View Full Version : Do you play an instrument?

24-10-2006, 02:56 PM
OK, let me start the ball rolling.

Do you play a musical instrument? What is it? How long have you played it? Until which grade or level have you achieved? Did you learn the instrument because of your own interest or was it because of your parents' request? How did you find the experience of learning the instrument?

Personally, I play the piano and I've been playing it for the past 9 years. I have obtained an Associate of Music, Australia, diploma and I first learnt it because of my interest in piano. Partly, it was also because of my fascination due to some of my relatives who can also play it.

I find music, generally, a wonderful experience. Music has allowed me to find enjoyment and self-satisfaction. Being the only child in the family, music has become my companion to release stress and boredom. Through music, I have found the ability to express my emotions. The mood of the music I play reflects the current mood of mine.

I must confess that it has not been easy learning the piano. There were, indeed, ups and downs and the training experience was a horrible one! Yet, after taking examinations and passing them with flying colours, I just couldn't help remembering how much I've gone through with training. When I first sat for my piano exam, my sight-reading was so poor that I scored 14 out of 21. 14 was the passing mark and I just passed it! My teacher drilled me on sight-reading so much that she even asked me to sight-read sonatas! Believe me, it was hell just to train on sight-reading! But hard work surely pays off, and in Grade 6, to my surprise, I scored 21 out of 21 for Sight Reading. In Grades 7 and 8, my Sight Reading was never below 19.

Personally, it is not the practising part that is difficult; it is the learning part. When one first learns the instrument, one just can't help feeling that an instrument isn't something that one can master easily, like a computer.

Oh, looks like I've forgotten to mention that I play the cello as well! However, I do not make it as my major, therefore, I'd never taken any examinations for cello. However, I've been playing it for six years already! Experience? I'll leave it to any cellists to answer that. Especially the part where the left-hand fingers are concerned. :lol:

LilDeviant
26-10-2006, 02:14 AM
Hi there, it's really great to have someone finally posted something in this SIG. Hmm, i play both the piano and the violin. I've been playing piano for the past..12 years?, love it and enjoy it dearly.

26-10-2006, 11:39 AM
Hi there, it's really great to have someone finally posted something in this SIG. Hmm, i play both the piano and the violin. I've been playing piano for the past..12 years?, love it and enjoy it dearly.

Now, that's a long time! What type of music are of your interest? Classical? Pop? Rock? Anything funky?

Personally, I like Classical music. My favourite composers include Chopin, Brahms, Beethoven, Debussy, Bach, Rimsky-Korsakov and Moussorgsky.

Favourite pieces? Hmm... Chopin's Revolutionary Etude, Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2, Brahms' Intermezzos, Debussy's Preludes and Moussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition.

26-10-2006, 11:40 AM
The above post was written by me. Sorry, I forgot to login. :P

LilDeviant
29-10-2006, 12:49 AM
Hi Henry, looks like you're really into classical huh. Personally, i prefer baroque and romantic pieces, which makes me a big fan of Bach and Chopin. Hmm, don't get me wrong, I do enjoy classical as well. As for the funky part, i guess i don't do much on that one, though i do play music from sibelius on and off.

day_dreamer
11-11-2006, 01:47 PM
YO !

I play the classical guitar ..
Have been playing it for ... 2 years ....
Just got my ABRSM Grade 5 .. barely pass it .. haha ~~

I'll challenge the Trinity Performer's Cert next year .. :lol:

12-11-2006, 08:10 PM
YO !

I play the classical guitar ..
Have been playing it for ... 2 years ....
Just got my ABRSM Grade 5 .. barely pass it .. haha ~~

I'll challenge the Trinity Performer's Cert next year .. :lol:

Wow, that's extremely fast! Two years and you got yourself an ABRSM Grade 5?

Don't rush, though. I'm sure you have all the time you want to study music properly. Challenging Trinity Performer's Certificate next year after ABRSM Grade 5 isn't such a good idea, especially when there are a lot of techniques to master. However, if you're really serious into taking up that challenge, you have my best wishes!

I have never sat for the Performer's Certificate Examination before because I have never taken any examinations from Trinity College London. My Grades 1 to 8 were from ABRSM, and I got my Associate of Music, Australia diploma from Australian Music Examinations Board immediately after getting my ABRSM Grade 8 results. Next year, I'm planning to take the Diploma in Public Performance by Australian GUILD of Speech & Music to obtain the Dip.PP.AGM title. The level is comparable to the Licentiate Diploma level.

18-11-2006, 04:12 PM
henry_yew....really envy u laa.....

I play piano either.....and that's the best and favourite hobby for me aft listening to music and online....

I learn piano until Grade 8, but only gt Grade 7 cert.....I was in form 2 tat time when I failed the Grade 8 piano exam...then I sat for Grade 8 exam again in Form 3...but due to my PMR and cocu.....I din practice much and I failed again.....I still remember the day I knew abt my failure...I actually cried, yelled and threw the exam results in dustbin once I received it......(heheh...malunya :oops: ).....since then, I stopped my piano lesson and hate piano so much...

but as time passed, things changed....now, playing piano is one of my best ways to release tension and get into the world of relaxation.....I try to practice some chopin, Tchaikovsky, Brahms, Schubert and Debussy's pieces by myself....yea...really tough....then I oso try up some pop song and instrumental songs.....but so far, I like Richard Clayderman's pieces most :wink:

wendy191
02-01-2007, 10:31 AM
well,i played piano for the past....13 years?yupe,started piano since 5.anyway,after i passed my grade 8 in form 2 i stopped piano lesson.no doubt,i love music very much.recently focusing on my clarinet.oh ya,i am a clarinetist.now joining in PSWO(perak symphonic wind orchestra) and preparing for the concert coming soon in this february.i love band music,new age,sentimental and classical(mind u,not all composers).Music enrich my life.yes,truly it nourishes my body and soul.love it.

ChocoChris
26-04-2007, 10:35 PM
hi there,
it seems that are almost no brass instrument players hre. Weird.

Anyway, I play the Euphonium and trombone. Started playing the Euphonium when i joined my secondary school band. I agree that the learning process is very hard. THe first few years was like Hell to me.( I was the special "black sheep" in my batch, bad in everything.) Only after years of self exploring did i reach my current state (Still not that good). Then i started on the trombone since 2005. I just got rather hooked on these 2 instruments!

Hoping to try out a clarinet in the future.

I love all kinds of classical music, baroque, romatic pieces, valses......

My fav composers are Dvorak, GUstav Holst, Beethoven, Piazolla and some modern composers Steven Reineke, Jacob De Hann.....

day_dreamer
27-04-2007, 12:24 PM
hi there,
it seems that are almost no brass instrument players hre. Weird.

Anyway, I play the Euphonium and trombone. Started playing the Euphonium when i joined my secondary school band. I agree that the learning process is very hard. THe first few years was like Hell to me.( I was the special "black sheep" in my batch, bad in everything.) Only after years of self exploring did i reach my current state (Still not that good). Then i started on the trombone since 2005. I just got rather hooked on these 2 instruments!

Hoping to try out a clarinet in the future.

I love all kinds of classical music, baroque, romatic pieces, valses......

My fav composers are Dvorak, GUstav Holst, Beethoven, Piazolla and some modern composers Steven Reineke, Jacob De Hann.....

Wow... Amazing, I always envy brass players... Cost I can't stand the metal's smell.. and my palm is a bit sensitive to hold those instuments when it gets sweaty...

-ELaiNE-
30-04-2007, 03:31 PM
OMG..you guys really are music geniuses..passing grade 8 in form 2? Did you guys skip many grades or...? I have been playing piano for 9 years..started at the age of 8..well,it was my mom's idea to enrol me..but as i grew older i learned to appreciate the beauty of music and now, playing the piano is one of my passions. I'm preparing to sit for my grade 8 exam next year 2008(already began practice as early as this year)but the exam pieces are damn hard man..i'm suffering,especially at the fugue sections..sometimes i feel like giving up but it would be such a waste to do so at this stage. I was never a high achiever in my piano exams(most of the times i just passed..my grade 6 marks were 118)perhaps i lack the talent..or maybe practice..lol.. :lol: My weakest sections are sight reading and aural tests..nearly fail them at times. :oops: How is it possible to score 21/21 for sight reading?? 8O Generally i fare better at theory..although i didn't study much i somehow managed to pass with merits my grade 7 theory. Planning to sit for Grade 8 theory this August..hopefully the same magic will happen(ok..i know fat hopes,right?) These days i'm more into playing contemporary pieces..theme songs from TVB dramas and other chinese singers. They are relatively easier. Don't get me wrong, i love classical and baroque pieces as well. My favourite is Canon in D by Pachelbel and Four Seasons Spring by Vivaldi. I prefer sonatas to other forms of music. :D

-ELaiNE-
30-04-2007, 03:36 PM
OMG..you guys really are music geniuses..passing grade 8 in form 2? Did you guys skip many grades or...? I have been playing piano for 9 years..started at the age of 8..well,it was my mom's idea to enrol me..but as i grew older i learned to appreciate the beauty of music and now, playing the piano is one of my passions. I'm preparing to sit for my grade 8 exam next year 2008(already began practice as early as this year)but the exam pieces are damn hard man..i'm suffering,especially at the fugue sections..sometimes i feel like giving up but it would be such a waste to do so at this stage. I was never a high achiever in my piano exams(most of the times i just passed..my grade 6 marks were 118)perhaps i lack the talent..or maybe practice..lol.. :lol: My weakest sections are sight reading and aural tests..nearly fail them at times. :oops: How is it possible to score 21/21 for sight reading?? 8O Generally i fare better at theory..although i didn't study much i somehow managed to pass with merits my grade 7 theory. Planning to sit for Grade 8 theory this August..hopefully the same magic will happen(ok..i know fat hopes,right?) These days i'm more into playing contemporary pieces..theme songs from TVB dramas and other chinese singers. They are relatively easier. Don't get me wrong, i love classical and baroque pieces as well. My favourite is Canon in D by Pachelbel and Four Seasons Spring by Vivaldi. I prefer sonatas to other forms of music. :D

wendy191
01-05-2007, 10:22 AM
Elaine,
aha,i sense yr stress.anyway,grade 8 is not a piece of cake.practice more and develop personal style.i know u have the cd for the pieces you have chosen,but try not to imitate each and everything.express the pieces in yr own way.it seems the same pieces played by different ppl will have the different color tone and expressions.maybe u can try this--sit down,take yr pieces,pick a pencil and try to flow the melody in yr brain.add necessary expressions(eg:dynamic contrast,mayb some rit. at particular part,etc.).watch out the details and brush up.u could record while playing,then listen again and discover the mistakes.i did this last time and i think it was quite effective.sight reading was my weakest part last time but thank god,after joining a community band,suddenly my sight reading improved by leaps and bounds.it just simply no reason and the only clue is u get the pulse of the music.watch out the accidentals before u play.bear in mind,NEVER stop and repeat no matter what when u r doing sight reading.u don't need to rush when playing,just take yr time and feel easy.
good luck!

-ELaiNE-
08-05-2007, 03:13 PM
Wendy,
Thanks a lot for your advice. I will practise my pieces more often. As for sight reading, i tend to repeat the notes i got wrong..will try to refrain myself from doing that. Even scales for grade 8 is killing...zzz...

livern
09-05-2007, 12:28 PM
hello music people!
as for me, i've completed my piano grade 8. i'm most proud of my theory grade 8, cuz i got a distinction and got 70 pounds for it. ahaha. Actually, i HATED playing the piano. i ABSOLUTELY hated it. My teacher was rili..... how do u say.... fierce is an understatement. haha. Before my piano class, i would get all kinds of sicknesses like stomachache, dizziness, etc. even nausea. i would feel like throwing up. no kidding. but i suddenly came to like it. i duno why. i'm not rilli good at playing but i still do it.
i'm actually into drums. in fact, i'm the drummer. side drums, jazz drums, bass drums, tenor drums.. i play em all.
im currently in the process of learning guitar.. but it's rili hard for me, cuz it's really painful - all my fingers like got longkang ady.. ahaha. i would rili, rili like to learn to play the bass.. Bass players are so cool!!

yhc
15-05-2007, 12:07 PM
i play piano since the age of 8, my mum taught me those thing in grade 1 before i went for a formal teacher. The reason i started to play piano could be that my siblings [sis n bro] were learning piano and i would like to learn it as well. I used to dance around when my sis was playing the piano. Then i took my grade 2 practical and theory grade 3 at the age of 10. I like to play piano, and i would say that i have a passion in it, but due to lack of practises, i got the mark just enough to pass for my practical. cant cry over spilt milk now... Later on, i took my grade 8 practical when i was f4, and i failed it, failed again when i took it in f5......bad huh, not enough of practises. Now, after spm, i dont sit for piano exam, but i still play it when i have leisure time. It's fun, playing piano is an expression of the feelings to me.

-ELaiNE-
19-05-2007, 02:48 PM
hello music people!
as for me, i've completed my piano grade 8. i'm most proud of my theory grade 8, cuz i got a distinction and got 70 pounds for it. ahaha. Actually, i HATED playing the piano. i ABSOLUTELY hated it. My teacher was rili..... how do u say.... fierce is an understatement. haha. Before my piano class, i would get all kinds of sicknesses like stomachache, dizziness, etc. even nausea. i would feel like throwing up. no kidding. but i suddenly came to like it. i duno why. i'm not rilli good at playing but i still do it.
i'm actually into drums. in fact, i'm the drummer. side drums, jazz drums, bass drums, tenor drums.. i play em all.
im currently in the process of learning guitar.. but it's rili hard for me, cuz it's really painful - all my fingers like got longkang ady.. ahaha. i would rili, rili like to learn to play the bass.. Bass players are so cool!!

I would love to learn drums too! They look really cool..and from whom did you receive the 70 pounds after obtaining distinction for grd 8 theory? Is it an award of some kind from ABRSM? If it is,i'll be even more geared up to ace my theory grd 8..lol :D

-ELaiNE-
19-05-2007, 03:14 PM
i play piano since the age of 8, my mum taught me those thing in grade 1 before i went for a formal teacher. The reason i started to play piano could be that my siblings [sis n bro] were learning piano and i would like to learn it as well. I used to dance around when my sis was playing the piano. Then i took my grade 2 practical and theory grade 3 at the age of 10. I like to play piano, and i would say that i have a passion in it, but due to lack of practises, i got the mark just enough to pass for my practical. cant cry over spilt milk now... Later on, i took my grade 8 practical when i was f4, and i failed it, failed again when i took it in f5......bad huh, not enough of practises. Now, after spm, i dont sit for piano exam, but i still play it when i have leisure time. It's fun, playing piano is an expression of the feelings to me.

