View Full Version : General Elections 2004

Pages : [1] 2

03-03-2004, 10:21 AM
With Election Fever coming, to further organize the forum. All discussions on General Elections will fall on this thread.

No abuses, cursing etc is allowed. Please respect the feelings of other ReCom members. This does not mean that you cannot put forward your opinions, but please share your opinions in a good manner.

Looking forward to read all the comments/opinions/discussions ahead!

03-03-2004, 10:21 AM
With Election Fever coming, to further organize the forum. All discussions on General Elections will fall on this thread.

No abuses, cursing etc is allowed. Please respect the feelings of other ReCom members. This does not mean that you cannot put forward your opinions, but please share your opinions in a good manner.

Looking forward to read all the comments/opinions/discussions ahead!

03-03-2004, 10:31 AM
yay, elections! are they going to release anwar and guan eng?

03-03-2004, 10:31 AM
yay, elections! are they going to release anwar and guan eng?

03-03-2004, 10:51 AM
Pak Lah will be pretty silly to release Anwar. After all, he needs a comfortable victory to maintain power in UMNO.

On some other note, I would really like to see money-politics be made more transparent. There's a lot of money invovled in the Malaysian elections, but no details as to where the money came from. While some might like money-politics be banned/made illegal, I would argue that banning individuals to give money to candidates whose ideals they support results in curbing freedom.
Because if it is my money, why shouldn't I have the right to express my views by supporting a candidate whose platform makes the most sense to me?

03-03-2004, 10:51 AM
Pak Lah will be pretty silly to release Anwar. After all, he needs a comfortable victory to maintain power in UMNO.

On some other note, I would really like to see money-politics be made more transparent. There's a lot of money invovled in the Malaysian elections, but no details as to where the money came from. While some might like money-politics be banned/made illegal, I would argue that banning individuals to give money to candidates whose ideals they support results in curbing freedom.
Because if it is my money, why shouldn't I have the right to express my views by supporting a candidate whose platform makes the most sense to me?

03-03-2004, 11:00 AM
I expect BN to gain a lot of footing this time. However, I do want to see Keadilan, not BA, breaks the barrier and make a name for itself.
We need a strong opposition and as I see it, only Keadilan, and to some extend DAP, make the best opposition front.

I would like to see PAS lose Terengganu but not by a whole lot. A 50-50 distribution would be good enough. For Kelantan its tough but I hope BN get some seats.

For all others states especially johor. no need to say la.

03-03-2004, 11:00 AM
I expect BN to gain a lot of footing this time. However, I do want to see Keadilan, not BA, breaks the barrier and make a name for itself.
We need a strong opposition and as I see it, only Keadilan, and to some extend DAP, make the best opposition front.

I would like to see PAS lose Terengganu but not by a whole lot. A 50-50 distribution would be good enough. For Kelantan its tough but I hope BN get some seats.

For all others states especially johor. no need to say la.

03-03-2004, 11:34 AM
Since BN govt. has some kind of totalitarian policy, I would be surprised if they dont win 100%.

03-03-2004, 11:34 AM
Since BN govt. has some kind of totalitarian policy, I would be surprised if they dont win 100%.

03-03-2004, 11:43 AM

i think money and politics is an touchy issue. I think that "donations" should be allowed but there has to be a reasonable limit and there should be transparency in the process. I think the problem with money and politics is that there are many who abuse the system by using this opportunity to support certain politicians in order to get "favors" later on.

03-03-2004, 11:43 AM

i think money and politics is an touchy issue. I think that "donations" should be allowed but there has to be a reasonable limit and there should be transparency in the process. I think the problem with money and politics is that there are many who abuse the system by using this opportunity to support certain politicians in order to get "favors" later on.

03-03-2004, 02:06 PM
Update: Abdullah calls elections 8)
(check the news)

While I go back to study for exam tomorrow...

03-03-2004, 02:06 PM
Update: Abdullah calls elections 8)
(check the news)

While I go back to study for exam tomorrow...

chenghau
03-03-2004, 03:23 PM
Election!!! yay...

and yaya, go back to study...

chenghau
03-03-2004, 03:23 PM
Election!!! yay...

and yaya, go back to study...

sim_min
03-03-2004, 04:08 PM
eh---
is it possible that we vote in foreign country??
any idea?

sim_min
03-03-2004, 04:08 PM
eh---
is it possible that we vote in foreign country??
any idea?

03-03-2004, 05:07 PM
Let me just put it as simple as possible.. I hope BN would for onse not rule by a huge majority.

03-03-2004, 05:07 PM
Let me just put it as simple as possible.. I hope BN would for onse not rule by a huge majority.

wawa
03-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Here's the question an interviewer asked me recently:
What do you think will be the inssues of this coming general election? 8O
I answered Corruption and Singapore-Malaysia issues.
Any opinions? :D

wawa
03-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Here's the question an interviewer asked me recently:
What do you think will be the inssues of this coming general election? 8O
I answered Corruption and Singapore-Malaysia issues.
Any opinions? :D

04-03-2004, 05:21 AM
It is to my amazement that the issue of Malaysia-Singapore sentiment hasn't been played on in this election. I would expect the issues that would be discussed a lot would be whether the efforts by government on reducing red tape, corruption are seeing success? Is it a genuine effort? I would also see the issues of Islamic States croping up especially if the challenge in a few states are getting hotter.

At current time, I don't see DAP made much headway, nor do Keadilan.

What do you guys think?

04-03-2004, 05:21 AM
It is to my amazement that the issue of Malaysia-Singapore sentiment hasn't been played on in this election. I would expect the issues that would be discussed a lot would be whether the efforts by government on reducing red tape, corruption are seeing success? Is it a genuine effort? I would also see the issues of Islamic States croping up especially if the challenge in a few states are getting hotter.

At current time, I don't see DAP made much headway, nor do Keadilan.

What do you guys think?

04-03-2004, 06:06 AM
I am mostly in agreement with Chen Chow's analysis. The Malaysian-Singapore issue is primarily an inter-country issue, political issues for them to be effective must be "dividing" (i.e. BN on one side, opposition on the other). I don't think the opposition is offering any alternative to solving the Malaysian-Singapore outstanding issues.

I suspect Islam would be major issue in this election because Muslims are increasingly seeing the world as being a Muslim-Western divide. Pak Lah might be able to use his Islamic knowledge to defend himself on this matter.

On corruption, Pak Lah got a boost by arresting several top Mahathir-linked cronies (the arrest is suspiciously close to election date). It might be very possible that these cronies would be acquitted after the elections.

04-03-2004, 06:06 AM
I am mostly in agreement with Chen Chow's analysis. The Malaysian-Singapore issue is primarily an inter-country issue, political issues for them to be effective must be "dividing" (i.e. BN on one side, opposition on the other). I don't think the opposition is offering any alternative to solving the Malaysian-Singapore outstanding issues.

I suspect Islam would be major issue in this election because Muslims are increasingly seeing the world as being a Muslim-Western divide. Pak Lah might be able to use his Islamic knowledge to defend himself on this matter.

On corruption, Pak Lah got a boost by arresting several top Mahathir-linked cronies (the arrest is suspiciously close to election date). It might be very possible that these cronies would be acquitted after the elections.

04-03-2004, 08:30 AM

i think this has always been the major issue in election.
i don't understand, what is it that Pak Lah have to defend?

04-03-2004, 08:30 AM

i think this has always been the major issue in election.
i don't understand, what is it that Pak Lah have to defend?

04-03-2004, 02:09 PM
Here's a cool site www.undi.info that has nice pictures :)

I agree with prince - the Islam issue has become mainstream with UMNO and PAS each trying to define their own version of Islamic state and all. Recent polls shows that many muslims in the heartland think that one of the main reasons they cannot beat the "western powers" is because they are not close enough to the fundamentals of Islam. Flaming this sentiment is the (IMHO) ridiculous statements made by some ulama (learned people - correct?) like "Voting for PAS is voting for Allah" etc. I think Pak Lah has no choice but to play his "muslim credential" card.

Found an interesting statistic from another poll: When asked whether one understand PAS's version of an Islamic state, 55% of Chinese correspondence said that they understood, 38% of the Malay correspondence said that they understood, and 15% of the Indian correspondence said that they understood. Sheer coolness... hehe

04-03-2004, 02:09 PM
Here's a cool site www.undi.info that has nice pictures :)

I agree with prince - the Islam issue has become mainstream with UMNO and PAS each trying to define their own version of Islamic state and all. Recent polls shows that many muslims in the heartland think that one of the main reasons they cannot beat the "western powers" is because they are not close enough to the fundamentals of Islam. Flaming this sentiment is the (IMHO) ridiculous statements made by some ulama (learned people - correct?) like "Voting for PAS is voting for Allah" etc. I think Pak Lah has no choice but to play his "muslim credential" card.

Found an interesting statistic from another poll: When asked whether one understand PAS's version of an Islamic state, 55% of Chinese correspondence said that they understood, 38% of the Malay correspondence said that they understood, and 15% of the Indian correspondence said that they understood. Sheer coolness... hehe

05-03-2004, 03:45 AM
I'm not for PAS, keadilan or BN. i'm more to independent thinking. buti dont believe that people are well aware of PAS's version of Islamic State. they can hardly tell the people of their vision. they have limited channel for their voice. we all should know that the tv's and major news papers in malaysia are obviously politically biased. so i think the majority of malaysians know the distorted info about PAS's Islamic state version. Unless they read PAS's own news paper, or attend their 'ceramah'.
that's why i say the BN govt is practising somewhat a totalitarian democracy.

remember, if you really wanna know a party's vision, dont just listen to their opposition. listen to what the party itself has to say as well. in other words, if you really want to understand PAS's vision, you'll have to listen to what they have to say as well as what the BN has to say. don't just rely on one source, the lies of the controlling party.

05-03-2004, 03:45 AM
I'm not for PAS, keadilan or BN. i'm more to independent thinking. buti dont believe that people are well aware of PAS's version of Islamic State. they can hardly tell the people of their vision. they have limited channel for their voice. we all should know that the tv's and major news papers in malaysia are obviously politically biased. so i think the majority of malaysians know the distorted info about PAS's Islamic state version. Unless they read PAS's own news paper, or attend their 'ceramah'.
that's why i say the BN govt is practising somewhat a totalitarian democracy.

remember, if you really wanna know a party's vision, dont just listen to their opposition. listen to what the party itself has to say as well. in other words, if you really want to understand PAS's vision, you'll have to listen to what they have to say as well as what the BN has to say. don't just rely on one source, the lies of the controlling party.

05-03-2004, 01:12 PM
Only turning 20 this year...so sad... still cannot exercise my rights to vote.

05-03-2004, 01:12 PM

05-03-2004, 01:15 PM

still cannot exercise your rights to vote? you dont have the right yet. :P i'm 21 oredi. hek hek.

05-03-2004, 01:15 PM

still cannot exercise your rights to vote? you dont have the right yet. :P i'm 21 oredi. hek hek.

05-03-2004, 01:26 PM
eleh berlagak...

05-03-2004, 01:26 PM
eleh berlagak...

05-03-2004, 02:39 PM
eleh berlagak...

not just berlagak, super berlagak. hek hek, i'm 21 oredi. i have more rights than u do. thus, being 21 is better than being 20. hik hik

My resolution for this year is to sleep with Paula Zahn. aah, she's one hot momma. (hopefully this is not considered offensive, unless you're Paula :p)

05-03-2004, 02:39 PM
eleh berlagak...

not just berlagak, super berlagak. hek hek, i'm 21 oredi. i have more rights than u do. thus, being 21 is better than being 20. hik hik

My resolution for this year is to sleep with Paula Zahn. aah, she's one hot momma. (hopefully this is not considered offensive, unless you're Paula :p)

aquila
05-03-2004, 02:46 PM
hey u guys heard about the scandal surrounding msian politics now?
apparently abdullah badawi's son owns a lot of stocks in a company
that was found to sell nuclear arms to terrorists... controversial
betul, especially since badawi is actually clamping down on
corruption... dont quite know the details but hope he's not
practicing double standards...

read this
http://www.aljazeera.com/cgi-bin/news_service/world_full_story.asp?service_id=531

personally i think al jazeera is kinda interesting... so to anyone
who's sick of cnn, nyt, wall st journal, tune in to the other side!

aquila
05-03-2004, 02:46 PM
hey u guys heard about the scandal surrounding msian politics now?
apparently abdullah badawi's son owns a lot of stocks in a company
that was found to sell nuclear arms to terrorists... controversial
betul, especially since badawi is actually clamping down on
corruption... dont quite know the details but hope he's not
practicing double standards...

read this
http://www.aljazeera.com/cgi-bin/news_service/world_full_story.asp?service_id=531

06-03-2004, 12:01 AM

well, al jazeera might be cool. but they dont have CNN's Paula Zahn. :P

06-03-2004, 12:01 AM

well, al jazeera might be cool. but they dont have CNN's Paula Zahn. :P

06-03-2004, 12:10 AM
check this out
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0305&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Pilihan_Raya&pg=pi_01.htm

again, i'm not for PAS or BN. but this action shows that one has very little freedom of speech in Malaysia.

