View Full Version : Animal Photoshoot
14-07-2006, 01:49 PM
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/6528/duckling80km.jpg
http://txh62.fotopages.com
strikingstar
14-07-2006, 11:37 PM
http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/2356/copyofkucinta3ol.jpg
This furball came along one day and decided to hang around.
15-07-2006, 02:37 AM
a cute little cat.. :D
What is he/she doing up there anyway?
strikingstar
15-07-2006, 10:12 AM
lol, I first found the fellow meowing piteously in my neighbour's drain. Since my neighbours weren't in and I thought the cat was hungry, I ended up giving it some milk.
Awhile later, I returned and that's the position I found it in - between my gate and the pillar. And since it didn't look like it was in pain or anything, I thought I would catch that Kodak moment first. :D
strikingstar
15-07-2006, 10:20 AM
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/6306/yunnanyaks3tw.jpg
(Copyright. Picture may not be published or reproduced either in part or in whole without permission of strikingstar :) )
And here's one of the pictures I've taken that I'm proudest of. Not so much because of the photography skill (of which I seriously lack) but more so because of the subject material. Like how often do you find yaks fighting on a Yunnan hillside and have the opportunity to photograph it.
They're doing it like Zidane. You can even see their tails raised and tensed in battle.
Shoblast
15-07-2006, 12:28 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v225/Shoblast/02.jpg
Managed to get this bugger in the zoo. One of the few moments it wasn't moving lol.
26-07-2006, 08:35 PM
Another shot from me
http://static.flickr.com/69/196675389_dc334dd014.jpg
http://flickr.com/photos/txh62
Salvation
27-07-2006, 03:22 AM
That's a very nice one Taufiq...how come i never come across ducks with ducklings?
02-08-2006, 06:28 AM
Thanks Salvation. I only found them sunbathing in early Summer. I couldn't find any recently.
http://flickr.com/photos/txh62
06-08-2006, 05:31 AM
http://static.flickr.com/82/206035487_46831f4ea3.jpg
strikingstar
04-01-2007, 12:21 PM
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/89/copyofp1000382cd1.jpg Bird flying near the ferry that I was in. Was clearly making use of the draft from the boat.
strikingstar
04-01-2007, 12:33 PM
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/3255/copyofp1000579ex6.jpg
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/2612/copyofp1000659we5.jpg
http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/8941/copyofsquirrelforagingikp6.jpg
1. Black squirrel from Niagara, Canada.
2. Really fat squirrel from Mont Royal in Montreal, Canada.
3. Brown squirrel in Washington D.C.
08-05-2008, 08:43 AM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3291/2422021133_fd01c9da53.jpg?v=0
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3192/2422835326_612bca65ee.jpg?v=0
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3193/2422021613_a1e5eacb35.jpg?v=0
08-05-2008, 10:24 AM
That had to be the cat at the washington dc zoo. I think I have a shot of him to, I took last year.
Anyways here's my cat.
http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/2703/1408713fe6baa458640a0b9ji1.jpg
08-05-2008, 10:49 AM
Ahh low key portrait! Nicely done! Did you set up the lighting on the set, or is the darkness post-processed?
08-05-2008, 12:01 PM
Ahh low key portrait! Nicely done! Did you set up the lighting on the set, or is the darkness post-processed?
not set-up. Having a lot of black furniture did help. The lighting was from a window. Took me few times to get the right angle. Darkened the lower side of the background and little sharpening. Used a 50mm f1.4 i think.
strikingstar
29-08-2008, 11:51 AM
Pictures from safari - Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania.
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/5912/elephantrp6.jpg
Tembo
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/5289/flamingowithwildebeestuf3.jpg
Korongo na nyumbu
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/3682/giraffe2ho5.jpg
Twiga
http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/4608/hyenafisi1pw0.jpg
Fisi
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6501/picture205kk0.jpg
Duma
All pictures were taken by my friend, Ben Grant, with his awesome camera which had 18x zoom.
Tafsiri: Rafiki yangu, Ben Grant, alipiga kila picha na kamera yake nzuri.
strikingstar
29-08-2008, 12:05 PM
Ongeza picha. (Ninapenda kutumia Kiswahili kuandika kila sentesi kwa sasa.)
