View Full Version : How to cope with depression?
As stated in the above....any ideas?
BTW how do you create new topics without reading a thread 1st
17-07-2006, 05:45 PM
exercise. see a doctor. eat medication.
17-07-2006, 09:49 PM
imagine being 3rd person or non participant person for a moment and then imagine depressing issues becoming black and white, darkening and shrinking until it is no more an issue
hope this helps :)
Dr_Tay
17-07-2006, 11:29 PM
Exercise, eat healthily and get enough sleep. If these don't work see a psychologist or psychiatrist via your GP. You may need to balance your hormones that are swimming around in your head with antidepressants. But this should only be done with the help of your GP who will prescribe a good psychiatrist for you. Search for the Mental Health Association of Malaysia using a search engine and you may get the correct answers.
CurbsideProphet
18-07-2006, 12:03 AM
I personally would like to see some people sharing experiences about coping with close relations that undergo depression, whether clinical or not.
If you find yourself in a really bad condition, the first thing you should always do is to count to 10, and remember all the things you enjoy in life that you tend to forget during that duration. Remind yourself that the world is what you make of it, and you can think of it much better. Same goes for yourself.
If you find yourself close with someone experiencing depression, all I can say is hold on, keep a clear head, remember that your suffering is nothing compared to theirs, be compassionate but don't over do it as this sometimes makes someone dependent on said compassion, treat them normally as possible and if they are willing to talk about it, talk about it <-- talking helps only when they are comfy with talking about it.
This isn't very scientific or concrete - just my 2 cents. Of course you should always, always consult a psychiatrist (if you don't like the first one you see, don't forget the whole thing entirely, find another one. there is sure to be a suitable psychiatrist for you somewhere) and don't be ashamed of admitting to having depression - it is more common than you think.
kevinkent
18-07-2006, 12:17 AM
imagine being 3rd person or non participant person for a moment and then imagine depressing issues becoming black and white, darkening and shrinking until it is no more an issue
That's so...err... hmm... abstract larrrr....
I prefer this:
Find some time... with your whole bunch of friends.... then talk craps....silly but it works for me tho.... :lol:
18-07-2006, 12:45 AM
That's so...err... hmm... abstract larrrr....
I prefer this:
Find some time... with your whole bunch of friends.... then talk craps....silly but it works for me tho.... :lol:
I am not joking dude
it is a part of NLP treatment
21-07-2006, 09:34 PM
Eat....it works for me.... :wink:
sunshine88
23-07-2006, 09:53 PM
Yeah..i agree with Sillyboy....When i'm depressed i eat too..It's like that.I once read in a magazine,one will crave for food when he's depressed.If there's nothing tasty to eat,i'll watch tv...helps a little.
But dun alwayz eat...Of course try be a social creature.Sometimes when u're depressed u'll lock urself in the room..or appear reserved when u're with other ppl.These can make situation worse.When u communicate with family and frens,u'll find relieve from the 'jammed' mind of yours.Forget about the stuff which bother's u so much for a while...In the end u wun feel anxious and u'll be confident that there's a solution.Dun think it as a problem at all.
If u're shy to seek treatment then share ur problems with someone u like and that can be trusted.U can also post ur problem to the Big Bro or Dear Thelma in the Star.I'm not promoting...it's up to u....
Of course this won't work for cronic cases....U have to seek help from the experts.I dunno what sort and name of treatment they'll give but surely there will be pills u have to swallow.
Salvation
23-07-2006, 10:15 PM
Talk to friends, talk to strangers, go out in the sun shine, walk around the park and so on. Don't keep yourself alone, as many here have pointed out. :lol:
Believe it or not, depression can be really bad if you don't deal with it efficiently.
I got anxiety attack sometimes when I was too depressed or stressed out. Anxiety and depression is not healthy to your body, especially the kidney or liver. The one distinctive effect from anxiety attack will be diarrhea. Some of you might not have it if your kidney/liver is strong enough but for me, it was a nightmare. You surely don't want to go through that one day under depression or anxiety attack.
Music helps. It really does. Try listening to slow songs. I don't mind instrumental or hymnals. So long it is a song, it can helps. Eating will make you fat. Songs will sooth your mind and soul. Chest pain is also something very normal with me when I am anxious or depressed. Prevention is better than cure. Just try not to be depressed at all. Don't seek for cure. Seek for prevention.
Appolo
27-07-2006, 01:01 PM
I definately agree with Leen's idea that music does contribute a lot in helping people suffering from anxiety or depression.
Before talking about a way to cope up with depression, we must first identify the origin from the problem.
Most students feel bad about themselves after a test because they placed too much pressure on themselves.The greater the expectation you put on your shoulder , the worst it will become as some of us lack the proper guidance or motivation when dealing with pressure.
Apart from that, the fear of the uncertainties in life may also be the cause of depression.When we are stuck in the middle of a quandry, we are lost for we become sceptical towards every decisions we.Pressure builds during the process adding the stress that we always endure.
When we are uncertain of the future , we tend to think for the worst .Why should we? The future is not for us to think about .In fact, it is the present and past that lead to our destiny.You can either be crying over spilled milk for the rest of your life, or you can stand up and put effort in achieving your purpose in life.
Just my two cents here.I sincerely apologize if I'm being rude.
:) :) :) :) :)
Call some organization if u faces depression.
i heard the advertisement about this organization in MyFM radio station. There is tel no.
Randomphantom
29-07-2006, 08:33 PM
You are referring to the Befrienders (http://www.befrienders.org.my/).
Agree with appolo on this: anxiety and depression effects often just disappear when you find a solution to the thing you are worried about.
I've a close relative who had depression, and having personally experienced some anxiety effects before, I can empathize: the disabling symptoms of anxiety are real. And its not something you can magically will away through a change in mindset. So here are some steps:
1. Exercise works as a prevention and cure. (it also helps you to differentiate between heart problems and anxiety effects) Even if you don't feel like it, try going for something light, like a walk around the park.
2. Medication works, but one must be careful about them, especially those benzodiazepines (Xanax, Valium). They can be addictive and dangerous in the wrong dosages. Still some people prefer not to go on it, while others cope with depression by taking it all their life. As per usual, consult a good physician beforehand.
3. Recognizing depression as a problem you can tackle is the first step. Reach out to family members/friends who can understand. And read up on the whole deal. There's no problem with getting help, don't be paisey about it. Keep in touch with others, instead of closing yourself off.
4. Find ways to relax, (music helps lots!) don't be so hard on yourself, and think happy thoughts :P
Just don't overeat... it'll only add to your list of worries (fat...calories...ugh)
bluegazer
31-07-2006, 07:15 PM
What if the ways of dealing with depression above don't work?
The last solution : Go to toilet or bedroom or somewhere that nobody is around and SHOUT OUT LOUD. Scream the depress out of our body and mind.
It might work. :P
broccoli_cjtan
31-07-2006, 07:54 PM
one more way one more way!!! log on to recom and start reading the senseless debates section.... haha, especially the part where people start arguing bout whether a certain animal has a neck.... cudnt stop laughing
mediator
31-07-2006, 08:08 PM
When I feel depressed, I usually talk it over with a close friend. It helps. After all, shared burden is half, right? :) If I don't feel like talking, then I go for walking, or even jogging/running. It may sound funny but it works for me! You can go for a walk alone, or with a companion. Just take an evening out and walk, walk, walk. Look at the nature, sit in a garden or on the grass. Well try it! And do care less if you'll get some dirt on ur clothes.
