing on my Winamp ... I walk to classes while listening to japanese mp3s on my Nomad MuVo ... everyday my first class is japanese .. I do assignments while listening to japanese mp3s .. sometimes when I feel tired of doing homework, I watch animes ... and before going to sleep I leave my Winamp playing with 100% japanese songs in the playlist ... 24 hours of japanese .. owh, sometimes I dream in japanese too .. :P :P :P

I have this golden dreams of living in japan someday in the future ... since most probably I will be working with Telekom, I might apply for a transfer or at least a work visit ... I'm not too sure but I think our country and Japan are having collaboration in technology development and stuff and I guess telecommunication is one of the fields of partnership ... I heard stories about students in Japan coming across Malaysians working in Japanese telecomm companies ..

I'm applying to the Japanese section of Cornell's Language House Program .. the program was designated to put language learners under one roof so that using foreign languages in daily life is more feasible ... if accepted, I will be using Japanese even at home .. pray for me to be accepted ne!

anyone else want to share stories?

19-02-2004, 10:22 AM
How serious are you in learning Nihongo? (man, why do I repeat the same question twice? :P) .. let's share stories about why and how you started taking up nihongo ... your enthusiasm in exploring it ... your future ambitions and goals in relation to this beautiful language ... shimasyou ! :D

hajimemasu!

I started wanting to learn nihongo from ... guess what? .. watching animes of course! :) :) :) .. at first I was just watching, nothing more than that ... then I started to pick up some cool and cute phrases - "nani suru no?", "syou ga nai na", "nani?", "oyasumi", "ja ne", "urusai na" etc etc ... I started to feel that I need to learn japanese .. so I took my first japanese class last fall .. and the fun began ... jeng jeng jeng ..

right now my daily life is related to japanese in so many ways ... I wake up to the japanese songs playing on my Winamp ... I walk to classes while listening to japanese mp3s on my Nomad MuVo ... everyday my first class is japanese .. I do assignments while listening to japanese mp3s .. sometimes when I feel tired of doing homework, I watch animes ... and before going to sleep I leave my Winamp playing with 100% japanese songs in the playlist ... 24 hours of japanese .. owh, sometimes I dream in japanese too .. :P :P :P

I have this golden dreams of living in japan someday in the future ... since most probably I will be working with Telekom, I might apply for a transfer or at least a work visit ... I'm not too sure but I think our country and Japan are having collaboration in technology development and stuff and I guess telecommunication is one of the fields of partnership ... I heard stories about students in Japan coming across Malaysians working in Japanese telecomm companies ..

I'm applying to the Japanese section of Cornell's Language House Program .. the program was designated to put language learners under one roof so that using foreign languages in daily life is more feasible ... if accepted, I will be using Japanese even at home .. pray for me to be accepted ne!

anyone else want to share stories?

fish
19-02-2004, 07:23 PM
Why are you so serious with Japanese culture, language, etc?

fish
19-02-2004, 07:23 PM
Why are you so serious with Japanese culture, language, etc?

20-02-2004, 01:50 PM
because I find it interesting! like the consistent pronunciation (unlike all caucasian languages!), the topical sentence structures, the cultural aspects in the language (like polite style; irrasyaimasu, orimasu, okiki-shimasu etc) .. the linguistic side of me wants to learn the bits and pieces of nihongo .. :D

20-02-2004, 01:50 PM
because I find it interesting! like the consistent pronunciation (unlike all caucasian languages!), the topical sentence structures, the cultural aspects in the language (like polite style; irrasyaimasu, orimasu, okiki-shimasu etc) .. the linguistic side of me wants to learn the bits and pieces of nihongo .. :D

fish
20-02-2004, 05:03 PM

Oh. You are the type whom likes to add, desu, masu at the back of each sentence ka.
Interesting.....but I am getting malas trying to talk in polite form. It makes you pening that there are so many forms. Come to Japan then. Apply to study or work here.

fish
20-02-2004, 05:03 PM

Oh. You are the type whom likes to add, desu, masu at the back of each sentence ka.
Interesting.....but I am getting malas trying to talk in polite form. It makes you pening that there are so many forms. Come to Japan then. Apply to study or work here.

20-02-2004, 08:50 PM
I think there is no WHY :P
LOVE is LOVE ...
no need explanation :)
but i really respect Luke for improving that fast. I think probably better than anyone who are taking Japanese courses in Malaysia :)

20-02-2004, 08:50 PM
I think there is no WHY :P
LOVE is LOVE ...
no need explanation :)
but i really respect Luke for improving that fast. I think probably better than anyone who are taking Japanese courses in Malaysia :)

20-02-2004, 09:56 PM
the first thing that got me interested in japanese is the anime and drama...i think it is pretty cool...and how nice it will be if i can watch the anime and drama without looking at the subtitle...

then later i got influenced by my buddy who went study abroad in japan...he listens to japanese rock band like glay and x japan and i think their songs are awesome and I start looking at their lyrics...then my buddy gave me some informal lesson in japs and later i decided to take the course here and i m already in second year now...

I dun mind learning different form like passive, etc but those humble and honorific forms are driving me crazy....

p/s: did u guys notice that most of the japanese lyrics got the word "kaze" (wind), kokoro(heart), shiawase, futari? i m wondering is there any meaning related to "kaze" besides wind? why they like to use it so much? just because it sounds nice?

for those in japan, do u guys know any website where i can buy the x japan last live concert dvd cheap? I search here and the price is $100...quite a lot for poor student like me even though i want it so bad...

20-02-2004, 09:56 PM
the first thing that got me interested in japanese is the anime and drama...i think it is pretty cool...and how nice it will be if i can watch the anime and drama without looking at the subtitle...

then later i got influenced by my buddy who went study abroad in japan...he listens to japanese rock band like glay and x japan and i think their songs are awesome and I start looking at their lyrics...then my buddy gave me some informal lesson in japs and later i decided to take the course here and i m already in second year now...

I dun mind learning different form like passive, etc but those humble and honorific forms are driving me crazy....

p/s: did u guys notice that most of the japanese lyrics got the word "kaze" (wind), kokoro(heart), shiawase, futari? i m wondering is there any meaning related to "kaze" besides wind? why they like to use it so much? just because it sounds nice?

for those in japan, do u guys know any website where i can buy the x japan last live concert dvd cheap? I search here and the price is $100...quite a lot for poor student like me even though i want it so bad...

