View Full Version : ReMag Feedback
02-03-2004, 09:42 AM
After working for 2 months with the ReMag Team, we finally managed to release the Recom Magazine (ReMag).
I would like to congratulate the ReMag Team and The ReMag Pioneer Team and Contributing authors for the release of the Baby version of ReMag..
While we're looking to release the second issue, we want to listen to everyone for comments and how do you want ReMag to be, in the future.
In other words, we need feedback.
(and we make it a discussion so that everyone can read it).
Check out Remag :
http://www.recom.org/remag
02-03-2004, 09:42 AM
After working for 2 months with the ReMag Team, we finally managed to release the Recom Magazine (ReMag).
I would like to congratulate the ReMag Team and The ReMag Pioneer Team and Contributing authors for the release of the Baby version of ReMag..
While we're looking to release the second issue, we want to listen to everyone for comments and how do you want ReMag to be, in the future.
In other words, we need feedback.
(and we make it a discussion so that everyone can read it).
Check out Remag :
http://www.recom.org/remag
mercsinc
02-03-2004, 02:09 PM
more pics please!!!
mercsinc
02-03-2004, 02:09 PM
more pics please!!!
02-03-2004, 02:35 PM
it's kinda simple..don't you think? but maybe coz we dont hv enough manpower (and womanpower :lol: ) to work on the mag. Anyway, we can,,but if all Recommers could contribute something, at least a short poem etc whatever laa...then we can hv a vast source of articles to choose from.
Hmm...printable kaa, ReMag nih? coz i wanna show to my friends...anyway, good job everyone *tazzy patting self on the back :D *
02-03-2004, 02:35 PM
it's kinda simple..don't you think? but maybe coz we dont hv enough manpower (and womanpower :lol: ) to work on the mag. Anyway, we can,,but if all Recommers could contribute something, at least a short poem etc whatever laa...then we can hv a vast source of articles to choose from.
Hmm...printable kaa, ReMag nih? coz i wanna show to my friends...anyway, good job everyone *tazzy patting self on the back :D *
laplace
02-03-2004, 04:31 PM
may i know who are the readers of Remag? I mean, who did we send our Remag to? I just kinda curious...
laplace..
laplace
02-03-2004, 04:31 PM
may i know who are the readers of Remag? I mean, who did we send our Remag to? I just kinda curious...
laplace..
02-03-2004, 04:52 PM
ya...i was wondering bout the same thing too.. 8O
02-03-2004, 04:52 PM
ya...i was wondering bout the same thing too.. 8O
02-03-2004, 11:15 PM
well, the targetted readers for the time being are recom members themselves. if you have any idea on how to expanse remag's base, im more than happy to listen.
02-03-2004, 11:15 PM
well, the targetted readers for the time being are recom members themselves. if you have any idea on how to expanse remag's base, im more than happy to listen.
mercsinc
03-03-2004, 12:02 AM
i think their question was...who read their articles before they were published?...right?
mercsinc
03-03-2004, 12:02 AM
i think their question was...who read their articles before they were published?...right?
03-03-2004, 12:55 PM
no....we juz wanna know who the target readers are....the ones who read n edit the articles before they are published are fellow recommers. We've done some discussion among the peeps involved in the publication of ReMag.
Anyway, any good ideas on how to improve, throw it in...There's always room for improvement kan? :wink:
03-03-2004, 12:55 PM
no....we juz wanna know who the target readers are....the ones who read n edit the articles before they are published are fellow recommers. We've done some discussion among the peeps involved in the publication of ReMag.
Anyway, any good ideas on how to improve, throw it in...There's always room for improvement kan? :wink:
04-03-2004, 12:41 AM
we are actually discussing remag through email. kerek, you should be recieving it ;)
04-03-2004, 12:41 AM
we are actually discussing remag through email. kerek, you should be recieving it ;)
04-03-2004, 05:15 AM
Hope that others who would like to contribute to ReMag issue number 2 to contact our chief editor, or post it here. Hopefully that ReMag would get more supports from ReCom members~!
04-03-2004, 05:15 AM
Hope that others who would like to contribute to ReMag issue number 2 to contact our chief editor, or post it here. Hopefully that ReMag would get more supports from ReCom members~!
04-03-2004, 12:51 PM
oke..got you! sorry..juz wanna explain stuff to those who don't know..
04-03-2004, 12:51 PM
oke..got you! sorry..juz wanna explain stuff to those who don't know..
