View Full Version : Introduce Ourselves part 2
25-02-2004, 11:55 AM
The first 300 posts of Introduce Ourselves is at here:-
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=87
Lets continue here!
Welcome E-Ling to ReCom~! Thanks for supporting ReCom. Hope that your technical problem will be solved~!
To others, introduce yourself leh...
25-02-2004, 11:55 AM
The first 300 posts of Introduce Ourselves is at here:-
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=87
Lets continue here!
Welcome E-Ling to ReCom~! Thanks for supporting ReCom. Hope that your technical problem will be solved~!
To others, introduce yourself leh...
25-02-2004, 04:39 PM
Please continue the introduction here.
25-02-2004, 04:39 PM
Please continue the introduction here.
serenete
25-02-2004, 06:50 PM
Thanks Chen Chow! I still get those technical problems from time to time like IE closing so I must try to resolve them somehow. :D
serenete
25-02-2004, 06:50 PM
Thanks Chen Chow! I still get those technical problems from time to time like IE closing so I must try to resolve them somehow. :D
b_ronick
28-02-2004, 11:39 PM
hey everyone...
since this is the first (techically second) post i ever made here(rightfully so at this topic) so i guess i introduce myself..
i was confused with the first part and second part and ermm my fren asked me to post on both..so...
helloo.. :wink:
i'm sian mei from ATU 10..yupz..introduce to this message board by my friend here wei jie to check this place out..*looks around* heheh.. :lol:
okay..i'm born in KL and my home sweet home is in pj..
currently staying at good ol' akasia and studying in intec..hehe
:lol: :lol:
well...ermm..i was from smk(p) sri aman and before that i was at bbgs for 6 and a half years-meaning 6 years primary and half a year at secondary-
majoring? ermm..in chemical engineering..
i'll just like to add..a lot of like LOTR fans in here isn't it!
:? :lol:
i wish i knew what else to say but hey..hopefully this is enuf for the first ever message posted here! tee hee! :wink:
xxx
b_ronick
28-02-2004, 11:39 PM
hey everyone...
since this is the first (techically second) post i ever made here(rightfully so at this topic) so i guess i introduce myself..
i was confused with the first part and second part and ermm my fren asked me to post on both..so...
helloo.. :wink:
i'm sian mei from ATU 10..yupz..introduce to this message board by my friend here wei jie to check this place out..*looks around* heheh.. :lol:
okay..i'm born in KL and my home sweet home is in pj..
currently staying at good ol' akasia and studying in intec..hehe
:lol: :lol:
well...ermm..i was from smk(p) sri aman and before that i was at bbgs for 6 and a half years-meaning 6 years primary and half a year at secondary-
majoring? ermm..in chemical engineering..
i'll just like to add..a lot of like LOTR fans in here isn't it!
:? :lol:
i wish i knew what else to say but hey..hopefully this is enuf for the first ever message posted here! tee hee! :wink:
xxx
raizz
29-02-2004, 10:12 AM
yooo....another cheme in the house. welcome gal...enjoy the ride and dont forget to hold on tight. It's a rough journey!!!!
raizz
29-02-2004, 10:12 AM
yooo....another cheme in the house. welcome gal...enjoy the ride and dont forget to hold on tight. It's a rough journey!!!!
01-03-2004, 12:40 AM
Welcome to ReCom Family b_roninck. Hope you can familirize yourself with lots of stuff here at Recom.
Also, thanks to Wei Jie too for introducing you to this site.
Hope you guys found this site valuable..
01-03-2004, 12:40 AM
Welcome to ReCom Family b_roninck. Hope you can familirize yourself with lots of stuff here at Recom.
Also, thanks to Wei Jie too for introducing you to this site.
Hope you guys found this site valuable..
althea
01-03-2004, 05:51 AM
Hello everyone!!!!! :mrgreen:
Another kedahan here. :arrow: Althea is my name .Those from kedah ,definitely know my secondary school,S.M.K St Michael in Alor Setar.My house is dame close to what they called"setar walk",it takes bout 10 minutes to reach they .It always gives me a good reason for not staying at home,as public library is just right opposite that "Setar Walk".That is why i was so hardworking that time hehe........... :twisted:
I finished my A level at Taylor's College last year.I still in holidays right now,this is a long holidays,as most of my universities that i had applied will only start in July.I hope I can get into NUS,but I know the chance must be very....... slim :cry: ,so I think i will do Bio-technology in Perth. :cry:
What else i should write bout myself?Let me think ....... 8O oh yeah,I think LAZY is the best word to summarised bout myself :lol: .Untill now,i still haven't get a part time job to fill up my time ,as i more prefer to spend all my time of doing nothing in Taiwan.I try to find lots of excuses for not going back to Malaysia,but it didn't work totally ,as my visa will expire by the end of this month :evil: .So I will make full use of my time right now before getting a part time job in Malaysia. :x
That is all bout me..........
:roll:
althea
01-03-2004, 05:51 AM
Hello everyone!!!!! :mrgreen:
Another kedahan here. :arrow: Althea is my name .Those from kedah ,definitely know my secondary school,S.M.K St Michael in Alor Setar.My house is dame close to what they called"setar walk",it takes bout 10 minutes to reach they .It always gives me a good reason for not staying at home,as public library is just right opposite that "Setar Walk".That is why i was so hardworking that time hehe........... :twisted:
I finished my A level at Taylor's College last year.I still in holidays right now,this is a long holidays,as most of my universities that i had applied will only start in July.I hope I can get into NUS,but I know the chance must be very....... slim :cry: ,so I think i will do Bio-technology in Perth. :cry:
What else i should write bout myself?Let me think ....... 8O oh yeah,I think LAZY is the best word to summarised bout myself :lol: .Untill now,i still haven't get a part time job to fill up my time ,as i more prefer to spend all my time of doing nothing in Taiwan.I try to find lots of excuses for not going back to Malaysia,but it didn't work totally ,as my visa will expire by the end of this month :evil: .So I will make full use of my time right now before getting a part time job in Malaysia. :x
That is all bout me..........
:roll:
cquayhl
01-03-2004, 02:40 PM
OK, after hearing about this website from Jiin Joo, Mean Yeit, etc. since September, I've finally joined. Since my motto is 'do first, think later', this is my first post, roughly three seconds after I signed up.
Places
Born in General Hospital, Ipoh, Perak.
Grandfather's farm in Kampung Cina, Sitiawan, Perak for one year.
Grew up in Ayer Tawar, Perak.
Spent time in South Hadley, MA; Tallahassee, FL; Batavia, IL; Stanford, CA.
Education
SRK (Methodist) ACS Sitiawan (1989-1993)
SRK (Methodist) MES Ayer Tawar (1994)
SMJK (Methodist) MES Ayer Tawar (1995)
SMJK (C) Ayer Tawar (1996-1998)
Mount Holyoke College '01 (Physics)
PhD Candidate at Stanford (2001-present-indefinitely...)
Other Than Physics...
Reading, running, IVGrad (ivgrad.stanford.edu), Malaysia Forum (smf.stanford.edu).
Favourite Websites
www.aldaily.com
www.bbc.co.uk/radio
www.firstthings.com
Anyway! Syamsul, et. al, this is a really great website!
cquayhl
01-03-2004, 02:40 PM
OK, after hearing about this website from Jiin Joo, Mean Yeit, etc. since September, I've finally joined. Since my motto is 'do first, think later', this is my first post, roughly three seconds after I signed up.
Places
Born in General Hospital, Ipoh, Perak.
Grandfather's farm in Kampung Cina, Sitiawan, Perak for one year.
Grew up in Ayer Tawar, Perak.
Spent time in South Hadley, MA; Tallahassee, FL; Batavia, IL; Stanford, CA.
Education
SRK (Methodist) ACS Sitiawan (1989-1993)
SRK (Methodist) MES Ayer Tawar (1994)
SMJK (Methodist) MES Ayer Tawar (1995)
SMJK (C) Ayer Tawar (1996-1998)
Mount Holyoke College '01 (Physics)
PhD Candidate at Stanford (2001-present-indefinitely...)
Other Than Physics...
Reading, running, IVGrad (ivgrad.stanford.edu), Malaysia Forum (smf.stanford.edu).
Favourite Websites
www.aldaily.com
www.bbc.co.uk/radio
www.firstthings.com
Anyway! Syamsul, et. al, this is a really great website!
01-03-2004, 04:12 PM
Hi Charis, Welcome to the ReCom family!
hope that you can explore this site, and suggest on how to improve it.
GOOD JOB to ALL ORGANIZERS OF MALAYSIA FORUM AT STANFORD!.
I certainly learn a lot.. and I hope in the future, we can make such event again...and hope more participation from Recom members too!.
(note: Malaysia Forum was over a couple of hours ago. It was organized by Charis, et al (including Jiin Joo , mean yeat, Z, Sim, Min lee, and... more . It was a great event.)..
01-03-2004, 04:12 PM
Hi Charis, Welcome to the ReCom family!
hope that you can explore this site, and suggest on how to improve it.
GOOD JOB to ALL ORGANIZERS OF MALAYSIA FORUM AT STANFORD!.
I certainly learn a lot.. and I hope in the future, we can make such event again...and hope more participation from Recom members too!.
(note: Malaysia Forum was over a couple of hours ago. It was organized by Charis, et al (including Jiin Joo , mean yeat, Z, Sim, Min lee, and... more . It was a great event.)..
02-03-2004, 12:34 AM
Welcome Charis to our ReCom family~!
Really hope that your experience will be very helpful in guiding the younger generation of Malaysia~!
Wow~! Reading your time line, found out that you started primary school one year later than I am and now you have been a PhD candidate since 2001...the time I started my undergraduate...
Thanks Jiin Joo and Mean Yeit for bringing Charis in~!
Invite more people in~!
Congrats on the successful organization of the Malaysia Forum~!
To Sian Mei and Althea, Welcome to ReCom Family too~!
Sian Mei, hope that you can help us spread the news around your friends in ATU 10... Feel free to bombard us at ReCom on any questions that you guys have... And ReCom could be the place for all of you to make contact!
To Althea, hope that you will find ReCom a nice place to hang around~! Thanks for joining~! You have made tremendous progress in your English since I saw your initiative in learning it in June 2002. Congrats~! and ReCom can be a place for you to continue learning it~!
02-03-2004, 12:34 AM
Welcome Charis to our ReCom family~!
Really hope that your experience will be very helpful in guiding the younger generation of Malaysia~!
Wow~! Reading your time line, found out that you started primary school one year later than I am and now you have been a PhD candidate since 2001...the time I started my undergraduate...
Thanks Jiin Joo and Mean Yeit for bringing Charis in~!
Invite more people in~!
Congrats on the successful organization of the Malaysia Forum~!
To Sian Mei and Althea, Welcome to ReCom Family too~!
Sian Mei, hope that you can help us spread the news around your friends in ATU 10... Feel free to bombard us at ReCom on any questions that you guys have... And ReCom could be the place for all of you to make contact!
To Althea, hope that you will find ReCom a nice place to hang around~! Thanks for joining~! You have made tremendous progress in your English since I saw your initiative in learning it in June 2002. Congrats~! and ReCom can be a place for you to continue learning it~!
mercsinc
02-03-2004, 01:14 AM
to chenchow: finally, someone initiated an introduction forum. good call buddy.
me>
:arrow: hisham isa
family>
:arrow: eldest of three
:arrow: normal kampung family
:arrow: living in a kampung (kg. dato abu bakar baginda to be exact - i don't expect a lot of people to know where it is :D )
:arrow: have lots of fish (make great pets - looks good, no noise, no feces around the house, easy to take care of)
education history>
:arrow: dr. martin luther king jr. elementary school, urbana ill.
:arrow: sekolah rendah kebangsaan sri serdang, serdang selangor
:arrow: smka maahad hamidiah, kajang selangor
:arrow: mrsm jasin, melaka
:arrow: utm, skudai johor (forecast)
:arrow: u of michigan, ann arbor mi.
major>
:arrow: something in engineering...i hope...
interests>
:arrow: roller hockey
:arrow: squash
:arrow: the outdoors and gardening (a great aspect of kampung life)
:arrow: street cars
:arrow: nitro rcs
:arrow: building models
:arrow: malaysia food (making and eating :D )
:arrow: music (excluding jazz, metal, rock, reggae)
its nice to get to meet everyone...from all over the globe. maybe we could all do business together someday :P
mercsinc
02-03-2004, 01:14 AM
to chenchow: finally, someone initiated an introduction forum. good call buddy.
me>
:arrow: hisham isa
family>
:arrow: eldest of three
:arrow: normal kampung family
:arrow: living in a kampung (kg. dato abu bakar baginda to be exact - i don't expect a lot of people to know where it is :D )
:arrow: have lots of fish (make great pets - looks good, no noise, no feces around the house, easy to take care of)
education history>
:arrow: dr. martin luther king jr. elementary school, urbana ill.
:arrow: sekolah rendah kebangsaan sri serdang, serdang selangor
:arrow: smka maahad hamidiah, kajang selangor
:arrow: mrsm jasin, melaka
:arrow: utm, skudai johor (forecast)
:arrow: u of michigan, ann arbor mi.
major>
:arrow: something in engineering...i hope...
interests>
:arrow: roller hockey
:arrow: squash
:arrow: the outdoors and gardening (a great aspect of kampung life)
:arrow: street cars
:arrow: nitro rcs
:arrow: building models
:arrow: malaysia food (making and eating :D )
:arrow: music (excluding jazz, metal, rock, reggae)
its nice to get to meet everyone...from all over the globe. maybe we could all do business together someday :P
cquayhl
02-03-2004, 08:34 AM
Syamsul and Chen Chow, thanks for the welcome! :-) It's really great to meet enthusiastic people like you guys. Next Malaysia Forum, Syamsul is going to organise in LA. :-P
cquayhl
02-03-2004, 08:34 AM
Syamsul and Chen Chow, thanks for the welcome! :-) It's really great to meet enthusiastic people like you guys. Next Malaysia Forum, Syamsul is going to organise in LA. :-P
02-03-2004, 09:48 AM
Provided that the Stanford Malaysia Forum Team help me :P
02-03-2004, 09:48 AM
Provided that the Stanford Malaysia Forum Team help me :P
02-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Hisham, welcome to ReCom~! Thanks a lot for your involvement in ReMag~! Hope that you will continuously support ReCom~!
It is very nice to see more and more people introduce themselves in ReCom~!
Hope those who haven't introduced themselves to do so>...!!!
02-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Hisham, welcome to ReCom~! Thanks a lot for your involvement in ReMag~! Hope that you will continuously support ReCom~!
It is very nice to see more and more people introduce themselves in ReCom~!
Hope those who haven't introduced themselves to do so>...!!!
02-03-2004, 10:41 AM
everyone should write something n send em to ppl at ReMag. it's such a cool mag, and it's our own..so...why not let the world know what you wanna say...
*okie..this is kinda out of topic..but what the heck :P )
02-03-2004, 10:41 AM
everyone should write something n send em to ppl at ReMag. it's such a cool mag, and it's our own..so...why not let the world know what you wanna say...
