View Full Version : what is pure sc?
woods
03-07-2006, 01:59 PM
can any recommer enlighten me as to what actually pure sc is as offered by jpa. is it the 3 sc subjects we r all too familiar with. ie chem,bio,fz. is biomedical sc a pure sc subject.or is immunology a pure sc subject.
how to roll a joint (http://howtorollajoint.net)
kimsiang
03-07-2006, 04:22 PM
can any recommer enlighten me as to what actually is pure sc as offered by jpa. is it the 3 sc subjects we r all too familiar with. ie chem,bio,fz. or is it more to it than meet the eyes. is biomedical sc a pure sc subject.or is immunology a pure sc subject.
Hello woods,
I m studying under pure science in Japan,but not under jpa.I am not sure whether it is the same with jpa's offer but i will give some brief introduction about what i know.
Pure science consisting of bio,phy,chem,math,etc.geology,astronomy,...may be included depending on university.For example,Kyoto University which i am in now,Physics,Math,Biology,Chemistry,Planetary science,Astrophysics,Mineral science,etc.
For the 1st and 2nd years,we have to study all those general subjects like mechanics,statistical physics,calculus,linear algebra,physical chemistry,etc.3th year onwards,we have to choose our own field of interest such as particle physics,low temperature physics,in physics,NMR,physical chemistry,solid state,in chemistry,DNA,virus,in Biology,algebric geometry,analytical science,in math,etc....
After finishing your undergraduate studies,you can choose to further your studies in many field,including engineering,economics,applied science,and theoretical science.
I am studying physics now(2nd year),and probably will major in particle physics start from next year.
Vaporizer-Info.Com (http://johan-luis.tumblr.com/)
kintaro_kun
03-07-2006, 06:21 PM
yeah, i also wanna know what is "pure science". from my shallow understanding, i think pure science is the "biology", "chemistry" "physics", "math" etc, while applied science is more on the practical usage of these sciences, like "engineering", "medicine", "pharmacy", "radiology", etc. i may be wrong, of course. :roll:
zingkov
03-07-2006, 07:34 PM
can any recommer enlighten me as to what actually is pure sc as offered by jpa. is it the 3 sc subjects we r all too familiar with. ie chem,bio,fz. or is it more to it than meet the eyes. is biomedical sc a pure sc subject.or is immunology a pure sc subject.
Hello woods,
I m studying under pure science in Japan,but not under jpa.I am not sure whether it is the same with jpa's offer but i will give some brief introduction about what i know.
Pure science consisting of bio,phy,chem,math,etc.geology,astronomy,...may be included depending on university.For example,Kyoto University which i am in now,Physics,Math,Biology,Chemistry,Planetary science,Astrophysics,Mineral science,etc.
For the 1st and 2nd years,we have to study all those general subjects like mechanics,statistical physics,calculus,linear algebra,physical chemistry,etc.3th year onwards,we have to choose our own field of interest such as particle physics,low temperature physics,in physics,NMR,physical chemistry,solid state,in chemistry,DNA,virus,in Biology,algebric geometry,analytical science,in math,etc....
After finishing your undergraduate studies,you can choose to further your studies in many field,including engineering,economics,applied science,and theoretical science.
I am studying physics now(2nd year),and probably will major in particle physics start from next year.
Though I am now studying Aerospace Engineering, but I recently found myself very interested in low temperature physics (or rather cryogenics). One could not believe that there are so many exciting and unusual circumstances happening at the temperature close to 0 Kelvin. A very good example is of course the superconductivity.
Sometimes I think maybe I should major in solid state physics, quantum mechanics or the best is cryogenics during my undergraduate period. It's too late to redo my bachelor's degree now, but it is never too late for me to learn about the knowledge. Well, I am reading cryogenics book everyday. But I do envy you, particle physics sounds very interesting too. Ya, one thing, because you are in Japan, I would highly recommend you to learn about the physics behind this advanced material invented by Japanese, namely the magnificient Carbin Nanotubes (CNT). My Professor (who graduated from both Harvard & MIT) said that CNT is set to win the Nobel Prize very soon.
Well, as for me, I hope that I can publish my master thesis related to the topic of "Utilization of CNT in carbon fiber composite to reduce the microcrack and permeatibility (leakage) in cryogenic temperature". Cheers!
(Btw, thanks again for helping me in the monbusho interview last year and most likely I am going to Japan next month).
Scope
06-07-2006, 10:37 AM
What about natural science? Is it the same?
I'm wondering if a pure/natural science degree holder can, in future, become a pharmacist/doctor...say, by furthering one's studies?
Wei_Ming
06-07-2006, 11:36 AM
I'm wondering if a pure/natural science degree holder can, in future, become a pharmacist/doctor...say, by furthering one's studies?
Yes. Even engineering, law or any other professional graduate can do so.
eagleis
06-07-2006, 12:19 PM
[quote="Scope"]What about natural science? Is it the same?
pure/natural science degree holder can, in future, become a pharmacist/doctor.
In the States,both medicine & pharmacy r post-graduate courses.
Scope
07-07-2006, 12:01 PM
I suppose that would mean spending a few more years. But do I still get a degree or is it considered as Master level already?
I know the US accept international students for postgraduate study (but very rarely for medicine course), but do the universities provide financial aids to them as they do for undergraduates? I heard, for pharmacy, you have to sit for some admission test... but I wonder if SAT is required as well.
Wei_Ming
07-07-2006, 12:10 PM
I suppose that would mean spending a few more years. But do I still get a degree or is it considered as Master level already?
I know the US accept international students for postgraduate study (but very rarely for medicine course), but do the universities provide financial aids to them as they do for undergraduates? I heard, for pharmacy, you have to sit for some admission test... but I wonder if SAT is required as well.
You'll get a degree. In Singapore, there is this new Duke-NUS collaboration to produce clinical researchers. If you are really good, you can get a scholarship from A*STAR or from the university to go for an MBBS-Phd programme. This will take a long time though, but there will be a monthly stipend since you are doing your research for the university. But they mainly encourage clinical researchers, not practicing doctors so unless you are keen on research, it may be quite taxing. US medical schools are really tough to get in I think.