View Full Version : Midwest games.

da-hype
24-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Just wondering if anyone needs a basketabll player on their team.
I'm 6'1'' and a pretty good 3 point shooter.
I can play the 1 , 2 and 3 position.

if interested email me. shahir_reza2001@<hidden>

shahir reza

da-hype
24-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Just wondering if anyone needs a basketabll player on their team.
I'm 6'1'' and a pretty good 3 point shooter.
I can play the 1 , 2 and 3 position.

if interested email me. shahir_reza2001@<hidden>

shahir reza

25-02-2004, 10:15 AM
Forum managers, is this considered advertising? Is advertising allowed? boo

25-02-2004, 10:15 AM
Forum managers, is this considered advertising? Is advertising allowed? boo

FiAnS
25-02-2004, 11:44 AM
Shahir Reza,

USC is still thinking of sending a basketball team to the Midwest Games. I think you can be a valuable asset to the team. Then again, the basketball team is still pending upon having enough (quality) players.

I suggest that you go to this website:

http://www-scf.usc.edu/~malaysia/

Good Luck and Fight On!!!

FiAnS
25-02-2004, 11:44 AM
Shahir Reza,

USC is still thinking of sending a basketball team to the Midwest Games. I think you can be a valuable asset to the team. Then again, the basketball team is still pending upon having enough (quality) players.

MarquisX
25-02-2004, 01:30 PM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

can i join the USC team? i visited the USC website, unfortunately i have no account thus prevent me from 'shouting' or post up any reply on the board.
I am not as tall as Reza (from previous quote) but i do have good D and speed. I played during midwest last year as PG for the Michigan team (i am a Longhorn, though). as for now, me and my engineering teammates are competing in our annual intramural games. aight, you can reach me at hussen85@<hidden>.
later.

MarquisX
25-02-2004, 01:30 PM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

can i join the USC team? i visited the USC website, unfortunately i have no account thus prevent me from 'shouting' or post up any reply on the board.
I am not as tall as Reza (from previous quote) but i do have good D and speed. I played during midwest last year as PG for the Michigan team (i am a Longhorn, though). as for now, me and my engineering teammates are competing in our annual intramural games. aight, you can reach me at hussen85@<hidden>.
later.

jun_wolverine
25-02-2004, 02:30 PM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

later.

yo MarquisX,

waddup,
aku Jun dari umich...kenal lagi dak?
aku member rafiq ...
aku main untuk umich bball...but sebab aku main bola, aku main certain games aje...

aku pon xde team for now

aku rasa umich buat masa ni xde team lagi

peace

jun_wolverine
25-02-2004, 02:30 PM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

later.

yo MarquisX,

waddup,
aku member rafiq ...
aku main untuk umich bball...but sebab aku main bola, aku main certain games aje...

aku pon xde team for now

peace

sim_min
25-02-2004, 02:33 PM
ho ho ho
why not join UNL team?? we were last year's champion!~~~

sim_min
25-02-2004, 02:33 PM
ho ho ho
why not join UNL team?? we were last year's champion!~~~

25-02-2004, 03:16 PM
Sim Min, you from Lincoln? near SD?

25-02-2004, 03:16 PM
Sim Min, you from Lincoln? near SD?

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:29 PM
I am from Lincoln, Nebraska.

where is SD?

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:29 PM

where is SD?

25-02-2004, 03:31 PM
south dakota. i have a friend who used to go to UNL. weird..huh? really small world..anyway, nrv mind..just terkejut..tu jer :P

25-02-2004, 03:31 PM
south dakota. i have a friend who used to go to UNL. weird..huh? really small world..anyway, nrv mind..just terkejut..tu jer :P

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:36 PM
oh..yeah...just down below SD~

who is your fren?? just wondering if i know him/her~!

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:36 PM
oh..yeah...just down below SD~

who is your fren?? just wondering if i know him/her~!

25-02-2004, 03:49 PM
nah...Matt Jones. he's an American. he used to study there. Now he's working in Calif. Anyway, nvr mind. thanks for asking though. u ever been to SD?

25-02-2004, 03:49 PM
nah...Matt Jones. he's an American. he used to study there. Now he's working in Calif. Anyway, nvr mind. thanks for asking though. u ever been to SD?

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:56 PM
yes i did.

I went there in summer 2002. visited some places like The Bad Lands, Mt. Rushmore and etc...

were u studying in SD?

sim_min
25-02-2004, 03:56 PM
yes i did.

I went there in summer 2002. visited some places like The Bad Lands, Mt. Rushmore and etc...

were u studying in SD?

da-hype
26-02-2004, 12:26 AM

where is SD?

