View Full Version : Call out golfers?!

29-02-2004, 10:09 PM
sorry, i dun play golf but my bf does....eh...i dun see what's the pleasure of playing it..but i enjoy watching it especially the last hole...i still get confused for the what 'birdie' '9-hole' such terms....anyway, just wondering is there any golfers or avid golf fan in ReCom?? :roll:

29-02-2004, 10:09 PM
sorry, i dun play golf but my bf does....eh...i dun see what's the pleasure of playing it..but i enjoy watching it especially the last hole...i still get confused for the what 'birdie' '9-hole' such terms....anyway, just wondering is there any golfers or avid golf fan in ReCom?? :roll:

29-02-2004, 10:28 PM
I have redirect this topic to Sports SIG.

29-02-2004, 10:28 PM
I have redirect this topic to Sports SIG.

29-02-2004, 10:31 PM
Not a golfer, but I know a bit about those terms.

Generally, each hole has a certain number of average putts. Typically it is par 72, which means on average you should need 72 putts to hit finish all the 18 holes. Most golf competitions go on 4 days, and each day is 18 holes. So, 9 hole is just the first half flight of each round.

So, say a hole is par 4.

Hitting the ball in with 2 putts would be called "eagle", 3 putts "birdie", 4 putts "par", 5 putts "bogey", 6 putts "double bogey" ...

If I explain anything wrong, hope others can correct me, ok?

29-02-2004, 10:31 PM
Not a golfer, but I know a bit about those terms.

Generally, each hole has a certain number of average putts. Typically it is par 72, which means on average you should need 72 putts to hit finish all the 18 holes. Most golf competitions go on 4 days, and each day is 18 holes. So, 9 hole is just the first half flight of each round.

So, say a hole is par 4.

Hitting the ball in with 2 putts would be called "eagle", 3 putts "birdie", 4 putts "par", 5 putts "bogey", 6 putts "double bogey" ...

If I explain anything wrong, hope others can correct me, ok?