View Full Version : Would you tell your friends your Mensa Admission?
Alextakashi
06-11-2006, 07:22 PM
Haha just out of curiosity... imagine you have to take some sorta intelligent tests, (( like an iq test )) and all your classmates took with you... whether you passed or you failed badly, would you tell your friends?? This is out of curiosity about our Malaysia Mensa Admission test... the test only admits 2% of the top scorers in the test..which is the meaning of mensa, top 2%, however, there are not many people who take the tests...those who took it, is either taking it as fun, or smart kid who wants to prove themselves...
So my question is, if many took the tests, when we ask around, why arent' many got rejected, you only find those who are in, not those who are not in...
Haha anyway this question intrigued me when Mensa Malaysia decided to expand their possible membership to 600,(issit??) and i'm wondering having this admission test in high school will be nice or might cause social disorder among students... ( i got made fun of pretty badly in school, hahahaha )
06-11-2006, 09:58 PM
Alextakashi, Malaysian Mensa does not expand its membership significantly or has any initiative to expand its membership significantly. Malaysian Mensa has been doing its Mensa Admission Test as usual, and every year, hundreds of Malaysians did Mensa Admission Test.
Since Malaysian Mensa was formed about 23 years ago, about 6,000 Malaysians have been admitted into Malaysian Mensa, and of which about 1,000 Malaysian Mensans are currently active members of Malaysian Mensa.
What you might have misinterprated about the 600 people that you quote, is that it is a target being set by a Mensan to try and achieve 600 Mensans attending next year's Mensa Anniversary Dinner. It has nothing to do with Mensa's Admission policy.
On more than 2% of candidates taking the test qualified, it is mainly due to the people who took the test have self-selected themselves.
The results of Mensa Admission Test is confidential and should be confidential.
caramel_nut
06-11-2006, 10:22 PM
I just feel that whatever special achievements that you have, there is no such need to mention to everyone.
Don't be like the hen in " bertelur sebiji, riuh sekampung"..
What's the point of telling the whole world? Not that it is of any significance to the society. I only inform those whom I feel that I am accountable to.
andrewlza
07-11-2006, 06:06 AM
actually, my friends and i joked about it as a money making syndicate for people who needed external boosts in self confidence. :)
because at one specific test, of seven people from the same school, ranging from forms 2- 5, seven got in.
Alextakashi
07-11-2006, 07:30 PM
yeah tats the point!! oh i misinterpreted the 600 thingy...
but my guess was... how come almost everyone who dare to take it got in... well..almost..hahaha ((something's fishy's goin on..hahahaha)) just guessing, coz i;m kinda curious, it's like the question, where are all the baby pigeons?? we only saw adult pigeons around... hahaha cheers,
sujend
07-11-2006, 08:50 PM
hey..how to sit for MENSA in penang and where can we sit for it!
08-11-2006, 11:52 AM
yeah tats the point!! oh i misinterpreted the 600 thingy...
but my guess was... how come almost everyone who dare to take it got in... well..almost..hahaha ((something's fishy's goin on..hahahaha)) just guessing, coz i;m kinda curious, it's like the question, where are all the baby pigeons?? we only saw adult pigeons around... hahaha cheers,
This is just like the same sale pitch that people throw. Like, direct selling, u only hear about how successful people are, or a mutual fund manager, or professional online poker gamblers, or successful professional gamers...
also, as it cost money to take the exam, not everyone is willing to pay for it if they don't think they gonna pass it, and hence, there's a selective bias going on here...
and will i tell my friends that I passed the exam, well, if they asked, why not. But, I won't go around showing off my scores, or flashing the MENSA membership card.
08-11-2006, 06:34 PM
Mensa is a pure NGO, and no one in Mensa is being paid, even a cent for organizing any of Mensa activities.
In terms of admission, I can't disclose the actual percentage of admission, but as far as I can say, for almost every session of testing, the admission rate is often below 50%, and in fact a lot of time, it is below 25%.
The people who stepped forward to take the test have actually self-selected. So, the admission rate is higher. There is no way that anyone's Mensa score could be manipulated. At any point in time, only one Malaysian Mensa officer is in charge of grading the Mensa Test, and even the person conducting the test would not know who makes it to Mensa or not. It is perfectly confidential.
Sujend, I have emailed you the email address of Mensa Penang Chairman. He should be able to inform you of the upcoming Mensa test. You could visit Mensa Penang Website (http://www.mensapenang.org) as well.
08-11-2006, 08:43 PM
You can learn more about Mensa via http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mensa_International
sujend
08-11-2006, 08:57 PM
Mensa is a pure NGO, and no one in Mensa is being paid, even a cent for organizing any of Mensa activities.
In terms of admission, I can't disclose the actual percentage of admission, but as far as I can say, for almost every session of testing, the admission rate is often below 50%, and in fact a lot of time, it is below 25%.
