View Full Version : prefered university to do engineering
letz discuss... my main subject is wheather university nottingham in malaysia (UNIM) or university teknologi petronas (UTP)... which is better? :roll: :wink:
30-06-2006, 12:40 PM
thats a question nobody could answer you correctly.
There are good and bad everywhere. For an example..
Yale is a great school, world known.. but it is in the worst city in Connecticut. People get shot in that area daily...
So it all depends what youre looking for..
Prestige? Comfort? Quality?
You have to be a little bit more specific in what exactly you want to know.. ofcourse youre going to have to do some research on both university yourself.
After that when you have a real question about the school, then maybe someone who went there could help you out.
Don;t take this wrong, i'm trying to help.
thanks for ur advice :D
when we graduate, most employer look at our certificate and will know where we studied... most of them prefered graduate from well-know university then norm-know university... im i right? :?:
Wei_Ming
30-06-2006, 01:23 PM
thanks for ur advice :D
when we graduate, most employer look at our certificate and will know where we studied... most of them prefered graduate from well-know university then norm-know university... im i right? :?:
All things being equal, yes.
But how do you judge whether a university has a better reputation than the other?
UTP and Nottingham in Malaysia is rather similar to me in terms of reputation...
It's not as if you're comparing with Melbourne U or Imperial College.
Dr_Tay
30-06-2006, 10:30 PM
For engineering it would be better to go to a university like Manchester, Birmingham and Brunel.
However, locally I would think that Nottingham is only okay nothing special and rather arrogant. Professors may not be very approachable and would rather that you are an independent learner rather than get in their hair.
strikingstar
01-07-2006, 12:35 AM
Yale is a great school
Yes, but Yale Engineering is a joke.
Is OP is interested in going overseas, think MIT, Caltech or Stanford in the US. The only Ivies worth considering (for engineering) are Princeton and Cornell.
01-07-2006, 10:00 AM
Yale is a great school
Yes, but Yale Engineering is a joke.
Is OP is interested in going overseas, think MIT, Caltech or Stanford in the US. The only Ivies worth considering (for engineering) are Princeton and Cornell.
I was just trying to make a point.. Yale engineering undergrad is just a big of a joke as other ivies.. heck all undergrad engineering programs are a joke. It's the other classes you can take at these schools that make it worthwhile IMHO.
01-07-2006, 12:32 PM
letz discuss... my main subject is wheather university nottingham in malaysia (UNIM) or university teknologi petronas (UTP)... which is better? :roll: :wink:
what about UNITEN?
haihai
01-07-2006, 12:47 PM
hai :D
sorry to interup but i hope to get some informations about telecommunication/ perhubungan engineering here. may i know what career can i looking for after i graduated? tough to study? actually tele. eng. related with what? compare with mechanical / mechatronic / civil and tele. ,which one is better?
thank you..............
okaywhy
01-07-2006, 07:25 PM
I was just trying to make a point.. Yale engineering undergrad is just a big of a joke as other ivies.. heck all undergrad engineering programs are a joke. It's the other classes you can take at these schools that make it worthwhile IMHO.
Why do you think so? :wink:
Well, perhaps to certain extent, the application of sciences (engineering) might not be as pretigious as the theoretical sciences. But engineers are very important to the world, aren't they? What make you think that the undergrad engineering programs are not worthwhile to be taken? :roll:
ahpei
02-07-2006, 11:10 PM
What about Multimedia University??