You mean your piano is up to grade 7 only? You didn't re-sit for grade 8 after spm? Don't you think it's a waste? I'm now doing form 6 and my schedule is really hectic. I'm aware that grade 8 practical needs lots of practice and commitment..so does form 6 if i were to score all A's. I'm doubting if i should continue my piano lessons. Half of me felt like giving up while the other half felt that i should strive to the max..what should i do?

yhc
20-05-2007, 01:20 AM
You mean your piano is up to grade 7 only? You didn't re-sit for grade 8 after spm? Don't you think it's a waste? I'm now doing form 6 and my schedule is really hectic. I'm aware that grade 8 practical needs lots of practice and commitment..so does form 6 if i were to score all A's. I'm doubting if i should continue my piano lessons. Half of me felt like giving up while the other half felt that i should strive to the max..what should i do?

Yea, grade 7 only. nop, i dont re-sit after spm, well maybe it's a waste, but i dont think it is...plus i'm going to study in college, how to practise? this could just be an excuse, but i thought of re-sit for grade 5 again to get better result , maybe distinction, if i really really wanna re-sit the practical exam...crazy me..hehe

I understand that it's really hectic to do such things other bookworms will not say "yes" at all, especially in form 5, form 6. well, my experience in form 5, i was doing the queen's guide thingy, conducting the choir, taking risk to take extra subjects in SPM without any tuition, .....and having the same feeling like u now, half felt like giving up, the other half felt that i wanna get to the peak, at last i chose to challenge myself, and i'm now glad that i did gave myself challenges like these. I get to learn more than others......i always think so "the more i do, the more i learn."

I'm sure that u can do it if u can manage ur time wisely. try ur best....good luck!!! :D

livern
22-05-2007, 12:37 PM
hello music people!

I would love to learn drums too! They look really cool..and from whom did you receive the 70 pounds after obtaining distinction for grd 8 theory? Is it an award of some kind from ABRSM? If it is,i'll be even more geared up to ace my theory grd 8..lol :D

it's called Hedy King Robinson Prize For Theory Of Music. ok.. i dun really noe how to explain it so i'll just type the whole thing down ok? its on the letter they sent to me.
"This prize has been generously endowed by the late Mr. James T.Robinson Jr. of Phenix City, Alabama. It is named in memory of his wife Hedy.
Mr Robinson felt that although excelence in performance was often awarded, high standards in the study of music theory were neglected. He therefore decided to offer this prize to help redress the balance.
Awards will be distributed as follows:-
1)For candidates who take their examinations in USA, awards will be made to all those achieveing full marks in Grades 1 to 5 and Distinction marks (90+) in Grades 6 to 8
2) For candidates who take their examinations outside the USA, awards will be made to all those achieveing Distinction marks (90+) in Grades 6 to 8.
The value of the awards will vary according to the number of eligible candidates."
There. it's some ABRSM award. in grade 7, i ALMOST failed my theory. i passed by 2marks. haha. and 2 of my classmates got the award. they got 50pounds! me, being the really kiasu type.. worked harder the next year, to say the least. well i guess this year less ppl got it so i got 70pounds instead of 50. haha. work hard towards it!! u can do it!

-ELaiNE-
24-05-2007, 06:37 PM
hello music people!

it's called Hedy King Robinson Prize For Theory Of Music. ok.. i dun really noe how to explain it so i'll just type the whole thing down ok? its on the letter they sent to me.
"This prize has been generously endowed by the late Mr. James T.Robinson Jr. of Phenix City, Alabama. It is named in memory of his wife Hedy.
Mr Robinson felt that although excelence in performance was often awarded, high standards in the study of music theory were neglected. He therefore decided to offer this prize to help redress the balance.
Awards will be distributed as follows:-
1)For candidates who take their examinations in USA, awards will be made to all those achieveing full marks in Grades 1 to 5 and Distinction marks (90+) in Grades 6 to 8
2) For candidates who take their examinations outside the USA, awards will be made to all those achieveing Distinction marks (90+) in Grades 6 to 8.
The value of the awards will vary according to the number of eligible candidates."
There. it's some ABRSM award. in grade 7, i ALMOST failed my theory. i passed by 2marks. haha. and 2 of my classmates got the award. they got 50pounds! me, being the really kiasu type.. worked harder the next year, to say the least. well i guess this year less ppl got it so i got 70pounds instead of 50. haha. work hard towards it!! u can do it!

Thanks for the info, livern..i never knew about the existence of such an award. I don't think my piano teacher knows about it either..haha..thanks again for sharing. I got merits for grade 7 theory but i'm not really confident on grade 8..guess i'll have to buck up(i mean really buck up)in order to obtain a distinction for grade 8..lol.. :D

01-06-2007, 04:10 PM
Ah ChocoChris, kawan kawan I also play the Trombone :) Let's see, 16 years already by now?

If you stop by S'pore, remember to attend my concerts :)

truthseeker
01-06-2007, 08:52 PM
I have been playing the piano since I was five. I was not very interested at the time but I learnt on anyway. Until when i was grade 6, my teacher gave me my first pop song--Winter Sonata. Only then i realise my interest though i do not deny that one must learn classical before they play pop song as the classical songs determine ones foundation and the mastery of skills and techniques. I stop learning after i passed my grade 8 but i am currently learning guitar. Gonna stop soon to concentrate on my studies.

sugarspice
04-06-2007, 09:51 PM
I was really glad that Henry kicked-off this thread. Thank ya!

As for intro, I am in form 5 now and will be sitting the scary SPM this coming November. I play the piano and have been playing it since I was in primary year 2. Now I have finished both theory and practical ABRSM Grade 8 and got MERIT for both- 125/150 for practical and 80% for theory, if I am not mistaken. I consider myself as lucky because I didn?t really deserve scores that high. Honestly, the examiner of mine during my Grade 8 practical exam was supremely lenient. Usually I don?t perform that well during exam as I found the piano keys are harder to press and I had very hard times in controlling the dynamics. It was like if you press harder, it?d be very loud and if you press a bit lighter, you?d hear nothing. That?s the main problem I faced during every practical exams. So, in grade 8, my articulations for the three pieces were no good and there were a lot of ?missing notes?. Besides, for scale, I did badly too. I played the whole arpeggio wrongly. Wrong key, wrong inversion! Perhaps I was a bundle of nerves that time. Yea, my hands were always cold and hard in that exam room. But the funny thing was I got 19 upon 21 for scales which was quite a shock for me. At times, you know, luck plays a part.

As for my grade 8 theory, I did a very stupid mistake?I wrote ?slow? for the Italian term mesto. It should be ?sad?. Oh my god, as far as I know this term is from grade 1 or 2 theory. Ahahaha! Anyway I didn?t really prepare well for theory. I did all the memorizing (foreign terms & orchestra stuff) only one day before the exam. How amazing! And now, I gotta thank God for not making my mark 79, which is one mark more to MERIT. Haha!

Well, to be frank, I never liked music the time I first started to attend piano lessons. I learn music just because my sister was learning too and I was kinda ?kiashu?. All together there were 6 piano teachers who taught me all these years. I meant I ?changed piano teacher? for 5 times. The last piano teacher who taught me is the best of all. She is teaching in YAMAHA. Well I am confident to get distinction for every grade should she teach me from grade 1. I know you guys especially students in KL get distinction for both Grade 8 theory and practical. Wah really admire them loh! But I think they are born with the music talent.

Do you guys have perfect pitch? Every time when my friends ask whether I have perfect pitch, I will feel down as I don?t have it.
Their response was something like:
?What? You finished your grade 8 and you?? and followed by a profusely perplexed look. 8O
Well, you know, when others expect something from you and then you disappoint them, and it?ll be??
Sigh.

My opinion is that one who learns music ought to have perfect pitch. With perfect pitch, they (we) can identify notes, chords, and even compose with ease. By the way, if I took J course (a Japanese course, think you should know about it. It?s much more difficult & complicated than ABRSM), I might have perfect pitch by now. But what?s over is over. I have to accept the fact that I am not born with music talent, after all.

I hope I can somehow train myself to have perfect pitch after my SPM. Once I came across a book entitled ?How To Sing Well? in MPH bookstore. It immediately caught my attention and I looked up and down for ways to train one to have perfect pitch. According to the book, in order to achieve perfect pitch (also called the absolute pitch), we need to sing ?do, re, mi, fa, so? and so on. We need to sing more and listen more. The book didn?t state clearly ?how?, though.
To all of you that possess perfect pitch, can you all roughly tell me how did you achieve that?

Thank you. :D

Shannon
10-06-2007, 01:17 AM
Lol...great thread for music enthusiasts!

I play the piano and the violin...Finished my Grade 8 in piano, but quite a noob in Violin...hehe...Only Grade 4...

I started young, so, I guess that sparked off my interest...Decided to learn violin after finishing my Grade 8, and no regrets!!! :D :D I love it!!! Recently, I just entered the PJ Philharmonic as a second Violinist...more songs to play...haha... :D

violkhor
10-06-2007, 12:44 PM
Heya music lovers... i play the violin and LOVE classical music.. merely passed my grade 8 violin last year... i started quite late , around 10 yrs old and has been playing the violin ever since... at first i think that playing violin is boring.. but as i progress to higher grades my perception changed... playing violin is so much fun!! i get to play great music and listen to many great pieces... one of my favourite is sergei rachmaninov's piano concerto no 2.... anyway have u guys been to malaysia phil or any orchestras? mind to share your experiences?

lawteoh
08-07-2007, 07:48 PM

So you are in Form 6 now? lol..

btw, I hate THEORY so so much!!! Starting from grade 6 to 8..

But I love practical!! Am I weird? lol...

Erm... just pass with merit in my grade 8 practical 2 years ago... so, hey, should I continue on with diploma? Any advice?

Cause basically, I din train much.. now I only play by chords and ear.. If you ask me to play my grade 8 pieces again, I think I need a few months to get adjusted again.. hehe..

lawteoh
08-07-2007, 07:50 PM
I was really glad that Henry kicked-off this thread. Thank ya!

As for intro, I am in form 5 now and will be sitting the scary SPM this coming November. I play the piano and have been playing it since I was in primary year 2. Now I have finished both theory and practical ABRSM Grade 8 and got MERIT for both- 125/150 for practical and 80% for theory, if I am not mistaken. I consider myself as lucky because I didn?t really deserve scores that high. Honestly, the examiner of mine during my Grade 8 practical exam was supremely lenient. Usually I don?t perform that well during exam as I found the piano keys are harder to press and I had very hard times in controlling the dynamics. It was like if you press harder, it?d be very loud and if you press a bit lighter, you?d hear nothing. That?s the main problem I faced during every practical exams. So, in grade 8, my articulations for the three pieces were no good and there were a lot of ?missing notes?. Besides, for scale, I did badly too. I played the whole arpeggio wrongly. Wrong key, wrong inversion! Perhaps I was a bundle of nerves that time. Yea, my hands were always cold and hard in that exam room. But the funny thing was I got 19 upon 21 for scales which was quite a shock for me. At times, you know, luck plays a part.

As for my grade 8 theory, I did a very stupid mistake?I wrote ?slow? for the Italian term mesto. It should be ?sad?. Oh my god, as far as I know this term is from grade 1 or 2 theory. Ahahaha! Anyway I didn?t really prepare well for theory. I did all the memorizing (foreign terms & orchestra stuff) only one day before the exam. How amazing! And now, I gotta thank God for not making my mark 79, which is one mark more to MERIT. Haha!

Well, to be frank, I never liked music the time I first started to attend piano lessons. I learn music just because my sister was learning too and I was kinda ?kiashu?. All together there were 6 piano teachers who taught me all these years. I meant I ?changed piano teacher? for 5 times. The last piano teacher who taught me is the best of all. She is teaching in YAMAHA. Well I am confident to get distinction for every grade should she teach me from grade 1. I know you guys especially students in KL get distinction for both Grade 8 theory and practical. Wah really admire them loh! But I think they are born with the music talent.

Do you guys have perfect pitch? Every time when my friends ask whether I have perfect pitch, I will feel down as I don?t have it.
Their response was something like:
?What? You finished your grade 8 and you?? and followed by a profusely perplexed look. 8O
Well, you know, when others expect something from you and then you disappoint them, and it?ll be??
Sigh.

My opinion is that one who learns music ought to have perfect pitch. With perfect pitch, they (we) can identify notes, chords, and even compose with ease. By the way, if I took J course (a Japanese course, think you should know about it. It?s much more difficult & complicated than ABRSM), I might have perfect pitch by now. But what?s over is over. I have to accept the fact that I am not born with music talent, after all.

I hope I can somehow train myself to have perfect pitch after my SPM. Once I came across a book entitled ?How To Sing Well? in MPH bookstore. It immediately caught my attention and I looked up and down for ways to train one to have perfect pitch. According to the book, in order to achieve perfect pitch (also called the absolute pitch), we need to sing ?do, re, mi, fa, so? and so on. We need to sing more and listen more. The book didn?t state clearly ?how?, though.
To all of you that possess perfect pitch, can you all roughly tell me how did you achieve that?

Thank you. :D

Guys seldom do have perfect pitch.. please.. I screwed up my aural test everytime.. lolx.. But I think one ought to join the chir or have some professional training if you really want to have the perfect pitch.. hehe

08-07-2007, 08:10 PM
Just want to make sure you're not getting the wrong "idea" about perfect pitch. Perfect pitch means the ability to recognize a frequency (say 440Hz) and place it on the abstract western musical notation system (in this case the A above middle C).

That's usually not a prerequisite to play or sing well. One needs only to recognize the "relative pitch", which is what those aural exams who keep asking you to recognize intervals are for. In other words, given a particular note, you should be able to immediately play / sing another intended note by thinking relative to that benchmark. It's the same in reverse, when given a note, you can use some form of benchmark to decide what note it is.

And many people (including myself) "fake" perfect pitch that way - take singing. Because I know the lowest note on my vocal chord is a low F, when someone play a note and ask me "what note is this", I'll "compare" it with this lowest note I can sing. So if someone played a C, I would recognize the perfect 5th interval between the note and my F I hum, and work backwards to get the C. This is _not_ perfect pitch.

