View Full Version : Remag 2

03-03-2004, 10:46 AM
Here's an update on Remag 2.

In the first issue, we have 2 articles that didn't make it into the final cut due to time constraint. They are jinjoo/hasran's education system essay and Roy?s LA trip. I'm thinking of including those articles into Remag 2.

And I've also asked Hafidz Ismail to write an article for us. For those who don?t know him, he was a SDAR debater back in Malaysia and right now is the Minnesota Debate team. He is a pretty good writer and has once or twice contributed to SuaraAnum, a newsletter once led by Nik Nazmi. I will try to get Nik Nazmi to do us a favor by contributing to remag 2 or maybe for remag 3. Again, for those who don?t know Nik nazmi, you may visit his new webbie at niknazmi.com. He is a pretty famous young writer.

I believe that if we could get some of these well-known personalities to write for us as guest writer, maybe we could boost our own base.

And I've heard Peiwei has expressed her desire to contribute an article.

So, the tally is now 4 articles which is pretty good development. Now, I need commitment from you guys to continue on Remag 2. I can?t do remag 2 alone.

Chenchow has suggested 5th March as the deadline to submit a topic but now, it is pretty much impossible as I know all of us are students, we are busy with our priorities. Therefore, I hope you guys could think of a topic before March 7th, that's this Sunday and submit it to me directly or to creative_recom@<hidden>. By no means, the deadline is absolute. If you guys are late, don?t worry. Remag 2 is still small for us to impose any stringent rule. We are more concerned with quality.

And lastly, if you guys have some idea on how to improve remag, again, my ears are all yours.

Hope to hear from you guys soon. Let?s us make our remag a better one!

03-03-2004, 10:46 AM
Here's an update on Remag 2.

In the first issue, we have 2 articles that didn't make it into the final cut due to time constraint. They are jinjoo/hasran's education system essay and Roy?s LA trip. I'm thinking of including those articles into Remag 2.

And I've also asked Hafidz Ismail to write an article for us. For those who don?t know him, he was a SDAR debater back in Malaysia and right now is the Minnesota Debate team. He is a pretty good writer and has once or twice contributed to SuaraAnum, a newsletter once led by Nik Nazmi. I will try to get Nik Nazmi to do us a favor by contributing to remag 2 or maybe for remag 3. Again, for those who don?t know Nik nazmi, you may visit his new webbie at niknazmi.com. He is a pretty famous young writer.

I believe that if we could get some of these well-known personalities to write for us as guest writer, maybe we could boost our own base.

And I've heard Peiwei has expressed her desire to contribute an article.

So, the tally is now 4 articles which is pretty good development. Now, I need commitment from you guys to continue on Remag 2. I can?t do remag 2 alone.

Chenchow has suggested 5th March as the deadline to submit a topic but now, it is pretty much impossible as I know all of us are students, we are busy with our priorities. Therefore, I hope you guys could think of a topic before March 7th, that's this Sunday and submit it to me directly or to creative_recom@<hidden>. By no means, the deadline is absolute. If you guys are late, don?t worry. Remag 2 is still small for us to impose any stringent rule. We are more concerned with quality.

And lastly, if you guys have some idea on how to improve remag, again, my ears are all yours.

Hope to hear from you guys soon. Let?s us make our remag a better one!

05-03-2004, 05:27 AM
Hope to hear more responses from interested people~!

To those who love to write, love to be an editor, etc...Join ReMag, you will be able to live in those dreams~!

I think it would be very important for us to set up the entire timeline for ReMag 2 now and we stick to it...

05-03-2004, 05:27 AM
Hope to hear more responses from interested people~!

To those who love to write, love to be an editor, etc...Join ReMag, you will be able to live in those dreams~!

I think it would be very important for us to set up the entire timeline for ReMag 2 now and we stick to it...

dinna_g
05-03-2004, 01:11 PM
Sorry for the long silence. I've been extremely busy. I haven't even got the chance to read Remag 1 :(.. I'll post my comments as soon as I get the chance to read it (hopefully this weekend).

Cheers!

dinna_g
05-03-2004, 01:11 PM
Sorry for the long silence. I've been extremely busy. I haven't even got the chance to read Remag 1 :(.. I'll post my comments as soon as I get the chance to read it (hopefully this weekend).

Cheers!

05-03-2004, 01:17 PM
i got one in mind, how i found recom hehe...already told that to syamsul. anyway, when's the duedate? 7th march ke? will try n finish it off ASAP.

Are we gonna hv a specific topic for ReMag2? (pls, can anyone answer this question? i've been asking this since dunno when) Thank you! :P

05-03-2004, 01:17 PM
i got one in mind, how i found recom hehe...already told that to syamsul. anyway, when's the duedate? 7th march ke? will try n finish it off ASAP.

Are we gonna hv a specific topic for ReMag2? (pls, can anyone answer this question? i've been asking this since dunno when) Thank you! :P

05-03-2004, 02:02 PM
There's nothing specific yet. Maybe in future issues, when we have more writers, we could get remag to concentrate on one area per topic.

and the 7th is the due date for the topics.

05-03-2004, 02:02 PM
There's nothing specific yet. Maybe in future issues, when we have more writers, we could get remag to concentrate on one area per topic.

and the 7th is the due date for the topics.

06-03-2004, 12:18 AM
i want to write something too. Currently i have already begun writing a philosophical essay on "God and omniscience". Hope this isn't too scandolous or anything. It's not so much about religion as it is an exercise of thought.

