View Full Version : Is MUET important for Uni entry?
qfeng
17-07-2006, 09:30 PM
Hi people, Nice to be here.
I'm currently studying Upper Six and just got my MUET result which is only Band 4.
But I don't want to resit as I want to fully concentrate on my STPM. So my question is, is Band 4 enough for Uni entry? The subject that I aiming for is engineering programmes(chemical, EnE,..).
I do not know about local universities, but for NUS, yes. It is a criteria in admissions, sometimes used as a tiebreaker in decisions.
vanessa
17-07-2006, 10:49 PM
how to get band 6 in muet huh?
If you're going to NUS, you can use IELTS or TOEFL as a substitute for MUET.
erm.. if you're applying for interview or competitive courses at NUS, then the answer's yes. A gal in Sam Tet got 4As + Band 6, was offered pharmacy (think she's on recom too), another gal got 4As + Band 5, wasn't offered pharmacy
and umm.. straight A students who didn't get band 6 in MUET weren't even shortlisted for medicine, law and dentistry interviews. but then again, i can't be sure if MUET's the deciding factor, just to share with you some of my observations. good luck!
claypot
18-07-2006, 10:42 AM
in my opinion, band 4 is enough for engineering couses but not for medicine.... if u wanna take medic course in local uni, i think the lowest point is band 5.... correct me if i m wrong....
mic88
19-07-2006, 02:21 PM
in my opinion, band 4 is enough for engineering couses but not for medicine.... if u wanna take medic course in local uni, i think the lowest point is band 5.... correct me if i m wrong....
u mean for NUS scholarship????
i mean band 4 for engineering.
My advice is try at least to get higher band. Safer.
leng_cyl
21-07-2006, 01:32 AM
I only got band 4, I aimed at band 5 but ... (why not aimed at band 6? haha.. coz I know my English Language standard is not at band 6 level..)
so I was thinking to resit, as I was worried that it would affect the application of admission into Local University...
Then, my Chemistry teacher did a research and showed us the requirement to enter University, and we found out that actually it's just a basic requirement... as long as your result meet their requirement, it's enough!
Some courses even require either MUET's or just SPM's English (7D) + 1119 (6C)!
and after had a look at the requirements for UM & UKM, I found that the highest band needed is only band 4...
and if not mistaken, they don't use our MUET result to compare the applicants, the main factor we applicants should care about is our CGPA & also the coco!
What I've mentioned are based on what I know, what I heard from my teacher, but I can't really 100% guaranteed it's correct... haha
but CGPA & coco marks are indeed the very most important ones!
I am now more worried about my biology, chemistry, math & PA!
sunshine88
21-07-2006, 01:23 PM
yes,qfeng...MUET is crucial.Band 4 isn't bad..but u also have to consider competition from others....Perhaps,u can try another shot for MUET test...then among those two MUeT results..select the best band u'd achieved.But of coursela u have to spend another RM6o for that.
i'm puzzled on why there are no form six students in my school who had achieved Band 6.The highest band that had been reached so far is band 5....and i dunno why there's no students getting band 6 yet...
8) 8) 8)
Band 4 is the normal minimun requirement but you really do have to consider the tight competition for the places in local universities. If two people have the similar performances in STPM , they will look at the MUET. If one scored 5 and another scored 4, they will pick the 5 one. :wink:
qfeng
23-07-2006, 03:24 PM
My mum wants me to resit as she heard that you need a band 5 for Engineering course in local Uni from a Form6 teacher from other school. Teachers in my school said it is not important as band 4 is sufficient. Now the problem is, different people giving different comments. Who should I listen to?
I really don't feel like resiting as I want to concentrate on my other 4 STPM subjects. But I don't want to regret next time when my time comes(when i didn't get the course i want because of MUET, but if it really happens, how do i know that it is my MUET result the factor?)
sunshine88
23-07-2006, 05:05 PM
Listen to ur mom... 8) .Maybe tour teachers aren't serious with your future.Remember band 4 is the minimum requirement and juz like ur teachers told u that it's sufficient
....Which means it's 'cukup makan' only.
