View Full Version : is smthg missing in our lives?

kennytang
29-02-2004, 02:18 AM
have u ever wondered y we live in this world?
it's rather a stupid question i know but still i am curious.
as a student, hw n hw n hw everyday really makes my day meaningless.

kennytang
29-02-2004, 02:18 AM
have u ever wondered y we live in this world?
it's rather a stupid question i know but still i am curious.
as a student, hw n hw n hw everyday really makes my day meaningless.

29-02-2004, 02:24 AM
I think that you need to fully utilize your time and it bogs down to time utilization and your priority. I believe that no matter how busy you are, you would definitely have the opportunities, to do the stuff that you like, provided that you plan your time well.

Many ReCom members have been active in many stuff...They have done it, so learn from them~!

29-02-2004, 02:24 AM
I think that you need to fully utilize your time and it bogs down to time utilization and your priority. I believe that no matter how busy you are, you would definitely have the opportunities, to do the stuff that you like, provided that you plan your time well.

Many ReCom members have been active in many stuff...They have done it, so learn from them~!

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 02:26 AM
this question is not pointless; it has been asked since civilization and no one has a definite answer.

some people resort to religion for a "reason". some people create aspirations to have a "sense of goal". some people ended up questioning all the time.

It's nothing wrong to question. In fact, it's a signal of our "awakening" to question this. Why must we live under norms? why must we go against them? why? whatever...sorry it's a little like crap.

For me on a personal level, i believe like one thing i pursue in my life is to learn to see the reality, to develop a more wisdomed and compassionate mind---and eventually to contribute to others life. This is my goal---a very individual one but eventually i think--they are what that will really enable me to do something good for the society.

Ironically, being a mere bio major won't enable me to do much of what i think the world really needs--which is the true cultivation of mind (instead of relentless pursue of materialism). (haha shamefully. :p )

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 02:26 AM
this question is not pointless; it has been asked since civilization and no one has a definite answer.

some people resort to religion for a "reason". some people create aspirations to have a "sense of goal". some people ended up questioning all the time.

It's nothing wrong to question. In fact, it's a signal of our "awakening" to question this. Why must we live under norms? why must we go against them? why? whatever...sorry it's a little like crap.

For me on a personal level, i believe like one thing i pursue in my life is to learn to see the reality, to develop a more wisdomed and compassionate mind---and eventually to contribute to others life. This is my goal---a very individual one but eventually i think--they are what that will really enable me to do something good for the society.

Ironically, being a mere bio major won't enable me to do much of what i think the world really needs--which is the true cultivation of mind (instead of relentless pursue of materialism). (haha shamefully. :p )

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 02:32 AM
also, the recognition of your choice of life is important. why do we in the first place, chooses to be a student and study?

Partly for me, yes this is what the society requires--on a very conventional level---to be a so-called accomplished and successful individual.

but on a bigger picture, it truly comes down to an effort to advance one's wisdom/compassion. Keep in mind wisdom does not equal to knowledge. Trust me, there are TOO MANY smart people with a lot of knowledge, aspiration and degrees but there are TOO LITTLE people who can truly live with "wisdom" and act with compassion.

especially as "so-called future leaders, we should strive to be more wisdomed.

A quote i love from Ghandhi(oh man, he;s my idol)---one must spiritually purify oneself to become a great leader.

take care all!

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 02:32 AM
also, the recognition of your choice of life is important. why do we in the first place, chooses to be a student and study?

Partly for me, yes this is what the society requires--on a very conventional level---to be a so-called accomplished and successful individual.

but on a bigger picture, it truly comes down to an effort to advance one's wisdom/compassion. Keep in mind wisdom does not equal to knowledge. Trust me, there are TOO MANY smart people with a lot of knowledge, aspiration and degrees but there are TOO LITTLE people who can truly live with "wisdom" and act with compassion.

especially as "so-called future leaders, we should strive to be more wisdomed.

