View Full Version : When seeking a job, are cocurricular activities important?
zigot14
25-07-2006, 09:50 PM
Just a quick question.
We all know that co-curricular activies are important and essential when applying for scholarships like JPA, Petronas, etc.
We also know that cocu has a 10% weightage when gaining admission into malaysia's public universities.
But just wondering... after we've graduated, with a degree in hand, and we go around looking for a job, are past cocu activities involvements/achievements important? Will a 1st class honours degree and a sensible academic transcript be enough?
Thanks in advance.
26-07-2006, 08:37 AM
i'm no employer, but i was told, if two applicants have the similar or same academic achievement, your experience(your co-curricular and other stuffs) will be a tie-breaker.
But don't go for all these co-curriculars just for the sake of making ur resume pretty, learn from all these co-curricular activities, stuffs like organising an event, looking for sponsors, and networking,... all these are very important and valuable learning opportunities... of cos, it will add to resume too ... ;)
sunshine88
26-07-2006, 06:58 PM
yeah,cocuriculum achievements(during school/college/uni years) will be used...Or perhaps,if u had any experience working part time,that might be helpful too.Computer skill certs. also can be added.
these all show that u're not superior than others,but u the employers will notice that u have extra talents like debating,leadership skills(if u have any post i societies./clubs..etc),computer skills and other certs will reflect that u involve actively in that activity.....It will add up ur pluspoints...
But at utmost important is ur performance during the interview.There's no point if u have all the gold medals,trophies,certs which makes u a deserving person for a job..but lose to impress the interviewer in the end.So,even if u have MUET band 6,and if u dun speak satisfyingly,u will still lose out. :P ..k..thatz it....
Athersin
07-12-2008, 09:46 AM
Anyone knows is that true that CCA will be an advantage to the application of jobs?
Glassylicious
18-12-2008, 06:06 PM
I spoke to the graduate recruitment officer of an international law firm recently, and he told me of a girl who applied for the firm's internship program. Brilliant girl and all, with a first class forecast, academic transcript, bla bla.
But she lacked the human touch, he said. During the interview he grilled her about it and managed to get something out of her. Turns out she played the violin, did whitewater-rafting and a multitude of other activities.
"Why didn't you put that in your application form?" He asked.
So, make what you will of that. I suppose employers are interested to know about your hobbies and interests. It probably will not harm your application if you mention those BRIEFLY.
skyblues
19-12-2008, 06:21 PM
I am not a employer also, but currently a college student.
But I would say the co-curricular activities I had in secondary no doubt helped me a lot. I would like to share a little here, just to tell you how eca is important beyond how it looks good on resume, so bear with me ya...
The first time as the MC in school assembly in Form 2 I was seriously tongue-tied. Even all of the students laughed at me. SO EMBARRASED and unnerved. I didn't dare to speak before people for a very long time. But as time went on, I was again chosen as MC for two years consecutively in formal and annual RCS farewell party. I had to say that I improved a little, as I had the previously debacle as a warning to myself. Then I eventually went into debate. I would say I was still a poor debater, but at least I dared myself. Then I slowly get used to the kind "talk-before-a-bunch-of-people" life. Then later I was the speaker of many meetings,even with teacher's presence, I found my much easier than before, though sometimes still tongue-tied.
In conclusion, eca trains courage, helps in accumulating experiences, and most importantly, bolsters confidence.
Long post, please dun mind. haha...