View Full Version : Athens Olympic Games
02-03-2004, 02:38 AM
With Olympic Games going to return to Athens for this year series, lets have a thread to discuss about it. So, any discussion on Malaysian sports that have connection with Olympic Games go into here~!!!
02-03-2004, 02:38 AM
With Olympic Games going to return to Athens for this year series, lets have a thread to discuss about it. So, any discussion on Malaysian sports that have connection with Olympic Games go into here~!!!
02-03-2004, 05:41 AM
Is anybody going?
maybe we could go together since i would be in eastern europe for probably four months.
02-03-2004, 05:41 AM
Is anybody going?
maybe we could go together since i would be in eastern europe for probably four months.
deadmeatz
03-03-2004, 12:57 AM
when is the olympic? june eh? 8O 8O 8O
deadmeatz
03-03-2004, 12:57 AM
when is the olympic? june eh? 8O 8O 8O
03-03-2004, 01:09 AM
i foresee a chaotic olympic games. i wish the athletes well, but i have a feeling the organizers will mess up big time.
03-03-2004, 01:09 AM
i foresee a chaotic olympic games. i wish the athletes well, but i have a feeling the organizers will mess up big time.
04-03-2004, 10:19 PM
I think it is in july or august...
How do everyone thinks of the 1-4 lost to Iran in Soccer pre-world cup. Do you think that we are playing well?
How about the 0-1 lost to NZ in Hockey pre-world cup. We are playing India today, after India was held 1-1 by Belgium...
04-03-2004, 10:19 PM
I think it is in july or august...
How do everyone thinks of the 1-4 lost to Iran in Soccer pre-world cup. Do you think that we are playing well?
How about the 0-1 lost to NZ in Hockey pre-world cup. We are playing India today, after India was held 1-1 by Belgium...
deadmeatz
05-03-2004, 03:16 PM
hmm didnt watch both of the games. but from my point of view, our national football team really sux big time. lol, didnt mean to offence anyone, but seriously, we could have done better. :(
there's no doubts about the physical size of the iran's player. but if we look at japan, s.korea or even thailand, most of them have similar size to the malaysian player, except that they're the top teams in asia.
ermm about the hockey team, i'll leave it to the others to comments on it :P
deadmeatz
05-03-2004, 03:16 PM
hmm didnt watch both of the games. but from my point of view, our national football team really sux big time. lol, didnt mean to offence anyone, but seriously, we could have done better. :(
there's no doubts about the physical size of the iran's player. but if we look at japan, s.korea or even thailand, most of them have similar size to the malaysian player, except that they're the top teams in asia.
ermm about the hockey team, i'll leave it to the others to comments on it :P
07-03-2004, 03:22 AM
Our hockey team may be missing the Olympic Games for the first time in many years... Really hope that it doesn't happen..
We have beaten Canada 3-2, lost to India 2-3 and lost to NZ 0-1. 2 more cruncheres to go, one against Pakistan and one against Belgium. Belgium has performed well, draw with India and NZ. So, we are in a torrid time.~!
07-03-2004, 03:22 AM
Our hockey team may be missing the Olympic Games for the first time in many years... Really hope that it doesn't happen..
We have beaten Canada 3-2, lost to India 2-3 and lost to NZ 0-1. 2 more cruncheres to go, one against Pakistan and one against Belgium. Belgium has performed well, draw with India and NZ. So, we are in a torrid time.~!
14-08-2004, 12:54 AM
With the Olympic starting now, lets start this discussion back on Athens Olympic Games...
Links to Olympic main page:-
http://www.athens2004.com
Links to Malaysian performance in Olympic
http://www.athens2004.com.my
http://www.telekom.com.my/rtmolympics/
16-08-2004, 01:49 PM
Iraq football team....wow....unbelieveable.....qualify for the last eight!
Keng Liat....sad sad...finish last in the semifinal heat... I dun think malaysia can get any medal in swimming...
Is badminton our only hope? :roll:
couldnt get excited at all for the olympics heh. dunno why.
16-08-2004, 06:46 PM
Japanese defeat Nigeria 79-73 in the preliminary basketball women match! I love that unexpected outcome of the match.