"PKPPR juga mempunyai kuasa untuk menurunkan bendera atau kain rentang yang menggunakan agama untuk kepentingan parti tertentu."
Why can't they use religion in politics? It is an issue that concers some people. Malaysia is not a secular country, is it? Should other parties be the same as BN?

They condemn ulama' that join politics. But
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0305&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_01.htm
BS!!!

I bet Malaysia wont change in this sense, even in 2020. Malaysia Boleh? Malaysia boleh ke?

06-03-2004, 12:10 AM
check this out
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0305&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Pilihan_Raya&pg=pi_01.htm

again, i'm not for PAS or BN. but this action shows that one has very little freedom of speech in Malaysia.

"PKPPR juga mempunyai kuasa untuk menurunkan bendera atau kain rentang yang menggunakan agama untuk kepentingan parti tertentu."
Why can't they use religion in politics? It is an issue that concers some people. Malaysia is not a secular country, is it? Should other parties be the same as BN?

They condemn ulama' that join politics. But
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0305&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_01.htm
BS!!!

I bet Malaysia wont change in this sense, even in 2020. Malaysia Boleh? Malaysia boleh ke?

06-03-2004, 04:59 AM
wow..i can't believe that next year I'll be elibible to vote in Election....but wonder when will be the next Election....I'll just miss this time for good....
too bad, my birthday is in December...sigh~~~

06-03-2004, 04:59 AM
wow..i can't believe that next year I'll be elibible to vote in Election....but wonder when will be the next Election....I'll just miss this time for good....
too bad, my birthday is in December...sigh~~~

06-03-2004, 06:24 AM
Here's more fruit for thought. This is a statement by aliran regarding the recent ban of certain keadilan leader from contesting. Reason is that they are being charged for violating some laws. Can a person not convicted yet be banned from running for office?

UNJUST DISQUALIFICATIONS

Aliran is dumbfounded by the latest ruling of the Election Commission. The disqualification of three prominent KeADILan leaders from contesting in the forthcoming 11th General Election must have brought cheers to the Barisan Nasional. Many thinking Malaysians would view this decision as doing a big favour for the BN and making a mockery of natural justice.

The laws of the land state that a person is innocent until he has exhausted all the legal remedies available to him under the law. Until then he doesn't lose his rights.

By taking away their rights before the legal process can complete its course, the EC has seemingly acted in a high-handed fashion defying all logic and common sense. Their conduct would be perceived as an affront to justice and decency.

A Constitutional question also arises here. Article 8 guarantees "All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the equal protection of the law."

When every other citizen retains his rights until the final process of the law, is it right that these three leaders should be deprived of their rights before the legal process has run its entire course? Why is it that only contesting candidates in an election are deprived of this due process of the law and disqualified immediately after their initial conviction?

It is of little comfort to be told of the existence of the law prohibiting their participation in the election. It is a bad law which is anti-democratic and immoral. It is a law instituted by the BN. This is what happens when a two-thirds majority is given to the BN. They introduce terrible laws to deprive the citizens of their natural justice. A two-third majority makes it easier for the BN to amend the Constitution and deny our human rights.

Ezam Mohd Nor's threat to take on the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who escaped by the skin of his teeth in the last election has been effectively removed by the EC. With this ruling the DPM will be able to breathe a little easier and sleep a little longer.

P Ramakrishnan
President
5 March 2004

Comments?

06-03-2004, 06:24 AM
Here's more fruit for thought. This is a statement by aliran regarding the recent ban of certain keadilan leader from contesting. Reason is that they are being charged for violating some laws. Can a person not convicted yet be banned from running for office?

UNJUST DISQUALIFICATIONS

Aliran is dumbfounded by the latest ruling of the Election Commission. The disqualification of three prominent KeADILan leaders from contesting in the forthcoming 11th General Election must have brought cheers to the Barisan Nasional. Many thinking Malaysians would view this decision as doing a big favour for the BN and making a mockery of natural justice.

The laws of the land state that a person is innocent until he has exhausted all the legal remedies available to him under the law. Until then he doesn't lose his rights.

By taking away their rights before the legal process can complete its course, the EC has seemingly acted in a high-handed fashion defying all logic and common sense. Their conduct would be perceived as an affront to justice and decency.

A Constitutional question also arises here. Article 8 guarantees "All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the equal protection of the law."

When every other citizen retains his rights until the final process of the law, is it right that these three leaders should be deprived of their rights before the legal process has run its entire course? Why is it that only contesting candidates in an election are deprived of this due process of the law and disqualified immediately after their initial conviction?

It is of little comfort to be told of the existence of the law prohibiting their participation in the election. It is a bad law which is anti-democratic and immoral. It is a law instituted by the BN. This is what happens when a two-thirds majority is given to the BN. They introduce terrible laws to deprive the citizens of their natural justice. A two-third majority makes it easier for the BN to amend the Constitution and deny our human rights.

Ezam Mohd Nor's threat to take on the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who escaped by the skin of his teeth in the last election has been effectively removed by the EC. With this ruling the DPM will be able to breathe a little easier and sleep a little longer.

P Ramakrishnan
President
5 March 2004

Comments?

06-03-2004, 09:06 AM
My goodness. I can't believe such thing is happening. What kind of politic is that? to me, as usual, it's somewhat totalitarian.
We've been independent for almost half a century. I hope Malaysians will not fall for such dirty tactic.

Dictatorship in the name of Democracy is never Democracy.

06-03-2004, 09:06 AM
My goodness. I can't believe such thing is happening. What kind of politic is that? to me, as usual, it's somewhat totalitarian.
We've been independent for almost half a century. I hope Malaysians will not fall for such dirty tactic.

Dictatorship in the name of Democracy is never Democracy.

06-03-2004, 10:39 AM
i'm very disappointed in the current ruling coalition. and there are too many examples that one can give to epitomize their incompetent and unjust ruling. worst of all, they believe that they can do whatever they're doing because we should be grateful to them.

and what's really sad is that we can discuss this issue as much as we want, but malaysia is malaysia. all talk no action. others choose to verbally support the opposition, but on election day, they cower away for fear of empowering an unproven party.

it sucks that i can't vote this year (we can't register since we're overseas right?). i'd really like for BN to be more professional and less hypocritical. but it's taking too long for them to prove themselves.

that's my take.

06-03-2004, 10:39 AM
i'm very disappointed in the current ruling coalition. and there are too many examples that one can give to epitomize their incompetent and unjust ruling. worst of all, they believe that they can do whatever they're doing because we should be grateful to them.

and what's really sad is that we can discuss this issue as much as we want, but malaysia is malaysia. all talk no action. others choose to verbally support the opposition, but on election day, they cower away for fear of empowering an unproven party.

it sucks that i can't vote this year (we can't register since we're overseas right?). i'd really like for BN to be more professional and less hypocritical. but it's taking too long for them to prove themselves.

that's my take.

06-03-2004, 11:04 AM
lordy lordy lordy, tell me something new. I just can't fathom how we malaysian put up with this crap every election. I guess we "owe" barisan nasional our Votes because they are great leaders.

It is sad that most voters don't even know who they are voting for. Basically everyone that is running on the BN ticket is almost guaranteed a win.

06-03-2004, 11:04 AM
lordy lordy lordy, tell me something new. I just can't fathom how we malaysian put up with this crap every election. I guess we "owe" barisan nasional our Votes because they are great leaders.

It is sad that most voters don't even know who they are voting for. Basically everyone that is running on the BN ticket is almost guaranteed a win.

06-03-2004, 11:19 AM
it sucks that i can't vote this year (we can't register since we're overseas right?)

actually you could but the deadline has passed.

06-03-2004, 11:19 AM
it sucks that i can't vote this year (we can't register since we're overseas right?)

06-03-2004, 01:07 PM

no my friend tried, but apparently you have to be physically in malaysia to register. and you can't do it at the embassies.

#$)(*#@<hidden>$...

06-03-2004, 01:07 PM

no my friend tried, but apparently you have to be physically in malaysia to register. and you can't do it at the embassies.

#$)(*#@<hidden>$...

06-03-2004, 01:19 PM
interesting... this guy is still quite alive...

(latest shots of anwar in hospital kl)

http://www.freeanwar.net/Photo2/DSAI_030304/sideshow_1.htm

06-03-2004, 01:19 PM

hungwei
06-03-2004, 09:32 PM
Its hard to decide who get our votes. Sometimes people just choose BN because the majority chose it, while the opposition party's image is always degraded in the eyes of the public. The oppositions are always potrayed as slanderous or extremist while some parties are just not well known among the community. It actually depends on publicity and public appeal, just as you would appeal to potential customers through commercial ad. Few would vote on the basis that the MP they prefered have served the community well. Some even do not know ther name of their MP or his or her background. They just vote out of duty.

hungwei
06-03-2004, 09:32 PM
Its hard to decide who get our votes. Sometimes people just choose BN because the majority chose it, while the opposition party's image is always degraded in the eyes of the public. The oppositions are always potrayed as slanderous or extremist while some parties are just not well known among the community. It actually depends on publicity and public appeal, just as you would appeal to potential customers through commercial ad. Few would vote on the basis that the MP they prefered have served the community well. Some even do not know ther name of their MP or his or her background. They just vote out of duty.

07-03-2004, 08:24 AM

What's up with his neck? Any idea?

Yup he's alive :P and some people spent Valentine's day with (for?) him too: http://www.freeanwar.net/Photo2/GAB_140204/sideshow.htm

I think it is a good thing that the desire for a better tomorrow is a common goal in many people's hearts. Somehow I don't really care who you "support" or what you think is good for the country / your neighborhood etc. One shouldn't sit there doing nothing and just complain incessantly.

07-03-2004, 08:24 AM

What's up with his neck? Any idea?

Yup he's alive :P and some people spent Valentine's day with (for?) him too: http://www.freeanwar.net/Photo2/GAB_140204/sideshow.htm

I think it is a good thing that the desire for a better tomorrow is a common goal in many people's hearts. Somehow I don't really care who you "support" or what you think is good for the country / your neighborhood etc. One shouldn't sit there doing nothing and just complain incessantly.

07-03-2004, 11:58 AM

#$)(*#@<hidden>$...

chenchow, any comment on this? I heard that you did register.

07-03-2004, 11:58 AM

#$)(*#@<hidden>$...

chenchow, any comment on this? I heard that you did register.

tehjiao
08-03-2004, 01:40 AM
i think opposition also very disappointed....DAP and Keadilan always fight, PAS always ask for Religion ....BN is courrupt and racialism...(just look at UMNO Youth which always act like fanatic and brainless action....'Fight till last drop of blood for Hidup Melayu', well, nowadays, nobody will deny that M'sia is leaded by Malay, who 'dare' to fight against Malay in M'sia? )
Anyway, i just feel that , no matter how 'useless' opposition is, still need to enhance their power so that BN will definitely treat us better. BUT........i won't support PAS as i think religion should not be mixed with politic, it'll cause more chaos than good, we can learn it from history....and i'm really sad to see PAS too emphasis on superficial practise, all ritual...why don't they try hard to focus on other stuffs which are more important, such as reduce the criminal rate and poverty ?
No offense, just my opinion......

tehjiao
08-03-2004, 01:40 AM
i think opposition also very disappointed....DAP and Keadilan always fight, PAS always ask for Religion ....BN is courrupt and racialism...(just look at UMNO Youth which always act like fanatic and brainless action....'Fight till last drop of blood for Hidup Melayu', well, nowadays, nobody will deny that M'sia is leaded by Malay, who 'dare' to fight against Malay in M'sia? )
Anyway, i just feel that , no matter how 'useless' opposition is, still need to enhance their power so that BN will definitely treat us better. BUT........i won't support PAS as i think religion should not be mixed with politic, it'll cause more chaos than good, we can learn it from history....and i'm really sad to see PAS too emphasis on superficial practise, all ritual...why don't they try hard to focus on other stuffs which are more important, such as reduce the criminal rate and poverty ?
No offense, just my opinion......