*okie..this is kinda out of topic..but what the heck :P )
miraclesnfantasy
02-03-2004, 10:54 AM
i guess firstly i'd like ta say hi to evryone in ReCom. and congratulations on ReMag which i've heard alot from budakkerek, who also introduced me ta ReCom. so about me :
name :Nurul Akmal
nickname :Makmal (still unsure how i got that)
add: Bkt antarabangsa
schools : SK Dato' Abu Bakar Baginda, Sepang (1991-1994)
S Rantau Petronas, terengganu (1995)
SK Taman Melawati (2), KL (1996)
SM Taman Melawati, KL (1997-2001)
Institut Perguruan Bahasa-bahasa Antarabangsa,
Lembah Pantai (B.Ed TESL) (2002 -- )
anyway..nice to meet all of ya~!
miraclesnfantasy
02-03-2004, 10:54 AM
i guess firstly i'd like ta say hi to evryone in ReCom. and congratulations on ReMag which i've heard alot from budakkerek, who also introduced me ta ReCom. so about me :
name :Nurul Akmal
nickname :Makmal (still unsure how i got that)
add: Bkt antarabangsa
schools : SK Dato' Abu Bakar Baginda, Sepang (1991-1994)
S Rantau Petronas, terengganu (1995)
SK Taman Melawati (2), KL (1996)
SM Taman Melawati, KL (1997-2001)
Institut Perguruan Bahasa-bahasa Antarabangsa,
Lembah Pantai (B.Ed TESL) (2002 -- )
anyway..nice to meet all of ya~!
02-03-2004, 12:24 PM
a ha! another tesl dudedess. Join remag and write something. cmon!
02-03-2004, 12:24 PM
a ha! another tesl dudedess. Join remag and write something. cmon!
chenghau
02-03-2004, 12:56 PM
Hi,
ChengHau, ATU9, currently in Cambridge, MA, USA. Nice to meet you all!!!
chenghau
02-03-2004, 12:56 PM
Hi,
ChengHau, ATU9, currently in Cambridge, MA, USA. Nice to meet you all!!!
da-hype
02-03-2004, 01:11 PM
my name is shahir reza ali
25 male
originally from kuala lumpur (petaling jaya actually)
went to La salle PJ b4 going to UPM then the US :P
now studying at utah state university
i am a final year student (8 classes left)
majoring in computer science
minor in econs
love cars, basketball, computers and girls (yes girls are 4th)
love coding (code scripts and DLL's for mIRC for fun)
current project is hirc.org and the hIRC script. :D
da-hype
02-03-2004, 01:11 PM
my name is shahir reza ali
25 male
originally from kuala lumpur (petaling jaya actually)
went to La salle PJ b4 going to UPM then the US :P
now studying at utah state university
i am a final year student (8 classes left)
majoring in computer science
minor in econs
love cars, basketball, computers and girls (yes girls are 4th)
love coding (code scripts and DLL's for mIRC for fun)
current project is hirc.org and the hIRC script. :D
dinna_g
02-03-2004, 01:50 PM
i never really introduce myself.. so here goes.. my name is dinna geraldine ramlan. i go by dinna.
my hometown is shah alam and i love shah alam with all my heart.. :D if you feel like kutuking shah alam, please don't do it in front of me. very very sensitive issue.. hehe..
i went to school in SRK seksyen 19, shah alam and then sekolah tun fatimah, johor bahru. after that, i did my a levels in sunway college, and then i continue my tertiary education in northwestern university, evanston, IL. i'm a material science and engineering major and will be graduating, hopefully in june 2005.
i love soccer (watching only) with all my heart. my soccer team is juventus and my soccer idol is alessandro del piero. for epl, i support aston villa and liverpool (a little) and i hate manchester united and arsenal.
dinna_g
02-03-2004, 01:50 PM
i never really introduce myself.. so here goes.. my name is dinna geraldine ramlan. i go by dinna.
my hometown is shah alam and i love shah alam with all my heart.. :D if you feel like kutuking shah alam, please don't do it in front of me. very very sensitive issue.. hehe..
i went to school in SRK seksyen 19, shah alam and then sekolah tun fatimah, johor bahru. after that, i did my a levels in sunway college, and then i continue my tertiary education in northwestern university, evanston, IL. i'm a material science and engineering major and will be graduating, hopefully in june 2005.
i love soccer (watching only) with all my heart. my soccer team is juventus and my soccer idol is alessandro del piero. for epl, i support aston villa and liverpool (a little) and i hate manchester united and arsenal.
02-03-2004, 09:10 PM
Welcome Nurul Akmal and ChengHau to ReCom~!
Thanks budakkerek for the publicity...so, may be you guys can now work together to bring in more people from TESL here too... Help correcting our English and join ReMag~!
ChengHau, Welcome to ReCom famiily~! Mind invite more from ATU 9 here? And also your friends over at MIT and possibly those at Harvard too~! Hope to see you get active~! ChengHau, share a little bit more background info about you~!
To Shahir and Dinna, thanks for staying active~! Hope you guys can be more and more active~! Thanks for the intro too~!
To the rest, please introduce yourself here...
02-03-2004, 09:10 PM
Welcome Nurul Akmal and ChengHau to ReCom~!
Thanks budakkerek for the publicity...so, may be you guys can now work together to bring in more people from TESL here too... Help correcting our English and join ReMag~!
ChengHau, Welcome to ReCom famiily~! Mind invite more from ATU 9 here? And also your friends over at MIT and possibly those at Harvard too~! Hope to see you get active~! ChengHau, share a little bit more background info about you~!
To Shahir and Dinna, thanks for staying active~! Hope you guys can be more and more active~! Thanks for the intro too~!
To the rest, please introduce yourself here...
chenghau
03-03-2004, 04:07 AM
ChengHau came from a small town in a small state like Selangor. He atteneded a small school in that small town, met all sort of funny people in that particular place called "Sungai Pelek", somewhere near Sepang. (Somehow the river is connected to Sungai Sepang, which was full of shit before the JE incidence in Nipah, which is about half an hour away from Sepang.)
=P, I am crapping here.
I am a JPA scholar currently attending a school in Cambridge, Massachuseets, United States. Attended ADFP, I was (and still am)in ATU9, like Miss Shian Ling, my classmate in first semester.) My hobby includes sleeping, sleeping, and more sleeping:)
I was crazy about warcraft before I came to USA. During summer session in INTEC, UiTM, we played warcraft on average 5 hours a day, and spent too much money.
Now weather here is getting better. I really feel that it is Spring now. Don't need to wear too many layers when I go out.
I might be back to Malaysia this summer (around June till end of August). So if anybody will be there, we might be able to meet.
Ah..something to say about Shian Ling...
She was DAMNED^n (n-->inf) active, aggresive, progressive, ...+ive..(you name it) when she was my classmate. I believe she still is. She recommended me to join this (while I already was a member, just that I wasn't active). Sorry Shian Ling....Don't kill me....
I duno what else to share. How is my look? An ugly fella. SO girls, here you not go...
chenghau
03-03-2004, 04:07 AM
ChengHau came from a small town in a small state like Selangor. He atteneded a small school in that small town, met all sort of funny people in that particular place called "Sungai Pelek", somewhere near Sepang. (Somehow the river is connected to Sungai Sepang, which was full of shit before the JE incidence in Nipah, which is about half an hour away from Sepang.)
=P, I am crapping here.
I am a JPA scholar currently attending a school in Cambridge, Massachuseets, United States. Attended ADFP, I was (and still am)in ATU9, like Miss Shian Ling, my classmate in first semester.) My hobby includes sleeping, sleeping, and more sleeping:)
I was crazy about warcraft before I came to USA. During summer session in INTEC, UiTM, we played warcraft on average 5 hours a day, and spent too much money.
Now weather here is getting better. I really feel that it is Spring now. Don't need to wear too many layers when I go out.
I might be back to Malaysia this summer (around June till end of August). So if anybody will be there, we might be able to meet.
Ah..something to say about Shian Ling...
She was DAMNED^n (n-->inf) active, aggresive, progressive, ...+ive..(you name it) when she was my classmate. I believe she still is. She recommended me to join this (while I already was a member, just that I wasn't active). Sorry Shian Ling....Don't kill me....
I duno what else to share. How is my look? An ugly fella. SO girls, here you not go...
sanghanuman
03-03-2004, 08:55 AM
I have been here for quite a while but never really introduced myself:
My name is Syuhada Adnan. I am a rising senior at the UW-Madison in USA majoring in International Relations/Studies. I have loved politics (with caution) since I was first introduced to it through my course work (used to hate it) :wink:. I write, but I still have a lot to learn. Recom is by far one of the best channels that serves this purpose.
Education is one of my interests. I believe that it is the root of wisdom and wealth that is critical to the development of our nation.
And yeah, I think I speak French, and three Mandarin words:
Ni hao ma?
Salam perkenalan.
sanghanuman
03-03-2004, 08:55 AM
I have been here for quite a while but never really introduced myself:
My name is Syuhada Adnan. I am a rising senior at the UW-Madison in USA majoring in International Relations/Studies. I have loved politics (with caution) since I was first introduced to it through my course work (used to hate it) :wink:. I write, but I still have a lot to learn. Recom is by far one of the best channels that serves this purpose.
Education is one of my interests. I believe that it is the root of wisdom and wealth that is critical to the development of our nation.
Ni hao ma?
Salam perkenalan.
03-03-2004, 09:02 AM
Ni hao ma?
Salam perkenalan.
welcome :P *you have been here for a LONG time :)*
I speak Arab too.
Almari, Sultan 8)
Ner haba...
03-03-2004, 09:02 AM
Ni hao ma?
Salam perkenalan.
welcome :P *you have been here for a LONG time :)*
I speak Arab too.
Almari, Sultan 8)
Ner haba...
likim
04-03-2004, 06:41 AM
He atteneded a small school in that small town, met all sort of funny people in that particular place called "Sungai Pelek", somewhere near Sepang. (Somehow the river is connected to Sungai Sepang, which was full of $#!+ before the JE incidence in Nipah, which is about half an hour away from Sepang.)...
heh, sungai pelek! yeah, i've heard of it! nice, tiny, peaceful place, got a pal there, heh. Anyway, welcome to ReCom.
likim
04-03-2004, 06:41 AM
He atteneded a small school in that small town, met all sort of funny people in that particular place called "Sungai Pelek", somewhere near Sepang. (Somehow the river is connected to Sungai Sepang, which was full of $#!+ before the JE incidence in Nipah, which is about half an hour away from Sepang.)...
heh, sungai pelek! yeah, i've heard of it! nice, tiny, peaceful place, got a pal there, heh. Anyway, welcome to ReCom.
chenghau
04-03-2004, 07:54 AM
Wonder if I happen to know your pal?
chenghau
04-03-2004, 07:54 AM
Wonder if I happen to know your pal?
lonewolfhan
04-03-2004, 09:00 AM
Hi everyone. I'm Yon Han from Alor Star, Kedah, Ex-Keat Hwa student. I'm a ATU 10 student in INTEC.. Yeaahhh... hehe.. :D
I was born on 31st August 1985... Hehee.. Merdeka Baby oh.. :P
Im introduced to this page by my fren Wei Jie (Yeah.. its him again! A good promoter right? keke.. ). Very happy to join this community..
Well.. im going to study Civil Engineering in US. Ok Ok.. i know many will start saying "Oh gosh~ why Civil? SO stupid.. this field has no future and not competitve already..." Sigh~ i also dunno what to do now ah. this is the only field in engineering which i'm interested in. I like designing and constructing buildings.. Unfortunately i was too stupid for not taking ART during SPM.. thus could not apply Architecture for JPA.. :cry:
so now.. just study 1st and choose later la...
Errmm.. i have applied to 6 universities... but dun think will get any of the Ivy Leagues though... i'm too stupid ahh...
Hobby: Watching TV.. espcecially drama series... would rather starve to save money to buy VCD,.. hehee...
OK la.. nice to meet u all... c ya ! now at C++ Lab using the net... hehee... :)
lonewolfhan
04-03-2004, 09:00 AM
Hi everyone. I'm Yon Han from Alor Star, Kedah, Ex-Keat Hwa student. I'm a ATU 10 student in INTEC.. Yeaahhh... hehe.. :D
I was born on 31st August 1985... Hehee.. Merdeka Baby oh.. :P
Im introduced to this page by my fren Wei Jie (Yeah.. its him again! A good promoter right? keke.. ). Very happy to join this community..
Well.. im going to study Civil Engineering in US. Ok Ok.. i know many will start saying "Oh gosh~ why Civil? SO stupid.. this field has no future and not competitve already..." Sigh~ i also dunno what to do now ah. this is the only field in engineering which i'm interested in. I like designing and constructing buildings.. Unfortunately i was too stupid for not taking ART during SPM.. thus could not apply Architecture for JPA.. :cry:
so now.. just study 1st and choose later la...
Errmm.. i have applied to 6 universities... but dun think will get any of the Ivy Leagues though... i'm too stupid ahh...
Hobby: Watching TV.. espcecially drama series... would rather starve to save money to buy VCD,.. hehee...
OK la.. nice to meet u all... c ya ! now at C++ Lab using the net... hehee... :)
04-03-2004, 10:06 AM
Welcome Yon Han to ReCom~! Thanks Wei Jie for spreading the words around~! Hope that more words can be spreaded about ReCom~!
Civil is a pretty good course and as I guess I have repeated this for 30 times, what you major in does not really matter. You will take only a certain percentage say 20% to 40% of courses in your major and tertiary education is mainly about learning how to learn.
Again, welcome to ReCom~! Hope you will enjoy over here~! Please help to spread the words around!!!
04-03-2004, 10:06 AM
Welcome Yon Han to ReCom~! Thanks Wei Jie for spreading the words around~! Hope that more words can be spreaded about ReCom~!
Civil is a pretty good course and as I guess I have repeated this for 30 times, what you major in does not really matter. You will take only a certain percentage say 20% to 40% of courses in your major and tertiary education is mainly about learning how to learn.
Again, welcome to ReCom~! Hope you will enjoy over here~! Please help to spread the words around!!!
04-03-2004, 05:31 PM
i agree with checnshow. most of us, might not end up working in the intended fields. Point is, just get an education. then grad with the highest grades ever..after that, br kerja! doesn't matter what we end up as, as long as it's an honest job. :wink:
my dad wanted to be an engineer, but ended up as a lecturer instead. but he's okay with dat..sometimes, life's all bout exploring n adjusting :D
04-03-2004, 05:31 PM
i agree with checnshow. most of us, might not end up working in the intended fields. Point is, just get an education. then grad with the highest grades ever..after that, br kerja! doesn't matter what we end up as, as long as it's an honest job. :wink:
my dad wanted to be an engineer, but ended up as a lecturer instead. but he's okay with dat..sometimes, life's all bout exploring n adjusting :D
04-03-2004, 08:34 PM
Hope that more ReCom members can come in here and introduce themselves.!
04-03-2004, 08:34 PM
Hope that more ReCom members can come in here and introduce themselves.!
05-03-2004, 01:46 PM
maybe during the registration process, create a page/link/whatever to the introduce ourselves forum, so that'll be their first entry. boleh kaa?