06-03-2004, 12:18 AM
i want to write something too. Currently i have already begun writing a philosophical essay on "God and omniscience". Hope this isn't too scandolous or anything. It's not so much about religion as it is an exercise of thought.

06-03-2004, 01:23 AM
sounds like an interesting topic.

06-03-2004, 01:23 AM
sounds like an interesting topic.

07-03-2004, 06:45 AM
tomorrow is the deadline for topic submission. hope you guys remember it :)

07-03-2004, 06:45 AM
tomorrow is the deadline for topic submission. hope you guys remember it :)

08-03-2004, 09:52 AM
so, how many articles do we have currently?.
hmm, seems like we need to promote ReMag more, so that we can have a wider audience.

also, we need feedback from recom members too.

anyway, here;s the new URL for Remag :

http://remag.recom.org

08-03-2004, 09:52 AM
so, how many articles do we have currently?.
hmm, seems like we need to promote ReMag more, so that we can have a wider audience.

also, we need feedback from recom members too.

anyway, here;s the new URL for Remag :

http://remag.recom.org

08-03-2004, 11:44 AM
I would volunteer to write on
"Benefits of Studying Abroad" .

What do you guys think?

Hope that we could have more people volunteer to write!

08-03-2004, 11:44 AM
I would volunteer to write on
"Benefits of Studying Abroad" .

What do you guys think?

Hope that we could have more people volunteer to write!

08-03-2004, 11:51 AM
man!! i'm so sorry..i was away for the weekn got no access to internet...can i still submit my article? :cry:

08-03-2004, 11:51 AM
man!! i'm so sorry..i was away for the weekn got no access to internet...can i still submit my article? :cry:

08-03-2004, 12:44 PM
eh chenchow, get arthur goh to write something.

08-03-2004, 12:44 PM
eh chenchow, get arthur goh to write something.

08-03-2004, 12:48 PM

yes. what are you going to write about?

Editors, you guys could start editting the three given articles. Hisyam seems to have started on them.

submitted articles

1. On that point Sir by Hafidz Ismail

2. LA Trip by Roy (with PICTURES w00t!)

3. Malaysia education system by masterof_none/jinjoo

Submitted topic

1. littlebigone is writing "God and Omniscience"

2. Chenchow is on "Benefits of Studying Abroad"

08-03-2004, 12:48 PM

yes. what are you going to write about?

Editors, you guys could start editting the three given articles. Hisyam seems to have started on them.

submitted articles

Submitted topic

08-03-2004, 01:49 PM
probably the one on "my impression of recom.org" (what i think of it, how i found it etc)

then maybe (if i hv the time and ever get to it hehe), life in a teacher training college - it's not quite the same as life in other Univs, mind you

so, that oke? when should i hand it in? thanks! :)

08-03-2004, 01:49 PM
probably the one on "my impression of recom.org" (what i think of it, how i found it etc)

then maybe (if i hv the time and ever get to it hehe), life in a teacher training college - it's not quite the same as life in other Univs, mind you

so, that oke? when should i hand it in? thanks! :)

09-03-2004, 01:58 PM
The date for the article submission is the 20th, like what Chenchow has suggested earlier. That should give ample time to write an article and also give sufficient time for the editors to do their work.

Since we lack the number of article, I'll write about the importance of sleep to students

I think we should target the first week of April to publish ReMag 2, probally on April 4th (Sunday) or 5th (Monday). What do you guys think?

09-03-2004, 01:58 PM
The date for the article submission is the 20th, like what Chenchow has suggested earlier. That should give ample time to write an article and also give sufficient time for the editors to do their work.

Since we lack the number of article, I'll write about the importance of sleep to students

I think we should target the first week of April to publish ReMag 2, probally on April 4th (Sunday) or 5th (Monday). What do you guys think?

09-03-2004, 10:29 PM
On the day of release, I think we should see how often we want ReMag to be released. Choose between either one issue per month, one issue per 2 months, one issue per 3 months something like that, so there will be consistency for our readers!

What do you guys think?

09-03-2004, 10:29 PM
On the day of release, I think we should see how often we want ReMag to be released. Choose between either one issue per month, one issue per 2 months, one issue per 3 months something like that, so there will be consistency for our readers!

What do you guys think?

10-03-2004, 12:18 AM
I think one issue every 2 months is possible.
Monthly issue would I think be too much, given our present capacity.

what do u guys think?

10-03-2004, 12:18 AM
I think one issue every 2 months is possible.
Monthly issue would I think be too much, given our present capacity.

what do u guys think?

10-03-2004, 02:02 AM
If it is an issue per 2 month, then I would think that our this ReMag 2 should have its release at end of April, so that we have our 6 ReMags this year, released at end of Feb, April, June, August, Oct and Dec.

I would think that one issue per two months is good, especially at this initial stage.

10-03-2004, 02:02 AM
If it is an issue per 2 month, then I would think that our this ReMag 2 should have its release at end of April, so that we have our 6 ReMags this year, released at end of Feb, April, June, August, Oct and Dec.

I would think that one issue per two months is good, especially at this initial stage.

10-03-2004, 02:41 AM
definitely 1 issue every 2 months...monthly would be almost impossible. we should concentrate on quality not quantity at this early stage.