The people who stepped forward to take the test have actually self-selected. So, the admission rate is higher. There is no way that anyone's Mensa score could be manipulated. At any point in time, only one Malaysian Mensa officer is in charge of grading the Mensa Test, and even the person conducting the test would not know who makes it to Mensa or not. It is perfectly confidential.
Sujend, I have emailed you the email address of Mensa Penang Chairman. He should be able to inform you of the upcoming Mensa test. You could visit Mensa Penang Website (http://www.mensapenang.org) as well.
yeah..received it..thx!
sunshine88
08-11-2006, 10:11 PM
does mensa conduct tests during early in the year..?
08-11-2006, 10:13 PM
does mensa conduct tests during early in the year..?various branches of MENSA conduct exams at different times of the year. If you managed to get a big enough broup of people, ie > 50, you can even ask them to conduct a special exam for you guys. That's what the guys in INTEC used to do...
Alextakashi
08-11-2006, 11:50 PM
Haha, mensa is really just another fun society or gathering, like many ppl with same interest gather together and hang out!! Chen chow should be able to explain when and where the test is held, i think every 3rd sunday issit? in national science centre?
Anyway, the mensa youth is always planning to do something...yet not many show up... There are few fun guys around, hahaha ((tsk tsk)) Albert (who is one of the founder of xfresh, guess so) , Dominic used to be the youth leader (so called), Emir is another fun guy who went to singapore di...
Oh to the thread about what is mensa for,
"ever found school boring? ever think that your brain works beyond the tedious school syllabus? like puzzles, sudoku, and lotsa logic stuff?" then you should go for mensa test... just for the fun of it...
Statistically, you score your highest around 16-20 which is your prime years, where your brain thinks fastest...(statistics are always inaccurate) some genius kids can score >160 when their merely 12 or 14, so it depends... Anyone could be a mensa, irrespective of education level, a bus driver could be, a professor could be, even a beggar could be...it's like an innate thingy, u cant really study for it... coz u know, u know, u dunno, u never will do...
Cheers...( dun take it so serious, ahha it's a fun thing, not A-levels or STPM or SPM, the results don't matter..))
lsyalights
09-11-2006, 12:51 PM
Is is really worth the RM50 admission fee? And I heard you have to pay RM10 more for the membership card! Can any Mensan enlighten me on this?
I took the test too, mainly for fun and as a bet with my friends and English teacher. It's pretty fun, a lot of people tembak the last ten question as they ran out of time. Mensa came to our school to conduct the test ^_^ I think the test is mainly a test of logic only, whatever age you're at it doesn't matter...
The thing about higher passing rate for those who paid the test are true though, 8 of my class took the test, about 5 passed(all the girls passed...whee ^_^). Passing mark is scores 148/180.
FAQ on Mensa test:
http://www.malaysianmensa.org/content/view/14/58/
So, anyone taking the test? It's pretty exciting to smile, frown then sweat through 36 picture-questions ^_^ Best if it's taken with a bunch of friends!
09-11-2006, 01:52 PM
Essentially everyone above age of 14 can take Mensa test. It is not tied to any educational level.
For admission test in KL, it is done every 2nd Saturday of the month at Mensa HQ at Bangunan Sultan Salahuddin at 3pm. It is also done every last Sunday of even month (Feb, Apr, Jun, Aug, Oct, Dec) at 3pm at National Science Center.
Mensa does go to any school/institution/office/NGOs etc to conduct test, if you have at least 25 people who wish to take Mensa test.
The next Mensa test would be on 11th Nov (Sat) 3pm at Bangunan Sultan Salahuddin. Please be there about 15 minutes before the test.
On Mensa Annual Fee, it is RM50. You would be entitled to 12 Triple M Magazines (each with about 28 coloured pages) each year. The articles inside are the product of Mensans. There are many activities throughout the year. Some of the activities for the past 6 months include Bowling Tournament, Sudoku Challenge, Scrabble Challenge, Forum On Intelligence, 60th Anniversary Dinner, Eating Trip to Penang and Perak, DOTA games, hanging out and eating, Penang Treasure Hunt, weekly Gasing hill climbing, Deeparaya dinner, themed dinner and wine, Pot luck dinners, anime fest attendance etc.
bluehyppoes
30-12-2009, 03:15 AM
ah a thread on mensa stuffs....
well personally i wouldnt, coz i think thats kind of a show of...at least to me....but i'd gladly (hehe) let my friends know that in a mensan if asked, or if someone talked about mensa to me....
in my case it all started not coz i wanted to prove myself, to say fix my inner insecurities...back then i took the test coz i thought if i got in, i'd help me in my uni application process (back then my pre-uni results were appalling) but it turned out that the uni admission will not include mensa membership as one of the selection criteria....
so now its just a card that i carry around with me....kinda like a mensan and proud to be part of the organization...
Holyboy27
13-03-2010, 11:32 AM
LOL. My friends wouldn't believe it!
TheTruthIsFake
13-03-2010, 03:59 PM
MENSA's test is fairly easy if you ask me. My friend and I actually scored higher in MENSA's test than normal IQ tests.