21-02-2004, 01:53 AM
i m wondering is there any meaning related to "kaze" besides wind? why they like to use it so much? just because it sounds nice?
"kaze" can also mean "cold" such as in "to catch a cold" (in BM it's "selsema" ne?) but I don't think that alternative meaning contributes to its ubiquity .. perhaps because it sounds poetic? like to say the song of the wind take your 'kokoro' away etc etc ... sou ka mo shiranai <-- [p/s: Schye, is it ok to use this here? I heard it in anime quite alot]

21-02-2004, 01:53 AM
i m wondering is there any meaning related to "kaze" besides wind? why they like to use it so much? just because it sounds nice?
"kaze" can also mean "cold" such as in "to catch a cold" (in BM it's "selsema" ne?) but I don't think that alternative meaning contributes to its ubiquity .. perhaps because it sounds poetic? like to say the song of the wind take your 'kokoro' away etc etc ... sou ka mo shiranai <-- [p/s: Schye, is it ok to use this here? I heard it in anime quite alot]

21-02-2004, 07:14 AM
the kaze that means cold is 風邪

for wind, the kanji is just 風 but also pronounced as kaze. that's why u need kanji :)

21-02-2004, 07:14 AM
the kaze that means cold is 風邪

for wind, the kanji is just 風 but also pronounced as kaze. that's why u need kanji :)

21-02-2004, 07:22 AM
but you won't see any kanji when listening to songs! unless you are karaoke-ing :P :P :P

21-02-2004, 07:22 AM
but you won't see any kanji when listening to songs! unless you are karaoke-ing :P :P :P

tree007
21-02-2004, 01:16 PM
hey every1..
i'm a newbie here..

i'm interested in nihongo.. but i only noe the words.. sayonara.. toyota, honda, matushita... n some other common ones.. like most ppl.. i love Jap 'cos of.. anime!! yey...

i got few questions.. 1stly.. err.. for those who were from INTEC.. is there a Japanese class for ATU students? hehe.. just curious.. since there is a Jap language class at INTEC..

and da.. y do Japanese use kanji? i mean.. if there's already hiragana and katagana to tackle all the pronunciations.. y introduce a set of complicated characters to substitute it? more formal? looks cooler? :P

tree007
21-02-2004, 01:16 PM
hey every1..
i'm a newbie here..

i'm interested in nihongo.. but i only noe the words.. sayonara.. toyota, honda, matushita... n some other common ones.. like most ppl.. i love Jap 'cos of.. anime!! yey...

i got few questions.. 1stly.. err.. for those who were from INTEC.. is there a Japanese class for ATU students? hehe.. just curious.. since there is a Jap language class at INTEC..

and da.. y do Japanese use kanji? i mean.. if there's already hiragana and katagana to tackle all the pronunciations.. y introduce a set of complicated characters to substitute it? more formal? looks cooler? :P

21-02-2004, 01:39 PM
Hi tree007! anime to nihongo no SIG ni youkoso! yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

FYI, japanese writing doesn't have spaces between words like any other languages do ... so imagine thatyouhavetoreadsomethingthatlookslikethis ... isn't it difficult? .. that's why they use kanji, because kanji acts like spaces; it gives you clearer connotations of the written sentences ... generally, instead of <hiragana><hiragana><hiragana>, we use <kanji><hiragana><kanji> etc etc, then we can clearly see that there are 3 words in there .. but there are times you have <kanji><kanji><hiragana> or <hiragana><kanji><hiragana>, but just by having the kanji terselit there you know it's a word/phrase ... with kanji asentencethatlookslikethis will be asentencethatlookslikethis

21-02-2004, 01:39 PM
Hi tree007! anime to nihongo no SIG ni youkoso! yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

FYI, japanese writing doesn't have spaces between words like any other languages do ... so imagine thatyouhavetoreadsomethingthatlookslikethis ... isn't it difficult? .. that's why they use kanji, because kanji acts like spaces; it gives you clearer connotations of the written sentences ... generally, instead of <hiragana><hiragana><hiragana>, we use <kanji><hiragana><kanji> etc etc, then we can clearly see that there are 3 words in there .. but there are times you have <kanji><kanji><hiragana> or <hiragana><kanji><hiragana>, but just by having the kanji terselit there you know it's a word/phrase ... with kanji asentencethatlookslikethis will be asentencethatlookslikethis

21-02-2004, 11:15 PM
yeah that's one of the reasons i think.

cos japanese came from chinese in the ancient time and they wanna be different from chinese and that's why they introduce hiragana and katakana i think. if u look at the really old japanese book , everything is in kanji. korean also the same. go check it out if u dun believe me.

i think the biggest usage of kanji is to differentiate between words. a lotsa words have the same pronunciation and kanji help to differentiate them. for eg, kaze can means wind or cold. if u just look at the hiragana u won't be sure which one it is exactly. that's part of the beauty of japanese, isn't it?

21-02-2004, 11:15 PM

cos japanese came from chinese in the ancient time and they wanna be different from chinese and that's why they introduce hiragana and katakana i think. if u look at the really old japanese book , everything is in kanji. korean also the same. go check it out if u dun believe me.

i think the biggest usage of kanji is to differentiate between words. a lotsa words have the same pronunciation and kanji help to differentiate them. for eg, kaze can means wind or cold. if u just look at the hiragana u won't be sure which one it is exactly. that's part of the beauty of japanese, isn't it?

tree007
22-02-2004, 12:37 AM
i think that's the beauty of chinese.. :P

yeah.. another thing that fascinates me is the history behind the texts.. both korean and japanese...

it's amazing how both of these countries can create their own set of characters.. the best is the korean characters i think.. if u read how their text was created, it's quite chun.. :P

as for japanese katagana n hiragana, it's derived directly from cursive chinese writing rite?

tree007
22-02-2004, 12:37 AM
i think that's the beauty of chinese.. :P

yeah.. another thing that fascinates me is the history behind the texts.. both korean and japanese...

it's amazing how both of these countries can create their own set of characters.. the best is the korean characters i think.. if u read how their text was created, it's quite chun.. :P

as for japanese katagana n hiragana, it's derived directly from cursive chinese writing rite?

22-02-2004, 02:57 AM
hehe..yeah exactly..that;s the whole beauty of chinese but since japs also using that, i said "part" of the beauty of japs...

talking about korean, the characters give me headache cos for me they just look like bunch of circles... :P

22-02-2004, 02:57 AM
hehe..yeah exactly..that;s the whole beauty of chinese but since japs also using that, i said "part" of the beauty of japs...

talking about korean, the characters give me headache cos for me they just look like bunch of circles... :P

22-02-2004, 03:12 PM
구실나는 오늘 아프다는 구실로 학교에 안 갔다 .
구미어떤 한국음식은 미국사람들의 구미에 잘 맞지 않는다 .
인구한국의 인구가 얼마나 돼요

ark crop circles!! 8O

:lol: :lol: :lol:

p/s: if you don't see anything, I actually posted some Korean texts .. don't ask me, I also don't know the meaning .. I just got it off a website :P

22-02-2004, 03:12 PM
구실나는 오늘 아프다는 구실로 학교에 안 갔다 .
구미어떤 한국음식은 미국사람들의 구미에 잘 맞지 않는다 .
인구한국의 인구가 얼마나 돼요

ark crop circles!! 8O

:lol: :lol: :lol:

p/s: if you don't see anything, I actually posted some Korean texts .. don't ask me, I also don't know the meaning .. I just got it off a website :P

24-02-2004, 10:58 AM
what about Thai heheh

24-02-2004, 10:58 AM
what about Thai heheh

24-02-2004, 03:26 PM
aiya no use comparing writings lar, japanese says english alphabets this and that, englishman says japanese characters that and this ... an Indian says both writings don't make sense ... then who is right?

don't judge a house from outside ... come inside first and then you complain ...

similarly, to really critique something, understand it first ... learn korean first, learn thai first, learn japanese first ...