08-03-2004, 01:54 AM
I talked to some SPR people when back in Malaysia, and they claimed that we should be able to do so at Embassy. But Embassy people were unaware of it, as of last week.

In fact, I don't think I get to vote. I register on first week of Jan and to get to vote, you need to register by last week of December... I am late by a week..next time should not procrastinate...

I think if you want to vote overseas, you need to fill up a different form. A form for pengundi tidak hadir. I brought the form given by Embassy to SPR and it is a different form than the form back home.

So, I think if you fill up the normal form at registration, undi pos may not be possible.

08-03-2004, 01:54 AM
I talked to some SPR people when back in Malaysia, and they claimed that we should be able to do so at Embassy. But Embassy people were unaware of it, as of last week.

In fact, I don't think I get to vote. I register on first week of Jan and to get to vote, you need to register by last week of December... I am late by a week..next time should not procrastinate...

I think if you want to vote overseas, you need to fill up a different form. A form for pengundi tidak hadir. I brought the form given by Embassy to SPR and it is a different form than the form back home.

So, I think if you fill up the normal form at registration, undi pos may not be possible.

08-03-2004, 03:22 AM
Oh boy, I'm royally pissed right about now. The star, The new strait times, Berita harian, Utusan and the other big Daily are pro-BN.

With Star having "PM appeals to voters not to experiment with opposition" as their head line

Berita harian: "Hadi cemburu ketokohan Abdullah"

NST: "Star+Berita Harian"

Utusan : "Star+Berita Harian" + Mandat besar digunakan sebaik-baiknya untuk rakyat, negara -- Ikrar Perdana Menteri + Sikap menentang kerajaan pelajar IPT berubah - Najib + BN sifatkan Kerajaan Terengganu semakin terhimpit

As for the obvious bias of these news, We Recomers must Spread awareness to the unaware. For a start no more taking articles from these sites.

I personally would have them crucified LIVE on Monday night on the football halftime commercial break.

08-03-2004, 03:22 AM
Oh boy, I'm royally pissed right about now. The star, The new strait times, Berita harian, Utusan and the other big Daily are pro-BN.

With Star having "PM appeals to voters not to experiment with opposition" as their head line

Berita harian: "Hadi cemburu ketokohan Abdullah"

NST: "Star+Berita Harian"

Utusan : "Star+Berita Harian" + Mandat besar digunakan sebaik-baiknya untuk rakyat, negara -- Ikrar Perdana Menteri + Sikap menentang kerajaan pelajar IPT berubah - Najib + BN sifatkan Kerajaan Terengganu semakin terhimpit

As for the obvious bias of these news, We Recomers must Spread awareness to the unaware. For a start no more taking articles from these sites.

I personally would have them crucified LIVE on Monday night on the football halftime commercial break.

08-03-2004, 03:34 AM
hehe...that headline from Berita Harian made me laugh...

08-03-2004, 03:34 AM
hehe...that headline from Berita Harian made me laugh...

AhMean
08-03-2004, 03:38 AM
i think religion should not be mixed with politic

I really wonder how far religion should be mixed with politics. I am no longer questioning whether it should or should not be mixed with politics because the presence of PAS has proved this question a futile pursue.

I am very concerned over the propaganda that voting for PAS = ticket to heaven. Not that I am pro-BN or anti-PAS, I really question the validity of this statement. First of all, who can verify the accuracy of this statement; Secondly, who is in the position to verify this statement; Thirdly, underlying this statement, is it not an implicit assumption that PAS = Nabi Mohammad, the messager of Allah who will direct you to heaven, don't you consider this as a sacrilege?

On another note, I think Badawi is in a precarious position. If Badawi is really credible and trustworthy, we should give him a strong mandate to continue with his anti-corruption and police reformation effort so that he can ward off the power struggle within UMNO and the corrupted BN. Without a strong mandate, I doubt that he would be able to survive given his weak power base in UMNO. However, a strong mandate will mean a weaker opposition. If Badawi is not as clean as he is perceived, then instead of solving the problem, our future will be at a greater stake.

IMHO, general election is always confusing and contradictory because of the various issues that are bundled in. However, what is more important, is what we can do and shape our own future in between the elections right? Well, this is what recom has been doing, the way I perceive it.

AhMean
08-03-2004, 03:38 AM
i think religion should not be mixed with politic

I really wonder how far religion should be mixed with politics. I am no longer questioning whether it should or should not be mixed with politics because the presence of PAS has proved this question a futile pursue.

I am very concerned over the propaganda that voting for PAS = ticket to heaven. Not that I am pro-BN or anti-PAS, I really question the validity of this statement. First of all, who can verify the accuracy of this statement; Secondly, who is in the position to verify this statement; Thirdly, underlying this statement, is it not an implicit assumption that PAS = Nabi Mohammad, the messager of Allah who will direct you to heaven, don't you consider this as a sacrilege?

On another note, I think Badawi is in a precarious position. If Badawi is really credible and trustworthy, we should give him a strong mandate to continue with his anti-corruption and police reformation effort so that he can ward off the power struggle within UMNO and the corrupted BN. Without a strong mandate, I doubt that he would be able to survive given his weak power base in UMNO. However, a strong mandate will mean a weaker opposition. If Badawi is not as clean as he is perceived, then instead of solving the problem, our future will be at a greater stake.

IMHO, general election is always confusing and contradictory because of the various issues that are bundled in. However, what is more important, is what we can do and shape our own future in between the elections right? Well, this is what recom has been doing, the way I perceive it.

08-03-2004, 04:02 AM
in this general election, i would love to see how DAP and Keadilan react to PAS' stance. I would imagine DAP and Keadilan would try to keep away enough distance from PAS.

08-03-2004, 04:02 AM
in this general election, i would love to see how DAP and Keadilan react to PAS' stance. I would imagine DAP and Keadilan would try to keep away enough distance from PAS.

08-03-2004, 04:20 AM

I thought we couldn't vote as students overseas?

08-03-2004, 04:20 AM

I thought we couldn't vote as students overseas?

08-03-2004, 05:39 AM

i doubt that that's PAS's propaganda. i've never heard any of them saying that. all i know is that that's what we've been told by the biased media, and our 'leaders'.

08-03-2004, 05:39 AM

i doubt that that's PAS's propaganda. i've never heard any of them saying that. all i know is that that's what we've been told by the biased media, and our 'leaders'.

08-03-2004, 09:08 AM
On another note, I think Badawi is in a precarious position. If Badawi is really credible and trustworthy, we should give him a strong mandate to continue with his anti-corruption and police reformation effort so that he can ward off the power struggle within UMNO and the corrupted BN.

i doubt Abdullah is as credible and trustworthy as all of us would like him to be. so far he's still all bark no bite, and not only that is trying to use american presidential style catch phrases like "work with me, not work for me" as ammo. and i believe he hasn't made much achievements other than being an entity that replaces an authoritarian figure. also he made plenty of pledges to fight corruption, and proving it by shocking the media with some small time arrests, but avoiding any queries directed at larger players like rafidah aziz, taib, the court, etc.

and then the police brutality at the police anti-brutality rally. detractors claim that SUARAM is looking for trouble by disrupting the public. there was no disruption. there were people making a statement and exercising their right to democracy and free speech.

here're some images of that day i found (not published in major newspapers .. . ahem i mean party propaganda material).

http://aksi.fotopic.net/c125719.html

sigh...

08-03-2004, 09:08 AM
On another note, I think Badawi is in a precarious position. If Badawi is really credible and trustworthy, we should give him a strong mandate to continue with his anti-corruption and police reformation effort so that he can ward off the power struggle within UMNO and the corrupted BN.

i doubt Abdullah is as credible and trustworthy as all of us would like him to be. so far he's still all bark no bite, and not only that is trying to use american presidential style catch phrases like "work with me, not work for me" as ammo. and i believe he hasn't made much achievements other than being an entity that replaces an authoritarian figure. also he made plenty of pledges to fight corruption, and proving it by shocking the media with some small time arrests, but avoiding any queries directed at larger players like rafidah aziz, taib, the court, etc.

and then the police brutality at the police anti-brutality rally. detractors claim that SUARAM is looking for trouble by disrupting the public. there was no disruption. there were people making a statement and exercising their right to democracy and free speech.

here're some images of that day i found (not published in major newspapers .. . ahem i mean party propaganda material).

http://aksi.fotopic.net/c125719.html

sigh...

08-03-2004, 12:13 PM

that's why i said malaysia practises dictatorship in the name of democracy.
Such scenario always happen to other third world countries, and too bad, it happens in Malaysia too.
whenever we rally, they spray. no matter how peaceful it is. unless you are rallying a support for the govt.
too bad a lot of people can't see what's happening in the country. a lot of people still think that we have the freedom of speech.

p/s: do we have something like this in our constitution?

"Examples of civil rights are freedom of speech, press, assembly, the right to vote, freedom from involuntary servitude, and the right to equality in public places. " US constitution.

08-03-2004, 12:13 PM

that's why i said malaysia practises dictatorship in the name of democracy.
Such scenario always happen to other third world countries, and too bad, it happens in Malaysia too.
whenever we rally, they spray. no matter how peaceful it is. unless you are rallying a support for the govt.
too bad a lot of people can't see what's happening in the country. a lot of people still think that we have the freedom of speech.

p/s: do we have something like this in our constitution?

"Examples of civil rights are freedom of speech, press, assembly, the right to vote, freedom from involuntary servitude, and the right to equality in public places. " US constitution.

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:11 PM
lol no more malaysian media in recom then

This seems to be a good source for Malaysian Constitution. http://confinder.richmond.edu/local_malaysia.html . Do a quick skim of Article 10. Clause 1 seems all fine and good, but look at how the other clauses can be interpreted. We don't have as much rights as we seem to heh.

Whatever some people would like, Malaysia is NOT a secular country. Article 3 (1) of the Constitution states that "Islam is the religion of the Federation; but other religions may be practised in peace and harmony in any part of the Federation." A secular nation would not have a such a clause. Of course it also says that Islamic law is only applicable to Muslims and the list of situations where Muslim law is applicable seem to not include crime.

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:11 PM
lol no more malaysian media in recom then

This seems to be a good source for Malaysian Constitution. http://confinder.richmond.edu/local_malaysia.html . Do a quick skim of Article 10. Clause 1 seems all fine and good, but look at how the other clauses can be interpreted. We don't have as much rights as we seem to heh.

Whatever some people would like, Malaysia is NOT a secular country. Article 3 (1) of the Constitution states that "Islam is the religion of the Federation; but other religions may be practised in peace and harmony in any part of the Federation." A secular nation would not have a such a clause. Of course it also says that Islamic law is only applicable to Muslims and the list of situations where Muslim law is applicable seem to not include crime.

08-03-2004, 01:13 PM

Actually that wasn't publicized on any papers or any media we can get our hands on here. It will be totally dumb if they made that kind of statements black and white if you think about it. These are statements collected from some of their grassroot acitivities, maybe some ceramah, maybe just some over a cup of coffee talk, etc. AhMean and I was recently speaking to an expert in the field when we learn about such nonsense. The message is not as straight forward as the essentialized version of vote for PAS = ticket to heaven. It's more like (AhMean, correct me if I'm wrong) you need to be a pious muslim to be allowed to heaven. In order to be pious, you need to do what the ulama tells you, because they dedicate their lives in learning the true meaning of the faith and you can reach in if you follow their advice. Now, if your ulama says that Malaysia needs an Islamic state, such that syaria is implemented as the main law of the federation, and they say this is the right thing to do, and they tell you the best thing you can do is to rid of barisan's 2/3 majority so that they can have a voice in shaping such policies in the parlimen. That means vote for them. Hope you see why these kinds of statements are dangerous.