Sometimes, I go for a bath when depression strikes. :lol:
mmccloh
01-08-2006, 11:21 AM
If it's just occasional depression, do what you feel comfortable such as talk to people, go for a walk and go for a movie. If it's a constant depression, then you might need to see a doctor.
--
www.CourseCentre.com
sunshine88
04-08-2006, 02:38 PM
hey,why dun this thread is used for ppl to post their problems too...so that we can help each other sort out or at least lessen the mental burden.....What do u guys think :?: :?:
cloudie89
04-08-2006, 08:57 PM
yea..agree with sunshine ..how to cope with spm..i'mso depress n stress
hhhcce
05-08-2006, 09:42 AM
OK. I will tell you how to cope with depression, especially during exam period. During exam, the schedule of the whole week is only revise, sleep, eat....The most important things is that you must also, at the same time, relax yourself a little bit. Actually, you can watch some tv programmes while having your dinner. You can also talk with your family while having your dinner. Try to make out some time to communicate with others. Of course, for those who are very kiasu, I don't you will spend even a minute on the other activities during exam period, but, think again if you don't relax a little bit, after the whole week or perhap whole month of exam, you will feel resentment on studying. This is because you are pushing yourself too hard for it.
This is what I do when I feel depressed. Go to shopping mall and get some things to eat.
sunshine88
05-08-2006, 05:28 PM
when u study too hard...and non-stop,u'll be bored of studying eventually..and thus would likely delay process of studying..So,u must control this studying behaviour.There's a limit for everything.Last minute studying can be depressing...but i've seen people who did that scores somehow in the major exams.Maybe it works for them...but not for u...
U can organise a group study to have more fun while studying...Fun means not by chit-chatting...I mean when u study in group u won't feel so serious..and kelam-kabut.Besides,u can share lots of ideas among urselves...I knew it becuz i did group studies before too,especially for maths.I got to know that there are other methods to find an answer,so do my studymates.
U need an alert mind during the exam..So,avoid waking up early.Avoid discussing about ur forthcoming exam with ur frens and as well as discussing it after exam..This can cause panic and demoralise u ...In the end u'll be distracted and become less motivated for the next paper.This has happened to me.So forget about the 'post-mortems'..who cares anyway? :wink:
It's better if u finished ur revision three days before the exam...so that u have time to relax...Remember when u r panic,u'll lose everything u'd learnt and that would be a sheer waste of ur sweat and time.
It's sensible to try at least to reduce the intensity of studying and get some thorough relaxation as the countdown begins.There's no point cramming in extra notes if u feel to depressed or jaded to put'em to good use when the time comes...am i rite?...so..the main idea here is to chil out :wink: 8) ...
Salvation
05-08-2006, 08:12 PM
sunshine88,
you speak hokkien?
sunshine88
05-08-2006, 10:03 PM
sunshine88,
you speak hokkien?
well...i speak a bit....but it's not my native language....I'm still learning hokkien...Y u ask?
Salvation
06-08-2006, 03:26 AM
wa xi penang lang ma...jin nia ku boh kong hokkien liao...nostalgic
btw, what's your native language? cantonese? hakka? malay? chinese? english?
06-08-2006, 05:32 AM
Don't put too much pressure on yourself or on anyone else.
Don't expect too much. Be reasonable.
Read more self-help and motivation books.
sunshine88
06-08-2006, 09:58 AM
Nope....tamil :) ....I'm an indian......
WinnieH
06-08-2006, 10:01 PM
how to cope with depression? always look at the brighter side. when you are facing difficulties, always remember that 'it's not like the end of the world or anything'... i always do that, and when i'm facing any problems that I can't tell anyone at all... I write them down. if i'm really sad, I'll cry. don't bottle up your feelings. if you cant find anyone else to talk to, write them down and throw the paper away.
Salvation
07-08-2006, 01:30 AM
Salvation wrote:
Nope....tamil Smile ....I'm an indian......
Hehe, Indian huh? My mother use to tell me about Ah Hei..an indian guy who sings hokkien songs :)
sunshine88
07-08-2006, 02:26 PM
Salvation wrote:
Hehe, Indian huh? My mother use to tell me about Ah Hei..an indian guy who sings hokkien songs :)
O i C....Btw,i dunno who's ah Hei...He..heh...Even u knew that.
Salvation wrote:
A hei is the one who sings hokkien song, he is an Indian if not mistaken.Btw, this thread should be used to discuss "How to cope with depression" isn't it?
Salvation
07-08-2006, 05:02 PM
sunshine88 wrote:
Salvation wrote:
Hehe, Indian huh? My mother use to tell me about Ah Hei..an indian guy who sings hokkien songs Smile
A hei is the one who sings hokkien song, he is an Indian if not mistaken.Btw, this thread should be used to discuss "How to cope with depression" isn't it?
Yeap...do you know any of ah hei's songs? I never get to hear them...Well, hearing some ah hei songs actually helps you get out of depression :D
sunshine88
07-08-2006, 06:40 PM
Yeah...u're rite Salvation.. :lol: :lol: ..he..heh..
WinnieH
13-11-2006, 11:58 AM
well, the very first thing that you need to do is to talk to someone. when you tell someone your problems instead of bottling them up, you'll feel much better. trust me. and besides that, if you feel like crying, cry out loud. i always do that whenever i'm depressed... and after a while, i could actually feel my problem slipping away.. well, kind of. at least i felt better after that. besides that, you need to learn how to let go of something. for example, you did badly in your exams or something, tell yourself that it's not the end of the world. you'll make sure you perform better next time. well, all this positive thinking actually works if you practise it. it kinda lifts your spirit up and give you a little glimpse of hope. erm, besides all this, i will also try to relax myself on that particular depressing day... like watching tv, or just take a long, long nap. i wouldn't want to talk my friends when i don't feel like i'm ready for it... so i'll try to find peace in my little own world. when i do feel i could open up a little bit, that's when i'll give a call to one of my bestfriend and talk to her about my problems and why i feel so depressed. or you could keep a little notebook where you could write all your unhappiness inside ( if you don't like the idea of telling someone about your problems) well, writing is also a form of expressing yourself..... and don't you think that you've got no listeners; god is. if you're a pagan, then you could make-believe that the notebook is a quiet listener.
sunshine88
13-11-2006, 02:42 PM
usually,when i feel very bad of a situation...,i'd channel my whole anger and discontent in a notepad of my mail box.I know that writing in a diary isn't gonna work out,cuz there are people who will discover it sooner.I did use diary before,but later its contents leaks out..and i became a laughing stalk of my family members,which added to my pain....Not forgetting,embarassment too..he..he.
So,whatever..bad or good,i would type it in the computer.
In that way i feel much better.
Sometimes,i email my pen pals to share my problems.
It's fine if u wanna talk it over with your friends,but make sure they are the ones who knows u the best and u are entrusted to.I do notice that when i talk over a problem to a friend,she/he would be smiling and chuckling without offering any help.This shows that,this friend lack maturity.Only tell to friends who wants u to be happy the way she/he is..
I used to carve for food..but now i control myself...whenever something drives me made,i would head for the computer.
If i'm at school,and i feel like wanna vent my anger,i find a piece of paper and express myself through words on the spot.
You really don't have to tell every single thing to another person.An issue which may seems to be serious to u,may appear as petty to others...Think about others too.They have their own work and don't have all the time for you yourself.Only discuss matters which matters the most...important one,where u need extra shoulder to lie on..