16-08-2004, 07:48 PM
couldnt get excited at all for the olympics heh. dunno why.
Maybe because there are not enough Malaysian there that are competitive enough to bring back any medals :)
However I am watching nearly every Judo match here ... supporting Japan in Judo ...
breaking news: Dream Team was defeated!!!
Puerto Rico made Olympic Men's Basketball history on the first day of competition Sunday 15 August by becoming the first team to beat the United States ever in a non-final phase game...
http://www.athens2004.com/en/resultsBasketball/results?oid=0951a7a77346ef00VgnVCM4000002b130c0aRCRD&dcpnews=1&rsc=BK0000000
19-08-2004, 09:37 AM
Our badminton kaput again...
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/8/19/sports/8702464&sec=sports
why.....
19-08-2004, 10:42 PM
I couldn't believe that. The ultimate chinese doomed from their remarkable first ranking to the last ranking in the last round of their unbeliavable disastrous dive which resulted in zero point in the men's syncronised diving spring board on last Monday. How dissappointing it is. Greece got the gold instead.
http://203.115.194.24/athens2004/xml/en/direct/competition/images/siranidis-bimis-dives16.jpg
20-08-2004, 06:39 AM
Lets keep our fingers' crossed on Josiah Ng.
Although our badminton team has not been able to go far, I think they have been playing pretty well. All the opponents that they lost to, were no pushover. Sony Dwi Kuncoro, Taufiq Hidayat, Chen Hong, Korean and China doubles for men double and world number 1 for women double.
Hence, lets look at the bright side, our athletes do not do really bad. Although there wasn't any personal best done as of now, hopefully the Olympic experience would be a fruitful one for our athletes.
20-08-2004, 01:12 PM
well, the best match ever, in my humble opinion, is the basketball match between USA n Puerto Rico...this oughta teach all the big shot NBA players a big giant lesson about underestimating others or overestimating themselves...wad 'the gold is in our hands'...memalukan!
20-08-2004, 11:50 PM
I couldn't believe that. The ultimate chinese doomed from their remarkable first ranking to the last ranking in the last round of their unbeliavable disastrous dive which resulted in zero point in the men's syncronised diving spring board on last Monday. How dissappointing it is. Greece got the gold instead.
news said that they were slipped on the board before jump. but there r some articles stated that things like that never happen because they r proffesional. so it is clear that china do it intentionally... if the second was not greece then china will not sacrifice like that
20-08-2004, 11:57 PM
news said that they were slipped on the board before jump. but there r some articles stated that things like that never happen because they r proffesional. so it is clear that china do it intentionally... if the second was not greece then china will not sacrifice like that
conspiracy theory eh?
21-08-2004, 04:59 AM
well, the best match ever, in my humble opinion, is the basketball match between USA n Puerto Rico...this oughta teach all the big shot NBA players a big giant lesson about underestimating others or overestimating themselves...wad 'the gold is in our hands'...memalukan!
It's understandable that they will eventually lose in this olympics. Just look at their lineups and you'll understand. They are sending tthe young guns instead of the more experienced ones(they turned down the offer to particiapte in the olympics).
heh what nonsense. accidents do happen no matter how pro people are. probably putting a "self sacrifice" spin on things to cover malu
KobeBryant
21-08-2004, 10:54 AM
It's understandable that they will eventually lose in this olympics. Just look at their lineups and you'll understand. They are sending tthe young guns instead of the more experienced ones(they turned down the offer to particiapte in the olympics).
if those players in the NBA All-Star team are willing to represent US , other teams dun need to play already loooo
Center : O'Neal
PF : Kevin Garnette
SF : (duno the best choice)
SG : KOBE BRYANT
PG : Jason Kidd
KobeBryant
21-08-2004, 11:06 AM
malaysian badminton team is really hopeless
actually , we should realize that they can't deliver madals
i thought they have been fully prepared for this Olympics
even during those tournaments , we rarely see malaysian players win in the finals....try to figure out how many times did Wong choon han lose in finals and also our doubles best bet , choong tan fook-lee wan wah, i think there are countless times they lose the game that they actually are leading....
everytime they are up against chinese players or indonesian players , the odds are they will lose !!! i think it will continue for at least 5 years....unless BAM give up the current batch of players and start training young players
take , lee chong wei. he is now in 23 , quite young in the context of malaysian. but for chinese players , they can already challenge any world-class players at this age
21-08-2004, 11:30 PM
heh what nonsense. accidents do happen no matter how pro people are. probably putting a "self sacrifice" spin on things to cover malu
first , the news is not coming from china.
second, do u ever see this kind of 'accident' happen before in history???