10-03-2004, 02:41 AM
definitely 1 issue every 2 months...monthly would be almost impossible. we should concentrate on quality not quantity at this early stage.

silverblue
10-03-2004, 09:40 AM
I agree too. A bimonthly mag will be much better. We will have more time to add in more features and do more touch-ups before releasing each edition.

silverblue
10-03-2004, 09:40 AM
I agree too. A bimonthly mag will be much better. We will have more time to add in more features and do more touch-ups before releasing each edition.

10-03-2004, 12:42 PM
i've finished my article "recom as i KNow it".
it's kinda long, so pls edit it editors :)
i'll try n send it in this afternoon (forgot my diskette)

10-03-2004, 12:42 PM
i've finished my article "recom as i KNow it".
it's kinda long, so pls edit it editors :)
i'll try n send it in this afternoon (forgot my diskette)

silverblue
10-03-2004, 03:15 PM
Hi Budakkerek,

Can you please try to edit your article to fit the page limit (2.5 pages single space for personal stories, expository articles or 3 pages for informative, factual or technical articles). Cos it'd be a huge burden for the editors to 'shorten' your article... You are the author and you'll know best what parts are extraneaous or unnecessary.. ;)

Also, the editing/proofreading team hopes that all article contributors can let someone 'outside' RECOM (preferably an English teacher or stg) proofread it at least once for obvious and glaring typos or grammatical errors before submission. This would definitely help speed up our proofreading process, thus making the ReMag team more efficient at producing the mag.

Good luck and thanks for your brilliant contribution to ReMag!! :D

silverblue
10-03-2004, 03:15 PM
Hi Budakkerek,

Can you please try to edit your article to fit the page limit (2.5 pages single space for personal stories, expository articles or 3 pages for informative, factual or technical articles). Cos it'd be a huge burden for the editors to 'shorten' your article... You are the author and you'll know best what parts are extraneaous or unnecessary.. ;)

Also, the editing/proofreading team hopes that all article contributors can let someone 'outside' RECOM (preferably an English teacher or stg) proofread it at least once for obvious and glaring typos or grammatical errors before submission. This would definitely help speed up our proofreading process, thus making the ReMag team more efficient at producing the mag.

Good luck and thanks for your brilliant contribution to ReMag!! :D

silverblue
10-03-2004, 03:30 PM
Oh yeah.. to summarize what I just said, try to make ur articles KISS...

hehe... which means 'Keep It Short & Sweet'!! :wink:

silverblue
10-03-2004, 03:30 PM
Oh yeah.. to summarize what I just said, try to make ur articles KISS...

hehe... which means 'Keep It Short & Sweet'!! :wink:

12-03-2004, 12:00 AM
update

submitted articles

4. Recom as i know it by budakkerek

5. biodiversity by budakkerek + two other ppl.

Submitted topic

3. __earth "sleep"

12-03-2004, 12:00 AM
update

submitted articles

Submitted topic

3. __earth "sleep"

12-03-2004, 02:00 AM
how come topdog isn't writing anything? I thought his english was good? Don't paiseh lah

12-03-2004, 02:00 AM
how come topdog isn't writing anything? I thought his english was good? Don't paiseh lah

12-03-2004, 10:50 AM
masterof_none, both my friend hv agreed to the publishing of the "biodiversity" article. in fact, they made me promise to show em the published article hehe..

maybe can include, students of IPBA or sthing.

well..up to you! :wink:

12-03-2004, 10:50 AM
masterof_none, both my friend hv agreed to the publishing of the "biodiversity" article. in fact, they made me promise to show em the published article hehe..

maybe can include, students of IPBA or sthing.

well..up to you! :wink:

12-03-2004, 01:47 PM
Hmmm , not sure what do u mean by IPBA....

12-03-2004, 01:47 PM
Hmmm , not sure what do u mean by IPBA....

13-03-2004, 03:49 AM
Oops..sorry. i was assuming that everyone knows my college name is Institut Perguruan Bahasa-bahasa Antarabangsa a.k.a IPBA.
those 2 other writers are my classmates during my foundation year. they hv agreed to the publishing of the article. in fact, they were very honoured. and they want to see the finished product.

oke..is that info, sufficient?

13-03-2004, 03:49 AM
Oops..sorry. i was assuming that everyone knows my college name is Institut Perguruan Bahasa-bahasa Antarabangsa a.k.a IPBA.
those 2 other writers are my classmates during my foundation year. they hv agreed to the publishing of the article. in fact, they were very honoured. and they want to see the finished product.

oke..is that info, sufficient?

sanghanuman
13-03-2004, 05:49 AM
budakkerek,

I think it is better if we put in names rather than "2 students from IPBA". Plus, why dont you invite them into recom? They can have access to our project and a lot more here in Recom.

sanghanuman
13-03-2004, 05:49 AM
budakkerek,

I think it is better if we put in names rather than "2 students from IPBA". Plus, why dont you invite them into recom? They can have access to our project and a lot more here in Recom.

dinna_g
13-03-2004, 05:56 AM
Sorry if I digress a little. I notice that our articles are all in English. I suggest that we make a Bahasa Malaysia section, afterall, it is our official language. It would be nice to see a work of art written in Malay as well.

Cheers!

dinna_g
13-03-2004, 05:56 AM
Sorry if I digress a little. I notice that our articles are all in English. I suggest that we make a Bahasa Malaysia section, afterall, it is our official language. It would be nice to see a work of art written in Malay as well.

Cheers!

13-03-2004, 06:28 AM
I agree with sanghanuman that the 2 students from IPBA be invited to ReCom and have their full name posted as writer!