People will get upset,if u kept whining about almost everything that happened to u on that single day..
Just don't end up suicidal..Life isn't cheap.Don't worry about what other talk about you...especially those who are not attached to you.Besides,what they know about yourself to the extent of having the rights to judge you?whoever and whatever..just be deaf....Think twice about your family...They'll suffer much more pain i the end...and u yourself would have then proved that u're nothing but a coward.
Watching nature is like part of meditation also.Sometimes,i feel so weird..but it's true..For me,when i feel bad about myself,i observe the rain,the trees,plants,sunset...and almost every angle of nature.weird huh??..but it's different for u,i guess..
Open your mind for criticisms that is meant for your betterment.
Don't take a criticism that is meant to discourage u...but instead turn it into a catalyst for you to improve more...That's life..
13-11-2006, 04:53 PM
Boooorrrriiingggg
*yawnz*
Letz go Lordi !!!!! 8)
:evil: :twisted: :evil: :twisted: :evil: :twisted:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uU2GG5_sCME
The ultimate Smexiness :twisted:
sunshine88
13-11-2006, 05:42 PM
haaaaiiihhhh...ppl who don't go into depression may find this thread boring indeed....like iQing.. :P
why la u come here,if u r bored..?
hey,iQing..nice wife u have there..kah..kah :lol:
13-11-2006, 05:43 PM
haaaaiiihhhh...ppl who don't go into depression may find this thread boring indeed....like iQing.. :P
why la u come here,if u r bored..?
hey,iQing..nice wife u have there..kah..kah :lol:
Go Lordi 8)
sunshine88
13-11-2006, 05:46 PM
yeah..now i have to type something about iQing and his madness..
:|
who is having depression ?
Iqing or ... ?
When i'm feeling down , i express my feelings and emotions in my diary . I think this method is worth a try cos one is able to confess everything one has done and vent one's anger or frustratons in a good way . Unlike blogging , one's secret is safely kept .
Music too , helps to alleviate stress and enables one to rejuvenate one's inner senses aside from providing one with the zeal and energy to continue the day .
sunshine88
13-11-2006, 09:36 PM
the weakness part of diary is. :D .it is vulnerable to others.Unless if u bring along the diary wherever u go...
a lot of ppl's secret leaks through diary..
that's why i stopped using it..It already happened once to me.. :)
Bloggers wanna share their thoughts/everyday life..but for some cases they restrict their sharings to only certain ppl they are connected to.
Unlike in diary..what u write in are secrets and personal..and u want to have them to yourself only..not with others.
whatever it is..practice what u think is safest to u...
YunShyuan
16-11-2006, 08:59 AM
I went through life seeing how depression took control of my father's life and how it nearly ate me up too.
It is a disease that is hard to cure. I tend to think that people who have a good childhood are less prone to this disease. It is the right attitude that they learned since young to open up the heart, and look at things in a positive perspective when things doesn't go their way.
For me, I kept questioning life. I kept questioning my dillemmas, and my weaknesses. I never did climb out of it because the questions kept piling up until one day I collapsed after crying so hard. It takes time to understand mistakes. And friends do help a lot in seeing your mistakes. They talk to you and listen to you. In the end, I learnt to not be so pessimistic. There's always a way in life, and if one path is not right ... choose the other.
If you know someone who is facing depression, talk and spend more time with them. And make sure you talk sensible stuff. Let them realize that it is not the end of the world. And make them feel appreciated. Usually depressed people feel that their are useless.
If you are facing depression, don't refuse any help or advice. Don't feel ashamed. Life might not be perfect for you now, but you need to realize that to have a happy one, you need to put effort in making things happen. Smile, and lighten up! Don't throw away your life like that. You may think that your life is useless, but in reality ... the world out there still needs good-hearted people like you. Just find your way!
16-11-2006, 03:32 PM
I went through life seeing how depression took control of my father's life and how it nearly ate me up too.
It is a disease that is hard to cure. I tend to think that people who have a good childhood are less prone to this disease. It is the right attitude that they learned since young to open up the heart, and look at things in a positive perspective when things doesn't go their way.
For me, I kept questioning life. I kept questioning my dillemmas, and my weaknesses. I never did climb out of it because the questions kept piling up until one day I collapsed after crying so hard. It takes time to understand mistakes. And friends do help a lot in seeing your mistakes. They talk to you and listen to you. In the end, I learnt to not be so pessimistic. There's always a way in life, and if one path is not right ... choose the other.
If you know someone who is facing depression, talk and spend more time with them. And make sure you talk sensible stuff. Let them realize that it is not the end of the world. And make them feel appreciated. Usually depressed people feel that their are useless.
If you are facing depression, don't refuse any help or advice. Don't feel ashamed. Life might not be perfect for you now, but you need to realize that to have a happy one, you need to put effort in making things happen. Smile, and lighten up! Don't throw away your life like that. You may think that your life is useless, but in reality ... the world out there still needs good-hearted people like you. Just find your way!
I think you are a girl because research has shown very different approach taken by men and women in dealing with depression.
the worst thing a woman can do while in depression is nagging.
once the nagging starts, it is the end of everything.
serena87
16-11-2006, 07:15 PM
hmm,just to add on to the above suggestions,sing a song.
it works for me!
pretend youre some rockstar and sing your heart out.
try it!
16-11-2006, 07:19 PM
hmm,just to add on to the above suggestions,sing a song.
it works for me!
pretend youre some rockstar and sing your heart out.
try it!
yes it is a form of releasing negativity.
when negativity appears,
find ways to surface it out and scratch them away.
you can do by covering a pillow on your face and scream as loud as possible.... WAAAARRRR..
until you feel all negativity is let out from you.
next you fill yourself with positive emotion.
always scrap away negativity by surfacing it off before filling it with positiveness :)
YunShyuan
28-11-2006, 04:50 AM
yea of course ... men and women have different ways of coping with stress.
And I don't deny that women are more prone to depression than men. It's just a scientific fact, but when depression leads to suicidal ... it really isn't funny anymore because I had a friend who died because of that.
You need to be aware of how your friends are coping with their daily life. And the person who is facing depression needs to know that he/she is not alone. Otherwise, they won't care about anyone else around them ... they just want to end their life.
smartalex
28-11-2006, 10:02 PM
eat chocolate,
eat ice-cream,
pray
28-11-2006, 11:00 PM
SWIM!
Or you can talk to me. Those who tried say I'm a smooth talker :wink:
29-11-2006, 06:50 AM
SLEEP!!!!..
good night everyone..
29-11-2006, 07:04 AM
as someone has?mentioned earlier...
masturbate.
hmm... maybe masturbate hourly.
joe_keng
29-11-2006, 09:44 AM
I think going for a walk is quite effective. It could release your stress and tension from work and study.
29-11-2006, 10:19 AM
spend whole day to cry and sleep, without doing anything else.
then go for sports.. any sports that could make us feel really tired...
or try to do something new that feel interested in.
these work really well for me.
sunshine88
29-11-2006, 02:27 PM
yeah..keep crying till u're out of tears...
29-11-2006, 02:36 PM
FLOOD!!!
29-11-2006, 02:40 PM
FLOOD!!!
LOL!!!
By the way, I think it is better not to let your friend to be alone all the time when she/he is being so depressed, because by that time, your friend does really need someone to be around.
sunshine88
29-11-2006, 03:33 PM
FLOOD!!!
run away vseehua..FLOOD in germany i guess,cuz i got a news that u kept crying for the whole day thinking of your teddy bear at home.. :P
29-11-2006, 04:38 PM
i won't mind a flood actually...
for i live 10 floors above ground level...