05-03-2004, 01:46 PM
maybe during the registration process, create a page/link/whatever to the introduce ourselves forum, so that'll be their first entry. boleh kaa?
mercsinc
06-03-2004, 04:07 AM
so true...
mercsinc
06-03-2004, 04:07 AM
so true...
SpRInG
06-03-2004, 02:26 PM
Hi everyone...
I'm Billy from ATU 10, INTEC, going to major in Computer Engineering....
I was being introduced to this page by Yong Han....
So erm... basically, this is the first time i post something here, and dont' know whether this is appropriate or not...
so nice to meet all of you...
:D 8O :D :D
SpRInG
06-03-2004, 02:26 PM
Hi everyone...
I'm Billy from ATU 10, INTEC, going to major in Computer Engineering....
I was being introduced to this page by Yong Han....
So erm... basically, this is the first time i post something here, and dont' know whether this is appropriate or not...
so nice to meet all of you...
:D 8O :D :D
06-03-2004, 04:04 PM
welcome to the Big ReCom family!,
glad to hear that you're gonna study computer eng.
You'll find Recom would be very useful, since a lot of us here are the computer guys.
Yep, explore ReCom. and we want to hear more from you.
06-03-2004, 04:04 PM
welcome to the Big ReCom family!,
glad to hear that you're gonna study computer eng.
You'll find Recom would be very useful, since a lot of us here are the computer guys.
Yep, explore ReCom. and we want to hear more from you.
06-03-2004, 10:18 PM
Welcome Billy to join our ReCom family~! Hope to see more coming in and also introduce themselves~!
06-03-2004, 10:18 PM
Welcome Billy to join our ReCom family~! Hope to see more coming in and also introduce themselves~!
gesar
11-03-2004, 09:52 AM
hello there, well...this is my first time posting messages here...well, I am using the INTEC library comp to reply to this msg...hehe :oops: well, no one is around so I better utilize it...hehe
OKIe, my name is Jenny...from ATU 10...well, I know that there are many ATU 10's out there who had just became the member of the group and yes, they have told me about the good use of RECOM....hooray, RECOM!! Congrats!! :D :lol:
[color=white]I am majoring in Biotechnology...Forensic Scientists rule!! Yeah... :D
well, I have applied to California, New York and Pennsylvania...any seniors out there who are currently studying there....pls...pls help me...can pls tell me about the condition over there??? :roll: Thanks
I am from PEnang...the heaven for food...hehe..sorry...i'm too into the food thingy back home when you wanna compare it with Shah Alam's... :( sigh...well, this is my first time here...so not sure wat to talk about... :oops:
erm, gtg...hope to hear from you all soon and good luck and take care to all seniors!!
:D :wink: :lol:
gesar
11-03-2004, 09:52 AM
hello there, well...this is my first time posting messages here...well, I am using the INTEC library comp to reply to this msg...hehe :oops: well, no one is around so I better utilize it...hehe
OKIe, my name is Jenny...from ATU 10...well, I know that there are many ATU 10's out there who had just became the member of the group and yes, they have told me about the good use of RECOM....hooray, RECOM!! Congrats!! :D :lol:
[color=white]I am majoring in Biotechnology...Forensic Scientists rule!! Yeah... :D
well, I have applied to California, New York and Pennsylvania...any seniors out there who are currently studying there....pls...pls help me...can pls tell me about the condition over there??? :roll: Thanks
I am from PEnang...the heaven for food...hehe..sorry...i'm too into the food thingy back home when you wanna compare it with Shah Alam's... :( sigh...well, this is my first time here...so not sure wat to talk about... :oops:
erm, gtg...hope to hear from you all soon and good luck and take care to all seniors!!
:D :wink: :lol:
sim_min
11-03-2004, 03:31 PM
ho ho ho!!
me too me too!! i am from Penang!! ho ho ho~
sim_min
11-03-2004, 03:31 PM
ho ho ho!!
me too me too!! i am from Penang!! ho ho ho~
Panda
11-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Hello to everyone.
Being a new member, i am going to intoduce myself.
I am Khoo Yong Sheng from Sungai Petani Kedah. Has anyone heard of the place? It is a very good place to live in. My former school was Sin Min Secondary school, next to Ibrahim School where Jin hock come from. My hobby is to play badminton and to do C++. If i have question on the subject, I will post and ask. Hope that people will help me! :)
That all I think for today. And I foind this website very good. Congratulation to whoever create this organization. Well done. You all have done a very good job. This website is very helpful to me and everyone indeed. Bye!!! :lol:
Panda
11-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Hello to everyone.
Being a new member, i am going to intoduce myself.
I am Khoo Yong Sheng from Sungai Petani Kedah. Has anyone heard of the place? It is a very good place to live in. My former school was Sin Min Secondary school, next to Ibrahim School where Jin hock come from. My hobby is to play badminton and to do C++. If i have question on the subject, I will post and ask. Hope that people will help me! :)
That all I think for today. And I foind this website very good. Congratulation to whoever create this organization. Well done. You all have done a very good job. This website is very helpful to me and everyone indeed. Bye!!! :lol:
11-03-2004, 09:34 PM
Welcome Jenny and Yong Sheng to ReCom~!
Jenny, you were in which school in Penang? Which uni in Cali, NY or Penn that you are applying? All those 3 states are wonderful places... I have been to all 3, especially with living in New York for the past 3 years...
Hope that Jenny, Yong Sheng and others will participate actively in ReCom~!
Welcome again to join ReCom family~!
11-03-2004, 09:34 PM
Welcome Jenny and Yong Sheng to ReCom~!
Jenny, you were in which school in Penang? Which uni in Cali, NY or Penn that you are applying? All those 3 states are wonderful places... I have been to all 3, especially with living in New York for the past 3 years...
Hope that Jenny, Yong Sheng and others will participate actively in ReCom~!
Welcome again to join ReCom family~!
12-03-2004, 11:03 AM
[quote="gesar"]
well, I heard that the weather in California is very nice...and I would like to ask those studying in UC Davis, how's the uni?Is it good for research?
[/gesar]
Yes!. exactly. I don't want to exaggerate, but weather here is nice, especially in spring. Not too hot, not too cold. It's just right.
About research at UC Irvine, it all depends on what field are you interested in . Some schools are good at something over the other.
If you want to make a movie, you don't want to go to Harvard.
You go to LA.
It all depends.
I heard that UC Irvine was formerly an argicultural school (like UPM),
but it certainly has evolved.
u may check out http://www.uci.edu for details.
BTW Jenny, welcome to Recom Family
12-03-2004, 11:03 AM
[quote="gesar"]
well, I heard that the weather in California is very nice...and I would like to ask those studying in UC Davis, how's the uni?Is it good for research?
[/gesar]
Yes!. exactly. I don't want to exaggerate, but weather here is nice, especially in spring. Not too hot, not too cold. It's just right.
About research at UC Irvine, it all depends on what field are you interested in . Some schools are good at something over the other.
If you want to make a movie, you don't want to go to Harvard.
You go to LA.
It all depends.
I heard that UC Irvine was formerly an argicultural school (like UPM),
but it certainly has evolved.
u may check out http://www.uci.edu for details.
BTW Jenny, welcome to Recom Family
gesar
12-03-2004, 09:37 PM
hello again....hi Shamsul...its okie...no worries... :D thanks for the information but is UC Irvine the same as UC Davis?
well, I hope I can get into UC Davis, the result will be out on March 15 and then more messages will be posted here to ask the seniors...hehe...hope you all dun mind... :oops:
Thanx again!!
gesar
12-03-2004, 09:37 PM
hello again....hi Shamsul...its okie...no worries... :D thanks for the information but is UC Irvine the same as UC Davis?
well, I hope I can get into UC Davis, the result will be out on March 15 and then more messages will be posted here to ask the seniors...hehe...hope you all dun mind... :oops:
Thanx again!!
-munhua-
12-03-2004, 10:07 PM
hi all...mun hua here. I'm from the peaceful and serene Taiping town in Perak and currently living in Akasia (ATU 10). :) I got to know about this site thru Jenny (gesar). Actually, i was peeping over her shoulder in the library. :lol: hehe! But thanks to her I got to know this great site.
My secondary school is Treacher Methodist Girls' School (TMGS) and I went to Form Six a while before coming to INTEC. Wanna say something about INTEC, although the facilities and conditions are not that good :wink: , life is really great because of all the friends here. All a bit crazy...that's what makes life so enjoyable! 8) Jus wanna take this opportunity to say 'thanks peeps!'
Hmm...let me see, i love listening to music and jus relaxing with a good novel. :oops: But nowadays not much opportunity to do so. Too many assignments... :(
Like Jenny, I'm majoring in Biotechnology, also hoping to go into Forensics. I'm applying to University of California Davis, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Pennsylvania State University. Any seniors in these three universities? I would really like to get to know everyone better... :P
I guess that's all for now. Signing off....Long live RECOM! :D
-munhua-
12-03-2004, 10:07 PM
hi all...mun hua here. I'm from the peaceful and serene Taiping town in Perak and currently living in Akasia (ATU 10). :) I got to know about this site thru Jenny (gesar). Actually, i was peeping over her shoulder in the library. :lol: hehe! But thanks to her I got to know this great site.
My secondary school is Treacher Methodist Girls' School (TMGS) and I went to Form Six a while before coming to INTEC. Wanna say something about INTEC, although the facilities and conditions are not that good :wink: , life is really great because of all the friends here. All a bit crazy...that's what makes life so enjoyable! 8) Jus wanna take this opportunity to say 'thanks peeps!'
Hmm...let me see, i love listening to music and jus relaxing with a good novel. :oops: But nowadays not much opportunity to do so. Too many assignments... :(
Like Jenny, I'm majoring in Biotechnology, also hoping to go into Forensics. I'm applying to University of California Davis, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Pennsylvania State University. Any seniors in these three universities? I would really like to get to know everyone better... :P
I guess that's all for now. Signing off....Long live RECOM! :D
12-03-2004, 10:36 PM
hi! my name is shin yi...but my frens(n the lecturers) know me as laura only...i'm in ATU10 now..like all my frens here...
i joined quite long ago...thanks to chen chow n kern they all who came back to INTEC to talk to us abt studying in US..but never posted anything...
so here goes my intro:
i'm from kuching..smk batu lintang..a school tad most ppl don even know existed...though it's quite famous in science competitions like sony science award n intel...
i do not haf any seniors from my school under jpa...
for quite a number of years my school no straight A1s coz of moral...
i lived my whole life in kuching...
till i went to singapore under asean scholarship...
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
then...i left for JPA scholarship...
miss the place a lot...
i applied to mich state uni, brandeis uni, u of chicago, upenn n yale...results will be out soon..scary...i'm majoring in biochem...
any seniors out there doing the same major?
i think i said a lot d...
hi again!
12-03-2004, 10:36 PM
hi! my name is shin yi...but my frens(n the lecturers) know me as laura only...i'm in ATU10 now..like all my frens here...
i joined quite long ago...thanks to chen chow n kern they all who came back to INTEC to talk to us abt studying in US..but never posted anything...
so here goes my intro:
i'm from kuching..smk batu lintang..a school tad most ppl don even know existed...though it's quite famous in science competitions like sony science award n intel...
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
miss the place a lot...
i applied to mich state uni, brandeis uni, u of chicago, upenn n yale...results will be out soon..scary...i'm majoring in biochem...
hi again!
13-03-2004, 02:36 AM
hey y'all!
welcome to recom. hope you'll find this site a real big help.
-munhua-, i know your school! a friend of mine went there. i went to MRSM Taiping, that's like real near Bukit Larut.
Man i miss that small town a lot. wonder if they still got monkeys there..hehehe
Anyway, enjoy ReCom ya? :wink:
13-03-2004, 02:36 AM
hey y'all!
welcome to recom. hope you'll find this site a real big help.
-munhua-, i know your school! a friend of mine went there. i went to MRSM Taiping, that's like real near Bukit Larut.
Man i miss that small town a lot. wonder if they still got monkeys there..hehehe
Anyway, enjoy ReCom ya? :wink:
13-03-2004, 03:00 AM
Welcome to ReCom~!
Lets keep the uni discussion on the Preparation to US forum thread ok? I will post my replies on those stuff posted here there...
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=519#9186
Welcome Mun Hua and Shin Yi to ReCom family~! Hope that you will find this network useful. Shin Yi, there are a number of ASEAN scholars out there..
Welcome, feel free to flood us questions at the thread "Preparation to US" for your questions on those universities, ok?
So, this thread will be for people introduce themselves~!
Welcome to ReCom family~!
13-03-2004, 03:00 AM
Welcome to ReCom~!
Lets keep the uni discussion on the Preparation to US forum thread ok? I will post my replies on those stuff posted here there...
Welcome Mun Hua and Shin Yi to ReCom family~! Hope that you will find this network useful. Shin Yi, there are a number of ASEAN scholars out there..
Welcome, feel free to flood us questions at the thread "Preparation to US" for your questions on those universities, ok?
So, this thread will be for people introduce themselves~!
Welcome to ReCom family~!
windy_city
13-03-2004, 04:35 AM
so here goes my intro:
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
miss the place a lot...
hi again!
Hi Laura, i think you will find it useful to talk to one of your senior in ATU9 who is studying in U of Chicago majoring in BioChem. His name is Ling Leong Seng, you can find his contact info in the University of Chicago directory, hope that help!! :D
windy_city
13-03-2004, 04:35 AM
so here goes my intro:
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
miss the place a lot...
hi again!
Hi Laura, i think you will find it useful to talk to one of your senior in ATU9 who is studying in U of Chicago majoring in BioChem. His name is Ling Leong Seng, you can find his contact info in the University of Chicago directory, hope that help!! :D
chenghau
13-03-2004, 05:47 AM
so here goes my intro:
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
miss the place a lot...
hi again!
I thought he was Ling (last name) Leong Sing (first name)?
chenghau
13-03-2004, 05:47 AM
so here goes my intro:
i was in NJC..
anyone from there?
miss the place a lot...
hi again!
I thought he was Ling (last name) Leong Sing (first name)?
aquila
14-03-2004, 02:34 PM
[quote="gesar"]hello there, well...this is my first time posting messages here...well, I am using the INTEC library comp to reply to this msg...hehe :oops: well, no one is around so I better utilize it...hehe
talking about the library, i once got kicked out for playing free cell.. what logic is that? i was waiting for the painfully slow internet.. so i thought i might as well play free cell to pass time... oh well... the idosyncracies of the bald guy... n what is the deal about having to obey the dress code in the library to the extent that they stationed the mak guard there? is she still guarding the library?
oh welll.... remembering the good 'ol days when i broke uitm rules... haha... sorry this thread is completely irrelevant...
i'm from atu9 BTW
aquila
14-03-2004, 02:34 PM
[quote="gesar"]hello there, well...this is my first time posting messages here...well, I am using the INTEC library comp to reply to this msg...hehe :oops: well, no one is around so I better utilize it...hehe
talking about the library, i once got kicked out for playing free cell.. what logic is that? i was waiting for the painfully slow internet.. so i thought i might as well play free cell to pass time... oh well... the idosyncracies of the bald guy... n what is the deal about having to obey the dress code in the library to the extent that they stationed the mak guard there? is she still guarding the library?
oh welll.... remembering the good 'ol days when i broke uitm rules... haha... sorry this thread is completely irrelevant...
i'm from atu9 BTW
14-03-2004, 03:31 PM
Hello,
I am Jack Liew from Tg.Malim, Perak. Below are brief intro about me:
Personal
DOB: 18 Feb 1981
Hometown: Tanjong Malim, Perak
Current residing location: Skudai, Johor
email: yekban81@<hidden>
Education
SRK Methodist, Tg.Malim 1988-1993
SMK Methodist, Tg.Malim 1994-1998
Bachelor Degree in Mech. Engineering, University of Technology Malaysia, Skudai 1999-2003
Master Degree candidate, University of Technology Malaysia, Skudai, 2004-present
Interest
jogging, reading, surfing net, playing & listening music, Mariah Carey fans,keyboard, harmonica, chinese war history, world war history, physic, microbiology, national geographic discovery, hiking, canoeing, online chatting....