I talked to thomas a few days ago. He said i could play with u guys. If you were on the team last year. You might remember me. I played for Penn State. :P Well tell thomas to comfirm with me ASAP. I won't mind being the 6th men either. As long as i get playing time and we win. LOL.

da-hype
26-02-2004, 12:26 AM

where is SD?

I talked to thomas a few days ago. He said i could play with u guys. If you were on the team last year. You might remember me. I played for Penn State. :P Well tell thomas to comfirm with me ASAP. I won't mind being the 6th men either. As long as i get playing time and we win. LOL.

sim_min
26-02-2004, 02:30 AM
oh, u know Thomas too?
well, i was not in the basketball team, i was in badminton team. but i was there to cheer for the team~
what's your name first? do u think he knows da-hype?

sim_min
26-02-2004, 02:30 AM
oh, u know Thomas too?
well, i was not in the basketball team, i was in badminton team. but i was there to cheer for the team~

da-hype
26-02-2004, 04:20 AM
oh, u know Thomas too?

My name is Shahir. Thomas and i went to the same high school (La Salle PJ). If you see him. Tell him to let me know ASAP about the team. I really want to play. (He knows i can play too) :P

da-hype
26-02-2004, 04:20 AM
oh, u know Thomas too?

My name is Shahir. Thomas and i went to the same high school (La Salle PJ). If you see him. Tell him to let me know ASAP about the team. I really want to play. (He knows i can play too) :P

MarquisX
26-02-2004, 04:51 AM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

later.

yo MarquisX,

waddup,
aku member rafiq ...

aku pon xde team for now

peace

ello JUN!!!
waaa, lama tak dengar kabar wehhh. Man, kalau kita ada complete team arituh buleh compete aa ngan team lain, eventhough tak pnah practice sama. Anyway, aku ni tgh free agent skang ni and kalau team memane nak PG/SG, msg aku ekk
later

MarquisX
26-02-2004, 04:51 AM
Shahir Reza,

Hello,

later.

yo MarquisX,

waddup,
aku member rafiq ...

aku pon xde team for now

peace

ello JUN!!!
waaa, lama tak dengar kabar wehhh. Man, kalau kita ada complete team arituh buleh compete aa ngan team lain, eventhough tak pnah practice sama. Anyway, aku ni tgh free agent skang ni and kalau team memane nak PG/SG, msg aku ekk
later

FiAnS
25-03-2004, 09:34 AM
I think we should put this thread to recom Sports SIG instead.

I have a concern regarding the Midwest Games rule. Is there any possibility that a participant can play other games besides playing soccer. For example, for a university that has a small number of students, it is frustrating not being able to send good teams, let say in soccer and volleyball, since soccer players who can play volleyball well are not able to participate in other events to help their contingents. I notice the clashes that might occur but if in the case the soccer team gets eliminated, they won't be any more clashes, will they? Anyone from Persisma out there that can clarify the matter?

p.s. My friend has sent an email directly to the organizer but no reply has been received as of now.

MarquisX
25-03-2004, 03:58 PM
Is there any possibility that a participant can play other games besides playing soccer. For example, for a university that has a small number of students, it is frustrating not being able to send good teams, let say in soccer and volleyball, since soccer players who can play volleyball well are not able to participate in other events to help their contingents. I notice the clashes that might occur but if in the case the soccer team gets eliminated, they won't be any more clashes, will they? Anyone from Persisma out there that can clarify the matter?

p.s. My friend has sent an email directly to the organizer but no reply has been received as of now.

My friend if the Chef-D-Mission of the upcoming games. From what i understand, you can play multiple games but don't expect the host to help re-arrange the schedule any particular games just because you cannot be there. One of the most important rules during the midwest games is to be there on time. If you are 10 mins late, your team LOSE!. You have to have the whole team before the game, otherwise..you'll have to forfeit the game. I've been to 2 midwest games before and i acknowledge that they are very particular about time.

FiAnS
25-03-2004, 04:27 PM
Thank you for the reply but my concern is not about the time schedule but rather the fact that soccer "players are not allowed to compete in any other sporting event." I took this excerpt directly from the official Midwest Games website. I am aware of the time clashes but by doing this, soccer players will not be able to help their teammates in other events be it as a substitute only. We also have to take into account teams that have been eliminated in the group matches. These players, in turn, can play other games instead.