I'm saying this for you and for myself :P :P :P ..

24-02-2004, 03:26 PM
aiya no use comparing writings lar, japanese says english alphabets this and that, englishman says japanese characters that and this ... an Indian says both writings don't make sense ... then who is right?

don't judge a house from outside ... come inside first and then you complain ...

similarly, to really critique something, understand it first ... learn korean first, learn thai first, learn japanese first ...

I'm saying this for you and for myself :P :P :P ..

25-02-2004, 02:39 PM
i thought of That coz my bestfriend in college is a Siamese! And she's superb!!! :wink:

25-02-2004, 02:39 PM
i thought of That coz my bestfriend in college is a Siamese! And she's superb!!! :wink:

29-04-2004, 05:46 PM
hmm...since i got nothing else to do, lemme bore you guys with my love story with Nihongo.

Watashi to Nihon

I love learning languages. The idea of being able to amaze people with such ability is so interesting. Also, being a multi-lingual has many plus points. Apart from Malay, I can also speak English and a bit of Arabic. I learned a bit of Mandarin last year from friends but never actually mastered the language due to several reasons. I was planning to learn something new this year. Luckily, I was given the chance to learn Japanese formally when my college offers a Japanese course (writing or communication-I’m taking both) to its students this year. It was a choice between Japanese or French, and needless to say, I chose Japanese.

One of the reasons why I chose Japanese was because I love the way words are pronounced in Nihongo. Somehow, it sounds so refined and cultured. The culture itself is another interesting aspect. I really respect the Japanese as although they are very developed, they still hold true to their culture, something that is rare these modern days. Also, I found the grammar rules of Nihongo are not that muzukashi (difficult) to remember, making me feel like this is one language that I can master, unlike Arabic that I learned for seven years once but fail to master until now (due to lack of interest actually).

My first contact with Nihongo was of course, through the popular Japanese cartoon serial, Doraemon. I always wonder what the song is about, and how the title (always written in hiragana) is pronounced in Japanese. I remember watching quite a number of TV shows which originated from Japan, like Ultraman (can’t believe I watched it once hehe), Flashman, Gaban and Kesatria Baja Hitam. The songs always stay, lingering in my mind, and I spent many nights wondering about what they mean in Malay.

Anyway, at 16, when i started MRSM, I started buying comics or also known as manga. My first manga was Satria Pedang (Rourouni Kenshin). I like the storyline, plus there's a bit of history *my favourite lesson!* in the comic. I remember rushing to the bookstore during first outing every month to make sure I get a copy of that month’s issue. Sometimes, I trade comics with some friends who share the same interests. The boys (and some of us girls) were SO into GTO, a rather ‘hot’ and ‘controversial’ manga serial.

And then, it was the Japanese drama serials aired on TV. I don't know why, but I just like the way words are pronounced in Japanese, and Japanese people are SO expressive when they want to say something. I enjoy watching the dramas; they are so expressive and so full of live. They also show the culture of Japan and since i'm such a technology-freak (I love everything new), the fact that Japan is such a developed country makes it even more omoshiroi (interesting). I get to see the cool gadgets and the latest technology in Japan through these serials. I still remember, the first Japanese drama serial CDs I bought was "beautiful Life" (i cried watching it hehe 8O ) -it's such a sweet and omoshiroi story, a very touching one too. Plus the guy is SO SO kawaii hehe..

Then, ASTRO was installed at my house. I started watching animes on Channel 15, that was like 2,3 years ago. Everyday I would be sitting in front of the TV, ignoring all invites to play football by my dear brothers because I didn’t want to miss an episode of Slam Dunk or some other animes. Having an elder sister who is an Anime freak as well does have its benefits. Every month, or every time we visit her at college, there would be tonnes and tonnes of new comics waiting to be read. She was always buying comics like Hajime Kindaichi and SlamDunk, causing my dad to question the relevance of comics to the course she was taking, dietatics.

Then, Shin Chan started to be aired on NTV7, starting a tradition of “mandi awal, hari ini ada Shin Chan” in my family. From the eldest to the youngest, all of us would be sitting in front of the idiot box, laughing our heads of at that cheeky fellow’s antics. My poor dad could never understand why we would watch something as stupid (of course, how intellectual can a Shin Chan episode be?) but hey, it’s funny. Plus, it is something from Japan.

Although I know it is going to be tough as I am such a procrastinator, I inspire to be like the Japanese. I am amazed by the Japanese spirit of working. They work hard and are really punctual. Plus, they have this really amazing sense of patriotism, never shy of admitting that they are Japanese. I believe that, if we had been colonised by the Nippon a bit longer than we actually were, we probably would have such high work standards as they do (this was a comment of a historian, I read it somewhere).

Just like Luke-kun, I just love everything Nihon. Their sense of fashion, the language, the people; everything Japanese amazes me. I admire them for having the courage to be different, and i do try to be like them - different and unique.

Although I feel that an hour a week for Nihongo is not enough, this does not dampen my spirit to learn more about Nihongo. Apart from my weekly Nihongo classes every Wednesday, I am also learning Japanese through the SIG I’m in at ReCom, from the many senseitachi there (arigato senseitachi!). I ask questions during class, and try to make full use of the forums in the Anime+Nihongo SIG.

I scour through dictionaries, looking up words that I do not understand and watch animes avidly, catching a few phrases here. I try to use it in my daily life, sprinkling a Japanese word here and there during conversations with friends. i guess I do drive them up the wall with my craziness with Nihon, but such darling friends I have, they never told me off. Instead, they encourage me to learn more and then, teach them in return. I plan to teach English in Japan one day, so I would be able to experience living in Japan (although Schye forbids me to hehe). Hope so my dreams will come true.

Ganbare!

