View Full Version : In choosing your career
Lets share/discuss about career choosing.
Well, in choosing a career there are a few aspects that we have take into consideration.
1.Your interest
2.$$
3.Your aims
4.Why you are living for?
5.What is important for you
Well, I will like to share with my own experiences first.
During the long holidays in form 4, I started deeply think that what I really want to be. Then come out the conclusion as below--->It is quite interesting to become a doctor, so I decided to let doctor becomes my ambition
Then, times passed, after SPM trial examination,lots of my friends applied medicine,engineering.Due to some of the fates that cannot be changed I am not allowed to apply medicines, so I applied for engineering. Actually I am not sure why by that time, I applied for engineering as actually I was aimed for medicine.Well, the reasons I can think of is "because a lots of my friends were applied, I was with better results, so I want to apply too."Then, I failed to secure the place.
Now, after SPM examinations.
Lots of thanks to Recom. I got a lot of scholarships application info from here.
Then, I applied whatever scholarship I can.
The fields I have put during scholarships application are.
1.Medicine
There are no medicine for lots of other application so..
2. Engineering
3. Actuarial science
4.Pharmacy
Why a person that was aimed for medicine applied all of these?
I cant give an accurate answer.
Now, I am in matriculation (MOE),taking biology.
But, I got engineering s'ship.
At last, I am going to take engineering.
I dont know I have made a wise choice or not. But I hope that I will never regret with the decision I have made.
wth87
10-07-2006, 12:32 AM
Interest will play an important part for me in choosing my career. But ability is taken into consideration. I couldn't be an economist if I'm poor in maths even though I'm interested in this field, right?
You've chosen a field that you din plan for in the first place, but interest can be cultivated and if you think you can excel in this field, why not give it a shot?:)
Since you have chosen engineering, set your mind on it and try to do your best. better dun think of medicine o any other field.
If you're still doubtful, better think carefully and deeply so that you won't end up regretting studying for a field that you won't come to love.
Just my two cents.
Hope it enlightens you a bit.
kevinkent
10-07-2006, 11:36 AM
Wise choice for taking the scholarship....
I mean if you chose to go for matric, you wont know whether you still can get a good course or not....
At least now you got a scholarship awaitng for you....
That's good.... :D
hunliang
10-07-2006, 07:53 PM
Getting a scholarship is a good start...at least u get free education.
Choosing a career is not easy as u dunno wat is waiting ahead for u. To be honest, up till today (i'm pretty old liao), i still dunno if i've made the right choice. but life goes on no matter which road u take... and it is the uncertainty of the future that makes life interesting... dun u agree?
Hoong
11-07-2006, 12:59 AM
Liang, take it easy. I am 22 like you, and I haven't finished college.
For me, interest comes first. People usually do well in things that they are interested in. When they are good, they get a good job and hopefully get paid well.
hunliang
11-07-2006, 05:31 PM
geezzz....my age is suppose to be a secret~~~!!!
interest and money....i think i'll put money before interest. of course the ideal situation is to find a job that has both...
i dunno if i'll be satisfied with just a good job. i think i want more than that. maybe opening my own business... having my own range of healthcare fomulations... that sounds good...but that is way way down the track... at least not for another 10-20 years. unless i strike lotto...
or maybe i'm still in the wrong industry~~ i might find that i'm still not where i'm suppose to be in a few years time...
i know you know wat u want already... i'm still looking for a place where i belong.
kevinkent
11-07-2006, 05:45 PM
Is 22 OLD????? 8O 8O
Interest is the most crucial factor to me....
BUt somehow I got a course that I don't want and feeling like no connection with the course at all.... hating it.....but finally, I accept that offer.... weirdo.... :lol:
Nevertheless, I will give it a shot.... and see how it goes....
And later when I have my result... I will post again....soon, we shall know that is it "INTEREST" so vital in choosing our course or job.....
I am still in a state of uncertainty....
Damn worried..... :evil:
Tasslehoff
11-07-2006, 05:47 PM
For me, the career path that i've chosen are based on my interests..
From young, sciences and esp maths has always been my forte.. language and other stuff that requires some extra effort of memorizing eg history doesnt suit me. Since form 2, i've been pondering on which path to take on.... first thinking about money...... then i came to realise that money aint everything... for me, i prefer to do what i enjoy than labour stupidly for more pieces of paper called money..
I knew that engineering definitely suit me, but which field, i'm not to sure..
but having a deep interest for chem and phys since form 4, i knew i wanted to do something with my knowledge and techincal skills, thus narrowing down my choices to roughly about 7/8 fields.. (heh you still can search my post about my questions regarding those fields somewhere here in this forum)
during my uni applications last year, it gave me a deeper insight about myself... i spent alot of time thinking of myself and what are my selling points... finally, i chose chemical engineering :) and will work my best to achieve that goal :P
so, during my applications for scholarships this year, i placed all engineering courses, chemical engineering being the first choice. though many had said that my actions were not wise as it would limit my chances of obtaining a scholarship (which is quite true) but seriously, if i were given a scholarship to do another course, i would of course take it up, but, whats the point of it when i would eventually graduate, work a few years then go back to school to study engineering, my true passion? :P of course, this doesnt apply to the norm ;) just my opinion..
okaywhy
11-07-2006, 07:37 PM
I guess any job would be interesting if one take it passionately enough... :D
I think money would be extremely important if one is planning to have a family. If it isn't the case, I don't think it matters much actually...
hunliang
11-07-2006, 08:44 PM
I guess any job would be interesting if one take it passionately enough... :D
R u sure??? or is it the other way round??? :twisted:
Every job gets boring after a while.... :wink:
Is 22 OLD????? 8O 8O
BUt somehow I got a course that I don't want and feeling like no connection with the course at all.... hating it.....but finally, I accept that offer.... weirdo.... :lol:
And later when I have my result... I will post again....soon, we shall know that is it "INTEREST" so vital in choosing our course or job.....
kevinkent, I doubt you got the BPG?