29-11-2006, 08:45 PM
i won't mind a flood actually...
for i live 10 floors above ground level...
Then, a tornardo will help?
......oh, nonono...Germany got no tornardo...
how abt this one?
a BOMB!!! :twisted: :twisted:
29-11-2006, 09:10 PM
ok, getting serious this time....
How to cope with depression?
1. music(whether u listen to it of play the intrument urself--to relax and medidation(new age, instrumental and classical music will do)
2. eat--cholcolate(black chocolate so tat u won't get fat easily), banana(it can decrease the hormone level which causes u to depress according frm wat I read....and it workds for me)
3. talking--share ur problem wif someone, dun let urself alone
4. playing--make it be computer, sport or anything.
5. think of something good--make it be ur past achivements, ur sweet memories, ur favourite things....
6. LAUGH--laugh laugh laugh until ur tears come out....as laughter as the best medicine....I always do tat (just a problem....I wonder if someone is really depress, how to make tat person laugh :roll: )
just my 2 cents....will post more methods if I can think of one.... :wink:
29-11-2006, 09:54 PM
i believe i can fly~~~
29-11-2006, 09:59 PM
EAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
29-11-2006, 10:35 PM
chocolate does the job for me... hehe... or maybe lots of fruits if i have them... :p
smartalex
29-11-2006, 10:39 PM
reading and replying to recom's senseless debate.
30-11-2006, 12:13 AM
kicking 3rdshi*ter and you**yew asses
zefflodo
30-11-2006, 01:07 AM
for me i juz found out this solution 2 months ago.....it helps me.. :wink: .....go for walk....until u feel tired.......if u got money spend some money to buy something you want.....for me...haha u guys juz guess ...i used my money to buy toys :D ..who cares as long u feel happy with it,right?.....becareful also not spend too much...this really can release the tension ,stress ,drepression deep inside your heart 8)
hope this can help :lol:
30-11-2006, 09:01 AM
listen to the song Gloomy Sunday over and over again
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gloomy_Sunday
-----------------
Gloomy sunday,
with hundred white flowers
in the chapel, beloved one,
I waited in prayer.
That sunday morning,
my dreams were chasing.
Yet the chariot of my sorrow
came back without you.
Forever since then are
so sad all my sundays -
tears are my drink, and
the bread I eat sorrow.
Gloomy Sunday.
On my last Sunday, belov�d,
oh come to me!
There'll be a priest too, a
coffin, a catafalque, a shroud.
Also then, flowers will await you,
flowers - and a coffin.
Beneath flowering trees, I will
take my last ride.
And my eyes open wide
for a last glance upon you.
Don't be scared of my eyes,
still in death I will bless you...
Last Sunday.
------------------------------
Sadly one Sunday
I waited and waited
With flowers in my arms
All the dream has created
I waited 'til dreams,
Like my heart, were all broken
The flowers were all dead
And the words were unspoken
The grief that I know
Was beyond all consoling
The beat of my heart
Was a bell that was tolling
Saddest of Sundays
Then came a Sunday
When you came to find me
They bore me to church
And I left you behind me
My eyes could not see
What I wanted to love me
The earth and the flowers
Are forever above me
The bell tolled for me
And the wind whispered "Never!"
But you I have loved
And I'll bless you forever
Last of all Sundays
---------------------------
i am not sure if you will get a phone call announcing 7 days death after listening to the song
but the suicidal thingy is very true...
sunshine88
30-11-2006, 04:13 PM
what is up with u? :? ...iQing..iQing...
30-11-2006, 08:24 PM
what is up with u? :? ...iQing..iQing...
aiyo......he will never gt the chance to do tat la.....tat's why he's depressed :roll:
*Instead, he listened to the Gloomy Sunday non-stop.....but I must say it's a nice song. 8) *
30-11-2006, 08:29 PM
to continue......
ok, getting serious this time....
1. music(whether u listen to it of play the intrument urself--to relax and medidation(new age, instrumental and classical music will do)
2. eat--cholcolate(black chocolate so tat u won't get fat easily), banana(it can decrease the hormone level which causes u to depress according frm wat I read....and it workds for me)
3. talking--share ur problem wif someone, dun let urself alone
4. playing--make it be computer, sport or anything.
5. think of something good--make it be ur past achivements, ur sweet memories, ur favourite things....
6. LAUGH--laugh laugh laugh until ur tears come out....as laughter as the best medicine....I always do tat (just a problem....I wonder if someone is really depress, how to make tat person laugh )
just my 2 cents....will post more methods if I can think of one....
7. Think of ur loved ones--make it be ur family, frens and partner, esp those who u can trust, can always listen to u and can always bring some smile on ur face.....they are the main emotional support for me. :wink:
feng_yun
30-11-2006, 09:33 PM
just remember these words whenever you feel down or demotivated,
"life is tough, but i'm tougher!"
don't allow life's circumstances to defeat you, don't just sit and wait for others to help you get over it. they can't really help much if you don't try helping yourself first, because only you know your own problems. others can only advise. help yourself by trying to stay strong mentally. if its your emotional problems that is affecting you, the best is to consult a psychologist.
when the going gets tough, the tough gets going. try to be the tough and going one. just my two cents.
sunshine88
30-11-2006, 09:37 PM
what my friend recently taught me was...Whenever u are in situation which make u depressed....just think this..
"We'll go through this one to..."
yea...something that works for me too..
markuzzz
02-12-2006, 09:10 AM
Hi, just thought I?d share my struggles with depression, for your benefit.
I first recognised that I was depressed when I was in college a few years back. After high school, I was enrolled into a diploma program tailored for students to move on to a degree in accountancy. Back then I didn?t know what I wanted to do with my life, and so I went along with my parents? decision.
Soon enough, I discovered that I really disliked accountancy. It was such a pain in the ass to study it, and I distracted myself with extra curricular activities. Unsurprisingly, I failed the academic year. I was devastated.
In high school, I was always a good student. Most of my friends were excellent students. The shame I felt personally, seeing everyone else move on with their education left me in shambles. Those abroad were asking questions like ?when are you coming to join us?? I really struggled to face them all.
Oh and let me tell you about my siblings ? they were top students all the way from high school and they still are. One?s on petronas scholarship abroad. The other got into a local uni for medicine after stpm. Talk about high standards.
For the first time in my life, I saw my parents sort of like ?give up? on me ? they stopped expecting me to achieve high results. They were like ?just try to get a degree, ok? Look at so and so? they can get a degree. you are smarter than them? why u cannot get??. That was the second phase. The first was a series of lengthy lectures over dinner. Guess it sunk in after a while that I really wasn?t going to do well with the course.
And so back to my studies - I repeated the academic year with the new intake, watching my batch-mates graduate with their diplomas and move on to do their degrees.
I was severely depressed then. Never in my life had I felt so worthless. I felt stupid, weak, and lonely. At times I cried. But I told myself not to cry, and to be stronger.
I remember first blaming the course for being unsuitable for me, then I blamed the lecturers for being unable to teach, then my parents for not supporting me and pushing me to doing something I didn?t want to do, and then I blamed myself.
I withdrew from people around me. I stopped attending lectures. I went for walks in shopping malls by myself. I spent time in the library studying alone. I totally reversed my sleeping pattern to sleep during the day. (didn?t help that sometimes when I wake up, the sun was just setting). During the night, I?d stay up to play computer games, and watch football, and other random television programmes on astro. I?d take long drives in the car to places I had never gone to before in the middle of the night when I was sure my parents were dead asleep.