A quote i love from Ghandhi(oh man, he;s my idol)---one must spiritually purify oneself to become a great leader.

take care all!

wesleyanne
29-02-2004, 02:46 AM

oh wow..... considering i myself am currently going through some pretty rough times at the moment, what you wrote there was really enlightening...

and kennytang, it may seem all so meaningless right now, but in the future, you'll realize its significance, and what you're feeling right now is truly part and parcel of life, and I believe the key is learning from experience :) trust me, im sure everyone here has probably gone through that stage of confusion in life :) and that question of yours really isn't stupid, cos im sure there are a lot of us who have always had that question in mind, but dont really have the courage to ask out loud :)

and yes, shianling is right, the recognition of your choice is crucial. and since we've all made our choice to be students, studies should be our main priority, right? hehehe :) ok, that aside, find out what's making you so discouraged, why is hw so meaningless? is it cos you don't like your major, or are there other reasons? find out what it is then im sure you can work things out and discover your purpose :)

and shianling, who says being a bio major doesn't enable you to do what the world really needs? who knows? you could be the one who successfully finds a cure for AIDS ;) hehehe

wesleyanne
29-02-2004, 02:46 AM

oh wow..... considering i myself am currently going through some pretty rough times at the moment, what you wrote there was really enlightening...

and kennytang, it may seem all so meaningless right now, but in the future, you'll realize its significance, and what you're feeling right now is truly part and parcel of life, and I believe the key is learning from experience :) trust me, im sure everyone here has probably gone through that stage of confusion in life :) and that question of yours really isn't stupid, cos im sure there are a lot of us who have always had that question in mind, but dont really have the courage to ask out loud :)

and yes, shianling is right, the recognition of your choice is crucial. and since we've all made our choice to be students, studies should be our main priority, right? hehehe :) ok, that aside, find out what's making you so discouraged, why is hw so meaningless? is it cos you don't like your major, or are there other reasons? find out what it is then im sure you can work things out and discover your purpose :)

and shianling, who says being a bio major doesn't enable you to do what the world really needs? who knows? you could be the one who successfully finds a cure for AIDS ;) hehehe

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 01:01 PM
alright, my below reply or message could be very random, but they truly represents some of my thoughts. u can read them, ignore them, whatever.

i think yea, maybe being a bio major i can do something good to the society too---eg: finding cure for whatever diseases.. that was what i thought too when i decided to pursue such a degree/education. But again, as i have said---what the world TRULY needs is the true cultivation of mind--of compassion--of an open and soft heart. Being a bio major would not really give much space to that. (although i can still do it through many other channels, like reforming education and stuff)

anyways my main points are --- sometimes, as time goes, i start to question certain things. sometimes we tend to set our goals based on expectations/common conventions of the society. as technology advances, we want better health, we want better comforts... we think that creating all kinds of medicine to cure diseases will set us in true well being. such train of thought to me, is based on a relentless desire for outward comfort----which is imbalanced as we do not equally stress on the well being of our mind/ development of wisdom.

where will technology lead us? has anyone questioned that? so what if we manage to create more medicines? so what if we can lengthen our life span? so what if we manage to satisfy our vanity everyday by fitting ourselves into the latest trends/whatsoever. our society/ modernity has lead us into a relentless pursuit of worldly matters.... relentless desire for impermanent, physical well beings.. without being conscious about the true meaningful things in life...we get trapped in our own unworthy desires.......we fall into a "legalistic" way of dealing with things....when it comes to someone doing something wrong, we use "THE LAW" because we do not believe in that person's own moral autonomy and integrity. Aggression is used to deal with social problems---because we do not believe that each individual has the capability of cultivating their own goodness. ultimately, we FLOW with the modernity---we think that we could master modernity---but we are actually the victoms of the trap created by ourselves, our history.... bla bla bla

enough rambling. thanks for the space.