13-03-2004, 06:28 AM
I agree with sanghanuman that the 2 students from IPBA be invited to ReCom and have their full name posted as writer!

13-03-2004, 04:21 PM
well...i did include their names in the article i sent to syamsul. Anyway, don't think they're into such things (like surfing the net, joining forums etc) but they're very happy to contribute. But i'll ask em to join. who knows, hopefully, they'll agree to join,

One of them, rosalynn, she's a damn good writer. i'll ask her to join. but it's up to them kan..nanti laa..will try n promote the site to 'em :wink:

13-03-2004, 04:21 PM
well...i did include their names in the article i sent to syamsul. Anyway, don't think they're into such things (like surfing the net, joining forums etc) but they're very happy to contribute. But i'll ask em to join. who knows, hopefully, they'll agree to join,

One of them, rosalynn, she's a damn good writer. i'll ask her to join. but it's up to them kan..nanti laa..will try n promote the site to 'em :wink:

13-03-2004, 04:42 PM

Saya amat bersetuju dengan cadangan saudari dinna_g..
Saya rasa memang bagus kalau kita siarkan (publish?).. satu artikel dalam bahasa Melaysia.

Saya Rasa bahasa Malaysia saya pun sudah semakin mundur..hmm

13-03-2004, 04:42 PM

Saya amat bersetuju dengan cadangan saudari dinna_g..
Saya rasa memang bagus kalau kita siarkan (publish?).. satu artikel dalam bahasa Melaysia.

Saya Rasa bahasa Malaysia saya pun sudah semakin mundur..hmm

13-03-2004, 05:19 PM
apa kata, kita minta saudara Lukman menulis? saya rasa, artikel/ceritanya dlm Bahasa Melayu agak bagus.

Ahli ahli ReCom yang lain, juga boleh turut menulis.

13-03-2004, 05:19 PM
apa kata, kita minta saudara Lukman menulis? saya rasa, artikel/ceritanya dlm Bahasa Melayu agak bagus.

Ahli ahli ReCom yang lain, juga boleh turut menulis.

13-03-2004, 10:44 PM
Saya menyokong sepenuhnya cadangan budakkerek...

Lukman, you are being "eyed".

13-03-2004, 10:44 PM
Saya menyokong sepenuhnya cadangan budakkerek...

Lukman, you are being "eyed".

16-03-2004, 01:37 AM
ehem...jgn salah sangka...ahli ReCom yang lain juga, boleh turut menyumbang karya mereka. :P

Saya cadangkan Luke kerana saya tidak tahu tentang kebolehan ahli ReCom yg lain dalam menghasilkan karya Bahasa Melayu. Lagipun, selama ini, saudara Lukman yang rajin menghantar karyanya ke "Creative Corner", tak gitu? :wink:

16-03-2004, 01:37 AM
ehem...jgn salah sangka...ahli ReCom yang lain juga, boleh turut menyumbang karya mereka. :P

Saya cadangkan Luke kerana saya tidak tahu tentang kebolehan ahli ReCom yg lain dalam menghasilkan karya Bahasa Melayu. Lagipun, selama ini, saudara Lukman yang rajin menghantar karyanya ke "Creative Corner", tak gitu? :wink:

17-03-2004, 12:28 AM
so, how's everything going?

so masterofnone, you want to revamp the code?

17-03-2004, 12:28 AM
so, how's everything going?

so masterofnone, you want to revamp the code?

Ishveir
17-03-2004, 03:39 AM
Hello All,

:arrow: Firstly i would like to apologize for being out of the ReMag scene for its infant moments.
I regret to say that i had been non-supportive. However, the reasons i've gone MIA are rather personal and thank God they are sorted out right now.
Therefore, im back (touchwood) and would be writing some stuff, if not a full fledged article it would be some opinion based short article.
just to inform you people out there that i did not just back up but always do support you guys working on it. 8)
I have to say too that you guys have done a decent job, Congratulations to Editor(s) and the Writers.

Thanks!

Ishveir
17-03-2004, 03:39 AM
Hello All,

:arrow: Firstly i would like to apologize for being out of the ReMag scene for its infant moments.
I regret to say that i had been non-supportive. However, the reasons i've gone MIA are rather personal and thank God they are sorted out right now.
Therefore, im back (touchwood) and would be writing some stuff, if not a full fledged article it would be some opinion based short article.
just to inform you people out there that i did not just back up but always do support you guys working on it. 8)
I have to say too that you guys have done a decent job, Congratulations to Editor(s) and the Writers.

Thanks!

17-03-2004, 07:30 AM
I'll discuss with Minter Lim about the website design soon (this Thursday..my aim).
Right now, I'm left with some 'unfinished business' that I need to settle.

Anyway, we can start editing the articles now. I think we are now ready to go to the NeXT phase.

Ishveir, welcome back to ReMag. !
Yeah, if you have any suggestion about ReMag or anything, just post it here. If you have any article to send, send it to __earth or me.
we're now about to begin the editing phase.

Thanks!

17-03-2004, 07:30 AM
I'll discuss with Minter Lim about the website design soon (this Thursday..my aim).
Right now, I'm left with some 'unfinished business' that I need to settle.

Anyway, we can start editing the articles now. I think we are now ready to go to the NeXT phase.

Ishveir, welcome back to ReMag. !
Yeah, if you have any suggestion about ReMag or anything, just post it here. If you have any article to send, send it to __earth or me.
we're now about to begin the editing phase.