If in fact the media did quote such nonsense, then I think the battle has just escalated to an unprecedented level of absurdness.

08-03-2004, 01:13 PM

Actually that wasn't publicized on any papers or any media we can get our hands on here. It will be totally dumb if they made that kind of statements black and white if you think about it. These are statements collected from some of their grassroot acitivities, maybe some ceramah, maybe just some over a cup of coffee talk, etc. AhMean and I was recently speaking to an expert in the field when we learn about such nonsense. The message is not as straight forward as the essentialized version of vote for PAS = ticket to heaven. It's more like (AhMean, correct me if I'm wrong) you need to be a pious muslim to be allowed to heaven. In order to be pious, you need to do what the ulama tells you, because they dedicate their lives in learning the true meaning of the faith and you can reach in if you follow their advice. Now, if your ulama says that Malaysia needs an Islamic state, such that syaria is implemented as the main law of the federation, and they say this is the right thing to do, and they tell you the best thing you can do is to rid of barisan's 2/3 majority so that they can have a voice in shaping such policies in the parlimen. That means vote for them. Hope you see why these kinds of statements are dangerous.

If in fact the media did quote such nonsense, then I think the battle has just escalated to an unprecedented level of absurdness.

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:17 PM
if you have to read between the lines, then maybe you are reading things that are not there?

qedx
if you have to read between the lines, then maybe you are reading things that are not there?

This seems to be a good source for Malaysian Constitution. http://confinder.richmond.edu/local_malaysia.html .

Isn't it sad that our constitution is hosted by some indexing engine on some unknown university in Virginia, while none of the Malaysian government websites host it? A search for perlembagaan yields nothing good...

This seems to be a good source for Malaysian Constitution. http://confinder.richmond.edu/local_malaysia.html .

Isn't it sad that our constitution is hosted by some indexing engine on some unknown university in Virginia, while none of the Malaysian government websites host it? A search for perlembagaan yields nothing good...

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:20 PM
yes iknow what you mean. thats why it took a bit long. i wanted to find a malaysian site that actually has the constitution geh needless to say the search was fruitless.

maybe recom should host a copy of the Constitution?

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:20 PM
yes iknow what you mean. thats why it took a bit long. i wanted to find a malaysian site that actually has the constitution geh needless to say the search was fruitless.

maybe recom should host a copy of the Constitution?

08-03-2004, 01:30 PM

Actually personally I have no problem with this (I have more of a problem with the bumiputra thingy but that's another issue). I'm more worried about the Syaria - if pursued in its pure form, among other things, makes every non-muslims a second class citizen (dhimmis...), force upon a tax (Jizya) to live in an Islamic state, etc. etc... Malaysia has long been a multi-cultural pluralistic society that is secular in nature. But it is not a secular nation, vis-a-vis the clause you pointed out in the constitution. A nation doesn't have to be secular definitively to have a secular tone in their day to day affair. I don't want to imagine the impact that Islamization policies and programmes on the diversity that we celebrate today.

hey, that's a good idea.

better yet, maybe recom should on start a new project about Malaysia - all about malaysia on the net! collect all relevant details and put it on one page!

hey, that's a good idea.

better yet, maybe recom should on start a new project about Malaysia - all about malaysia on the net! collect all relevant details and put it on one page!

08-03-2004, 01:31 PM
great ideas!

08-03-2004, 01:31 PM
great ideas!

08-03-2004, 01:40 PM
Yeap - step one is definitely a big scale copy and paste from the richmond website :D :D

Here's a set of links to start of with, if anyone is going to do it:

Abdullah Badawi's first 100 days (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/3466273.stm)
Since the theme of the workshop is about Post-Mahathir era, let's read about the first 100 days of the new administration by BBC.

History of Malaysia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Malaysia)
By Wikipedia, a free encyclopedia.

Brief Facts on Malaysia (http://www.atlapedia.com/online/countries/malaysia.htm)
Lots of figures, some more recent history between WWII to 1993.

PBS's overview of Malaysia (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/commandingheights/lo/countries/my/my_overview.html)
History by era, highlights of important events over the past century.

NEP (New Economic Policy) (http://www.time.com/time/asia/2003/mahathir/mahathir900820.html)
Time article, written 10 years ago. Along with more links to related articles.

International Religious Freedom Report 2003 - Malaysia (http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/2003/23838.htm)
Released by the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, U.S. Dept of State

AllMalaysia.info (http://www.allmalaysia.info)
Everything else

08-03-2004, 01:40 PM
Yeap - step one is definitely a big scale copy and paste from the richmond website :D :D

Here's a set of links to start of with, if anyone is going to do it:

Abdullah Badawi's first 100 days (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/3466273.stm)
Since the theme of the workshop is about Post-Mahathir era, let's read about the first 100 days of the new administration by BBC.

History of Malaysia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Malaysia)
By Wikipedia, a free encyclopedia.

Brief Facts on Malaysia (http://www.atlapedia.com/online/countries/malaysia.htm)
Lots of figures, some more recent history between WWII to 1993.

PBS's overview of Malaysia (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/commandingheights/lo/countries/my/my_overview.html)
History by era, highlights of important events over the past century.

NEP (New Economic Policy) (http://www.time.com/time/asia/2003/mahathir/mahathir900820.html)
Time article, written 10 years ago. Along with more links to related articles.

International Religious Freedom Report 2003 - Malaysia (http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/2003/23838.htm)
Released by the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, U.S. Dept of State

AllMalaysia.info (http://www.allmalaysia.info)
Everything else

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:58 PM
hmm from what I remember what my teachers thought me, dhimmis have the same rights as a muslim and the jizyah is collected for the welfare of the non-muslims as zakat money cannot be used for non-muslims. masterofnone could possibly correct me if i am wrong here. there doesnt seem to be any unfairness

however, i dont know whether this will be what PAS would implement if they ever get to rule. they would do it this way if they were smart though heh.

EDIT: err grammar :P

qedx
08-03-2004, 01:58 PM
hmm from what I remember what my teachers thought me, dhimmis have the same rights as a muslim and the jizyah is collected for the welfare of the non-muslims as zakat money cannot be used for non-muslims. masterofnone could possibly correct me if i am wrong here. there doesnt seem to be any unfairness

however, i dont know whether this will be what PAS would implement if they ever get to rule. they would do it this way if they were smart though heh.

EDIT: err grammar :P

08-03-2004, 10:55 PM
hey, that's a good idea.

hey actually that's a damn good idea. oops excuse the damn. but a very good idea.

in addition to just info on malaysia (actually there's quite a handfull of these sites) i say we create a portal for a utopian malaysia. sounds ideal but it's a first step towards having people think about what a truly democratic malaysia should be.

basically it could consist of (again) forums that are specific to the topic, articles/news, interviews, more discussions on what the constitution should say, what the ideal democratic procedures should be, the structure of the government, state, federal etc. what powers the states/federal govts should have, what the checks and balances are. the govt depts, agencies etc.

sounds quite ideal. but i think it's a good way to start.

what say you guys? i guess i'll volunteer for this project, (after my thesis is done hahah).

eh?

08-03-2004, 10:55 PM
hey, that's a good idea.

hey actually that's a damn good idea. oops excuse the damn. but a very good idea.

in addition to just info on malaysia (actually there's quite a handfull of these sites) i say we create a portal for a utopian malaysia. sounds ideal but it's a first step towards having people think about what a truly democratic malaysia should be.

basically it could consist of (again) forums that are specific to the topic, articles/news, interviews, more discussions on what the constitution should say, what the ideal democratic procedures should be, the structure of the government, state, federal etc. what powers the states/federal govts should have, what the checks and balances are. the govt depts, agencies etc.

sounds quite ideal. but i think it's a good way to start.

what say you guys? i guess i'll volunteer for this project, (after my thesis is done hahah).

eh?

09-03-2004, 02:44 AM
yeah that's a really good idea...bring it on

09-03-2004, 02:44 AM
yeah that's a really good idea...bring it on

AhMean
09-03-2004, 03:22 PM
Hey I think it is really good too!

Start from the ideal situation, then using that as a base, we can work towards the reality.

AhMean
09-03-2004, 03:22 PM
Hey I think it is really good too!

Start from the ideal situation, then using that as a base, we can work towards the reality.

10-03-2004, 08:58 AM
check out the poll at www.utusan.com.my
weird!!

10-03-2004, 08:58 AM
check out the poll at www.utusan.com.my
weird!!

10-03-2004, 09:42 AM
what is it?

10-03-2004, 09:42 AM
what is it?

10-03-2004, 01:19 PM
nothing. it's just the poll shows that utusan 61% utusan online readers says "Saya Mengutamakan Undang-undang dan pentadbiran Islam. Semasa pilihan raya kelak". not scientific poll though.

10-03-2004, 01:19 PM
nothing. it's just the poll shows that utusan 61% utusan online readers says "Saya Mengutamakan Undang-undang dan pentadbiran Islam. Semasa pilihan raya kelak". not scientific poll though.

10-03-2004, 02:25 PM
aiyah...internet poll.

10-03-2004, 02:25 PM
aiyah...internet poll.

10-03-2004, 02:38 PM
election day = my mum's bday = F1 day!! eventful year...

10-03-2004, 02:38 PM
election day = my mum's bday = F1 day!! eventful year...

11-03-2004, 12:28 AM
Guess this may not be breaking news for most, but Datuk S. Subramaniam, Deputy President of MIC have been dropped as candidate by Datuk Seri S. Samy Velu.

What do you guys think of this?

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/10/latest/16349MICdeputy&sec=latest

11-03-2004, 12:28 AM
Guess this may not be breaking news for most, but Datuk S. Subramaniam, Deputy President of MIC have been dropped as candidate by Datuk Seri S. Samy Velu.

What do you guys think of this?

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/10/latest/16349MICdeputy&sec=latest

11-03-2004, 01:19 AM
i'm a typical politically-apathetic chinese malaysian engineer guy...

just one question though: is samy vellu the most hated malaysian politician ever or what?

11-03-2004, 01:19 AM
i'm a typical politically-apathetic chinese malaysian engineer guy...

just one question though: is samy vellu the most hated malaysian politician ever or what?

11-03-2004, 02:02 AM
I think sammy vellu is much liked by the Malay community because he's a very easy to control indian guy.

If MIC had some one more controversial i think the BN would fall apart.

MIC,MCA is just UMNO's puppet.

11-03-2004, 02:02 AM
I think sammy vellu is much liked by the Malay community because he's a very easy to control indian guy.

If MIC had some one more controversial i think the BN would fall apart.

MIC,MCA is just UMNO's puppet.

11-03-2004, 03:09 AM
a little joke about samy velu i heard a few years back.

"Anwar Ibrahim, Have gone"
"Mahathir Mohd, Will Go"
"Samy velu, touch and go"

11-03-2004, 03:09 AM
a little joke about samy velu i heard a few years back.

"Anwar Ibrahim, Have gone"
"Mahathir Mohd, Will Go"
"Samy velu, touch and go"

11-03-2004, 03:43 AM
The BN always say "ulama tak sepatutnya berpolitik".
But then, "UMNO akan menurunkan Imam Masjid Negara, Datuk Pirdaus Ismail bertanding di Parlimen Permatang Pauh."
WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?

p/s:This is for those who still can't see BN's BS!!

11-03-2004, 03:43 AM
The BN always say "ulama tak sepatutnya berpolitik".
But then, "UMNO akan menurunkan Imam Masjid Negara, Datuk Pirdaus Ismail bertanding di Parlimen Permatang Pauh."
WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?

p/s:This is for those who still can't see BN's BS!!

11-03-2004, 03:48 AM
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0311&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm

heh heh, beli undi nampak.

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0311&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Pilihan_Raya&pg=pi_02.htm

i still can't see any good reason behind this.

11-03-2004, 03:48 AM
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0311&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm

heh heh, beli undi nampak.

