View Full Version : US Colleges Class of 2011, Where are you applying??

Alextakashi
08-11-2006, 06:33 PM
Well i suppose there should be an amount of recom ppl applying to us colleges, so where are you applying to??

To start off...
Macalester,Grinnell,Carleton,Vassar,Lawrence

who else??

eslite
09-11-2006, 01:22 PM
Cornell, Dickinson, Stanford, Wesleyan, Colgate and Lafayette

expectation
09-11-2006, 08:17 PM
grinell, oberlin, mt holyoke, kenyon..
you get the drill.

i didn't have very good sat scores so couldn't apply to better unis. in fact, i didn't get good scores at all. but i guess a lot of colleges are de-emphasizing on SAT anyway.

jojo
14-11-2006, 08:54 PM
hi i'm new here
i plan to apply to harvard, princeton, nyu, upenn, wellesley and smith
don't get a good SAT score though... just for the sake of trying
even if i get an offer, i woudn't able to go without financial aid

Alextakashi
15-11-2006, 04:50 PM
oooo well if u get into harvard,p'ton, no worries man,

oh by the way..it's better to write down the college and then ur sat score... then it will depict a more thorough picture...(( dun just say bad SAT score..it really sad when u got 2250 and say it's a bad score))
haha i nearly punch that dumbo that cry over an A2 in spm where he got 13A1...1A2...
cheers and regards.

eslite
15-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Harvard and Princeton are need-blind so you'll definitely get finaid (if you apply) if you get in.

If you don't get finaid you could always try applying for scholarships (Astro, Shell etc). :wink:

15-11-2006, 06:59 PM
Personally, I don't think there is much correlation between SAT Score and top universities admission. To be frank, SAT Score is just one of many factors that go into students' admission to top universities.

Jojo, as mentioned by other ReComers, Harvard, Princeton, as well as Yale, MIT etc are need blind universities, which would provide you with financial aid, if you obtain admission.

mmng
16-11-2006, 11:11 AM
i'm quite impressed by the interest in women's colleges shown by jojo and expectation. I'm also interested in why you girls are considering women's colleges. are you just open to the option of a women's college or really keen in attending? i go to Smith and my best friend goes to Mt holyoke. I can definitely answer questions about Smith (from application to attending). In general, you girls might also want to find out more about the atmosphere in a women's college (Important! can't be stressed enough). Smith, Mt Holyoke and Wellesley are indeed very different. Even if you wanna go to a women's college, choose the one that's right for you.

i noticed i applied to at least one of the schools in each of the first four responses. liberal arts. yesss.

I know this discussion doesn't pertain to half the population of the forum. so PM me with questions.

mmng
16-11-2006, 11:26 AM
if you're really determined, nothing can stop you from coming to the States :wink: even if you need financial aid. apply to a range of schools--i know a few schools where friends have got generous financial aid at. (Smith isn't particularly generous, sorry jojo. Not trying to put you off but do get in touch with me i'll help you out)

16-11-2006, 06:25 PM
I think that a thread could be started to discuss on Liberal Arts Colleges in US, as I'm sure these colleges are not really well explored by Malaysians, and now, we have some ReComers who have studied there or who are applying there.

Jei
16-11-2006, 07:04 PM
Is that studying in top universities will assure that ur future life will be better than others ?

16-11-2006, 07:32 PM
Is that studying in top universities will assure that ur future life will be better than others ?

Lets not hijack this thread. This thread is for ReComers to post which universities they apply. I will respond to your this question at the US Universities Applications thread.

Assess it here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=97954#97954)

jojo
17-11-2006, 12:20 AM
to provide my SAT score
Math 800
Critical Reading 620
Writing 590
I wont consider this good... and this is my 2nd sitting...
i've worked so hard but my english just isn't good enough.
to mention again, i plan to apply to harvard, princeton, upenn, nyu, wellesley, smith
i know upenn and nyu are not generous in terms of financial aid, and i can't make it without fin aid. do you think i should try anyway since those are the schools that i want or i should aim for school with good fin aid package but not well known in malaysia?

jojo
17-11-2006, 12:22 AM
i know there are scholarships available but i realise that the main scholarship providers, such as astro, shell, sime darby mostly sponsor engineering students.. which is not the field i'm interested in.....
anyone knows scholarship that sponsor actuarial studies or mathematics?

mmng
17-11-2006, 11:36 AM
jojo, looks like you know which schools are beyond reach if you apply for financial aid. it's probably not wise to apply there unless you don't mind splurging a little more on application fee or enjoy filling out their application forms.