Anyway,me too,in a state of uncertainty.I am still not very sure if I am more interest in medicine or engineeing.But, I will try to cultivate the interest if I dont have,instead of regret of what I have chose,since there is no more turning point.In other hand,the reality is, you dont know whether you are really interest in the field or not until you really involve in that field.I only hope that I can involve in a career that I will be able to keep on improving myself,there are always new things for me, only then I think, I wont feel bored with my job.
Lils88
12-07-2006, 11:04 PM
I agree with okaywhy, I think if one looks hard enough pretty much anything can be interesting...
I do not know what i have interest in, used to be science, got into sci stream, now a bit regretting it...... Due to that fact, decide to look and money and job opportunities, one has to be realistic....
propapanda
14-07-2006, 06:28 PM
I'm a firm believer in making your passion your job, that is to do what you love and getting paid for it. There are too many people who bitch about their jobs everyday, most because they just dont love what theyre doing. I don't doubt though that being able to do what you love for a living is a privilege not everyone can afford. But having some amount of interest helps you get through the day~~~
crapzzz
14-07-2006, 11:24 PM
i think that interest is the most crucial factor in choosing a career. Me for example, i was offered ppc luar negara by MoE. I went to intec for 1 day(registration) then the second day i terus cabut. It's because i found my true feeling, i am not gonna be a teacher, career as a teacher is not my passion, i deeply know that that is not what i wanted to do in the future. And, another thinking that led me to the decision is that i think it is not worth to pay with one whole life being a teacher for a three years oversea(UK) study experience. i have chase the hard way to go, instead of a comfortable way which allows me to go oversea. But, i would not regret with the decision i have made, because i know what i wanted. So, do think properly, and i always tell myself that "you can have anything you want as long as u wanted it badly enough and you ae willing to pay the price", and "BEST THING ALWAYS COME LAST"!
kaiba
18-07-2006, 09:12 PM
there was a time in my life that art was everything to me...n i believe that it will remain the same forever. Even thou i hav a deep passion for art n designing, bt eventually i was offered a course i wasnt very fond of. Bt i will giv it a shot..since is free education... bt i still believe that passion n interest play a very essential part in choosing a suitable career. i wish tat i wun cry over spilt milk in the future. HALELUYA~ :lol:
19-07-2006, 12:07 PM
Don't be afraid to go after your dreams, even if money is a problem. If you want something bad enough, chances are, you will find a way to get it.
Dance like no one is watching, love like you've never been hurt, sing like no one is listening, and live like it's heaven on earth.
Learn it, live it, love it.
kevinkent
21-07-2006, 04:52 PM
Is 22 OLD????? 8O 8O
Anyway,me too,in a state of uncertainty.I am still not very sure if I am more interest in medicine or engineeing.But, I will try to cultivate the interest if I dont have,instead of regret of what I have chose,since there is no more turning point.In other hand,the reality is, you dont know whether you are really interest in the field or not until you really involve in that field.I only hope that I can involve in a career that I will be able to keep on improving myself,there are always new things for me, only then I think, I wont feel bored with my job.
Good point.... totally agree.... :P
BTW, what is BPG ar???
Is 22 OLD????? 8O 8O
Good point.... totally agree.... :P
BTW, what is BPG ar???
Bahagian pendidikan guru.I think "Program Ijazah Perguruan Lepasan SPM" is more suitable.Sorry for the confusion caused. :oops:
Interest plays a vital role in determining a suitable job but at the end of the day, it is not just on interest.
I still remember...............................
It was in the year 2000.........................
I got hooked up by a sport called Formula 1. I immersed and indulged myself into the world of Formula 1. I watched every single race religiously and It kept track of the results faithfully. My ultimate passion at that time was to become a F1 engineer.
I carried with me the same passion for 7 years until I was offered to do economics in US by BNM. I was torn apart. I did not know if I should pursue my own dream or should I just stick to a logical thinking that told me that BNM was a wise option. I chose BNM in the end and I hope that I won't regret doing so.
Sometimes, we can dream and dream. I dreamed for 7 years and I still settle down for something I've never dreamed before. So don't think that all your dreams will come true just like that or your dream is the most perfect dream in the world. Sometimes, it can be a reality, sometimes it is just a pleasing illusion. Of course I am not giving up on my engineering course yet. I can always go back and chase my engineering course after I'm done with my economics.
There's nothing absolute in choosing a career or major. It is volatile and flexible. Even if you are offered something you don't want/unsure of, you can always try to love it. Time changes people. You might love it when you leanr to love it. And if you still ong for your original dream, it is never too late to chase it.