04-03-2004, 03:23 PM
for those who are interested in working for ReMag, please join the newly ReMag SIG
04-03-2004, 03:23 PM
for those who are interested in working for ReMag, please join the newly ReMag SIG
04-03-2004, 08:42 PM
i have a suggestion on the layout of the ReMag.
I'm using a widescreen monitor on IE 6. The display of the Remag is all towards the left i.e. left justified and occupies only about 30% of the browser window. looks a bit weird.
make it like the recom.org page and it would be fine.
04-03-2004, 08:42 PM
i have a suggestion on the layout of the ReMag.
I'm using a widescreen monitor on IE 6. The display of the Remag is all towards the left i.e. left justified and occupies only about 30% of the browser window. looks a bit weird.
make it like the recom.org page and it would be fine.
05-03-2004, 06:37 AM
thanks for the suggestion Kelvin.
hmm.. maybe the baby ReMag is so thin that he need some more Nestum.
Yep, I also think that it's too thin. Aneroxia.
Will make it fatter.
05-03-2004, 06:37 AM
thanks for the suggestion Kelvin.
Will make it fatter.
05-03-2004, 12:49 PM
People, if any of you want to join remag, msg me and I let you join ReMag's SIG.
05-03-2004, 12:49 PM
People, if any of you want to join remag, msg me and I let you join ReMag's SIG.
silverblue
05-03-2004, 01:25 PM
Will make it fatter.
Hahaha... that was exactly what I thought the first time I saw ReMag layout!! ANEROXIC!! lol... hehe.. but anyway, this is our first edition... I'm sure there's plenty of room for improvement... we've already done a great job producing ReMag 1! Kudos to the team!
Rite now, we just need more organization, more pictures and more writers! :P
silverblue
05-03-2004, 01:25 PM
Will make it fatter.
Hahaha... that was exactly what I thought the first time I saw ReMag layout!! ANEROXIC!! lol... hehe.. but anyway, this is our first edition... I'm sure there's plenty of room for improvement... we've already done a great job producing ReMag 1! Kudos to the team!
Rite now, we just need more organization, more pictures and more writers! :P
20-03-2004, 10:02 PM
To those who are new here, check out recom's remag. We are currently working on the second edition. still online version. later, we hope to publish a dead tree edtion.
join us. apply through the SIG and msg me through the insite msger.
20-03-2004, 10:02 PM
To those who are new here, check out recom's remag. We are currently working on the second edition. still online version. later, we hope to publish a dead tree edtion.
join us. apply through the SIG and msg me through the insite msger.
15-05-2004, 03:32 PM
People, check out ReMag 2 at www.remag.recom.org
15-05-2004, 03:49 PM
_Earth, did enter the right website, or is there some error with the system server? Coz i can't access to the page. Do i need to adjust my browser settings to view the page?
Oh yeah, one more question, is the Remag thingy available on line or there's a hard copy of it?
15-05-2004, 03:55 PM
my mistake. the server doesn't seem to accept www.*
anyway, its at http://remag.recom.org.
alternatively, you can access remag by clicking the remag button at the top of recom's index page.
15-05-2004, 04:34 PM
Comments on ReMag:
Not bad
Layout/design needs improvement
No "fun" article (e.g. Concert/Club review, music review, movie review, student issues, love/sex, human rights issues, education issues, satire etc)
Needs a "Dorks are us" section (e.g. How to run MAME/Kawax on computer, how to hack Windows, Featured website etc.)]
There you go. All in all... ok lah... unpaid effort. If you guys can keep it up, heck, we might be able to publish it and put it on newstands (I can help with that).
Can I contribute to ReMag?
My speciality:
1. Local politics
2. Agnostism
3. Anarchism
4. Death Metal
5. Sex[/list]
VAPORIZER WIKI (http://vaporizerwiki.com)
15-05-2004, 09:31 PM
my mistake. the server doesn't seem to accept www.*
anyway, its at http://remag.recom.org.
alternatively, you can access remag by clicking the remag button at the top of recom's index page.
I don't mind contributing, but i think i need time to repolish and repolish my English (you know my English standard, right?) before submitting one article... Hopefully i will be harworking enough these days... hehehe....
15-05-2004, 09:57 PM
To those who are eager to contribute to ReCom, you don't really have to worry about your English level. What you need to do is to write up to your best ability and then correct it yourself and email it to a few of your friends to correct it (There are many ReComers who will be willing to do that) and then submit it.
