View Full Version : JPA, scholarships, choices and careers

Jyl
05-01-2007, 08:01 PM
Is it very hard to get this scholarship?

Moderator Note: Title modified to reflect the content of the whole thread. ~youngyew~

05-01-2007, 09:49 PM
millions and thousands of ppl apply for JPA every year....thousands and thousands of ppl gt selcted for the interview....then only a thousand or so will gt the scholarship.....

( I might sound exxaggerate...hehez)

U jugde urself whether it's hard or not.

It's not just depend on ur academic results(65%),family background(10%), cocu activities (10%) and interview(15%).......

Ur luck oso matters.... :wink:

watever, do ur best and pray hard.....not getting JPA is not the end of the world by the way.

05-01-2007, 10:17 PM
It's quite hard to get in my opinion. Friends of mine who have more than 10 A's and fairly good co-co activities couldn't get it. Many people apply for this scholarship since it is one of the more famous and well known ones so you have to expect lots of competition from students around the country.

Go through recom for those scholarships threads. Make sure you apply for other types of scholarships too.

05-01-2007, 11:45 PM
If you compare JPA to other scholarships, it's easier to get JPA because it has the most places for non bumis.

Yet, it is still difficult to secure one. To get JPA scholarship with 10 A1s is nearly impossible. It's not totally meritocracy.

caramel_nut
06-01-2007, 01:51 PM
A friend of mine got 11A1s and is a bumi but fails to get it anyhow.. Quite a number of my friends with 11A1s also didn't get it after appealing. So, I guess it really depends on your luck. JPA...no meritocracy..

However, if you're really excellent, you might want to try for the Bank Ng and SC, they do take in a number of the best non-bumi students.

Jyl
06-01-2007, 08:55 PM
Well, thanks for the reply . Anyway , what should i do if i want to apply for JPA? What should i prepare for the interview?

06-01-2007, 11:10 PM
millions and thousands of ppl apply for JPA every year....thousands and thousands of ppl gt selcted for the interview....then only a thousand or so will gt the scholarship.....

( I might sound exxaggerate...hehez)

U jugde urself whether it's hard or not.

It's not just depend on ur academic results(65%),family background(10%), cocu activities (10%) and interview(15%).......

Ur luck oso matters.... :wink:

watever, do ur best and pray hard.....not getting JPA is not the end of the world by the way.

They may make some alterations to the criteria. Do not place too much hope in this scholarship though.

uglyducklai
06-01-2007, 11:13 PM
Well, thanks for the reply . Anyway , what should i do if i want to apply for JPA? What should i prepare for the interview?

first i aso think of prepare the interview,but after i read through the treads,i realised that even a 11A's student aso not able to grab an opportunity to be interview.My heart totally sink !!!
Howver,now wat can v do is oli improve english standard lo.
since my english is quite louisy,haizz.....talk aso heart break,too many non-bumi intelligent students in M'sia jor.

06-01-2007, 11:29 PM

first i aso think of prepare the interview,but after i read through the treads,i realised that even a 11A's student aso not able to grab an opportunity to be interview.My heart totally sink !!!
Howver,now wat can v do is oli improve english standard lo.
since my english is quite louisy,haizz.....talk aso heart break,too many non-bumi intelligent students in M'sia jor.

That is absolutely true!! Many 11A1s student failed to secure the scholarship. :evil:

zell_ll
07-01-2007, 09:38 AM
Don't worry too much about the result...just give a try...confident is important!!..they look for quality, not quantity...

WatermelonSeed
08-01-2007, 01:01 AM

Application for JPA scholarship can be done thru www.esila.jpa.gov.my after your SPM result is released. Do not send in your application at the very last minute. You cant trust the jpa system. You can only apply online. make sure that you fill in the details properly and follow the instructions. for my batch, you can only update (change) your particular twice. Make sure that you read the guides properly. Some courses are only for bumis and there are certain requirements for a few particular courses. Make sure that you dont waste your chance by applying for the wrong course. Print out whatever you are asked to.

If you are free, what you can do is to sort out your certificates and get them certified earlier (the application period is quite short, to get everything done during the period, especially when you are applying to more than 1 scholarship is not easy).

For my batch, JPA asked us to do a personality test (a normal R.I.A.S.E.C personality test) to see if we are suitable for the course. No essay writing for our batch. I'm not sure if they are going to change the format this year.

And for the interview, just be yourself. About 10-12 of you will be grouped together and you will be asked to discuss about 2 topics (1 in BM and 1 in BI). It's more or less like your SPM essay questions (during my time. =p). Grab the chance to voice out your opinion. DO NOT be a silent listener. But let others talk as well. it's a discussion. not a speech given by urself.

after that, you are done. check the results once they announce it. I would say that you cant predict what JPA wants. You may think that you have done well and you fulfill the requirements, but that doesnt mean that you will get the scholarships. there are other factors beside what they listed (including environment factors). All the best.

petertok
08-01-2007, 01:39 AM
on top of that, be prepared to receive offers to "less favourable" countries as well. =)

deaf-knee
08-01-2007, 05:19 PM
but never lose hope :)

08-01-2007, 07:37 PM
Essentially, every year, there are about 400,000 Malaysians who sit for SPM. Of which, about 15,000 apply for JPA Scholarships (That's about 4% of total SPM candidates). Of those who apply, about 5,000 get the chance to go for interview (That's about 1/3 of those who applied). And of those who go for interview, about 1,300 would get the scholarship. (That's about 1/4 of those who go for interview).

So, eventually, on average about every 300 SPM candidates, there would be 1 JPA Scholar, or the chance is about 0.33% for every SPM candidate.

Do start preparation early. Read through those discussion threads in ReCom.org . You can start preparing for the interview questions, based on past year interview questions. Do prepare to speak fluently in English and Malay.

Do refer to some articles in www.tinkosong.com as well. Do post any question that you have in ReCom.org .

To all fellow ReComers who have gone through the scholarship process, especially those who have gotten the scholarship, please kindly share your experience here in ReCom.org to benefit the younger minds of Malaysia.

Jyl
08-01-2007, 08:18 PM
thanks!
Any particular certificates that i must certify?
Besides JPA , any other scholarships do offer medicine?

WatermelonSeed
08-01-2007, 08:55 PM
thanks!

We were asked to submit a number of our best achivements certs. But if you have more than what they want, there is no harm of getting them certified and submit it together on that day (interview day).

09-01-2007, 01:26 PM
That is absolutely true!! Many 11A1s student failed to secure the scholarship.

No... don't give up hope just yet, i'm 11A1s and i got the scholarship..

What you can do now is wait for ur result and pray hard.

haneulsag
09-01-2007, 04:25 PM
Opportunities are for those who are ready...juz remember this simple phrase...

Be well prepared...and do your best... :D

Anyway, GOOD LUCK!! :lol:

09-01-2007, 05:38 PM

Well you are one of the more fortunate ones!! :P

09-01-2007, 07:12 PM
For JPA Scholarship, it is strictly based on point system. This is the point system for the past year.

Parents income - RM5,000 and below (10 pts), RM5,001-RM10,000 (5 pts), RM10,001 and higher (0 pt)

For sports, society/club and other achievements, previously when it was 15 pts (SPM 2004 batch and before), it is 5 pts for each.

For sports, you need to have 5 sports to get the points. Each representing the country would get 1 pt. Each representing the state gets 0.8 pt. Representating district get 0.6 pt. Representing school 0.4 pt. Representing sports house 0.2 pt. So, if you only represent your school in 1 sport, you get 0.4 pts out of 5.0 pts.

The same thing for other achievements, where representing country get 1.0 pts, representing state gets 0.8 pts, representing district gets 0.6 pts, representing school gets 0.4 pts, representing clubs/society gets 0.2 pts. And they also count for 5 best achievements.

For clubs/societies, it is based on 5 positions as well. Each one 1 point. Head prefect would get 1 pt. And other positions would get between 0.1-0.9 pts.

Basically, only your top 5 certs for each category counts, as it is computer tallying the results. On the interview day, they are just verifying whether you are cheating.

Having additional cert might indirectly makes them have positive feeling of you during interview, and indirectly boost up your interview score, but I seriously doubt so.

For interview, you should focus a lot on leadership abilities, analytical skills and listening skills. The most common pitfall is speaking too much and not giving others chances to speak. What JPA observes is you are able to lead the discussion (in groups), give solid arguments with good examples, able to summarize or bring discussion to the outcome, listen to others' points and substantiate it, guide those who are quiet to respond etc.

So, if you have dominated the interview, chances are you would score lowly in the interview.

10-01-2007, 12:44 PM
Point system my foot....that is just what THEY say...

Jyl
10-01-2007, 08:16 PM
Normally what will they ask , i mean the topic of discussion ?

petertok
11-01-2007, 03:07 AM

ehh!! im more fortunate than you leh, my A1's lesser =P

[quote]Normally what will they ask , i mean the topic of discussion ?

Just read more newspapers and polish up your English/BM if necessary.

11-01-2007, 01:42 PM
The list in this link below summarizes the interview and essay questions for JPA for past years. One thing to note, essay is no longer applicable for those in SPM 2005. We shall know later on whether it would be reintroduced in SPM 2006 batch.

For the interview topics, go to here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3663)

gye325
13-01-2007, 01:11 AM
i got 11 A1s and got the scholarship. i also hav 3 friends who got 10 A1s and still managed to get the scholarship, albeit after appealing
as for meritocracy..i sincerely doubt jpa practises it
but there's still a fair chance for u to get the scholarship if u get straight A1s but don't get ur hopes too high up either
not getting Jpa scholarship is definitely not the end of the road

14-01-2007, 01:25 AM
i got 11 A1s and got the scholarship. i also hav 3 friends who got 10 A1s and still managed to get the scholarship, albeit after appealing
but there's still a fair chance for u to get the scholarship if u get straight A1s but don't get ur hopes too high up either

Its easy for you to say. The feeling of being rejected lingers around you forever!!

Jyl
15-01-2007, 08:47 PM
Anybody knows when is the SPM results coming out?

18-01-2007, 09:59 AM
From what I observed last year, you must get at least 11A1s to get JPA scholarship in Medicine. Even 10 straight A1s has to wait for appeal.....If you don't have straight 11A1s or more, most probably you'll have to end up waiting for appeal. Also, to get Western countries, you must have MORE than 11A1s, means 12 or more, but must be straight !!!

Don't blame the system, blame the students who compete to take more subjects nowadays. You do still have chance to get the Western countries, if you have special relationships... or you have special status (you know what I mean) or you're really really outstanding (5 national representatives perhaps..)

Note: (11A1 = 11A1,1A2 = 12A1,1B3)

That's just what I observed last year, and all the information above is JUST for Medicine only....

Tasslehoff
18-01-2007, 03:26 PM

Its easy for you to say. The feeling of being rejected lingers around you forever!!

what gye325 says is true.. not getting JPA scholarship is definitely not the end..... there are many other alternative scholarships (pst... if you're really into business, BN is a great scholarship)

and sillyboy, its part of life... just another falling block.. but you should pick yourself up and move on to greater heights ;) show the JPA department what a mistake it was to reject you :P

18-01-2007, 10:56 PM

what gye325 says is true.. not getting JPA scholarship is definitely not the end..... there are many other alternative scholarships (pst... if you're really into business, BN is a great scholarship)

and sillyboy, its part of life... just another falling block.. but you should pick yourself up and move on to greater heights ;) show the JPA department what a mistake it was to reject you :P

Yeah...haha, I understand :wink:

DoomScythe
19-01-2007, 09:44 AM
thanks!

Greetings,

I read this thread with interest as this is one of the most active topic to be discussed amongst the cream of the students in Malaysia. Well, what can I say, this is my first post. :D Great to get to know of this site. If only I knew of this site earlier, the timing could seriously be better for me....

Anyway, to the point. Jyl, if you are not a Bumiputra, and if you mind of being sent off to countries like Indonesia or India, don't bother applying for Medicine for JPA. Sorry for being harsh, but this is the reality. Unless you have more than 13A1s or you are one of the top scholars in the country, don't bother applying for Medicine. The places for Medicine is very limited and the supply of applicants is just humongous. There is a very slim chance for you to get it, if you have about 10A1s, but you will definitely be sent to less popular countries.

The trick in getting JPA scholarship is often to apply for less popular subjects. Seriously, it is much easier. I have quite a few friends (non-Bumi) who got JPA with only 9As and 1/2 Bs. It is relatively simpler. As for your certificates, certify every one of them. Just take the extra effort to do it.

Regarding the selection process, I refrain to dwelve in it here. Perhaps if you meet me in personal, I can tell you more about it. Suffice to say, good results and good credentials are only passports for you to enter the pool of potential scholars. What transpires later are mostly luck.

Interview - Just go in and have fun. That's my advice. You don't neccessarily have to be a leader there to be selected. But please don't seal your mouth for the entire duration of the interview. I think (and I believe) it is how you manage to communicate with people in the group that matters. Be a group player, and you will stand a good chance to getting the scholarship. If everyone wants to be the chief, no one will listen to orders and nothing will get done.

If you have any other questions, do ask. I wish you luck in your application.

19-01-2007, 12:13 PM
Well, it's true that without 12A1s or more, the best country you can get for Medicine is India (for non-Bumis), unless you have "special" relationships....

But don't give up your dream that easy, there're always many ways to reach a goal, not getting JPA is not the end of the world. You should think about the reasons you want to get the scholarships, if you just want to study in western countries regardless of the course, then go for the unpopular courses..... You'll have really high chance with good results.

You have to think yourself, what do you want? You want to be a doctor? Or you want to study in Western countries ONLY?

Many people just think that they want to get a scholarship, so that they can study overseas, for glamour and pride. I couldn't say the mindset is wrong, but in genaral, it's definitely not correct.

You'll have to consider when you get some "bad" countries in people's eyes, e.g: Indonesia, India, Russia..... Do you really want to be a doctor or just for glamour? If you go for the later then I advise you not to choose medicine when you apply for JPA scholarship, as medicine is the only course with Indonesia in the country list while dentistry and medicine are the only two with India in country list(for last year).

You can consider whether the country they offer worth for you? ( Think about the 10 years bond). There're many paths to be a doctor, even without the scholarship, you can still enroll into local or foreign universities after your Pre-U (STPM, A-Level, etc...), especially if you're going after foreign universities, with brilliant results and some research on the net, you can still reach there.

If medicine is the career of your choice, then I should say: go for it! If it's your parents' choice, then please reconsider, you live for youself, not your parents. I always believe that with lots of hardwork, dreams will always come true ! :)

dreAmer1388
19-01-2007, 01:17 PM
Well, it's true that without 12A1s or more, the best country you can get for Medicine is India (for non-Bumis), unless you have "special" relationships....

...And unless u are ranked as the top 10 SPM achievers in nation! I have a friend who got 14 A1 and who appeared to be the one of the top 10 in M'sia got JPA sponsorship to UK to study Medicine!!!