I enjoyed the quiet of the night - no one around me that will judge me for being the loser I was. In fact that was why I avoided my friends. I couldn?t bear the thought of being judged, even though most of them were in fact kind and understanding.
I was craving for some relationships, but my parents were working full time during the day. My brothers were away living in uni/college. I was alone most of the time at home. The only warmth I got was from the odd teh-tarik at the 24 hour mamak shop.
I asked myself why can?t I help myself? All I had to do was study! It was such a simple thing. In my head I knew what I had to do, but my heart just wasn?t there. I made plans to study, but it was so hard to keep focussed while studying. Every 10 minutes my mind was somewhere else. I felt perpetually tired and sleepy as well.
I thank God I didn?t do anything stupid. The way it was, my life was on the edge of the cliff. Were I to have had someone give me a push, I would have easily gone all the way with alcohol or drugs.
It went on until my mother pulled me aside one day and had a good chat with me. She knew something was wrong, but I had always responded to her telling her that I was doing fine. She couldn?t stand watching me deteriorate like that, and so we talked.
I soon found out that it wasn?t mere laziness. I was clinically depressed. I thank God my mother?s a doctor! I found out that she too was depressed, and had been popping pills for many years already! I learnt for the first time that depression is often the manifestation of a chemical imbalance in the brain, and I could really help myself by taking some medicine to restore the chemical levels.
When I discovered this, it was like having a burden lifted off my shoulders. I knew then that it wasn?t because I didn?t try hard enough, but it was because I couldn?t.
And so from then on, I began the slow process of piecing myself together again. Not only did I take some medicine to boost my serotonin levels, but I made sure I got regular exercise, and I tried to stay awake during the day (sunlight helps!). I tried being more transparent and allowed myself to be vulnerable with my friends. It helped when I was honest. Most of them were supportive, and gave me lots of encouragement. I began to lose my fear of being judged.
In the process of rebuilding my self, I?ve learnt a lot about my self. The many hours spent with introspection helped me be more certain of who I am, and what I want in life. I asked myself ? where does my self worth come from? I realised that before, it came from my various accomplishments/abilities. What I do became who I was. And so when I failed to do, I simply couldn?t face the world.
Now I know that no matter what happens, I have a family who loves me and will support me, dear friends who I know care for me, and a God who loves me despite my imperfections. I realise that I don?t need to prove myself to them. They accept me as who I am, and not for what I can achieve.
Everything was not a bed of roses from then onwards. I still struggled with my studies ? in fact, I did not get my diploma! I failed a module (accounting :s), but did ok in the other subjects. I dared to apply for a totally different course in the UK, and by God?s grace I am where I am today.
I have had a couple of relapses since then. The last one was as recent as 7 months ago. It was quite bad. I did not have my parents with me, but having gone through it before, I knew that I had to seek help.
Right now I?m fine =)
Those who know me would probably find this revelation surprising. I simply do not reflect this when I relate to others. In front of them, I can be the toughest and most level-headed guy you?d ever come across.. lol
Anyways, I?ve gone on for too long
Recognise that it is a disease. There is nothing to be ashamed of for being depressed. It is ok to seek help.
Do not isolate yourself. Talk to others. If you can?t find anyone to talk to like family or friends, call the befrienders or other support hotlines. You are less objective and rational when depressed. Life often makes sense, you just think it doesn?t.
Wallowing in self pity gives temporal relief from the downward slide, but the subsequent drop will be harder. Find something external to yourself to cling on to ? family, friends, god, work, dreams you have in life, etc. The problem with self pity is that it consumes you, and there is nothing for you to benchmark yourself against. You cannot tell how deep you?ve dug yourself into, and the more you do it, the harder it is to get out.
Exercise, eat well, sleep well, and take walks when you can during the day.
Medication is not a miracle drug. The chemical imbalances are normally always triggered by an unpleasant experience/s in life. You need to make sure that you are dealing with that.
sunshine88
02-12-2006, 11:09 AM
kudos for u markuzz...Thanks for sharing your experiences here.
U got a right solution at the right time..and u are able to carry on with life as normal..'
There bunch of people out there,who is yet to seek help..and in the long run they've become what we call 'rubbish of society'i.e drug addicts,gangsters,etc.
Some commit suicide.
When we face a problem and we get depressed from that,we feel that we the only one suffers the most than others.At that point,we consider that our problems is the worse than that of others.
That sort of thoughts should be avoided.
Never lose hope.
i had(have) depression
it got so bad that i couldn't cope with my studies in college n had to drop out. i gave up on my scholarship because i just couldn't hang on anymore. i needed a break.
i'm not asking for suggestions to cope with depression, i kinda figured out how to deal with it now :)
i finished SPM in 2004, its 2007 now. i have no pre uni qualifications.
i will start doing my A level in 5 days time. i was a good student and i think i can do well academically again
but i wanna know, jus wanna get some general opinions from fellow recommers,
do u guys think i still have a shot at scholarships in the future?
i now have 2 years length of gap years in my academic life.
if i ever attend a scholarship interview or job interview, they probably would ask about what happened during that two years. common sense tells me that i'll have marks deducted for my history, ppl will probably think that i am irresponsible, lazy, ungrateful, unreliable etc. i don think of myself that way. i was depressed, it was a painful experience, it was real.
but i jus wanna know. what do u guys think... think i still have a chance to get into good universities(overseas) or get a scholarship with the two-year-gap?
p/s: jus in case anyone wanna scold me for giving up my scholarship, please save ur thoughts to yourself. i've received enough lecturing for giving up on my scholarship. i'm paying back my sponsor, of course. :)
16-01-2007, 05:53 PM
sno, I think it depends on what you have done during those two years. Maybe if you've dome something fruitful or meaningful you might stand a chance. Did you get a job, or traveled or done any voluntary work? I have a friend who spent one year after SPM working before studying again. I'm not sure about whether she will be getting any scholarship but I think it's still worth atry. Sorry can't really help you much. Just my two cents
PaTiEnT
16-01-2007, 07:56 PM
hi sno,
wow that's tough. i have a friend who has acute depression and even that's hard. i sympathize with you on your situation. about scholarship, i guess it depends on who the sponsors are. a lot of people still have misconceptions about depression - but i'd like to think that the majority have come to be more aware about the importance of mental well-being. anyways, as long as you try your best, im sure you'll be able to achieve anything you want in the end. :)
thanks, jayden n patient :)
i didn't travel or work during the two years. but i did utilize the college library n read a few good books. i also volunteered in cocurricular activities like emcee-ing events. i didn't even know i can speak that ok-ly in public (it wasn't fantastic, but i am pretty satisfied to do that ok) :lol:
learning german was also part of my course n i was quite good at it. it was also through learning a foreign language that i realised that i really do love languages.
i wonder if any senior recommers read this thread. i really hope that those already in universities or working can offer their points of view... maybe you guys have met ppl with similar situations like mine but they are doing well in their lives now?
caramel_nut
16-01-2007, 10:50 PM
Well, you don't necessarily need a scholarship if you want to further your education overseas. Taking a gap year is very common in the States. Plus, because you had to deal with acute depression at that time, you can actually write about that in your admission essay and explain how the depression left you more mature, learning German, etc. Provided you have done substantial activities during the gap year, you should not have problems justifying it if you plan to apply to US universities. Besides, if you are admitted by a US university, you'll most probably be granted sufficient financial aid that you will not need any scholarship.