There are a few editors who will be reading through your article and giving it the finer touch of editing, before posting it. So, don't worry!
15-05-2004, 10:33 PM
just curious... is ReMag a monthly e-mag? or is just when's done, it will be published?
the aprostrophes(') turn into a gibberish character for
example:nation?s
i think it should be more informative too...
like some new stuff... new technology...
some question for discussion ...
and i think a world event history list (some major events that happened around the world for the past month)
15-05-2004, 10:46 PM
thanks DecentMerson
i think it should be more informative too...
like some new stuff... new technology...
some question for discussion ...
and i think a world event history list (some major events that happened around the world for the past month)
we're short of staff writers. we hope it could be more than that.
but we just got started. your interest are welcome too.
15-05-2004, 10:51 PM
thanks misled_youth.
Comments on ReMag:
Needs a "Dorks are us" section (e.g. How to run MAME/Kawax on computer, how to hack Windows, Featured website etc.)][/list]
unfortunately, we're not dorks.
we hope someone can write for ReMag on tech stuff.
that would be great.
Can I contribute to ReMag?
Yes. your contribution are welcome
My speciality:
1. Local politics
2. Agnostism
3. Anarchism
4. Death Metal
5. Sex
this maybe a different kind of audience.
u can contact __earth for details.
15-05-2004, 10:57 PM
hello DecentMerson,
just curious... is ReMag a monthly e-mag? or is just when's done, it will be published?
I don't think it's a monthly mag.. this is due to our hectic schedule and the crew current capacity. we are now producing a Mag every 3 months. (summer edition is on the way).
But if we have more staff writers and contributions, that would be awesome. I think we can achieve a monthly mag one day.
you're welcome to write the tech stuff. like reviews on the best technology .. etc. we welcome any kind of contribution.
15-05-2004, 11:31 PM
HOpe you can be more specific. THanks!.
16-05-2004, 04:04 AM
If I am not wrong, we are doing it every two months right? The ReMag 2 was supposed to be out on 30th April, but it was delayed. I think _earth plans to release ReMag 3 on 30th June.
Hope more people will contribute stuff to ReMag 3!
16-05-2004, 04:55 AM
If I am not wrong, we are doing it every two months right? The ReMag 2 was supposed to be out on 30th April, but it was delayed. I think _earth plans to release ReMag 3 on 30th June.
Hope more people will contribute stuff to ReMag 3!
that's right, every 2 months. but we missed the deadline by 14 days.
(now I understand why Longhorn take 5 more years to complete :-) ) .
but we can improve it. The reason is because of the website. (which is my responsible), causing the delays.. like I said.. (or __earth said in the editorial), we're living in hectic live.
but now, the website is halfway done, and I'm positive that we things can get published a lot faster in the subsequent edition...more (http://remag.recom.org)
16-05-2004, 01:56 PM
Do we have a hardcopy of it?
16-05-2004, 03:12 PM
Certainly a good idea to make printable copy of the entire magazine for those who wants to read the whole thing in one go offline.
I'm planning to write something soon :)
16-05-2004, 08:32 PM
Certainly a good idea to make printable copy of the entire magazine for those who wants to read the whole thing in one go offline.
I'm planning to write something soon :)
Be sure to understand the Printing Press and Publishing Act. We won't want to see Jinjoo in jail do we?
HOpe you can be more specific. THanks!.
Human are visual beings. Need more graphics, perhaps a background wallpaper.
Who are the target audience anyway?
thanks misled_youth.
unfortunately, we're not dorks.
I said that in jest. Hey, I play video games too!
we hope someone can write for ReMag on tech stuff that would be great.
I want to write about things that people don't normally wanna talk about. A column like "Bold step outside the tempurung" would be cool.
Cheers!
Sick From Paxil (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)
16-05-2004, 09:15 PM
Haha, would like to grab a copy of it, if there is any. How much will one cost, anyway?
16-05-2004, 11:52 PM
Hey, firstly I would like to apologize to earth for not giving him my essay for ReMag2. I hope to be able to do something for ReMag3. But learning from ReMag2, I don't want to promise anything.
Secondly, I think that to make things easier for ReMag, maybe we should just continually collect stuff. Like people who do assignments for classes or if they are interested in something, just hand things to earth. That way you'd get a lot of material to choose from.
Just an idea.
17-05-2004, 01:21 AM
Haha, would like to grab a copy of it, if there is any. How much will one cost, anyway?