...And another very brilliant friend, only got JPA scholarship to Ireland, then con't study in a Med School in Penang (our Pulau Pinang lah!) for da last 2 years of study (sry I can't recall da name of da Uni)... Ehem... Nice strategy for keeping da scholars from running off eh?!

...And another friend, who is very prominent in his ECA and his studies, but never take any extra subject in SPM, end up getting nothing from JPA and other sponsor. (Feel so bad for him, he REALLY deserve a scholarship!!! :cry: )

p/s: all people I mentioned above are non-bumis tho... :wink:

ALL in ALL... scholarships is all about ya luck... and this world can be unfair sometimes... 8)

20-01-2007, 03:29 PM
Wonder what happened to those who got 10++ As but 1 B. Certainly, they ought to get scholarships to because they poured all those hard works to study those subjects in the beginning. Are all the major scholarships available only to straight A students?

zingkov
20-01-2007, 04:01 PM

But don't give up your dream that easy, there're always many ways to reach a goal, not getting JPA is not the end of the world. You should think about the reasons you want to get the scholarships, if you just want to study in western countries regardless of the course, then go for the unpopular courses..... You'll have really high chance with good results.

You have to think yourself, what do you want? You want to be a doctor? Or you want to study in Western countries ONLY?

Many people just think that they want to get a scholarship, so that they can study overseas, for glamour and pride. I couldn't say the mindset is wrong, but in genaral, it's definitely not correct.

You'll have to consider when you get some "bad" countries in people's eyes, e.g: Indonesia, India, Russia..... Do you really want to be a doctor or just for glamour? If you go for the later then I advise you not to choose medicine when you apply for JPA scholarship, as medicine is the only course with Indonesia in the country list while dentistry and medicine are the only two with India in country list(for last year).

You can consider whether the country they offer worth for you? ( Think about the 10 years bond). There're many paths to be a doctor, even without the scholarship, you can still enroll into local or foreign universities after your Pre-U (STPM, A-Level, etc...), especially if you're going after foreign universities, with brilliant results and some research on the net, you can still reach there.

If medicine is the career of your choice, then I should say: go for it! If it's your parents' choice, then please reconsider, you live for youself, not your parents. I always believe that with lots of hardwork, dreams will always come true ! :)

Good post! I agree with you.

By the way, I think JPA scholarship is one of the worst scholarships in the world, considering the lengthy bond. Nowadays there are so many scholarships worldwide waiting to be grab, all you need is to google them out, and apply.

The definition of good scholarship: Sufficient money provided (till have extra amount for saving) and no bond is required.

lXl
20-01-2007, 04:18 PM
Wonder what happened to those who got 10++ As but 1 B. Certainly, they ought to get scholarships to because they poured all those hard works to study those subjects in the beginning. Are all the major scholarships available only to straight A students?

oh puhleeze, what are u implying here ? taking more subjects for SPM and score 10 As ++ will make u a deserving candidate for a scholarship? it just doesn't work that way. just take less subjects and make sure u score all 1As.....................

jiening
20-01-2007, 04:43 PM
You don't have to be a straight As student to get a scholarship as it depends on the courses you apply.

If you apply to sth less popular like economics (JPA scholarship),
a) 8As will do, as long as you have the right ccombination of subjects ( perdagangan, ekonomi, prinsip perakaunan).

b) U don't have to excel in cocuriculum.

However, if you apply medicine, even 11A1s are not enough.
This is the unfair reality that happens around me :evil:

jiening
20-01-2007, 04:46 PM
Maybe it is fair??

20-01-2007, 10:28 PM

Err...no need to wonder. Many had full As but failed to get scholarships.

petertok
21-01-2007, 12:51 AM
Greetings,

I read this thread with interest as this is one of the most active topic to be discussed amongst the cream of the students in Malaysia. Well, what can I say, this is my first post. :D Great to get to know of this site. If only I knew of this site earlier, the timing could seriously be better for me....

Welcome, Doom.. although i wonder how could things be better. :wink:

DoomScythe
21-01-2007, 09:03 AM

By the way, I think JPA scholarship is one of the worst scholarships in the world, considering the lengthy bond. Nowadays there are so many scholarships worldwide waiting to be grab, all you need is to google them out, and apply.

The definition of good scholarship: Sufficient money provided (till have extra amount for saving) and no bond is required.

Well, it really depends on how you view things. Out of the 4 most popular government-linked scholarship for SPM leavers (JPA, Petronas, MARA and BNM), I believe JPA is still the best. The only downside for JPA is less money compared to Petronas and BNM. However, I would say that JPA provide sufficient money for your survival, albeit you cannot afford luxuries. In terms of bond, JPA provide the best terms, i.e. the least number of years of bond. Try asking your scholar friends and you will understand what I mean.

I would say that your definition of a good scholarship is rather narrow (no offence please, just trying to point out a fact). There are many subtle things to be considered, and these things are not readily known to applicants of the scholarship until the applicants become scholars themselves. Things such as providing temporary accomodation for the waiting period into universities while you are abroad, erraticness of policies and academic requirements are definitely better than the 3 other sponsors. [Informal: I would quite say JPA rocks! :D]

Welcome, Doom.. although i wonder how could things be better. :Wink:

Well, we never know how things could be better, would we? :wink:

Jyl
21-01-2007, 10:19 AM
HI DoomScythe. Thanks for your advice. Well, i dont mind if i am send to any country as long as i can study medicine. Being a non bumi, I know i stand a small chance in getting the scholarship. Medicine is indeed the most expensive course in the world and i dont think my parents can support me with the tuition fees . So, wish me luck in applying the scholarship . Thanks again!

Jyl
21-01-2007, 10:22 AM
Miracle_seed, about the ten years bond, erm, i think its okay , as long as you are a doctor in a hospital . i mean , still working right? haha.

21-01-2007, 04:07 PM
Miracle_seed, about the ten years bond, erm, i think its okay , as long as you are a doctor in a hospital . i mean , still working right? haha.

My dear..it may be okay for you now but you can't say that once you graduated....you perception might change....

zingkov
21-01-2007, 05:32 PM

Well, it really depends on how you view things. Out of the 4 most popular government-linked scholarship for SPM leavers (JPA, Petronas, MARA and BNM), I believe JPA is still the best. The only downside for JPA is less money compared to Petronas and BNM. However, I would say that JPA provide sufficient money for your survival, albeit you cannot afford luxuries. In terms of bond, JPA provide the best terms, i.e. the least number of years of bond. Try asking your scholar friends and you will understand what I mean.

I would say that your definition of a good scholarship is rather narrow (no offence please, just trying to point out a fact). There are many subtle things to be considered, and these things are not readily known to applicants of the scholarship until the applicants become scholars themselves. Things such as providing temporary accomodation for the waiting period into universities while you are abroad, erraticness of policies and academic requirements are definitely better than the 3 other sponsors. [Informal: I would quite say JPA rocks! :D]

You are right. But I used the word 'worldwide'. I am comparing with other scholarships in the world, not within Malaysia. Monbusho for example, is one of those good scholarships that I meant. Try google more and you will be shocked.

DoomScythe
21-01-2007, 08:33 PM

Well, Jyl, from you reply, I can see that you really wants to be a doctor. If that's the case, go ahead and apply. I support you fully with the kind of attitude that you have. I would say UK is definitely out of reach, so is US. However, you could possibly land in Australia, if you are lucky. There are quite a few (non-bumis) there on JPA scholarship. I guess you can try to pray hard to get to there. Melbourne University for doctor, not bad I'd say.

I wish you luck then. Do keep us updated with your progress.

Jyl
21-01-2007, 08:41 PM
Thanks!

22-01-2007, 11:41 AM
Well, actually Medicine is the course that JPA allocated most places for, around 400, but mostly for Indonesia, Czech Republic, India and twinning programmes (Melaka-Manipal).

Since most JPA applicants have similar co-curricular activities, what I would like to say here is the results...

For India, 11A1 or 11A1,1A2 or 12A1,1B3....
For twinning (MMMC), 11A1
For Czech Republic, 11A1
For Indonesia, 11A1
For twinning (Ireland-PMC), 11A1 (must be very brilliant in co-cu) or 12A1
For Australia, I'm not sure, but I guess at least 12A1

That's all the information I have, and these are for those who got 1st time, not appeal.... and of course, non-Bumis

Someone in INTEC and KMB could porvide more information on Australia, New Zealand, UK and Ireland....

Taek
22-01-2007, 01:34 PM
Well, actually Medicine is the course that JPA allocated most places for, around 400, but mostly for Indonesia, Czech Republic, India and twinning programmes (Melaka-Manipal).

Since most JPA applicants have similar co-curricular activities, what I would like to say here is the results...

For Czech Republic, 11A1
For Indonesia, 11A1

That's all the information I have, and these are for those who got 1st time, not appeal.... and of course, non-Bumis

Someone in INTEC and KMB could porvide more information on Australia, New Zealand, UK and Ireland....

Hmmph, from what I see in INTEC, what you had provided seems quite true. However, there are quite a few non-bumi who got to read medicine in Ireland and Australia straight too. I only got 11A1s and I got an offer of twinning programme to UK or Aus in IMU. What I can tell is that all you need is to have a strong co-co to back you up when it comes to competition among top scholars for a good JPA destination.

oh ya, there are about 140 scholars per year being sent to India. Manipal if not direct India.

Appolo
22-01-2007, 07:31 PM
For anyone one out there who wish to take medicine as the so-called "course of their life" should try and answer the questions below to give you guys a better assesment on how deeply-rooted is your interest in this profession.

Questions:
1) How enthusiatic are you in taking medicine as the right course for you?
(I'm guessing a lot of you will say " Yeah, I want it and I want it badly.If so, please move on to the next question.)

2)When did you started to realize that medicine is the right thing for you?
(If you answer things like "I knew my ambition was to become a doctor since I was just a kid.", I will still try to believe it even though the whole thing might sound rather tenuous for me.) :? :?

3)What is the reason for you to take up medicine apart from a resolute interest for it?
(If you are only in it for the fame and money, I will suggest you to take another profession instead.) :x :x

4) What will you do if you cannot get a scholarship to sponsor for the hefty fees for medicine?
( Only applicable for those who are truely interested in applying for scholarships only.)

5)Have you ever thought of embracing other courses such as pharmacy, biotechnology,biochemistry,forensic sciences and etc?( Life is not always as pleasent as people tell you to be.The most important concern for a student is to be exposed to the different courses available out there.You don't have to be a doctor in order to study about cells or diseases!)

6)Are you prepare for the tedious and hectic lifestyle as a doctor or any medical students?

I know some of you might think I'm crazy but I'm really worried about some of the people out there who think that they can get a scholarship just because of a strings of As.All of us must bear in mind that the government does not owe you a scholarship even though you might argue that they're using tax-payers money!My advice is don't be stressed up the ambition of becoming a doctor that you have lost the true "you". 8) 8) 8)

22-01-2007, 08:45 PM
Appolo you are not crazy!! In fact it is very prudent of you to think of those tests.There are so many out there saying that they want to be doctors........

Jyl
22-01-2007, 08:49 PM
Good question . Well , i actually spend sometime to think how to answer you . ( I am answering from my heart ) i have to say this , since you might not believe me.

1.I'll try as hard as i can to get this course.

2. Since i cant comprehend accounts and hate physics ( well, i can still study physics but i had a hard time )

3. as a challenge. Doctors can act as a hero might as well as the bad guy . When a doctor can heal, he is a hero , whereas when he fails or make mistakes , he is a bad guy ( not good to say killer ).

4. Beg my dad to sponsor me . haha. this will be my final way that i can think of.

5. Yes . But , medicine is my first option !

6. YES!

Jyl
22-01-2007, 08:58 PM
wow, this is suppose to be discussing about JPA scholarship , are we going too far?

koln_auhc
22-01-2007, 08:59 PM
hmmm, why not Appolo modify his post even better, perhaps a
" So you want to be a Doctor " survey can be created for recom.

Would be pretty interesting for people to answer these and find out what they really want or expect.

petertok
22-01-2007, 10:11 PM
For Czech Republic, 11A1
For Indonesia, 11A1

Its 11A1 for indonesia now? But i guess 10A1 still stand a chance though, as majority of the scholars now in Indonesia (non-bumi) are mostly straight 10A1s.

Im looking forward to see more impressive juniors this yr then.

23-01-2007, 10:33 AM
Since more and more students taking more than 10 subjects now, quantity doesn't secure quality. It's a trend now for the students to take more than 10 subjects, and 11 could be considered minimum already, for those who want to apply for scholarships...

Well, what I've stated are just those who got it at the 1st time, those with 10A1s can still get it through appeal, though I don't know what would happen this year, with more and more students taking more subjects...

It's actually hard to compare between orange and apple, who would JPA choose? A straight 12A1s or a straight 11A1s? In my opinion, since they can't determine who is actually better, the only option is to choose those with more As, at least they "look" better.

23-01-2007, 11:31 AM
Actually physics is very important if you want to be doctor.....medical physics especially...

JROTC_pw
24-01-2007, 12:31 AM
Actually physics is very important if you want to be doctor.....medical physics especially...

yes, especially in Indonesia. If I'm not mistaken, you must have physics in order to apply for the medical schools over here. Furthermore, you will be tested in physics in the entrance exam to the main medical schools in Indonesia. :D

Leen
24-01-2007, 01:28 AM
Forgive me if I'm being too outspoken or rude. I tried to read the thread from page one to page four but I couldn't leave it without posting a post here.

For those who say "Ah...medicines requires 13A1s, 11A1s......for Indo, you need this, for Czech you need that.....yada yada..." you are just playing excuse and dumb.

Number one, do you really think that ALL the students studying medicine really want to be a doctor? NO. My mind can't even comprehend the logic that so many people in Malaysia actually want to become a doctor. A lot are driven by the name "Dr", the prestige of being a "doctor", parents' pressure, stupid mindset that sees doctor as God above all other occupations and so on. If you really want to be a doctor, you won't stop and say, "Ah.....I only get 9A1s...I can't get JPA..." and you sit down and wine for the whole day. Just apply, and by faith you will get it. Tell the interviewer that you WANT to become a doctor and show them your passion in this field. When will Malaysians stop relying on the number of A1s to determine their future? It's just too bad a reality to face.

Second, if you know that you have "lesser" As in your pocket, and you choose engineering or other subjects that you think you might stand a better chance in getting it, you are stupid once again. If you want to live a dream base on the country that you are going to get, the worth of scholarship you are taking, and not where your passion lies, you are going to flunk no matter where you go, no matter what you do. Follow your heart and just do whatever you need to do to secure the scholarship. By all means, if you can get recommendation letters from teachers, counselor, pastors, church leaders, friends, Fedex it to JPA without any hesitation. Pour out all your effort in securing the scholarship. If JPA has a brain of average IQ, it will know how to treasure someone as passionate as you are. The society never takes effort into consideration. They are too result-oriented. Even if a cheater cheats and gets 30A1s, while another hardworking guy only got 11A1s, the scholarship will still go to the cheater. Hence, as the honest and hardworking guy as you are, prove to the interviewer/JPA that you have worked hard and that you earned every single As, not just by cheating. Manipulate them, screw them, if you need. Do everything to tell them your ambition. By God's grace, you will get it.