Well i hope you get the idea :)

Anyway, to everyone who took exams - it's just an EXAM!!! Music is so much more than exams ok.

lawteoh
12-07-2007, 11:25 PM
Just want to make sure you're not getting the wrong "idea" about perfect pitch. Perfect pitch means the ability to recognize a frequency (say 440Hz) and place it on the abstract western musical notation system (in this case the A above middle C).

That's usually not a prerequisite to play or sing well. One needs only to recognize the "relative pitch", which is what those aural exams who keep asking you to recognize intervals are for. In other words, given a particular note, you should be able to immediately play / sing another intended note by thinking relative to that benchmark. It's the same in reverse, when given a note, you can use some form of benchmark to decide what note it is.

And many people (including myself) "fake" perfect pitch that way - take singing. Because I know the lowest note on my vocal chord is a low F, when someone play a note and ask me "what note is this", I'll "compare" it with this lowest note I can sing. So if someone played a C, I would recognize the perfect 5th interval between the note and my F I hum, and work backwards to get the C. This is _not_ perfect pitch.

Well i hope you get the idea :)

Anyway, to everyone who took exams - it's just an EXAM!!! Music is so much more than exams ok.

I think I understand... but stil blur in some parts.. ah.. nevermind..

Erm.. I think in exam like Guildhall, most of us will just guess out the intervals.. dunno why.. quite difficult to differentiate between the intervals.. but at least my guesses are accurate.. lol..

So, erm.. u stil taking exam or graduate from it dy now?

ballackahn
23-11-2007, 10:25 AM
yes i do play

im a amateur drummer and percussionist. self taught though.

it all started when i joined in the primary school brass band. i got hooked up all the way till i finished secondary school.

then, i channeled the passion into drum sets, learning and listening to grooves to learn. focuses on punk and rock music. but now is working on swing and jazz.

plays guitar too. but at the level of "pemain tepi tembok".piano illiterate. how i wich if i can learn one day.

chele
11-01-2008, 11:38 PM
Heya everyone!!! :P
i have been learning piano since i was 5...started a junior class at a yamaha school...although so, the teachers who taught me come and go..tat's why my progress is really slow :oops: currently spm-leaver and finally i reached grade 8..=) but telling you the truth, only not long ago i found the true meaning of 'music' itself!! :D
Rachmaninov's piano concerto no 2 is my personal favourite!!!! always dreaming of playing it one day :oops: haha..
I love the cello too!! but didnt really has a chance to learn it =P
To all music lovers, thank you for sharing your experiences!!! :wink:

livern
26-01-2008, 02:16 PM
i just attended a philharmonic orchestra performance on woodwind instruments!!!
OMG I SOOOO WANA PLAY OBOE NOW!!! anyone here noes how to play oboe???
the sound is just soooooooooooo mesmerizing!

seiken
27-01-2008, 09:23 AM
Hmm...Anyone plays the organ a.k.a. Electone here? I broke from the tradition and went to learn organ instead. Under Yamaha Musician Course.

I've been playing the Electone for the past 10 years...but I didn't complete the course though. Stopped at Grade 7 bcoz of SPM...and then no longer continuing..Hahaha.

Since the organ also uses keyboards, I can play piano too. I've been trying my hands on the guitar as well...hahaha...but not good in both

reedhus
31-01-2008, 10:57 PM
i used to play the organ too...under yamaha...but fairly basic knowledge only...now been playin self taught guitar for 3 yrs...rhythm guitarist level only...not yet lead...hehe

dennisssj
24-04-2008, 03:20 PM
hmm.. i started my music(piano+theory) lesson at the age of 9. Took ABRSM grade 2(piano+theory) the following year and got a distinction. Then i skipped grade 3 and proceeded to grade 4 a year later. I do encourage those who can cope with it to skip grades, especially lower grades as the exam fees are so expensive. Form 1-4(2003-2006), took Grade 5-8. Passed them mostly with merits.

Tell you what, i merely passed my grade 6 theory(68/100), but i passed my grade 7 and 8 with merits, and i nearly got distinction for my grade 8, 4 marks to go to get the 70 bucks.. haiz..

i discontinued taking Diploma exams due to expensive fees+lack of professional teachers+SPM coming(i mean last year). But i took part in Choir as the pianist and gladly emerged as the 2nd runner up in state level, just to make sure i still touch the piano.

now, my interest towards piano playing has gone lower and lower. I wish i can take up violin soon, but later going for form 6/pre-U/get JPA scholarship, etc...

to share what i dislike about piano exams(ABRSM only) is still sight reading, i seldom passed my sight reading but i was lucky enough to pass it during my grade 8 exams. I like scales(and arpeggios) the most, practised like hell before exams, there're helpful, especially for fingers training(some might said Hanon).

theory(for ABRSM only), i like the part in Question 4 and 5 from grade 6 onwards. It's challenging, but i got full marks for one of it in grade 7 and 8, amazing right? i never thought i'll get full marks.

lastly, good luck for those who will be taking exams. do go to other forums like forums.abrsm.org and ask some technical questions to some pros there.. haha!

dennis~~

shakira
24-04-2008, 03:25 PM
i know how to play the organ and the piano... i've stopped both of them... i am always moving so it is quite impossible to bring the piano around.

ohyying
24-04-2008, 04:02 PM
hmm.. i started my music(piano+theory) lesson at the age of 9. Took ABRSM grade 2(piano+theory) the following year and got a distinction. Then i skipped grade 3 and proceeded to grade 4 a year later. I do encourage those who can cope with it to skip grades, especially lower grades as the exam fees are so expensive. Form 1-4(2003-2006), took Grade 5-8. Passed them mostly with merits.

Tell you what, i merely passed my grade 6 theory(68/100), but i passed my grade 7 and 8 with merits, and i nearly got distinction for my grade 8, 4 marks to go to get the 70 bucks.. haiz..

i discontinued taking Diploma exams due to expensive fees+lack of professional teachers+SPM coming(i mean last year). But i took part in Choir as the pianist and gladly emerged as the 2nd runner up in state level, just to make sure i still touch the piano.

now, my interest towards piano playing has gone lower and lower. I wish i can take up violin soon, but later going for form 6/pre-U/get JPA scholarship, etc...

to share what i dislike about piano exams(ABRSM only) is still sight reading, i seldom passed my sight reading but i was lucky enough to pass it during my grade 8 exams. I like scales(and arpeggios) the most, practised like hell before exams, there're helpful, especially for fingers training(some might said Hanon).

theory(for ABRSM only), i like the part in Question 4 and 5 from grade 6 onwards. It's challenging, but i got full marks for one of it in grade 7 and 8, amazing right? i never thought i'll get full marks.

lastly, good luck for those who will be taking exams. do go to other forums like forums.abrsm.org and ask some technical questions to some pros there.. haha!

dennis~~

Hi...hmm...my interest in piano is declining oso...Started violin at 8....completed my Grade 8 last year....and piano..started at 11 and stopped one year in between....so managed to take Grade 7 last year...and due to SPM, i stopped both instruments right after my ABRSM practical exams...I was really lucky to have passed both of them....because of my unforeseen circumstances that took place at that time....

However, contrary to u...my strength lies in sight-reading...i really hated scales and arpeggios....n violin scales and arpeggios are not like piano...four octaves...u jz keep playing n playing....whereas violin's go up to 3 octaves only (for exams)...u needa really be accurate with your finger placements...even a slight difference makes a big difference in the sound...and worse...at different positions...the distance between two notes differs...unlike piano..where every key is spaced equally...

And...what proved to be my worst of the worst will be aural...haha...i hav poor rhythmic memory...i only score in the long questions....aha....i came to realise that music exams are not everything....n thats why now..i only play music for pleasure...anyways I have been an orchestra player since i was 9+ years old...from a junior orchestra (2000-2004) to a senior one (2004-now)...i recently got promoted to the senior orchestra's first violin...n yes..im struggling....this is the first time in my life i find sight-reading cheallenging...all this while i don't usually practice...i just go there and sight-read..n i was always able to pull it through....this time around....oh no....the notes get me crazy....but i take this as a challenge and will try my best to live up to the expectations =)...n i wish u all the best if u decide to pick up the violin...its a nice instrument...n till now, its my first choice....

summer
25-04-2008, 03:15 PM
harlo everyone..
i started 2 play piano when i m 13 years old(form1) .. quite old right? i hav learn piano for 5 yrs only.. haha.. i learn piano is due to my own interest.. i m now learning my theory Grade7.. Juz finish my grade 6 in march. n my practical is Grade5.. Going 2 take exam in tis august, i thk.. i perform quite bad in my aural n sight reading, as my fingers are not strong enough.. (since i started too late<my teacher told me) but i enjoy the time playing musics.. i like music in 19th century.. those which is romantic.. haha.. n my teacher ll always told me to play on pop songs as sight reading.. i passed my previous grade in distinction.. it was such as an motivation for me to do it even better.. n i like piano teacher so much.. she is such a kind n friendly person.. although i was lake of practice sometimes(when i took my spm last year) , she ll never scold me.. haha..
thats my brief experience 2 share with u all..

ohyying
25-04-2008, 03:36 PM
harlo everyone..
i started 2 play piano when i m 13 years old(form1) .. quite old right? i hav learn piano for 5 yrs only.. haha.. i learn piano is due to my own interest.. i m now learning my theory Grade7.. Juz finish my grade 6 in march. n my practical is Grade5.. Going 2 take exam in tis august, i thk.. i perform quite bad in my aural n sight reading, as my fingers are not strong enough.. (since i started too late<my teacher told me) but i enjoy the time playing musics.. i like music in 19th century.. those which is romantic.. haha.. n my teacher ll always told me to play on pop songs as sight reading.. i passed my previous grade in distinction.. it was such as an motivation for me to do it even better.. n i like piano teacher so much.. she is such a kind n friendly person.. although i was lake of practice sometimes(when i took my spm last year) , she ll never scold me.. haha..
thats my brief experience 2 share with u all..

Hi...i have seen my friends start piano at 14...but...wat i can say is...i really admire you people...so motivated...i tried putting myself in your shoes..n da answer i got from myself is dat if assuming i didn't learn music till i was 14...and then will i take it up.....my answer remains as a NO....coz then i won't be able to complete it before i start my tertiary education....but to see so many people being so motivated to do it....i felt like you guys deserve my admiration....and also to adult learners....but dun get mistaken....i learnt music 100% because of my interest...i cud still rber bugging my parents to let me learn violin at 6+....and then they didn't give in...coz afraid i would be like my bro who stopped music when he reached around 12 years old...coz he preferred computers....and i didn't stop bugging till i was 8...n dats when i went for my first music lesson...n am happy enuff to have completed the basic grades for violin...as for piano...i felt wasted....one last grade...i might continue after everything settles down (my further education)....

Caprio
25-04-2008, 04:05 PM
So many people here know how to play a music instrument. I myself don't know even one. If I have the opportunity, I definitely will grab it. The fees for learning a music instrument is very expensive. Hehe...

My preferrred music instrument is guitar. :)

yogurt_addict
25-04-2008, 04:52 PM
I started playing guitar since December 2007 (due to having too much free time after spm),
lol, i m able to play songs available with chords now...still learning and practicing my listening skill now so tht i can play without referring to chord book .
I found tht guitar is the second easiest instrument to learn.(for me the easiest is drum^^)
i wish someday i can play like Colbie Caillat~love bubbly so much^^

ZhannaC
02-05-2008, 02:03 AM
I used to take piano lessons..

And I think my piano teacher probably thought I was retarded. :laugh I hardly talked at all during lessons, I preferred giving the 'I dunno' attitude. I used to feel like a had a major exam that I wasn't prepared for coming up on the day of piano lesson.. for that whole day I'll feel so.. sick? Honestly, I hated the piano. I stopped right after I failed my grade 6. :P Perfect excuse! Haha. I failed because I hardly practised, as in, only practice time was during piano lessons.. And also because I was missing too many lessons as I used to join badminton tournaments all the time. Badminton vs. Piano.. Piano lost.. badly. Now that I look back, I kinda pity my piano teacher. She was so willing to replace all my missed lessons but I refused to replace them..:amuse

But a year or so after I stopped piano lessons.. I started playing songs again.. and found them enjoyable. :) If anything, I'll say that I can play harder pieces now than I ever did before.

I've started guitar lessons now, and find them enjoyable. I actually look forward to lessons, unlike piano days..

yummyummylicious
02-05-2008, 09:19 PM
i used to play brass instruments...but i guess i am one of the worst players in the world:P My teacher always gave me bad comments and scoulded me on my pitching and wrong notes and whatever...blahblahblah....didnt actually listen to him when he gave comments...:P
and i use to learn chinese traditional music instrument, i dont know what is it called in english but in chinese its called " gu zheng"...its a big piece of wood with strings on it...for those who watch Hong Kong dramas will definately know what is it and seen it b4, in those dramas, it is like a must for those rich girls born in a famous and wealthy family to learn this instrument...but sad, i quit learning after a few months...due to what reason? i cant even remember it...:P
and i tried learning piono b4 but quited also...emmm, i dont know the exact reason of quitting because i was 4 years old when i started the piono lesson and due to unknown reason, my mom stop sending me to piano classes...
and i regretted it a lot when i saw some of my friends playing piano nowadays...oh, how good it will be if i know piano too...:)
well, i guess i just dont have the talent in music...or am i just too lazy to learn...whateva...

runninghorse
02-05-2008, 09:38 PM
i am always wanting to learn piano since young and finally get myself started during last year school holidays...

but my fingers are like all stiff cant play according to notes well...

any suggestion here to soften my finger? hahaha:))

and i regretted it a lot when i saw some of my friends playing piano nowadays...oh, how good it will be if i know piano too...

well, you can start learning now if you really have the heart to it...

it is never too late to learn... me is a good example

yummyummylicious
02-05-2008, 09:49 PM
i am always wanting to learn piano since young and finally get myself started during last year school holidays...

but my fingers are like all stiff cant play according to notes well...

any suggestion here to soften my finger? hahaha:))

well, you can start learning now if you really have the heart to it...

it is never too late to learn... me is a good example

my plan is actually start learning when my kids learn it in future:P
i will learn with my children..lol...dont think i am kidding , i am serious, i will learn piano again in 8 years time? 10 years time? 15...20years maybe...depends when my kids wanna start the lesson...lolol...:P
but i am thinking of taking guitar lesson soon...take the express class which will be around a few months time , learn the basic and catch up the rest by my own...

runninghorse
02-05-2008, 10:03 PM
WOW!! your plan is so supreme.... Hahaha...

but why leh? wanna save $$ or...

but by that time do we still have time? as we have to focus on our carrer already loh...

yummyummylicious
02-05-2008, 10:19 PM
WOW!! your plan is so supreme.... Hahaha...

but why leh? wanna save $$ or...

but by that time do we still have time? as we have to focus on our carrer already loh...

it cant save $$ much either...more or less the same or even more exoensive in years to come...this is what my aunt doing, she is learning with her kids and practice with them...i think this is a good idea and will foolow her footsteps...
Well, about the time...its depends on how one manage his/her timetable...and i am sure those private piano teacher is always willing to arrange the timetable with the clients as their paid is sooooo expensive...