LOL! We don't have any hardcopy, yet. Maybe you could download and print it by yourself since ReMag as a printer friendly version of it.
Secondly, I think that to make things easier for ReMag, maybe we should just continually collect stuff. Like people who do assignments for classes or if they are interested in something, just hand things to earth. That way you'd get a lot of material to choose from.
A rolling deadline? sounds good. =)
17-05-2004, 05:44 AM
Good idea! ReMag as a glossy PDF that can be hosted on Catcha, Mkini, TheStar, NST, Cari etc.
Sick from nexium (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/nexium/)
13-06-2004, 03:49 AM
Making a PDF is simple, what's tough is getting them to host it and people to actually read it.
And to get people to actually write to it.
By the way, how often is ReMag published anyway? Monthly?
13-06-2004, 04:10 AM
Anybody knows Adobe PageMaker?.
(or better still, QuarkExpress?)
I've been thinking of publishing ReMag in PDF format, after it has been "PageMakered". releasing Remag on PDF is quite easy, but it's not really beautiful (I like cuteness :) ) .
I'm now slowly learning adobe stuff. Anyone interested in "PageMakering" ReMag?.
What do you guys think?
13-06-2004, 06:22 AM
to kelvinlym's question, ReMag is published once in every two months (last day of Feb, April, June, August, Oct, Dec). Our first issue was on the last day of Feb this year and we have 2 issues out already. Third issue coming on the last day of this month, June!
13-06-2004, 01:40 PM
I see. Consistency is important.
List ReMag on Ezine directories.
That's what I did for Alles Deutschland's Ezine.
I can do it for you guys. But wait til the 3rd issue is out. PM me and we'll talk about it.
16-06-2004, 10:43 AM
hey people, remag 3 will be out more or less in 2 weeks time.
in the meantime, we are currently accepting submission for remag 4.
Check remag 4 for more detail at
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Remag
or pm me through the on-site msger.
16-06-2004, 01:21 PM
huh? so soon aa? anyway, how many articles we hv for remag 3? byk ke? can still send in? or should i send em in for remag 4? update on list of articles pls! :D
16-06-2004, 07:07 PM
One thing on the banner graphics of the page - the "remag" text looks aliased (jagged edges) because of the "width='100%'".
Just use pixels as the unit instead and specify the exact size of the image..
Actually you can even achieve the same effect using HTML/CSS alone (no need images, save a bit of bandwidth!) Admittedly, a saving of a whopping 10 bytes isn't exactly mind-blowing :) Drop me a message if you still want me to do it though.
For the disclaimer, shouldn't "staffs" be just "staff"?
The page should also ideally be W3C compliant, and tables should only be used for tabular data, not layout, per W3C's recommendation. I'll happily convert everything to xHTML/CSS if requested :)
16-06-2004, 10:11 PM
budakkerek, go to ReMag SIG and go to ReMag 3 thread, and there is a list of articles. On whether you can still submit, contact _earth.
I believe it should be out on 30th June 2004 to be consistent...last day of those month that we are coming out.
Good Job everyone!!!
12-07-2004, 10:14 PM
Hye people.
ReMag 3 is out after much delay.
Hope to hear some feedback from you guys.
And for those who are interested in contributing, we currently accepting contributions for ReMag 4.
Send your stuff to mnoorsha[at]umich[dot]edu for consideration.
13-07-2004, 12:23 AM
great work guys. I enjoyed going through it. Loved all the articles. The 3 language pantun did it for me. Keep it up.
13-07-2004, 06:49 AM
hmmm...what happened to the two short stories by sawittri shotiwuth? it ws mentioned in _earth's welcome article (the editor's note) but it's not in the mag. anyone, can clarify?
13-07-2004, 06:55 AM
we actually removed it due to some complication. The editorial has been reedited to accomodate this.
I thought I had acted fact enough but damn you spotted it first.
but kerek, is she your friend?
if so, could you give me her contact? I need to clarify a few things with her.
13-07-2004, 09:48 PM
hhuhuhhu
advertisement
Read Remag 3 at remag.recom.org
30-08-2004, 10:42 PM
Hello people.
Remag 4 should be out before the first week of september ends.
but the really reason I post this is to let people know that remag needs a few proofreaders to help us in the editing process. All you need to do as a proofreader is, well, proofread. Everything 2 months or so, you will need to edit a few articles for simple grammatical and structure error and later send it to the editor in chief for tuning.