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0311&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Pilihan_Raya&pg=pi_02.htm

i still can't see any good reason behind this.

11-03-2004, 09:42 AM
Let's try scripting against the website? I bet someone must have done it, so why not hop on the bandwagon?

8) 8) 8)

I vote for Sosial dan kebajikan masyarakat.

11-03-2004, 09:42 AM
Let's try scripting against the website? I bet someone must have done it, so why not hop on the bandwagon?

8) 8) 8)

I vote for Sosial dan kebajikan masyarakat.

11-03-2004, 10:14 AM
I'm for freedom of speech.
I'm for equal rights.
I'm against the govt oppression.

11-03-2004, 10:14 AM
I'm for freedom of speech.
I'm for equal rights.
I'm against the govt oppression.

11-03-2004, 01:17 PM
hmm...i guess all we hv to do now is wait and see all sorts of tricks coming up..the usually composed adults will lose their composure...weird!

11-03-2004, 01:17 PM
hmm...i guess all we hv to do now is wait and see all sorts of tricks coming up..the usually composed adults will lose their composure...weird!

11-03-2004, 03:22 PM
the usually composed adults will lose their composure...weird!

i don't get it. what do you mean?

11-03-2004, 03:22 PM
the usually composed adults will lose their composure...weird!

i don't get it. what do you mean?

12-03-2004, 10:55 AM
sthing that happened during the last election, where BN candidate or sthing mengamuk or sthing like dat during the election/campaigning...anyway, correct me if i'm wrong. but it happened in Pahang if xslh. :wink:

12-03-2004, 10:55 AM
sthing that happened during the last election, where BN candidate or sthing mengamuk or sthing like dat during the election/campaigning...anyway, correct me if i'm wrong. but it happened in Pahang if xslh. :wink:

12-03-2004, 12:24 PM
i guess it's the menteri besar.

12-03-2004, 12:24 PM
i guess it's the menteri besar.

hungwei
12-03-2004, 10:33 PM
This reminds me of the previous general elections in my hometown where two major parties, BN and keadilan, battled. Keadilan brought up some development issues by setting up banners at some strategic locations. One went like this "BN proposed a new bridge at the Baram river, so where is it now?" A few days later a BN banner was set up right above it which said "In progress, if you don't believe go and see it for yourself." Its entertaining to read these accusations and the way the accused party countered it, really! :lol:

hungwei
12-03-2004, 10:33 PM
This reminds me of the previous general elections in my hometown where two major parties, BN and keadilan, battled. Keadilan brought up some development issues by setting up banners at some strategic locations. One went like this "BN proposed a new bridge at the Baram river, so where is it now?" A few days later a BN banner was set up right above it which said "In progress, if you don't believe go and see it for yourself." Its entertaining to read these accusations and the way the accused party countered it, really! :lol:

12-03-2004, 11:39 PM
Hey there people...just browsing through the site when I stumbled upon this interesting discussion you're all having. I'm still studyin in F6, so I guess that doesn't really qualify me as a Malaysian studying abroad, but I just thought I might wanna say somethin here anyway. Hope y'all don't mind.

I realize that much focus has been given to BN and PAS, which is not surprising considering they are currently the two parties with the most power in the country. But if you ask me, the most interesting bit of this election would be how the DAP will fare against the aforementioned parties. With their top guns Lim Kit Siang contesting in Ipoh and Karpal Singh in Bukit Gelugor (no more Jelutong for him I'm afraid...), it will be interesting to see if this strategy change benefits them or not. Also, if compared to the past few elections, I would say that they have adopted a somewhat more subtle campaign this time as well (one may remember their grand Tanjong plans in the 80s and 90s or their BA pact). This could well be the make or break elections for the DAP - failure this time would almost surely relegate them to an even lower position among the opposition parties.

12-03-2004, 11:39 PM
Hey there people...just browsing through the site when I stumbled upon this interesting discussion you're all having. I'm still studyin in F6, so I guess that doesn't really qualify me as a Malaysian studying abroad, but I just thought I might wanna say somethin here anyway. Hope y'all don't mind.

I realize that much focus has been given to BN and PAS, which is not surprising considering they are currently the two parties with the most power in the country. But if you ask me, the most interesting bit of this election would be how the DAP will fare against the aforementioned parties. With their top guns Lim Kit Siang contesting in Ipoh and Karpal Singh in Bukit Gelugor (no more Jelutong for him I'm afraid...), it will be interesting to see if this strategy change benefits them or not. Also, if compared to the past few elections, I would say that they have adopted a somewhat more subtle campaign this time as well (one may remember their grand Tanjong plans in the 80s and 90s or their BA pact). This could well be the make or break elections for the DAP - failure this time would almost surely relegate them to an even lower position among the opposition parties.

13-03-2004, 03:08 AM
Hi USSDefiantNX74205, you are welcome here, although you are currently still in F6. In fact, this is Worldwide Malaysian Students Network and not Malaysians Students Network Abroad and studying in Malaysia, still qualifies you. It is one of our missions for people to share and learn together.

On what you comment on DAP, it is pretty valid... They are employing a completely different strategy, but personally, I don't think that they are going to make much headway this mind, since there isn't much issue, especially Chinese issue that is being played on.

13-03-2004, 03:08 AM
Hi USSDefiantNX74205, you are welcome here, although you are currently still in F6. In fact, this is Worldwide Malaysian Students Network and not Malaysians Students Network Abroad and studying in Malaysia, still qualifies you. It is one of our missions for people to share and learn together.

On what you comment on DAP, it is pretty valid... They are employing a completely different strategy, but personally, I don't think that they are going to make much headway this mind, since there isn't much issue, especially Chinese issue that is being played on.

14-03-2004, 03:00 AM
Why Ipoh btw? Some new holy grail of M;sian politics? Even Dr. Mahathir have to go campaign there http://thestar.com.my/election2004/story.asp?file=/2004/3/13/e2004_news/7526749&sec=e2004_news

And speaking of "big plans", what's the big plan for this election? Or are they just playing issues? Abdullah kept repeating about mandates - did he mention any visions? How about the other parties?

Head that DAP is really in dire conditions :) Somehow this election brought me to read their mission statement, which is actually, in my opinion, a just and solid alternative to our country's cronyistic powers that be. I wonder why it isn't attractive to the laymen, or shall I say lay-voters.

14-03-2004, 03:00 AM
Why Ipoh btw? Some new holy grail of M;sian politics? Even Dr. Mahathir have to go campaign there http://thestar.com.my/election2004/story.asp?file=/2004/3/13/e2004_news/7526749&sec=e2004_news

And speaking of "big plans", what's the big plan for this election? Or are they just playing issues? Abdullah kept repeating about mandates - did he mention any visions? How about the other parties?

Head that DAP is really in dire conditions :) Somehow this election brought me to read their mission statement, which is actually, in my opinion, a just and solid alternative to our country's cronyistic powers that be. I wonder why it isn't attractive to the laymen, or shall I say lay-voters.

14-03-2004, 03:25 AM

yeah, maybe we should get all parties visions and see which one is the best.

14-03-2004, 03:25 AM

yeah, maybe we should get all parties visions and see which one is the best.

14-03-2004, 12:53 PM
This is from Nanyang. Sorry for those who can't read Mandarin, but it was an interesting news.

We talked about the election and how strict was the SPR. After reading this, I felt that they are really strict.

Tun Dr. Mahathir was refused entry into the nomination center, because he was not a candidate, nor a proposer nor a seconder.

http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=7&pg=10&ac=347906

14-03-2004, 12:53 PM
This is from Nanyang. Sorry for those who can't read Mandarin, but it was an interesting news.

We talked about the election and how strict was the SPR. After reading this, I felt that they are really strict.

Tun Dr. Mahathir was refused entry into the nomination center, because he was not a candidate, nor a proposer nor a seconder.

http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=7&pg=10&ac=347906

15-03-2004, 01:41 AM

are you that idealistic? i thought it's obvious why DAP can never enjoy support from malaysians across the board. look at it's leadership. out of 26 executive committee members, 3 are malays, 3 are indians. the rest are chinese. why would the regular malay voter vote for them?

15-03-2004, 01:41 AM

are you that idealistic? i thought it's obvious why DAP can never enjoy support from malaysians across the board. look at it's leadership. out of 26 executive committee members, 3 are malays, 3 are indians. the rest are chinese. why would the regular malay voter vote for them?

15-03-2004, 02:51 AM
yupp topdog,

it is the sad truth.. Malaysians are racist in denial. I had many conversation with Malays who i asked why they won't vote for DAP.. answer is. Nanti Orang cina conquer Malaysia, Cina bukan nak tolong melayu. Cina nak tolong orang Cina.

Asked a chinese about PAS. he replied, oh no malaysia will be in the Muhammad era.

Ask an indian about UMNO, Oh, Anak sammy vellu kahwin dengan anak mahathir, So sekarang Umno kena jaga orang india.

15-03-2004, 02:51 AM
yupp topdog,

it is the sad truth.. Malaysians are racist in denial. I had many conversation with Malays who i asked why they won't vote for DAP.. answer is. Nanti Orang cina conquer Malaysia, Cina bukan nak tolong melayu. Cina nak tolong orang Cina.

Asked a chinese about PAS. he replied, oh no malaysia will be in the Muhammad era.

Ask an indian about UMNO, Oh, Anak sammy vellu kahwin dengan anak mahathir, So sekarang Umno kena jaga orang india.

15-03-2004, 05:23 AM
Good third. That's the harsh truth that many dont want to admit.

15-03-2004, 05:23 AM
Good third. That's the harsh truth that many dont want to admit.

15-03-2004, 02:11 PM
Found this quote in one of the election campaign messages:

Every vote for the DAP only weakens Barisan Nasional's ability to fight PAS. A vote for the DAP is a vote for PAS.

If you walk pass Bukit Bintang in the last few days, you might have seen advertisements written purely in Chinese, with no party logos, but just a caricature of a rocket turning green.

What do you guys think?

15-03-2004, 02:11 PM
Found this quote in one of the election campaign messages:

Every vote for the DAP only weakens Barisan Nasional's ability to fight PAS. A vote for the DAP is a vote for PAS.

If you walk pass Bukit Bintang in the last few days, you might have seen advertisements written purely in Chinese, with no party logos, but just a caricature of a rocket turning green.

What do you guys think?

15-03-2004, 02:27 PM
I just wonder will any Opposition be able to defame BN like that.

How long it would take for people in Malaysia to realize that, it is BN that had always played the racial card not the other way around.

It is BN that get votes by creating fear among Malaysian. It was under BN lead goverment when the may 13th happened.

It was under their goverment that we are now hold hostage by foreign investors.

BN had done a lot for Malaysia, no doubt. But the damege the inflicted far outweigh their contribution towards a healthy democratic nation.

15-03-2004, 02:27 PM
I just wonder will any Opposition be able to defame BN like that.

How long it would take for people in Malaysia to realize that, it is BN that had always played the racial card not the other way around.

It is BN that get votes by creating fear among Malaysian. It was under BN lead goverment when the may 13th happened.

It was under their goverment that we are now hold hostage by foreign investors.

BN had done a lot for Malaysia, no doubt. But the damege the inflicted far outweigh their contribution towards a healthy democratic nation.

16-03-2004, 12:42 AM
i agree with third.

correct me if i'm wrong, but it's gonna be a dirty election again this year..

Hmm..let's see what's gonna happen :roll:

16-03-2004, 12:42 AM
i agree with third.

correct me if i'm wrong, but it's gonna be a dirty election again this year..

Hmm..let's see what's gonna happen :roll:

dinna_g
16-03-2004, 02:09 AM
yupp topdog,

Excellent point, thirdshifter! I personally think that parties like DAP and PAS should be given a chance if not chances to actually explain what the goals of the party are. I think everyone is confused about the goal of these parties. PAS is supposedly orthodox but at the same time makes alliance with DAP. Erk..?

Several years ago, I thought that DAP is actually an opposition version of MCA until I found out that DAP has Indian and Malay members. The truth is, I never really know what DAP is until I find out about it. Being a Malay, I would vote for DAP if they have a good candidate.