The End. Hope that was not boring ^_^

29-04-2004, 08:10 PM

Well, i am not sure if Japanese come frmo China or not but Japanese language is a totally different langauge from any langauges in China.
Japanese started to "import" more and more words from China just like Malay language as they developed. That is why we have "kun" yomi and "on" yomi. On yomi is kanji with similiar pronunciation as mandarin and the word comes from China while Kun yomi has Japanese pronunciation which is totally different form the pronunciation of the word in Mandarin.
Japanese kanji sometimes differs from chinese characters because the kanji that they import are from different centuries/era (mainly from 2 "zaman :P")
Another reason that they use kanji is becasue they dont have theri own writings ---- Malay language is using alphebets too. Vietnam and Korea was using kanji before but both have change by creating their own writings now.

budakkerek:
havent read your article :P too busy...comment later...
however, with your determination, i htink your Japanese will improve really fast...
ganbatte!!!

29-04-2004, 10:26 PM
私が読んだんだよ。
watashi ga yonda n da yo!
I read it!

One of the reasons why I chose Japanese was because I love the way words are pronounced in Nihongo. Somehow, it sounds so refined and cultured.
私もそう思う。きれいな語だね。
watashi mo sou omou. kirei na go da ne!
I agree. beautiful language isn't it?

Apart from my weekly Nihongo classes every Wednesday, I am also learning Japanese through the SIG I?m in at ReCom, from the many senseitachi there (arigato senseitachi!). I ask questions during class, and try to make full use of the forums in the Anime+Nihongo SIG.
どういたしまして。
dou itashimashite :)
You are welcome

The End. Hope that was not boring ^_^
いえいえ、ぜんぜん詰らなくない。私なんか喜んだ。
ieie, zenzen tsumaranakunai. watashi, nanka yorokonda.
no no, not boring at all. I, somehow feel delighted.

30-04-2004, 12:48 PM
Arigato!!! *wave to crowd with happy tears in eyes*

hehe...i'm glad you enjoyed it!
i wrote it yesterday, i was supposed to be doing my Human Dvlpment ASSignment hehe...*i'm such a deviator* ^_^

Luke-kun, yorokonde---> i learned from Chibits what it means...So chobits is good for learning new words..heheh...

ps: Schye must read it, anata no namae ni atashi no esei desu *hehe..slh grammar ke?*

30-04-2004, 01:06 PM
ps: Schye must read it, anata no namae ni atashi no esei desu *hehe..slh grammar ke?*
did you want to say "your name is in my essay" ?
then ... "atashi no essei ni anata no namae ga arimasu." ... decorate skit: "atashi no essei ni Schye-kun no onamae mo kakimashita" (I also wrote your name in my essay, Schye)

oboete iru? ano hi no chigau "structure" no hanashi. eto .. eego to nihongo no "structure" wa chigau to hanashita n darou?
Do you still remember it? the discussion about the difference in structure that day .. err .. we chatted about english and japanese's structures are different didn't we?

30-04-2004, 01:27 PM
argh!! pening X)

yep..still ingat..i hv the chat log hehe...kinda useful..rather than reading books and tak phm ape...the particles kn ingat functionnye kan..if tak..mmg tak leh buat ayat...

arigato, Luke-kun! for correcting me! yorokonde! hehe

chobits..chobits..chobits LOL

endoru
31-07-2004, 08:53 AM
Hi Luke !

Ahem, a few corrections on your comments on Mr. Budak Kerek's Love Story.

First : 私が読んだんだ。

If you want to to say "I've read it!", a much more proper expression is to say "私は読んだよ!". The complexity between how to use "は" and "が" is something which is real complicating. If you use "が" here, you are trying to stress that "you" have read it. So the emphasis falls on "私". When you express it in that way, it is like someone said that "誰がこれを読んだの?" ... "WHO" is the one who read this? .... "I" am the one who read this.

質問 : 誰がこれを読んだの?
答え : 私が読んだんだ。(explanation or reason ... ~んだ)

But, in this case, if you want to say, just simply to inform that you have read it then you can say only "私は読んだよ!" ... I've read it !

Second : 私もそう思う。きれいな語だね。

For this one, 語 was the mistake. 語 means "word" as in a word. If you want to say "language", it should be 言語.
So it is , 「綺麗な言語だね。」
Except when you want to say a certain language
Japanese : 日本 + 語 = 日本語 ( only 語 )

Example to differ the two :
A language called Japanese language, is a beautiful language.
日本語という言語は、きれない言語です。

Third : いえいえ、ぜんぜん詰らなくない。私なんか喜んだ。

The word "boring" as in "つまらない" does not have a Kanji to express it. Checked out the dictionary already. The "詰まらない" in your sentence mean "Not filled up".

The word "詰まる"
1. choke
2. clog
3.smother
4. suffocate
5. fill
6. book up
7. falter
8. stutter
9. be stuck for ~
10. draw
11. shrink

As for 私なんか喜んだ , it would be much better to say 私は、なんか感動(かんどう)した。which means " I am touched (a slight delightness is also included in this expression".

喜ぶ yorokobu
- to be happy about something : a rather polite form to express happiness.

あの子はプレゼントをもらって、喜んでいた。
Ano ko ha(wa) purezento wo moratte , yorokondeita.
That child received a present and was happy about it.

Usually we use the word "喜ぶ" when we want to express others who are in a happy or delighted situation. As in personal happiness (I'm happy/delighted.), 私は、なんかうれしい。Watashi ha(wa) nanka ureshii.

Hehe. Don't mind me correcting.
We all do hope to learn the correct expressions rite ?

Peace !

31-07-2004, 09:03 AM
hehe thanks for the corrections, endoru .. I posted that 4 months ago, when I was still so much a beginner in nihongo (I still am right now but I think I've improved much thanks to this SIG :)) ... hehe you are a great sensei indeed .. glad to have you here (can I use "yorokobu" here? "kimi ga kite watashi wa yorokonde iru"? or is it "kimi ga kita kara watashi wa yorokonde iru"?

endoru
31-07-2004, 09:15 AM
君が来て、私は喜んでいる。
Kimi ga kite watashi ha(wa) yorokondeiru.
Translation : You came and I am happy that you did.

君が来たから、私は喜んでいる。
Kimi ga kita kara, watashi ha(wa) yorokondeiru.
Translation : [FOR YOU HAVE CAME], I am happy.

Stress on the [FOR YOU HAVE CAME] part.

Hehe.

君 is used when someone gets real close to each other.
Some people get real sensitive if you used it suddenly.
Because you only use it on someone who is as old as you are or someone younger or someone real close like gf/bf.

But, I do not mind you referring me as 君.
I am happy because that makes me feel so accepted here in ReCom.

私も、このReComに参加できて、嬉しく思っています。
Watashi mo, kono ReCom ni sanka dekite, ureshiku omotteimasu.
I am also happy for I can join this ReCom.

嬉しく思っています = 嬉しいです = 喜んでいる
Same but more polite.

Hehe.
Peace !