If you plan to go to UK, try to get good results in your A Levels and secure yourself an offer from a top university, ie Oxbridge, Imperial or LSE. Quite a number of scholarship boards award their scholarships based on the university offers that the applicants have. I'm not sure whether you'll be discriminated against due to the gap year but I guess the best way is still to give the scholarships a try and if granted an interview, be honest and positive about what happened about the gap year.
When I am depressed, I lock myself up in my room, sulk a bit then play Maplestory non-stop for the whole day. Hehe.
Ucchan_Harada
26-09-2010, 03:17 PM
I'm 19 this year and has been diagnosed with major depressive disorder. I'm taking antidepressant now and has been hospitalised in the psychiatric (yeah, the crazy ward) ward once for suicidal attempt. I cut myself and have scars. I was misdiagnosed having bipolar disorder type II (go google it up...) but after my hospitalisation, it was changed to major depression. I'm still seeing psychiatrist and taking Rivotril to calm my anxiety. I'm really crazy no?
I mean, how many got the chance to meet or talk someone with history of mental illness? I'm on sponsorship now and it might reduced my chances to go overseas. I can only continue with twinning or study locally but i don't give it a damn though. Mental illness suck a lot but i'm proud to be one. The stigma when people know you're mentally ill will be so insulting but i don't give it a damn. They think they are 'normal'. But how many normal people back in those days who had been called 'crazy' for their ideas? Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein, Galileo. Face it, we're learning calculus invented by Isaac Newton who was suffering from depression. Without these looneys the world you so-called 'normal' wouldn't be as normal as you think. Just check in wiki how many great people have sufferd from depressin or any kind of mental illness, you will be shocked. JK Rowling is suffering from depression, fyi.
FYI, i'm a pre-medical student. I'm suffering from major depression, mind you again. Most of you never know how it feels to be called crazy. Depression is waay off your definition of depressed or stressed out. it's very dark and gloomy like you'll never get out again.
Kay Redfield Jamison (she's a doctor mind you and suffering from bipolar disorder) gives depression to almost a definite definition. She says in her book 'An Unquiet Mind' that
"Others imply that they know what it is like to be depressed because they have gone through a divorce, lost a job, or broken up with someone. But these experiences carry with them feelings. Depression, instead, is flat, hollow, and unendurable. It is also tiresome. People cannot abide being around you when you are depressed. They might think that they ought to, and they might even try, but you know and they know that you are tedious beyond belief: you are irritable and paranoid and humorless and lifeless and critical and demanding and no reassurance is ever enough. You're frightened, and you're frightening, and you're "not at all like yourself but will be soon," but you know you won't."
Are you depressed? Think again....
26-09-2010, 11:20 PM
Hi, thanks for coming out of the stigma and sharing with us what must have been a journey of anguish for you. I am a medical student, and though I have not had depression myself, I have seen enough patients with depression to have a degree of empathy and understanding about what it is like. I have had bouts of really low moods due to various setbacks but these were definitely a far cry from real depression, when sadness and "feeling down" are no longer adequate to describe the feeling - in depression it's the emptiness that prevails.
Please don't call yourself "crazy". You are not. In our society we have a strong stigma against all forms of mental illness, and this has been due to a lack of understanding. When the only image we could conjure on mental illness is that of a violent, dirty, non-coherent homeless dude with schizophrenia, we tend to forget that there are a lot of people around us who look normal but are suffering deep inside. We also do not realise that like diabetes, high blood pressure and osteoporosis, mental illness is just another disease that affects one of our bodily organs, though unfortunately the affected organ is also the one that shapes our very being. Knowing this fact, however, helps us redefine our view on mental illness - if there is no shame in telling people "I have diabetes and is on lifelong treatment", then there should also be no shame in telling people "I have depression and is currently on anti-depressant treatment". It's the society's shame for shaming people with mental illness.
So thank you, my friend, for sharing your story with us. Depression can be a tough journey, and it's a shame that our society forces the sufferer to be locked up in their own suffering even deeper in their own cell. It shouldn't be like that, at all.
27-09-2010, 12:02 AM
Mental illness is just like any other physical illness except that it inflicts our mind instead of our body. Stigma towards mental illness is not surprising as even serious physical illnesses such as AIDS and cancer have their own stigma. Ignore the labeling; you know what you are going through better than them. Find people such as your close friends and family who actually understand you (or even just trying to understand you) and want to help you get better. They might not be able to help much, but at least you know they don't shun you. I ain't an expert psychologist whatsoever but I do hope that this simple (albeit clichéd) advice would be a good first step towards your recovery. If you are already trying, don't give up! :)
P/S: Being ill is never something to be proud of since it will only deteriorate you. Being proud of being depressed is like being proud of having dengue. You should be proud if you succeed in overcoming it instead.
Ucchan_Harada
27-09-2010, 01:45 AM
It's not easy to come out at first. I was constantly haunted by the dread that what will happen if they know about me being hospitalized for being depressed. I'm taking Luvox 150mg but i dont think it's helping. It triggers my anxiety and my pdoc now is putting me alongside with Rivotril to calm my anxiety. I have serious anxiety issue. I'm feeling great now eventhough it's 1.35am!! I never felt this good and i think i must be in my euphoric state now. I don't feel depressed it's just that i feel calm and it's been a long loooong while since i felt this calm before. sad thing is, my pdoc prescribed rivotril only for a week to see how things go. I think i've to change to another antidepressant that works with my anxiety. i've depression (i think i'm over it now...but i know relapse is inevitable), a BIG issue with anxiety and i got panic attacks.
It was like i'm scared for my life when i got panic attack. i feel so much dread. however it lasts normally less than 5 mins. thank goodness for that. i dont want to experience that.
I agree that when depression looms over me, i feel so empty but i cry anyway, I cry not because i'm sad but because of the void inside. People always associate crying with something sad but for depression, it's not the case. It's so empty so hollow so lonely that i want to cut myself open to let me know that i'm alive and to fill the void with something from outside. It's hard to describe what really is happening when one is depressed. Well, like what Haruki Murakami wrote in his book 'Kafka on the shore': Life is a metaphor. I can never describe in actuality what i really REALLY felt but once you get into the thin line dividing, it'll change your perspective forever.
slappyfin3
27-09-2010, 10:52 PM
Powerful words man, I've been telling my parents that I'm feeling down because of my everyday routine, the stress I feel and the everyday routine stress. Nobody seems to take me seriously, they're all telling me to destress by watching funny movies and going out but I just feel so bored all the time. The only thing that distracts me is doing my homework, but as my coursework gets harder, it seems to be adding to my stress. I really don't know how I'm going to survive a full University course if I keep this up.
Ucchan_Harada
28-09-2010, 10:33 AM
Powerful words man, I've been telling my parents that I'm feeling down because of my everyday routine, the stress I feel and the everyday routine stress. Nobody seems to take me seriously, they're all telling me to destress by watching funny movies and going out but I just feel so bored all the time. The only thing that distracts me is doing my homework, but as my coursework gets harder, it seems to be adding to my stress. I really don't know how I'm going to survive a full University course if I keep this up.
Hiya there. I understand how you feel. My parents know about my depression and they keep telling me it's just normal stress and bla bla bla. Normal stress?! Is it normal when one has been hospitalized for suicidal attempt and now having scars on one's arm?! NO.