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
29-02-2004, 01:01 PM
alright, my below reply or message could be very random, but they truly represents some of my thoughts. u can read them, ignore them, whatever.

i think yea, maybe being a bio major i can do something good to the society too---eg: finding cure for whatever diseases.. that was what i thought too when i decided to pursue such a degree/education. But again, as i have said---what the world TRULY needs is the true cultivation of mind--of compassion--of an open and soft heart. Being a bio major would not really give much space to that. (although i can still do it through many other channels, like reforming education and stuff)

anyways my main points are --- sometimes, as time goes, i start to question certain things. sometimes we tend to set our goals based on expectations/common conventions of the society. as technology advances, we want better health, we want better comforts... we think that creating all kinds of medicine to cure diseases will set us in true well being. such train of thought to me, is based on a relentless desire for outward comfort----which is imbalanced as we do not equally stress on the well being of our mind/ development of wisdom.

where will technology lead us? has anyone questioned that? so what if we manage to create more medicines? so what if we can lengthen our life span? so what if we manage to satisfy our vanity everyday by fitting ourselves into the latest trends/whatsoever. our society/ modernity has lead us into a relentless pursuit of worldly matters.... relentless desire for impermanent, physical well beings.. without being conscious about the true meaningful things in life...we get trapped in our own unworthy desires.......we fall into a "legalistic" way of dealing with things....when it comes to someone doing something wrong, we use "THE LAW" because we do not believe in that person's own moral autonomy and integrity. Aggression is used to deal with social problems---because we do not believe that each individual has the capability of cultivating their own goodness. ultimately, we FLOW with the modernity---we think that we could master modernity---but we are actually the victoms of the trap created by ourselves, our history.... bla bla bla

enough rambling. thanks for the space.

29-02-2004, 02:52 PM
for me, there is only 1 thing missing in my life...

which is my goal......(can't disclose it here)

once i reach my goal, i will live a "hedonistic" lifestlye.....
hope that i will end up like the main character in The Lotus Eater by W. Somerset Maugham......

there's a time in my life, i was really lost.....no focus, no aim just a living corpse who walk thru everyday following the same routine...
that's really tragical and ....really sad.....

but once i found my way.... I am always energetic and keen to work hard towards this aim...

We need a goal, a reason..... "Living aimlessly is dying." by Me.....

hahaha

29-02-2004, 02:52 PM
for me, there is only 1 thing missing in my life...

which is my goal......(can't disclose it here)

once i reach my goal, i will live a "hedonistic" lifestlye.....
hope that i will end up like the main character in The Lotus Eater by W. Somerset Maugham......

there's a time in my life, i was really lost.....no focus, no aim just a living corpse who walk thru everyday following the same routine...
that's really tragical and ....really sad.....

but once i found my way.... I am always energetic and keen to work hard towards this aim...

We need a goal, a reason..... "Living aimlessly is dying." by Me.....

hahaha

kennytang
29-02-2004, 04:30 PM

how do u find ur aim?
i have my own aim too but still i hate going for lectures
damn boring...............

kennytang
29-02-2004, 04:30 PM

how do u find ur aim?
i have my own aim too but still i hate going for lectures
damn boring...............

kennytang
29-02-2004, 06:11 PM
i m being too lazy
cant achieve my aim
any help from anyone?
everyday just no mood to study

kennytang
29-02-2004, 06:11 PM
i m being too lazy
cant achieve my aim
any help from anyone?
everyday just no mood to study

01-03-2004, 04:21 PM
don't study then. If you do badly, see if you care. If you do, then at least you can learn something from your mistakes.

If you don't care then I guess, stop and smell the flowers in life and stop caring about school. Find something that truly matters to you and stick with it.

01-03-2004, 04:21 PM
don't study then. If you do badly, see if you care. If you do, then at least you can learn something from your mistakes.