Nice to meet you all :D
I enjoy this site very much...well done to the initiator and all supporter of this informative website.
Feel free to contact me :wink: "I am convinced that ATTITUDE is the key to success in almost any of life's endeavors. " ~Carolyn Warner
P/S: what is ATU? ATU9? ATU10?
14-03-2004, 03:31 PM
Hello,
I am Jack Liew from Tg.Malim, Perak. Below are brief intro about me:
Personal
DOB: 18 Feb 1981
Hometown: Tanjong Malim, Perak
Current residing location: Skudai, Johor
email: yekban81@<hidden>
Education
SRK Methodist, Tg.Malim 1988-1993
SMK Methodist, Tg.Malim 1994-1998
Bachelor Degree in Mech. Engineering, University of Technology Malaysia, Skudai 1999-2003
Master Degree candidate, University of Technology Malaysia, Skudai, 2004-present
Interest
jogging, reading, surfing net, playing & listening music, Mariah Carey fans,keyboard, harmonica, chinese war history, world war history, physic, microbiology, national geographic discovery, hiking, canoeing, online chatting....
Nice to meet you all :D
I enjoy this site very much...well done to the initiator and all supporter of this informative website.
Feel free to contact me :wink: "I am convinced that ATTITUDE is the key to success in almost any of life's endeavors. " ~Carolyn Warner
P/S: what is ATU? ATU9? ATU10?
sze_xian
14-03-2004, 09:26 PM
hey everyone.....i'm sze xian......from Penang.....i actually joined recom a while back but this is like only the second time I'm logging in.... my frens were the ones who kept telling me to log on more often........haha.. so here I am.......anyway, I am from penang but not from the island... studied in SMK Convent BM.....now I'm at the end of my 2nd sem in INTEC UITM under the ADFP program.......I'm planning to major in biochemistry.... now i wonder if that is a wrong choice but nvm...heard dat we can appeal to change major.....hopefully:)).........I applied to michigan ann arbor....brandeis university, UIUC...penn state.. din apply to the ivy leagues.... btw are there any biochem students in UMICH or UIUC???think this is bout all for now...........til later....
sze_xian
14-03-2004, 09:26 PM
hey everyone.....i'm sze xian......from Penang.....i actually joined recom a while back but this is like only the second time I'm logging in.... my frens were the ones who kept telling me to log on more often........haha.. so here I am.......anyway, I am from penang but not from the island... studied in SMK Convent BM.....now I'm at the end of my 2nd sem in INTEC UITM under the ADFP program.......I'm planning to major in biochemistry.... now i wonder if that is a wrong choice but nvm...heard dat we can appeal to change major.....hopefully:)).........I applied to michigan ann arbor....brandeis university, UIUC...penn state.. din apply to the ivy leagues.... btw are there any biochem students in UMICH or UIUC???think this is bout all for now...........til later....
14-03-2004, 09:57 PM
yekban81 and sze_xian, welcome to ReCom family,
hope you guys can log in here more often when you have free time
and also give us suggestions on how to improve this site .
..I'm planning to major in biochemistry.... now i wonder if that is a wrong choice but nvm...heard dat we can appeal to change major.....hopefully:))....
Just a friendly reminder,
Although it's possible to change your major here in the US,but due to the nature of JPA scholarship, I strongly suggest that you change your major before you come here and let JPA know beforehand.
It's easier for you, and for JPA. Otherwise, (in the worst case), JPA won't let you switch, and you'll regret of you being here, although you enjoy the school's environment very much. (for example, if you live in California in the Spring, and you're having Spring Break).
Remember, JPA can change anything they want. And they don't really like you switching around majors...
anyway, if you need any info about any major, just ask us Recommmers!.
14-03-2004, 09:57 PM
yekban81 and sze_xian, welcome to ReCom family,
hope you guys can log in here more often when you have free time
and also give us suggestions on how to improve this site .
..I'm planning to major in biochemistry.... now i wonder if that is a wrong choice but nvm...heard dat we can appeal to change major.....hopefully:))....
Just a friendly reminder,
Although it's possible to change your major here in the US,but due to the nature of JPA scholarship, I strongly suggest that you change your major before you come here and let JPA know beforehand.
It's easier for you, and for JPA. Otherwise, (in the worst case), JPA won't let you switch, and you'll regret of you being here, although you enjoy the school's environment very much. (for example, if you live in California in the Spring, and you're having Spring Break).
Remember, JPA can change anything they want. And they don't really like you switching around majors...
anyway, if you need any info about any major, just ask us Recommmers!.
14-03-2004, 11:33 PM
Welcome yekban81 and sze_xian81 to ReCom family~!
Jack Liew, nice to see you joining and hopefully you can help us spread the words around your friends in UTM and also your other friends about ReCom~!
You can look at our Special Interest Groups (SIG) to see whether any of those SIG interests you, since you are interested in many stuff...Good~!
Hope that you will help us make this site better~! This network is as good as the summation of all its members...!!!
ATU is a program called American Top University, which is initiated by our government as the name for its scholars studying in universities in US.
Sze Xian, welcome to ReCom~! Another Bukit Mertajam people... I am just Jit Sin, just a short distance away from Convent BM.... Log in more often and get more people to log in.
On any quesetion on US universities, etc, please post it at this thread to keep this thread solely for introduction.
14-03-2004, 11:33 PM
Welcome yekban81 and sze_xian81 to ReCom family~!
Jack Liew, nice to see you joining and hopefully you can help us spread the words around your friends in UTM and also your other friends about ReCom~!
You can look at our Special Interest Groups (SIG) to see whether any of those SIG interests you, since you are interested in many stuff...Good~!
Hope that you will help us make this site better~! This network is as good as the summation of all its members...!!!
ATU is a program called American Top University, which is initiated by our government as the name for its scholars studying in universities in US.
Sze Xian, welcome to ReCom~! Another Bukit Mertajam people... I am just Jit Sin, just a short distance away from Convent BM.... Log in more often and get more people to log in.
On any quesetion on US universities, etc, please post it at this thread to keep this thread solely for introduction.
Hello all!!
I'm a newbie at recom and am really happy to know this helpful side! Lots of thanks to sim_min for introducing this nice website to me. :)
First of all, I want to apologize for my broken english. From my words, I think the smart ones of you sure can know that my english is really poor.... sorry again!
Okay, here's more about me.....
I'm a gal from Sarawak, just finished my spm at 2003. Now I'm thinking hard about going whr to further my study.
I hope to study psychology and now is searching info bout this course. I have applied d jpa scolarship but i think d chance 4 me to get it is really thin coz i'm really bad in english speaking. :oops: :cry: And can anyone tell me is there any courses related to psychology under jpa?
Besides, I hope to go sg to further my study..... know y? coz i hope to improve my eng :P
Ok, i think better i stop here to avoid using more broken eng :P
Hello all!!
I'm a newbie at recom and am really happy to know this helpful side! Lots of thanks to sim_min for introducing this nice website to me. :)
First of all, I want to apologize for my broken english. From my words, I think the smart ones of you sure can know that my english is really poor.... sorry again!
Okay, here's more about me.....
I'm a gal from Sarawak, just finished my spm at 2003. Now I'm thinking hard about going whr to further my study.
I hope to study psychology and now is searching info bout this course. I have applied d jpa scolarship but i think d chance 4 me to get it is really thin coz i'm really bad in english speaking. :oops: :cry: And can anyone tell me is there any courses related to psychology under jpa?
Besides, I hope to go sg to further my study..... know y? coz i hope to improve my eng :P
Ok, i think better i stop here to avoid using more broken eng :P
15-03-2004, 01:58 AM
Hi Welcome Mish to ReCom~! Nice to know that you are coming from Sarawak~! Invite your friends from Bumi Kenyalang to join!
Feel free to use our forum thread on Scholarship to post any question on scholarship there, ok? This is to condense things and also in order for others to look for answer easier there.
In fact, Mish, take the opportunity in ReCom to help improve English~! It is a wonderful experience here, where you can write a lot, and by writing more we get to improve our english. Also there are a lot of news articles to read, a lot of other people's post to read, so that's the opportunity to read as well. And we have a thread Common Errors In English for you to post questions about anything you are unsure of about English.
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=149
Hope that you and others, would not feel shy in ReCom~! Try your best to post and we will all learn together~! It is a learning environment~!
On question about scholarship it will be answered in
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=9187#9187
Hope that more people will come in here and introduce themselves~!
15-03-2004, 01:58 AM
Hi Welcome Mish to ReCom~! Nice to know that you are coming from Sarawak~! Invite your friends from Bumi Kenyalang to join!
Feel free to use our forum thread on Scholarship to post any question on scholarship there, ok? This is to condense things and also in order for others to look for answer easier there.
In fact, Mish, take the opportunity in ReCom to help improve English~! It is a wonderful experience here, where you can write a lot, and by writing more we get to improve our english. Also there are a lot of news articles to read, a lot of other people's post to read, so that's the opportunity to read as well. And we have a thread Common Errors In English for you to post questions about anything you are unsure of about English.
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=149
Hope that you and others, would not feel shy in ReCom~! Try your best to post and we will all learn together~! It is a learning environment~!
On question about scholarship it will be answered in
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=9187#9187
Hope that more people will come in here and introduce themselves~!
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 03:00 PM
Hi there,
My name is Ting Ann...actually i registered for recom.org earlier but i didnt have time to check out the website. I'm from Sarawak and studying in INTEC now...so far wisconsin and university of iowa has accepted me...still waiting for others though. I heard there's a senior from sibu studying in wisconsin...that's all for now...ciaoo!!
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 03:00 PM
Hi there,
My name is Ting Ann...actually i registered for recom.org earlier but i didnt have time to check out the website. I'm from Sarawak and studying in INTEC now...so far wisconsin and university of iowa has accepted me...still waiting for others though. I heard there's a senior from sibu studying in wisconsin...that's all for now...ciaoo!!
chenghau
16-03-2004, 03:55 PM
Helo Ting Ann, your name sounded very familiar at first, and now I remember you. We met during orientation, didn't we?
Welcome to ReComs....
A senior in Wisconsin from Sibu ah.Not sure about that, maybe wisc students could tell more about. Anyway, I know one ATU9 from Miri in wisc now.
Hehe, well even if he is not from Sibu, I think he still can be helpful right?
chenghau
16-03-2004, 03:55 PM
Helo Ting Ann, your name sounded very familiar at first, and now I remember you. We met during orientation, didn't we?
Welcome to ReComs....
A senior in Wisconsin from Sibu ah.Not sure about that, maybe wisc students could tell more about. Anyway, I know one ATU9 from Miri in wisc now.
Hehe, well even if he is not from Sibu, I think he still can be helpful right?
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 04:09 PM
Yes i think i remember you too! Um...it was either during orientation or when max or liong sing introduced u to me :) u were the one who's at MIT now, werent u?...or sth like that...not that sure....Anyway, yeah it doesnt matter where the senior's from as long as we can meet and chat up while im in wisconsin (if im going there hehe..) Can u gimme his e-mail add so i can ask him bout life in wisconsin? THanks.... :lol:
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 04:09 PM
Yes i think i remember you too! Um...it was either during orientation or when max or liong sing introduced u to me :) u were the one who's at MIT now, werent u?...or sth like that...not that sure....Anyway, yeah it doesnt matter where the senior's from as long as we can meet and chat up while im in wisconsin (if im going there hehe..) Can u gimme his e-mail add so i can ask him bout life in wisconsin? THanks.... :lol:
16-03-2004, 10:00 PM
Welcome Ting Ann to ReCom~!
Cheng Hau, you can help to ask the ATU 9 students to join ReCom and information could be shared here for everyone's benefits.
Ting Ann, if you really want to see the contacts of seniors, go to ReCom Misc (Top right hand corner) >> Web Links >> M'sian Students Assoc >> US >> Wisconsin (or any other uni that you desire) and you will find the contact lists of Malaysians there~!
16-03-2004, 10:00 PM
Welcome Ting Ann to ReCom~!
Cheng Hau, you can help to ask the ATU 9 students to join ReCom and information could be shared here for everyone's benefits.
Ting Ann, if you really want to see the contacts of seniors, go to ReCom Misc (Top right hand corner) >> Web Links >> M'sian Students Assoc >> US >> Wisconsin (or any other uni that you desire) and you will find the contact lists of Malaysians there~!
windy_city
16-03-2004, 11:07 PM
Hi Ting Ann,
I think I still remember you. But dunno whether u still remember me or not. I am one of the few seniors who always fooled around with your guys last year. I helped out during orientation. Remember me??
Anyway, the Sibu senior that is that studying in Wiscosnin is Ling Siong.
HIs email, just go to the wisconsin university website and get his email.
I will tell him that you need his help, he is coming to my place today anyway, U Wis. people are on Spring break now.
Gesar, the same go to you as well, go UC Davis and get Sin Yuin email, she is your ATU9 senior, and i think she will be more than happy to help you out.
About travelling, depend on how loaded you are, you can chooose to travel in anyway you can. Yeah there is a lot of places to visit in US, i went to Times Square to celebrate New Year this year, it is fun to travel around.
And Earthquake???Dun worry about that, you will experience more chilly, unbearable weather more that you will encounter earthquake.
For those who think you will miss Malaysain food in US, dun worry, dun need to bring laksa paste or prawn mee paste here, bring a lot a lot of money and u will get all the malaysian you like here. There is Penang restaurants everywhere here(or almost everywhere), if you are luckly enough(or unluckly in my case) to get admited to university that is situated in New York (New York City i mean), Chicago, Boston, Penn., North Cal.,and San Frans & L.A. you can get all the Malasysian food you want. Why I consider myself unluckly, cause I almost went broke last winter break by going to Penang almost everyday. (for people that will be studying in Boston, especially Harvard, you can get Malaysian food by just walking a few blok, the Penang restaurant is just around the corner)
I better get going, I have a final soon, with that, I wish you guy the best of luck, I know ithis is a very tough few weeks, since all your top choice university admission will be out in this few weeks time, especially all the ivy and ivy standard school, where they will anounce the result on April Fool's day itself. Good luck!!
windy_city
16-03-2004, 11:07 PM
Hi Ting Ann,
I think I still remember you. But dunno whether u still remember me or not. I am one of the few seniors who always fooled around with your guys last year. I helped out during orientation. Remember me??
Anyway, the Sibu senior that is that studying in Wiscosnin is Ling Siong.
HIs email, just go to the wisconsin university website and get his email.
I will tell him that you need his help, he is coming to my place today anyway, U Wis. people are on Spring break now.
Gesar, the same go to you as well, go UC Davis and get Sin Yuin email, she is your ATU9 senior, and i think she will be more than happy to help you out.
About travelling, depend on how loaded you are, you can chooose to travel in anyway you can. Yeah there is a lot of places to visit in US, i went to Times Square to celebrate New Year this year, it is fun to travel around.
And Earthquake???Dun worry about that, you will experience more chilly, unbearable weather more that you will encounter earthquake.
For those who think you will miss Malaysain food in US, dun worry, dun need to bring laksa paste or prawn mee paste here, bring a lot a lot of money and u will get all the malaysian you like here. There is Penang restaurants everywhere here(or almost everywhere), if you are luckly enough(or unluckly in my case) to get admited to university that is situated in New York (New York City i mean), Chicago, Boston, Penn., North Cal.,and San Frans & L.A. you can get all the Malasysian food you want. Why I consider myself unluckly, cause I almost went broke last winter break by going to Penang almost everyday. (for people that will be studying in Boston, especially Harvard, you can get Malaysian food by just walking a few blok, the Penang restaurant is just around the corner)
I better get going, I have a final soon, with that, I wish you guy the best of luck, I know ithis is a very tough few weeks, since all your top choice university admission will be out in this few weeks time, especially all the ivy and ivy standard school, where they will anounce the result on April Fool's day itself. Good luck!!
17-03-2004, 12:26 AM
.....accidentally entered recom the website has really suprise me!!!
i'm first fascinated by the forum regarding scholarships , then it was the overall workout and replies. i am 1 of the graduates of spm 2003. now wandering about and doing nothing and jobless. regarding about the jpa scolarship i myself have already sent in my application form and i have choosen engineering in australia. is that weird to choose the course in australia cause many replies stated that us and uk are the best place to go for especially in engineering??? n ........any tips about the interview later on??? i know many have asked this question before ... but i just hope to get a proper answer even tough the truth is that i'm lazy to search for it. :D
17-03-2004, 12:26 AM
.....accidentally entered recom the website has really suprise me!!!
i'm first fascinated by the forum regarding scholarships , then it was the overall workout and replies. i am 1 of the graduates of spm 2003. now wandering about and doing nothing and jobless. regarding about the jpa scolarship i myself have already sent in my application form and i have choosen engineering in australia. is that weird to choose the course in australia cause many replies stated that us and uk are the best place to go for especially in engineering??? n ........any tips about the interview later on??? i know many have asked this question before ... but i just hope to get a proper answer even tough the truth is that i'm lazy to search for it. :D
glasscity
17-03-2004, 02:20 AM
hi, this is glasscity. i'm new here.
born & raised in KL, currently doing my u/graduate studies in Peking University, Beijing P.R. CHINA, major in journalism & international relations.
here in beijing, some 130 malaysian students formed a Union of Malaysian Students in Beijing (http://www.umsib.org). we have makan-makan get-together and other activities going on. this year is the malaysia-china friendship year, celebrating 30th anniversary of diplomatic ties between both countries. we're gonna hv lots of activities to commemorate this very meaningful anniv..
it's nice to meet you all here :)
glasscity
17-03-2004, 02:20 AM
hi, this is glasscity. i'm new here.
born & raised in KL, currently doing my u/graduate studies in Peking University, Beijing P.R. CHINA, major in journalism & international relations.
here in beijing, some 130 malaysian students formed a Union of Malaysian Students in Beijing (http://www.umsib.org). we have makan-makan get-together and other activities going on. this year is the malaysia-china friendship year, celebrating 30th anniversary of diplomatic ties between both countries. we're gonna hv lots of activities to commemorate this very meaningful anniv..
it's nice to meet you all here :)
17-03-2004, 07:24 AM
hi Glasscity, welcome to Recom!,
wow, I don't know that there are quite a number of Malaysian Students there in Beijing.
Hope you can share your experience studying in Beijing here at Recom. (like the people, the system, etc).
Hope to hear more people from PRC here at Recom. ;-)
once again, welcome to Recom Family.
17-03-2004, 07:24 AM
hi Glasscity, welcome to Recom!,
wow, I don't know that there are quite a number of Malaysian Students there in Beijing.
Hope you can share your experience studying in Beijing here at Recom. (like the people, the system, etc).
Hope to hear more people from PRC here at Recom. ;-)
once again, welcome to Recom Family.
17-03-2004, 09:29 AM
naturesimple and glasscity, welcome to join ReCom~!
naturesimple, hope that you can help ReCom make it better. Share with us your opinions and everything in ReCom is done by its members, so basically it is just all of us~!
Good Luck on your scholarship applications. Please check the thread on Scholarships about the questions you ask.
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=256#9380
Glasscity, nice~! Greetings from ReCom to all Malaysians in Beijing especially and also other Malaysians in China. Invite your friends into ReCom~! Read from your blogs that you are going to Harvard for some programs, if I am not wrong?
Yeah, another things, the website for Union of Malaysian Students in Beijing is already in ReCom weblinks. Thanks~! Go to Misc (top right corner) >> Weblinks >> M'sian Students Assoc >> China.
Welcome again everyone to ReCom family~!
17-03-2004, 09:29 AM
naturesimple and glasscity, welcome to join ReCom~!
naturesimple, hope that you can help ReCom make it better. Share with us your opinions and everything in ReCom is done by its members, so basically it is just all of us~!
Good Luck on your scholarship applications. Please check the thread on Scholarships about the questions you ask.
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=256#9380
Glasscity, nice~! Greetings from ReCom to all Malaysians in Beijing especially and also other Malaysians in China. Invite your friends into ReCom~! Read from your blogs that you are going to Harvard for some programs, if I am not wrong?
Yeah, another things, the website for Union of Malaysian Students in Beijing is already in ReCom weblinks. Thanks~! Go to Misc (top right corner) >> Weblinks >> M'sian Students Assoc >> China.
Welcome again everyone to ReCom family~!
Sylvia
17-03-2004, 12:32 PM
Hi all... :wink: Sylvia here.
I came across this site accidentally so i decided to join .
Nice site.
Well...I come from Miri,study in SMK chung Hua Miri.
Currently waiting for the JPA scholarship and I applied for dentistry.Maybe next time I can answer some questions bout teeth :P
Wish me luck and hi again.
Sylvia
17-03-2004, 12:32 PM
Hi all... :wink: Sylvia here.
I came across this site accidentally so i decided to join .
Nice site.
Well...I come from Miri,study in SMK chung Hua Miri.
Currently waiting for the JPA scholarship and I applied for dentistry.Maybe next time I can answer some questions bout teeth :P
Wish me luck and hi again.
Sylvia
17-03-2004, 03:21 PM
Just some additional information bout me. :wink:
I am a big Harry Potter fan.I collect all five of the Harry Potter books.Is there anyone out there who read Harry Potter?We can dicuss bout it.
Sylvia
17-03-2004, 03:21 PM
Just some additional information bout me. :wink:
I am a big Harry Potter fan.I collect all five of the Harry Potter books.Is there anyone out there who read Harry Potter?We can dicuss bout it.
SpRInG
17-03-2004, 08:44 PM
Hi, I'm Billy from ATU 10 now in INTEC
Still waiting for reply from some universities....
In the meanwhile... wanted to say hi to everybody in this forum..
I came from Sarawak.... Miri...
do do zhi gao...... :D
SpRInG
17-03-2004, 08:44 PM
Hi, I'm Billy from ATU 10 now in INTEC
Still waiting for reply from some universities....
In the meanwhile... wanted to say hi to everybody in this forum..
I came from Sarawak.... Miri...
do do zhi gao...... :D
18-03-2004, 12:35 AM
Welcome Sylvia and Billy to ReCom~!
Sylvia, you can join the Reading and Sharing SIG to discuss about Harry Porter. I have helped started a topic there... You need to go to SIG and join the Reading and Sharing SIG there and then you can join the discussion!
18-03-2004, 12:35 AM
Welcome Sylvia and Billy to ReCom~!
Sylvia, you can join the Reading and Sharing SIG to discuss about Harry Porter. I have helped started a topic there... You need to go to SIG and join the Reading and Sharing SIG there and then you can join the discussion!
18-03-2004, 09:57 AM
naturesimple,
go to australia! then you can meet me there hehe
Anyway, don't worry. JPA and MARA are sending more engine students to Aussie this year, coz it's kinda the trend to so. Perhaps coz the exchange rate's lower and there are quite good univs there.
Anyway, why not give it a try. I hv a few friends there, taking Engine, and they say it's real cool. Plus, Aussie's not so far from home :D
Well...:D welcome all. Hope you'll enjoy your stay at ReCom. Hope you'll contribute to recom in whatever way you can okie? Have fun! :wink:
18-03-2004, 09:57 AM
naturesimple,
go to australia! then you can meet me there hehe
Anyway, don't worry. JPA and MARA are sending more engine students to Aussie this year, coz it's kinda the trend to so. Perhaps coz the exchange rate's lower and there are quite good univs there.
Anyway, why not give it a try. I hv a few friends there, taking Engine, and they say it's real cool. Plus, Aussie's not so far from home :D
Well...:D welcome all. Hope you'll enjoy your stay at ReCom. Hope you'll contribute to recom in whatever way you can okie? Have fun! :wink:
glasscity
18-03-2004, 10:33 AM
thanks chenchow and master.
i was in boston ans NYC not too long ago, the conference in harvard had ended. notice that many of you here are in the states, shd hv met you guys there if i discover this place a bit earlier, haha..
glasscity
18-03-2004, 10:33 AM
thanks chenchow and master.
i was in boston ans NYC not too long ago, the conference in harvard had ended. notice that many of you here are in the states, shd hv met you guys there if i discover this place a bit earlier, haha..
18-03-2004, 05:23 PM
Hey peeps,
I'm Sher Mern, from Penang. I'm currently enrolled in INTEC (dun like it, though), undergoing ATU program. Still yearning for replies from my universities (so far, i'm only accepted by my safety net).
18-03-2004, 05:23 PM
Hey peeps,
I'm Sher Mern, from Penang. I'm currently enrolled in INTEC (dun like it, though), undergoing ATU program. Still yearning for replies from my universities (so far, i'm only accepted by my safety net).
chenghau
18-03-2004, 05:28 PM
Welcome Sher Men to join this community. You don't like INTEC? Well, you will miss it when you are here, don't worry...
Good luck for your college admissions.
chenghau
18-03-2004, 05:28 PM
Welcome Sher Men to join this community. You don't like INTEC? Well, you will miss it when you are here, don't worry...
Good luck for your college admissions.
18-03-2004, 05:51 PM
You don't like INTEC? Well, you will miss it when you are here, don't worry...
Haha, living in a 'high class' prison in Section 18 is indeed not to be termed as enjoyable. Sigh. Who am I to complain? Just looking forward to going to the States. By the way, what kind of food are served in the Universities? Do you guys just eat salads and sandwiches? Coz' I heard from several guys that's all they have. Gosh, I hope I won't turn into a vegetarian there. Hehe. Anyway, do you peeps play Bridge there?
18-03-2004, 05:51 PM
You don't like INTEC? Well, you will miss it when you are here, don't worry...
Haha, living in a 'high class' prison in Section 18 is indeed not to be termed as enjoyable. Sigh. Who am I to complain? Just looking forward to going to the States. By the way, what kind of food are served in the Universities? Do you guys just eat salads and sandwiches? Coz' I heard from several guys that's all they have. Gosh, I hope I won't turn into a vegetarian there. Hehe. Anyway, do you peeps play Bridge there?
18-03-2004, 11:05 PM
I have copied ElansarGelmir to Preparations to US thread, so as to have this thread purely for introduce ourselves.
18-03-2004, 11:05 PM
I have copied ElansarGelmir to Preparations to US thread, so as to have this thread purely for introduce ourselves.
19-03-2004, 08:51 PM
hi all...mun hua here. I'm from the peaceful and serene Taiping town in Perak and currently living in Akasia (ATU 10). I got to know about this site thru Jenny (gesar). Actually, i was peeping over her shoulder in the library. hehe! But thanks to her I got to know this great site.
My secondary school is Treacher Methodist Girls' School (TMGS) and I went to Form Six a while before coming to INTEC. Wanna say something about INTEC, although the facilities and conditions are not that good , life is really great because of all the friends here. All a bit crazy...that's what makes life so enjoyable! Jus wanna take this opportunity to say 'thanks peeps!'
Hmm...let me see, i love listening to music and jus relaxing with a good novel. But nowadays not much opportunity to do so. Too many assignments...
Like Jenny, I'm majoring in Biotechnology, also hoping to go into Forensics. I'm applying to University of California Davis, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Pennsylvania State University. Any seniors in these three universities? I would really like to get to know everyone better...
I guess that's all for now. Signing off....Long live RECOM!
hehe...actually i have registered for awhile. i didnt want to send my info here... but my fren mun hua sent hers... so i figured out that it will do me no harm.... mun hua is my childhood fren...so i grow up in the same place... same school as her..... taking engineering....
oh.. and my name is yee lyn... thts all... Go On... RECOM!!! [/quote]
19-03-2004, 08:51 PM
hi all...mun hua here. I'm from the peaceful and serene Taiping town in Perak and currently living in Akasia (ATU 10). I got to know about this site thru Jenny (gesar). Actually, i was peeping over her shoulder in the library. hehe! But thanks to her I got to know this great site.
My secondary school is Treacher Methodist Girls' School (TMGS) and I went to Form Six a while before coming to INTEC. Wanna say something about INTEC, although the facilities and conditions are not that good , life is really great because of all the friends here. All a bit crazy...that's what makes life so enjoyable! Jus wanna take this opportunity to say 'thanks peeps!'
Hmm...let me see, i love listening to music and jus relaxing with a good novel. But nowadays not much opportunity to do so. Too many assignments...
Like Jenny, I'm majoring in Biotechnology, also hoping to go into Forensics. I'm applying to University of California Davis, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Pennsylvania State University. Any seniors in these three universities? I would really like to get to know everyone better...
I guess that's all for now. Signing off....Long live RECOM!
hehe...actually i have registered for awhile. i didnt want to send my info here... but my fren mun hua sent hers... so i figured out that it will do me no harm.... mun hua is my childhood fren...so i grow up in the same place... same school as her..... taking engineering....
oh.. and my name is yee lyn... thts all... Go On... RECOM!!! [/quote]
Sylvia
20-03-2004, 12:55 PM
I'm also a fan of korea drama series and movie.Do anyone here watch korea stuff :?: :roll:
Sylvia
20-03-2004, 12:55 PM
I'm also a fan of korea drama series and movie.Do anyone here watch korea stuff :?: :roll:
20-03-2004, 02:20 PM
only extremly famous i watched like the 'lan se seng si luen' n few japan 1 like first love. my favourite is the hotelier :D
20-03-2004, 02:20 PM
only extremly famous i watched like the 'lan se seng si luen' n few japan 1 like first love. my favourite is the hotelier :D
tuinkle
20-03-2004, 07:05 PM
Hi all!
Another Malaccan here.... ^^
The name's May Ting Seet and I'm currently a junior studying Cognitive Science with a concentration in Computer Science (UI, HCI, Human Centered Design) at the University of California- Berkeley. Yeah, I've been living in the Bay Area for the past 3 years where yearnings for authentic roti canai, char kuey tiow and rojak are quite easily satisfiable, and obtaining some of the more obscure items such as Soto brand keropok (made in Malacca), Julie's biscuits (also made in Malacca) and durian is a no brainer (for those who are familiar, Ranch99 :) !)
I attended:
Wellesley Church Kindergarten
SRK Convent Infant Jesus (1)
SMK Infant Jesus Convent
Ohlone College (am a transfer student that applied to some UCs and GaTech).
I enjoy learning about the history of the First Nations people and playing tennis. I am also in the Women in Science and Engineering Theme Program at Cal.
** Kudos to all who were/are involved in the birth of this site! **
tuinkle
20-03-2004, 07:05 PM
Hi all!
Another Malaccan here.... ^^
The name's May Ting Seet and I'm currently a junior studying Cognitive Science with a concentration in Computer Science (UI, HCI, Human Centered Design) at the University of California- Berkeley. Yeah, I've been living in the Bay Area for the past 3 years where yearnings for authentic roti canai, char kuey tiow and rojak are quite easily satisfiable, and obtaining some of the more obscure items such as Soto brand keropok (made in Malacca), Julie's biscuits (also made in Malacca) and durian is a no brainer (for those who are familiar, Ranch99 :) !)
I attended:
Wellesley Church Kindergarten
SRK Convent Infant Jesus (1)
SMK Infant Jesus Convent
Ohlone College (am a transfer student that applied to some UCs and GaTech).
I enjoy learning about the history of the First Nations people and playing tennis. I am also in the Women in Science and Engineering Theme Program at Cal.
** Kudos to all who were/are involved in the birth of this site! **
20-03-2004, 10:34 PM
hi Tuinkle, welcome to Recom family!.
hey, I'm a Malaccan too, and of course, I know that Julie's cookies inside the huge red box. [explain:f2a5abe773]hint:Im a cookie monster[/explain:f2a5abe773]
and not to forget our Stadium Kubu.[explain:f2a5abe773]wonder if it is still exist[/explain:f2a5abe773]
Anyway, hope you enjoy hanging out at Recom and yes, we want to hear your more from you !
[explain:f2a5abe773]this is my first time using Lukes explain code.It is cool!all you need to do is, insert the explain tag[/explain:f2a5abe773]
20-03-2004, 10:34 PM
hi Tuinkle, welcome to Recom family!.
hey, I'm a Malaccan too, and of course, I know that Julie's cookies inside the huge red box. [explain:f2a5abe773]hint:Im a cookie monster[/explain:f2a5abe773]
and not to forget our Stadium Kubu.[explain:f2a5abe773]wonder if it is still exist[/explain:f2a5abe773]
Anyway, hope you enjoy hanging out at Recom and yes, we want to hear your more from you !
[explain:f2a5abe773]this is my first time using Lukes explain code.It is cool!all you need to do is, insert the explain tag[/explain:f2a5abe773]
Sylvia
21-03-2004, 11:10 AM
My favourite is Winter Sonata but i like Hotelier too.I watch both of them twice
Sylvia
21-03-2004, 11:10 AM
My favourite is Winter Sonata but i like Hotelier too.I watch both of them twice
21-03-2004, 05:56 PM
halo....going to offline soon , but anyway just make a short introduction first la.
Studying a levels in taylors college, finishing in june 2004. Hoping to further my studies either in UK(Biochemistry) or Australia(Biotechnology, Nanotechnology)...
Hometown - Klang
Secondary school - SMK Raja Mahadi, Klang
Primary School - SK Taman Klang Jaya
Kindergarten - Jack n Jill Kindergarten, Klang.
Thats all for now! Take care everyone!
21-03-2004, 05:56 PM
halo....going to offline soon , but anyway just make a short introduction first la.
Studying a levels in taylors college, finishing in june 2004. Hoping to further my studies either in UK(Biochemistry) or Australia(Biotechnology, Nanotechnology)...
Hometown - Klang
Secondary school - SMK Raja Mahadi, Klang
Primary School - SK Taman Klang Jaya
Kindergarten - Jack n Jill Kindergarten, Klang.
Thats all for now! Take care everyone!
oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 10:18 AM
It's time I introduce myself. My name is Melvin as you can see from my username. I am a 17 year-old-boy from Kuching, Sarawak who has a wide variety of interests. I guess you would like to know how I came across this board. I was doing a scholarship search when I got directed to this forum. The first impression I had of this forum was like cool, there is a Malaysian student network after all and I think the idea of coming up with such a network is a great idea - links all the malaysians together. I really do salute the webmaster's efforts and his gang's in maintaining this website (i know it's not an easy thing to do) and it does show a lot of creativity to some extent. I was glad to know that there is such a system such as gaining points in posting and increasing your rank from a super potential best friend (a good method to woo people though) to friend and eventually best friend. Really creative idea. Thumbs up for the person who came up with this idea. The emoticons are really cute and I also like the idea of a shout out message column. Helps to link those who are at different time zones together. I know it's really hard to get in touch in different time zones. Anyway, for all those malaysians out there i give you my hello and my regards.
Melvin
oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 10:18 AM
It's time I introduce myself. My name is Melvin as you can see from my username. I am a 17 year-old-boy from Kuching, Sarawak who has a wide variety of interests. I guess you would like to know how I came across this board. I was doing a scholarship search when I got directed to this forum. The first impression I had of this forum was like cool, there is a Malaysian student network after all and I think the idea of coming up with such a network is a great idea - links all the malaysians together. I really do salute the webmaster's efforts and his gang's in maintaining this website (i know it's not an easy thing to do) and it does show a lot of creativity to some extent. I was glad to know that there is such a system such as gaining points in posting and increasing your rank from a super potential best friend (a good method to woo people though) to friend and eventually best friend. Really creative idea. Thumbs up for the person who came up with this idea. The emoticons are really cute and I also like the idea of a shout out message column. Helps to link those who are at different time zones together. I know it's really hard to get in touch in different time zones. Anyway, for all those malaysians out there i give you my hello and my regards.
Melvin
22-03-2004, 11:24 AM
welcome to ReCom Family Melvin,
I'm glad to know that you like this website.
But, we at Recom still believe that there are a lot of room to improve.
So, don't hesitate to tell us!. ;-)
ANyway, hope you can explore a lot of stuff here at Recom, (creative corner, weblinks, SIG, etc) ...and of course, Forums...
22-03-2004, 11:24 AM
welcome to ReCom Family Melvin,
I'm glad to know that you like this website.
But, we at Recom still believe that there are a lot of room to improve.
So, don't hesitate to tell us!. ;-)
ANyway, hope you can explore a lot of stuff here at Recom, (creative corner, weblinks, SIG, etc) ...and of course, Forums...
oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 12:26 PM
I thank thee for the welcoming message. I'm glad that i'm part of the family after all! In the meantime, have fun and keep up the posts people!
oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 12:26 PM
I thank thee for the welcoming message. I'm glad that i'm part of the family after all! In the meantime, have fun and keep up the posts people!
yanmin
22-03-2004, 01:46 PM
Hi guys. I have joined some time ago but never intro.
So.... here goes!!
*long drum rolls* Announcing the arrival of Yan Min aka the Ultimate Crap Queen!! :P (Should say that I'm the EX-Crap Queen... Got dethrone by a more superior Crapper since I went to UiTM... :P)
Well, I'm from Penang, born and bred there. I love the island!! Think it's the best place in M'sia!! (Don't you think so??) Was in Singapore for a while before I opted for the JPA scholarship. I think I know a few of the ATU 10s (Yee Lyn, Laura, Billy, Brian...). Oh by the way I'm ATU9, and I was one of your beloved OCs during orientation (if you could remember...)
I'm currently at Penn, major in Nursing. (haha, this is an insiders' joke. Of course I'm NOT.) I am a music fanatic. Hmm... what else?? The Crap Queen can't think of anything else to say right now because she is too sleepy. :P
That's about it... Will post more when I am more awake. Adios.
yanmin
22-03-2004, 01:46 PM
Hi guys. I have joined some time ago but never intro.
So.... here goes!!
*long drum rolls* Announcing the arrival of Yan Min aka the Ultimate Crap Queen!! :P (Should say that I'm the EX-Crap Queen... Got dethrone by a more superior Crapper since I went to UiTM... :P)
Well, I'm from Penang, born and bred there. I love the island!! Think it's the best place in M'sia!! (Don't you think so??) Was in Singapore for a while before I opted for the JPA scholarship. I think I know a few of the ATU 10s (Yee Lyn, Laura, Billy, Brian...). Oh by the way I'm ATU9, and I was one of your beloved OCs during orientation (if you could remember...)
I'm currently at Penn, major in Nursing. (haha, this is an insiders' joke. Of course I'm NOT.) I am a music fanatic. Hmm... what else?? The Crap Queen can't think of anything else to say right now because she is too sleepy. :P
That's about it... Will post more when I am more awake. Adios.
Hi, Grace here. :D Impressed with the details everyone is providing.
Well, was born in KL, staying in Ampang when I'm at home. Education background(feels like a CV)- Assunta primary, Convent Bukit Nanas secondary, Taylor's A Levels, currently studying medic in King's London.
Love Malaysia esp the weather, weather here is awful. Interest/ loves- dance n dance/trance music, art, KLCC- like my second home, travelling/backpacking.
Hope to settle comfortably into this recom crowd, great site guys!
btw, what's ATU?
Hi, Grace here. :D Impressed with the details everyone is providing.
Well, was born in KL, staying in Ampang when I'm at home. Education background(feels like a CV)- Assunta primary, Convent Bukit Nanas secondary, Taylor's A Levels, currently studying medic in King's London.
Love Malaysia esp the weather, weather here is awful. Interest/ loves- dance n dance/trance music, art, KLCC- like my second home, travelling/backpacking.
Hope to settle comfortably into this recom crowd, great site guys!
btw, what's ATU?
23-03-2004, 06:38 AM
hey Yanmin and Grace, welcome to Recom family.
we invite you to explore this site, especially our wonderful Forums.
ALso, don't forget to check out our creative corner, weblinks, SIG's and everything. [explain:bb1dfe5bea](I afraid I am repeating the same welcome message everytime....smiley..) [/explain:bb1dfe5bea]
for quick overview, check out our 'About' page
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=About
ANyway, welcome to Recom, and don't forget to share your thought, opinions, and recommendation to Recom.
Also Grace, don't hesitate to invite friends in London too.
23-03-2004, 06:38 AM
hey Yanmin and Grace, welcome to Recom family.
we invite you to explore this site, especially our wonderful Forums.
ALso, don't forget to check out our creative corner, weblinks, SIG's and everything. [explain:bb1dfe5bea](I afraid I am repeating the same welcome message everytime....smiley..) [/explain:bb1dfe5bea]
for quick overview, check out our 'About' page
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=About
ANyway, welcome to Recom, and don't forget to share your thought, opinions, and recommendation to Recom.
Also Grace, don't hesitate to invite friends in London too.
windy_city
23-03-2004, 08:20 AM
I dunno your joined this forum also, hope u can crap more here!!
Guess who am I???
I am one of the beloved OC too, or maybe not so beloved as compare to you, haha!!
Good luck in your physics tomorrow .
If you know who am I (pls keep quiet also)
I want to keep a low profile, heihei!!
Nice to hear from you here!!!
windy_city
23-03-2004, 08:20 AM
I dunno your joined this forum also, hope u can crap more here!!
Guess who am I???
I am one of the beloved OC too, or maybe not so beloved as compare to you, haha!!
Good luck in your physics tomorrow .
If you know who am I (pls keep quiet also)
I want to keep a low profile, heihei!!
Nice to hear from you here!!!
23-03-2004, 02:19 PM
only twice??? i frankly tell you that i already forgot how many times i watched the hotelier.....even now i still catching it in tv3 altough i have the whole set of vcd. ah! another 1 i recomend is friends starring by yuan bing n the actress i forget her name.........
23-03-2004, 02:19 PM
only twice??? i frankly tell you that i already forgot how many times i watched the hotelier.....even now i still catching it in tv3 altough i have the whole set of vcd. ah! another 1 i recomend is friends starring by yuan bing n the actress i forget her name.........
Sylvia
23-03-2004, 03:16 PM
I did watch friends and the actress's name is shen tian gong zi. :)
Sylvia
23-03-2004, 03:16 PM
I did watch friends and the actress's name is shen tian gong zi. :)
23-03-2004, 05:47 PM
Hey, can i know what's the SIG thingy about?
23-03-2004, 05:47 PM
Hey, can i know what's the SIG thingy about?
23-03-2004, 06:50 PM
hey all. hehe.. i had joined recom for quite a long time already. but thinks i havent introduce myself yet. :oops:
my name is Yin Loo. I am 22 years old, JPA scholar. Currently I am studying in Korea. Majoring in Nanotechnology under Chemical Engineering Department. I have been here for around 2 and half years.
Just contact me if anyone of you guys here is coming to Korea. I can bring you around Seoul. :wink:
23-03-2004, 06:50 PM
hey all. hehe.. i had joined recom for quite a long time already. but thinks i havent introduce myself yet. :oops:
my name is Yin Loo. I am 22 years old, JPA scholar. Currently I am studying in Korea. Majoring in Nanotechnology under Chemical Engineering Department. I have been here for around 2 and half years.
Just contact me if anyone of you guys here is coming to Korea. I can bring you around Seoul. :wink:
23-03-2004, 09:11 PM
Heya people. I joined more than a week ago but never did intro myself, so here's a little something about me:
Currently studying in Form 6.
Schools:
Primary: SK Alam Shah 2, PJ/SK St George 1, Taiping
Secondary: SMK St George Taiping
I was born and raised in KL till the age of 9 before moving to Taiping, so I still consider Taiping my second home :D , though the JKR may have flipped the roads upside down in my 'hometown' since I was last there.
Cheerios, people! Glad to have joined this place...
23-03-2004, 09:11 PM
Heya people. I joined more than a week ago but never did intro myself, so here's a little something about me:
Currently studying in Form 6.
Schools:
Primary: SK Alam Shah 2, PJ/SK St George 1, Taiping
Secondary: SMK St George Taiping
I was born and raised in KL till the age of 9 before moving to Taiping, so I still consider Taiping my second home :D , though the JKR may have flipped the roads upside down in my 'hometown' since I was last there.
Cheerios, people! Glad to have joined this place...
23-03-2004, 10:37 PM
:oops:
23-03-2004, 10:37 PM
:oops:
hello guys... am a newbie here.... my name is Farizah but ppl do call me Jaja....
well, am hd just fnsh my study in Uitm, in Quantity Surveying, looking forward to pursue for Degree in UK... currently i got 4 offers, which are;
>Uni of Salford, Manchester
>Uni of Napier, Scot
>Uni of Glasgow Caledonian,Scot
>The Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen
since that am not familiar enuff on Britain Education system, its hard for me to choose which is the best uni for me to attend.. so, if you guys can help me choosing the best for me to go.. in terms of education level, lifestyle and so on....
regards,
Jaja
hello guys... am a newbie here.... my name is Farizah but ppl do call me Jaja....
well, am hd just fnsh my study in Uitm, in Quantity Surveying, looking forward to pursue for Degree in UK... currently i got 4 offers, which are;
>Uni of Salford, Manchester
>Uni of Napier, Scot
>Uni of Glasgow Caledonian,Scot
>The Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen
since that am not familiar enuff on Britain Education system, its hard for me to choose which is the best uni for me to attend.. so, if you guys can help me choosing the best for me to go.. in terms of education level, lifestyle and so on....
regards,
Jaja
VIPER
24-03-2004, 12:11 AM
too many stuff around here and it's complicated..
anyway i will just post something bout myself
currently in melbourne studying in RMIT ..
erm .. another few more months to go
most probably will stay back to work or somethin glike that
wat else./
nickname is |VIPER| but i can't register as username
erm, age 22 this year but for now still 21..
wat else..?
guess that is pretty much about it..! peace out!
VIPER
24-03-2004, 12:11 AM
anyway i will just post something bout myself
currently in melbourne studying in RMIT ..
erm .. another few more months to go
most probably will stay back to work or somethin glike that
wat else./
nickname is |VIPER| but i can't register as username
erm, age 22 this year but for now still 21..
wat else..?
guess that is pretty much about it..! peace out!
24-03-2004, 05:35 AM
Hi Jaja and VIPER, welcome to Recom,
we're constantly updating our news and everything, but right now, I guess people might slow down a little bit (at least in the US) since some of us are having Spring Break , and those who just finished with Spring Break are buried with homeworks (for example, me).
Hope to hear more from you guys in this forum
Yeah, I guess that's true.. but I think that's the best about Recom right?.. where have so much stuff that we can share, argue, etc and we can find diverse interest of its members (hint : SIG (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG)) . We invite you to explore Recom site and invite your feedback. Thanks.
24-03-2004, 05:35 AM
Hi Jaja and VIPER, welcome to Recom,
we're constantly updating our news and everything, but right now, I guess people might slow down a little bit (at least in the US) since some of us are having Spring Break , and those who just finished with Spring Break are buried with homeworks (for example, me).
Hope to hear more from you guys in this forum
Yeah, I guess that's true.. but I think that's the best about Recom right?.. where have so much stuff that we can share, argue, etc and we can find diverse interest of its members (hint : SIG (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG)) . We invite you to explore Recom site and invite your feedback. Thanks.
Melo_15
25-03-2004, 11:27 AM
Hey everybody, im Nic from atu 10, intec... the other day, i had the chance to meet chen chow when he came over, maybe u dunno me though, nvm anyway thanx 4 da infos... nice 2 meet u guyz :D
...its great 2 have this kinda stuff on the web where malaysian can share their thoughts...great job!
btw im goin 2 georgia tech...goin 2 apply visa 2moro, hope eevrything gows well... 8)
jaclyn
25-03-2004, 09:07 PM
hey everyone! :o i'm jaclyn, and i'm also another 'ATU'sapien. currently at intec, still struggling to finish my spring semester. :o :o majoring in biology/biotechnology. i applied to duke, uchicago, jhu (under suriana's recommendation), michigan ann arbor, wisconsin and penn state. in a rather jittery state right now, admission decision will be out before the end of the month! 8O 8O
26-03-2004, 12:01 AM
welcome Nic and Jaclyn to Recom. !
I would like to congratulate Nic for being accepted to Georgia tech.
I heard that school is quite competitive, and sometimes , appears on TV. So, you're heading in a right direction.
To Jaclyn, hope for the best. You applied to top schools (like Duke and JHU) and those are good at their fields, esp Duke with its research triangle. I'm not sure about JHU (is there any JHU-Recomer yet?). I usually hear JHU if it's something related to the government/political studies.
ANyway, make full use of the Recom Network. There are a lot of things has been discussed about preparation to go to US, etc.
and we want to hear more from you guys in the Forum.
welcome to Recom.
29-03-2004, 12:29 AM
It is very nice to see many more introduce themselves here...To those who haven't introduced themselves, please do so....
Since my long hiatus, 13 people have introduced themselves...
May Ting Seet, invite your friends from Berkeley here~!
pandaboy, you can deficitely talk about biotech, nanotech, biochem here...there should be other ReComers in it... invite your friends here~!
Melvin, you can definitely count on ReCom members for a lot of information on scholarship... Many here are on scholarships and are studying in every corner of the world~! invite your friends here too~!
yanmin, invite your friends from UPenn here~!
Grace, there is a medicine Special Interest Group here, where you can exchange your viewpoints on medicine here~! Invite your friends here too, especially those in London...
windy_city, fully introduce yourself lar..
janewai, invite other Malaysians studying in Korea here...
USSDefiantNX74205, you should bring your F6 friends here.
Jaja, look around... There are a number of ReCom members in UK...not that many, but should be helpful to you.... Do a search on UK, and find those...
viper, I thought you get to register your username.... Invite your friends studying in Australia here too~!
Nic, Congrats~! Georgia is nice~! I passed by there on my way to and fro Florida... And it was nice~! Near to Florida too~!
jaclyn, good luck on your applications to unis~!
ElansarGelmir, check out on the SIG. On what is it, it is a Special Interest Group. This is due to ReCom members have very diverse interests and this is to give those with same interest to discuss and work on those stuff of their interests~!
To all, Welcome to join ReCom family~! Invite more of your friends to ReCom~!
wesleyanne
29-03-2004, 10:08 PM
Nic, yes, go to GATech. Good weather, superb location. Its extremely close to downtown and underground Atlanta. Excellent transportation system. I believe you can even take the MARTA from the Atlanta Hartsfield Airport directly to GATech. As for the weather, dont be completely fooled if you keep hearing how gorgeous the weather is. I know, before I was heading to GA, my parents who've been to Michigan (so they think the weather in GA is extremely mild) just got me one light coat. Needless to say, since I've never really experienced winter, I literally froze, seriously. My parents never really understood that, haha...but I guess it depends on the person. If you're used to cold weather, then you'll be fine here :) Don't expect to see any snow, it hardly ever snows, and once when it did, they shut down everything cos they didn't really know how to deal with it. Oh yes, you probably already know this, but Buzz (that cute little yellow hornet) is your mascot and if you're an undergrad freshie, then you're a RAT ;) hehe..I think it stands for Recently Acquired Techie or something like that...but I'm not sure.
Oh yeah, I've been to the GATech campus and its seriously not at all pretty. Very dull, and most students I know who attend Tech don't really like the campus at all, but there are tons of activities and they have good sports teams. But overall, its a great place, and you have places like Emory, GSU and Agnes Scott nearby. Wonderful city with so much to do and lotsa places to visit. and there's a MARTA stop on campus too so you can basically just hop on and go visit the city~
Saharoc
30-03-2004, 02:41 PM
hi....
name: Jing Jet
Atu 10
born in Miri, Sarawak
from st. columba secondary school
applying to illinois and michigan and washington
going to study mechanical engineering :lol:
31-03-2004, 03:50 AM
Welcome Jing Jet to ReCom family ~! Hope that you will get active here in ReCom too~!
kumitaa
01-04-2004, 09:22 PM
hi everyone...
this is my first time here...
hmm..dun really know wut to say....
my name is kumitaa...(yes,thats right...my name ends with a double 'a')
i'm in ATU 10....n studying in Intec....
i'm from Ipoh...
i was introed to this site by...jenny,sian mei,mun hua....n the list goes on....
i'm majoring in biotech n will be going to UC Davis...
luv readin,just about any type of sports,binging and shopping :D
well...i guess thats about it for now...
hope to get to know lotsa ppl here better...
byebye!
-munhua-
01-04-2004, 10:13 PM
kum! it's good to see you here! :wink:
hello there!
let's get through the formalities first, shall we? :P
anyways, i did my spm last year..... and am currently on a six month break (i am trying to convince myself that i deserve the holiday but have been unsuccessful to date :o )
i went to secondary school in pahang. i did the science stream but never really had a liking for what i was studying. luckily, i did accounts as well and i have decided that accounting and finance is going to be the career of my choice. i really enjoyed debating and public speaking when i was in school. i am applying for the jpa and petronas scholarships now.
i spent the last two months completing voluntary internship with the women's aid organization and that was a really humbling yet rewarding experience. as of now, i am at home catching up with reading, music, driving etc (no, i didnt get called up for ns!!)
i think that's enough for an intro, no? wouldnt want all of you to get an overload of me at such early stages :P nonetheless, i am glad to be here and hope that i will get to know y'all better
all the best to all of you....take care :)
suilin
02-04-2004, 12:36 AM
Happy Birthday Recom! Kudos to all who have initiated this as well as everyone who continue to contribute and support this!! Thanks Laura, Voon Seng, Jonathan and Sher Mern for recommending me this fantastic website!
Hi everyone,
I'm Sui Lin from ATU 10. Born and bred in KL, I will be studying economics in Wellesley College, US in August. Really excited about it!! BTW, any Recomers at/from Wellesley or Boston?
Hope to meet up with fellow Recomers in Malaysia, US or anywhere else in the world!
Best wishes,
Sui Lin
tree007
02-04-2004, 12:51 AM
yo suilin! glad u found this place.. addictive.... haha..
gee btw, have u gao dim ur visa stuff?
02-04-2004, 01:59 AM
Welcome Kumitaa, prav and suilin to ReCom~!
Kumitaa, if you stay active, you will definitely get to know a lot of people as you wish...
prav, welcome to ReCom~! Hope that you can share with ReCom members your experience... Good luck on your scholarship interviews. If you have any question, feel free to post it here~!
suilin, welcome to ReCom~! Wellesley, I am not too sure is there anyone here, but around Boston of course...cheng hau, yytan, prince(used to stay there for 3 years) etc....
orestes
02-04-2004, 04:50 AM
Name: Mohd Rafiq Mat Razali
Sponsor: MARA (hahaha we're relatively richer than JPA scholars!!)
ATU: 9
Skool: Pennsylvania State University
Major: Actuarial Science
Primary Skool: SRK Sri Petaling (PJ)
Secondary Skool: SMK Sultan Abdul Samad (PJ)
Hometown: Pure 100% PeeJay-ian
Favorite Thing Abt America: Rock Shows bebeh... only 8 months here and i have already been to 5 concerts
Most F**ked Up Thing Abt America: The stupid weather... and of course, George W. Bush
chocoholique
02-04-2004, 04:53 AM
Bonjour! :)
Name: Nadiah (trust me you wont want to know the rest)
Study: Biochem,Harvard University
Past Schools: Assunta Primary, Sri Aman Secondary
Home: PJ
ATU 9
Best things about US: NO sweat or mosquitoes
Worst: TIPS!
To all my dear juniors back home, why didnt anyone apply to harvard :( This place needs more malaysians man...
02-04-2004, 07:31 AM
salam to Rafiq and Nadiah, welcome To Recom.!
yeah Rafiq, I think you're right, MARA has been very generous in giving away scholarship to their students. Oh well.. Dah nak nasib..
(hint: jpa student)
anyway, hope you can tell PSU students about us.
welcome to Recom Nadiah. .
Hope to see more people from Harvard too. There's one guy (I think Adrian) that has joined us but I haven;t seen him for quite a while. I think he's at Harvard.
Do you know him by any chance? ...
Yeah, for ATU10/ 11 or everyone else in Malaysia, you guys should give a shot applying for Harvard (anyone go there this year?..)
Since today is our anniversary, we're pretty excited !
we invite you to explore Recom, and we want to hear more from you guys.
sim_min
02-04-2004, 07:39 PM
salam to Rafiq and Nadiah, welcome To Recom.!
yeah Rafiq, I think you're right, MARA has been very generous in giving away scholarship to their students. Oh well.. Dah nak nasib..
(hint: jpa student)
anyway, hope you can tell PSU students about us.
welcome to Recom Nadiah. .
Hope to see more people from Harvard too. There's one guy (I think Adrian) that has joined us but I haven;t seen him for quite a while. I think he's at Harvard.
Do you know him by any chance? ...
Yeah, for ATU10/ 11 or everyone else in Malaysia, you guys should give a shot applying for Harvard (anyone go there this year?..)
Since today is our anniversary, we're pretty excited !
we invite you to explore Recom, and we want to hear more from you guys.
what about PAMA(Father and mother) scholarship? wouldn't it be more richer in some way? hahahaha
03-04-2004, 04:53 AM
Rafiq and Nadiah, welcome to join ReCom~!
Rafiq, mind invite more Penn State students to join~! It will be great to see ReCom has more and more people joining~!
Nadiah, guess it is not that no one from ATU 10 applying, but just the positive response from Harvard that matters.. Anyway, welcome both of you to join ReCom family~! Adrian reregister today as jalapeno.
LePip
03-04-2004, 11:34 PM
Hello there everyone in Recom..
actually, i joined ReCom about a week ago.... haven't really been posting much cause there's so much stuff here! reading all the different threads took a lotta time...
my highest congratulations to you guys here managing ReCom to it's first birthday. this place is a great site for students in malaysia, i don't know a single person who wouldn't wanna sign up. "salute" to you guys.
right then, anyway, i'm just another form five leaver, did spm last year, currently studying south australian matriculation in taylor's college (anyone from taylor's?). interested in studying engineering. applied for a few scholarships here and there..
but that enuff of an intro... glad to be a part of ReCom, hope this place stays alive... take care ppl
03-04-2004, 11:52 PM
Welcome LePip to join ReCom family ~! Nice to hear that you have been finding this website fantastic~! Really hope to see you get active, as ReCom is only as good as its summation of its members~! Everything here is contributed by its fellow members, so if you have any suggestion, idea to make ReCom better, feel free to shout it out~!
If you have any question on scholarship, feel free to post it here. Many ReCom members are holders of scholarships~! Check out the thread on scholarship and also go to remag.recom.org , our ReCom magazine site, to check out on an article, Pointers to Scholarship Interview, which has the compilation of advice from many scholarship holders.
Hope that you will continue to support ReCom~! Invite your friends here~! The more the merrier and together, lets make ReCom an even better place~!
Again, Welcome to join ReCom family~!
cryzpene
05-04-2004, 09:28 AM
Name: Crispin
Batch: ATU 9
University: Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Class level: Freshman
Major: Electrical & Computer Engineering
Old Skool: SMK Bintulu
Hometown: Bintulu, Sarawak. (where natural gas is mined off its shore)
http://www.crisab.com
05-04-2004, 09:46 PM
Welcome Crispin to join ReCom family~! Mind help spread the words around more~!
KobeBryant
08-04-2004, 12:20 PM
hi , everybody
i am another SPM 2003 leaver.
I come from Kuala Terengganu.....i think for those come from west coast like KL. u will say that kt is a poorly developed state
hehe....sometimes ppl even wonder where is KT....
Curently , i am going to attend the BNM scholarship interview on this April 14 and JPA..later
i must also admit that even though i excel in my spm(10 A1, 1 A2) , my spoken english is not very good.....since in KT we seldom speak in english, all in mandarin.....
i think this is really a big disadvantage for me
i would like to express my gratitude to this website as it really helps me alot....especially about the scholarships' interview.....
Recom...really excellent !
08-04-2004, 01:39 PM
hey hey..salah tu!
i know where KT is...my friends in college, some of them are from KT. PLus they hv MRSM QTer kan there? *perks of being in MRSM-you learn about new places hehe :wink:
08-04-2004, 03:41 PM
I come from Kuala Terengganu.....i think for those come from west coast like KL. u will say that kt is a poorly developed state
I know where is KT, but i dunno how developed it is... The images of rumah papans and chicken coops are still flashing in my mind each time i try to picture Terengganu . . . Sorry, no offense, ya! Until very recent, my friend corrected me . . . She said there are things in Terengganu that might even surprise me. Hehe
08-04-2004, 09:45 PM
Welcome kobebryant to ReCom family~! You are joining a huge lot of new members who are applying for various scholarships~!
Congrats for your results and hopefully you will try your best to get a scholarship. Bring your friends to join ReCom~! Share with them the experience here~! And good luck on your scholarship interview. On general scholarship pointers, go to remag.recom.org
Feel free to post any specific question here.
tree007
08-04-2004, 11:08 PM
KT.. hmmm... like heard b4.. in Malaysia wan rite? got coastline wan rite? i think i read about it somewhere.. something about turtles..
:P jk....
anyway, good luck for ur interview!
DFish
09-04-2004, 02:15 AM
Hi there, I'm Chiam Yu from Kedah. I come across this site thru google search. Thanks to google, and of course, a very VERY big thanks to ReCom, I know a lot about JPA scholarship thru this site.
I'm a 2003 SPM leaver as well. I'm having holidays since SPM finished, quite a waste of time yeah? Last month, I have formed a study group with my friends. I got quite satisfying result in spm and i am really happy. Thanks a lot to my parents, grandparents, teachers and oso relatives and friends who help me a lot all the time. Most of them advise me to take medicine, especially my grandpa (he is very disappointed with my choice). Though, i dont really interested in it.
I'm more in favor of Maths and Chemistry. And I have been interested in nanotechnology since last year. So, i plan to study chemical engineering first, and then if i have chance, i'll pursue higher level study in nanotech. My parents leave the choice to me. I have apply for JPA for Engineer in US. I will attend the interview next friday (16/4), i'm very nervous and excited now. Though, i dont know much about the interview, so i'm searching about JPA interview these days (might be a bit late, though very lucky to found ReCom).
That's all i have to say. Thanks again to ReCom family. :D
09-04-2004, 09:00 PM
Welcome Chiam Yu to ReCom family~! There are many in ReCom are under US Engineering. So, feel free to ask questions over here in ReCom~!
Nanotech is a fantastic field. I took a couple of courses in this field. It is an exciting new field and am even excited with a near completion of the world's most advanced research building - Duffield Hall of Cornell University, where it is specially-built with all the sophisticated tool for nanotechnology.
chenghau
10-04-2004, 04:05 AM
Chen Chow is promoting his beloved Cornell again...
DFish
10-04-2004, 03:21 PM
Thanks a lot Chew Chow and all other ReCom members. :D
BTW, i'm from SMJK Sin Min, a junior of Ho Yi Duan. She is a great student, our school and all of us are really proud of her!
11-04-2004, 03:14 AM
Just would like to add that Ho Yi Duan is also a member of ReCom family~! Anyone has any question on Bank Negara should ask her~!
jagganatha
11-04-2004, 06:15 PM
Guess I have only been posting but not introduced myself..
My name is Brian Ritchie. From Penang but born in W.P.K.L. Basically love reading and hacking. Computers are my passion and so is math although I am not so good in it. From Bukit Mertajam High School. Believe strongly in my school motto..Aut Copisse Noli Aut Confice.. meaning Accomplish Or Do Not Begin. Well majoring in Actuarial Science. An altruist by nature. Love helping anyone and everyone. Talk a lot of nonsense I suppose..ha ha. Love RECOM really do and hope it lasts a lifetime or more of course.. :wink: :wink:
12-04-2004, 09:48 AM
Welcome Brian Ritchie to ReCom~! Guess you have been hanging around for some time.... BM guy, nice~! Lets make ReCom a permanent spot~!
jagganatha
16-04-2004, 09:27 AM
Thanks chenchow..was indeed great to have been able to see you live in INTEC..hope we can work together somehow..for RECOM!! :wink: :wink:
16-04-2004, 11:44 PM
Thanks Brian~! Lets work together within all of us for ReCom~!
To everyone, hope that those who haven't introduced themselves would introduce themselves here~!
sOuL-X
24-04-2004, 12:01 PM
hi guys !!
my name is Izzat.live in kuala terengganu :D also a spm2003 leaver.i'm not very good in english though, but i really love'em..maybe because the east-coast people aren't using english oftenly.. but when people like me try to talk in english they'll make fun of me especially malays..that's why i love to hangout with chinese guys.. (although i dun have any chinese friend) :lol:
right now i'm doing nothing at home,quite wasting of time...not very in a good mood, was rejected by JPA and Petronas and Telekom... maybe because my results wasn't good enough :!: dunno what to do... :(
go Recom~! go !! 8)
24-04-2004, 01:30 PM
aww...Izzat, don't be sad. Mebbe you'll be gettin some bigger scholarships or sthing..i mean, who knows..just be patient. Go always knows what's best for us..and everything He does, there's a hidden hikmah behind it :)
well, enjoy recom and use it wisely, coz w recom, you don't only get friends but also knowledge, knowledge and more knowledge :D
PS: dunno bout you guys, but i can imagine me surfing thru recom at 80 years old *if i make it that long* hehe
24-04-2004, 04:28 PM
Hey Izzat, cool animation of Inferno. Where you did u get it?
Moozy
24-04-2004, 07:40 PM
Hi! I'm from Ipoh. Though not very fluent in Cantonese. Heehee. I'm a SPM2003 leaver, applied for Matriculation & Petronas(but didn't get them) so I'm 100% waiting for my last hope-JPA. So, now I'm basically slacking at home doing nothing very fruitful except learning how to cook a few dishes(curry chicken and etc.)
Schools:
SRJK(C)Ave Maria Convent,Ipoh
SMJK Ave Maria Convent, Ipoh
Interests:
Reading
travelling
ReCom!
TV!!!!
Heehee, that's all. When i can think of other things, i'll update
ydho_6
24-04-2004, 08:03 PM
hi!!!
have been jumping around in some forums n finally found a place to properly introduce myself. :D
Yi Duan, 20, currently in London LSE, actuarial science.
hm... wonder whether can trace back the links to friends back in Uitm... ATU program... i bet u all r in US now. hope to hear from u guys!
MSN messenger: ydho_6@<hidden>
Friendster: ydho_6@<hidden>
HP: +44 779 312 6602
24-04-2004, 10:13 PM
Welcome Izzat, moody and Yi Duan to ReCom family~!
Izzat, ReCom will be the best place for you to meet people, from all races... Izzat, post more in ReCom, this is the best place for you to learn English. We all learn together. If you have any question on English, there is a thread on that, and you can post it up and ask. No one is making fun of others. It is a good environment for everyone to learn together, kay? Try to find stuff to do and think of what is the next step. If you have a will, there is a way.
Moozy, good luck on your JPA~! You can spend more time in ReCom too~!
Yi Duan, welcome to ReCom~! Definitely hope that you can help to spread the craze of ReCom to UK~! You have a very wide circle of friends, so definitely, you should have no problem in spreading the news... Quite a number of those in ATU 7 are here...
To all Welcome to ReCom~! To those people who are free and want to learn something, check out ReCom E-Learning. Free online lecture notes from many prestigious universities.... Just go to ReCom's main page and among those icons, look for a computer icon and click on it....Go ReCom~!
29-04-2004, 03:58 PM
welcome everyone! hope you guys find ReCom is fun as i think it is. Get all you can from ReCom and help spread the ReComLoving-virus to your friends.
have fun!
tracyl
30-04-2004, 02:07 AM
hi, i'm a newbie! just joined like.. er two days ago
this is a great sitE!! there's so many interesting thing on it n it is very informative too! ppl who post here are matured in thinking n have a wide knowledge too!! makes me realise how ignorant i am~ :P
okie, i'm from kuching, sarawak and my internet nickname is tracyl~
erm, i was from smk kuchinghigh, it's situated on a hill and we always joke that if kuchinghigh is flooded, most of kuching will also b flooded already. :P
oh ya, i'm a spm 2003 leaver too, waiting for jpa also. but feel very anxious cuz i realised that there are many ppl here waiting for it. so.. guess its really hard to get huh.> mayb i will b stuck in form 6..
as for food, i like sarawak laksa~ YuMMYy!! kolo mee,salad chicken rice n of cuz, ais kacang!!! :P
oh.. and to add, i got the asean scholarship for the second intake.. so i guess i won't be stuck in f6 afterall? hmm.. though haven't send up my acceptance letter.....
30-04-2004, 02:20 AM
this is a great sitE!! there's so many interesting thing on it n it is very informative too! ppl who post here are matured in thinking n have a wide knowledge too!! makes me realise how ignorant i am~ :P
actually, most of us here just sound more knowledgeable than we actually are, me included. we're not that great.:D
Iceheart_Firebreath
30-04-2004, 02:29 AM
Hi, Sylvien here. 19, going to Perth in July to do Mass Comm. Hope to learn a lot from y'all - I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the super-scholars here. :)
ydho_6
30-04-2004, 07:45 AM
chiam yu!!! welcome!!! long time no see...
hey guys... believe me chiam yu is a great student! hehehe... help u do promotion! a nice sweet girl, very polite and good at what she does!
good luck for ur application! ganbate kudasai!
30-04-2004, 07:59 AM
Welcome Tracyl to ReCom family~! Nice to know that you enjoy visiting ReCom~! Hope that you can help spread the news about ReCom in East Malaysia... Good Luck for your JPA Scholarship~!
Welcome Sylvien to join ReCom family too~! Hopefully you can help spread the news around too~! I think all of us here are learning from one another and with the synergy around, make ReCom a very nice place. There is always something that I can learn from every single time I log into ReCom and I log into ReCom very often...
SHuLy
01-05-2004, 09:22 PM
HI. i'm a new user here. i just registered seconds ago. frankly, i am a lil' "lost". anyway, i hope none of u hold any grudges towards wut i am writing here...in case it wastes space or time or wuteva not.
anyway, it seems that i'm supposed to introduce myself.??..well, here goes,
Shu Li, Tan. from Perak. 19 yrs-young!
currently studying at Taylors College, Subang Jaya
i am a PSD (JPA) scholar, UK-bound for MEDICINE.
doing Cambridge A Level currently, will be finishing next year.
anyone here from Taylors?
oh, i would really appreaciate if there is anyone here who is doing
medicine in UK to guide me thru the applications-especially in
choosing the universities. i haven't been to UK, nor do i have any
contacts with ppl over there. so i do not know how is the
environment there. any comments about any particular Uni there?
01-05-2004, 10:39 PM
Hi Shu Li.
a warm welcome to Recom.
Hope you enjoy your studies there at Taylor. although I graduated my A-level from the rival college Sunway, I believe taylor is not bad either.
Anyway, I believe there are a lot of people doing medicine here at Recom. For more info, you can go to SIG-Medicine http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Medicine. (or if the link doesn;t work, just click on SIG: every little thing about medicine. )
The members are diverse in background (like any other SIG). I think I came across a post by a medicine from UK, I think he/she from cambridge.
anyway, have fun at Recom.
02-05-2004, 12:43 AM
Welcome Shu Li to ReCom family~! Invite your friends to join here... Don't worry about being overwhelmed... We are all here being very friendly and as our founder, masterofnone says, check out medicine SIG and also I think there are some JPA scholars who are doing medicine in UK. One of them is Yee Leng.
And to those who are applying for JPA medicine currently, Shu Li will be a good resource for you guys to ask questions too. Good Luck~! Go to the mini world in the main page. Click on it and see who is in UK and message them....
KinkiKISS
02-05-2004, 12:50 AM
Hello..i juz joined recom a few days ago..
i was really suprise during my first visit to recom. U guys n girls look like a big family....
My name is phui sun, i m from Seremban, Negeri Sembilan. i m studying in taylors college now..doing A Levels programme.. Nice to be one of the family.. :D
02-05-2004, 03:52 AM
Welcome Phui Sun to join ReCom family~!
yeah, we are a bunch of fellow Malaysians, with the majority in the same age group, with the same inspiration and hopefully we all can share the same platform and discuss...
Hope that you can help to spread the words around and get even more people come and visit ReCom~!
02-05-2004, 04:08 PM
A warm welcome to all the newbies...can see the sudden increase in the number of taylors college students joining recom.... I'm from Taylors College too! But so sad to say that i'm leaving taylors real soon....hehe... To all the newcomers, enjoy ! I think sooner or later u will be like me. Addicted to recom!! ... :P
SHuLy
03-05-2004, 11:43 AM
thank you all for such a warm welcome. i'm truly amazed, as a newcomer, by the warmth shown here. truly, i am!
may i know who YEE LENG is?
taylors college-i'm sure some of us have bumped, but never knew each other's identity!!
since i am taking up medic, i am in the- PM (pre-medic)- class.
03-05-2004, 11:52 AM
I'm from the PM class too. It's true that we might bumped into each other....but judging by the number of students Taylor's College took in this year, we dont even know that we bumped into our friends! Taylors is just too crowded this year...even the library doesnt look like a library anymore. It's so noisy, books not arranged properly....and to look for the newspapers, we have to make one whole round the library! The worst is.....students have to line up and wait to use the computers in the library! Pity those SAM students....they've got a lot of assignments to do using the coms.
lee4ever
03-05-2004, 01:25 PM
MASTEROF_NONE wrote
The members are diverse in background (like any other SIG). I think I came across a post by a medicine from UK, I think he/she from cambridge.
Hmmm.... of late, I haven't been checking on recom quite regularly. A-Levels is just two weeks' away for me! So, naturally, I'm now a full-time 'mugger' in front of my books! Talk about last minute preparation.... *sigh*
Well, it seems that there ma be some ambiguity about my gender! :lol:
Let me put things straight. I'm actually a guy, not a girl. My name is Lee Shen-Han (does it sound like a girl's name?). Also, I'll only be a Cambridge medical student this coming October. Right now.... I'm still an A-Level student in good ol' INTEC UiTM.
To Shu Li and anyone else who are applying to the UK for medicine.
If you need any advice or anything about applying to study medicine in the UK, feel free to post your questions in the "Every Little Thing About Medicine" SIG. I'll try my best to help out.
Also, you can consult your UK-bound medic seniors in Taylor's too. There's a Taylor's student who also got accepted into Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge Uni. Her name's Lay Ping. Plus, I bet there're many others who got accepted into other UK medical schols in Taylor's.
03-05-2004, 11:22 PM
Welcome everyone here.. Shuly, if you are amazed by the warmth here, then you should spread the culture as well~!
For discussion on medicine, please go to the SIG
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Medicine
Hope that you guys can have a good discussion there~!