One last thing, JPA is not the only road to success. Even if it seems to be the best road for everybody, it might not be the case for certain people. When it comes to choosing a good scholarship, you still have to go down to your likes and dislikes. Please, venture out of your comfort zone and try BNM or PETRONAS or SC scholarship. As a BNM scholar, I can tell you that BNM is definitely worth trying. It is a great scholarship. Though the amount of monthly allowance might be smaller than what JPA offers, trust me, it is much more efficient than the JPA officer and these BNM people really know you closely. They know your name, unlike JPA that has to take care of so many little "kittens" in their hands.

If you have been reading my post until now, I just want to apologize again for the overusing of "stupid". I just think that a bold and straightforward word might just work best with insecure people who clings dearly to JPA. Please understand this, your future is not over yet. SPM result is not even out yet. Why are you so worried about it already? It's not worth a wrinkle on your face at all. Go play dota, do voluntary work, join AYA Festival, or just sleep. For the sake of all of us here who care, don't overthink about JPA for a moment????? Take some time out to refresh yourself, and reflect on what you REALLY want to do, not JPA JPA JPA JPA and more JPA.

Ome last thing, if you have done all that you could and you feel that you deserve the scholarship though JPA thinks otherwise, tell yourself this, "It's not that I'm not good enough for JPA; it's just that JPA isn't good enough for me."

Ciao.

28-01-2007, 11:15 AM
Leen, the emergence of worried people is understandable as they might not be able to further their studies overseas and the only way to do it is through scholarships.

lXl
28-01-2007, 05:47 PM
JPA JPA JPA JPA.......LOL....its just over rated and simply hyped up.

29-01-2007, 08:12 AM
JPA JPA JPA JPA.......LOL....its just over rated and simply hyped up.Fully agreed... Time to shoot the importance of JPA scholarship down. Quality>Quantity.

I also agree with Leen that the profession of Doctor isn't really the dream of many who said they want to be doctors. I am not talking about those who really want to save more lives with their skills and dedication, but those who wants to be a doctor so that they can have the 'prestigious' title of Dr. in front of their name when they make their CVs. I had met many who aren't really sincere about it, and that really make me sick.

One more thing. JPA isn't the be all, end all case. Not getting JPA isn't the end of your life, but it means that you have to take another path in life. if you can dream, you can realize it. Remember this well.

and finally, as a JPA scholar, i shall say that the sacrifice that you will be making after you signed the contract will weight on you. It's a big responsibility put onto you by all of Malaysians. Don't even think of defecting afterwards. Your concience will never be clean ever again.

DoomScythe
29-01-2007, 07:07 PM
I read Leen's post with a sense of amusement. I don't know how should I feel for Leen after reading his/her post, whether I should feel sorry for the bulk of the medicine applicants out there or whether I should feel sorry for Leen.

Well Leen, you see, this thread is started by a fellow Malaysian student who aspires to be a doctor and he is basically requesting help in the form of information from those who have knowledge on the route to Medicine through JPA. The rest of the thread essentially provide information which is derived from past experiences of the poster from various situations. This thread is a discussion board so that information is shared. Therefore, I think your response below doesn't seem to fit this thread very well.

For those who say "Ah...medicines requires 13A1s, 11A1s......for Indo, you need this, for Czech you need that.....yada yada..." you are just playing excuse and dumb.

Referring to your reply above, I don't think this is being "dumb" or "just playing excuse". What the rest of the posters here are giving their information from their observation, therefore enabling the thread-starter to make the best decision that he will not regret later.

I do agree with some of your points though. Medicine is not for those who go after "glory" and prestige. I also agree that the society is rather results oriented and JPA is not the only route to success. There are also many other scholarships around which offer medicine, no doubt.

Please understand this, your future is not over yet. SPM result is not even out yet. Why are you so worried about it already? It's not worth a wrinkle on your face at all. Go play dota, do voluntary work, join AYA Festival, or just sleep.

However, I like I said above, there is nothing wrong with trying to find out more information about JPA scholarship. Different people got different way of handling their time after SPM, and perhaps this is what the thread-starter enjoy doing - finding out information about his future. So, why not encourage him, rather then telling him to do things that he might not enjoy.

Second, if you know that you have "lesser" As in your pocket, and you choose engineering or other subjects that you think you might stand a better chance in getting it, you are stupid once again. If you want to live a dream base on the country that you are going to get, the worth of scholarship you are taking, and not where your passion lies, you are going to flunk no matter where you go, no matter what you do.

You know, this sounds almost like a classic cliche. (The next two paragraph is a bit out of the topic of this thread, but I feel I need to share this.) What I can say about this is that not everyone is the same. The reality in this world is that some are lucky to get a straight forward path to what they want, others will have to take the hard road while some will never be able to get what they want. To me, taking a scholarship and not where my passion lies is not a "stupid" thing to do, especially if my parents cannot afford to send me to tertiary education on their own. As long as you don't enter a course that you despise, I see nothing wrong with it.

Imagine if you get a scholarship to do Engineering in the UK but you like Medicine and at the same time don't despise Engineering. In some people's position, it would be a wise decision to do so. Life is full of its queer twists and turns that you will never know what it has in store for you. My headmaster (a Phd holder in Education, mind you) have told me on several occasions that you don't always get what you want. Sometimes, to get what you want, you have to take the long route. In the above situation, I would suggest that the person go ahead with taking Engeneering and once the person is in the scholarship, try to find ways to fulfill your dreams.

[Personal here: I am in a joking mode here, so please take this lightly Leen. :) From your post, it seems to me that you were rejected by JPA and accepted by BNM, and you appear to be sour about it. I hope I am wrong though. :lol: No, please don't take this personally, just my nonsensical mind giving me funny ideas. :p ]

I think I have spoken enough. To Jyl, go ahead and do what you think is best. Good luck.

Leen
30-01-2007, 12:58 AM
OOOOO.....Doom...something guy, I'm sorry if I appear to be sour on the surface. XD I do see all your points there and just to clear the ambiguity, I am a BNM scholar and I rejected JPA, not the other way around. I wasn't saying that JPA is a bad choice for people, I'm just trying to offer a different perspective, different views, instead of having 100000000+++++ people agreeing on the same points. It takes some ying to balance up the yang. That's exactly what I wanted to do. :D

"Save your mercy and your pity. I have no use of it." ~Saruman
I shoot this words back to you on your thoughts whether or not you should be sorry for me. (Just a joke, ok? XD If you know me in real life, you will know that I'm a self-proclaimed lame joker and I sleep the most in classes)

If you really aspire to be a doctor, (to the thread starter and yes, I'm bad in remembering names) go for it. I will pray for you and wish you luck. God be with you.

When I talked about the person who "observe" the "pattern" of JPA medicine recipients to match them with their respective countries, I was really upset. Why do people have to compare themselves to others?
Q1: Have you checked how many places JPA is going to offer for medicine student this year?
Q2: What is the different places that JPA are going to offer this year for medicine course?
Q3: How many students are going to get their SPM result this year?
Q4: Out of these students, how many of them will score straight A1s?
Q5: Out of all these straight As or brilliant students, how many will actually apply for medicine for JPA scholarship?
Q6: How much money is JPA offering this year for medicine student?

The thing, we have almost zero clues to the answers of the above questions, and based on almost no concrete facts and figures, there comes some kind of "observation" and "theories" that xxxA1s are needed to go here, go there.....etc. It's sad to see that people are actually more preoccupied analyzing something without proper facts than preparing for the coming interviews with JPA staffs.

Oh yeah, Doom talked something about encouraging the thread starter to do something that he/she likes instead of telling him/her to do something he/she might not like. ^___^ Well, that's very nice of you Doom. I wil take back my comment on worrying about JPA wasn't worth a wrinkle. XD It is worth several wrinkles actually; people's future depend greatly on it. I come from the less privileged family so I do know the hardship I had to go through before I finally secured my scholarships from JPA and BNM. Even as I'm doing my preparatory course, I still feel the pressure to save some money, tithe more to church and so on. I'm not totally free from this rat race yet, so I can empathize on the "We have no money to send our child overseas; JPA is our only hope." statement.

As for the "GO after your dreams, cling on it. Don't take medicine if you don't like it....." comments I made, I will let you ponder upon it yourselves. I know of a friend who was one of the top 5 Kuiz Fizik Kebangsaan gold medalist. Yet, he got an offer to do TESL. All his teachers told him to give up on TESL though he would be going to UK if he had chosen that path. He listened to his teachers and now he is doing Form Six. Tell me his decision is wrong. Tell me that when he is in UK, he will enjoy learning English. I'm not saying that my point is right, but I'm simply offering an alternative. Yes, reality check is important. Why in the world would I want to study dancing for my degree when I can earn more with a medicine degree? Well, it makes perfect sense to me. It's just that, sometimes, we don't only do a reality check. We do a personal check too. Do we really like what we are going to do? Do we really know what we are going to do? Do we really think that we will enjoy what we are going to study? The list goes on and on..... Let me reiterate myself, I'm just offering alternative point of view to balance the conversation up. No harm meant.

Truly, honestly from the bottom of my heart, not that I hate medicine student(though I dislike them a bit =P), think a million times first before applying for medicine. There might just be another hopeful, aspiring student with "lesser" As who might want to be a doctor as well. If you are not sure, let the "sure" ones have their chances. ^____^

Tchuussssssss.........

P/S : AYA Festival isn't just any random festival by the way. Do check it out at http://www.ayafestival.com I'm a volunteer for that event and you are interested in coming, tell me about it. We might even be able to meet up. :D Then I can share with you more of my weird, dry jokes and discuss on JPA scholarship.

30-01-2007, 01:10 AM
As for the "GO after your dreams, cling on it. Don't take medicine if you don't like it....." comments I made, I will let you ponder upon it yourselves. I know of a friend who was one of the top 5 Kuiz Fizik Kebangsaan gold medalist. Yet, he got an offer to do TESL. All his teachers told him to give up on TESL though he would be going to UK if he had chosen that path. He listened to his teachers and now he is doing Form Six. Tell me his decision is wrong. Tell me that when he is in UK, he will enjoy learning English. I'm not saying that my point is right, but I'm simply offering an alternative. Yes, reality check is important. Why in the world would I want to study dancing for my degree when I can earn more with a medicine degree? Well, it makes perfect sense to me. It's just that, sometimes, we don't only do a reality check. We do a personal check too. Do we really like what we are going to do? Do we really know what we are going to do? Do we really think that we will enjoy what we are going to study? The list goes on and on..... Let me reiterate myself, I'm just offering alternative point of view to balance the conversation up. No harm meant.

What do you mean??? Is your friend plunged into the abyss of regret? Frankly, i think your friend is a tad bit 'unsmart' for giving up his chance to study in the U.K.

DoomScythe
30-01-2007, 04:34 AM
Greetings once more, :)

I can see that you are doing something for the flood victims in Malaysia. I applaud you for that, it is always good to help those who are in need. Anyway, back to the main topic.

OOOOO.....Doom...something guy, I'm sorry if I appear to be sour on the surface. XD I do see all your points there and just to clear the ambiguity, I am a BNM scholar and I rejected JPA, not the other way around. I wasn't saying that JPA is a bad choice for people, I'm just trying to offer a different perspective, different views, instead of having 100000000+++++ people agreeing on the same points. It takes some ying to balance up the yang. That's exactly what I wanted to do. :D

It is always good to provide an alternative view, no doubt, but it is just that your previous post conjure a very bad image of JPA by reading through it. I don't know whether you are aware of this or not, but let me share this with you and all other ReComers. Malaysia is one of the few countries that offer scholarship for its citizen through its government. From all of the international students that I have met (China (including HK), Romania, UK, Germany, Sweden, Nigeria, Kenya, etc), non of them are sponsored by their government. Now, you may say that JPA is not the government, it is the PSD. But in fact, JPA = Government. JPA scholars now identify themselves as government scholars, not JPA anymore. So, I don't see any problems actually with giving JPA the attention it deserves. Plus, JPA is the body that offer the most scholarship for SPM leavers, about 1300 this year in total. [Personal: Oops, I seems to add more yang to JPA, I bet you will add some yin to balance it up later]

When I talked about the person who "observe" the "pattern" of JPA medicine recipients to match them with their respective countries, I was really upset. Why do people have to compare themselves to others?
Q1: Have you checked how many places JPA is going to offer for medicine student this year?
Q2: What is the different places that JPA are going to offer this year for medicine course?
Q3: How many students are going to get their SPM result this year?
Q4: Out of these students, how many of them will score straight A1s?
Q5: Out of all these straight As or brilliant students, how many will actually apply for medicine for JPA scholarship?
Q6: How much money is JPA offering this year for medicine student?

The thing, we have almost zero clues to the answers of the above questions, and based on almost no concrete facts and figures, there comes some kind of "observation" and "theories" that xxxA1s are needed to go here, go there.....etc.

You know, if either one of us have all of the answers to the above, then the problem would be solved. But the reality is that these facts are hard to come by. That's why we have this thread. Everyone who knows a little about that particular subject contribute to it. With all the "little" knowledge that we contribute, one will be amazed of the final wealth of knowledge in this thread. Also, I think we don't really need most of the answers to the questions above. To me, having a rough idea of what's happening in the internal mechanism of JPA is enough, no need to know all of the statistics. In fact, what is more crucial is what is JPA's selection criteria and what does JPA look for in the interview (if they are looking for something in the interview).

Now, I am just going to make a quick comment on this, since I understand that you are just trying to offer an alternative, so much so that I am also trying to offer an alternative. My question is: "How do you know that your friend won't be happy if he is UK doing English?" :wink: I think the choice of choosing the alternative instead of what one really wants depends on the individual. Some may not buldge from what they think they want, others may do otherwise. But on a personal level, I sort of agree with Sillyboy that your friend is "unsmart" to let go a chance of going overseas on a scholarship. But then again, it's all personal choice.

Truly, honestly from the bottom of my heart, not that I hate medicine student(though I dislike them a bit =P), think a million times first before applying for medicine. There might just be another hopeful, aspiring student with "lesser" As who might want to be a doctor as well. If you are not sure, let the "sure" ones have their chances. ^____^

I didn't say I like them either, did I? :lol: Hahahaha..... (But please, I didn't say I dislike them either) Really, I don't like to comment on this, so I will just leave this as it is.

P/S : AYA Festival isn't just any random festival by the way. Do check it out at http://www.ayafestival.com I'm a volunteer for that event and you are interested in coming, tell me about it. We might even be able to meet up. :D Then I can share with you more of my weird, dry jokes and discuss on JPA scholarship.

I wish I could, really. But alas, distance prohibit me from visiting anything in Malaysia, my dearest country, for a while. Stuck in foreignland for a bit here.