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/1067/hippofacenp9.jpg
Kiboko
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/5369/picture236hi3.jpg
Mbuni
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/2788/lion1kk5.jpg
Simba!!
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/1307/p6220174gv9.jpg
Punda milia
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6796/p6220187ng8.jpg
Paa
The last 2 pictures are my own.
Tafsiri: Mwesho miwili ni picha zangu.
29-08-2008, 04:32 PM
Nice, thanks for sharing! I think it could be better if you can turn up the saturation a bit more. :)
11-11-2009, 12:45 PM
Just rediscovered this thread. I visited Melbourne Zoo a few months ago and managed to capture a few shots :)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3476/3807345695_76c3d61f38.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3807345695/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3510/3808185926_09e0ffa658.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808185926/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3424/3807571795_22033fb4f2.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3807571795/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3481/3808287782_25b28cc814.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808287782/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3565/3808260968_ec224ce164.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808260968/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3582/3807410043_4cc7a9ebb3.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3807410043/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3571/3808433442_127770f452.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808433442/)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2651/3808367708_3cec90aaa8.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808367708/)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3582/3807550743_9fa82fa88f.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3807550743/)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2561/3808364302_c52a73d291.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/changyang1230/3808364302/)
12-11-2009, 08:19 AM
Very nice shots... what lens did you use to capture the picture of the lion? That was a different sort of lens you used didn't you?
12-11-2009, 01:41 PM
Haha on a bad-mood day I would have sniped you for asking me what lens / camera I use, because photographers would be equally annoyed at this question just as a chef would be annoyed at "What wok do you use to cook". :P
But for this particular series I would admit that the lens does play a huge part in the image quality. It's shot with Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS, one of the most popular lens in the Canon series - if you pay some attention, you are bound to see one in either a wedding photoshoot or a sports event.
http://blog.francis.vachon.net/canon20d.jpg
It's pretty expensive though. It usually sells for 6-7k ringgit. I got a secondhand at about half the price of a new lens.
12-11-2009, 02:04 PM
Haha on a bad-mood day I would have sniped you for asking me what lens / camera I use, because photographers would be equally annoyed at this question just as a chef would be annoyed at "What wok do you use to cook". :P
You need to pardon the person who asks you this kind of question, because:
1. Henry Yew is just beginning to discover more about photography
2. Henry Yew is a sucker in photography, even more so on lenses and DSLRs
3. Henry Yew is just a digital camera user who is struggling on aperture, shutter speed and ISO
4. Henry Yew cannot yet afford these expensive photography equipment by himself
5. Henry Yew wants to comprehend how different lenses suit different purposes especially well.
And if I'm not wrong, it's especially hard to capture pictures of animals that are caged. And there are lenses to get around that kind of issues, right? I just wonder how they work to address those issues.
Haha, there you go, some birds and squirrels modelling :P
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4102/4784311545_2a366fc2a4_z.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4784949196_456869a02d_b.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4141/4784320169_149e11616c_b.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4095/4776357686_f82c851cc5_z.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4100/4775746401_5f60cf3c6a_z.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4776407440_4fde54807f_z.jpg
But for this particular series I would admit that the lens does play a huge part in the image quality. It's shot with Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS, one of the most popular lens in the Canon series - if you pay some attention, you are bound to see one in either a wedding photoshoot or a sports event.
http://blog.francis.vachon.net/canon20d.jpg
It's pretty expensive though. It usually sells for 6-7k ringgit. I got a secondhand at about half the price of a new lens.
Haha, is that your camera? I've seen many photographers used the glorified white lens for weddings and events.. :amuse
You need to pardon the person who asks you this kind of question, because:
And if I'm not wrong, it's especially hard to capture pictures of animals that are caged. And there are lenses to get around that kind of issues, right? I just wonder how they work to address those issues.
Hey, you've heard it right. The white lens which Youngyew was talking about, it has aperture 2.8 which is very wide, and with proper understandings of depth of field (blurred background, but in this case, you blurr the cage instead of the animal behind it), you can literally make the cage dissappear from your image.
This is my example, I'm not rich to afford a white lens :P I captured this when I was standing behind a layer of fence! A good lens will definitely make your job easier.
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4759013194_d5cdb7ff9c_z.jpg