View Full Version : kuiz kimia preparartion?

cloudie89
17-07-2006, 07:58 AM
can anyone tell me how to prepare myself for kuiz kimia ,??besides of just trying out the past year papers?

claypot
17-07-2006, 12:34 PM
i m new here.
about kuiz kimia.... the most important thing u have toi care when u r taking the kuiz is Time management....
i experience it when last year which i have to get one more question correct to get a MERIT point.... and for ur information, i din manage to answer 2 question out of 40....
so u have to emphasis on time management during the quiz

17-07-2006, 04:42 PM
hey, can we use calculators?

cloudie89
17-07-2006, 04:52 PM
i m new here.
about kuiz kimia.... the most important thing u have toi care when u r taking the kuiz is Time management....
i experience it when last year which i have to get one more question correct to get a MERIT point.... and for ur information, i din manage to answer 2 question out of 40....so u have to emphasis on time management during the quiz

u mean we need to get 49 to get merit?then how do they differentiate between those of cemerlang level and kepujian ?
wow!!..you took the paper of year 2005 right?i find that paper quite hard especially question no 39
i can't find anything abt homocysteine in any of my booksdo you mind tell me what is the formula mass of homocysteine?

hunliang
17-07-2006, 05:39 PM
homocysteine is an amino acid derieved from methionine and it is metabolised into cystein by the B-complex vitamins...

it is done regularly in the pathology lab nowadays since homocysteine is linked with a few disorders like cardiovascular disorders and alzheimers. thats all i know about it... u can read more about homocysteine from the web, just google it. there should be a lot of articles on it.

to search for any properties for molecules, i usually use the chemfinder directory.... http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/

found it for u -
molecular weight of homocysteine is 135.18

Tasslehoff
17-07-2006, 06:23 PM
Erm I personally didnt find the 2005 paper hard. most of the questions asked was basically just to access your knowledge of basic chemistry, just worded differently...

claypot
17-07-2006, 08:26 PM
i m new here.
i experience it when last year which i have to get one more question correct to get a MERIT point.... and for ur information, i din manage to answer 2 question out of 40....so u have to emphasis on time management during the quiz

u mean we need to get 49 to get merit?then how do they differentiate between those of cemerlang level and kepujian ?
wow!!..you took the paper of year 2005 right?i find that paper quite hard especially question no 39
i can't find anything abt homocysteine in any of my booksdo you mind tell me what is the formula mass of homocysteine?

if i m not mistaken.... 80 and above is considered as distinction
others i forgot adi la... haha

cloudie89
17-07-2006, 11:33 PM
i m new here.

if i m not mistaken.... 80 and above is considered as distinctionothers i forgot adi la... haha

wow..that's quite high..80 marks ?is it scoring at least 32 rights?...may i know are there a few levels of kuiz kebangsaan?

claypot
18-07-2006, 10:24 AM
i don't know about the level...
it is just a matter of time to answer the question.
for physics quiz, there is stpm level and spm level....
why u ask so?

andrewlza
18-07-2006, 03:33 PM
How much is high distinction then?

day_dreamer
18-07-2006, 06:48 PM
This Thursday !! Ush !! Time for show time !!

Tasslehoff
19-07-2006, 04:20 PM
actually 90 above is high distinction i believe.. seriously not that hard to get.. and i'm talking based on experience lol.. didnt study for it + took it in the middle of national band competition.. and still got that award lol..

bluegazer
19-07-2006, 07:16 PM
Hi, friends. I'm new here.
I take part in Chemistry Quiz too. Tomorrow 10, right. I'm nervous now.
May I ask which school are you all from? I'm wondering whether the Quiz is for one school or all in Sibu.
I myself is from SMK Methodist School.
Hajimemashite.

cloudie89
19-07-2006, 08:14 PM
oh hi..gettin anxious too.
thanks for all da info..hv anyone took this year's paper?are we all takin it on de same day?
btw, i'm from smk assunta
anyyong haseyo.!(^.^)''

bluegazer
20-07-2006, 08:15 PM
Phew, the text today is quite difficult for me. I don't know how to calculate for the last few questions. And the weird name like sodium xxxxx(bahan pencuci), whatever lah. If the question like that out, simply pick one answer will save a lot of time.