Last but not least, I just want to re-iterate this - If you get a scholarship, think thrice before letting it go, just because it is not the numero uno thing that you wish to do. Your preference may change overtime as well as your likings. Nothing is permanent, especially human's wants and preference. In fact, you might like a course that you despise initially once you take it up. I speak from experience, first hand experience. Nevertheless, everyone is different, so choose for yourself.

lyzzy
30-01-2007, 05:52 AM

It is always good to provide an alternative view, no doubt, but it is just that your previous post conjure a very bad image of JPA by reading through it. I don't know whether you are aware of this or not, but let me share this with you and all other ReComers. Malaysia is one of the few countries that offer scholarship for its citizen through its government. From all of the international students that I have met (China (including HK), Romania, UK, Germany, Sweden, Nigeria, Kenya, etc), non of them are sponsored by their government.

Okay, I don't want to get dragged into this topic, but cannot tahan already!!!!!! JPA = good?

I would just like to point out that yes, while JPA/ Malaysia scholarship has gives money to a minority of Malaysian students a chance to study in some foreign country (mostly in universities of very dubious education standards), these scholarships have taken away money from the public universities and education system, and so deprived hundred of thousands of students from a better education.
M119 engine (http://www.mercedes-wiki.com/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_M119_engine)

30-01-2007, 06:08 AM
just want to say: 'Do what you think is best for yourself, never let other people decide on what you are to study and do for the rest of your life.'

and instead of going over and over and over the theories about your chances, how about preparing yourself so that you get a higher chance of getting the scholarship when the time comes? theories and statistics won't decide your chance, it's you yourself who makes it happen.

And what lizzy said is true. Some of the Unis that JPA sends it's students to didn't aren't accredidated in malaysia. So be careful when looking over the choice of Unis later when you are applying for them.

30-01-2007, 06:33 PM
This thread has been in ReCom for a long time, all the while I thought it's just another "how should I apply for JPA" thread so I kind of dismissed it. Little did I know about the lengthy discussion I have missed. :P

I am a JPA scholar (2002 SPM) and I have been studying medicine in University of Melbourne for 2 years. I would like to offer some opinions from my perspective:

1. It's such a shame to see the rat race our brothers and sisters need to go through in order to get a JPA scholarship. During my time we were not required to take unnecessary subjects just to puff up our number of A1s. I got in with 10A1. In my opinion, the threshold of getting A1 in various subjects have been lowered to such an extent that it's no longer easy to separate the wheat from the chaff. We used to have a discussion about this in ReCom last time, and we kind of agreed that the only way to improve this situation is to increase the difficulty of a subject and/or increase the A1 threshold scores.

2. I agree with a few of the previous posters wholeheartedly that JPA is not the only route to an overseas education. There are so many other methods out there if you are really keen on getting out. Even if you can't study overseas in the end, you can always study in a local university while remaining excellent, and go for post-graduate studies overseas. Many people succeeded that way.

3. Medicine... It's been discussed over and over again, and sometimes it's a bit old. Let me begin by saying that those medical students who think that they are a level above the others, deserve no respect from the others at all. That is not pride, that's egotism.

The second most often criticized aspect of medical students are those who only get in for the glamour and the status. I have a problem with this view. From all the old discussions, I have seen the tendency among people to dichotomize aspiring doctors to "those who are noble and want to help others" and "those who only go for glamour, money and status". Why the black and white categorization? Are they mutually exclusive? Can't people choose to go for both at no expense of their patients? Yes I want to help others, but I would enjoy an appropriate monetary reward for what I have done too.

It's an oversimplified notion that many people applying for medicine are only money-minded and are blind in their relentless pursuits. But really, how do we judge them? How many percent of their hearts is nobility and philanthropy, and how many percents are the dollar signs and the materialistic dream? And what is the threshold of those figures for someone to be "noble" enough to pursue a medical career?

I am not denying the existence of such people, although I have not identified any of such people personally. However, it's only fair if we avoid such a hasty generalization which may stigmatise the majority of aspiring doctors, many of whom are really dedicated in taking up the challenging career.

4. If you get an offer from JPA to study medicine in Australia (which is one of the most likely cases), there are a few points that ought to be considered. It's not very easy to gain entry to medical courses in Australian universities, and if you are not good enough (as in, you got JPA by "luck"), be prepared for the possibility of being "downgraded" to IMU twinning or Monash Malaysia courses. Take note that in recent years, JPA are sending (some say "dumping") so many aspiring medical students to the Australian matriculation, and the number they allocated for Australia is possibly more than the annual intake of international medical students in Australian universities.

I'm not saying that those courses are bad, but there is something to be pondered upon, especially whether it's worthwhile for the 10-year bond.

5. The ten-year bond is not easy. Ask others for more details, it's inconvenient for me to reveal more here. What I could say here is, if you are thinking of working 10 years for the government, you ought to know more about the place you are going to spend one third of your career in.

6. But no matter what, Australian medical courses are internationally acclaimed. If you think you've got what it takes to make it there, don't hesitate to take up the once-in-a-lifetime chance.

Jyl
30-01-2007, 08:04 PM
Wow , i have definitely miss all this since i havent been online for a while....
Dear seniors, any advice upon applying this scholarship ( or other ) for medicine? ( instead of just be yourself, read newspapers...sorry )
And yeah thanks for the advice given .
Any other path that i can choose so that i can get medicine?

30-01-2007, 08:52 PM
Wow , i have definitely miss all this since i havent been online for a while....
Dear seniors, any advice upon applying this scholarship ( or other ) for medicine? ( instead of just be yourself, read newspapers...sorry )
And yeah thanks for the advice given .
Any other path that i can choose so that i can get medicine?
There are no magic formula that will guarantee that you will get any scholarship you want. You can only do that by showing that you are willing to learn and that you are very passionate about it.

Even if you can't get JPA, there are always other options such as loans provided by our government (JPA, PTPTN, and if you are a local in Sarawak, Yayasan Sarawak) which can lighten your burden greatly. If you really want to study overseas, most notable universities do offer scholarships for those who had earned it.

Tips for doing well in interviews already exists somewhere else in ReCom, have a look around and i am sure that you can find a lot of threads about this...

Best of luck to you...

30-01-2007, 09:57 PM
Great to see that many of you are discussing and debating with lots of thoughts, which I would say have elements of critical thinking.

I agree with what a fellow ReComer mentioned. Lets start preparing for those of you who are here. It is better to start early, than rush in preparing at the last minute.

Utilize all the resources available here in ReCom.org, as well as other resources like Tin Kosong (http://www.tinkosong.com) etc. Do share what you know, and ask what you do not know.

For those of you who would like to meet up with several Malaysians who have successfully gotten JPA/BNM/Petronas scholarship, do try to attend Malaysian Mensa Scholarships Talk. For full details, go to this link (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=102301#102301).

On what would be good preparations to do right now:-

1. Start to prepare all your certs, testimonial, recommendation letters, school leaving certs etc. Testimonial and recommendation letters are not required for JPA scholarships applications, but no harm preparing it and submitting it. The same goes to CV/Resume. Having it might help to make better impression. Go the extra mile! It would be worth it!

2. Start to read widely on various current issues. Discuss in ReCom on previous topics of JPA Scholarships interview, which might be beneficial to you. Familiarize yourself with it.

3. Start practising to speak more fluently in English and Malay. This would help you to get used to the interview. Try practice with your friends. If you don't have friends to practice, I am sure you can find some through ReCom.

I would really hope that fellow ReComers, especially those who have gone through the experience could come here to share with other fellow ReComers.

And for those who are preparing, if you have any information to share, please share it here. ReCom is a place where fellow ReComers share and learn together. If no one shares, ReCom ceases to exist.

Lets work together to ensure that more and more ReComers could successfully obtain scholarships of their dream and manage to further their studies successfully and eventually contribute to the development of Malaysia.[/url]

30-01-2007, 10:06 PM
Below is an article that I have submitted for publishing at Tin Kosong. I would produce it here in ReCom for your reference first, since it is still under editing by Tin Kosong to make it sound better.

The information below is based on what I know. Hopefully that this would help fellow ReComers who are preparing.
----
Bits of Information for JPA Scholarships To Study Abroad

Are you students who have just taken your SPM a couple of months ago? Do you desire to further your studies abroad under full scholarships from Public Service Department (or fondly known as Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA))? Do you have the aspiration to serve the nation? If your answers are yes for all of the questions above, do read ahead!

I am writing this based on my personal experience of being a JPA Scholar, and my interaction with many JPA Scholars through www.recom.org and Tin Kosong in the past few years. Whatever that is shared below is in no way constituted official information from JPA. This is just for your guidance and if there is any discrepancy, always follows the information from JPA, especially the information changes frequently. I am writing this based using information from batches up to SPM 2005.

To qualify for JPA Scholarships, the current minimum requirement is A2 for all the core subjects. This would include Bahasa Malaysia, History, English, Islamic Education/Moral Education, as well as main subjects for your fields (For example, for science stream students, it would be Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology). For each different major, a different combination of subjects would be required as minimum requirement (This is very crucial! Do not apply for courses that you do not have minimum requirements, especially if you do not take that subject in SPM. I can?t recall the exact combination of courses that are required for Economics major, but this is a very common pitfall, where students who do not take those subjects in SPM and they would not even be offered interview opportunities, even though they are straight A1s in SPM). Based on past experience, getting a B3 in any of the subject above would most likely mean that you would not get the chance to even attend the interview. One thing to note is that there would typically be more than 5,000 SPM takers each year, who would fulfill the requirements above, out of 400,000 SPM leavers.

For SPM 2004 batch, a total of 1,290 JPA Scholarships were offered. This means that on average, for every 300 SPM takers, there would be 1 JPA Scholar, or the chance is about 0.33% for a typical SPM taker. About the same number of scholarships was offered last year, and if there is no change in JPA?s policy, we would expect the same number of scholarships this year. 10,098 students applied for JPA Scholarships for SPM 2004 batch, so on average the chance is about 12.77%. Of course, the number of applicants would increase every year, and bringing down the chances.

Usually the application deadline for JPA Scholarships is 10-14 days after SPM results are announced. Interview process would often happen in April. For those who apply for medical courses, you would be expected to spend a day or two in hospital, to gauge your dedication towards medical fields. Usually, the scholarship decision would be known in May or June.

For SPM 2005 batch, JPA offered scholarships for the following majors to the following countries. This list might vary from year to year.

Major - Country
Medical - UK (Including Ireland), Australia, New Zealand, Russia, India, Indonesia, Egypt, Jordan.
Dental - UK (Including Ireland), Australia, New Zealand, India, Jordan.
Pharmacy - UK, Australia, New Zealand
Engineering - US, Germany, France, Japan, Korea, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, UK (Limited Scholarships for UK Engineering)
Computer Science - US, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand
Actuarial Science - US, UK, Australia, Canada
Biotech - US, Canada, UK, Australia
Agricultural Science - US, Australia
Pure Science - US, UK, Australia, New Zealand
Economics - US, Canada, UK, Japan (Japan Economics for Bumiputera Only)
International Relations - US, Canada, UK, Germany, France, Japan (Japan Intl Relations for Bumiputera Only)
Political Science - US, UK, Japan (Japan Political Science for Bumiputera Only)
Business Administration - US, UK, Japan (Japan BA for Bumiputera Only)
Penilaian Harta - Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand
Veterinary Science - Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand
Ukur Bahan - UK, Australia, New Zealand
Town Planning - UK, Australia
Architecture - UK, Australia, New Zealand
Accounting - UK, Australia, New Zealand
Arabic Language - Egypt, Jordan
French Language - France
Japanese Language - Japan (For Bumiputera Only)

On selection criteria, JPA focuses on 9 core subjects for academic results. This would constitute 65% of the selection points. Based on past experience, it is very crucial to have 9A1s in these core subjects (there are hundreds, if not thousands of students with 9A1s for their core subjects), especially if you are applying for competitive programs. Family Income would constitute another 10% of the selection. Based on past year?s counting, family monthly income of RM5,000 and below (Majority of Malaysian family falls under this category. Our average per capita income is less than USD5,000, which means less than RM18,500 per year, and this is about RM1,500 per month) would mean 10 points, RM5,001-RM10,000 would mean 5 points, and more than RM10,001 would mean 0 point.

The other 10% would come from co-curricular activities. There are 3 aspects for these co-curricular activities, i.e. uniformed bodies/clubs/societies, sports and other achievements. For each aspect, you are evaluated for your top 5 unique achievements. If you only have achievements in only 1 sports, then you would receive zero point for the other 4 achievements in sports. For sports and other achievements category, it would be based on your highest level of representation. (For past years, it doesn?t matter whether you win or not in the competition, it is measured based on your highest level of representation). So, it would be like 1 point for representing the country, 0.8 point for representing the state, 0.6 point for representing the district, 0.4 point for representing the school, and 0.2 point for representing clubs/societies. So, if you only represent your school for 1 sport, you would get 0.4 out of 5 points. I am not too sure how the 15% are converted to 10%. There are 2 possibilities of how it is done. Normalize that 15% to 10%, or choose the top 2 categories. I would think that the former method is done. For uniformed bodies/clubs/societies, this is based on your highest position held. Head prefect would most probably earn you 1% and the chain of point goes down as you move down the layer of positions, eg: President of Clubs/Societies, Prefects, Secretary, Vice President, Treasurer, Committee Member, Member etc. It is crucial for you to fill up the form with the optimum point in mind. You would need to show the certificates during interview, and that is just to verify that you fill up honestly.

A common misconception of applicants would be that they think that they have excellent co-curricular activities (especially if they are comparing with their friends in same high school). However, one thing to note, there are thousands of high school. Let?s put this into perspective. Assume that you are a prefect, president of 1 society in school, secretary in another society in school and a committee member of another society. Lets assume that we have only 1,000 secondary schools in Malaysia, and each school, has 20 prefects only (most schools have much more) and 20 societies only (with 1 president, 1 secretary and 5 committee members). This would mean that there are 20,000 prefects in Malaysia, 20,000 presidents of societies, 20,000 secretaries and 100,000 committee members.

The last portion of 15% is interview performance. This is typically a group discussion of between 6-12 people, where you would get questions of a topic, eg: National Service, and you are required to discuss among fellow JPA scholarship applicants for 1 hour. For a long list of past-year interview questions, please go to http://www.recom.org (The Worldwide Malaysian Students Network) for it. During the interview, JPA officers would often let the group of you to discuss freely, where they just sit back and observe. The most common pitfall is dominating the discussion. Often, students would come out from the interview room, thinking that they have done very well, since they provide more than half of the discussion content, and speak for like 30 minutes during the 1 hour. If you are doing this, your chance diminishes close to zero. What they are observing is your leadership abilities, communication skills, listening skills (This is crucial, most people just think of sharing your thoughts and not augmenting what others say), analytical skills etc. If there are group members who are quiet, you should lead and guide them to share their opinion. You should try to lead the discussion into a framework, where you will not fall out of topic. It is very easy to sway from the topic of discussion. Try to summarize the discussion too. This would show your management and leadership skill, which is crucial for future civil servants. Provide solid arguments with convincing examples and not just mere loads of normal ideas. Quality matters. Do make eye contacts with the interviewers and other students.