PaTiEnT
05-05-2008, 09:18 PM
hi everyone! :D

Started off with organ when I was 7 then clarinet and alto sax since then :) Grateful to my parents who sent me to learn how to play organ! Been a personal interest from then on. Joined school band, and was in an orchestra last year. Cheers~

05-05-2008, 09:32 PM
i learned piano at 6, violin at 9, and erhu at 10... i have stopped my piano and violin lesson... wish to continue... but is too costly... i would like to learn drum too... drum seens exciting...

Vaan
05-05-2008, 09:49 PM
Hey, I do play instruments. I can play piano, sidedrum and cymbals. I have played sidedrum and cymbals for the past 4 years while piano I have played for the past 11 years.

I played piano not because of parents request but rather a parents order. Hey, I am a boy but that doesn't mean I am a sissy just for playing piano.

I played sidedrum and cymbals cause I was chosen to join the school and scouts orchestra band. In the beginning as a solely as a piano player but later on, seniors and teachers started to train me for sidedrums and cymbals.

I find playing these instruments fun and interesting though I have to admit, I hate to learn them during the beginning cause it's real hard sometimes to learn and just play especially the sidedrum! :-)

lindley
05-05-2008, 09:50 PM
piano. been playing for ard, 12 years maybe?
lol.

oh. and guitar too xD

herm
05-05-2008, 10:47 PM
lindley,my ideal partner.

05-05-2008, 10:48 PM
Learned piano until 15 . But , I don't like piano , that's why I stop . Anyway , I am music lover and wish to learn other instrument~~

herm
05-05-2008, 10:51 PM
Ann,the same goes to u.

06-05-2008, 07:53 AM
Hey, I do play instruments. I can play piano, sidedrum and cymbals. I have played sidedrum and cymbals for the past 4 years while piano I have played for the past 11 years.

I played piano not because of parents request but rather a parents order. Hey, I am a boy but that doesn't mean I am a sissy just for playing piano.

I played sidedrum and cymbals cause I was chosen to join the school and scouts orchestra band. In the beginning as a solely as a piano player but later on, seniors and teachers started to train me for sidedrums and cymbals.

I find playing these instruments fun and interesting though I have to admit, I hate to learn them during the beginning cause it's real hard sometimes to learn and just play especially the sidedrum! :-)

waa... u learn so many instruments... what's cymbals???

Vaan
06-05-2008, 11:35 AM
waa... u learn so many instruments... what's cymbals???

Imagine ancient China, there is a gong where you hit it with a wooden stick then it goes, 'chiannnng'. Cymbals is two of these gongs but the smaller version, to play it, we hold both cymbals with our both hands and clash it at each other to produce the sound effect.

megatfais
06-05-2008, 11:42 AM
lalala...i play the violin..

06-05-2008, 02:27 PM
Imagine ancient China, there is a gong where you hit it with a wooden stick then it goes, 'chiannnng'. Cymbals is two of these gongs but the smaller version, to play it, we hold both cymbals with our both hands and clash it at each other to produce the sound effect.

ooo... i know d... i call it xiao ba... haha... if big 1, i call it da ba...

lindley
06-05-2008, 03:12 PM
id love to learn the sax, violin and flute.
that'll so complete my music knowledge whatever xD

koreanmuzter
06-05-2008, 10:20 PM
yo~~can i join in dis discussion if i never play any instrument?
actualy i wanted to learn music instruments espescialy de piano...
i love watching ppl play dem..but im now 19..i guess shud forget bout it

d3stinydanc3withm3
06-05-2008, 10:29 PM

It's never too late to learn....the only thing you lose at this age is a chance to be a professional musician, but it doesn't apply to all musical instruments.

06-05-2008, 11:24 PM

as long as u have the determination, it's never too late... since now u have grown up, u can learn it in a faster pace as u can understand better... just do it if u really want...

06-05-2008, 11:32 PM

start now then.

its never too late for anything. seriously, go for it. =)

syafiq07
06-05-2008, 11:56 PM

if you love watching ppl play ,then surely you will love this,here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcYcyzT1FcI) and here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4S9f1Ln-ao)
just something to boost your determination :P

ayjiahui
15-05-2008, 11:17 PM
start now then.

its never too late for anything. seriously, go for it. =)

i play the violin and the piano. have always wanted to pick up the guitar though, but never have gotten round to do so because of procrastination. haha! i stopped learning the piano after i finished my grade 8 and continued to play the violin for post-grade 8 stuff. ahah..

kinda sad when i think that i've stopped going for piano lessons cos i find the piano a very 'full-sounding' instrument. very elegant too!! sooo, yes its not too late!! ahah!

sherenesheep
16-05-2008, 01:48 AM
i play the piano... i never wanted to, but wen i was young my mum signed me up... but i quit at grade 5 (form1) cuz it clashed with my timetable..... i don regret it, but nowadays i do stil play the piano in my spare time.. so in a way, yeah thx mum for dragging - i mean sendin me to piano lessons.... haha

i'd love to learn the violin tho.... but its too late now :cry
i don have the time....

16-05-2008, 08:48 AM
i play the piano... i never wanted to, but wen i was young my mum signed me up... but i quit at grade 5 (form1) cuz it clashed with my timetable..... i don regret it, but nowadays i do stil play the piano in my spare time.. so in a way, yeah thx mum for dragging - i mean sendin me to piano lessons.... haha

i'd love to learn the violin tho.... but its too late now :cry
i don have the time....

it's never too late... u can take up the lesson after u have set your daily timetable...

16-05-2008, 10:22 AM
i played keyboard and piano, but without basic learning classes before, I learn myself and from my friends who play both of them. I wish to learn all the musical instruments, anyway, too poor for that, and therefore my skill is quite limited. I'd be keen to learn sax, violin, guitar and many more if I am given a chance for that. My dream to be a pianist or any musical player may not be likely to achieve coz I am too old for this... :(

16-05-2008, 01:00 PM
i played keyboard and piano, but without basic learning classes before, I learn myself and from my friends who play both of them. I wish to learn all the musical instruments, anyway, too poor for that, and therefore my skill is quite limited. I'd be keen to learn sax, violin, guitar and many more if I am given a chance for that. My dream to be a pianist or any musical player may not be likely to achieve coz I am too old for this... :(

it is likely to achieve if u start to learn piano or any musical instruments now... by the way, i am learning keyboard on my own now... it's kinda hard after i stopped my piano lessons for more than five years... cant even play hard pieces now...

saruhh
16-05-2008, 01:25 PM
i used to take piano lessons, but i recently stopped because i'll be leaving home soon. i still play it frequently, though.
i used to to take violin lessons, too. but that only lasted for a few months because the teacher i had was pretty young and didn't really possess much teaching skills. i wonder if i'll ever take up violin ever again, i loved it while it lasted. :(

chenjun1128
16-05-2008, 01:37 PM
I learned the guitar at a cheap rate when in I was 13..then at 15, my teacher introduce me to classical guitar and encouraged me to take graded exams..I stopped learning now( got until grade 6 )..but I still play the guitar everyday..wether pop style or classical songs..
To koreanmuzter : Me too! I really, really want to learn piano really bad..I hope to play the theme in Ayashi no Ceres ( an anime )one day..i enjoy ABBA songs played on piano as well..I tried learning on my own, but its soo hard! playing accompaniment with one hand and melody with another simultaneously is much harder than it seems!

koreanmuzter
16-05-2008, 10:20 PM
hey guys..thx alot for encouraging me to learn music instrument!
but to learn piano,myself hav to buy one.I hav an aunt who bought a 2nd hand piano for his son costs bout RM6-7k.Certainly my family cant afford it.(im poor)
but still i hope 1day I still can pursue my dream..keke

17-05-2008, 07:40 AM
but to learn piano,myself hav to buy one.I hav an aunt who bought a 2nd hand piano for his son costs bout RM6-7k.Certainly my family cant afford it.(im poor)

u can buy keyboard instead of piano... keyboard is much cheaper than piano... i did that... i practice with keyboard at home... it's just about the same... to train your fingers...

Yukie
17-05-2008, 11:56 AM
u can buy keyboard instead of piano... keyboard is much cheaper than piano... i did that... i practice with keyboard at home... it's just about the same... to train your fingers...

Keyboard is definitely cheaper than the piano but it's better if you get a piano for practising! This is because piano keys are much tougher(or heavier) and this will train your fingers to be much stronger ^^ The keyboard keys r VERY light ----however it depends also on what type of keyboard you buy though, I'm not very sure coz I don't shop for keyboards. This is just based on my experience with keyboards. XD

d3stinydanc3withm3
17-05-2008, 12:04 PM

Try a clavinova aka electronic piano instead. It's as close as you can get to the real thing. Try to look for 2nd hand ones. It's more expensive than a keyboard but much cheaper than a piano

17-05-2008, 12:42 PM
For those who have a chance to learn musical instruments like piano (whatever), please do seize the opportunity given to you, even some of you maybe forced to learn. Anyway, do remember, your parents would still need to pay for extravagant tuition fees even you don't play hard.

17-05-2008, 02:56 PM
i was forced to learn piano when i was little... but i started to love it after some time... if anyone of u had the opportunity, do take a try... who knows??? u might love it... seriously...

Olataro
18-05-2008, 01:32 AM
I played an organ while i was young. I loved it but my parents lack the money and time so i abandoned it. lol, gabriella, care pm me your friendster?

koreanmuzter
18-05-2008, 02:43 AM
so let's say if i take up piano lessons,can i practice it using keyboard/organ?or dey r diff?
can i learn by myself(like on9) or i mz take lessons fr professionals?

d3stinydanc3withm3
18-05-2008, 03:01 AM
Yeah they are different.
But it's fine for practising NOW when you're still at a beginner's level. When you go on to higher lvls or more complicated songs a keyboard/organ just won't be sufficient anymore.

I would advise you to go for formal piano lessons but I think if you're really determined and have lots of friends who can help you then no formal lessons are needed. I assume you do not want to take the examinations? If you do, then you really do need a teacher.

Anyway, if I was to buy a keyboard instead of a piano, I would aim to be a keyboardist rather than a pianist.

18-05-2008, 05:52 AM
so let's say if i take up piano lessons,can i practice it using keyboard/organ?or dey r diff?
can i learn by myself(like on9) or i mz take lessons fr professionals?

learning music is juz something personal.. u could learn it frm ur frends .. but to get the certs that qualify your archieving level, professionals are needed to guide u for the exams..

the keyboard for piano, Keyboard n organ is same.. so anyone learning one of them can play all of them. .but to be qualified and reli master each u hv to get the thing u r learning.. like the touching of keyboard is completely different frm piano .. etc..

18-05-2008, 07:16 AM
u can practice with keyboard when u learn piano... yes, the touching is different... piano keys are heavier... but then, if u have insufficient money, i think u can think about keyboard... quite a handful of my friends practice with keyboard including me... plus, u dont even know whether u are really interested in piano or not... the way u play piano is the same as the way u play keyboard... but then, u cant play piano high grade pieces with keyboard... u can practice with keyboard up until about grade 4 and grade 5 only...

koreanmuzter
19-05-2008, 01:16 AM
oic..thx..
lets say dat im not realy aiming for de certs or becoming proffesionals(due to my age i will hav lots of stuff to do)..juz wanna learn to read the notes n play some music(in short for fun la)
is there any books or sites to learn ourself?

19-05-2008, 05:50 PM
lol.. but keyboard dun hv enough keys even for songs like Richard Clayderman's .. stil some pop songs can play keyboard ler.. still for those musical expression (loudness, decasion,etc.. ), you cant do it without a piano ..

koreanmuzter: there are a lot of books for self-learning.. but dun think it will work.. coz you might noe the notes, but you cant read. . i.e. even a baby noe ABC, he still cant read newspaper.. for a start it is essential to have someone know how to play to teach you the basic skills ..tat's what i think

koreanmuzter
20-05-2008, 08:54 PM
haha...i was wondering if there is any teacher would like to teach a student at my age(normally beginner class are for kids)...swt...very weird leh learn wit de kids...

21-05-2008, 02:31 AM
dun worry.. usually learning piano is not by a group, but individually under the teacher.. nothing to be felt ashame of ... it's not tat rare that ppl at their 30s only start learning piano
how old r u, btw ? still teenagers or someone at his late 60s? ^^

koreanmuzter
21-05-2008, 01:00 PM
:notrustwalo wei..i sounds very old here meh...swt~~"
im 18+ dis yr ony lerrr....keke...
btw...how much usualy lessons cost?

Jace
21-05-2008, 01:11 PM
I've been playing the piano and organ since i was 3...so dat means 15yrs oledi...n i play gu zheng too. I was forced to take up piano lessons when i was 3. I hate the exams but still i love to play the piano..finished grade 8 during form 3 whereas i took up gu zheng classes for fun at the age of twelve.

koreanmuzter, i dont think u can learn piano at the age of 18 cz my teacher once told me dat at dis age, our fingers wud bcm hard to bend...dunno how true dis is...

21-05-2008, 05:38 PM

oh 18 edy oh.. not tat old but consider very old in learning piano ..
still.. suggest tat u only learn piano for fun luh.. like juz learn the basics of sight reading and play pop songs.. dun think still can go for exam

juz for fun.

21-05-2008, 06:43 PM

old doesnt mean u cant learn... it's never too late to learn... i have a friend who started to learn piano last year when she was 17... erm... the cost depends on the teacher... actually, u can ask your friend to teach u...