31-07-2004, 09:57 AM
Hahah...
It seems that we have a efficient and kibishii sensei here :D
nice... nice ...
In fact, that is why I want endoru to join us here badly... cos I know he will be a better sensei than me 8) (cos my english suxs)

endoru
31-07-2004, 10:10 AM
Seng Chye, don't say that !

That makes me sound as if I am such a perfectionist.
Well, I mean everyone wants to know the right thing rite ?
I am still learning too as well.
My English ain't that superb as these guys who are in the States.
I lose flat to them.
Sigh.

But, we can definitely teach Japanese.
Hehe.
Correct me when I am wrong and I will definitely correct you when you are !

Hehe.
Peace !

03-08-2004, 02:03 PM
umm..correction mr Endoru...it's not Mr budakkerek, it's Miss budakkerek :P
but all the same, this is the nth time ppl mistook me for a guy *sigh*

endoru
03-08-2004, 04:20 PM
Ampun tuanku beribu-ribu ampun !

Is this right ?
Haha.
Anyway, your pic and your nick budakkerek, anyone would mistake you as a Mr !

Sorrylar.
Gomenasai.
Hehe.
Peace !

04-08-2004, 09:16 AM
Ampun tuanku beribu-ribu ampun !

Is this right ?
Haha.
Anyway, your pic and your nick budakkerek, anyone would mistake you as a Mr !

Sorrylar.
Gomenasai.
Hehe.
Peace !

Tipah tertipu. heh.

04-08-2004, 11:06 AM
hmm..why should i conform to the norm, that gurls should choose gurlish pics and name also must sound gurlish...?

anyway, my nick is budakkerek, not encikkerek or sthing like that..a budak can be a boy or a gurl right...and the avatar, that's mr frodo la..me like him..coz cute hair heheh

Masterof_none:
bukan tipah tertipu, abang tipah tertipu hehehe..

04-08-2004, 11:15 AM
hmm..why should i conform to the norm, that gurls should choose gurlish pics and name also must sound gurlish...?
oooo ... so you are not normal then ... now that it has been cleared up, everything starts making sense to me ... :twisted:

04-08-2004, 11:21 AM
hey hey....bila plak me ckp me xnormal? i'm juz saying i'm different

*chases luke around the room with a broom - hehe...it rhymes, room n brrom :P*

endoru
04-08-2004, 12:29 PM
Sapu dier ! Sapu dier ! Sapu dier

Haha.
We are definitely out of track.
This place is turning into budakkerek's ... urm ... re-confirmation ?
Whether budakkerek is a girl or a boy.
Haha.
Shall we get back to the topic ?

sakurakinomoto
28-08-2005, 01:36 PM
wow...out topic for 2 pages...whew...that's long...hey, i wanted to learn japanese!!!! to me, when the first anime i learn nothing, then when i watch ranma 1/2, i started scolding people BAKA and AHO...wow....learn from akane too much..XD now i wonder where can i learn basic japanese?

29-08-2005, 12:26 AM
I think there are some useful links here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG&id=anime) at the bottom of our SIG site.

You may ask us any questions you have here too and I believe we will be more than happy to share our knowledge about Japanese,of course anime too.

burningBUTTERFLIES
29-08-2005, 04:29 PM
hmm, I used to have a prejudice against Japanese stuff and language (erm, besides toshiba, sony etc XD). Then when I got into coll, *opened eyes*. Ended up learning Japanese on my own...

Started since beginning of this year. Quite hard as it progress. Now I'm already 8O

I intend to see it through la... actually I wanted to be able to sit for the JLPTs but not so important. Tahu tulis and converse enough la.

Feels real good when you are able to understand the language :lol:

Slow learner though, GAH! I think sometimes learning in a class would be easier, because you get to practice speaking it. But havent got da moolah to go class yet. Therefore browsing forums like this hoping to use my meagre knowledge of Nihongo. =P

Steppe
29-08-2005, 05:51 PM
the japanese writing (not kanji) is very cool and very err.....how to explain...hmm...very ease looking...i like it

nxwen
29-08-2005, 11:33 PM
I'm taking Japanese as an elective now. Hmm...so far so good. Just not used to not being able to use kanji (I learn japanese on my own before this).

There'll be a mid sem test next week... need to study... :?

burningBUTTERFLIES
30-08-2005, 01:42 AM
nxwen: You are in college? Why so nice, can have japanese class! My uni, LUCT, cant choose, actually we don't have. Harrumph! People who learnt Chinese before, the kanji part will be kacang for them, but of course the pronounciation is the main headache... so many. I'm a 'banana', so learning from scratch.

Steppe: last time I refered to japanese writing as 'those swiggly things...'. also remember the hiragana 'no' の is somehow always on a japanese product, that's how I know. Quite fun to learn the hiragana and katakana... like drawing a bit hehe.

nxwen
30-08-2005, 02:12 AM
I'm in uni. Actually I'm lazy to remember the exact hiragana for all those terms, so prefer to use kanji (esp numbers). For kanji, yeah, pronounciation is one problem, writing them is also another problem because the characters used are traditional chinese characters. But remembering which pronounciation in which phrase (for the same character) does give me headache. :?

Ganbatte ne... burningBUTTERFLIES, I'm sure you can do it!!

burningBUTTERFLIES
30-08-2005, 02:26 AM
eh! another night owl! hahah. are you planning to take jlpt? it's happens once a year and about USD50 or 100 I can't remember.

yea, can't wait for the day I'll be able to converse fluently in japanese!

btw, good luck for ur exam :D

MathewNg1988
30-08-2005, 07:35 PM
Hajimemashite.
(Hai everyone)

I saw Sakura saying about learning Nihongo and websites. Here I have a website for u all(Learning Nihongo of course.....)

http;//web-japan.org/kidsweb/

Somesort of that.... :( If cant be found, i suggest that you search on the googles using this phrase "jinjapan"

That's where I learn my first Japanese....

nxwen
31-08-2005, 01:25 AM
eh! another night owl! hahah. are you planning to take jlpt? it's happens once a year and about USD50 or 100 I can't remember.

yea, can't wait for the day I'll be able to converse fluently in japanese!

btw, good luck for ur exam :D

Thanks!!

Sorry about my ignorance, but what kind of exam is JLPT? I think I heard or saw it somewhere before, but don't really have an idea what is it about. Hmm... the price is kinda expensive.

I'm looking forward to the day where I can understand anime and manga without subs.... talk about motivation to learn nihongo.. :wink:

burningBUTTERFLIES
31-08-2005, 05:27 AM
Hiya Mathew! Douzo Yoroshiku. Thanks for the webbie... suit my level, lol. I used to have a long list of helpful Japanese webs, but my pc konked out, had to reformat and precious bookmarks gone... but can still remember recom (haha it rhymes!).