It would be nice if everyone starts forgetting about our skin color and face the music...

dinna_g
16-03-2004, 02:09 AM
yupp topdog,

Excellent point, thirdshifter! I personally think that parties like DAP and PAS should be given a chance if not chances to actually explain what the goals of the party are. I think everyone is confused about the goal of these parties. PAS is supposedly orthodox but at the same time makes alliance with DAP. Erk..?

Several years ago, I thought that DAP is actually an opposition version of MCA until I found out that DAP has Indian and Malay members. The truth is, I never really know what DAP is until I find out about it. Being a Malay, I would vote for DAP if they have a good candidate.

It would be nice if everyone starts forgetting about our skin color and face the music...

16-03-2004, 02:53 AM
<sarcasm>but aren't we a multi-racial country where orang melayu, orang cina, orang india dan lain-lain live in perfect harmony?</sarcasm>

16-03-2004, 02:53 AM
<sarcasm>but aren't we a multi-racial country where orang melayu, orang cina, orang india dan lain-lain live in perfect harmony?</sarcasm>

16-03-2004, 05:35 AM
you sound like the major news papers topdog. heh heh.

16-03-2004, 05:35 AM
you sound like the major news papers topdog. heh heh.

16-03-2004, 02:15 PM

Well its the truth. Despite what many people may think, the DAP isn't a Chinese party, but rather a Chinese dominated party. With all the propaganda by BN however, I'm not surprised if there are more misconceptions than facts about them at your average coffeeshop political discussion. But, if more non-Chinese were to support the party, I'm sure more opportunities would open up for them within the leadership.

Phew, its glad to hear a Malay speak up on an issue like this and call for racial unity. I'm on your your side, dinna_g!

16-03-2004, 02:15 PM

Well its the truth. Despite what many people may think, the DAP isn't a Chinese party, but rather a Chinese dominated party. With all the propaganda by BN however, I'm not surprised if there are more misconceptions than facts about them at your average coffeeshop political discussion. But, if more non-Chinese were to support the party, I'm sure more opportunities would open up for them within the leadership.

Phew, its glad to hear a Malay speak up on an issue like this and call for racial unity. I'm on your your side, dinna_g!

16-03-2004, 05:34 PM
But that's the ironic part bout Msians..we say we live harmoniously, side by side, without a care for the skin colour, race, religion..but truth is, we actually do. ::roll:

Aren't we such a perfect country? :roll:

16-03-2004, 05:34 PM
But that's the ironic part bout Msians..we say we live harmoniously, side by side, without a care for the skin colour, race, religion..but truth is, we actually do. ::roll:

16-03-2004, 09:40 PM

I'm not being undemocratic, but i do think that that's still far from reality.

16-03-2004, 09:40 PM

tehjiao
16-03-2004, 11:11 PM
If in the near future, all M'sian from any race can discuss and work together like ReCom members, i would say ' Yeah, M'sia is a good place where all races live peacefully and happily with each other' .....but now, just look around and i still find that there is lack of communication and desire to understaqnd other races culture and problems. This is so called "Harmony country" by the BN which always create the unsatisfaction and suspicion among the races, just like the 'penjajah British', divide and control......

tehjiao
16-03-2004, 11:11 PM
If in the near future, all M'sian from any race can discuss and work together like ReCom members, i would say ' Yeah, M'sia is a good place where all races live peacefully and happily with each other' .....but now, just look around and i still find that there is lack of communication and desire to understaqnd other races culture and problems. This is so called "Harmony country" by the BN which always create the unsatisfaction and suspicion among the races, just like the 'penjajah British', divide and control......

17-03-2004, 02:04 AM
i think the idea of total racial harmony is really a ideal state and we are working hard to go into that direction and get as close as possible to the ideal state.

something like the ideal machine is the one with 100% efficiency but in real life there's still no such engine exists yet but the engineers are continuously working to achieve that.

personally, i dun think that ideal world will be achieved anytime soon but at least we are trying to do so which is a good sign. there's really never perfection in everything in the world, is there?

17-03-2004, 02:04 AM
i think the idea of total racial harmony is really a ideal state and we are working hard to go into that direction and get as close as possible to the ideal state.

something like the ideal machine is the one with 100% efficiency but in real life there's still no such engine exists yet but the engineers are continuously working to achieve that.

personally, i dun think that ideal world will be achieved anytime soon but at least we are trying to do so which is a good sign. there's really never perfection in everything in the world, is there?

17-03-2004, 03:22 AM
WWhong,

We're not asking for a perfect-ideal-harmony-race-living-in-the-same-house-no-religion type of thing.

I beleive most of us here, are against the wide spread of misusing power, Controling the Information to masses and most of the policies favoring the bumibutera. I myself a bumiputera think BN and its leadership has crossed the line to often creating a time bomb in side each minority group.

But then again, The minorities are voting for MCA which is sort of controlled by UMNO and not realizing it.

Maybe i should put a banner, Voting for MCA is a vote for UMNO. Give your rights away people.

Just incase you don't know. UMNO was created because the british made all chinese and indian immigrants in Malaya Citizens.

So it obviously hate the idea of intergrating.. so far no chinese in UMNO right?

Thy're hiding behind Barisan nasional which is pretty much controlled by UMno. Wake up people.

17-03-2004, 03:22 AM
WWhong,

We're not asking for a perfect-ideal-harmony-race-living-in-the-same-house-no-religion type of thing.

I beleive most of us here, are against the wide spread of misusing power, Controling the Information to masses and most of the policies favoring the bumibutera. I myself a bumiputera think BN and its leadership has crossed the line to often creating a time bomb in side each minority group.

But then again, The minorities are voting for MCA which is sort of controlled by UMNO and not realizing it.

Maybe i should put a banner, Voting for MCA is a vote for UMNO. Give your rights away people.

Just incase you don't know. UMNO was created because the british made all chinese and indian immigrants in Malaya Citizens.

So it obviously hate the idea of intergrating.. so far no chinese in UMNO right?

Thy're hiding behind Barisan nasional which is pretty much controlled by UMno. Wake up people.

17-03-2004, 05:31 PM
And just to point out if it hasn't been, that this election will see one of the largest new voter turnout. That means many of our peers, your friends in high school etc. will all be eligible to vote.

The old voter's pattern is going to be the same. In many many constituency, it's clear that the old voters will show the 50-50 or 60-40 split again. Check www.undi.info and you'll learn about the difference, which is usually less than 1000, sometimes, less than a 100!

That means this election's decision is going to be in the hands of the young voters. If you believe in making a difference, encouraging 10 of your friends to encourage 10 of their friends to go vote might be enough to make a difference.

Back to DAP talk - I wasn't saying anything about they current organization, their racial composition etc. I was, like many others, bewildered by the boldness of their vision, and how little they have achieved.

Anyone for reopening the Damansara Primary School? :)

17-03-2004, 05:31 PM
And just to point out if it hasn't been, that this election will see one of the largest new voter turnout. That means many of our peers, your friends in high school etc. will all be eligible to vote.

The old voter's pattern is going to be the same. In many many constituency, it's clear that the old voters will show the 50-50 or 60-40 split again. Check www.undi.info and you'll learn about the difference, which is usually less than 1000, sometimes, less than a 100!

That means this election's decision is going to be in the hands of the young voters. If you believe in making a difference, encouraging 10 of your friends to encourage 10 of their friends to go vote might be enough to make a difference.

Back to DAP talk - I wasn't saying anything about they current organization, their racial composition etc. I was, like many others, bewildered by the boldness of their vision, and how little they have achieved.

Anyone for reopening the Damansara Primary School? :)

morpheous
18-03-2004, 01:59 AM
found this at lim kit siang's homepage. heard that young Malaysians voters are encouraged to vote out old leaders like sammy vellu(he refused to step down). so are rafidah,najib and the rest...

Ten questions for Abdullah on his campaign trail in Ipoh Timor on fulfillment of his pledge for a clean, efficient, trustworthy and accountable government and development of First-World Ipoh
Media Conference Statement
- at the DAP Ipoh Timor election operations headquarters
by Lim Kit Siang

(Ipoh, Monday): The unprecedented visit of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to Ipoh Timor later today has demonstrated that the Battle for Ipoh Timor is not a battle between Lim Kit Siang and Thong Fah Chong but a battle between the DAP and the Barisan Nasional and two Visions about the future of Malaysia #%G?#%@<hidden> whether there should be a meaningful restoration of parliamentary democracy, whether Abdullah#$(B!G#(Bs pledge of a clean, incorruptible, people-oriented government which wants to hear the truth from the people should remain at the level of words but not deeds and whether to preserve or abandon the 46-year Merdeka #$(B!H#(Bsocial contract#$(B!I#(B that Malaysia is a secular democracy with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic State, whether ala-PAS or ala-UMNO.

When he first became Prime Minister, Abdullah said he does not want #$(B!H#(Bapple-polishers#$(B!I#(B and wants to hear the truth from the people. MCA parliamentary candidates like Thong Fah Chong is the stereotype #$(B!H#(Bapple-polisher#$(B!I#(B in the Barisan Nasional, and if Abdullah really wants to hear the truth from the people, he should come and meet me, for I can tell him the real truth from the people which he can never hear from the MCA or Barisan Nasional candidates.

On the historic occasion of Abdullah#$(B!G#(Bs visit and campaign trail in Ipoh Timor, I hope he can throw light on ten questions on the fulfillment of his pledge for a clean, efficient, trustworthy and accountable government and development of First-World Ipoh:

1. Why is he conducting the shortest and most undemocratic election campaign in the 11 general elections in the nation#$(B!G#(Bs 46-year history #%G?#%@<hidden> only 7 � days, which is even shorter than the nine-day election campaign period in the dirtiest general election of the five Mahathir general elections #%G?#%@<hidden> when he should be conducting the most free, fair and clean general election with an end to the 3M abuses of money politics, media manipulation and lies and the abuse of government machinery and resources.

2. As the Anti-Corruption Agency director-general said last month, that #$(B!H#(BThere are so many rivers in the country, the sea is so huge, how can there be no fishes#$(B!I#(B, why not a single #$(B!H#(Bshark#$(B!I#(B had been arrested in his four months as Prime Minister for corruption #%G?#%@<hidden> as there were only two #$(B!H#(Bmiddling fish#$(B!I#(B in the two high-profile arrests of Eric Chia and Kasitah Gaddam.

3. Is Abdullah prepared to change the meaning of #$(B!H#(BMalaysia Boleh#$(B!I#(B by declaring as the nation#$(B!G#(Bs objective the goal for Malaysia to be internationally recognized as among the ten least corrupt nations in the world instead of falling 14 places from 23rd position in 1995 to 37th position in 2003, by the introduction of two measures:

(i) Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, Mentris Besar, Chief Ministers, State Excos required to publicly declare their assets and those of their next-of-kin to be subject to public scrutiny where there is obscene, ostentatious and disproportionate wealth and incomes from ill-gotten means;

(ii) Sacking of Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, Mentris Besar, Chief Ministers, State Excos and confiscation of disproportionate wealth and income as compared to their known salaries.

4. As Abdullah has said he does not want #$(B!H#(Bapple-polishers#$(B!I#(B but want to hear the truth from the people, is he prepared to end unfair and undemocratic press laws and censorship to restore press freedom, starting by opening up radio and television to all fair and democratic use by all political parties and candidates in the 2004 general election?

5. As education is the key to the nation#$(B!G#(Bs international competitiveness and prosperity, is he prepared to totally revamp the education system to ensure quality of education in tertiary, secondary and primary schools where meritocracy will be fully restored as the most important criteria, with Malaysian universities internationally recognized as in the league of the world#$(B!G#(Bs best universities, with appointment of University Vice Chancellors, Professorships and academicians guided solely by meritocracy.

6. Whether he will support a new deal for mother-tongue education, where Chinese primary schools are built or relocated not because there are votes to win in a general election, but solely based on needs and demands by pupils and parents because a Barisan Nasional government must recognize this as a fundamental right of Malaysians in our multi-racial nation.