But i cant blame them though. I still love them though they can be annoying:P .
The best thing for now is to see your counsellor. Do you have a counsellor in your institution you are currently studying? Go and talk to him/her. I had sessions with my college counsellor and she is a great lady. I admire her. Anyway, i had sessions with her and after a while she referred me to a psychiatrist in a hosp (i can't specify where for privacy reasons. PM me if you wanna talk over this thing with me :) ). She referred me to this pdoc (psychiatrist, for abbreviation) because i really needed help and i was beyond my capability to dealing with my stresses and she thought it was the best option for me.
I was prescribed AD(antidepressant) and sleeping pill. Why the sleeping pills? I hadn't been able to sleep for more than a month. Well, i did sleep but on average i slept less than 2-3 hours per night. After a while on AD, there was this one day i really bursted out. I was emotionally unstable and i couldn't remember what did i say or do that time. My friends who were there, told me that i was behaving erraticly and kept telling them i wanted to die and etc etc. The scary thing was i even asked a cutter to cut my wrist.
After my admission to the psychiatric ward, i was still scared of what had happened. The whole college knows about me being hospitalized and i was getting panic attacks and developed social anxiety disorder. But luckily, most of the people in my college are very understanding though i feel a bit isolated because of the stigmatization. But know what, i feel proud to be one! haha...
I still have to continue with my AD for >1 year though i'm feeling better. It's just to avoid relapse. I'm going to change AD somewhere around this week because it doesnt help with my anxiety. Anyhow, that's a brief history of my experience with depression.
The main thing now is to seek help from someone understanding like a counsellor. Further info, just PM me, ok? :laugh
erikanyam
16-04-2011, 03:47 PM
I think the best way to overcome the depression is kept thinking on the positive sides and tell all of your problems with your best friend.But,mind you best friend is very hard to find in this world.In fact,until now,I haven't find a friend that can be trusted and reliable.When I am very dissapoint and down,I would take a short nap to ease the situation and temporarily forget all the pain inside in my heart.
iAdoreNaz
16-04-2011, 04:05 PM
To ease depression,
During midnight, find a lonely place, and SHOUT everything out :)
That works for me ^^..~
16-04-2011, 05:49 PM
Are you sure that's depression or just temporarily feeling down? It's not easy to recover from depression...
Nicholas92
16-04-2011, 06:11 PM
Hiya there. I understand how you feel. My parents know about my depression and they keep telling me it's just normal stress and bla bla bla. Normal stress?! Is it normal when one has been hospitalized for suicidal attempt and now having scars on one's arm?! NO.
But i cant blame them though. I still love them though they can be annoying:P .
The best thing for now is to see your counsellor. Do you have a counsellor in your institution you are currently studying? Go and talk to him/her. I had sessions with my college counsellor and she is a great lady. I admire her. Anyway, i had sessions with her and after a while she referred me to a psychiatrist in a hosp (i can't specify where for privacy reasons. PM me if you wanna talk over this thing with me :) ). She referred me to this pdoc (psychiatrist, for abbreviation) because i really needed help and i was beyond my capability to dealing with my stresses and she thought it was the best option for me.
I was prescribed AD(antidepressant) and sleeping pill. Why the sleeping pills? I hadn't been able to sleep for more than a month. Well, i did sleep but on average i slept less than 2-3 hours per night. After a while on AD, there was this one day i really bursted out. I was emotionally unstable and i couldn't remember what did i say or do that time. My friends who were there, told me that i was behaving erraticly and kept telling them i wanted to die and etc etc. The scary thing was i even asked a cutter to cut my wrist.
After my admission to the psychiatric ward, i was still scared of what had happened. The whole college knows about me being hospitalized and i was getting panic attacks and developed social anxiety disorder. But luckily, most of the people in my college are very understanding though i feel a bit isolated because of the stigmatization. But know what, i feel proud to be one! haha...
I still have to continue with my AD for >1 year though i'm feeling better. It's just to avoid relapse. I'm going to change AD somewhere around this week because it doesnt help with my anxiety. Anyhow, that's a brief history of my experience with depression.
The main thing now is to seek help from someone understanding like a counsellor. Further info, just PM me, ok? :laugh
May I say that, I'm very impressed that you've decided to share these things with people here. I really think it'll help.
And depression =/= crazy. No. You have demonstrated logic, rational thought and and reason. Like everything else it's just a down phase that we go through, mental rather than physical. Most of us don't have depression, and I think by telling us these things the understanding really comes through. What most people term 'depression' is just some down time.
Once again, thanks a lot. It's things like these we need more round here.
Cactus
16-04-2011, 11:19 PM
Help. How do you know (I don't like the word 'determine') whether you have clinical depression or are just being "down" or "emo"?
eleazar
17-04-2011, 12:19 AM
for me, i think the best way to cope with depression is to involve ourselves more in religious activities. for instance, participating in church's choir, pray more often and etc
vampiric_guy_01
17-04-2011, 12:29 AM
eat chocolate / raisin
Destiny_Child
17-04-2011, 12:30 AM
Help. How do you know (I don't like the word 'determine') whether you have clinical depression or are just being "down" or "emo"?
Depression is defined by having low moods for at least 2 weeks (if im not mistaken) and together with at least 5 out of 11 criterias. Among the few criterias are sleep disturbance, change in weight, loss of appetite, suicidal and etc. Sorry i left my psychiatry posting long time ago. But it has to fulfill the criterias as stated in DXMIV (that is what we are learning in uni). u can google it up.
If u're feeling down/emo, it is just temporary. after a few days u will be feeling better. and feeling down/emo wont give u so many associated symptoms like depression.
If u r having depression, its best to consult a psychiatrist because they know how to cure u. U might not be cured fully,but it really helps. I have seen many patients in psy ward who have really improved with treatment.
Bottom line is don't take things lightly. if u think u suffer from depression, pls seek for help. if u r jus being emo/down, dat is jus part of life. we cant be happy all the time, no?
17-04-2011, 12:33 AM
Sorry i left my psychiatry posting long time ago. But it has to fulfill the criterias as stated in DXMIV (that is what we are learning in uni). u can google it up.
Just a minor correction. It's DSM IV, not DXM. :) Don't wanna confuse those who wanna look for the manual.
Ucchan_Harada
17-04-2011, 06:30 PM
there are many types of depression. manic depression aka bipolar disorder, major depression, dysthymia, seasonal affective disorder, postpartum depression, atypical depression, anxiety depression and the list go on. you can just google it up for the various types of depression.
there are also online depression tests, but take note that they don't serve as a definite diagnosis and if you suspect you have symptoms of depression, please speak to a qualified physician.
in my case, for the pass several years i suffered from dysthymia, a chronic long-term depression but last year it became into full blown major depression. during my dysthymic phase, i didn't seek help because i thought it was normal. but when i started having thoughts of suicide and self injured myself, i seek help from my counsellor, after several talk sessions with her, she decided that i should see a psychiatrist. to determine you are depressed, seeing your counsellor would really help. if it's beyond the counsellor's expertise, then she has to refer your case to a psychiatrist. don't be afraid to talk to your counsellor, because that's what he/she does!
joan2468
17-04-2011, 06:34 PM
Talk to people (friends, family, counsellors), spend time doing things that relax you, do a little contemplation, overall just try to make yourself feel better.
xJing
17-04-2011, 09:01 PM
Being depressed normally means that there's an empty space inside of you. The problem with most people is that we fill the empty space with things that won't last. you need to fill it with things that will last. You need to find your self-worth. You need to take back for dignity and pride, and be able to hold your head up high without having someone else do it for you.