If you don't care then I guess, stop and smell the flowers in life and stop caring about school. Find something that truly matters to you and stick with it.

angie
01-03-2004, 06:10 PM
i don't think there's anything missing in my life though, i really don't think so. of course sometimes i might ask myself - why didn't i just this this and that? but then - even if i did this this and that, i'll probably ask myself the same thing again. so whatever comes out to be, just take it easy and think about next.

sure there's always something i want but i won't say that it's missing. just hope for it! one never knows before he reach it! whatever it is...just hope but in the meantime learn!

angie
01-03-2004, 06:10 PM
i don't think there's anything missing in my life though, i really don't think so. of course sometimes i might ask myself - why didn't i just this this and that? but then - even if i did this this and that, i'll probably ask myself the same thing again. so whatever comes out to be, just take it easy and think about next.

sure there's always something i want but i won't say that it's missing. just hope for it! one never knows before he reach it! whatever it is...just hope but in the meantime learn!

01-03-2004, 07:59 PM
My goal in life is to find a goal for my life...

01-03-2004, 07:59 PM
My goal in life is to find a goal for my life...

02-03-2004, 11:23 AM
i'd like to learn more about my religion

02-03-2004, 11:23 AM
i'd like to learn more about my religion

02-03-2004, 12:11 PM
this is a very interesting question. and taufiq, i am glad that you want to learn more about your religion. i too want to learn more about mine.

in a world where cold logic, cyncism and "every man for himself" mentality seem to be cherished, and belief and devoutness to God are increasingly thought of as out-dated and weak, it truly is not easy to remain faithful to one's religion.

i would like to share my experiences of the past week. i was on "alternative spring break" last week in Nashville, TN with 8 other truly wonderful people from church. we worked with Catholic Charities, which provides immigration and refugee resettlement servies to people from all over the world, regardless of creed. it was a truly sobering experience for me. above all else, i realized that i have to do what i can to help the less fortunate.

as is the norm nowadays, we see religion being bashed. religion is being bashed for inciting terrorism, for harboring child abusers within its doors, for being out of touch, etc. the thing we've got to remember is this: the people who practice religion are human, and so are its leaders. when we turn away from religion because of the follies of some people, we are giving the devil just what it wants.

so, i have endeavored to learn more about my faith, and to volunteer my services to charitable organizations. after all, what is life when you don't give something back?

thanks for reading this, whether you consider yourself religious or not.

02-03-2004, 12:11 PM
this is a very interesting question. and taufiq, i am glad that you want to learn more about your religion. i too want to learn more about mine.

in a world where cold logic, cyncism and "every man for himself" mentality seem to be cherished, and belief and devoutness to God are increasingly thought of as out-dated and weak, it truly is not easy to remain faithful to one's religion.

i would like to share my experiences of the past week. i was on "alternative spring break" last week in Nashville, TN with 8 other truly wonderful people from church. we worked with Catholic Charities, which provides immigration and refugee resettlement servies to people from all over the world, regardless of creed. it was a truly sobering experience for me. above all else, i realized that i have to do what i can to help the less fortunate.

as is the norm nowadays, we see religion being bashed. religion is being bashed for inciting terrorism, for harboring child abusers within its doors, for being out of touch, etc. the thing we've got to remember is this: the people who practice religion are human, and so are its leaders. when we turn away from religion because of the follies of some people, we are giving the devil just what it wants.

so, i have endeavored to learn more about my faith, and to volunteer my services to charitable organizations. after all, what is life when you don't give something back?

thanks for reading this, whether you consider yourself religious or not.

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
02-03-2004, 12:15 PM
i hope to become a more enlightened being. :)

till one day--when I can see in everyone's eyes the true nature of goodness.

till one day--when i can see a world without violence. (which starts from our daily life)

till one day--when i can see a world without oppression.

fav quote: doctrinal belief is the source of hallucination.

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
02-03-2004, 12:15 PM

till one day--when i can see a world without violence. (which starts from our daily life)

fav quote: doctrinal belief is the source of hallucination.

02-03-2004, 12:22 PM
yes, i think something is missing in our lives.

The Kyoto Protocol. We could thank Dubya for that.

02-03-2004, 12:22 PM
yes, i think something is missing in our lives.