There's also a Japanese teacher in Phillipines who will teach you through email for RM140... It's quite good imho, but didnt try la.
Check it out: http://www.geocities.com/jay3242000/mypage.html

*nxwen: JLPT = Japanese Language Proficiency Test. They have four levels, level 1 being the hardest... If you are planning to work or study in Japan, it may be useful... but a lot of people say it's really just testing you on your abilities to take an exam... you may speak japanese perfectly and naturally with natives, and yet still fail... For more info:

http://www.thejapanesepage.com/readarticle.php?article_id=37

Anyone here has taken the test?

Nah, I just tune into Channel 15 Astro during anime hours... they only have audios and it's either english or japanese. The english-dubbed one is just so darn lame and horrible, and if I switch to japanese, I can't understand most of them unless it's 'Dame!' 'Baka!' 'Honto ni???'... Talk about motivation.... lol

so far the only good english dubbed anime I've seen is Princess Mononoke...

MathewNg1988
31-08-2005, 08:58 PM
Hope you find the web useful....
About the Astro... I actually had some opportunity to watch.
But I heard that the AXN 6:00-7:00 no cartoon liao lol.
That's where i first watch Nihongo cartoon.

Wanna know how i start my nihongo lessons? here....

I start out in the year when i'm form 3, reading History(A must!!!). After that, I decided to get information on the second world war from the japanese's point of view. That's how i got interested in it. I start out by asking around and form a... erm..... somesort of study group(although nihongo lessons are not given). I'm the learner. :) the group consist of 4 ppl. they are erm. not very good at it too. they learn from cartoons, movies..... so. they teach me what they know and i theach them what i know(though we r not sure weather it's correct or not) :lol: . one day i come across the web (above) and we start off more formal lessons. I have a few nihongo cartoons so i watch(and give our thoughts) about the movie and language.

that's the start..Now is the exiting part. in form 5, my svhool has been chosen for students changing programme. It's a Japanese girl who come. :wink: So, the whole group of us start to speak nihongo to her and show off(that no one else in school know how to speak). :lol: she also uses nihongo with us(sinple nihongo around standard 3 in japan as she says) and english(very few vocab just like our nihongo) with others. She even wears her "kimono" to school during special dayoff such as saturday during xtra-curriculum activities.

We manage to capture a few photoes with her when she's wearing the kimono... but I donno what the owner had done with those... Sigh :cry:

Now? Now she had left.... she is in Ipoh Perak(I think). That's her next destination. We didnt manage to go to the bas station to send her bcoz we were in school. I donno weather she has gone back to japan..... I still remember/miss(dreadfully) her and the times during speaking with all of the group....

her name? Iso Shizuka. Her photo? here(Passport size, which i hack out of the school's system) (Hahahaha.... just kidding)

erm can anyone teach me how to put up photoes? HELP!!! I cannot get the photo up(i have it in my pc)[/img]

burningBUTTERFLIES
31-08-2005, 10:37 PM
just find a image host, like photobucket.com

upload image, get the url then just put URL

tada

nxwen
01-09-2005, 01:16 AM
I watch subbed animes, not dubbed ones. Some dubbed animes, as burningBUTTERFLIES said, is just horrible. I find those in Malay really unbearable, e.g. naruto, especially after you watch them in japanese. Some parts which are funny become not funny anymore. I think its quite hard to capture the essence of a language.

Mathew, wow...u actually have the chance to practise japanese with a native, cool man! When I was in secondary school, japanese exchange students came to my school as well. Twice, F2 and F4, but too bad at that time I was clueless about japanese. :(

boafan
01-09-2005, 05:39 PM
I watch subbed animes, not dubbed ones. Some dubbed animes, as burningBUTTERFLIES said, is just horrible. I find those in Malay really unbearable, e.g. naruto, especially after you watch them in japanese. Some parts which are funny become not funny anymore. I think its quite hard to capture the essence of a language.

true true..*nods head in agreement*..whenever i see naruto aired on local tv..i go like.. 8O oh gosh i need to shut off da tv..the malay dubbing is killin' me..once u watch animes in japanese..malay dubbed ones are really a put off, i tell 'ya...
ok..bac 2 da topic..i'm serious bout learning japanese till i bought an oxford japanese-english dictionary, a japanese learning book..(got it from my bro) and i learnt hiragana and katakana on my own..and now i'm still learning kanji..it's damn tough, though...i still feel that korean is easier.. :P

burningBUTTERFLIES
02-09-2005, 01:01 AM
Mathew, can upload pic anot? Or if u want, u could send it to me, I help u upload, since I already have an acc in photobucket.

harrumph, the closest Japanese native I spoke to was when I was working as a promoter for Digi. After I explained to him some stuff and he spoke, realised he aint native, from Japan la. His english was quite good actually. Nice fella too. Told him I was studying Japanese but I got jumbled up! said smthg like," nihon-go...er, benkyou shimasu-ing". he looked at me rather weirdly, so i said, "uh. heta desu ne." Damn right. How embarassing... At least he won't ever see me again. It's a bit nerve wrecking when you try to talk in japanese since i'm a diy learner. usually talk to the mirror, hahah.

*boafan: not only does the translation sucked, but the 'seiyuu'/voice talents (ironic, not talented at all) is just so... lame. referring to Naruto here. I saw the one on telly too. If I were in an anime, you know, with all the exaggerated action, I'd either smash the tv or strangle the voicers.

haha, how many language you know so far? My first exposure to korean language is 'Dae Jang Geum'. Korean pronounciation seems hard. but it sounds cute when a girl speaks it. the writing oso so cute. circles and squares... like crop circles...

lol joudan ne.

i think the hard thing abt japanese is that one kanji, there's usually more than two pronounciation for it. *drive me mad*
[/i]

boafan
02-09-2005, 02:00 PM
kanji has a few pronunciations and usages..it's quite difficult for me since i do not noe chinese..and yeah im also a diy learner..i'm currently learning da alphabets and so on for korean..but still learning japanese..

03-09-2005, 11:26 PM
I have passed my JLPT(level 3) in Malaysia 4 years ago(2001) and passed level 1, 3 years ago in Japan.

If I am not mistaken, there is a Japanese Foundation Center at the Citibank building near KLCC. There is a library which has a lot of books, videos and vcd. There was where I spent my weekends when I was learning my Japanese in UTMKL.
I tried to find its homepage but failed. However I found this here (http://www.jagam.org.my/05_student/05_student18.html).

6.) THE JAPAN FOUNDATION KUALA LUMPUR
(Japanese Language Centre - JLC)
Suite 30.01, Level 30, Menara Citibank, 165, Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur.
Mr. Edward Lee
Tel : 03-2161 2304 | Fax : 03-2161 5302

For more information about learning Japanese in Malaysia, click (http://www.jagam.org.my/05_student/05_student.html).

burningBUTTERFLIES
04-09-2005, 12:31 AM
Schye, thanks for clearing up my ques on another post. and wow, level one? Siao... heard it's damn hard.