i understand people have reservations about applying to schools that are 'not well-known in Malaysia'. well, whether to apply or not depends on how much you want to be in the States, weighing your chances, etc. also, i don't think it really matters if a school is 'well-known in Malaysia' as long as it is good and well-known here. i can tell you some things about Smith to brag about if someone gives you that puzzled look when you say you are applying to Smith. :wink: personally, i don't really care what people think.

how long have you been doing your preparations to apply--researching schools, etc. i know it's usual for people early in the application process to look at 'well-known' schools only. well, as you know, they are either hard to get in or don't give financial aid. if you're not applying ED1, do take some more time to look around. i put in a lot of time and effort researching last year and by the end of it, the list of schools i wanted to apply to changed totally. i hope you explore more and look for other options though i won't mention names here.

also, if you're worried about not having good enough SAT scores, look for schools which don't look at SAT scores. what about SAT subject tests? maybe they could help. you know yourself best and try to enhance your pluses and mitigate your weaknesses. i personally think that some schools look at whether someone would be a 'fit' too. that's why you have to find out about the culture of a school and ask yourself whether you see yourself being a part of it (especially important at a women's college!) of course, schools do appreciate diversity too and don't feel intimidated by not being able to fit in. it's actually more for the sake of your own well-being than gaining admission because you don't want to end up being in a place you don't like.

i don't know much about scholarships. but you know, there're strings attached if you hold a scholarship (although there're some totally 'free' ones, i hope you know which) but if you get financial aid, you're much freer (of course the catch is you have to contribute part of the costs yourself).

Hoong
17-11-2006, 03:07 PM
If you want the admission officers to think that you are really poor, maybe you shouldn't even send in the application fee. Write a letter telling them that you are too poor to pay. That's what my friend did and he got full tuition + boarding. Of course, he has a good resume to sell himself.

Also, if you think the financial aid is not enough, you can always negotiate with the school. Another friend of mine was only offered half tuition at first. He then told the admission officer that he was offered more aid from another school. He ended up getting aid covering 3/4 of the tuition.

cy
17-11-2006, 07:21 PM
Hello! I am a Malaysian studying in Singapore..just found this site:) Anyway, I applied to Smith ED, and am painfully waiting for the decision to be out in one month time..

Mmng: How competitive is admission at Smith? I am really curious about my chances..

17-11-2006, 08:20 PM
Hello i'm new here =P

2011 ei, means i'm eligible. I'll be applying to UMich, Wisconsin, Purdue, Illonois UC or Penn State.

YiYang
17-11-2006, 09:56 PM
Hello i'm new here =P

2011 ei, means i'm eligible. I'll be applying to UMich, Wisconsin, Purdue, Illonois UC or Penn State.

Hi there,I am new here too.........
Seiryu,does the Purdue application for all the undergraduate studies been closed?I don't really understand what the university posted in their site.
http://www.purdue.edu/Admissions/Undergrad/applying/closed_programs.shtml

If then we could only apply for the August 20?

17-11-2006, 10:45 PM
Hello YiYang. I'll only be applying to those universities in 2008/ 2009. I'm an ADP student so i don't really know much about aplication for now. Sorry =)

mmng
17-11-2006, 10:59 PM
cy, PM me to introduce yourself. i went to school in Singapore too. which JC are you at now? how's the a-level exam so far?

and of course i take any questions about Smith. since you ED'd, you must come if you're admitted. i'm so excited! about chances, maybe you wanna tell me more about yourself? Nobody can tell chances for sure anyway. admission is, more often than not, random. and this, you can say about america in general.

mmng
18-11-2006, 12:37 AM
yea, find out the financial policy of the respective schools and the best way to do this is get in touch with real students and ask explicitly and directly. if you want to get past adcoms' and finaid officers' beating around the bush, ask them explicitly.

LOL. i'd say...only do the fee waive thing if you are reeeeeeeeeally poor and not 'want the admission officers to think that you are really poor'. it's not so much about the bearing it has on your application but it just doesn't sound too...ethical? then again, you can think that you are really poor when you're not, right? hmmm...it's up to you and your conscience.

it's not easy to negotiate aid after being accepted so don't expect it to work out all the time. and most of the time when this happens, it's when schools 'match'. but consider the possibilities of not having schools to match, eg. when you are accepted by only one school, the school that offers more aid is not as good, etc. because schools have taken everything you've told them about your family's financial situation into consideration at the point of acceptance (they may not even want to accept you if you need more money), what they have determined is usually what they want to give to you. so unless your financial situation changes between the time you apply and get accepted, they will most likely not change it. of course, stingy schools and generous schools do things differently.

these are only my experiences--may not apply everywhere.