The Kyoto Protocol. We could thank Dubya for that.

mercsinc
02-03-2004, 12:41 PM

i dont know about you guys, but the first thing that came into my my when i read this was martin luther king jr...

mercsinc
02-03-2004, 12:41 PM

i dont know about you guys, but the first thing that came into my my when i read this was martin luther king jr...

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
02-03-2004, 12:56 PM
wahaha..... :oops: (feel "pai se")

well, i know i will die before i am able to see those...

but that doesn't mean i should not spend my life to work for these... :)

i think i am more influenced by Ghandi...i am now reading about him...

hopefully my state of enlightenment will allow me to transform my ideals into reality without any aggression, without any coercion, but through compassion, understanding and unity.

again, my fav quote: all beings are one.

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
02-03-2004, 12:56 PM
wahaha..... :oops: (feel "pai se")

well, i know i will die before i am able to see those...

but that doesn't mean i should not spend my life to work for these... :)

i think i am more influenced by Ghandi...i am now reading about him...

hopefully my state of enlightenment will allow me to transform my ideals into reality without any aggression, without any coercion, but through compassion, understanding and unity.

mercsinc
02-03-2004, 01:42 PM
i got a question that doesnt have anything to do with this forum. what does the hp/mp/bars indicate? how do we increase them?

mercsinc
02-03-2004, 01:42 PM
i got a question that doesnt have anything to do with this forum. what does the hp/mp/bars indicate? how do we increase them?

02-03-2004, 04:10 PM
LOL
mersinc
can check out the about recom.org page. they hv some explanation bout this.. :wink:

02-03-2004, 04:10 PM
LOL
mersinc
can check out the about recom.org page. they hv some explanation bout this.. :wink:

02-03-2004, 05:03 PM

All beings are one. You go girl. Just wish someone would show those people who choose war over peace how significant this simple mantra is.

02-03-2004, 05:03 PM

All beings are one. You go girl. Just wish someone would show those people who choose war over peace how significant this simple mantra is.

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
03-03-2004, 03:46 AM

thank you sweetheart, it's a source of motivation to me for all my work. :)

peace!

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
03-03-2004, 03:46 AM

thank you sweetheart, it's a source of motivation to me for all my work. :)

peace!

Melo_15
26-03-2004, 10:21 PM
hmm kenny, actually every one of us are created for a reason.... erm i dun think it is a watse of time lor for us to be living in this world... hehe....well, u got a gf wat, y do u still think it is boring? :lol:
erm.."all beings are one" God created all man equal....haha

27-03-2004, 12:38 PM
Check this out. The article may shed some lights to "something missing in my life"

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/21/education/7457260&sec=education

Melo_15
27-03-2004, 01:23 PM
thanx yekban....nice website !

27-03-2004, 02:23 PM
There's one obvious thing that's missing in my life ... freedom!!!

Though we are told that we have these freedoms protected by the Bill of Rights, but i don't think that we can fully utilize it everywhere. For example, i can't just go up and tell my Oral Communication lecturer that she was being a tight @<hidden>$$ and make my class's grades much lower compared to that of other classes's (this is true, so far, there are only 3 people who have A- in my class, and the rest, B while other classes, their grades are all A- and above). If i did that, there's this thing called AAP which i believe they set a maximum marks allocated for it, but no minimum marks, which means it may go down to negative something...
After all, speech is all about impression marking ...

I have no freedom to not to take Ethics because it's a MUST, and no freedom to talk about anything i want coz there are some delicate matters we should be very cautious of and my future may be down to ashes if I lost my self-control and started bringing it out...
That's the thing which is missing in my life... i hope that i can get it somewhere in the near future..........