7. Whether he will defend the 46-year Merdeka #$(B!H#(Bsocial contract#$(B!I#(B that Malaysia is a democratic, secular and multi-religious nation with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic State, admit that the #$(B!H#(B929 Declaration#$(B!I#(B by UMNO and Barisan Nasional that Malaysia is an Islamic State is unconstitutional, arbitrary and unilateral and formally withdraw the declaration.

8. Whether Abdullah will agree to restore local government elections in Ipoh so that the people of Ipoh will have an elected Ipoh Council reminiscent of the days of the Seenivasagam brothers #%G?#%@<hidden> with the people of Ipoh themselves creating a first-world Ipoh and deciding the future, welfare and quality of life in Ipoh and not as at present, subject to the whims and fancies of unelected politicians and irresponsible and bureaucratic civil servants.

9. Will he establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry to inquire into the mismanagement, maladministration, abuses of power, breach of trust and all forms of malpractices of an appointed-Ipoh Council for the past 30 years, in keeping with his commitment to efficiency, accountability and integrity. In the sixties, a Royal Commission of Inquiry was established to inquire into the corruption, abuses of power and maladministration of opposition-run elected local government for the years 1959 #%G?#%@<hidden> 1963. The time has come for a Royal Commission into the corruption, abuses of power and maladministration of the appointed Ipoh Council for the past 30 years, which should also specifically deal with the following issues:

(i) Taman Hock Lee scandal where, against all principles of good governance and planning principles, a light industrial estate was approved in the heart of a residential area;

(ii) The highest assessment rate in the country #%G?#%@<hidden> at some 16% as compared to 8 #%G?#%@<hidden> 9% in other parts of the country;

(iii) The parking meter scandal with each meter costing RM34,000;

(iv) The outrage of the Ipoh Council acting as #$(B!H#(Bmoral guardian#$(B!I#(B and #$(B!H#(Bmoral police#$(B!I#(B in persecuting youngsters by issuing summons to couples holding hands in city parks; and

(v) The despoliation of the aesthetic beauty of Gua Kek Lok Tong as a popular place for all races, posing health hazards with the erection of pylons.

10. Is Abdullah prepared to apologise as Home Minister for the past six years because of the double rise in crime rate and the fear of crime, whether in the streets, public places or even the privacy of the homes; as illustrated by the gruesome abduction-rape-murder of Canny Ong, who hailed from Ipoh, and to state when Malaysians can feel safe again for themselves and their loved ones and to be free from the fear of crime by restoring to all citizens the right to safety and security in their home, communities and country.

(15/3/2004)

morpheous
18-03-2004, 01:59 AM
found this at lim kit siang's homepage. heard that young Malaysians voters are encouraged to vote out old leaders like sammy vellu(he refused to step down). so are rafidah,najib and the rest...

Ten questions for Abdullah on his campaign trail in Ipoh Timor on fulfillment of his pledge for a clean, efficient, trustworthy and accountable government and development of First-World Ipoh
Media Conference Statement
- at the DAP Ipoh Timor election operations headquarters
by Lim Kit Siang

(Ipoh, Monday): The unprecedented visit of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to Ipoh Timor later today has demonstrated that the Battle for Ipoh Timor is not a battle between Lim Kit Siang and Thong Fah Chong but a battle between the DAP and the Barisan Nasional and two Visions about the future of Malaysia #%G?#%@<hidden> whether there should be a meaningful restoration of parliamentary democracy, whether Abdullah#$(B!G#(Bs pledge of a clean, incorruptible, people-oriented government which wants to hear the truth from the people should remain at the level of words but not deeds and whether to preserve or abandon the 46-year Merdeka #$(B!H#(Bsocial contract#$(B!I#(B that Malaysia is a secular democracy with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic State, whether ala-PAS or ala-UMNO.

When he first became Prime Minister, Abdullah said he does not want #$(B!H#(Bapple-polishers#$(B!I#(B and wants to hear the truth from the people. MCA parliamentary candidates like Thong Fah Chong is the stereotype #$(B!H#(Bapple-polisher#$(B!I#(B in the Barisan Nasional, and if Abdullah really wants to hear the truth from the people, he should come and meet me, for I can tell him the real truth from the people which he can never hear from the MCA or Barisan Nasional candidates.

On the historic occasion of Abdullah#$(B!G#(Bs visit and campaign trail in Ipoh Timor, I hope he can throw light on ten questions on the fulfillment of his pledge for a clean, efficient, trustworthy and accountable government and development of First-World Ipoh:

1. Why is he conducting the shortest and most undemocratic election campaign in the 11 general elections in the nation#$(B!G#(Bs 46-year history #%G?#%@<hidden> only 7 � days, which is even shorter than the nine-day election campaign period in the dirtiest general election of the five Mahathir general elections #%G?#%@<hidden> when he should be conducting the most free, fair and clean general election with an end to the 3M abuses of money politics, media manipulation and lies and the abuse of government machinery and resources.

2. As the Anti-Corruption Agency director-general said last month, that #$(B!H#(BThere are so many rivers in the country, the sea is so huge, how can there be no fishes#$(B!I#(B, why not a single #$(B!H#(Bshark#$(B!I#(B had been arrested in his four months as Prime Minister for corruption #%G?#%@<hidden> as there were only two #$(B!H#(Bmiddling fish#$(B!I#(B in the two high-profile arrests of Eric Chia and Kasitah Gaddam.

3. Is Abdullah prepared to change the meaning of #$(B!H#(BMalaysia Boleh#$(B!I#(B by declaring as the nation#$(B!G#(Bs objective the goal for Malaysia to be internationally recognized as among the ten least corrupt nations in the world instead of falling 14 places from 23rd position in 1995 to 37th position in 2003, by the introduction of two measures:

(i) Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, Mentris Besar, Chief Ministers, State Excos required to publicly declare their assets and those of their next-of-kin to be subject to public scrutiny where there is obscene, ostentatious and disproportionate wealth and incomes from ill-gotten means;

(ii) Sacking of Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, Mentris Besar, Chief Ministers, State Excos and confiscation of disproportionate wealth and income as compared to their known salaries.

4. As Abdullah has said he does not want #$(B!H#(Bapple-polishers#$(B!I#(B but want to hear the truth from the people, is he prepared to end unfair and undemocratic press laws and censorship to restore press freedom, starting by opening up radio and television to all fair and democratic use by all political parties and candidates in the 2004 general election?

5. As education is the key to the nation#$(B!G#(Bs international competitiveness and prosperity, is he prepared to totally revamp the education system to ensure quality of education in tertiary, secondary and primary schools where meritocracy will be fully restored as the most important criteria, with Malaysian universities internationally recognized as in the league of the world#$(B!G#(Bs best universities, with appointment of University Vice Chancellors, Professorships and academicians guided solely by meritocracy.

6. Whether he will support a new deal for mother-tongue education, where Chinese primary schools are built or relocated not because there are votes to win in a general election, but solely based on needs and demands by pupils and parents because a Barisan Nasional government must recognize this as a fundamental right of Malaysians in our multi-racial nation.

7. Whether he will defend the 46-year Merdeka #$(B!H#(Bsocial contract#$(B!I#(B that Malaysia is a democratic, secular and multi-religious nation with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic State, admit that the #$(B!H#(B929 Declaration#$(B!I#(B by UMNO and Barisan Nasional that Malaysia is an Islamic State is unconstitutional, arbitrary and unilateral and formally withdraw the declaration.

8. Whether Abdullah will agree to restore local government elections in Ipoh so that the people of Ipoh will have an elected Ipoh Council reminiscent of the days of the Seenivasagam brothers #%G?#%@<hidden> with the people of Ipoh themselves creating a first-world Ipoh and deciding the future, welfare and quality of life in Ipoh and not as at present, subject to the whims and fancies of unelected politicians and irresponsible and bureaucratic civil servants.

9. Will he establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry to inquire into the mismanagement, maladministration, abuses of power, breach of trust and all forms of malpractices of an appointed-Ipoh Council for the past 30 years, in keeping with his commitment to efficiency, accountability and integrity. In the sixties, a Royal Commission of Inquiry was established to inquire into the corruption, abuses of power and maladministration of opposition-run elected local government for the years 1959 #%G?#%@<hidden> 1963. The time has come for a Royal Commission into the corruption, abuses of power and maladministration of the appointed Ipoh Council for the past 30 years, which should also specifically deal with the following issues:

(i) Taman Hock Lee scandal where, against all principles of good governance and planning principles, a light industrial estate was approved in the heart of a residential area;

(ii) The highest assessment rate in the country #%G?#%@<hidden> at some 16% as compared to 8 #%G?#%@<hidden> 9% in other parts of the country;

(iii) The parking meter scandal with each meter costing RM34,000;

(iv) The outrage of the Ipoh Council acting as #$(B!H#(Bmoral guardian#$(B!I#(B and #$(B!H#(Bmoral police#$(B!I#(B in persecuting youngsters by issuing summons to couples holding hands in city parks; and

(v) The despoliation of the aesthetic beauty of Gua Kek Lok Tong as a popular place for all races, posing health hazards with the erection of pylons.

10. Is Abdullah prepared to apologise as Home Minister for the past six years because of the double rise in crime rate and the fear of crime, whether in the streets, public places or even the privacy of the homes; as illustrated by the gruesome abduction-rape-murder of Canny Ong, who hailed from Ipoh, and to state when Malaysians can feel safe again for themselves and their loved ones and to be free from the fear of crime by restoring to all citizens the right to safety and security in their home, communities and country.

(15/3/2004)

18-03-2004, 10:09 AM

oops...sorry. forgot to let you know, i said it in a sarcastic manner.

18-03-2004, 10:09 AM

oops...sorry. forgot to let you know, i said it in a sarcastic manner.

18-03-2004, 10:33 AM

10-Joules
18-03-2004, 12:39 PM
Hey, what do you guys think of the reports of two persons arrested in Johor for attempting to ?bribe? a PAS candidate to withdraw?
The suspects, aged 40 and 45, had allegedly offered the money to Sanip Ithnin, 56, so that he would withdraw from the race in the Pasir Raja state seat before the deadline for withdrawal ended at midnight.

Sanip, of PAS, is involved in a straight fight with Datuk Halimah Mohd Sadique of the Barisan Nasional.

The two suspects were caught by Sanip?s supporters at his house in Felda Sungai Sayong at 1pm and handed over to officials of the Anti-Corruption Agency about two hours later.

Sanip said the suspects had gone to his house at 12.30pm, allegedly with RM5,000 to start negotiations on the withdrawal of his candidacy.

He was initially offered RM50,000 to withdraw by Monday. However, after consulting his party leaders, Sanip asked the two men to return to the house yesterday.

Eight men who were waiting at the house made a citizens? arrest when the two suspects came. They then called in the ACA.
{as quoted from www.thestar.com.my/ }

10-Joules
18-03-2004, 12:39 PM
Hey, what do you guys think of the reports of two persons arrested in Johor for attempting to ?bribe? a PAS candidate to withdraw?
The suspects, aged 40 and 45, had allegedly offered the money to Sanip Ithnin, 56, so that he would withdraw from the race in the Pasir Raja state seat before the deadline for withdrawal ended at midnight.

Sanip, of PAS, is involved in a straight fight with Datuk Halimah Mohd Sadique of the Barisan Nasional.

The two suspects were caught by Sanip?s supporters at his house in Felda Sungai Sayong at 1pm and handed over to officials of the Anti-Corruption Agency about two hours later.

Sanip said the suspects had gone to his house at 12.30pm, allegedly with RM5,000 to start negotiations on the withdrawal of his candidacy.

He was initially offered RM50,000 to withdraw by Monday. However, after consulting his party leaders, Sanip asked the two men to return to the house yesterday.

Eight men who were waiting at the house made a citizens? arrest when the two suspects came. They then called in the ACA.
{as quoted from www.thestar.com.my/ }

18-03-2004, 12:56 PM
I've just found out that harakahdaily.net was hacked.

http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/001763.php

18-03-2004, 12:56 PM
I've just found out that harakahdaily.net was hacked.

http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/001763.php

18-03-2004, 09:27 PM
Probably by some b*st*rds who have no respect for private property, and a very very lame attempt to fan the heat.