If you are not successful in your application (Touch wood), you should definitely try your best to appeal. If you do not appeal, you stand zero chance of getting the scholarship. If you appeal, you would have a finite positive chance of getting the scholarship. So, why not trying? Merely complaining that it is not fair would not boost your chance at all. JPA would have a specific form for you to appeal. Do submit your appeal directly to JPA, while providing a copy to various parties to help you appeal. MCA, through the leadership of YB Dato? Seri Ong Ka Ting, has managed to help many students appealing to JPA. The same goes to Gerakan, UMNO, MIC as well.

Hope that this sharing would benefit many of you, especially those of you who did your SPM in 2006. Good Luck to all of you! Hopefully that you would share this resource with your friends. Explore all the information here in Tin Kosong, a site which is fully run by volunteers to help fellow younger generation of Malaysians, i.e. you! If you have anything to share, do write in to Tin Kosong, and you would be able to share with fellow Malaysians!

Being one of the co-developer of The Worldwide Malaysian Student Network (http://www.recom.org) (Another site fully run by volunteers, with total web hits exceeding 8.8 Million), I would encourage you to visit that site too (if you haven?t), to read through tons of sharing by many who have gone through the process of applying for scholarships, as well as questions by many of your peers. Do post your questions there (There is no stupid question!) and do share any information that you know to your friends. (The more you share, the more others are willing to share too). We are trying to inculcate the sharing and learning culture. For the past few years, hundreds of JPA scholars are ReCom.org members. Hopefully that we can see the same trend again this year! Good Luck!

30-01-2007, 10:20 PM
For past year JPA interview questions, please go to here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=102447#102447) There are listings of 34 past year interview questions there.

Do start preparation early!

caramel_nut
31-01-2007, 12:00 AM
Sorry chenchow i haven't published it 'cos I'm currently busy with my exam. Still have two other articles in my backlog. joyce and enghan will kill me if they know this. >.< Anyway, I'll post it up asap. I promise I promise. Sorry guys..

Jyl
02-02-2007, 09:00 PM
Medical - UK (Including Ireland), Australia, New Zealand, Russia, India, Indonesia, Egypt, Jordan

Which of this country did the JPA offered most places for non bumis?

Appolo
05-02-2007, 06:38 PM
If I'm not mistaken,Egypt and Jordan are the countries selected for students going under the Middle East Program and the criterion for those who are interested is an a2 in arabic language. When I say Arabic, you know which race that I mean!

India is the place normally allocated for student who appealed for it whereas these students have to take a twinning program either through imu or manipal melaka.

New Zealand and Australia bound students are going there for their degrees for four years if I got my sources right.Students going for Russia normally finish their degrees there( experienced by a friend of mine).

Students who received a 4 years degree offer in Ireland are normally future pharmacist.As for medical students, it's like paractically everyone have to go for a twinning program be it studying locally before going overseas or the opposite.

Students who got India are normally denstistry students although there are a number of students taking medicine too.

If you are thinking of taking medicine under jpa sponsorship, the quota for countries allocated is an uncertainty because usually A-levels Medicine students from Intec have to continue their studies in IMU and the countries choosen for them depend greatly on the students' results.

Frankly, I'm not a medicine student so my info might be wrong.If so, I implore anyone out there to correct my mistakes.Hope that it helps,Jyl. 8) 8)

05-02-2007, 06:42 PM
Australian medical degree is a 6-year course.

Jyl
05-02-2007, 09:02 PM
Thank you Appolo . It really help me a lot. Well, i am kind of worried here . I dont know whether i can get this JPA scholarship ,besides, i also applied for Matriculation . I just want to get into medicine. If i couldnt get either one of this, i might be going for form 6 . Well, Thanks guys for supporting me going through all this! Thanks!

05-02-2007, 10:14 PM
Thank you Appolo . It really help me a lot. Well, i am kind of worried here . I dont know whether i can get this JPA scholarship ,besides, i also applied for Matriculation . I just want to get into medicine. If i couldnt get either one of this, i might be going for form 6 . Well, Thanks guys for supporting me going through all this! Thanks!Don't worry too much about whether u can get in or not... Go and worry about how to do your best during the interviews.

All the best...

Patrick
05-02-2007, 10:17 PM
Medical - UK (Including Ireland), Australia, New Zealand, Russia, India, Indonesia, Egypt, Jordan

Which of this country did the JPA offered most places for non bumis?

Hello there. I'm currently a 2nd year student at KMB (Kolej MARA Banting) who's studying the International Baccalaureate (IB)

Here, there are about 40 non-Malays, and about 20 first years and 20 2nd years.

For the 2nd years, about 5 are doing dentistry, while another 10 are medic students. Most are going to the UK/ Ireland.

I must say that places are pretty competitve, considering the deluge of applications that JPA receives every year (for medicine). There are some others in KYUEM, Sunway, and KTT (for UK medicine), but this is the scenario in KMB.

However, in my opinion, it doesn't matter which country they send the most students to. Just go and apply for the best (UK/ Ireland) and if you don't make it, they'll most probably send you to nice countries like Aust/ NZ. :wink:

Jyl
07-02-2007, 01:39 PM
Well, vseehua, how can i prepare well in the interview? Anything that i am suppose to read >>>Need guidance here...

07-02-2007, 02:53 PM
Well, vseehua, how can i prepare well in the interview? Anything that i am suppose to read >>>Need guidance here...There are threads from the last years within ReCom that you can read further for your preparation.

But the msot important points are:

1. Your appearance. No one is going to give anything to someone who looks slacky. Official clothing will do well here

2. Your knowledge. Knowing more about the current issues wll beef up your chance here. YOu don't want to appear ignorant to the interviewers. The easiest way is to take some newspapers and go read it

3. Your presentation. Be confident, and the interviewers will have confidence in you.

4. Questions. If you have your doubts, never be afraid to seek for answers, by doing research or asking in forums. The exception to this will be simple elementary questions that are asked over and over and over again... Do your research beforehand.

5. Ability to be analytical. This will be one of the most important factors in any interview. Capability to solve problems will be a big bonus to yourself

6. Your attitude. No one likes a jerk.

7. The most important point is, be yourself.

Hope that helps you there... Don't bother about the results before you even go through the trial. Worry about it afterwards...

slumber
07-02-2007, 04:31 PM
1. please be confident and speak more and more....

8)

07-02-2007, 04:44 PM

8)but don't others of their chance to speak :p

Appolo
07-02-2007, 07:12 PM

8)but don't others of their chance to speak :p

I think you want to say don't deprive others of the opportunity to speak too.

Well, for me, the most important thing is to be observant of the major events happening around you and trust me it helps!

Another thing, don't try to memorize facts,understanding them is better because you will give this impression that you're not just a bookworm.

07-02-2007, 07:50 PM
I think you want to say don't deprive others of the opportunity to speak too.

Well, for me, the most important thing is to be observant of the major events happening around you and trust me it helps!

Another thing, don't try to memorize facts,understanding them is better because you will give this impression that you're not just a bookworm.haha... i think my typing is faster than my thinking process,... yup, you got it right... hehe

Jyl
07-02-2007, 08:20 PM
Thanks!

08-02-2007, 11:50 AM
This is not an official news, but some reliable sources said that JPA will be sending students to Poland doing Medicine starting this year, means SPM 2006 batch will most probably be the pioneer batch ...

And also, I think out of about 60++ places per country, about 10-15 allocated for non-Bumis, and of course, the places decrease with the increasing cost of the country.....

Good luck in applying !!

Jyl
09-02-2007, 11:05 PM
Poland? Do they speak English or 'polish " ? Well , i guess those who were sent there are going to adapt the new environment ... else where too..

11-02-2007, 04:43 AM
Poland? Do they speak English or 'polish " ? Well , i guess those who were sent there are going to adapt the new environment ... else where too..

poland is better place to live than Germany
their english is quite OK compare to germany
czech republic students should be... 4th or 5th batch now

anyone interested in taking risk of being sent to kilang kicap or klinik bukit monyet after graduation? 8)

sunshine88
11-02-2007, 12:06 PM
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/garispanduan.html

Do u guys think that the 10 year contract with goverment after completing medical studies is a good idea???

jay3349
11-02-2007, 12:40 PM
No patient in their sane mind will come to you in private if you have less than 10 years of experience. All the doctors who are doing well in medical centres have at least 15 years of service in government hospitals. In fact, it is the best place to get to know more patients than jumping straight into private practice after your housemanship.

So, it is a good idea.

sunshine88
11-02-2007, 04:15 PM
thanks jay3349 for ur opinion.....What about others?

lXl
11-02-2007, 07:37 PM
of course working in the gov hospitals is the best. There's where cases from all walks of life will submerge. best place to gain experience. just ask any doctors.

12-02-2007, 01:04 AM
most doctors will advice you not to become doctors.

Weird.

12-02-2007, 12:29 PM
coz they are depressed

sunshine88
12-02-2007, 09:47 PM
I have 'interviewed' other docs..and some of my relatives working in hospitals...They tell a different story

first, they commented on power abuse..This happens amongst the senior docs who has more kuasa..and they abuse their power by 'bullying' those fresh graduates/junior docs..eventhough those senior docs have less skills than the juniors

The next thing is..racism...which i agree happens in most working places..but quite too much in gov hosp
I dun wanna elaborate more on this...The only thing i can say is that they look at race first..and no matter how good a doc X is...another doc of different race,doc. Y will sabotage doc X's chances,and then acts like a boss..

Many people in the gov hosp aren't motivated workers,because their job is a of a secured one..They may lack the initaive...and be less progressive..Some gradutes who have barely passed their exams are not skillful enough to handle the job as a doc.

Moreoever, docs in gov hosp has lesser chance to attain career development..People improve when they treat more cases and work with competitive colleagues..Docs won't learn more when they work with poor colleages...not poor in terms of cash..but in terms of skills,ability,and diligence...sort of..

What they have said are few..To be exact there are many issues cocerning doc working in gov hosp..Since this is a 10 year contract...something must be analysed so that there'll be no regrets in future...

13-02-2007, 10:17 AM
Hi...just wondering...if i did my pre-university on my own, will the period of my bond to jpa be shorter after i complete my studies?Let's say i did medicine under jpa...if i did my a-levels at a private college on my own then i continued to do medicine overseas under jpa, will i still be bonded the same period of time as the other jpa scholars who did their pre-u under jpa?

13-02-2007, 07:01 PM
Hi...just wondering...if i did my pre-university on my own, will the period of my bond to jpa be shorter after i complete my studies?Let's say i did medicine under jpa...if i did my a-levels at a private college on my own then i continued to do medicine overseas under jpa, will i still be bonded the same period of time as the other jpa scholars who did their pre-u under jpa?

The bond period would still be the same. 10 years for those under Medicine Scholarships. The cost for preparatory program is just a very small fraction of the total cost of scholarships.

pringles
14-02-2007, 05:07 AM
most doctors will advice you not to become doctors.

Weird.

It is not easy to be a GOOD doctor. GOOD=put patient's interest forst before ALL else.
There are so many competing factors. There have been cases in UK which a doctor is charged(the case is still going on). He prescribed medicine to patients without seeing them face to face.
So there is the temptation of money.
You have scheduled an emergency surgery for your patient. 1 hour before the surgery, your dad has a heart attack. What will you do?
It is quite discouraging as well to work in Malaysia gov hospital die to opaque promotion system, understaffed and other problems mentioned by sunshine88.
Conclusion: think twice before choosing medicine UNLESS you have a VERY CLEAR idea what medicine is about AND is motivated mainly by your interest. Don't choose it because your parents/lecturers ask you to or you think it is a glamorous job.
TALK to other doctors first before making the choice.

On a postive note, medicine can be quite rewarding in term of self-satisfaction. But there are other area which can be highly self-satisfying and challenging as well like pharmacy. :)

pringles
14-02-2007, 05:28 AM
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/garispanduan.html

Do u guys think that the 10 year contract with goverment after completing medical studies is a good idea???

A definitely NO-unless you can't afford to sponsor yourself(or insufficient funds from your parents).
10 years are too long and will exhaust all your idealism and motivation you have now if you work in a govt hospital.
Why?
Racism(now i think has changed to nepotism) based promotion scheme.
Overloaded workload(72hours shift i heard)
Forced to vote for BN govt.(get demoted if you vote for opposition party-just joking:P)
Low pay

pringles
14-02-2007, 05:36 AM
New Zealand and Australia bound students are going there for their degrees for four years if I got my sources right.Students going for Russia normally finish their degrees there( experienced by a friend of mine).

Students who received a 4 years degree offer in Ireland are normally future pharmacist.As for medical students, it's like paractically everyone have to go for a twinning program be it studying locally before going overseas or the opposite.

Not all medical student have to go for twinning, One of my friend go to New Zealand and another is now in Emmanuel College, Cambridge U.
Lots of JPA pharmacy student in UK as well. There are about 5 pharmacy student in my year.(I am studying in Manchester uni)
If you can't get your place:-
1. appeal to your race political party(Malay-UMNO, Indian-MIC, Chinese-MCA). One of my friend had food science in New Zealand. She appealed and get UK.
My cambridge friend get New Zealand, she appealed and appealed and appealed and appealed(pity her) and finally, she get 3 years in UK sponsored by JPA. She is sponsored by UK scholarship for the first 3 years, can't remember which scholarship it is. And she is a Malay. So goodluck to we Non-Malay. :P
2. go and see PM if you are really desparate. (It is a good idea to be good friend of Khairy Jamaluddin)

Jyl
14-02-2007, 01:24 PM
Advice from a senior : Dont be a doctor if you dont cannot stand people crying . ( the family members of the patient ) Doctors = no life ( too busy ) . Doctors = no fun . I guess thats right , because doctors need to be committed to his or her job .

14-02-2007, 05:37 PM
... and also doctors carry a lot of karma for others :P

chriistney
15-02-2007, 01:10 AM
Is it right if i say that doctor could only start earning after about 20 years. (including bond under jpa, housemanship, specialisation) If it is like that then we would be 40 years old.
It is a bit scary......... :oops:

koln_auhc
15-02-2007, 01:13 AM
That's pretty much a generalization. think hard about it. would a hardworking vs lazy or smart vs dumb doctor earn the same after 20 years. You probably say yes and no , so don't believe such generalizations.

Anyway, if my doctor was after a dream of earning as much after finishing his studies, hehe....

15-02-2007, 04:14 AM
Those who go into this career expecting all glories and gold are in for a BIG surprise...

But then again, those who really wants to help will reap great satisfaction as well... ;)

chriistney
15-02-2007, 11:18 PM
How many years is the housemanship for medic? because i heard someone says 3 years and someone says one year.
By the way, can we do hosemanship overseas? cause one of my friend say the government have change their policies :lol:

choco
15-02-2007, 11:39 PM
hi.........i 'm choco! i wish 2 no which course is less popular even not popular at all! :) what is "international relationship" ,is tat popular? i hope 2 apply 4, it seems interesting lah. tq

15-02-2007, 11:41 PM
Advice from a senior : Dont be a doctor if you dont cannot stand people crying . ( the family members of the patient ) Doctors = no life ( too busy ) . Doctors = no fun . I guess thats right , because doctors need to be committed to his or her job .