I dunno about you, but the way I live my life is by filling it with God. Forgive me for preaching, but ever since I let Him into my life, I've been able to cope with various things that would have most other people breaking into bits and pieces, and I think that's what most people lack. You need to find something to fill you up. Someone who will take you just the way you are. Go to a counselor if you have to. Talk to someone older. Be open to advice, even if sometimes you really hate it, especially if it's from your parents. Don't close doors to everyone. Learn to emerge from the shell and see the light again. You'll be alright. =)
cycycy
17-04-2011, 09:58 PM
EAT! ! Okay, that's unhealthy. :laugh
Do what you feel like doing :)
Ucchan_Harada
18-04-2011, 08:58 AM
there is one type of depression that's known as existential depression. the link is here: http://www.giftedbooks.com/authorarticles.asp?id=7
i think my depression stems from this feeling of searching for a place where i truly belong. like St. Augustine of Hippo said in his 'Confessions', chapter I: "You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our hearts are restless until they rest in you."
it's not really surprising most saints, philosopher, writers, or anyone involved in arts & literature had and/or have suffered from depression. St. John of the Cross wrote 'Dark Night of the Soul' which tells a lot about the struggles to find and discover God. Mother Teresa of Calcutta also suffered from this Dark Night of the Soul. you can just google up people who suffer from depression or any mental illness and you will find a long list of names.
one of my favorite writer and poet, Sylvia Plath suffered depression but she committed suicide at the age of 30. but i must admit that the only thing that keep me holding to this very day is my faith in God. though i stumble at times by doubting His existence, i struggle to grasp the idea that God really does exist. doubt is important in faith, because without doubt your faith has never really been tested. i agree that talking to others is important but how many are willing to listen to people like us? i believe that malaysians need to be made aware of the mental health issues to eradicate the stigma surrounding mental illness.
i'm still on the way of recovery and don't know how long i can continue but i beg those of you who are here, please pray and wish for my recovery. i feel that i'm falling again into 'The Pit'.
Decimo
05-05-2011, 04:13 AM
Whenever i feel depress, i just do whatever i like doing. Go out to kedai mamak & have loong chat with friends, go watch a movie, drink sparkling juice while star gazing, sing out loud and etc
I guess what im trying to say is whenever i feel depress, i just go out, laugh and have fun
Rickytee9394
06-05-2011, 10:14 AM
When I am depress I always keep it to myself... Though it is hard but it made me stronger anyway... Cry whenever... Don't try to act cool cause it's not you..
weiliang
06-05-2011, 12:48 PM
i need this thread so so much!!! so depressed since 2 days ago bcoz ofthe jpa thingy
xJing
06-05-2011, 02:09 PM
i need this thread so so much!!! so depressed since 2 days ago bcoz ofthe jpa thingy
aiyoyo, don't get stressed out lah. Your life does NOT depend on a scholarship. :)
weiliang
06-05-2011, 02:31 PM
aiyoyo, don't get stressed out lah. Your life does NOT depend on a scholarship. :)
duno la...my friends keep advising me to be mroe confident....but i feel like the more he advice, the worse i feel....am i the only one who feels like this??
KenT13
06-05-2011, 02:34 PM
duno la...my friends keep advising me to be mroe confident....but i feel like the more he advice, the worse i feel....am i the only one who feels like this??
Nope (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAyKJAtDNCw). you're not.
AlternateF4
06-05-2011, 02:46 PM
Normally I don't read threads like this, i'm too carefree and happy. BUT NOW :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry
xJing
06-05-2011, 02:59 PM
Nope (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAyKJAtDNCw). you're not.
Normally I don't read threads like this, i'm too carefree and happy. BUT NOW
Okay people! Breathe in, breathe out. Most of us were there once upon a time, too, so we can empathize with you guys. Seriously lah, there isn't much use getting so worked up now. Find something else to do to while the time away instead of doing things that'll make you depressed. After all this is over, you're gonna look back and think how silly you were for getting all worked up over this. Honestly speaking. hahah. You all will be alrighttt. :):)
erikanyam
06-06-2011, 12:14 AM
seeking the advice from fellow recommers,this is an effective way for me to cope with depression
06-06-2011, 12:17 AM
seeking the advice from fellow recommers,this is an effective way for me to cope with depression
Glad that you're okay now! :) Good luck in everything you do! :amuse
erikanyam
06-06-2011, 12:20 AM
Glad that you're okay now! :) Good luck in everything you do! :amuse
BUT I AM VERY STRESS NOW!!!So,I spend my time in recom for a while.Then,back to study again...Why are you always online?Whenever I online,your name sure appear in the recom online list there.
06-06-2011, 12:46 AM
BUT I AM VERY STRESS NOW!!!So,I spend my time in recom for a while.Then,back to study again...Why are you always online?Whenever I online,your name sure appear in the recom online list there.
For fun? :P
KenT13
06-06-2011, 01:04 AM
He's looking for someone.
06-06-2011, 10:32 PM
Oh noooo... Here we go again... Don't you guys start spamming here now... xD
BUT I AM VERY STRESS NOW!!!So,I spend my time in recom for a while.Then,back to study again...
That's what I do too. :laugh
06-06-2011, 11:42 PM
Watch comedy shows. Always work for me.
cycycy
06-06-2011, 11:55 PM
Ooops. He's on "standby mode" :laugh
06-06-2011, 11:58 PM
Ooops. He's on "standby mode" :laugh
What "standby mode"? :notrust LOL!
Wenny
20-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Go to redbox, Sing out loud, shout.... until you cant breathe, then take a deep breath and cool down.
Then, ur mind will work differently. :)
22-06-2011, 02:18 PM
Why do I get the feeling that many of us here do not really understand what depression really is... Most of the suggestions seem to be regarding how to cope with feeling down momentarily.
FoxyWoxy25
22-06-2011, 02:37 PM
Sometimes when I'm sad, I stop being sad, and become AWESOME. True story.
Cactus
22-06-2011, 04:46 PM
I think crying helps. >.<
Young
22-06-2011, 06:31 PM
Why do I get the feeling that many of us here do not really understand what depression really is... Most of the suggestions seem to be regarding how to cope with feeling down momentarily.
Since I just finished my exams, here's the clinical criteria for depression (off the top of my head).
1. At least 5 of the following 9 symptoms (with at least one of the first two listed):
-Loss of pleasure in normally enjoyable activities
-Low mood for many days
-Changes in appetite (usually poor appetite)
-Changes in sleep pattern (usually insomnia)
-Feelings of worthlessness, anger or guilt that are unreasonable/excessive.
-Constant fatigue
-Trouble thinking or concentrating
-Feeling increasing agitated or subdued
-Suicidal thoughts
2. Symptoms persist for most days for at least 2 weeks.
3. Symptoms are not due to other mental disorders/medications/etc.
4. Symptoms cause significant distress to the person and affects his daily life.
Yup. Exam stress usually does not equate to depression btw. Unless you are stressed to the point of breakdown.
lohshuhan
23-06-2011, 12:15 PM
I think crying helps. >.<
i was under the impression that crying doesn't help to solve anything.. hahaha..
Cactus
23-06-2011, 03:49 PM
i was under the impression that crying doesn't help to solve anything.. hahaha..
hey, it's not easy to cry you know....
AlternateF4
23-06-2011, 04:20 PM
The best way is to tell someone about it! :)