Panda
28-03-2004, 12:21 AM
hmm kenny, actually every one of us are created for a reason.... erm i dun think it is a watse of time lor for us to be living in this world... hehe....well, u got a gf wat, y do u still think it is boring? :lol:
erm.."all beings are one" God created all man equal....haha

Easy for you to say because you have girl friends!! :P :!:

28-03-2004, 04:02 AM
What is missing in my life?! emm.. I think nothing is missing in my life. I satisfy and enjoy my life now although it is not that perfect if compare with those from rich family background but I do appreciate what I have now as a college student. Of course, as a human being, there always got unlimited desires, so I will still keep on my work to fight for a brighter future and a better life. :)

mish
28-03-2004, 06:07 PM
What is missing in my life?! emm.. I think nothing is missing in my life. I satisfy and enjoy my life now although it is not that perfect if compare with those from rich family background but I do appreciate what I have now as a college student. Of course, as a human being, there always got unlimited desires, so I will still keep on my work to fight for a brighter future and a better life. :)

missing? missing..... ow, what's missing in my life?? "I satisfy and enjoy my life now although it is not that perfect if compare with those from rich family background but I do appreciate what I have now as a college student." This is what I'm missing SO FAR. Yeah, I hope that it's only 'so far' but not forever. Hope that sooner or later I will find a way to further my study.......

28-03-2004, 06:48 PM
ever since i come to INTEC uitm... i feel that i become less in touch with my purpose in life.... i don't know whether that is a good or bad thing.... i guess when i come here.... i live a more "hedonistic" life :oops: :lol: hehe.....
on the other hand, alot of my perspective on life has changed.... i guess u can call it paradigm shifts.... i view issues from different angles now :roll: .... and a lot of ideas i think of a "fixed" when i was in my hometown..now i see from different perspectives.... :wink:
i do not know why but since i come here i feel that life is very short and i live each second as if it were my last :?: ....everything seems so temporary, maybe because we are in the transition period between studying in malaysia and studying in US..... i treasure my friendship more :P ..... especially friends i am going to leave for 4 years... and probably never see again.... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
so now u see why i feel that everything in my life seem so temporary..... nothing seem constant in my world these days........ :?

28-03-2004, 07:34 PM

missing? missing..... ow, what's missing in my life?? "I satisfy and enjoy my life now although it is not that perfect if compare with those from rich family background but I do appreciate what I have now as a college student." This is what I'm missing SO FAR. Yeah, I hope that it's only 'so far' but not forever. Hope that sooner or later I will find a way to further my study.......

Don't worry too much, you will get IT one day. Nothing is impossible. Good luck and all the best to you! :D

mish
28-03-2004, 08:39 PM
Janewai : Thanks a lot. I think what I can do now is pray and pray and pray and pray....... my friends taught me....

28-03-2004, 10:23 PM
Dont pray...
search for as many scholarship as you can and APPLY for it :)
or try to seek advices from your seniors or friends.

remember :
God only help those who help themselves....

29-03-2004, 02:37 PM
Dont pray...
search for as many scholarship as you can and APPLY for it

Yeah, sometimes we can't be too optismistic. In this case, you can't just pray and pray and pray that you will get the scholarship. Think. What if i dun get the scholarship (not to say i'm cursing you, but just to prepare you for a plan B)? What will i do next?

It's good to apply for as many scholarships as possible. You'll have higher chances to get one, if not many... :D [/quote]

mish
29-03-2004, 04:16 PM
Dont pray...
search for as many scholarship as you can and APPLY for it :)

remember :
God only help those who help themselves....

Thanks! I did apply for scholarships. Since that most of(if not every) the scholarships reach there deadline already, I think it's no use for me to search for scholarship now. (but still, I'm doing it. :P) haha.... because I always believe that nothing is impossible.

mish
29-03-2004, 04:23 PM
Yeah, sometimes we can't be too optismistic. In this case, you can't just pray and pray and pray that you will get the scholarship. Think. What if i dun get the scholarship (not to say i'm cursing you, but just to prepare you for a plan B)? What will i do next?

It's good to apply for as many scholarships as possible. You'll have higher chances to get one, if not many... :D [/quote][/quote]

What if I don't get the scholarship? Yeah, I do think of it for many times and yes, I do have my second plan. I do ask advices from my friends also, that's why they ask me to pray! hehe...