It won't be much of a problem if your interest is in medicine and if you get a sense of satisfaction from helping others.

Of course a doctor's life includes a busy hour. Some people get so stressed that they can't even function. However, if you are truely interested in the field, such long work hours are actually rewarding and you might not mind working through them.

When your senior says that it's not fun, it's probably because he lost his motivation and interest in medicine, or maybe there wasn't any at all to begin with. I've seen many doctors that are truly enjoying every moment of their career in medicine. It's all in your perspective on how you want things to be. Being commited does not mean not being able to have fun. Tell me which job does not need commitment?

By the way, can we do hosemanship overseas? cause one of my friend say the government have change their policies

You can, BUT it's not counted in your 10 year bond. So you'll still need to serve for the 10 years.

10 years are too long and will exhaust all your idealism and motivation you have now if you work in a govt hospital.
Why?
Forced to vote for BN govt.(get demoted if you vote for opposition party-just joking:P)
Low pay

Serving in government hospitals will not exhaust your idealism and motivation if your motivation is to improve the lives of your patients, not in promotion and your pay. Working in government hospital allows you to be exposed to more cases and will thus expand your experiences and skills that otherwise will not be acheivable fif you're working privately.

I belive the average workload is 37 hours, not 72 hours. I do agree on the low pay, we are getting paid more as a student now, lol!

16-02-2007, 09:19 AM
Why?
Low pay

Serving in government hospitals will not exhaust your idealism and motivation if your motivation is to improve the lives of your patients, not in promotion and your pay. Working in government hospital allows you to be exposed to more cases and will thus expand your experiences and skills that otherwise will not be acheivable fif you're working privately.

I belive the average workload is 37 hours, not 72 hours. I do agree on the low pay, we are getting paid more as a student now, lol!
I think you didn't count the night calls, and if you do it will be closer to 72 than 37.

I am not sure whether you have idealized the real situation there. Yeah it's easy to say that "as long as you are noble at heart, you will enjoy the work no matter how bad the working environment is". Of course there are really motivated people who will stay motivated no matter where they are. But for many people, their motivation is more or less influenced by their surroundings. Just imagine that you are a talented musical performer, but due to your skin colour or something your orchestra team puts you in the back-up bench for years, without any chance to demonstrate your ability. Yes we can easily say that "if you are self-motivated enough you will be feeling peace at heart due to your noble cause". But in real life things are just not so ideal.

Yes we can always say that "your motivation should not lie only on promotion and good pay", but we should never deny that it's a good part of our motivation. When you are 36 and you realize that you are only working as a low rank doctor, being commanded by someone lower than your calibre, and getting paid only 4000 ringgit a month, meanwhile you are struggling to pay for your car, home, children, parents etc.... It becomes not so easy to idealize the whole thing.

Of course I am not saying that I am going to run away from the government hospital. :P I'm just saying that it's not as ideal as we are inclined to think.

uglyducklai
22-02-2007, 07:41 PM
ya lo ya lo...any big bro big sis can expllain what is INTERNATIONAL RELATIONSHIP?? thanks

22-02-2007, 11:58 PM
ya lo ya lo...any big bro big sis can expllain what is INTERNATIONAL RELATIONSHIP?? thanks

Do you mean International Relations? Basically, it is the study of various aspects of international relations, relationship between countries, relationship between groups in the world etc. It would revolve a lot around the study of government, politics, economics, social etc.

23-02-2007, 03:24 PM
Hey, can we start applying for the jpa scholarships now?Or must we wait for our results?Also, when do the jpa results usually come out?

uglyducklai
23-02-2007, 09:07 PM
Do you mean International Relations? Basically, it is the study of various aspects of international relations, relationship between countries, relationship between groups in the world etc. It would revolve a lot around the study of government, politics, economics, social etc.

thanks..so might it involove the career like ambassador(sorry if i spell i wrongly)??

23-02-2007, 11:11 PM
Hey, can we start applying for the jpa scholarships now?Or must we wait for our results?Also, when do the jpa results usually come out?

I believe JPA Scholarships form would be out on 3rd March. It should be at the following JPA Esila Website (http://esila.jpa.gov.my)

I would strongly advise you to apply after your results are out, as what you apply might change based on your results. If you have performed better than your expectation, you might want to apply for more prestigious courses/countries, or if you do not perform as well (touch wood), you might want to change the courses/countries that you would apply.

On JPA Scholarships, do try to read an article that I wrote at Tin Kosong. Do read it here (http://tinkosong.com/2007/01/31/public-service-department-jpa-scholarship/)

Good Luck! Do post your questions here in ReCom.org~! Do spread the words to your friends too~![/url]

24-02-2007, 10:27 AM
Thanks, Chen Chow!

uglyducklai
24-02-2007, 06:50 PM

I believe JPA Scholarships form would be out on 3rd March. It should be at the following JPA Esila Website (http://esila.jpa.gov.my)

I would strongly advise you to apply after your results are out, as what you apply might change based on your results. If you have performed better than your expectation, you might want to apply for more prestigious courses/countries, or if you do not perform as well (touch wood), you might want to change the courses/countries that you would apply.

On JPA Scholarships, do try to read an article that I wrote at Tin Kosong. Do read it here (http://tinkosong.com/2007/01/31/public-service-department-jpa-scholarship/)

Good Luck! Do post your questions here in ReCom.org~! Do spread the words to your friends too~![/url]

u mean we can apply it although SPM result havent come out???
OMG.....so nervours.....

25-02-2007, 02:45 PM
As for extra-cocurricular activities, do we put in only one, that is our best achievment or can we put in as many as we can...haven't seen the actual form, but I'm planning to get my certs certified first....So, can i put in as many certs as i wish, or is there a limit?

25-02-2007, 09:06 PM
As for extra-cocurricular activities, do we put in only one, that is our best achievment or can we put in as many as we can...haven't seen the actual form, but I'm planning to get my certs certified first....So, can i put in as many certs as i wish, or is there a limit?

For past years, it is 5 for sports, 5 for uniformed bodies/clubs/societies, and 5 for other achievements (all those competitions etc).

27-02-2007, 02:38 PM
What about the posts I held at school such as school prefect?Where should I include them?And also, are we encouraged to include our other certificates as well if there isn't enough space on the form? Will they take a look at it?

03-03-2007, 09:51 AM

For past years, it is 5 for sports, 5 for uniformed bodies/clubs/societies, and 5 for other achievements (all those competitions etc).

So do you mean that uniformed bodies, clubs and societies are under the same category?

Jyl
03-03-2007, 08:32 PM
I am about to apply for the JPA scholarship , for medicine. I heard for medicine , we need to go to hospital for three days. Its that true? Why?

03-03-2007, 09:46 PM
I am about to apply for the JPA scholarship , for medicine. I heard for medicine , we need to go to hospital for three days. Its that true? Why?

Yes, it's true. I can't exactly tell you the full details since I wasn't accepted for JPA and did not apply for medicine either. But they do go to the hospital where they are divided into groups and have to go around the hospital to look at the different departments and what they do. One of my friends got to watch a woman giving birth and she said it was really interesting. I think they want to gauge whether the candidates are really interested in medicine by letting you all watch the stuff that you'll have to handle if you become a doctor

DoomScythe
04-03-2007, 12:41 AM
JPA online application should now be open. Check the link below:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/3/3/nation/17032122&sec=nation

Students can apply for the scholarships online through the department?s website at www.jpa.gov.my from tomorrow.

"tomorrow" above refers to 4th of March. Good luck guys.

luthien
04-03-2007, 02:23 AM

to let d applicants noe mor bout d REAL works of doctors.. during d 3 days orientation, u gt to stay in d hospitals, be on-calls in d middle of d nite, observ real life surgeries n deliveries as well.. oh, u oso gt to 'visit' d mortuary n if u r 'lucky' enuf, perhaps a post mortem.. then, at d end of d orientation, u'll b ask if u wanna change from applying medicine to otr courses (i'm serious..).. hehe.. thr r cases tat sum applicants vomits n omoz fainted thr.. :twisted:

luthien
04-03-2007, 03:11 AM
From what I observed last year, you must get at least 11A1s to get JPA scholarship in Medicine. Even 10 straight A1s has to wait for appeal.....If you don't have straight 11A1s or more, most probably you'll have to end up waiting for appeal. Also, to get Western countries, you must have MORE than 11A1s, means 12 or more, but must be straight !!!

Don't blame the system, blame the students who compete to take more subjects nowadays. You do still have chance to get the Western countries, if you have special relationships... or you have special status (you know what I mean) or you're really really outstanding (5 national representatives perhaps..)

Note: (11A1 = 11A1,1A2 = 12A1,1B3)

That's just what I observed last year, and all the information above is JUST for Medicine only....

i heard tat its bcoz of all d places offered, onli about 10% is offered to non-bumis.. so, imagine 2groups of 100ppl each.. 1 group hev 2 fight for 50 seats while d otr hev 2 fight for 5 seats onli.. u can see tat d probability of not getting a seat for d ppl in d second grp is far higher than d 1st gp.. (hehe.. statistics..) =P tats is y 2ppl from each group who r in d same ranking, say at d 50th, one can get a seat while d otr cant lo..

stupidboy
04-03-2007, 03:07 PM
the jpa scholarship still need to wait until 12 March, right?

05-03-2007, 10:19 AM
the jpa scholarship still need to wait until 12 March, right?

Yes, but you can get the syarat-syarat on the webpage.Seems that jpa no longer offers medicine in UK :( Instead, there's Poland and Czech Rep..

sleep_walkerz
06-03-2007, 01:04 AM
hurm,
mostly ppl here apply for medic
i wanna ask if sum1 out there actually got jpa scholar in other field especially for architecture?
i heard tat chances to get a scholarship in this field is kinda slim. and does all bond is 10 years?...or medic only?

how do jpa works actually?...we apply for jpa..then they will send u to any uni..or we apply a place in that uni..then apply jpa to sponsor us.....
im asking tiz bcoz i heard lots of different stories...so im not hwo it works

sun90
06-03-2007, 01:20 AM
What about the posts I held at school such as school prefect?Where should I include them?And also, are we encouraged to include our other certificates as well if there isn't enough space on the form? Will they take a look at it?

yea, i have the same questions as yours...
by the way, i am also confused with the definition of ''other achievements''...if i went for certain course(like computer) during the period waiting for spm result(dec 06 till mac 07), is the participation certificate included in this particular section - other achievements?
some scholarship will only accept certificates for the last 2 years in school, how about JPA?because i haven't had a look on JPA application form before...
thanks for help...

06-03-2007, 12:23 PM

yea, i have the same questions as yours...
by the way, i am also confused with the definition of ''other achievements''...if i went for certain course(like computer) during the period waiting for spm result(dec 06 till mac 07), is the participation certificate included in this particular section - other achievements?
some scholarship will only accept certificates for the last 2 years in school, how about JPA?because i haven't had a look on JPA application form before...
thanks for help...

I'm not sure...but ofr other achievements I used the certs that I obtained from representing my school...and I'm planning to use my certs from the last 2 years..

07-03-2007, 12:05 PM
Only Medicine and Dentistry have 10 years bond, others are 6 years, if I'm not mistaken.

It's true that they've removed UK from the list of Medicine and put in Czech Republic and Poland. Those going to Poland are likely to be the pioneer batch, while Czech not. Czech Republic exists for many years already and they only put on the list this year. I think the reason they removed UK is the cost.....

To my surprise, I found a new country on Dentistry list--Japan.. Also, a new course appears on the list, which was not available last year----Law, and the only country they offer is Australia. For science students, you'll need at least one commerce subject to be qualified for this.

Countries available for Medicine(JPA) : Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, India, Russia, Czech Republic, Poland, Indonesia, twinning (IMU. PMC, MMMC)

Also, according to statistics released last year, percentage allocated for non-Bumi for JPA scholarships is 20% for past few years, and last year around 23%.

There are around 400 places for Medic and most likely to increase this year, but be prepared for the country you'll get.

Good luck for those applying !!!

07-03-2007, 04:15 PM
Can anyone tell me if prefect is considered a uniformed body?

Jyl
07-03-2007, 09:07 PM
I think it is considered as a uniform body. Well, prefects do have their own uniform and they have marching like the others, right?

DoomScythe
08-03-2007, 04:23 AM

Yes, it is a uniform body. At least it is when I applied last time.

08-03-2007, 11:49 AM

Yes, it is a uniform body. At least it is when I applied last time.

Thanks!!Uhm..when did you apply?

sun90
08-03-2007, 09:53 PM
does anyone know what are the other courses suitable for science stream students except the well-known medicine and pharmacy course?
and what are the science courses sponsored by jpa besides medicine?
thanks for help...

mrshyukjae
08-03-2007, 10:44 PM
does anyone know what are the other courses suitable for science stream students except the well-known medicine and pharmacy course?
thanks for help...

here ya go

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syarat%20Permohonan%20PILN%202007.pdf

sun90
08-03-2007, 10:55 PM
thanks for help...

here ya go

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syarat%20Permohonan%20PILN%202007.pdf

thank you!

DoomScythe
09-03-2007, 04:44 AM

Hmmm, that's like 3 centuries ago? :p
About 3 years ago, I ain't that old.

09-03-2007, 11:22 AM

Hmmm, that's like 3 centuries ago? :p
About 3 years ago, I ain't that old.

Sorry...

starfire
09-03-2007, 05:11 PM
Anyone know about Medicine courses in Czech n Poland? R they good?

and any comments on Med in Russia? i'm really not that familar with these countries.... the countries we've ever heard of are Ireland, UK and Australia mostly.

kpchen
09-03-2007, 05:21 PM
Just don't go to Ukraine. I've heard a lot of problems from a friend of mine and those problems are sensitive ones that I choose not to write here. Anyway, there were stories of 'hantu's lurking around but then, I think they can be found anywhere in any university worldwide if you're unfortunate enough.

starfire
09-03-2007, 06:36 PM
oh....thanks for the info kpchen.
anyone else on Poland, Russia n Czech Republic?

siew
09-03-2007, 09:33 PM
hurm,
mostly ppl here apply for medic
i wanna ask if sum1 out there actually got jpa scholar in other field especially for architecture?
i heard tat chances to get a scholarship in this field is kinda slim. and does all bond is 10 years?...or medic only?

how do jpa works actually?...we apply for jpa..then they will send u to any uni..or we apply a place in that uni..then apply jpa to sponsor us.....
im asking tiz bcoz i heard lots of different stories...so im not hwo it works

hi

i have a friend who is studying architecture in uni. of auckland under the jpa scholarship.. and i know another friend who's studying in RMIT, aussie. I am not so sure about the chances of getting this scholarship, nor do I know about the duration of the bond.

--------------------------------------------------------

About the JPA scholarship ->

You have to secure a scholarship from JPA first - They send you to some Pre-Uni programme -> When your Pre-Uni is ending, you apply to the unis -> Results released -> Uni offers come in -> Meet up with JPA -> They will determine whether you have meet their cut off point and will select a uni for you. (So, it doesnt mean if you have got a scholarship, means you are 100% guaranteed a scholarship in uni. Poor performance at Pre-Uni stage may lose you the scholarship)

About University selections:

About the choice of university thingy, it depends on what course you are selected for. For scholars who are studying popular/highly competitive courses eg Medicine / Dentistry / Pharmacy, normally they get to choose whichever uni they want. However, things like this can always change as sometimes you may not even get the offer from ur ideal university due to other factors eg late release of your result , resulting to having your sponsor deciding on whichever offer you got first. :P

For scholars like me who are offered science & technology or engineering, normally we are given the choice to apply to 2-3 universities that we plan/want to go to. When the offers come in, we will send them to JPA and they will select for us. However, if you apply through any appointed education agent, they will do the submissions for you. So, JPA do select the unis for you. That's why it's very important for you to choose which uni to apply to so you wont end up in some uni that you dont want.

siew
09-03-2007, 10:01 PM
oh btw, why trash jpa scholarship?

yea, altho there are other scholarship who offer far better conditions (no bonds, etc), at least when it comes to JPA, you are only competing with fellow Malaysians.

About the other scholarships, you are actually competing with people world wide.

>.<"

Competing with citizens of a nation is enough. It's worse when you have to run against the cream of the crop from different countries who wants the scholarship as much as you do.

10-03-2007, 10:24 AM

and any comments on Med in Russia? i'm really not that familar with these countries.... the countries we've ever heard of are Ireland, UK and Australia mostly.]

Well I think you'll have to learn their language...I've got a friend who's planning to go to Russia, he says he's got to master Russian in order to communicate with the patients...Btw, are we supposed to learn Irish if we do med in Ireland?

Tasslehoff
10-03-2007, 11:10 AM
oh btw, why trash jpa scholarship?

yea, altho there are other scholarship who offer far better conditions (no bonds, etc), at least when it comes to JPA, you are only competing with fellow Malaysians.

About the other scholarships, you are actually competing with people world wide.

>.<"

Competing with citizens of a nation is enough. It's worse when you have to run against the cream of the crop from different countries who wants the scholarship as much as you do.

well theres alot of good reasons for that..

for some people, other scholarships are relatively easier to obtain... (since they practice a fair and just way of selecting thier scholars, unlike jpa) so it really depends...

*note: not everyone is as lucky as you are to obtain the JPA scholarship... even those with straight A1s*

Patrick
10-03-2007, 11:46 AM

and any comments on Med in Russia? i'm really not that familar with these countries.... the countries we've ever heard of are Ireland, UK and Australia mostly.]

Well I think you'll have to learn their language...I've got a friend who's planning to go to Russia, he says he's got to master Russian in order to communicate with the patients...Btw, are we supposed to learn Irish if we do med in Ireland?

Uhm, in my college, those who fail to gain admission into UK, Irish, or Australian universities only go for the Czech Republic. Basically, it's the last resort for the students....

If you wanna go to the Czech Republic, you don't have to learn their language because the course is conducted in English. However, during your practicals, I think that you'll need a decent command of their language as you will have to communicate with the patients there.

sleep_walkerz
11-03-2007, 02:05 AM
hi

i have a friend who is studying architecture in uni. of auckland under the jpa scholarship.. and i know another friend who's studying in RMIT, aussie. I am not so sure about the chances of getting this scholarship, nor do I know about the duration of the bond.

--------------------------------------------------------

About the JPA scholarship ->

You have to secure a scholarship from JPA first - They send you to some Pre-Uni programme -> When your Pre-Uni is ending, you apply to the unis -> Results released -> Uni offers come in -> Meet up with JPA -> They will determine whether you have meet their cut off point and will select a uni for you. (So, it doesnt mean if you have got a scholarship, means you are 100% guaranteed a scholarship in uni. Poor performance at Pre-Uni stage may lose you the scholarship)

About University selections:

About the choice of university thingy, it depends on what course you are selected for. For scholars who are studying popular/highly competitive courses eg Medicine / Dentistry / Pharmacy, normally they get to choose whichever uni they want. However, things like this can always change as sometimes you may not even get the offer from ur ideal university due to other factors eg late release of your result , resulting to having your sponsor deciding on whichever offer you got first. :P

For scholars like me who are offered science & technology or engineering, normally we are given the choice to apply to 2-3 universities that we plan/want to go to. When the offers come in, we will send them to JPA and they will select for us. However, if you apply through any appointed education agent, they will do the submissions for you. So, JPA do select the unis for you. That's why it's very important for you to choose which uni to apply to so you wont end up in some uni that you dont want.

big thanks on thiz!!!! * hugs*
but when we doenst reach their requirement on the pre-uni stage, will they ask back for refund?
so the selection of university is sumthing to think after ur pre-uni la?
thanks again for the above!..

Jyl
12-03-2007, 06:09 PM
Hey guys! I got my SPM results today and ...............i got B in BM (straight As in others ) !!!!! Well, there goes my JPA dream....no more...........

12-03-2007, 09:31 PM
Sorry to say that for medicine, JPA is almost the only available scholarship for non-bumi, though there is another Petronas which chance is almost zero....

prophecus
15-03-2007, 12:52 AM
how bout German engineering program? although jpa say u can go study at intec for 30 months before going abroard, but if you are selected among the selected one you can get a much shorter prep program at kbu for only 18 months, 6 months language (german n BI) course and another 12 for ausmat. currently there are 19 students studying in KBU bound to Germany. I heard that jpa will send students to kbu every year instead of one batch for 2 years. so grab the chances esp girls.. so few take engineering courses... :roll:

15-03-2007, 01:11 AM
how bout German engineering program? although jpa say u can go study at intec for 30 months before going abroard, but if you are selected among the selected one you can get a much shorter prep program at kbu for only 18 months, 6 months language (german n BI) course and another 12 for ausmat. currently there are 19 students studying in KBU bound to Germany. I heard that jpa will send students to kbu every year instead of one batch for 2 years. so grab the chances esp girls.. so few take engineering courses... :roll:JPA also send students from INTEC to Germany each year...

windhoe2
16-03-2007, 05:58 AM

In Ireland,we dont need to learn Irish as all people here are speaking english.Have been here for 2 years, very seldom hearing Irish. I can say it is almost simliar to UK :)

awesomeming
16-03-2007, 07:33 AM
Is it possible for me to apply Law, even though I'm a pure science student, meaning that i don't take subjects like ekonomi asas, etc?

bush
16-03-2007, 08:24 AM
Is it possible for me to apply Law, even though I'm a pure science student, meaning that i don't take subjects like ekonomi asas, etc?

scholarship or what?

16-03-2007, 08:55 AM

In Ireland,we dont need to learn Irish as all people here are speaking english.Have been here for 2 years, very seldom hearing Irish. I can say it is almost simliar to UK :)

What are the Irish universities that jpa scholars usually go to?Royal College of Surgeons?

16-03-2007, 09:17 AM
If you're talking about JPA scholarship, sorry, you can't. You will be disqualified automatically by computer if you do not meet the requirements.

zell_ll
16-03-2007, 09:32 AM
What are the Irish universities that jpa scholars usually go to?Royal College of Surgeons?

Yup, RCSI, University College Dublin, University of Galway, Cork...

Appolo
16-03-2007, 09:50 AM
If you're talking about JPA scholarship, sorry, you can't. You will be disqualified automatically by computer if you do not meet the requirements.

Yup, that's what happen to the guy who applied for economics last(forgot his name though, he is the top scorer for the learning disabled).

However, I heard last year that there are a bunch of students who failed to meet the basic requirement(B3 for moral) and yet they still go the interview.I got a friend who got B3 in BM and he got the scholarship after appeal.

WEIRD,huh, the way jpa works.

windhoe2
16-03-2007, 02:12 PM

all universities recognized by malaysia government

RCSI (twinning programme only for JPA, MARA can be FULL course as the cost is very expensive) and other four local universities
(Uni college Dublin,Galway, U.C.Cork and finally Trinity College Dublin)

I study in Trinity College Dublin right now ( It is shown as university of Dublin in the recognisation list)

Twinning programme is usually among U.college Dublin and RCSI only.

For your information, the local IUMC (Irish Uni Agent) has reserved most of the places allocated to MARA scholarship holders ( side note only)

Skynode
16-03-2007, 02:33 PM
Sorry to say that for medicine, JPA is almost the only available scholarship for non-bumi, though there is another Petronas which chance is almost zero....

I am in 90% of agreement with you... Past experience and historical data are good teachers... Lolz... My advice to the non-bumi's with excellent results is to give your very best in the PSD scholarship application.
All the best, dudes...!

mushi
16-03-2007, 04:55 PM
what do u guys think about this course (agriculture science)?? :?:

do u guys think that there will be a job in Malaysia after u graduate from this course???

16-03-2007, 11:41 PM

do u guys think that there will be a job in Malaysia after u graduate from this course???the government is focusing on agriculture as the next course of development...

Appolo
17-03-2007, 11:13 AM

do u guys think that there will be a job in Malaysia after u graduate from this course???

Are you trying to apply JPA for this course.The course is not as well-endorsed by students who thought that agricultural science= farmers.

The number of scholarship allocated for such subject is very limited.I heard that last year, only three to six were offered the scholarship to study under the subject.I'm not sure whether that's the only number of scholarship offered for the course or it's because of low acceptance by the students.

Agricultural science does not entirely resolves around biology.As a matter of fact, it requires a lot of business skills that are a part of the course outline.

mushi
17-03-2007, 10:32 PM
to : vseehua & appolo

THANKS for ur info!!!!

ya, u r rite .... i'm thinking of choosing the course ....
a lot of ppls is asking me whether i want to do medicine (since my 2006 spm result is not bad)but i guess i'm following my interest...

once again, thanks guys !!!!

chriistney
18-03-2007, 09:29 PM
help!

regarding the JPA scholarship, it stated there that we could change the information for only three times rite? but everytime i visited the website it stated there that i had change the information there but actually i didnt do anything.

the problem now is that it stated there that i have change the particulars for more then 3 times , would my application be rejected?

Leen
19-03-2007, 02:08 AM
help!

regarding the JPA scholarship, it stated there that we could change the information for only three times rite? but everytime i visited the website it stated there that i had change the information there but actually i didnt do anything.

the problem now is that it stated there that i have change the particulars for more then 3 times , would my application be rejected?

If you don't want to be rejected, then double check, triple check, 1000^100 times check before you click the button "send". Don't cry over spilled milk.

If it is a glitch from a lagging computer or just plain technical problem, contact JPA and tell them the real situation.

22-03-2007, 02:35 PM
For jpa, how should we dress for the hospital visit n also the interview?

22-03-2007, 02:36 PM
For jpa, how should we dress for the hospital visit n also the interview?i am not sure, but it will most probably be formal... the dress code will be stated in the letter sent you by jpa afterwards...

23-03-2007, 10:08 AM
For jpa, how should we dress for the hospital visit n also the interview?
Interview of course needs to be formal, for hospital visits, it depends on the hospital.

23-03-2007, 10:12 AM
For jpa, how should we dress for the hospital visit n also the interview?i am not sure, but it will most probably be formal... the dress code will be stated in the letter sent you by jpa afterwards...
U mean we'll be getting a letter? I thought we just had to check our account at esila...

23-03-2007, 10:15 AM
U mean we'll be getting a letter? I thought we just had to check our account at esila...From what i had read from the Star, there will be a letter... But to be sure, you can check esila when the time comes...

23-03-2007, 11:35 AM
U mean we'll be getting a letter? I thought we just had to check our account at esila...From what i had read from the Star, there will be a letter... But to be sure, you can check esila when the time comes...
For last year, there were letters for hospital visits, but no letter for interviews, you've to check it online and print it out. So, check from time to time, last year the shortlisted candidates got to know after the second day of hospital visit (of course check it yourself at home).

23-03-2007, 03:31 PM
hey all.

For JPA, do we get to choose our preferred country during the interview?

For engineering, which country is better, UK/US/AUSTRALIA?

And which one is the fastest way? UK/US/AUSTRALIA?

And where do they normally send us for pre-u?

Leen
23-03-2007, 08:52 PM
hey all.

I don't know about this year's application but we did not get to choose our preferred country during the interview.

There is not "the BEST country" for engineering. Every countries has its own advantages, I'll say.

Fastest way?
I have not known any A Level student in INTEC doing engineering, so umm....??
For Australia, 18 months pre-u 4 years Australia
For US (JPA)

ACTP 18 months pre-u 4 years US
or
ACTP 1 year pre-u, 2 years degree local, 2 year transfer US

To go for the first option, you need to enter the 17/18 schools that JPA had listed. If you don't get any one of them, then you will be in INTEC(if you go to INTEC)

Well, JPA keeps changing its policy so I can't be sure as well.

Usually, JPA will send most of the students to INTEC.

cheryl_c2x
23-03-2007, 11:38 PM
hi all, i'm new here :D
i applied for veterinary science and i got 11A1s and an A2 for chinese in my spm. do u think my chances are ok? coz vet science aint a very popular course, n my parents are both civil servants (teachers) :P thanks

24-03-2007, 12:09 AM
hey all.

1. No
2. No such thing as best country
3. You want to learn or you want to gobble in everything only to puke them out later?
4. Banting, INTEC, and some private colleges...

and lastly, I hope there are no more questions about chances of getting this and that. Get your ass moving and work for it...

groundum
26-03-2007, 01:45 AM
hi all, i'm new here :D
i applied for veterinary science and i got 11A1s and an A2 for chinese in my spm. do u think my chances are ok? coz vet science aint a very popular course, n my parents are both civil servants (teachers) :P thanks

ah..1st time heard abt ppl applying VET for JPA..are u sure u r interested in tis field? dunt choose it jus for the sake of getting JPA..it is ur FUTURE..

and i dun think they really care if ur parents are teacher or watsoever.
my friend...2 yrs ago scored 12a1, involved in msspp, both her parents are also TEACHERS..she didnt mange to get JPA aso..
so i dun think our parents' job have much influence on it

btw...any1 applying BIOTECH tis yr??

26-03-2007, 03:28 AM
ah..1st time heard abt ppl applying VET for JPA..are u sure u r interested in tis field? dunt choose it jus for the sake of getting JPA..it is ur FUTURE..why? is being a vet so strange?

i'd say, go for your dreams...

-celest-
26-03-2007, 10:43 AM
Hi, this is my first post :D I got 10A1s, 3A2s and a B3 for chinese in my SPM. I applied for Actuarial Science. U guys think I can get it?

26-03-2007, 01:18 PM
Hi, this is my first post :D I got 10A1s, 3A2s and a B3 for chinese in my SPM. I applied for Actuarial Science. U guys think I can get it?how about doing your best if you are selected for the interview instead of asking for your chances of getting this and that?

26-03-2007, 01:26 PM
[quote=syamil_1]hey all.

or

To go for the first option, you need to enter the 17/18 schools that JPA had listed. If you don't get any one of them, then you will be in INTEC(if you go to INTEC).

thanks leen and vseehua. Leen, what do u mean by 17/18 school? our secondary school or what?