MarquisX
25-03-2004, 04:45 PM
Soccer matches will be time-dependent. The teams have to be on the field 20-30 mins before the game because the host just won't have enough time to finish off every games (they might end up shooting penalty, which obviously sucks!). I think the host want the players to focus on soccer to avoid players getting on the field late, thus making the games seem longer than it should. Plus, the host want to give more chances for other students to play sports!.

aquila
26-03-2004, 06:42 AM
Pardon my ignorance but what are the Midwest games?

FiAnS
26-03-2004, 12:08 PM
I understand the fact that the organizer wants other students be given a chance to play other sports. But my concern is regarding schools that have a small number of participants. In this case, the are not able to send their strongest squad in other games, if they are not allowed to field in their soccer players. That's my concern.

tuinkle
30-03-2004, 05:38 PM
Hi,

I'm a student at Berkeley where there is only a Singapore Malaysia Students' Association. Is it still possible to participate in the games? Does anybody know how I should go about this? Has a website been set up yet?

Thanks a bunch!! :)
May

31-03-2004, 12:14 AM
Midwest Games website (http://www.persisma.org/)

31-03-2004, 12:20 AM
I noticed one very important information is missing/hidden in the website and in this discussion thread - when is the Midwest games going to be held?

MarquisX
01-04-2004, 10:54 AM
i am forming a basketball team for the midwest games, i am gonna need 2/3 people for my team..preferably those who can post up and rebound (guys who play 3,4,5). you can email me at hussen85@<hidden>

thx

orestes
02-04-2004, 03:39 AM
Penn State wont be sending a basketball team this year... however, i still wanna play... unlike the shahir dude, im only a mere 5ft 4'... im not THAT good but i can surely play... any teams want me?

da-hype
02-04-2004, 05:25 AM
orestes,
Did you play last year??? i played for penn state last year :P

chocoholique
02-04-2004, 09:01 AM
Imma freshman dude... not possible...

chocoholique
02-04-2004, 09:02 AM
By The Way, its orestes posting the previous msg, not chocoholique... sorry for the kebodohan...

poen
02-04-2004, 01:54 PM
To all ReCom members in the US,

My name is Hafidz, you can just call me poen. I am from University of Minnesota, Twin Cities and I am the Secretary of External Affairs for the Midwest Games 2004. Here are responses to some of the questions/issues raised:

1.1 Barring of soccer players from registering/participating in other events.

It has been a system in place since the first Midwest Games 2004 that soccer players is expected to focus fully on the soccer event. This is largely due to the fact that soccer matches take up more time and are often the most actively involved event at the Midwest Games. In relation to this, the soccer venue is also located quite a distance from the courts events making running to and from the venues ON TIME impossible. Hence, this rule has been set and no alterations will be made due to the MSD's emphasis on the issue of punctuality and efficiency.

1.2 Barring soccer players affects contingents who need them in court events.

I apologize once again as the Committee will not be able to make changes to event rules based on specific cases. However, there is always the "hybrid" option. You are welcome to recruit any player from any university into your team or even join other teams (if they allow you to) to make up for the small contingent size your university faces.

2.1 Universities with only Singapore/Malaysia Students Association

After reviewing this matter with the Ministry of Higher Education (sponsor) and MSD, it is allowed that these associations to participate in the Midwest Games 2004 under one condition: Athletes must only be Malaysians. However, your Singaporean members are always welcome to come as supporters. I hope this clears this matter up.

As for questions about Midwest Games 2004 details, here they are:

Where?
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (Minneapolis-St Paul)

When?
28 May 2004 - 30 May 2004 (Memorial Day Weekend)

What?
A premier Malaysian students sports carnival. Fun, lots of fun. It is our version of the Olympics (We even have a Games Village for atheletes/supporters lodging, so SIGN UP NOW!)

So, I hope this post helps out with some of the issues raised by all of you ReCom members in the US. I hope that all of you will register ASAP (read: deadline is 26th APRIL 2004) and please, please sign up for the Games Village.

I hope to see all of you come this May. Thank you.

Regards,

Mohamed Hafidz Mohamed Ismail
Secretary (External Affairs)
Midwest Games 2004 Organizing Committee

MarquisX
02-04-2004, 02:14 PM
Penn State wont be sending a basketball team this year... however, i still wanna play... unlike the shahir dude, im only a mere 5ft 4'... im not THAT good but i can surely play... any teams want me?

are you really planning on going to the midwest? if you really do and want to play some basketball, email me at hussen85@<hidden>.

da-hype
24-04-2004, 12:23 AM
MarquisX,

You still need players?

sim_min
24-04-2004, 02:49 PM
hey guys, i am for sure will be going to Midwest game!
what about u all??
Hope we will have ReCom gathering there, ok~
see ya!