If you are interested, please join the remag team by applying into ReMag SIG (http://nac01.kinetichost.net/~recom/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Remag) or pm me through the onsite msger.
16-09-2004, 01:09 PM
Since remag 4 is out, we would like to hear some criticism from you guys.
And we are currently doing remag 5, should be out by Oct 31st but I can't guarantee that we will be on time =(.
However, if you guys are interested, please hand in your contribution to any remag editor or to me personally at mnoorsha@<hidden>. Preferablly, the contribution should be in *.doc.
Plus, we are doing a op-ed session for remag 5 where it will concentrate on an issue. Currently, the topic that we are thinking is "freedom in Malaysia". It could be anything kind of freedom. If you are interested, please do contribute.
Please be adviced that the prefered deadline for submission is Oct 11th.
serenete
17-09-2004, 10:09 AM
I've been seeing comments like the articles are boring, etc. Doing proofreading, I'm used to reading things that I don't think are particularly interesting to me, but instead I focus on trying to make the article cohesive without it losing the author's voice. We do what we can with what we got, and sometimes, that ain't much.
As I believe we have discussed, having themed issues will help draw each (incarnation of ReMag) closer together, and hopefully that ensues with the op-ed pieces. Rather like any magazine, whose layout and stories have been determined months in advance, we have to learn to anticipate as far as we can, what is topical. This can be achieved, slowly. And it doesn't have to be all about Malaysia, or being Malaysian, all the time. We have come further than that.
Sometimes I wonder whether we're preaching to the converted - that in the end ReMag, although it is intended to be the voice of the Malaysian students that make up ReCom, will be self-serving only to those who bother to contribute in some way.
My concern is that in choice of topics, this may alienate what the (silent) majority want. But who knows what the majority wants to read, if they care? Do they read ReMag at all? Are we giving them what they *want* to read? There has to be an end to self-lauding ReMag/ReCom articles. No disrespect.
Proofreading troubles: Has anyone yet volunteered to do the proofreading etc.?
This is cross-posted to the ReMag SIG.
:idea: serenete
17-09-2004, 10:50 PM
My concern is that in choice of topics, this may alienate what the (silent) majority want. But who knows what the majority wants to read, if they care? Do they read ReMag at all? Are we giving them what they *want* to read? There has to be an end to self-lauding ReMag/ReCom articles. No disrespect.
Thanks Serenete for your insights. I strongly believe that there are a lot of people reading Remag ( we should put some traffic indicator next time). The 'silent majority' is quite a tricky thing. I would say that ReMag is the place for people who care about their voice, and care about listening from others. I don't think it's about what people want.
(we could put some artists, like Siti Nurhaliza's latest gossip and I'm sure there are a lot of traffic ). But, sureley, that's not our goal. Our goal is to be a unique place for people to give out their opinion and at the same time, being creative.
In essence, ReMag symbolize the Malaysia who can stand alone as an independent entitiy, free from influeces from others. It's an abstraction of the future model of Malaysia. It's a peace of mind.
The Remag 5 would hopefully introduce a quantum leap on this goal.
by introducing some debate, we hope we can make a difference.
I would say that ReMag now is on its 'toddler' stage, if not a baby anymore. When ReMag 5 come out, it would be the case when we send the baby to the 'kindergarten'.
Proofreading troubles: Has anyone yet volunteered to do the proofreading etc.?
If anyone want to volunteer to be editor, we're still open the position.
just tell us here , or email directly to remag@<hidden> (or just email __earth : hafiz_sw at yahoo dot com ) or me, masterof_none at recom dot org. Thanks.
17-09-2004, 11:34 PM
In fact, I have seen a pretty large following of ReMag . For instance, if you do a9.com/recom , you would see that 9% of the traffic to ReCom is through ReMag. This means that we have at least 300-500 hits per day at ReMag.
sanghanuman
18-09-2004, 04:05 AM
I like all the articles featured in Remag 4. They are more refined than the ones in the first two Remags.
What I like about Remag is that it does not only open my eyes to new perspectives regarding issues in our (political and social) life but also humored me here and there with cute articles and great presentations of ideas.
Kudos to the (Remag) team!
p/s: The tourist guide to driving in Malaysia is so funny I had to leave the computer lab cos I cant stop laughing!