JYHee
22-05-2008, 10:58 PM

fees depend on the teacher one lar....go and learn now if u r really interested...my teacher got a student...i think he is about 50 plus already....

gnaw
18-06-2008, 11:11 PM
Was dragged to learn the piano at 4yrs...my first teacher was unexperienced and i think my foundation was poor. I stopped after Grade 4 practical & Grade 5 theory...11 yrs old, because i didn't enjoy the lessons much...and i didn't enjoy playing the songs that i couldn't grasp the melody...I honestly think i sucked at piano..(probably i get frustrated too easily if i cannot play well) As for theory i didn't understand what the heck was i writing so i hated doing homework as well... Though i'm happy that i got full marks for Aural Test in Grade4!

I regret not taking at least Grade 5... was kinda influenced by my bro who hated exams...

However after stopping, I gradually learnt to enjoy piano better, and i ceased to be scared of my piano teacher (i absolutely love her now ^^;). After playing the organ & with the band at my church, i learnt how to freestyle and discovered that my strength was playing by ear. Thankfully my church community is very accepting and never scolds us for making mistakes, instead praises us ^^

For the past few months i have been practising Richard Clayderman's pieces (self-learnt). I think they're great because they're not too difficult yet still can make great sound ~ Plus my dad has a lot of his cds and i've been listening to them since young, makes it much easier to play the pieces.

I can play the guitar just a little...like the C-major scale, C chord & G chord. I should like to try other instruments... like clarinet, violin, flute, chinese instruments... Esp i had fallen in love with the clarinet's sound, but i heard it's really hard to learn.

teiya_drumzaddict
20-06-2008, 11:31 PM
anybody here plays drums too?

vimal06
21-06-2008, 12:30 AM
I do play the drums.. But kinda gave up on them since form 3 on some personal reasons.. Yes its lame but its personal.. lol

cyther90
21-06-2008, 01:13 AM
The 1st musical instrument I have is a Spanish made guitar...but I was 5 years old at that time...and I have no interest at all in playing guitar...then I was dragged to play piano...and I suck at it...No matter how hard my lovely teacher taught me, I just cant feel the fun of playing piano...maybe not suitable for me...:(

Then I took guitar lesson as my father encourage me to play at least one musical instrument...kinda hard at first...but after I joined some street shows, wedding shows at the young age of 11...I kinda like guitar somehow...And I still playing it until now...But I'm not really skilled at playing guitar...I lacked the strumming skill...but I make up my weakness by honing my solo skill...:Pkinda good at it...

zulcomel
21-06-2008, 01:25 AM
The 1st musical instrument I have is a Spanish made guitar...but I was 5 years old at that time...and I have no interest at all in playing guitar...then I was dragged to play piano...and I suck at it...No matter how hard my lovely teacher taught me, I just cant feel the fun of playing piano...maybe not suitable me...:(

Then I took guitar lesson as my father encourage me to play at least one musical instrument...kinda hard at first...but after I joined some street shows, wedding shows at the young age of 11...I kinda like guitar somehow...And I still playing it until now...But I'm not really skilled at playing guitar...I lacked the strumming skill...but I make up my weakness by honing my solo skill...:P

uuu..
i adore u..
lol..
i wnna play piano...bt nver get a chance..:cry

cyther90
21-06-2008, 01:41 AM
You really must try any musical instruments...You'll find the one that will suit you...I'm interested in playing harmonica...kinda cool for me...:Pgotta try soon...

zulcomel
21-06-2008, 01:53 AM
You really must try any musical instruments...You'll find the one that will suit you...I'm interested in playing harmonica...kinda cool for me...:Pgotta try soon...

i used 2 hav i b4..
when i was5-6 years..:P
bt dat time i din noe how 2 play it..so i juz simply played it..
lol..btw, dat was my 1st instrument i played..:laugh

cyther90
21-06-2008, 01:59 AM
Cool...then be my sifu in INTEC later...:amuse

Theodoravoon
21-06-2008, 11:04 AM
I only know how to play harmonica only.

if can, i want to learn organ and guitar also.

02-07-2008, 01:27 PM
Anybody playing in a band? Not school band...like band band...you know what i mean.

abuzar
02-07-2008, 02:20 PM
i can only play Gamelan.:)

yeejietang
06-08-2008, 03:07 PM
i actually started playing piano when i was 6, but i only passed my grade 8 practical last year (when i was 16). it took me such a long time because i never skipped a grade and i failed grade 8 in f4. missed by only a few marks. sigh. but after changing one song and putting in more effort, i got a merit the next year i took the exam. i was so happy and satisfied. it just shows that grade 8 do require hard work, dedication, and passion.

i started violin in f5 as well, while juggling with grade 8 piano and SPM. but it was only grade 1, and i just recently got my results. distinction =D but i had to stop after that because i came to INTI under JPA and weekend classes aren't available anymore. sigh. i wish i could bring my violin and practise here but i'm afraid i might not have time because of assignments and SAT and everything else.

i want to learn guitar or a chinese instrument next though. is it too late?

now i try to play piano as often as i can (actually it's only during the weekends when i go back home). trying to find songs that are challenging and nice to the ears. i still can't play Fantasie Impromptu! but i'm trying La Campanella though. i really want to try and master these songs. anyone out there has suggestions? maybe for violin as well? i want to try harder songs but i still couldn't even play Canon in D for violin! sigh

de_steng
06-08-2008, 06:55 PM
played guitar since form 3, not too serious, just played at kaki lima with friends, haha..
but already bored...
want to try play harmonica now
but no want to teach laaa....

07-08-2008, 03:38 AM
touched piano again today.. the touching is so so so different.. after such a long time nt touching it. .

07-08-2008, 05:06 AM
touched piano again today.. the touching is so so so different.. after such a long time nt touching it. .

me too... after nearly halve a year not playing piano, it takes a while b4 getting use the chords once more.

digital_lifeform
07-08-2008, 10:38 AM
I've been playing guitar for one and a half years, no teacher. One advise for anyone who want to play classical guitar has any interest in using your fingers to pluck the string, be prepared to keep long nails. It will look really odd and it is very uncomfortable. Because of long nails I cannot open many tight bottles and I cannot open a lot of plastic wrappers. You'll know when you start to keep long nails. They have to be filed every week or they;ll grow out of shape and you'll get a horrible tone or worse, the string will get stuck under your nails and if you were picking hard your nail will be ripped off.

I've also noticed strumming chords to accompany a song is not as easy as it seem. Maybe it is you have it ot not case, I can't pick up the rhythm of the songs. I need to have the music notes in front of me to play or at least memorize first cause I need to see the beats. Therefore, classical solos are very much more simple for me.

Just started piano too. Love it, much easier than guitar expect that I've to use two hands. Feels like writing two different things at once with two hands. Other than that it's wayy easier. The keys are evenly spaced so it doesn't matter how high or low the notes are. With guitar, you'll have to practice the scale for the whole fretboard since the frets gets smaller and smaller. Worse still, chords are fretted different depending how high they are. Different guitars also have different fret sizes. But sigh, my long nails is really disturbing when I wanna play piano, much harder to control the speed of the keys.

celestial_sacred
07-08-2008, 09:04 PM
Why do you need to have long nails to pluck the guitar? Why don't you just use the pick? Just asking out of curiousity~

digital_lifeform
07-08-2008, 11:41 PM
Why do you need to have long nails to pluck the guitar? Why don't you just use the pick? Just asking out of curiousity~

With a pick, I can only pluck one string at one time. I can also pluck a few strings in one swipe, but they have to be all adjacent to each other. For classical pieces, almost 100% I need to pluck a few non adjacent strings at once. Furthermore, even if there are adjacent, they need to be plucked all at once. Using a pick mean I'm actually striking the string consecutively very fast rather than all at once and it sounds different. Now I have just cut my nails and I can't pluck the strings anymore because the strings will cut into the flesh at the tip joining the nail and my finger.

skatemusicianer
20-08-2008, 03:40 PM
I play the guitar, keyboards, piano, drums. The only official teaching I ever had was for the contemporary keyboard, learning chords and composing till Grade 6. I picked up drums at 11, guitar at 14, and piano was basically there along with the keyboard. Got my basic training in church, had a band, and nowadays I jam with my INTEC friends, either in my hostel room on my acoustic or at the jam centre.

03-10-2008, 11:53 PM
Anybody playing in a band? Not school band...like band band...you know what i mean.

I know, it's been a LONG LONG LONG time since I last visited ReCom, and I didn't expect this thread to be so... erm... lively.

I'm currently attached to a group in university that is just newly formed, called the UTP Chamber Group. It is a classical and new age music group which comprise of me as the pianist (there are two more other pianists - one Pop pianist, one Jazz pianist and I'm the classical one), a cellist (she and I love to duet), two violinists, a guitarist, a saxophonist and a singer.

We've had our own share of fun. Recently, in August, my university, UTP, organised an event called SymphonyFest and we got to perform solo. We had lots of headaches on the repertoires but eventually it was a success. After the concert, the three pianists came together and did something... well... silly. We played "Do Re Mi" (from The Sound of Music) with six hands on the same grand piano. The Jazz pianist played the bass part, I play the melody at the middle of the piano, and the Pop pianist played the accompaniment on the high treble. We created a spectacle. It wasn't long before we found mobile phones and digital cameras pointing at us, recording every beat.

LOL.

Our favourite repertoires (at no particular order of preference):
1. Czardas (by Vittorio Monti) - for Violin and Piano (also available for solo piano)*
2. Malaguena from Suite Andalucia (by Ernesto Lecuona) - for Piano*
3. Cello Sonata in A minor, Presto (by Beethoven) - for Cello and Piano
4. Tatakau Monotachi (from Final Fantasy VII) - for Piano*
5. La Vie En Rose - for Guitar
6. Hungarian Dances (by Brahms) - for Violin and Piano/Violin and Guitar
7. My Way - for Saxophone and Piano
8. Sempurna - for 4-hand Piano (improvisation)*

*more popular repertoires in the group and more frequently chosen for performances

and many more. I've forgotten their names.

i actually started playing piano when i was 6, but i only passed my grade 8 practical last year (when i was 16). it took me such a long time because i never skipped a grade and i failed grade 8 in f4. missed by only a few marks. sigh. but after changing one song and putting in more effort, i got a merit the next year i took the exam. i was so happy and satisfied. it just shows that grade 8 do require hard work, dedication, and passion.

i started violin in f5 as well, while juggling with grade 8 piano and SPM. but it was only grade 1, and i just recently got my results. distinction =D but i had to stop after that because i came to INTI under JPA and weekend classes aren't available anymore. sigh. i wish i could bring my violin and practise here but i'm afraid i might not have time because of assignments and SAT and everything else.

i want to learn guitar or a chinese instrument next though. is it too late?

now i try to play piano as often as i can (actually it's only during the weekends when i go back home). trying to find songs that are challenging and nice to the ears. i still can't play Fantasie Impromptu! but i'm trying La Campanella though. i really want to try and master these songs. anyone out there has suggestions? maybe for violin as well? i want to try harder songs but i still couldn't even play Canon in D for violin! sigh

It's never too late to start any instrument. I am currently heading a Chinese Orchestra in my campus, too. >.<

We've got many new members who have zero knowledge about music. Despite their age, many of them started as zero and now become hero. Seriously. It's the commitment that counts.

Fantasie Impromptu? Take your time on that Chopin piece. It would be better if you practise one hand at a time, rather than both at the same time. After all, the rhythm is such that you have to play equal semiquavers on the right hand versus sextuplet quavers on the left. Not an easy task.

If you're up to some challenge, try Czardas (by Vittorio Monti) for solo piano. It's actually for solo violin, but this piece can really grind your scales and other technique. Go to Youtube to find out how it sounds like.

10-10-2008, 10:54 PM
Wow, henry_yew that sounds great! I always suffer from this challenge whenever there's a mixed group of experienced and inexperienced musician. Besides the self-esteem issues, there's also the limited repertoire that can be performed which will also satisfy the audience. I think your chamber group is an excellent gig - keep it going even after you graduate if you can!

babybear
11-10-2008, 05:04 PM
henry_yew, thanks for recommending czardas.. it comes at a perfect timing as i'm looking for some new pieces to try.. do you have the sheet music for piano?? pls send it to me if u do.. thanks a bunch..

12-10-2008, 02:44 AM
Wow, henry_yew that sounds great! I always suffer from this challenge whenever there's a mixed group of experienced and inexperienced musician. Besides the self-esteem issues, there's also the limited repertoire that can be performed which will also satisfy the audience. I think your chamber group is an excellent gig - keep it going even after you graduate if you can!

Yeah, this chamber group has always been my dream. I have always wanted to play in a group for duets, trios, etc. It has been very difficult to spot talents, but ever since the grand piano came to my campus new talents have been found very easily.

When it comes to repertoire it can be a very great headache, as I've mentioned earlier. To satisfy the audience is one thing, but to satisfy the audience's hunger to see "Wow! That was so fast!" or "Look at his hands jumping just like that!" is even more difficult. Normally, when you choose technical pieces, it's hard to satisfy the audience's want for "melodious" music, like those played by Richard Clayderman.

So, technical? Or melodious?

henry_yew, thanks for recommending czardas.. it comes at a perfect timing as i'm looking for some new pieces to try.. do you have the sheet music for piano?? pls send it to me if u do.. thanks a bunch..

As regards to the sheet music, although I would strictly recommend that you use original music scores (as in to buy those books) so as not to infringe any copyright and to respect the composer's efforts in composing such beautiful pieces, I do understand that the price to purchase these scores is by no means little.

As such, I do have sources in which I use to search for such materials, particularly www.4shared.com (I'm not responsible for any incidents regarding the use of third-party links), www.sheetmusicarchive.net and many more (most of which I searched through Google).

However, bear in mind that I do not condone downloading these materials and to use them publicly for concert performances (especially when selling of tickets exists). It is ethically unacceptable to download a scanned/pirated copy of the scores and to perform them in concerts to generate profit as a copyright infringement will occur. Lately, the music industry has taken copyright infringement so strictly that downloading these materials become gradually more difficult.

In examinations, especially for diploma, performing these downloaded pieces without purchasing the original score can result in disqualification of your examination. Although downloading these materials for your own personal practices can be considered acceptable, the fact that you use pirated copies during examinations would tell the examiners that you are not even respecting the composer's efforts. A musician who does not respect a composer's works does not deserve to be called a musician. (Hey, that does not mean I have all original copies! Do bear in mind my downloaded copies are for personal use ONLY.)