Thanks!

silverblue
17-03-2004, 08:11 AM
have one comment... i think the 4 editors should work on splitting the editing job more fairly among each other... i dunno... mebbe the others are buzy but just to update everyone:- james and i have so far received 3 articles from caitlin and 1 from hisham...

i'm sorry...when are we releasing our 2nd issue again? i need to know the datelines... i'll probably only be able to get to the edited articles by friday night...

silverblue
17-03-2004, 08:11 AM
have one comment... i think the 4 editors should work on splitting the editing job more fairly among each other... i dunno... mebbe the others are buzy but just to update everyone:- james and i have so far received 3 articles from caitlin and 1 from hisham...

i'm sorry...when are we releasing our 2nd issue again? i need to know the datelines... i'll probably only be able to get to the edited articles by friday night...

17-03-2004, 09:41 AM
silverblue, the release date of ReMag 2 is April 30th.

17-03-2004, 09:41 AM
silverblue, the release date of ReMag 2 is April 30th.

17-03-2004, 10:19 AM
April 30th?
wo! that's a long time. If we want to take such as long time, we better make more content for it.

In the other thread, with direct reference:

I very much agree with 1st spirit that currently our objective is too vague and the ideas that we have are too broad. Currently, the objective that I have in mind is news on Malaysian students from all over the world (hence, it can look pretty much like our university's newspaper.

I think the first issue should be about 10 pages long. It should be pretty short since it's only our first issue. I also have a brief outline on what the magazine can be. I hope you guys can have a look at it and tell me what you think.

1. Main page - Introduce Recom & Remag - state our objective, how Recom started and what not.

2. News from Malaysia - short summary of hot news in Malaysia e.g. Najib was appointed as the new DPM.

3. Recom events - hot topics discussed in Recom (just like the topic suggested and will be written by chenchow)

4. Malaysian students from all over the world - should be divided into several parts e.g. US, UK, Germany, Malaysia, Russia, Middle East etc. Each country is represented by one writer and the writer can talk about anything regarding his/her life as a student there e.g. 1st_spirit can write about his/her (sorry, i rather not assume your gender) research with his/her fave prof.

5. Column - general articles by Recom moderator or Recom member or invitation writer e.g. earth wants to talk about recycle culture in the US.

If there is no objection, I suggest we start of with this outline and maybe we should find one person to be in charge of each main topic. For the first issue, I volunteered to write a column, a topic about tips on last minute studying (like i said before).

I also suggest that we extend the deadline to the end of January (e.g. Jan 31) to allow more time for brainstorming. Regarding my friend who used to write for YouthQuake, I haven't got any chance to talk to her. She's been idle on Yahoo. I don't even know if she's interested, but I'll give it a shot anyway. I'll keep updating. Thanks :D.[/b]

since we have a lot of time, maybe we should start on heading that way right now.

17-03-2004, 10:19 AM
April 30th?
wo! that's a long time. If we want to take such as long time, we better make more content for it.

In the other thread, with direct reference:

I very much agree with 1st spirit that currently our objective is too vague and the ideas that we have are too broad. Currently, the objective that I have in mind is news on Malaysian students from all over the world (hence, it can look pretty much like our university's newspaper.

I think the first issue should be about 10 pages long. It should be pretty short since it's only our first issue. I also have a brief outline on what the magazine can be. I hope you guys can have a look at it and tell me what you think.

1. Main page - Introduce Recom & Remag - state our objective, how Recom started and what not.

2. News from Malaysia - short summary of hot news in Malaysia e.g. Najib was appointed as the new DPM.

3. Recom events - hot topics discussed in Recom (just like the topic suggested and will be written by chenchow)

4. Malaysian students from all over the world - should be divided into several parts e.g. US, UK, Germany, Malaysia, Russia, Middle East etc. Each country is represented by one writer and the writer can talk about anything regarding his/her life as a student there e.g. 1st_spirit can write about his/her (sorry, i rather not assume your gender) research with his/her fave prof.

5. Column - general articles by Recom moderator or Recom member or invitation writer e.g. earth wants to talk about recycle culture in the US.

If there is no objection, I suggest we start of with this outline and maybe we should find one person to be in charge of each main topic. For the first issue, I volunteered to write a column, a topic about tips on last minute studying (like i said before).

I also suggest that we extend the deadline to the end of January (e.g. Jan 31) to allow more time for brainstorming. Regarding my friend who used to write for YouthQuake, I haven't got any chance to talk to her. She's been idle on Yahoo. I don't even know if she's interested, but I'll give it a shot anyway. I'll keep updating. Thanks :D.[/b]

since we have a lot of time, maybe we should start on heading that way right now.

18-03-2004, 04:30 AM
i have a suggestion for the editors. maybe the 4 of you should each pick one article to work on. that way you would be able to proofread it more thoroughly. this will also avoid unnecessary repetition. hope you guys can work something out amongst yourselves.

18-03-2004, 04:30 AM
i have a suggestion for the editors. maybe the 4 of you should each pick one article to work on. that way you would be able to proofread it more thoroughly. this will also avoid unnecessary repetition. hope you guys can work something out amongst yourselves.

serenete
18-03-2004, 09:18 AM
Thanks __earth for getting me into the SIG :)

This is something I've mentioned to James as well. It seems like a lot of duplication of effort is going on here, with four editors editing the same article four times. The assignment of articles might be done by the editors-in-chief, say, they assign certain articles for certain editors - it's going to be hard for four editors to arrange among themselves who's doing what, and in what time frame, so maybe James and Cheryl can just give us whichever one it is.