18-09-2004, 06:27 AM
Very nice. I see that you guys have used CSS for the layouts :D But you have one small cosmetic flaw - the top menu bar sticks out in Mozilla. Just a development tip - next time try to develop under Mozilla, then fix it for IE, not the other way round because IE don't render proper CSS :)
Also, any HTML document should have a proper DOCTYPE (HTML 4.01? xHTML?) so that browsers render it in standard-compliance mode (instead of quirks mode). Why do the pages have a <head> block at the beginning of the HTML document? This is a big no-no. I know you might think that "well, it looks fine to me" but the problem is that different browsers handle errors differently and the end product is unpredictable if you don't follow the proper way to do it.
Some special characters like the the apostrophe are encoded with a different character set than the specified ISO-8859-1 (let me guess - the text was copied and edited in a Mac?) so it displays weird characters in Windows. For example, this line from A Concise Tourist's Guide to Driving in Malaysia:
Tip 3: Don?t Stop
Is ReMag built on a CMS? Which one?
18-09-2004, 10:09 AM
p/s: The tourist guide to driving in Malaysia is so funny I had to leave the computer lab cos I cant stop laughing!
thank you.:) i'm always paranoid about attempting to write humor/satire coz they can easily backfire.
18-09-2004, 10:40 AM
Thanks Screw3d for the helpful insights. This is really an eye opener for me too to build a better website next time.
Very nice. I see that you guys have used CSS for the layouts :D But you have one small cosmetic flaw - the top menu bar sticks out in Mozilla. Just a development tip - next time try to develop under Mozilla, then fix it for IE, not the other way round because IE don't render proper CSS :)
In fact, the Remag was built on the Mac, tested on Safari, Mozilla and Opera (all Mac version).
Unfortunately, we're living on the virtual world where Microsoft rule.
It was all nice the first time when we first released it (on the Mac.)
But , we realized there are too much problem on IE after that (so it was temporarily being suspended to make the IE looks right).
We should've fixed that problem on other browsers (but we were running out of time). But we'll try to improve as time goes by.
Some special characters like the the apostrophe are encoded with a different character set than the specified ISO-8859-1 (let me guess - the text was copied and edited in a Mac?) so it displays weird characters in Windows. For example, this line from A Concise Tourist's Guide to Driving in Malaysia:
It was MS-word generated commas. It need thorough testing though. A quick webmasters' glance really not enough.
ReMag were coded from scratch. There are various things to improve obviously. For some reason, the webmasters have no plan to use any CMS yet.
serenete
18-09-2004, 02:58 PM
Can I ask what a CMS is?
Thanks,
18-09-2004, 04:05 PM
Content Management System. (I think)
18-09-2004, 04:17 PM
I think because the frequency of publishing is low, it doesn't justify building a proper CMS yet. Although it does help to have some mechanism to get the finalized version out of MS Word to some publishable form. All that said, there are tonnes of free simple straight forward CMS software outthere free for grabs. I just don't know which one is a good one.
I agree with screw3d about the DOCTYPEs and the CSS part. Use Firefox :P (mozilla is still ugly to me)
About the quality of articles, I've been surveying around and here are somemore feedbacks that comes from more qualified writers. They kept asking me - what's this magazine for? Coz they can't figure out what magazine that claims to be read by Malaysians would have how to speak German and how to make Ketupats together in a same magazine. The diversity of articles have caused us to lose focus on what we're trying to deliver. I guess that's a phase we have to go through to find out what really matters, which is why I vote for the discussion after each article feature.
At the same time, I've also invited a few people to write to ReMag. They are mostly seasoned writers or amateur journalist, but they still don't know what to expect coz they don't know who they are writing to. We'll see how we can take off from there. I'm also talking to a few ex-BRAT friends to see if we can get their help on conducting interviews - the teenage style :wink: Will see how these go. Communicating over e-mail is slow, but shouldn't take 2 months if I persist. Then again, I'm fast in losing track of what I'm donig...
18-09-2004, 11:51 PM
I have talked to Adrian Ow on writing for ReMag. He has been reading ReMag, but unfortunately he couldn't commit to it as of now, as he is getting too involved. He promised to try and write in the future!
19-09-2004, 01:28 AM
is there something wrong in the first paragrahf of the article 'night fright'???
19-09-2004, 02:00 AM
yeah. there was something wrong. We've repaired it. Thanks for informing us.
03-12-2004, 12:36 PM
remag is due in december. Meanwhile, we are still accepting contribution.