Ah that one near Citibank it has a website, now called Japanese Cultural centre or something. Haven't gone to their web in ages, because they offer advanced japanese class only. Do they have any easy books there? Like those kindergarden ones...
{edit} nope, not cultural centre... still japan foundation... webbie:http://www.jfkl.org.my/ {/edit}

For those interested, there is Japanese Language Society of Malaysia (JLSM). Wanted to go there on a friend's recommendation. I heard it's pretty good. And sometimes if there are some exchange students from Japan, they'd go there, so you can practice with a native. So far, it doesn't have a website as far as I know, just an email add. Yearly fee is RM1440, if I'm not mistaken... Their reply to my email:

We have Basic One, Basic Two and Intermediate courses.

For more information, please call our staff Ms. Vanessa during our office hours.

Monday to Friday from 2pm to 9pm and Saturday from 10am to 7pm and Sunday from 10 am to 3pm.

Our address is:- 42-2B 2nd floor Jalan Sultan Ismail, 54200 Kuala Lumpur. (within walking distance from LOT 10 shopping complex. Near Pizza Hut.)

Tel. No. 03- 2144 1180 and 03- 2144 2180.

Another one, in KL Plaza, is Intercultural Language School (ICLS). Apparently it's the biggest japanese school here. Other than Japanese, they also teach chinese, english, french and korean. Also heard from someone that it's good. And by far it's the cheapest among all; beginner I/II is rm290, for 20lessons (90 minutes) or 14 lessons (2 hours). Registration = rm30.

http://www.icls.com.my/
KL School: 03-2144 2060
Subang School: 03-56350393

but tell u first, if they have ur phone no, they will call you when there's a new class starting if u haven't register.

Almost went there, but my parents was like, 'dame! okane ga arimasen.' Haha, nola, not having the most rosy financial situation, they are afraid they may not be able to pay to continue to the next level. so DIY then... trying to save up though=P

The other J schools I'm not so sure.

boafan
04-09-2005, 11:57 AM
wow...i got curious and clicked on the link..and pop! now im engrossed wif learning kanji on that website!! thanks burningBUTTERFLIES!! :D

MathewNg1988
08-09-2005, 06:05 PM
1)sorry but butterfly.... mine is in my pc not on the web(URL) yeah.... maybe you can help me post it up, but..... i think i should learn how to do it.... you know what? it's better to teach me how to fish than giving me fish.... u know what i mean? :roll:

2)Yeah. you r right nxwen. they sucks. even some of them are not correct :( . for example....my totoro cartoon is in cantonis and nihongo. but even i hate the cantonis. you know y? the speech(characters' speaking) is not correct. and even somemore.... i realise that a few times when the nihongo is not speaking, the cantonis speaks....
Just luck ok...... she's in my class for just aroung 1 and 1/2 month only....

3) hey guess wat boafan... even me who rarely watch naruto in nihongo find malay version's "pretty....." lame...*nodding head towards butterfly's comment towards boafan and the fact that butterfly says about korean language* i dont even bother bout kanji. in writing its just han zi... but pronounciation is totally a defferent world

4)hey butterfly every learning of a new language starts from kindergarden(quoted from one of my senior, who introduced me into here... :) )

5)i found one but not in msia, in japan itself 新宿. thats what i found out from the shen xue qing bao.

6) haha....dont addict until you forget meals.

08-09-2005, 09:26 PM
yeah, i agree w u guys on the dubbed version of Naruto on telly. watched that before i came here. n seriously, it's so lame. coz somehow, the translation made the anime not as funny as it supposed to be. and the voices..DUHHHH..so lame n so menyampah loh..

anyway, i hvnt watched for so long. last one i watched was naruto and the snow princess. the movie one loh...pretty omoshiroii, i hv to say.

am helping my nihon fren organise a jap student gathering kinda thing..another good thing to put on my CV hehe..and a good chance to meet other ppl as well....oh well...

LuvPeach
14-09-2005, 06:03 PM
Im new in this forum. Im really sorry to have interrupted y'all here. Could anyone please help me by providing me some info on expenses in Osaka? and does anyone knows much about notebooks as im not too sure should i get a laptop here or in jpn. Thank u. :)

burningBUTTERFLIES
14-09-2005, 07:25 PM
luvpeach : hmm, i think it's better if u post a new topic abt ur question... gain more attention mah, lol. Or you could go to this forum called 'Japan forum' or 'Gaijin pot' , forgot the add, just try to Google it and you'll get the add. A lot of gaijins(foreigners in Japan) in there... they may have a lot of help.

budakkerek: that meeting sounds fun! tell us how did it go.

mathew: oledi told u lor... go to photobucket.com, and just sign up. they will guide you from there.

15-09-2005, 01:42 AM
Im new in this forum. Im really sorry to have interrupted y'all here. Could anyone please help me by providing me some info on expenses in Osaka? and does anyone knows much about notebooks as im not too sure should i get a laptop here or in jpn. Thank u. :)

Well, my advice is if you are going to stay in Japan for a long time, then you better buy in Japan unless your laptop is guarenteed internationally. You could always check the price here (http://www.kakaku.com/sku/pricemenu/winn.htm). The cheapest is around rm 2k.

I assume that you know Japanese as you are coming to Osaka. In fact, if you want to learn Japanese faster, then get th Jap Windows. I bet you will improve your Japanese faster than before but dont blame me when you want to hack or need to do any troubleshooting.

LuvPeach
15-09-2005, 02:50 PM
Schye: thanks for the infos, what im really concerned is the language of the window operating system, is there any other option beside jap version?
Approximately i'll spend 1 1/2 years in osaka. I don't know much about jpnese language, i'll have to learn when im there. Thats the reason i need a piece of advice.
burningbutterflies: as i had mentioned, im really sorry to have interreupted y'all but im not an attention seeker, i just need a lil advice from someone experieced, therefore i need not to post a new topic. Thank u.

15-09-2005, 08:21 PM
Well, if you will only be here for 1 1/2 year then I think its better for you to buy in Malaysia. But make sure its compatible with both 240V and 110V. Its not necessary to have a Japanese version Windows as long as you have the language pack installed.

If you plan to buy here, you can buy one without the Jap Win installed (you will need to pay around rm300 for it) and install the OS that you prefer later.

LuvPeach
16-09-2005, 04:05 PM
Schye: I dont mind buy one from jpn as the models are newer (i supposed)
How much is the charges to pay for another version of OS?

17-09-2005, 01:39 AM
I am not so sure about the price of the English ver OS here. Maybe they dont have any as I never seen any before. But you can always get one when you are in Malaysia.