Would be happy to hear suggestions from the rest.

serenete
18-03-2004, 09:18 AM
Thanks __earth for getting me into the SIG :)

This is something I've mentioned to James as well. It seems like a lot of duplication of effort is going on here, with four editors editing the same article four times. The assignment of articles might be done by the editors-in-chief, say, they assign certain articles for certain editors - it's going to be hard for four editors to arrange among themselves who's doing what, and in what time frame, so maybe James and Cheryl can just give us whichever one it is.

Would be happy to hear suggestions from the rest.

serenete
18-03-2004, 09:20 AM

It is probably a busy time for the editors who are in the U.S. ? I'm a postgrad student, so I have several other writing gigs as well at Uni, which forces me to organise my editing times very strictly. Aside from my Uni work and research I do try to make it a point to get those articles edited as soon as possible, to avoid the experience of suddenly having to do everything at once and to also avoid deluging the chief editors close to deadline :)

:idea: serenete

serenete
18-03-2004, 09:20 AM

It is probably a busy time for the editors who are in the U.S. ? I'm a postgrad student, so I have several other writing gigs as well at Uni, which forces me to organise my editing times very strictly. Aside from my Uni work and research I do try to make it a point to get those articles edited as soon as possible, to avoid the experience of suddenly having to do everything at once and to also avoid deluging the chief editors close to deadline :)

18-03-2004, 12:23 PM
I would suggest someone do an Article about Hot forum topic of the month/bi-month.

18-03-2004, 12:23 PM
I would suggest someone do an Article about Hot forum topic of the month/bi-month.

18-03-2004, 12:28 PM

that's a great idea. i'll do it.

18-03-2004, 12:28 PM

that's a great idea. i'll do it.

18-03-2004, 12:32 PM
that would probably be the gay thread eh? (no pun intended :D )

18-03-2004, 12:32 PM

18-03-2004, 12:48 PM
i don't see any pun in that sentence...

18-03-2004, 12:48 PM
i don't see any pun in that sentence...

serenete
18-03-2004, 12:50 PM

That's just sad :P

:lol:

serenete
18-03-2004, 12:50 PM

That's just sad :P

:lol:

18-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Also i would suggest someone do an article about Something computer related, or talk about a Computer related site that is highly participated by malaysian. For an example Lowyat.net

Writing an article about them would eventually expose remag too more malaysians. I'm pretty sure the Lowyat folks would put "we got remagged" ala slashdot :D on their front page.

Imagine the traffic flowing from lowyat.net to remag.

18-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Also i would suggest someone do an article about Something computer related, or talk about a Computer related site that is highly participated by malaysian. For an example Lowyat.net

Writing an article about them would eventually expose remag too more malaysians. I'm pretty sure the Lowyat folks would put "we got remagged" ala slashdot :D on their front page.

Imagine the traffic flowing from lowyat.net to remag.

18-03-2004, 05:22 PM
Thanks Thirdshifter for the suggestion of getting Malaysian website 'remagged' .
I think this is a great idea.

Also, we can reorganize ReMag like dinna_g/__earth suggested above.
Since we have one more month to go, we can put more stuff.

One more thing, I have this fancy idea of getting Remag printed.
I think I might bring couple of Remags to Midwest game , and maybe we can circulate it among ourselves.
(btw, who're going to the Midwest game?).
We can print both edition (double whopper version) at a time.

Regarding editing, I hope it's going fine..! Thanks guys!.

18-03-2004, 05:22 PM
Thanks Thirdshifter for the suggestion of getting Malaysian website 'remagged' .
I think this is a great idea.

Also, we can reorganize ReMag like dinna_g/__earth suggested above.
Since we have one more month to go, we can put more stuff.

One more thing, I have this fancy idea of getting Remag printed.
I think I might bring couple of Remags to Midwest game , and maybe we can circulate it among ourselves.
(btw, who're going to the Midwest game?).
We can print both edition (double whopper version) at a time.

Regarding editing, I hope it's going fine..! Thanks guys!.

18-03-2004, 11:50 PM
I know that this is very unbecoming, but I would like to seek an extension of my article in ReMag possibly to April 1st, as I may not be able to finish it in time for March 20th, and I will be away in Orlando, Florida for 9 days tomorrow.

Thanks~!

18-03-2004, 11:50 PM
I know that this is very unbecoming, but I would like to seek an extension of my article in ReMag possibly to April 1st, as I may not be able to finish it in time for March 20th, and I will be away in Orlando, Florida for 9 days tomorrow.

Thanks~!

18-03-2004, 11:53 PM
wah chenchow, how many times have you been to orlando?

18-03-2004, 11:53 PM
wah chenchow, how many times have you been to orlando?

19-03-2004, 01:57 AM

Gay as in the "being happy" or is it the other meaning? Coz the thread's kinda 'happy' there was quite a discussion hehe :wink:

19-03-2004, 01:57 AM

Gay as in the "being happy" or is it the other meaning? Coz the thread's kinda 'happy' there was quite a discussion hehe :wink:

serenete
19-03-2004, 04:55 AM
Hey, that's cool, chenchow! Er... is that where Disneyland is? I don't remember.

serenete
19-03-2004, 04:55 AM
Hey, that's cool, chenchow! Er... is that where Disneyland is? I don't remember.

19-03-2004, 09:22 AM
yeah Chenchow, maybe you can share your experience while in Disneyland too .