Unless the copyright for the pieces have expired, my advice would always be to obtain original copies of music. Although they are costly, but for those who are really passionate about music, see it as a good investment every time you purchase these books. It is good to remind yourself that for every ringgit you put into purchasing these books, it keeps the publishers on business and continue to keep them in print. Many pieces are no longer in print simply because there is no demand for them, and part of another reason being that these pieces are easily obtained from the Internet.

The best place so far that I've found to purchase music books is the Chambers Music Store in Sungei Wang Plaza, KL. I have only been there once (I'm from Ipoh and I don't travel to KL very often) and I was captivated by the list of available repertoires there for over two hours; I even ended spending RM96.00 for Poulenc's Trois Novelettes (yeah, Three Novelettes = RM32.00 for one Novelette).

For those who have the old original copies of Mozart Sonatas, Beethoven Sonatas, Chopin Waltzes, Chopin Nocturnes, Bach Preludes and Fugues, etc. especially the Signature Series by the ABRSM, keep them nicely! Forty to fifty years ago they would only cost ?1.50 per book. Well, it was a very big amount back then. But now it costs more than RM100.00 for one of those books!

If you want more information on music scores, just drop me a message.

tehbryanteh
09-01-2009, 11:42 PM
Ya...I play both chinese and english instruments...I play 17 instruments...seriously...

Chinese Instruments:
1) Erhu
2) Guzheng
3) Yang Qin
4) Chinese drum
5) Mu Yu
6) Pipa

English Instruments:
7) Piano
8) Keyboard
9) A little bit of organ
10) Guitar
11) Electric Guitar
12) Bass Guitar
13) Conga
14) Glockenspiel
15) Recorder
16) A bit of harmonica
17) Drum

tadah!!!It's not very surprising though...it's quite common for me...

24-01-2009, 01:15 AM
Wow, that's quite a number. But which do you specialise in? Or are you a jack of all trades?

tako
24-01-2009, 04:22 AM
long time since i've been here. i sing, does that count? :D

24-01-2009, 09:34 PM
Well, if you use your voice as the instrument to produce music, we can't say it isn't an instrument, right?

WilsonCWJ
25-01-2009, 01:04 AM
I played some of the gamelan instruments when I was in my secondary school... Long time never touch those instruments...

tako
25-01-2009, 01:56 AM
yay! haha.. i sing for my college's chapel choir. singing's fun.. everyone should try :D

25-01-2009, 11:39 AM
I played some of the gamelan instruments when I was in my secondary school... Long time never touch those instruments...

Aww... Then starting touching them! LOL!

yay! haha.. i sing for my college's chapel choir. singing's fun.. everyone should try :lol:

Ooo... chapel choir. You must have a good voice then, huh? Tenor? Bass?

I used to participate in my primary school choir back in 1998 (Std. 4) to 2000 (Std. 6). However, after a year of joining the choir team, my choir instructor told me to be the conductor instead. Guess why?

Well, not that I am no good in singing. Rather, it is because of all the forty odd students, I am the only one the teacher categorised as "BASS". Well, perhaps actually he meant "baritone" or "low tenor" (I didn't know my voice sounded that low to him), but since I was the only one in the "BASS" category, he wouldn't bother having a solo part for me, or a bass part. So I became the conductor.

I can still hear his voice ringing today, saying, "You have such deep voice! And at such a young age!" :lol:

So, don't ask me to sing songs by Richard Marx and the like. You'd kill me with all the high notes. And yes, over the years, my voice has only become more and more bass. Of all my friends whom I know, only a rare few have bass range as low (if not lower) as mine.

Darn! That means I can't sing Come What May (from Moulin Rouge)! I can't go that high without falsetto! :(

WilsonCWJ
25-01-2009, 04:27 PM
Aww... Then starting touching them! LOL!

Haha those instruments are heavy and very very expensive... u can jz own them like that.. they are only available if a school orders them.

25-01-2009, 05:54 PM
Well, my campus has a complete set of them. Does your campus have them also?

WilsonCWJ
25-01-2009, 06:11 PM
Currently I am "school-less" lol...now preparing to go to uni. B4 this I was in mrsm and my mrsm happened to be one of the few with gamelan club. I joined it in form 1 out off curiosity and stayed in the club till form 5.

26-01-2009, 01:23 AM
Good for you. Getting to know more on the Malay culture, huh?

06-04-2009, 07:32 PM
No, i don't play any instrument....Dang it!! (this comes as a surprise to most of my frens who play something)

My parents weren't one of those who forced their kid for piano classes (arghh, i do regret that) So the only instrument i ever played was the recorder in primary school.
I was never interested in music then but now....its a different story. So since i couldnt play anything, i join choir instead. (no, i still cannot read notes n so i cheat with solfege).

And what a joy music is. (hah, i know what those mp,pp,mf,ff, crescendo means now)

Still, i wished i played sumting. I would liked to learn guitar but somehow I never brought myself to doing it. Wonder why....

p/s :don't ask me to sing (my voice can't hit the notes half the time but being in a non-competitive choir group, the others dun chide me n they cant kick me out haha) ...i don't sing the melody anyway.

weiwen1023
06-04-2009, 10:03 PM
Yes, I play the piano, and just started playing the violin last year. Piano, I've learned it since 4 years old, started from Yamaha, then moved on to ABRSM. Completed the 8 grades, and ATCL Diploma. Now pursuing LTCL diploma (Trinity College) in Solo Recital.

Well, it started out as parents forcing all 3 of us siblings to play the piano. My brother stopped immediately when he was caught snoring when he was suppose to sing in a group. xD. My sis stopped learning after grade 8. At first, I didn't enjoy it. Cause, my piano teacher made us play was the exam pieces. Although I did enjoy playing some Disney songs and Richard Clayderman pieces.

Now, after experimenting pieces from very different eras, I really like playing classical songs. Composers like Rachmaninoff, Chopin, Brahms, Mozart, Chopin really inspires me to play the piano more often, cause their music is just GREAT!

For ATCL, I've worked on pieces like Prelude and Fugue from Bach, Sonata from Haydn, Rahpsody from Brahms, and Polichinelle from Rachmaninoff.

For LTCL, so far, I've learned, Prelude op.23 no.4 and no.5, from Rachmaninoff. And Sonata in A minor, Mozart. Trying out Allegro Barbaro, Bartok (My 1st 20th century piece... Never played a piece from that period be4..) and maybe one of chopin's etudes.

Violin, just learning for fun. Was initially inspired by the Anime, La Corda Prima Passo (something like that) lol... And now, trying to play the best "Ave Maria" like Hino Kahoko. haha.... And after watching Nodame Cantabile, again inspired to play chopin etudes and his "Fantasie Impromptu"... =)

wawa
06-04-2009, 11:44 PM
Yeah, I play plenty of instruments....scientific instruments! Optical microscopes, electron microscopes, surface probes...sudah lost count :P

michelletam
06-04-2009, 11:52 PM
started learning piano when I was four. Started violin when I was in secondary school. Glad that I've got a place in my uni's orchestra as a violinist. :P I really wished that my parents could let me continue with my music to the tertiary level. Well, nevermind, luckily i've got a scholarship to be in the tesl program, i'll take this as a stepping stone. I'll never ever give up in pursuing my dreams to be a musician. I don't mind about the earnings, i DO MIND about doing what i love! I heart music. I'm going for voice class as well. Loving it. Can't wait to take up brass instruments this July. Wheee.. I might be playing the french horn. That's pretty hard =.='

07-04-2009, 03:31 PM
No, i don't play any instrument....Dang it!! (this comes as a surprise to most of my frens who play something)

My parents weren't one of those who forced their kid for piano classes (arghh, i do regret that) So the only instrument i ever played was the recorder in primary school.
I was never interested in music then but now....its a different story. So since i couldnt play anything, i join choir instead. (no, i still cannot read notes n so i cheat with solfege).

And what a joy music is. (hah, i know what those mp,pp,mf,ff, crescendo means now)

Still, i wished i played sumting. I would liked to learn guitar but somehow I never brought myself to doing it. Wonder why....

p/s :don't ask me to sing (my voice can't hit the notes half the time but being in a non-competitive choir group, the others dun chide me n they cant kick me out haha) ...i don't sing the melody anyway.

Haha! I used to learn to play the piano when I was young but I stopped learning partly because my left hand couldn't coordinate that well with my right that time and partly because I was just too lazy to practice. So, the only instrument I can really play now is just the recorder (same like nickvl eh). Itu pun sudah berkarat sikit.

I was also in the school choir team as alto. I'm interested in learning to play the guitar but never took the initiative to try so far...

Cantabile
13-04-2009, 02:50 AM
Been playing piano since 5 years old..so that makes it erm.. 14 years? I think I'm considered 'slow' already.. I notice a lot of pianists get their grade 8, or maybe even diplomas in form 2 or 3 like that. And I only got my grade 8 last year. Heheh. I know of kids who skip grades all the time for the sake of 'finishing' grade 8 ASAP..mostly is parents ask the teacher to do so from my observation. My parents never really interfered with my music education, just occasionally checking that I've been practising, exam dates are correct etc. so I pretty much 'planned' my own pace. For practical I sat for Grades 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 and for theory Grades 1-5. I notice that most students opt for the 'express' style though.

Any thoughts?

Personally I feel skimming through the grades hardly allows for musical growth. U practise scales and work on that 3 pieces for almost the whole year, go for exam, pass, then start the whole thing again for the next grade. I doubt that makes a well-rounded musician.

Am currently learning the violin. Breath of fresh air from the black and white keys. ;)

Glassylicious
13-04-2009, 03:27 AM
Been playing piano since 5 years old..so that makes it erm.. 14 years? I think I'm considered 'slow' already.. I notice a lot of pianists get their grade 8, or maybe even diplomas in form 2 or 3 like that. And I only got my grade 8 last year. Heheh. I know of kids who skip grades all the time for the sake of 'finishing' grade 8 ASAP..mostly is parents ask the teacher to do so from my observation. My parents never really interfered with my music education, just occasionally checking that I've been practising, exam dates are correct etc. so I pretty much 'planned' my own pace. For practical I sat for Grades 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 and for theory Grades 1-5. I notice that most students opt for the 'express' style though.

Any thoughts?

Personally I feel skimming through the grades hardly allows for musical growth. U practise scales and work on that 3 pieces for almost the whole year, go for exam, pass, then start the whole thing again for the next grade. I doubt that makes a well-rounded musician.

Am currently learning the violin. Breath of fresh air from the black and white keys. ;)

Well, to be fair most of the parents today who send their kids off to music school are doing it so their kids have a "musical qualification", rather than to really be a musician, so to speak. It's quite easy to tell between the people who are just doing it to get the cert and get it over and done with, and the people who are doing it because they love music.

SapphireDragon
13-04-2009, 10:38 AM
I love playing the classical guitar. Have a Grade 5 qualification...only. Haha

markwongsk
13-04-2009, 03:30 PM
I started playing the Piano at 8 and finished my Associate Diploma at 15. So I have been playing for 12 years now. I am particularly good at sight reading thanks to my teacher's frequent introduction to new classical music (used to play one sonata per week XD).

I stopped piano since then but has continued to play classical pieces + more technically challenging material eg liszt (lizst?) and rach. I still love Beethoven most.

At age 17 I learned violin and got my Associate Diploma one when I was 18 years old. I think a basic in piano helped me out with violin a lot. I love Bach's Partitas and Sonatas, Vitali's Chaconne (can't play it) and Bach's BWV 1043 (was the song which ignited my interest in violin and fugal writing anyway)

I always wanted to continue my licentiate but I missed this year's exams date @<hidden>@<hidden>

I also played the flute, saxophone and trombone in brass band but gradeless. I know a little clarinet and trumpet.

As you can see I have no practical skills in guitar and drum. I dislike drum until 2 years ago and still can't really like it now (forgive me drum players, it was some bad experience which ....)

However, what I really love is composing music XD I go after Beethoven.

13-04-2009, 03:46 PM
i can play guitar...took me month to practice.as for drums,i just don't have the talent for it.huhu.i love drums a lot man.

Cantabile
14-04-2009, 12:01 AM
Well, to be fair most of the parents today who send their kids off to music school are doing it so their kids have a "musical qualification", rather than to really be a musician, so to speak. It's quite easy to tell between the people who are just doing it to get the cert and get it over and done with, and the people who are doing it because they love music.

Which is a pity.. Sounds like music has also become part of the rat-race (like the whole deal bout getting lots of As in public exams). I mean, as the saying goes, "if something is worth doing at all it is worth doing it well". Of course there are kids who are naturally gifted and are genuinely passionate about music, and they progress very quickly on their own accord (with proper guidance). Parents should work with teachers, but looks like a lot of parents TELL the teacher what to do nowadays.

14-04-2009, 12:11 AM
But music isn't something that you can just do for the sake of musical qualification. Oh, no, no, no! The common misconception of parents is that just because music is a course that can be learnt, then through lots of coaching the children should be able to do well. However, they fail to understand that lots of coaching could only give them at most a pass or a merit. Distinction is always possible in the lower grades, but if children were to be pushed to learn music, they are most likely not going to excel beyond Grade 5.

If there is anything that parents don't know, it's that music cannot be part of the rat-race, because without passion and the love for music, you're not going to go farther than those who truly have the passion and the love.

14-04-2009, 12:55 AM
Haha! I used to learn to play the piano when I was young but I stopped learning partly because my left hand couldn't coordinate that well with my right that time and partly because I was just too lazy to practice. So, the only instrument I can really play now is just the recorder (same like nickvl eh). Itu pun sudah berkarat sikit.

I was also in the school choir team as alto. I'm interested in learning to play the guitar but never took the initiative to try so far...

I cant play the recorder now...have forgotten it all(my music teacher use marker pen to label the holes..yes im that atrocious) its B,A,G something...haha

Yanno_yamster....we do have a lot in common. Alto may have the weirdest tunes and timing(those horrible semi stuff) but hey we help make the sops sound good

14-04-2009, 01:07 AM
Yanno_yamster....we do have a lot in common. Alto may have the weirdest tunes and timing(those horrible semi stuff) but hey we help make the sops sound good

I was the only tenor when I was 11 years old, and then at 12 my choir teacher said that I should be in bass. I was the only one whose voice broke at such a young age. :(

So, at 12 years old, I bid farewell to the singing society by becoming the conductor for the choir group. Gah!

markwongsk
14-04-2009, 02:34 PM
I was the only tenor when I was 11 years old, and then at 12 my choir teacher said that I should be in bass. I was the only one whose voice broke at such a young age. :(

So, at 12 years old, I bid farewell to the singing society by becoming the conductor for the choir group. Gah!