By the way, where is SMK Assunta located?

cloudie89
20-07-2006, 08:40 PM
[quote
By the way, where is SMK Assunta located?[/quote]

ooo..it's in petaling jaya ,selangor..hehe :oops:
the today's quiz is quite fun to do lol..i thought i will hv not enough time at first..since i think the 2005 paper is a tougher paper .but thank goodness i manage to hv time to double check ..(^-^)/]
now jt pray i did not make careless mistake :roll:

20-07-2006, 09:35 PM
Hi, I just took the kuiz kimia. Thanks tasslehoft and seiryu for your help. It's quite easy actually. I do not know the standard of the paper before because I only manage to get a copy of 2005 question yesterday (1 day before competition) and it was a very busy day for me (I need to stay at school until 6.30 pm from 6.00 am because lessons and cocurriculum). So, I don't have much time to prepare for it. Anywhere, I think the paper is quite easy and I finish quite fast. But I could kick myself because I must have been drowsy to almost asleep during the test. I went out of the classroom only to realise I mark several question wrongly on my answer paper compared to my answer on the question paper. It's no use crying over split milk. Right now, I hove I can still have a "high distiction" in my hand :P

day_dreamer
20-07-2006, 11:43 PM
Phew, the text today is quite difficult for me. I don't know how to calculate for the last few questions. And the weird name like sodium xxxxx(bahan pencuci), whatever lah. If the question like that out, simply pick one answer will save a lot of time.

By the way, where is SMK Assunta located?

Sodium Benzoat. Anything with benzoat or perborat has bleaching properties.

Raymond1989
21-07-2006, 10:07 AM
I did get high distinction in kuiz kimia kebangsaan last year...
after that i was selected to attend the chemistry olympiad workshop in UM(University Malaya)...
the camp is quite interesting... :D

21-07-2006, 10:22 AM
I did get high distinction in kuiz kimia kebangsaan last year...
after that i was selected to attend the chemistry olympiad workshop in UM(University Malaya)...
the camp is quite interesting... :D
wow, they got a chemistry olympiad workshop now? Heck, I just realized after some googling that M'sia participated in International Chemistry Olympiad(IChO) since 2004. Come to think of it, no wonder they started kuiz kimia during year 2002(yeah, that's my year :P ), it must have been to prepare for the participation of IChO. Ah well, guess I was born too early.

day_dreamer
21-07-2006, 12:18 PM
Any form six students took the test ?? My school's form 6 students did. Very hard, their question. My teacher said it's roughly degree level.

Anyway, it's over d. Form 5 ReComer !! Brace yourself !!! Percubaan's coming.

I studied till nak explode d. Now focusing on latihan .... == getting offered for NS broke me down .....

21-07-2006, 03:11 PM
Oh oh, can't get a high disticntion now. I realised I have a minimum of 3 mistakes now. :( Wish I have time to double check. I manage to check until 29. and all my mistakes came from 30 onwards...

leng_cyl
21-07-2006, 04:16 PM
Any form six students took the test ?? My school's form 6 students did. Very hard, their question. My teacher said it's roughly degree level.

Anyway, it's over d. Form 5 ReComer !! Brace yourself !!! Percubaan's coming.

I studied till nak explode d. Now focusing on latihan .... == getting offered for NS broke me down .....

I took the advanced level, I'm an upper six student..
em... actually it's not very very hard, but it's hard ... lolz...
For some people, it's actually easy... I didn't really do much preparation and even had forgotten some of the basic ones... so ... sigh!
Most of the questions, in fact should be able to be answered by we form 6 students...... :oops:

nono
21-07-2006, 06:44 PM
anyone can post the question set online(form 6 one)?together with the answer

so that we can see the standard

is it true tat the form 6 student who get highest distinction will be selected for representing Malaysia in International Chemistry Olympiad next year?

or they only choose form 5 student who get highest distinction?

Tasslehoff
21-07-2006, 07:02 PM
So far, the form 5'ers that got high distinction werent called for the camp.. even with almost perfect score.. (you get the scores also together with the information on what award u get.. ask your teacher for it when the results are released)

nono
22-07-2006, 09:48 PM
if a student is 20 year old at the year of IchO,can he represent Malaysia?

or he must me under 20 year old,tat means maximum 19 year old?

anyone know the result of our representative this year?
are they all the sekolah menengah kebangsaan?Form 5 or Form 6?

my question is:is it possible for a post upper 6 (waiting to enter university) to represent malaysia?