BTW, serenete, they have 2 disneylands in the US, one in Orlando and one in Calif. , to be precise, in Orange county, Anaheim . The one in Calif. is the original. It's kinda old though, but it's still fun to visit.

19-03-2004, 09:22 AM
yeah Chenchow, maybe you can share your experience while in Disneyland too .

BTW, serenete, they have 2 disneylands in the US, one in Orlando and one in Calif. , to be precise, in Orange county, Anaheim . The one in Calif. is the original. It's kinda old though, but it's still fun to visit.

serenete
19-03-2004, 11:54 AM

I see :) I got confused... I think I visited the one in California, not the one in Florida. Good stuff, nonetheless.

serenete
19-03-2004, 11:54 AM

I see :) I got confused... I think I visited the one in California, not the one in Florida. Good stuff, nonetheless.

19-03-2004, 12:45 PM
The one in florida is disney world. I still prefer the Disneyland in California because of nostalgic reasons.

I had my first "it's a small world after all" ride there. Turns out to be the greatest lesson i ever got.

19-03-2004, 12:45 PM
The one in florida is disney world. I still prefer the Disneyland in California because of nostalgic reasons.

I had my first "it's a small world after all" ride there. Turns out to be the greatest lesson i ever got.

19-03-2004, 11:44 PM

Yeah, "it's a small world after all " is a good ride, I think that's one of the think that keep coming from my mouth when I think of Recom.

anyway...I guess we've digressed... back to ReMag2

I haven't received any update from editors. So, I'm not sure how it go so far...hope you guys can update me.

another thing is, I want to make a 'prototype' of the printed ReMag,
so, I can bring it to Midwest games.
Anyone go to the midwest?

19-03-2004, 11:44 PM

Yeah, "it's a small world after all " is a good ride, I think that's one of the think that keep coming from my mouth when I think of Recom.

anyway...I guess we've digressed... back to ReMag2

I haven't received any update from editors. So, I'm not sure how it go so far...hope you guys can update me.

another thing is, I want to make a 'prototype' of the printed ReMag,
so, I can bring it to Midwest games.
Anyone go to the midwest?

serenete
20-03-2004, 07:30 AM
masterof_none, my update is pretty simple - I've edited whatever it is that needs to be edited (I think that's four in total) and sent them off to Cheryl and James. Unless there's something else that I've left out, I'm glad to have cleared this set of commitments for editing and await instruction.

Hope everyone else is doing all right :)

serenete
20-03-2004, 07:30 AM
masterof_none, my update is pretty simple - I've edited whatever it is that needs to be edited (I think that's four in total) and sent them off to Cheryl and James. Unless there's something else that I've left out, I'm glad to have cleared this set of commitments for editing and await instruction.

Hope everyone else is doing all right :)

20-03-2004, 09:58 PM
Update.
Could the editor list down who is checking out which?
Add your or the editor name in italic right and in (parenthesis) beside the article name.
That should make it easier to track who's doing what.

Submitted articles

2. LA Trip by Roy

6. Tourism malaysia by peiwei

Submitted topic

3. __earth "sleep"

4. Recom hot topic of the day? by topdog? please confirm this.

20-03-2004, 09:58 PM
Update.
Add your or the editor name in italic right and in (parenthesis) beside the article name.

Submitted articles

2. LA Trip by Roy

Submitted topic

3. __earth "sleep"

4. Recom hot topic of the day? by topdog? please confirm this.

serenete
21-03-2004, 07:33 AM
Hope I do this right - these are the articles that have already passed through me.

Update.

Submitted articles

1. On that point Sir by Hafidz Ismail (serenete)

2. LA Trip by Roy (serenete)

3. Malaysia education system by masterof_none/jinjoo (serenete)

4. Recom as i know it by budakkerek (serenete)

5. biodiversity by budakkerek + two other ppl. (serenete)

serenete
21-03-2004, 07:33 AM
Hope I do this right - these are the articles that have already passed through me.

Update.

Submitted articles

1. On that point Sir by Hafidz Ismail (serenete)

22-03-2004, 09:12 AM
Update.

Submitted articles

1. On that point Sir by Hafidz Ismail (Hisyam, serenete)

7. sleep by __earth

Submitted topic

3. Recom hot topic of the day? by topdog? please confirm this.

Just as suggestion. Once you have editted it, send the editted version through email to all the ppl. This will let ppl know which editted versions are the latest.

22-03-2004, 09:12 AM
Update.

Submitted articles

1. On that point Sir by Hafidz Ismail (Hisyam, serenete)

7. sleep by __earth

Submitted topic

3. Recom hot topic of the day? by topdog? please confirm this.

Just as suggestion. Once you have editted it, send the editted version through email to all the ppl. This will let ppl know which editted versions are the latest.

serenete
22-03-2004, 09:40 AM

I thought we had all agreed to send it through only to James and Cheryl after editing as this would be less confusing?

serenete
22-03-2004, 09:40 AM

I thought we had all agreed to send it through only to James and Cheryl after editing as this would be less confusing?

22-03-2004, 09:55 AM
alright then.

but i know hisyam has done a few bit. Seeing you redoing it makes me its a redundant work. unless you editted the articles that were editted by hisyam.

but if you have editted an articles, do inform your fellow editors so that they won't redo what has been done.