I started joining choir at 14 years old and I was a tenor for one year only... After that I was forced to be the conductor because I was the one who arranged the scores :notrust I love to sing but never had a chance in school choir anymore =(

Although I am a "tenor", my real range is baritone, being only able to sing till A in mid-voice...

14-04-2009, 07:57 PM
I started joining choir at 14 years old and I was a tenor for one year only... After that I was forced to be the conductor because I was the one who arranged the scores :notrust I love to sing but never had a chance in school choir anymore =(

Although I am a "tenor", my real range is baritone, being only able to sing till A in mid-voice...

I see... well, my voice ranges from as high as the high E one octave above middle C and as low as the D two octaves below middle C.

As far as I am concerned, I suck at singing high-pitched songs. So you'll most likely never see or hear me singing or humming songs by Daniel Powter, Richard Marx and the like. :(

markwongsk
14-04-2009, 10:05 PM
I see... well, my voice ranges from as high as the high E one octave above middle C and as low as the D two octaves below middle C.

As far as I am concerned, I suck at singing high-pitched songs. So you'll most likely never see or hear me singing or humming songs by Daniel Powter, Richard Marx and the like. :(

High E without head tone/falsetto is a tenor note lor... If you can do that I pei fu you XD.

I love high pitched songs (thinks Bring Him Home XD)

14-04-2009, 10:36 PM
High E without head tone/falsetto is a tenor note lor... If you can do that I pei fu you XD.

I love high pitched songs (thinks Bring Him Home XD)

I can do the high E without falsetto, but it takes a lot of effort and energy for me to do it. I can do the lower D more easily. XD

You love high pitched songs 'cause you can sing them! Bah!

LLCH
15-04-2009, 07:31 PM
haha..finally saw a few classical guitarist..well,u leave long nails not bcos its easier to pluck but its easier to get a big range of dynamics.guitar is considered to b one of the softest instrument around(i mean classical guitar).it first originated wif fernandor sor leaving long nails,but eventually had to filed it due to some sort of sickness.the traditional type didnt require long nails though, and finally the so called king of guitar andres segovia decided to have a combination and voila!it became koko krunch!!...oops..no..he had short nails n played wif the tip which involved flesh too.it was supposed to have the advantages of both styles.anyone into classical guitar??if u r interested go n search for songs such as the usher waltz by nikita koshkin and grande ouverture by mauro giuliani.songs by mauro giuliani would exhibit such complexity u nvr xpected from a guitar:wink

markwongsk
15-04-2009, 10:30 PM
Someone in my area here is pro classical guitarist =) He seems to play all the guitar songs o.O

But then again, judging from the time he online and the initials of your name, I guess that you are him LOL

YcajGno
17-04-2009, 01:45 PM
I play the acoustic guitar. =)

Appolo
17-04-2009, 09:56 PM
I played percussion if you really consider drums as a form of instrument.lol

markwongsk
17-04-2009, 11:46 PM

Drums, cymbals, timpani etc ARE instruments you know... So yeah, you do play an instrument :))

I never quite excelled in percussion =( Clumsy hands

17-04-2009, 11:48 PM

Of course they're considered! In the orchestra, I revere the percussionists for their sheer ability to keep time very well. I also like them because through percussions, they know how to add to the excitement of the piece that is needed.

If there's anything that a musician should know, it's not to belittle percussionists!

Amaya_Sakura
26-04-2009, 09:13 PM
I would definitely learn the violin if I had the chance. When I found out my cousins were learning the piano (the elder) and the violin (the younger cousin), I quickly asked my younger cousin to teach me.

Heheh...But I can't really play though, although I can improve by hiring a teacher but my parents don't have enough ''resources''.

I'm 16 already and I am kinda rushing to learn the instrument but it's kinda hard to convince my parents.

So definitely, I want to learn the violin.

P.S: Sorry if the message wasn't at the right place (^^:)

27-04-2009, 12:32 AM
It's never a rush to learn any instrument, as long as you have the hunger for it.

snoopy_sy
27-04-2009, 09:38 PM
Hmm.. I agree with henry_yew. It's never rush to learn an instrument if you really like it.

I play piano and violin too. Currently going for Diploma for piano. Trying to get a grade 8 for violin as soon as possible if I still have the time to do so.

I hope I have the chance to go for guitar and saxophone lessons. Have been learning a little bit of guitar from my friend years ago. Now trying to learn through online as there is no one to teach me :(

markwongsk
27-04-2009, 11:13 PM
It's never a rush to learn any instrument, as long as you have the hunger for it.

I did my Violin grade 8 in one year... But I guess that's coz my piano basic was very well laid =) So it pays to build your basic XD

AlvinLee91
28-04-2009, 01:17 AM
........I play piano and violin too. Currently going for Diploma for piano........

I had finished my Grade 8 piano lesson. Is it difficult to continue for Diploma?

markwongsk
28-04-2009, 04:49 PM
I had finished my Grade 8 piano lesson. Is it difficult to continue for Diploma?

It depends on what you mean by "complete". If, by completing, you mean you finally managed to squeeze three songs out... Well, things will be kinda difficult.

But if you were always playing lots of outside pieces and doing lots of research on the composers... It's gonna be quite easy really =)

28-04-2009, 07:44 PM

Well, it wouldn't be such a difficult course if you have been playing lots of other pieces besides your exam pieces, or if your teacher has been encouraging you to play other pieces that are beyond the scope of your examination pieces. Research into other composers is a good way to expand your technical abilities, as well as moulding a good style of playing.

Of course, you should keep in mind that at Diploma level, your understanding of music and the composers' styles and intentions should be more in-depth and more matured. After all, Associate, at the very least, is still somewhat synonymous to a "student currently pursuing first-year undergraduate studies". So, the examiners have all the reasons to demand for a high technique in your playing. You should also display some sense of professionalism, as if performing in a recital programme.

I'd like to upload a video of the duet that I had the opportunity and honour of playing with the Shanghai er-hu soloist during my recent performance. However, Youtube just won't do me any justice now. Sigh...

tako
30-04-2009, 06:37 AM
the E one octave above the middle C is a soprano note, not a tenor note. If it's choral singing it's likely that the head voice will be utilised for that note. Then again, I'm a very young singer and I might be wrong.

Male voices are naturally one octave lower than female voices. Baritones are expected to sing till middle E, F-ish (a major 3rd to a perfect 4th above middle C). Tenors probably Bb (minor 7th above middle C).

markwongsk - your range would probably expand with more practise and proper teaching actually.

The voice is a very interesting instrument really. Love it. Best thing is, free voice lessons provided by college chapel! YAY! Love chapel choir :D

markwongsk
30-04-2009, 07:27 PM
the E one octave above the middle C is a soprano note, not a tenor note. If it's choral singing it's likely that the head voice will be utilised for that note. Then again, I'm a very young singer and I might be wrong.

Male voices are naturally one octave lower than female voices. Baritones are expected to sing till middle E, F-ish (a major 3rd to a perfect 4th above middle C). Tenors probably Bb (minor 7th above middle C).

markwongsk - your range would probably expand with more practise and proper teaching actually.

The voice is a very interesting instrument really. Love it. Best thing is, free voice lessons provided by college chapel! YAY! Love chapel choir :D

I don't have a teacher but I did go for masterclasses before. I think I have reached my maximum range... =( Haiz. The Bb is eluding me... But I think Tenors should at least hit the C =) (easier to sing demanding songs)

But I'm proud of my control and vibrato =) I love singing, don't you? And yes, the vocal chord is the most interesting instrument one can have

30-04-2009, 08:22 PM
I don't have a teacher but I did go for masterclasses before. I think I have reached my maximum range... =( Haiz. The Bb is eluding me... But I think Tenors should at least hit the C =) (easier to sing demanding songs)

But I'm proud of my control and vibrato =) I love singing, don't you? And yes, the vocal chord is the most interesting instrument one can have

Everybody would be proud of one's control and voice vibrato. As for me, I can only be proud of my rich bass tone, especially when I hit lower notes. Sigh...

They say I make an excellent emcee with that kind of voice. :lol:

tako
01-05-2009, 06:49 AM
the voice is certainly one of the most interesting instrument. learning to sing is quite different from learning an musical instrument too - depends a lot on imagination, if you get what i mean. it's quite impossible for the teacher to physically dissect you to show you what exactly is going on physiologically as you sing.

I'm a baritone, quite proud of my G#s when i hit them in full voice, gotten down to low Ds and sometimes C (C2 - middle C is C4 right? >.<) am possibly developing as a countertenor too (head voice/falsetto range extending downwards, goes as low as an F# below middle C hee hee) i get quite confused about the differences between a head voice and a falsetto, some teachers use them interchangeably, some make a distinction. but oh well, quite a bit to learn. but still overall a very young singer.

markwongsk, you should learn singing!!!!!!! :)

02-05-2009, 12:08 AM
I'm a baritone, quite proud of my G#s when i hit them in full voice, gotten down to low Ds and sometimes C (C2 - middle C is C4 right? >.<) )

What?!?! The C two octaves below middle C?!?! I could only reach till the D two octaves below middle C and everybody in my university thought that I have one of the lowest voices around (well, seriously there aren't many people with such deep voices)!

OK, I give up... :'( :lol: I'll stick to the piano.

markwongsk
02-05-2009, 12:36 AM
the voice is certainly one of the most interesting instrument. learning to sing is quite different from learning an musical instrument too - depends a lot on imagination, if you get what i mean. it's quite impossible for the teacher to physically dissect you to show you what exactly is going on physiologically as you sing.

I'm a baritone, quite proud of my G#s when i hit them in full voice, gotten down to low Ds and sometimes C (C2 - middle C is C4 right? >.<) am possibly developing as a countertenor too (head voice/falsetto range extending downwards, goes as low as an F# below middle C hee hee) i get quite confused about the differences between a head voice and a falsetto, some teachers use them interchangeably, some make a distinction. but oh well, quite a bit to learn. but still overall a very young singer.

markwongsk, you should learn singing!!!!!!! :)

Ironically, I teach singing -.- I was the ex-choir conductor and now the teacher in charge for choir... =)

My falsetto ranges from D4 (very high I know) to only about C6 :cry I used to be able to hit the F6s and G6s... There goes my Queen of the Night Aria :(

02-05-2009, 06:46 PM
Ironically, I teach singing -.- I was the ex-choir conductor and now the teacher in charge for choir... =)

My falsetto ranges from D4 (very high I know) to only about C6 :cry I used to be able to hit the F6s and G6s... There goes my Queen of the Night Aria :(

Come, teach me sing, can? Hehe...

chocomaniac
02-05-2009, 09:37 PM
I used to play the piano until I was form 5 then i stopped for the sake of spm. However, I managed to learn till grade 5. To be exact, my practical was grade 5 but my theory was only grade 3...hehe

I love to play piano but most people say i don't have 'feel' when i play. But I just ignore those comments and keep playing since I enjoy it very much. To me, everything what I play I really enjoy even though it might not sound so good to others.

Melancholicz_boy
02-05-2009, 11:19 PM
halo :)
i don actually play any but my fren is currently teaching me to play easy easy song on the piano. but i hope, one day i can play the piano la with hard songs. not easy easy one.:))

03-05-2009, 01:21 AM
I love to play piano but most people say i don't have 'feel' when i play. But I just ignore those comments and keep playing since I enjoy it very much. To me, everything what I play I really enjoy even though it might not sound so good to others.

No feel?! You enjoy playing it right? Didn't those people see your joy?

ilovecats
03-05-2009, 01:47 AM
Music is my spouse. I can't live without it. I really really wanna have a career in music but it's really expensive and to study music, it's best to choose Europe or US, depending on what field of study. haihz

03-05-2009, 01:57 AM
Everybody would be proud of one's control and voice vibrato. As for me, I can only be proud of my rich bass tone, especially when I hit lower notes. Sigh...

They say I make an excellent emcee with that kind of voice. :lol:

Or a previewman!! check this out...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZE5PySawiM&feature=related

LOL

chocomaniac
03-05-2009, 04:24 PM
No feel?! You enjoy playing it right? Didn't those people see your joy?

Yeah, only my brother seems to enjoy :P
Maybe the others were putting too much hope on me...

03-05-2009, 04:36 PM
Or maybe they don't understand what style is...

MandyWarhol
04-05-2009, 01:06 AM
Im 18 soon :(

But never played any instrument before...

Will it be too late if i start on a piano lesson?

How long do you think i'll take to finish the lessons?

Glassylicious
04-05-2009, 08:27 PM
Im 18 soon :(

But never played any instrument before...

Will it be too late if i start on a piano lesson?

How long do you think i'll take to finish the lessons?

It's never too late to start, to be honest.

The amount of time you'll need to "complete the lessons" will essentially depend on the amount of skill and expertise you hope to achieve. Do you want to be a pro-player a la Jay Chou in Secret? =P Or do you just want to learn enough to be able to read Grade 3/4 standard sheet music and play simple tunes of your favourite song?

It would, of course, also depend on the amount of time you're willing to put into practising.

07-05-2009, 12:13 PM
Yeah, I agree. It's never too late to start music lessons if you have the passion and interest for it.

I shall be going for my internship in KL this coming June, and I intend to take up er-hu lessons, if possible. However, a friend has recommended that I take up some lessons in conducting instead. Well, I do want to take up conducting lessons to improve more on my conducting skills (not that I don't know how to conduct, but it never hurts to be a better and more expressive conductor), however I do not know of any instructor in KL who is willing to give conducting lessons for about a few months. Anyone knows?

chocomaniac
07-05-2009, 11:30 PM
It's never too late to start anything.

Who knows, you might have a hidden talent in music :)

10-05-2009, 12:32 PM
I just bought a keyboard and I urge my roommate to buy one, too.
She is already 19, going 20 and has no idea how to play at all..
yet, I'm teaching her and she pick up some simple pop songs quickly.. like three songs in a week.. guess she is really interested =)

it's never too late to learn music, you know.

Vaan
10-05-2009, 08:18 PM
I just bought a keyboard and I urge my roommate to buy one, too.
She is already 19, going 20 and has no idea how to play at all..
yet, I'm teaching her and she pick up some simple pop songs quickly.. like three songs in a week.. guess she is really interested =)

it's never too late to learn music, you know.