If you are interested, please msg me through onsite msger or at mnoorsha [at] umich [doT] edu
24-01-2005, 10:37 AM
Remag 5 is coming out soon.
So, we are now accepting contribution for the next ReMag. Please contact me or anybody in the remag crew if you are interested.
Remag 5
I noticed that the article A World Class University for Malaysia wasn't displayed the same way (with author & summary) as other articles in the main page. Is there a reason for this?
26-01-2005, 05:36 AM
Remag 5
I noticed that the article A World Class University for Malaysia wasn't displayed the same way (with author & summary) as other articles in the main page. Is there a reason for this?
it's the way the code is written but we'll try to get all the summaries of article on the front page soon. Concerning the authors' name, it's a mistake and the webmasters have been notified.
26-01-2005, 12:15 PM
Remag 5
I tried to put all in the front but I just couldn't find the function to do so.
To hard code it would take time, and I don't want to be the reason why Remag got delayed.
For some reason, Mambo defaulted to 'navigated' the news and strangely enough, the 'More' section didn't show up even if we click the 'Next' link, unless we click it under 'More'.
Still investigating whenever I have time. Hope could solve this asap.
(Also, anyone who want to join the investigation, let us know).
Time is tight.
26-01-2005, 11:30 PM
OK, everything is in the front page now. Thanks to Wei Cher for pointing out the parameters . More refinement to come...
27-01-2005, 12:14 AM
it's getting better and better
simply great!
27-01-2005, 12:51 AM
i think you guys forgot to include sanghanuman in the 'crew' section.
27-01-2005, 06:41 PM
warghh..the new remag is so so cun!
*hangs head in shame for not contributing*
sorry for not being active..i guess the cuti bug has been affecting me...
anyway, with the new sem coming up,hope i'll find some rather interesting things to write bout...but not gonna promise here n there, nanti tak jadi plak..so, when i hv it.will send it in...okay?
Good job ppl...simply love it!
28-02-2005, 11:29 AM
hey ppl. The progress for remag 6 is kinda laggy.
However, I'm just wondering, what would you like to see remag 6 be focusing on? In remag 5, we focused on freedom (though I dont think we did a good job on that)
There have been some suggestion here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1546#37838). And since there are some interest on education at the moment, so I'm think of education - on what we think of the situation of the education system in malaysia, what's wrong, what's great, etc etc.
however, i donno. So, need some input. if any of you could give some suggestion, it would be great.
And remag 6 is accepting contribution now =)
debbie
02-03-2005, 11:52 AM
Wht sort of contributions? I mean .. any spesific topic in mind?
08-03-2005, 07:24 PM
We are trying to do an issue focusing on educaction in Malaysia.
Some of the suggested topics are.
1. should education be free?
2. should we stick with brit or american system or make something more malaysian, whatever that is supposed to mean
3. is tuition necessary?
4. discipline in school
5. comparison between schooling at home and abroad
6. social science vs core science
While we are concentrating on a specific issue, any contribution unrelated to education is still welcome.
24-04-2005, 08:35 AM
w><W
contribute to remag. We are accepting your contribution. pst through on-site msger or mail me at mnoorsha [at] umich [dot] edu
lyzzy
24-04-2005, 09:01 AM
This is probably out of the topic, but you guys should consider publishing Remag.... I think you guys are doing a great job, and the coverage of Remag can be extended even wider should it be published, and sold/ distributed to schools.
og kush marijuana (http://trichomes.org/marijuana-strains/og-kush)
31-07-2005, 12:45 AM
hmmm
Thinking of bringing this project back to life. Been dead for a very long time. So, recom would really appreciate anything that you may want to contribute =p
Contribution could be anything - from article to poem and stuff. We aren't really picky at the moment. so, get your creative head to work and start writing!
mail em to hafiz [at] hotmail [dot] com and place in the header "REMAG" so that I won't miss it. Aight?
11-01-2006, 10:36 AM
hello,
some of us are redoing the project. So, if any of you love writing, please send in your work to us. There's no theme, no topic. Just free style.
please send em in to mnoorsha [at] umich [dot] edu
if you are interested in helping out, check out Remag SIG (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Remag).
11-01-2006, 05:56 PM
Good luck.
Erm,anything i can help? was editor for school magazine~
honestly,this thread has died for almost 2years...
any ReMag project?
10-12-2007, 01:01 PM
I think no..
Fourthshifter
10-12-2007, 09:21 PM
one suggestion :
close shop larr.....