22-03-2004, 09:55 AM
alright then.

but i know hisyam has done a few bit. Seeing you redoing it makes me its a redundant work. unless you editted the articles that were editted by hisyam.

but if you have editted an articles, do inform your fellow editors so that they won't redo what has been done.

serenete
22-03-2004, 10:51 AM
alright then.

Yes, this is what confounded me about the system before - it was not a round-robin of editing (i.e., from one editor it passes to the next, so there is no repetition) but actually a multiplicity of effort. I think I received only two articles which were edited by someone before me, but of those, they were edited by the most two people, which made me wonder what the rest were going to do with it. As it is, I've done four articles, two of which were probably edited before as there were alterations.

I guess this notifying system is in its infancy so we all know what's going on - at least it's there on the board as to who's done what. These are all normal kinks in the system. The trouble with anything that's round-robin (in my mind resulting in the least effort expended) is that none of our schedules can be definitely counted on to allow rotation.

The other best practice would be for the person who receives all unedited articles to assign from his/her point which editor does what, and to post the assignments up too. This will also avoid any single editor ending up with the lion's share of work.

ps: Is this to be the authoritative forum for announcing editing/other things, or is it through email? Just a thought.

serenete
22-03-2004, 10:51 AM
alright then.

Yes, this is what confounded me about the system before - it was not a round-robin of editing (i.e., from one editor it passes to the next, so there is no repetition) but actually a multiplicity of effort. I think I received only two articles which were edited by someone before me, but of those, they were edited by the most two people, which made me wonder what the rest were going to do with it. As it is, I've done four articles, two of which were probably edited before as there were alterations.

I guess this notifying system is in its infancy so we all know what's going on - at least it's there on the board as to who's done what. These are all normal kinks in the system. The trouble with anything that's round-robin (in my mind resulting in the least effort expended) is that none of our schedules can be definitely counted on to allow rotation.

The other best practice would be for the person who receives all unedited articles to assign from his/her point which editor does what, and to post the assignments up too. This will also avoid any single editor ending up with the lion's share of work.

ps: Is this to be the authoritative forum for announcing editing/other things, or is it through email? Just a thought.

31-03-2004, 11:12 AM

it depends.

in any case, how is the editting process?

have anybody got littlebigone's article?

and how's the design team doing? :)

i'll send out email asking for progress later this week.

23-04-2004, 10:56 AM
how everything is going on?

23-04-2004, 12:19 PM
hey jebai when is the planned release date for remag 2 again?

24-04-2004, 04:34 AM
apr 30th.

28-04-2004, 11:02 PM
Just a suggestion, not sure whether it is still not too late, but I will suggest that the final version of ReCom's Press Release on Education issue is included in the ReMag 2. Jiin Joo is collecting feedback from ReCom's members and he will finalize the Press Release article in 24 hours. So, hopefully that could make it to ReMag 2, as I think it is important to showcase our ReCom's stuff.

What do you guys think? JiinJoo's summary can be found on Page 3 of Malaysian Education Summit's thread.

that was chenchow msg in remag 3's thread. Sure, why not. Since its the final version, probably the editting process won't take long.

29-04-2004, 10:23 AM
Just a suggestion, not sure whether it is still not too late, but I will suggest that the final version of ReCom's Press Release on Education issue is included in the ReMag 2. Jiin Joo is collecting feedback from ReCom's members and he will finalize the Press Release article in 24 hours. So, hopefully that could make it to ReMag 2, as I think it is important to showcase our ReCom's stuff.

What do you guys think? JiinJoo's summary can be found on Page 3 of Malaysian Education Summit's thread.

that was chenchow msg in remag 3's thread. Sure, why not. Since its the final version, probably the editting process won't take long.
okay if that's the case i suggest we omit the edusys essay written earlier since it's essentially the same thing. having 2 would be redundant.

29-04-2004, 11:50 AM
It is at http://www.stanford.edu/~jiinjoo/ReComPressRelease.doc .

29-04-2004, 02:18 PM
so, remag 2 is coming out tomorrow? today's the 29th. so should i start writing for remag 3 then? what topics?

29-04-2004, 09:07 PM
okay if that's the case i suggest we omit the edusys essay written earlier since it's essentially the same thing. having 2 would be redundant.

yup yup. We'll scrap the earlier version.

so, remag 2 is coming out tomorrow? today's the 29th. so should i start writing for remag 3 then? what topics?

We might have to postpost the thing a few day. Syamyul our webguy is busy for the moment. I'll try to help out prepare the template for Remag 2 as soon as Im done with exam tonite.

30-04-2004, 02:22 PM
okie...got you..good luck w exams you guys!

04-05-2004, 08:58 AM
yo guys, syamsul is having the exam week and he expects to be free next week.
So, remag 2 will probably go out next week.

I apologize for the delay.

04-05-2004, 11:07 AM
yep. hopefully this weekend.
Remag 2 will be out. (might take extra 1-2 days).

04-05-2004, 11:15 AM
got a request for webmaster....can you please change my email address in remag to jamesltng@<hidden>? thanks!

04-05-2004, 12:45 PM
wooopsi, just realize I don't have the access to the Recom server now.
I'll modify everything this weekend..
If you guys have any more suggestion about the Remag layout or any suggestion ) , I would be happy to hear.

(hint to el_empty: let's roll )

08-05-2004, 07:58 AM
Articles that make the cut. We have in total 5 articles.

2. Recom press release by jinjoo

3. Recom as i know it by budakkerek

4. biodiversity by budakkerek + two other ppl.

5. Sleep by __earth