22-08-2004, 02:17 PM
was watching Olympic highlight through NBC(the american national tv network).
came across this staggering fact:
SAUDI ARABIA AND QATAR DIDN'T SEND A SINGLE WOMAN TO PARTICIPATE in athens.
how crap is that?
there was this afghanistani woman who ran with track pant,(read:pant not short ) on the 100 m. though she finished last and 3 seconds behind the rest of the atheletes,i really looked up at her decision to join this game.
pakistan finally allowed a woman to compete in the swimming after much controversy.
man,here we are in the 21st century and there some men out there who wish women will just stay in the kitchen and cook and wait for them.
first , the news is not coming from china.
second, do u ever see this kind of 'accident' happen before in history???
1. just because the article itself is not from china doesnt mean the ultimate source is not chinese
2. more of a reason to cover malu
dinna_g
23-08-2004, 05:11 AM
hohoho.. olympics.. i was embarassed by the fact that no malaysian qualified in the semifinal of badminton... memalukan.. sungguh memalukan.. chenchow made a good point of them losing to tough players.. but dude, they can do better than that.. tan fook-wan wah is currently ranked 1st in the world and lost to a korean pair..why? what's wrong?
anyway, iraq is in the semis for men soccer.. so now i'm supporting iraq to win the gold for soccer.. i'm hoping that they'll beat paraguay in the semis tomorrow... let's support the underdogs!
dinna_g
23-08-2004, 05:17 AM
how crap is that?
haiya.. biaq pi laa dia.. sukati dierang lah! anyway, let's talk about the sports here, and not the controversial issues raised by the "oh-so-great" americans.
btw, qatar is hosting the next asian games. i'm pretty sure there'll be women events....
23-08-2004, 03:04 PM
I knew a malaysian team swimming coach, who is training Malaysia National Swimming team in Bukit Jalil, in Universiade Games, Daegu, Korea last year. He told me that the swimmers that he trains, can do better during practice, but just hardly break thier own record during the game. He told me that, Malaysian easily to get panic and lost confident when standing beside with others that taller and bigger size than Malaysians. I think this would be the main reason why Malaysian hard to get any great achievements at world-class games.
23-08-2004, 03:29 PM
how crap is that?
haiya.. biaq pi laa dia.. sukati dierang lah! anyway, let's talk about the sports here, and not the controversial issues raised by the "oh-so-great" americans.
btw, qatar is hosting the next asian games. i'm pretty sure there'll be women events....
Well, "maybe" their female athletes/players are not qualify for Olympic as they need to EARN themselves a place there first for most of the events. It can be maybe they dont want to waste money on those who they know cant win :?
23-08-2004, 10:28 PM
diana_g rote:
well,suka hati depa gak lah nak treat women like assholes,telling women that you have to walk one step behind any man becoz u know man is always superior craps here.and yeap,be trophy wives too.
as much as i want to talk about sport,i realized there are certain craps that need to be changed especially from the so-called,holier-than-thou countries.i couldn't take the suka hati derang attitude like u did.and pls dont shoot the messenger and yeas americans are greater that those craps.
let's see whether there will be women in the next asia game from these countries.
on the lighter note,romania team really rocks in the gymnastic.when will we have a superb gymnast like them.
24-08-2004, 12:07 AM
dinna_g, from your posts i can sense that you hate america a lot. here's a suggestion: why don't you try living in an ultra-conservative islamic society like saudi arabia and see for yourself if you'd rather live there than in the u.s. or even malaysia? oh wait, arabs can do no wrong and the west is always picking on them.:-/