If i'm u..I'll aim the maximum band 5...but if i get band 6 that would be awesome.I would still feel that band 4 isn't enough.
Juz like what Leen said,perhaps MUET is an alternative should there be a tie.
So,i suggest u to resit,since ur mom is also insisting u..But practice harder before the test if u wanna aim higher.It's now or never :wink:[/u][/b]
colis
23-07-2006, 09:18 PM
You should achieve band 5 for a higher chance to get the course you desired.
Resit. After all, you have done it once so you should be more familiar with the questions and formats. It's never too late to study for it again. I strongly believe that you can do a better job this time around. Just go for it. Band 5 is really your MINIMUN requirement to secure a place in local universities. Even though Band 4 is the minimun, but I suppose you get my subtle message. :wink: Go for it.
kevinkent
25-07-2006, 02:08 PM
My mum wants me to resit as she heard that you need a band 5 for Engineering course in local Uni from a Form6 teacher from other school. Teachers in my school said it is not important as band 4 is sufficient. Now the problem is, different people giving different comments. Who should I listen to?
I really don't feel like resiting as I want to concentrate on my other 4 STPM subjects. But I don't want to regret next time when my time comes(when i didn't get the course i want because of MUET, but if it really happens, how do i know that it is my MUET result the factor?)
qfeng, those days in SPM, teachers always say that if score straight As, you want what you can get what, can get this and that, lu mau mintak apa-apa pun boleh asalkan result bagus, look what happened to those who chose to believe? ok, end this issue here, I don't want to elaborate it further....
For your case, I will not consider myself wiser than you or not...coz I think we are from the same batch but I am not a STPM student...anyway, I still have to take MUET..just giving my opinion here and hope that it hepls alleviate your burden...
Im supporting you to go for a resit. Despite the fees, which you have to pay again, and some efforts spent on MUET... at least you try every alternatives and chances that you are having now....getting band 6 in MUET doesn't mean that it will guarantee you a place in university with the course you prefered. It is just a measuring stick or someone prefer to call it an ?xcuse? But gaining higher band will definitely increase your chances. Still, nothing is for sure. To me, if you go for resit, at least when the time comes, you will never ever regret. Trust me, regretting from a past decision in the future is more disturbing than having a lot of stuffs to do in the present eventhough STPM is like hell.( I paham)
May I know are you self-studying this MUET subject or taking any tuition there?? :roll:
That's my opinion... hope it helps... :P
28-07-2006, 12:44 PM
My brother is in Uni now, he said there're band 3 students too, in Medic !! Band 4 is definitely enough, and of course the higher you get , theorically you have better chance but for those doing STPM, I highly recommend you to bulk up you cocu as if you get 4.0 for STPM, band 6 for MUET but 0 point for cocu, sorry....you won't get what you want...
If you get 4.0, but Band 4 , and cocu 8.0, you have high probability to get what you want.....
Of course, if you have 4.0, Band 6 and cocu 10.0, you're the best already. Cocu more than 6 is quite enough if you score 4.0 for STPM since many top scorers get relatively low in cocu...and take note that cocu points are taken into account in local U application while MUET is just reference only. Pay more attention to studies.... Of course if you're capable, resit the MUET till you get the band you want.
aikws
20-08-2006, 08:03 PM
From what I gathered, the counting of marks to enter local university for my year doesnt take into account MUET. But it is better that you pass the minimum band required by your coures of interest. Well, I think the emphasis on English will increase year by year and admission method changes from year to year also. A better band still gives higher chances.
There is one thing I would like to remind is MUET is very important for admission into NUS. I have friends who have all A's in STPM but failed to get into NUS because of a band 4. Maybe most of you did not consider NUS as an option, you might after u have finished STPM. That is when you will start regretting. Well, just in case, try to acquire a band 5 and above if you are interested in NUS. For critical courses like medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, and law, a band 6 is crucial to be shortlisted or admitted.
These are all just my personal opinion, take it with a grain of salt. Good luck!