On another note, I found it interesting to learn about my own district MP by reading newspapers rather than actually feeling her impact myself. Is this normal?

http://thestar.com.my/election2004/story.asp?file=/2004/3/18/e2004_features/7545946&sec=e2004_features

And even so, after reading all about how she campaign - I still get no message! May I ask you Ms Chew, what are you going to do to my hometown for the next 5 years?

18-03-2004, 09:27 PM
Probably by some b*st*rds who have no respect for private property, and a very very lame attempt to fan the heat.

On another note, I found it interesting to learn about my own district MP by reading newspapers rather than actually feeling her impact myself. Is this normal?

http://thestar.com.my/election2004/story.asp?file=/2004/3/18/e2004_features/7545946&sec=e2004_features

And even so, after reading all about how she campaign - I still get no message! May I ask you Ms Chew, what are you going to do to my hometown for the next 5 years?

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:13 PM
Hmm.. tomolo is the election day ade,,,

dunno why,. this is the 1st time most of us were told by our parents to stay in our rooms and dun simply go out... quite strange ah ??? in my state its just like another normal day.. will there be any riot in shah alam? i dunno la... hope nothing bad will happen... for example... taiwan president was shot ahh !!!! scary...

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:13 PM
Hmm.. tomolo is the election day ade,,,

dunno why,. this is the 1st time most of us were told by our parents to stay in our rooms and dun simply go out... quite strange ah ??? in my state its just like another normal day.. will there be any riot in shah alam? i dunno la... hope nothing bad will happen... for example... taiwan president was shot ahh !!!! scary...

20-03-2004, 06:24 PM
Just to quote a banner that I found outside the Cyber Cafe at Shah Alam sec 18...

Kopi Gano, 100 Plus,
Dulu UMNO kini PAS

I think it's funny....

20-03-2004, 06:24 PM
Just to quote a banner that I found outside the Cyber Cafe at Shah Alam sec 18...

Kopi Gano, 100 Plus,
Dulu UMNO kini PAS

I think it's funny....

20-03-2004, 06:41 PM
Hey, a friend told me about that. Want to hear something more pathetic?

For Justice, Vote PAS

That was on a poster near a swimming pool in Taiping.

20-03-2004, 06:41 PM
Hey, a friend told me about that. Want to hear something more pathetic?

For Justice, Vote PAS

That was on a poster near a swimming pool in Taiping.

20-03-2004, 07:50 PM
why is it pathetic?

20-03-2004, 07:50 PM
why is it pathetic?

20-03-2004, 09:16 PM
Since when does PAS offer justice?

20-03-2004, 09:16 PM
Since when does PAS offer justice?

20-03-2004, 09:18 PM
Scratch that last part. PAS does offer justice...Taliban style. But then again can the Taliban's style of handling things be called justice?

20-03-2004, 09:18 PM
Scratch that last part. PAS does offer justice...Taliban style. But then again can the Taliban's style of handling things be called justice?

tehjiao
21-03-2004, 04:23 AM
i think the worst thing is, both sides (BN & opposition) can't really show that they can do something for justice, sure not BN, nor PAS as they are too "kolot" and follow the "ritual" without doing the "core" thing. eg, emphasize on asking man and woman to separate while queing for cashier, use Islamic law for being raped lady to find another 5 eye-witness male Muslim
(which is ridiculous to me) and etc......
btw, i've a sad story to share. Last week, 5 thieves entered my aunt's house and stole everything. when the police came to my aunt's house, after finish examing and the police inspector found that there were still 2 bottles of XO left in my aunt's house. Then the "Inspector" said, ' well, since your house almost stolen everything, why don't u just give me these 2 bottles of XO?' my aunt's family was SHOCKED!!!!!!!I was SHOCKED as well.....Isn't he just like a ROBBER in a suit of POLICEMAN? How could this happen in our country? How about this, 'Since your daughter had been raped, why don't let me have some fun as well?'
it makes me think of Philipine, the police who take off their uniform then become kidnapper after office hour.......
Is this the country i love and i need to stay for life?
Is this so called 'WAWASAN 2020"?
i don't know.....
anything that we can do?
Vote?
BN only won 50+ per cents of votes but they still can have >70% parlimen seats, is the Vote really COUNT?
Is it really " Every VOte COunt?"
In Sarawak, it's known that u can register in village as BN supporter, then u'll be paid after BN win the seat, each vote is RM20-50, so this is the meaning of "Every VOte COunt"?

tehjiao
21-03-2004, 04:23 AM
i think the worst thing is, both sides (BN & opposition) can't really show that they can do something for justice, sure not BN, nor PAS as they are too "kolot" and follow the "ritual" without doing the "core" thing. eg, emphasize on asking man and woman to separate while queing for cashier, use Islamic law for being raped lady to find another 5 eye-witness male Muslim
(which is ridiculous to me) and etc......
btw, i've a sad story to share. Last week, 5 thieves entered my aunt's house and stole everything. when the police came to my aunt's house, after finish examing and the police inspector found that there were still 2 bottles of XO left in my aunt's house. Then the "Inspector" said, ' well, since your house almost stolen everything, why don't u just give me these 2 bottles of XO?' my aunt's family was SHOCKED!!!!!!!I was SHOCKED as well.....Isn't he just like a ROBBER in a suit of POLICEMAN? How could this happen in our country? How about this, 'Since your daughter had been raped, why don't let me have some fun as well?'
it makes me think of Philipine, the police who take off their uniform then become kidnapper after office hour.......
Is this the country i love and i need to stay for life?
Is this so called 'WAWASAN 2020"?
i don't know.....
anything that we can do?
Vote?
BN only won 50+ per cents of votes but they still can have >70% parlimen seats, is the Vote really COUNT?
In Sarawak, it's known that u can register in village as BN supporter, then u'll be paid after BN win the seat, each vote is RM20-50, so this is the meaning of "Every VOte COunt"?

21-03-2004, 05:35 AM

we live on first pass the pole for the individual candidate, not for the party. There is no such thing as popular vote for the party.

21-03-2004, 05:35 AM

we live on first pass the pole for the individual candidate, not for the party. There is no such thing as popular vote for the party.

21-03-2004, 08:36 AM

then nobody offers justice in malaysia.

21-03-2004, 08:36 AM

then nobody offers justice in malaysia.

21-03-2004, 11:30 AM
Check this out!

50.1% majority in Taiwan and they declared the winner!

LOL! politicians are politicians! That 50.1% majority is doubtfully statistically significant but they still declare the winner! LOL!

21-03-2004, 11:30 AM
Check this out!

50.1% majority in Taiwan and they declared the winner!

LOL! politicians are politicians! That 50.1% majority is doubtfully statistically significant but they still declare the winner! LOL!

21-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Source from StarOnline:

Today, Sunday, March 21, more than 10 million registered voters in Malaysia will head to some 6,000 polling stations nationwide to cast their vote. The federal elections are being held together with the state elections of 12 states, excluding Sarawak. Polling is from 8am(0000GMT) till 5pm(0900GMT) and the first results are expected by 8pm(1200GMT). Stay with The Star Online for all the news and results....

Vote for your future 8)

21-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Source from StarOnline:

Today, Sunday, March 21, more than 10 million registered voters in Malaysia will head to some 6,000 polling stations nationwide to cast their vote. The federal elections are being held together with the state elections of 12 states, excluding Sarawak. Polling is from 8am(0000GMT) till 5pm(0900GMT) and the first results are expected by 8pm(1200GMT). Stay with The Star Online for all the news and results....

Vote for your future 8)

21-03-2004, 02:07 PM
Taiwan general election result:
Chen won with 50.1% versus 49.9%
More than 10% out the margin victory, 330 000 ballots are considered as spoilt ballots.

I think now Taiwan is a divided land by people's stand of view. Politic chaos shall peaks in this island, in no doubt soon.

Check this news:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/21/latest/16549TaiwanEle&sec=latest

21-03-2004, 02:07 PM
Taiwan general election result:
Chen won with 50.1% versus 49.9%
More than 10% out the margin victory, 330 000 ballots are considered as spoilt ballots.

I think now Taiwan is a divided land by people's stand of view. Politic chaos shall peaks in this island, in no doubt soon.

Check this news:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/21/latest/16549TaiwanEle&sec=latest

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:10 PM
Oh yeah, BN boleh! Say goodbye to PAS!

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:10 PM
Oh yeah, BN boleh! Say goodbye to PAS!

22-03-2004, 12:06 AM
Wow - Kit Siang and Karpal is back!!!

22-03-2004, 12:06 AM
Wow - Kit Siang and Karpal is back!!!

22-03-2004, 12:09 AM
And Keadilan has been wiped out, not too surprising since their main issue has always been Anwar Ibrahim, and Mahathir is gone now.

For the latest news see http://www2.malaysiakini.com/splash/index.php

22-03-2004, 12:09 AM
And Keadilan has been wiped out, not too surprising since their main issue has always been Anwar Ibrahim, and Mahathir is gone now.

For the latest news see http://www2.malaysiakini.com/splash/index.php

22-03-2004, 12:15 AM
PAS is crushed in Kelantan and Terengganu while Kit Siang and Karpal Singh are back!!!

22-03-2004, 12:15 AM
PAS is crushed in Kelantan and Terengganu while Kit Siang and Karpal Singh are back!!!

22-03-2004, 12:24 AM
Terengganu people(around 85-90% of registered voters came out to vote) has choosen back BN. PAS has voiced out surrender that they are losing the state. BN is on their way to get two-third majority seats in Terengganu.

In Kelantan, PAS is losing their mandate among voters in the southern part of Kelantan. Indeed in this general election 2004, Kelantanese are going through a surprise change of mind.

22-03-2004, 12:24 AM
Terengganu people(around 85-90% of registered voters came out to vote) has choosen back BN. PAS has voiced out surrender that they are losing the state. BN is on their way to get two-third majority seats in Terengganu.

In Kelantan, PAS is losing their mandate among voters in the southern part of Kelantan. Indeed in this general election 2004, Kelantanese are going through a surprise change of mind.

22-03-2004, 12:31 AM
i, for one, am glad pas got thrashed. looks like keadilan has been obliterated. their association with pas could have cost them some votes.

kota melaka fell to BN! wow!

oh well, looks like BN will enjoy near total control of parliament for the next 5 years.

22-03-2004, 12:31 AM
i, for one, am glad pas got thrashed. looks like keadilan has been obliterated. their association with pas could have cost them some votes.

kota melaka fell to BN! wow!

oh well, looks like BN will enjoy near total control of parliament for the next 5 years.

22-03-2004, 12:55 AM
Congratulations to BN. As expected they have won! I'm so shocked!

In the coming 5 years BN would polish up their elite skills even more. Maybe in 15 years we'll have a 100% BN win.

22-03-2004, 12:55 AM
Congratulations to BN. As expected they have won! I'm so shocked!

In the coming 5 years BN would polish up their elite skills even more. Maybe in 15 years we'll have a 100% BN win.

22-03-2004, 01:13 AM
i guess most malaysians don't realize that some opposition is needed to keep the ruling government's nepotistic and cronyistic tendencies in check.

anyone else surprised that bn whupped pas' ass in kelantan? i am.

22-03-2004, 01:13 AM
i guess most malaysians don't realize that some opposition is needed to keep the ruling government's nepotistic and cronyistic tendencies in check.

22-03-2004, 01:24 AM

I certainly am, though I doubt I'm the only one with such feelings. I wonder now if the BN government is gonna continue its semi-totalitarian policies or make sweeping reforms to show the voters they made the right choice.

22-03-2004, 01:24 AM

I certainly am, though I doubt I'm the only one with such feelings. I wonder now if the BN government is gonna continue its semi-totalitarian policies or make sweeping reforms to show the voters they made the right choice.

22-03-2004, 01:58 AM
They (opposition) should boycott the next election, save some money.

22-03-2004, 01:58 AM
They (opposition) should boycott the next election, save some money.

22-03-2004, 03:45 AM
PAS has won 19 seats so far, BN 18. This is getting real interesting.

To those wants a live update check it out here http://www.thestar.com.my/election2004/results/03/03s.html

22-03-2004, 03:45 AM
PAS has won 19 seats so far, BN 18. This is getting real interesting.

To those wants a live update check it out here http://www.thestar.com.my/election2004/results/03/03s.html