30-03-2004, 10:33 AM

If you don't get any scholarships, don't fret or give up. In life, things don't always go our way (it would be boring if they always do, wouldn't it?) I always believe that things happen for a reason and if you don't make it today, there sure is something better waiting in front. So actually, being optimistic is good. It's being 'over confident' that's dangerous! 8)

SpRInG
30-03-2004, 11:38 AM
wow... how can anyone every say don't pray???
a better solution, i think would be search for scholarhips and pray at the same time, pray hard.....

can't be too optimistic? think again....

missing something in our lives? perhaps we should really think again, of the meaning of life......

:) :)

31-03-2004, 05:11 PM
Is something missing in our life?

Well, I have one simple but meaningful story which can relate to our life. This story was shared to me from my email friend a very long time ago. Here it goes…

Once upon a time….not a fairy tale story..haha

There are two brothers who live at 80th floor of a flat. One day, when they were back from mountain hiking, they found that their flat was out of electricity. Although they had heavy knapsacks at their back, the two brothers decided to take the stairs instead.

So, started they climb the stair with their knapsacks at their back. At 20th floor, however, they began to feel tired.

The elder suggested, “These stuffs are too heavy. Let us leave our knapsacks at this 20th floor and continue to climb. When electricity comes, we can take back our knapsack by lift.” The younger said, “You are really smart.” So they left their heavy knapsacks at 20th floor and resumed their climb. Without these knapsacks, both of them felt much comfortable and easier to make their way up.

Along their way, the brothers enjoyed chatting and laughing. However, at 40th floor, they felt very tired. Knowing that they had just came to their half way up to 80th floor and there are still 40 floors ahead, the brothers began to take blame on each others; blaming each other of not taking notice on blackout warning. They grumbled and cursed each other until they reached 60th floor.

At 60th floor, they were too exhausted to grumble. The elder said, “Enough grumbling. There are just 20th floor left. Just keep quiet and let us finish the rest peacefully.” And with that, they finally reach the 80th floor. Arrived at the front door of their home, the elder said to the younger, “Quick, open the door.” “No kidding, the key is with you, isn’t it.”

Only then, they realized that they had left the key with their knapsacks at 20th floor.

This story reflects very much our life. What do you think?

31-03-2004, 06:05 PM
Is something missing in our life?

Well, I have one simple but meaningful story which can relate to our life. This story was shared to me from my email friend a very long time ago. Here it goes?

Once upon a time?.not a fairy tale story..haha

There are two brothers who live at 80th floor of a flat. One day, when they were back from mountain hiking, they found that their flat was out of electricity. Although they had heavy knapsacks at their back, the two brothers decided to take the stairs instead.

So, started they climb the stair with their knapsacks at their back. At 20th floor, however, they began to feel tired.

The elder suggested, ?These stuffs are too heavy. Let us leave our knapsacks at this 20th floor and continue to climb. When electricity comes, we can take back our knapsack by lift.? The younger said, ?You are really smart.? So they left their heavy knapsacks at 20th floor and resumed their climb. Without these knapsacks, both of them felt much comfortable and easier to make their way up.

Along their way, the brothers enjoyed chatting and laughing. However, at 40th floor, they felt very tired. Knowing that they had just came to their half way up to 80th floor and there are still 40 floors ahead, the brothers began to take blame on each others; blaming each other of not taking notice on blackout warning. They grumbled and cursed each other until they reached 60th floor.

At 60th floor, they were too exhausted to grumble. The elder said, ?Enough grumbling. There are just 20th floor left. Just keep quiet and let us finish the rest peacefully.? And with that, they finally reach the 80th floor. Arrived at the front door of their home, the elder said to the younger, ?Quick, open the door.? ?No kidding, the key is with you, isn?t it.?

Only then, they realized that they had left the key with their knapsacks at 20th floor.