Yup it's never too late, people with an older age,is a bit shy when want to learn instruments . Thinking that people will laugh at them or whatever. It's all actually in the mind, get rid of it and nothing can stop you from learning to play a music instrument.

I have no opportunity to practice my piano. I mean when you go off to college or universities, it's hard to get a piano and sit down, playing the whole day.

aune
10-05-2009, 08:55 PM
does anyone here knows how to play the saxophone?

10-05-2009, 09:01 PM
I have a friend in my university who knows how to play the saxophone well...

aune
10-05-2009, 09:05 PM
the sound of saxophone is so classical & romantic & warm....
how i wish i know how to play a saxophone :)

SYWong
26-05-2009, 09:26 PM
i do play classical guitar, but im not really good on it. LOLz..i hate "bar cord"

Casperloo
16-06-2009, 11:08 AM
i play piano till grade 6 onli.... i see a lot of ppl can learn piano till grade 8 or even higher.... feel so proud of u all!!!!
i gv up during the mid of my f4.... coz i think maybe i hate it already....

16-06-2009, 12:24 PM
i play piano till grade 6 onli.... i see a lot of ppl can learn piano till grade 8 or even higher.... feel so proud of u all!!!!
i gv up during the mid of my f4.... coz i think maybe i hate it already....

You might end up loving it when you reach your 30s or 40s. LOL.

11-12-2009, 10:17 PM
I played piano for about 9 years and had passed my grade 8 last year. I merely passed it as I was busy studying and had been lazy practicing... :P
I enjoyed playing piano and I played mostly sonata pieces and sometimes my grade 8 pieces. Anyone have nice pieces to share with me? I really wanted to play a few new songs in this holiday... :))

12-12-2009, 11:25 PM
Try Malaguena by Ernesto Lecuona. It's quite difficult, but it's got a very nice Spanish touch.

weiping2007
13-12-2009, 01:43 PM
hi all
i learn piano for 1 year only than stop learning with teacher...cause it is quite boring when the teacher teaches me...so i stop after i take my grade 5 exam(ABRSM)...
and my sight reading also very bad...cause 1st time learner=.=...in the exam i just get 14 out of 21, just merely a pass...until now also my sight reading also bad...can't play a song immediately after seeing it....can anyone teach me how to improve my sight reading? But for my pieces i get full marks!! that's what i happy of....

now i currently self-taught composing...haha...i do not learn so much about theory so i just 'hentam' the piano haha....mostly can do the intro only then climax can't continue compose...

by the way nice to meet you all

fird126
21-02-2010, 04:35 AM
i can play most of the woodwind instruments. but i prefer flute, clarinet and tenor sax. looking forward to learn how to play an oboe. (: not forgetting, the recorder of course. alto one.

yin2000
21-02-2010, 03:33 PM
hi
I started playing piano since i was 5 years old. I enjoy playing romantic pieces. I passed my grade 8 piano few years back and stopped taking piano lessons after that. I wanted to continue until diploma but my parents want me to concentrate on studies. I am a bit "rusty" now, hahaha, but when I am free I still practice some pieces that I learned before. And I can play a little bit of violin too. :)

Li Shan Shung
05-04-2010, 03:34 PM
I'm learning piano Grade 3 but I did not take any grading exam. I love all kinds of piano pieces, whether modern or classical. And I learnt a bit of violin and guitar from a friend sometime ago. I would like to master playing the piano, violin, guitar and flute (new interest) someday just for the pleasure of it.

lawteoh
06-04-2010, 08:33 PM
I stop piano lessons after grade 8 (graded and got merit). Now completely rusty cause I am only playing chords instead of notes.. T.T

adele123
06-04-2010, 09:19 PM
I enjoy playing the piano, gives me satisfaction. Kinda miss my piano. I passed my diploma during form 5. I actually thought of doing associate too, but then, form 6 was too hectic. Kinda rusty since now that I'm away from home. No piano at my hostel. T.T

lawteoh
07-04-2010, 02:32 AM
I enjoy playing the piano, gives me satisfaction. Kinda miss my piano. I passed my diploma during form 5. I actually thought of doing associate too, but then, form 6 was too hectic. Kinda rusty since now that I'm away from home. No piano at my hostel. T.T

Mine got, but its way too far from my hall. Lazy to walk there, plus studies in uni is hectic.. Btw, nice meeting a fellow STPM 08 mate here.. :)

adele123
07-04-2010, 07:58 AM
Lawrence, you know me... =D Just that you won't know me through my username.

13-04-2010, 05:07 PM

Well, you can consider buying a keyboard since its more mobile than piano. Btw, I'm learning how to play guitar now but I still feel piano is the best. :laugh

Glassylicious
13-04-2010, 05:27 PM
I play the piano; my sister plays along on her guitar. The result is a beautiful duet. <3

13-04-2010, 06:09 PM
I play the piano; my sister plays along on her guitar. The result is a beautiful duet. <3

String instruments and piano is always a nice combination. I used to watch my friend playing piano and her sister playing violin and it turned out nice too! Another combination I've seen is piano and cello and the sound was also amazing! :laugh

Whoa, it never occur to me that glassy knows how to play piano. :nuts :P

kaiyi
13-04-2010, 07:23 PM
i play the piano, failed grade 8 exam last year by less than 10 marks :cry and stop having piano lessons now (i hv no talent~~)

LLCH
13-04-2010, 08:02 PM
Come on..someone with classical guitar appear please.. who plays songs like Fernandor Sor's theme and variation on magic flute.. or maybe Chaconne by J.S. Bach.. Or even better something like Paganini's 24th Caprice..haha..

13-04-2010, 08:33 PM
i play the piano, failed grade 8 exam last year by less than 10 marks :cry and stop having piano lessons now (i hv no talent~~)

Aww, don't be so down. I had had friends that failed her piano grade 8 twice. So you ain't as bad as you think. Try taking it again this/next year. If you don't have talent, how come you could pass the exams until grade 7? :))

21-04-2010, 11:15 PM
String instruments and piano is always a nice combination. I used to watch my friend playing piano and her sister playing violin and it turned out nice too! Another combination I've seen is piano and cello and the sound was also amazing! :laugh

Whoa, it never occur to me that glassy knows how to play piano. :nuts :P

I have a friend (well, now two) who plays the cello. She and I would always duet together in performances, and we love to perform together too! :P

herm
22-04-2010, 12:13 AM

Hello Grassy! OOppss :P i'm just kidding.

Have you ever tried the combination of piano and guitar of Viva la Vida ? it should turn out to be a nice one hehe~:))

Lance_Kuan
13-05-2010, 11:12 PM
Seems to be an old post but I guess I'll just continue :)

I played violin since I was 8 and I am 18 now (do the maths). I now have a diploma in Violin (ABRSM) and taught violin at my teacher's house for 6 months before my SPM. Personally I find it hard to teach students because I do not have piano as a base. Moreover it was also hard for me to do well in theory and aural tests with the same reason. During my diploma exam I merely gave up my aural (I get either 14/21 or 12/18, well just passed :() but luckily I did well in my songs and sight-reading (29/30,28/30,29/30 for songs and 18/21 for sight-reading) and I did quite ok in scales & arpeggios as well. I got a distinction for my exam that time (whew!)

Personally I prefer Barroque and New Age, as the songs from both periods does not really require bombastic expressions (Schumann and Schubert, I hate both of you :() and I really LOVE fast songs. Toccatas and Fugues of Bach are my favourites :D I like to challenge my extend of fast finger movements and those fast-paced metronomes :)

I have a friend from my former school who plays piano very well (FYI he represented Msia to Korea for a piano competition and won 2nd place) and so he accompanied me during my diploma exam (We're required to find partners ourselves, which IMO is a burden for violin players) and I really enjoyed my 1st (Bach) and 3rd (Bartok) song compared to my 2nd one (Schumann T.T)

I've stopped practicing violin due to my SPM and is now trying to regain my strength in that particular instrument :) My dream is to learn piano because I think that piano is a very important instrument. My advice for newbies : go for piano before violin, it makes things much more easier.

ChiaYi
16-05-2010, 05:26 PM
Hey! I was roaming around the forum and saw this! :)

Erm, I've been playing the piano for the past 11 years... going for my ATCL Recital exam this December! :))

22-05-2010, 12:32 PM
Seems to be an old post but I guess I'll just continue :)

I played violin since I was 8 and I am 18 now (do the maths). I now have a diploma in Violin (ABRSM) and taught violin at my teacher's house for 6 months before my SPM. Personally I find it hard to teach students because I do not have piano as a base. Moreover it was also hard for me to do well in theory and aural tests with the same reason. During my diploma exam I merely gave up my aural (I get either 14/21 or 12/18, well just passed :() but luckily I did well in my songs and sight-reading (29/30,28/30,29/30 for songs and 18/21 for sight-reading) and I did quite ok in scales & arpeggios as well. I got a distinction for my exam that time (whew!)

Personally I prefer Barroque and New Age, as the songs from both periods does not really require bombastic expressions (Schumann and Schubert, I hate both of you :() and I really LOVE fast songs. Toccatas and Fugues of Bach are my favourites :D I like to challenge my extend of fast finger movements and those fast-paced metronomes :)

I have a friend from my former school who plays piano very well (FYI he represented Msia to Korea for a piano competition and won 2nd place) and so he accompanied me during my diploma exam (We're required to find partners ourselves, which IMO is a burden for violin players) and I really enjoyed my 1st (Bach) and 3rd (Bartok) song compared to my 2nd one (Schumann T.T)

I've stopped practicing violin due to my SPM and is now trying to regain my strength in that particular instrument :) My dream is to learn piano because I think that piano is a very important instrument. My advice for newbies : go for piano before violin, it makes things much more easier.

Hey, Lance! It's good to see such excellent violinists like you. I have only three other violinist friends who are also wonderful violinists. One is studying in IMU, and two have long graduated from UTP. I've been searching for technically sound violinists myself here, which is quite difficult, considering that UTP is a technological university.

If you are in UTP, do drop me a line!

Erm, I've been playing the piano for the past 11 years... going for my ATCL Recital exam this December! :))

All the best for your ATCL! It's not that difficult if you've been well guided. But don't take it for granted.

I took the AMus instead of ATCL. Back then, the foreign exchange rate for the Pound Sterling was insanely high. So I opted for AMus by the AMEB. The AMEB no longer offers diploma exams here in Malaysia.

CelineD
24-05-2010, 05:04 PM
Hello=) I just want to ask: Most of you play because you're really passionate in music right? really admire it...need help here=)

Since I presume that most Recommers are teens and young adults who are studying, how do you make time to practice and brush up your music skills? And, for piano (I'm a lower six student, was at grade 7 but have recently stopped exam practices, just learn new songs)I told my teacher recently that I wanted to stop taking official exams right now because, er, I know that I'm not good in managing time and a bit undisciplined. is that a good idea or shall I continue with exams as a means to make myself more hardworking and push myself to the limit?

I kinda regret not starting younger now...only started at std 5...

Plankton
24-05-2010, 08:42 PM

ATCL Recital is quite a strict examination. They don't give you marks on anything other than your recital. The intepretation, dynamics, technique, styles, level of maturity of playing is all taken into note. Just be prepared to dress nicely, and of course, be a performer. It's no longer a Grade 8 exam when you can still obtain a distinction with clammy, shaky hands. :)

As for me, I did my ATCL Recital two years back, violin with distinction. It's not easy to do all that in nine months. (Did some crazy skipping back then.)

All the best to you!

24-05-2010, 08:58 PM
Hello=) I just want to ask: Most of you play because you're really passionate in music right? really admire it...need help here=)

Since I presume that most Recommers are teens and young adults who are studying, how do you make time to practice and brush up your music skills? And, for piano (I'm a lower six student, was at grade 7 but have recently stopped exam practices, just learn new songs)I told my teacher recently that I wanted to stop taking official exams right now because, er, I know that I'm not good in managing time and a bit undisciplined. is that a good idea or shall I continue with exams as a means to make myself more hardworking and push myself to the limit?

I kinda regret not starting younger now...only started at std 5...

Well, to start off with, I am studying engineering in UTP, and getting a piano to practise here was quite difficult.

Now that my university has a new grand piano, I practise on it whenever I'm free.

The thing is that it is never too late to continue taking exams, but if you are rather undisciplined, then you need to be strict with yourself. There's no other way than to push yourself to practise.

Yes, I have the passion for music, and I'm still developing myself in music. Whenever I feel lazy to practise, I compose. You may ask how I could find the time, but when you are passionate about music and feel strongly about it, you will somehow just manage to allocate some time to practise and enjoy some good music.

People like me would consider buying a cheap piano just to practise even if I am studying overseas!

Despite the amount of practices far less than what I did five years ago, thankfully I can still execute a lot of difficult technique. Apparently if you keep on going for exams up till Diploma, you will achieve the musical maturity that is sufficient to help you retain your technique for quite some time even if you have lost touch with the instrument.

But don't take that for granted.

Lance_Kuan
25-05-2010, 05:36 PM
Frankly speaking, for just to pass in Diploma exams, 15~30 minutes practise a day is sufficient enough (I did that :P) but to excel in it (well, distinction?) you'll have to pour in a lot of time to make everything perfect, from notes accuracy, emotions, until controlling mental fear (most people shake during exams :) ). As for people who are weak in aural tests like me, taking recital is actually quite a good option (I intended to take ATCL Recital if I didn't get any scholarship offers) because to me playing songs is MUCH MUCH easier compared to those aural -.-'

25-05-2010, 05:53 PM
Frankly speaking, for just to pass in Diploma exams, 15~30 minutes practise a day is sufficient enough (I did that :P) but to excel in it (well, distinction?) you'll have to pour in a lot of time to make everything perfect, from notes accuracy, emotions, until controlling mental fear (most people shake during exams :) ). As for people who are weak in aural tests like me, taking recital is actually quite a good option (I intended to take ATCL Recital if I didn't get any scholarship offers) because to me playing songs is MUCH MUCH easier compared to those aural -.-'

Hehe... Yeah, ATCL Recital would suit the taste of most musicians because there is no aural component involved in it (if you opt to provide programme notes to the examiner).

Those who did the AMus by the AMEB, such as myself, would have to go through the Viva Voce which could last up to 10 minutes. Looking back, luckily I had a good knowledge of the repertoires by some more popular composers. Otherwise, I'd be doomed too.