YiYang
18-11-2006, 09:04 AM
Hello YiYang. I'll only be applying to those universities in 2008/ 2009. I'm an ADP student so i don't really know much about aplication for now. Sorry =)

Anyway,just remind those who are applying there to apply early as the university state that we should apply as early as possible "preferably in September or October" so maybe by now the classes are already filled up...............SWEAT......................

Alextakashi
18-11-2006, 06:14 PM
oh jojo u are almost like me... the scores...
erm... not too optimistic for ur choices of school... to be frank... the chance is down to 1-2%, well i'd disregard any other special skills u have by the way..((maybe you're a olympic level sportswomen or world class something..))
try to look at Liberal Arts College, they offer quite a number of international scholarship, and aim towards midwest, coz they arent many internationals there, so internationals are most welcome... (( north east is packed with asians and internationals..))
actually, liberal arts colleges are just university without master and doctorate faculty, almost 90% of us colleges adopt liberal arts education, namely, princeton, yale etc etc...
I think the purposes of education is really to educate yourself, for career wise, u could always apply to top uni for masters, and gain recognition after that... ((with ur excellent undergrade grades, like chen chow(he got masters in stanford, rite?, it's hard to reject good students in top unis, isnt it??))

jojo
21-11-2006, 12:02 PM
considering the virtually impossible chance to get into upenn and nyu with fin aid, i've made slight changes to my college choice
I might be applying to harvard, princeton (cos they are need-blind), bates, mt holyoke, wellesley and smith. I hope this give me a higher chance of admittance.... ( i know the first 2 are quite impossible too)
if they do not require SAT 2 scores but i've taken it and with good results, should i provide them anyway?

21-11-2006, 09:19 PM
Hello i'm new here =P

Hi there,I am new here too.........
Seiryu,does the Purdue application for all the undergraduate studies been closed?I don't really understand what the university posted in their site.
http://www.purdue.edu/Admissions/Undergrad/applying/closed_programs.shtml

If then we could only apply for the August 20?

Essentially for all universities that you are applying now, it should be for admission in August/September, i.e. fall admission. So, it is pretty standard for fall admission to have deadline of application by December this year for admission in August next year.

For those universities with rolling admission, based on what I know, typically, they would still have some admission places open in January/February, although the earlier you apply, the better it would be.

kram
21-11-2006, 10:46 PM
I just want to mention Colorado College should any of you be looking for a decent Liberal Arts College to apply to. They follow a block plan which very few colleges do and offer good financial aid. I personally applied there and got an almost free ride but didn't go in the though. If you have any questions let me know and I'll try to answer them.

clvn
22-11-2006, 11:12 AM
Or if anyone has any questions about Berkeley, I'm here :P

'tis not that hard to get into

kram
22-11-2006, 09:54 PM
hey calvin, hows it going??

didnt know you were active in recom till recently...lol...

Andrew89
23-11-2006, 02:42 PM
hi there,im new here and i saw calvin's post on berkeley. Could you give me any tips for applying there? im applying to fall 2007's term for engineering. ps.i din take A levels!

23-11-2006, 07:22 PM
hi there,im new here and i saw calvin's post on berkeley. Could you give me any tips for applying there? im applying to fall 2007's term for engineering. ps.i din take A levels!

andrew89, which pre-u are you doing? For fall 2007 term admission, the deadline for application would be around next month, i.e. dec 2006.

koln_auhc
23-11-2006, 08:17 PM
it's 30th november.

Andrew89
23-11-2006, 09:28 PM
yuppiez..its nov 30. im doing a somewhat ATU program in uniten.I heard tat its possible to gain admission w/o A'levels and many have done it.Juz wanna know if there's any tip u guys can give me. Im counting on my scores in sat n toefl + my transcripts to get me in as im not really good in writing those essays.hehe

aquamarine7
18-03-2008, 09:15 PM
hey for uc-berkeley,wat are the 'extra' requirements of getting admitted (need-blind)??i heard that they do provide 15 need-blind scholarships...

Tasslehoff
18-03-2008, 09:19 PM
There are no 'extra' requirements. They pick the best out of the admitted pool and award them the regent's scholarship.