Hahaha, if i were them, I would have sure just break the darn door in lieu of having to go all the way down again. In our lives, we have many choices. Not all choices will turn out the way we want it to be, but heck, u've made your choice. So just go on with it. In this case, they have left their knapsack behind and it's unfortunate indeed that their keys are in the knapsack. But since they have left it there and decided to get it back when the current comes, so be it. No point turning back.

31-03-2004, 06:16 PM
You are tough to decide breaking the door. What if it's a grill door...unbreakable?

31-03-2004, 06:50 PM
First, what kind of apartment with 80 floors where there are no back up plans during black outs for those who are living in the 80th floor. What if they have to go to work?

Well, it's just a hypothical example ... I dun think i would like to stay on such a high floor. I mean, going up there, even though with lift, can take minutes just to get up there. Hehe, ok, digressed a bit.

I'll just 'tumpang' my neighbour's unit until there's current again......

31-03-2004, 07:06 PM
yeah....sometimes we are so busy trying to be the top....to achieve success in everything that we forget to seek the true meaning in our lives....
and live our lives meaningfully....

kIdd0
31-03-2004, 09:16 PM
Hmmm... people often say out the true meaning of life.... are they refering to the search for happiness? the quest for love? or merely the enjoyment of living everyday to the fullest? anyone?

31-03-2004, 09:33 PM
Hmmm... people often say out the true meaning of life.... are they refering to the search for happiness? the quest for love? or merely the enjoyment of living everyday to the fullest? anyone?

Well if you ask me, the true meaning of life is having all of the above. To me, life is like a journey where you have to pick up all these things along the way, love, happiness, etc. But if you fail to pick up some of them, there could always be more down the road, or sometimes no more. Oh, and I guess we're supposed to enjoy the journey too - hence the need to enjoy everyday to the fullest.

hungwei
31-03-2004, 10:17 PM
If you think that nothing's missing in your life, good for you.
If you think that something's missing in your life, then you should know it sooner or later.
If you don't, then maybe you feel that you have a boring life, or you have high demands from your life.
Anyway, we human beings are never satisfied with what we have.

We never stay still.
We always look for something new, fresh and more appealing.

01-04-2004, 07:22 PM
The explanation on the life reflection of this story goes like this:

In our first 20th years, we live with family, with teachers? guide and hopes. Under continuous and high stress from both parties, even that we are not mature enough to deal with such challenges, we have no choices but barely survive through.

After 20th years, we begin to embark our adulthood, separate from the family home. Suddenly, we find ourselves with greater freedom ever, to look for our own world. The next 20 years, life is full with joy and laughter.

At 40th years old, we discover that our good old days (youthful years) are gone. Life begins to fill with remorse, regrets. We tend to blame others for our regrets over something; blaming our company, blaming our society, blaming the government. 20 years are gone like this.

When our age reaches 60, life seems very short. We tell ourselves not to keep blaming others. Instead, we better appreciate and spend the rest of our little time peacefully. Finally when death approaches, we feel like something hasn?t been accomplished by us. Something is missing in our life. My goodness?we have left our dreams, which are never realized, at the age of 20!

Think and find out what your own dream is. What thing matters to you most? Don?t wait until you reach 40 when you begin to feel regret. Think and ponder how your future and present would differ? Say one day when you are old sitting at a bench in front your house. What would you think about your good old days? What memories of the past do you want to replay again and again in your remaining days? What kind of sweet memories would you like to have? Plan and then act now. Some people said, ? just let your life be as natural as it is. Do you know how many people out there live their life like that without planning? Just Happy go lucky? Grab opportunities today. Today is present.

01-04-2004, 07:26 PM
My goodness?we have left our dreams, which are never realized, at the age of 20!

Think and find out what your own dream is. What thing matters to you most? Don?t wait until you reach 40 when you begin to feel regret.

Sorry to pour cold water on this, but what if a person knows what his dream is but simply does not have the means to accomplish it (like maybe no money, etc.)?

01-04-2004, 07:38 PM
Nothing is impossible, if you are willing to put continuous effort to achieve your dream. There is always a way, it's just a matter of time and your effort. Never give up :wink: