View Full Version : 12th International Youth Leadership Conference

13-10-2006, 07:58 PM
The 12th International Youth Leadership Conference is a week-long youth forum on world politics, international relations, and law. It will be held from 2nd to 7th January 2007 at Prague, Czech Republic.

The Most recent 11th IYLC conferences welcomed 150 students from an average of 50 different countries worldwide, with a strong emphasis on cross-cultural, international youth empowerment, and an open-minded exchange of different perspectives on global issues.

Participants play active roles in simulations of important world organizations:

-UN Security Council Crisis Meeting
-International Criminal Court Trial
-Model European Parliament Proceeding

Other conference activities include visits to foreign embassies, Czech Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Senate, group debates, banquet dinners, and free time to explore the beautiful streets of Prague.

I personally went through this conference in 2005, and I would say that it is a conference that helped us to learn a lot about international relations, especially inter-country relationships. When I was there, issues like EU Accession, Darfur, North Korea, Israel/Palestine etc were being examined.

For more details, go to the website (http://www.czechleadership.com/)

For this conference, it is a little pricey at 750 Euro. There are 30 scholarships available to partially subsidize the conference cost.

Again, I would like to encourage fellow ReComers to explore a lot of such conferences to benefit from it. The learning curve over such conferences are very steep, and it gives you a lot of great opportunities to learn from the world's best minds.

sunshine88
13-10-2006, 08:43 PM
i dun even have an international passport,chenchow.... :cry: 8)

awesomeming
14-10-2006, 11:12 AM
chenchow, how did you manage to get funding for your trip?

aikws
15-10-2006, 12:59 AM
This is not bad. But a lil expensive.

18-10-2006, 01:23 PM
For my trip, Cornell University sponsored USD500. And I use whatever I earn from working to subsidize the rest.

I would encourage you all to apply for the subsidized rate of Euro 375.

If you are in university, try to ask around for some grants.

They might have some grants to help support you.

serena87
18-10-2006, 02:23 PM
first of all,thank you chen chow,for sharing this infomation with us recommers.i am very interested in these sort of these sort of things and i would not have heard about it if u didnt post it here.
how does one apply for the partial waiver?ive tried searching through the website,but i couldnt find any information about it.

20-10-2006, 06:14 PM
first of all,thank you chen chow,for sharing this infomation with us recommers.i am very interested in these sort of these sort of things and i would not have heard about it if u didnt post it here.
how does one apply for the partial waiver?ive tried searching through the website,but i couldnt find any information about it.

The partial waiver information is at here (http://www.czechleadership.com/scholarship.php).

However, the deadline for application for partial scholarship is over for this conference. You could wait for the next conference in summer as well, to apply for its partial scholarship.

It is really great exposure going for such conferences. Really hope that fellow ReComers could share in ReCom such opportunities to provide information for fellow ReComers.

serena87
20-10-2006, 09:41 PM
ok.thanks chenchow.
ill consider applying for the conference in summer then.