MathewNg1988
17-09-2005, 03:38 PM
thanks for the url.... but what is "blog"?
still working on the photobucket.......... so slow. i think many ppl use this kot?! anyway..... thanks butterfly :wink: :lol:

MathewNg1988
17-09-2005, 03:52 PM
NOW!!Here's the nihongo no sensei no gambar!!!!

erm.... can anyone plz confirm this 4 me:"Is the pic still here even when i'm offline?"

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b332/mathew_ng1988/recom/054020.jpg

burningBUTTERFLIES
18-09-2005, 02:11 AM
Mathew: you learnt to fish! hahaha, yup, can see it... eh why suddenly ask abt blog? Blog is smthg like an online journal/diary, but basically u can write about any monkey/donkey/etc that you like, and ppl will see it. pretty cool as well... for famous blogs, malaysians, there's http://www.kennysia.com or http://www.minishorts.net
try la, u get an idea.

...or there's always wikipedia =P

luvpeach: didn't mean it that way, sorry if it offended you

edit: finally get to see mathew-san no nihongo sensei! sugoi/suteki (meaning same?) ne! lol. i tihnk gambar in japanese is '写真 shasin?

29-09-2005, 12:09 PM
ただいま帰りました~ ずっと黙っててごめんなさい。いろいろがあって時間がなくなってしまったし。今でも試験で忙しいところなんだけど、ま、recomはどうなってるかなって思っててこっちに見渡しに入ってしまって。。。

anyway, I'm back! wah, got new faces here! irassyai irassyai! douzo goraku ni shite kudasai~

29-09-2005, 09:45 PM
お帰り~
久しぶりだな~
暇があったら、いつでもいいから、たまに僕らをお訪ねに来て。。。

Wow, welcome back *big hug*!
I am busy too but I am sure now as busy as you cos I still have some time to read posts in recom from time to time though I am not as active as before.

Ganbarou!!!

nxwen
30-09-2005, 04:38 PM
Konnichiwa minnasan~~ it's been a long while since I drop by, totemo isogashii desu kara...

Can understand about 60-70% of the japanese you guys posted, still lots more to learn man... According to my nihongo no sensei, must take up another level of Japanese before we are ready for the JLPT. So, I'll see first la... it'll depend whether the schedule can fit into my timetable.

Ja ne... :)

01-10-2005, 12:11 AM
wahhh...i wanna put some pics but dunno how *hehe..malu betul..so long on recom still hvnt mastered the art of putting photos here LOL*

the gath was ok..the Stradbroke Island trip was fun as well..i wore a YUKATA! cun cun haha...*perasan mode*

01-10-2005, 11:52 AM
wahhh...i wanna put some pics but dunno how *hehe..malu betul..so long on recom still hvnt mastered the art of putting photos here LOL*
I wanted to say something but decided not to say so ... :P

the gath was ok..the Stradbroke Island trip was fun as well..i wore a YUKATA! cun cun haha...*perasan mode*
それはどういうことですか?すみませんが、何ヶ月もここに入ってなかったから何か新しい話しがあれば私全然知らないから、もう一度教えてください。いいことなら私も喜んであげますから。

p/s: Schye, don't translate that even if budakkerek ask you to :P

MathewNg1988
10-10-2005, 11:29 AM
oic.... i just come across it when using photobucket, thats all. just wana know :wink:

understanding of nihongo?? me?? i need to find my hiragana and katagana chart......... then translate word by word......swt... :oops:

Budakkerek->wana learn how to put up photo?? go to last few page some1 there thought me liao so ikut what they say lah.... bcoz its how i just learn to use

luke-> not only sythe can translate lah... any1 oso can if only u understand..... me still need hard work(a lot), since i still hvnt hafal the words in nihongo :wink: so u get the idea? i need to search word to word, write them down in ABC, decide the subject object predikat...... only then i can understand :(

13-10-2005, 10:09 AM
luke-> not only sythe can translate lah... any1 oso can if only u understand..... me still need hard work(a lot), since i still hvnt hafal the words in nihongo :wink: so u get the idea? i need to search word to word, write them down in ABC, decide the subject object predikat...... only then i can understand :(
ok then, if you can translate that, please DON'T translate it for budakkerek .. let her figure that out by herself muahahahaha :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

j/k .. go ahead and make it a challenge for yourself to translate it .. I'll give you one japanese manga I have if you succeed. Promise! You can get help from people who are not Recommers.

13-10-2005, 11:27 PM
ele..eksyen ye..pandang rendah on me ye..hmm...chotto!
*sinsing lengan baju*

すみませんが、(I`m sorry,but..)何ヶ月も(for certain months)ここに入ってなかったから(coz i`ve not come/enter/been here)何か新しい話しがあれば(if there`re anything new stories/things)私全然知らないから(coz i don`t know anything about it[the story/thing]、もう一度教えてください(please teach/tell me about it) いいことなら私も喜んであげますから(if you could do/tell it,I`ll be happy)

Correct or not?
:) :)

13-10-2005, 11:42 PM
*sinsing lengan baju*

すみませんが、(I`m sorry,but..)何ヶ月も(for certain months)ここに入ってなかったから(coz i`ve not come/enter/been here)何か新しい話しがあれば(if there`re anything new stories/things)私全然知らないから(coz i don`t know anything about it[the story/thing]、もう一度教えてください(please teach/tell me about it) いいことなら私も喜んであげますから(if you could do/tell it,I`ll be happy)

Correct or not?
SUBARASHII~ *clap hands while wiping off tears*
btw, "いいことなら私も喜んであげますから" = if it's a good thing/news I'll be happy for you :wink:

14-10-2005, 12:36 AM
hehe..sugoi nee?

ok..now it's time to say omedetou hehehe

14-10-2005, 03:16 PM
*sinsing lengan baju*

Correct or not?
SUBARASHII~ *clap hands while wiping off tears*
btw, "いいことなら私も喜んであげますから" = if it's a good thing/news I'll be happy for you :wink:

Wow... *claps legs*
Where is your japanese friend... I am waiting for her email add from Kerek ...

I found いいことなら私も喜んであげますから a bit weird ... I dont know whats wrong but I think it sounds better with just 喜びます as with あげる, err... we just dont use it that way. However its not wrong in the sense of grammar :wink:

MathewNg1988
22-10-2005, 04:47 PM
budakkerek u r good leh *clap.....*
i am still working on it..... :oops:

fish
11-11-2005, 05:08 PM
久しぶりです。

長い間でしたね。

最近は日本語で学会発表をしました。発表自体は大丈夫だと思いますが変な質問が回答できなくて悔しかったです。

今日はKEREKとちょっとネットで話をしました。彼女は元気そうで、なんにより私も安心しました。

ちなみに、日曜日には紅葉を見に行きますよ。日本の紅葉は非常に有名で皆さんも機会があれば是非秋のときに日本へ訪ねてくださいね。

ではまた時間がありましたら日本の話をしましょう。