Appolo
26-03-2007, 07:20 PM
[quote=syamil_1]hey all.

or

To go for the first option, you need to enter the 17/18 schools that JPA had listed. If you don't get any one of them, then you will be in INTEC(if you go to INTEC).

thanks leen and vseehua. Leen, what do u mean by 17/18 school? our secondary school or what?

I think Leen is refering to the ivys and ivy league standard universities approved by JPA.Most of these universities are top notch institues in US that offer limited place for Malaysia students.

These are some of the 17/18 universities:
ivy league
harvard
princeton
yale
darmouth(I think jpa refuse to send students there)
cornell
upenn
brown......

ivy league standard
mit
uc berkeley
northwestern
carniege mellon
duke
michigan ann arbor
washington seattle
john hopkins
caltech
wellseley.......

Kyle
26-03-2007, 09:17 PM
[quote="Miracle_seed"]This is not an official news, but some reliable sources said that JPA will be sending students to Poland doing Medicine starting this year, means SPM 2006 batch will most probably be the pioneer batch ...

And also, I think out of about 60++ places per country, about 10-15 allocated for non-Bumis, and of course, the places decrease with the increasing cost of the country.....quote]

just out of curiousity (my 1st post!), is it true dat 4 jpa they pick oni da straight a1 student? well i applied 4 medicine BUT i obtained a b3 4 est :( so wat are da chances, at 1st i dun really care whether they REALLY look on to da result but seeing other posts, i find dat da path 2 be a doc only for those straight a1 ppl 8O n its sooo limited!

so tell me more especially those who get jpa sch. n not straight a's...

ps. im VERY (even in F5!) active in my coco stuff n had represented da state 4 a science com n can talk quite well...but seeing a b3 4 my result kinda shattered my hopes but still i'll try my best!...hmmmm so tell me ur opinion! TQ

cheryl_c2x
26-03-2007, 09:17 PM
ah..1st time heard abt ppl applying VET for JPA..are u sure u r interested in tis field? dunt choose it jus for the sake of getting JPA..it is ur FUTURE..why? is being a vet so strange?

hahaz...thx. i admit that it's quite an unusual field coz mostly ppl juz wanna study medicine, pharmacy, actuarial science, accounting etc. but in all sincerity, i really love animals and i'm not applyin this juz coz i wanna get a jpa scholarship to study overseas. i noe some ppl say it's disgusting and all that, but i'll cope *fingers crossed*...hahaz :) . besides, doctors aren't the only ppl who can save lives. fyi, i innitially did think of applying law but i din take accounts/ econs/ commerce. well, vet science was my first love anyway...lol. i hv a question....why do so many ppl wanna become doctors anyway :?:

groundum
26-03-2007, 11:45 PM
noble job, i suppose?
earn $$ ?
save ppl?

just my humble opinion, i do think movie drama such as CSI do have much influenced on their decision, that s y 2mr those who applied for MEDIC will have to visit the hospital such as MORTUARY, the main point is to let them realise that JOB OF A DOCTOR is not a bed of roses anyway..

haiz...my friends, many are aiming JPA medic..WHOLE WORLD wan MEDiC ,LOL

groundum
26-03-2007, 11:47 PM
[quote=Miracle_seed]This is not an official news, but some reliable sources said that JPA will be sending students to Poland doing Medicine starting this year, means SPM 2006 batch will most probably be the pioneer batch ...

And also, I think out of about 60++ places per country, about 10-15 allocated for non-Bumis, and of course, the places decrease with the increasing cost of the country.....quote]

just out of curiousity (my 1st post!), is it true dat 4 jpa they pick oni da straight a1 student? well i applied 4 medicine BUT i obtained a b3 4 est :( so wat are da chances, at 1st i dun really care whether they REALLY look on to da result but seeing other posts, i find dat da path 2 be a doc only for those straight a1 ppl 8O n its sooo limited!

ps. im VERY (even in F5!) active in my coco stuff n had represented da state 4 a science com n can talk quite well...but seeing a b3 4 my result kinda shattered my hopes but still i'll try my best!...hmmmm so tell me ur opinion! TQ

kyle u r from penang too..wat is ur school ? CLHS?

27-03-2007, 02:19 AM

ps. im VERY (even in F5!) active in my coco stuff n had represented da state 4 a science com n can talk quite well...but seeing a b3 4 my result kinda shattered my hopes but still i'll try my best!...hmmmm so tell me ur opinion! TQThere are many instances that people without straight As got their JPA in the end, as you might had read from the forums...

27-03-2007, 03:45 PM
[quote=Miracle_seed]This is not an official news, but some reliable sources said that JPA will be sending students to Poland doing Medicine starting this year, means SPM 2006 batch will most probably be the pioneer batch ...

Well, there're actually quite a number of non-Bumi getting JPA scholarships without straight A1s, some without straight As, even for medicine. But for your information, those who got medicine are mostly straight A1 students, and if they're not, they have more than 11 subjects, say, 11A1,1A2 or 12A1,1B3 etc....

Kyle
28-03-2007, 06:50 PM
[quote="Kyle"][quote=Miracle_seed]kyle u r from penang too..wat is ur school ? CLHS?

no but definately Verrryyy near 2 tis school... :o

cheryl_c2x
30-03-2007, 12:55 AM
hahaz..i'm from penang too

30-03-2007, 10:26 AM

Well, there're actually quite a number of non-Bumi getting JPA scholarships without straight A1s, some without straight As, even for medicine. But for your information, those who got medicine are mostly straight A1 students, and if they're not, they have more than 11 subjects, say, 11A1,1A2 or 12A1,1B3 etc....
But usually for students with more than 11A1 but have an A2 or B3, is it possible for them to get medical courses in countries like Australia or Ireland? Have you ever heard of anyone with, say 13A1 and 1A2 getting medicine in Australia?

pikachiu
30-03-2007, 02:54 PM
What is penyata pendapatan tahunan(borang E)?Do we have 2 bring it apart from slip gaji?
3 april 2007.2p.m.Sibu
Anyone same as me?Urgent!!!

ericjoe
30-03-2007, 04:14 PM
What is penyata pendapatan tahunan(borang E)?Do we have 2 bring it apart from slip gaji?
3 april 2007.2p.m.Sibu
Anyone same as me?Urgent!!!

dear pokemon fan,

1st you must be calm now.....just now you seems 2 be so eager 2 know who will have the same interview session woth you..

2nd it is advisable 2 bring E form and salaray slip..

30-03-2007, 08:05 PM
But usually for students with more than 11A1 but have an A2 or B3, is it possible for them to get medical courses in countries like Australia or Ireland? Have you ever heard of anyone with, say 13A1 and 1A2 getting medicine in Australia?There are a lot who got JPA scholarship with worse results than yours... so why not?

szze
30-03-2007, 08:29 PM
i hear nothing about canada.. can anyone who knows anything or any advice bout applyin to canada to share with me?

30-03-2007, 09:30 PM
But usually for students with more than 11A1 but have an A2 or B3, is it possible for them to get medical courses in countries like Australia or Ireland? Have you ever heard of anyone with, say 13A1 and 1A2 getting medicine in Australia?
Hmm.... I'm not sure..... But there was a case last year, where a girl got about 15-16A with an A2 (EST if I'm not mistaken, and she took Tasawuf Islam too) jumped to the media durig the day when the results are released. She said: "I'm afraid I can't secure the scholarship with an A2....." Then the MP of her place stood out and helped her, and she got UK for medicine (no more this year). Why I know? Because she thanked him afterwards, through media too....

Hmm...... See how can political power work? And my friend told me, his friend got medicine in Australia, without straight A1, the suspected reason is : His father works with the MP of his area, who is a minister. Get it?

limeuu
30-03-2007, 09:34 PM
Hmm.... I'm not sure..... But there was a case last year, where a girl got about 15-16A with an A2 (EST if I'm not mistaken, and she took Tasawuf Islam too) jumped to the media durig the day when the results are released. She said: "I'm afraid I can't secure the scholarship with an A2....." Then the MP of her place stood out and helped her, and she got UK for medicine (no more this year). Why I know? Because she thanked him afterwards, through media too....

Hmm...... See how can political power work? And my friend told me, his friend got medicine in Australia, without straight A1, the suspected reason is : His father works with the MP of his area, who is a minister. Get it?

that is what happens when the process is opaque...........no transparency, so nobody really knows how the selection is done...........but then, this is the modus operandi of everything malaysian isn't it?................

everything can be "adjusted".................... :x

mushi
04-04-2007, 08:57 PM
er.... need some help here ....

Does anyone know which universities around the world, for instance, in US and AUS are popular in offering agriculture courses ?? :?:

thanks in advance!! :!:

dannyler22
06-04-2007, 12:38 AM
i've seen melbourne offering many agriculture courses..

maybe new zealand better.. lot's of hands on.. coz they r less dense in population and they hav many green pastures..

jz plain geography.. no backup info.. sry for any wrong info..

yuchengkia
06-04-2007, 02:00 AM
hi..anyone out there taking pinjaman boleh ubah and/or have alr graduated with UK pharmacy degree ?

I am a UK pharmacy student sponsored by JPA under pinjaman boleh ubah. I would like to find out what option do I have after graduation. Do i get 75% discount for degree 2:2 and above or can I convert to scholarship ?

Is there anyway I can postposne my return so that I can do my pre-registration here in UK?

many thanks.

06-04-2007, 02:10 AM
hi..anyone out there taking pinjaman boleh ubah and/or have alr graduated with UK pharmacy degree ?

I am a UK pharmacy student sponsored by JPA under pinjaman boleh ubah. I would like to find out what option do I have after graduation. Do i get 75% discount for degree 2:2 and above or can I convert to scholarship ?

Is there anyway I can postposne my return so that I can do my pre-registration here in UK?

many thanks.

sorry i cant answer ur question, but how did u get the pinjaman boleh ubah???

did u apply?

coz i'm preparing a safety net if i didnt get any scholarship...

mushi
06-04-2007, 12:14 PM
Thanks dannyler22 for ur info...
about the university of melb, this year is actually their last year intake for Bachelor of Agricultural Science. So, gotta look for other uni...

20-04-2007, 10:21 AM

hahaz...thx. i admit that it's quite an unusual field coz mostly ppl juz wanna study medicine, pharmacy, actuarial science, accounting etc. but in all sincerity, i really love animals and i'm not applyin this juz coz i wanna get a jpa scholarship to study overseas. i noe some ppl say it's disgusting and all that, but i'll cope *fingers crossed*...hahaz :) . besides, doctors aren't the only ppl who can save lives. fyi, i innitially did think of applying law but i din take accounts/ econs/ commerce. well, vet science was my first love anyway...lol. i hv a question....why do so many ppl wanna become doctors anyway :?:

good .. go for ur dream.. why do so many ppl wanna become doctors ? yea... I wan to noe, too. WHY ?

20-04-2007, 12:16 PM
good .. go for ur dream.. why do so many ppl wanna become doctors ? yea... I wan to noe, too. WHY ?
Some are because of passions.... But the other reasons are : parents' choice, glamour, and another silly one:

"My results is good, and I don't have particular interest, so it's natural for me to apply medicine, sine most top scorers are after medicine......"

20-04-2007, 12:32 PM
Some are because of passions.... But the other reasons are : parents' choice, glamour, and another silly one:

"My results is good, and I don't have particular interest, so it's natural for me to apply medicine, sine most top scorers are after medicine......"
u VOICED OUT wat I wan to say dear...
passion? haiz..

and now many r forcing me ( in a way.. ) to choose medic ( they said "since u gt matriks must go for medic if nt very waste" (direct translate frm chinse ) ) tat's how... how annoying... I wanted civil engineering or something like architectural engineering bt they said this is too easy n too many... so I move reverse - to choose chemical or electrical engineering.. now they wan me to choose medic... how how how dear...

20-04-2007, 02:59 PM
and now many r forcing me ( in a way.. ) to choose medic ( they said "since u gt matriks must go for medic if nt very waste" (direct translate frm chinse ) ) tat's how... how annoying... I wanted civil engineering or something like architectural engineering bt they said this is too easy n too many... so I move reverse - to choose chemical or electrical engineering.. now they wan me to choose medic... how how how dear...
May I know who force you if you don't mind to tell?

Anyway, just shrug them off. If you're not interested in medicine, no point spending your precious time for course that you don't want. You might regret some day, and leave the field, wasting your 8 years time (5-year course + 3-year government service). Again, I've to write this again : it is you who are suffering if you have no passion in your course, not them who simply voice and decide others' future. Plus, you're clear interest now, there's no poit following what others said. Next time, if someone still suggest you to take medicine instead of engineering, voice out loud : IT'S MY FUTURE, I CAN DECIDE MYSELF. DON'T INTERVENE IF YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ME. IT'S MY FUTURE, NOT YOURS, IT'S ME WHO'S GOING TO SUFFER IF I CHOSE A WRONG COURSE, NOT YOU! SO KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT I WANT"

Sorry for posting on capital letters but this seems a better way to emphasize.

20-04-2007, 03:19 PM
emm .. my dad let me to decide myself... althou he is the one changing my direction frm architectural to E&E n chemical enginering.... my mum .. she is lestening to everyone. . and "everyone" is saying how good medic is.. so automatically... u noe wat I meant... then... and when I tel her I dun like medic.. she blame tat it is bcoz I dun hv expose in the field.. but it is nt.. dunno how le... but actually I hv wide interests.. bio tech oso work for me... I love to create something new... and researching... designing oso nt bad !

THANK YOU !!! ( <<<emphazise in capital letter.. )

20-04-2007, 03:36 PM
emm .. my dad let me to decide myself... althou he is the one changing my direction frm architectural to E&E n chemical enginering.... my mum .. she is lestening to everyone. . and "everyone" is saying how good medic is.. so automatically... u noe wat I meant... then... and when I tel her I dun like medic.. she blame tat it is bcoz I dun hv expose in the field.. but it is nt.. dunno how le... but actually I hv wide interests.. bio tech oso work for me... I love to create something new... and researching... designing oso nt bad !

THANK YOU !!! ( <<<emphazise in capital letter.. )In this case she's your mother then you should lower you voice but still ask her to let you choose youself since it's a lifetime work....

cheryl_c2x
21-04-2007, 12:25 AM
jetlee, i say GO FOR UR DREAMS too...i noe what u mean...hahaz...if u dun hv the interest then dun do it...i went back to school some time ago to settle some things and my chem teaher asked me wad i wanted to do n i told her vet science. she asked 'what abt doc' n i said no n she said that it was very strange coz ppl wif gd results usually want it n y dun i want it (hahaz actually i din get straight As but got an A2 for chinese but that made me the top scorer in my school anyway...which was kinda unexpected..lol). anyway...wad i'm saying is...dun let other ppl influence you...i noe you got super results rite? 13A1s if i'm not mistaken?
i read in an article in the recess magazine by docotrjob n there was this article abt a guy who wanted to pursue law but his parents wanted him to become a doctor. they went for a counselling session at HELP institute and the guy finally agreed to study med. however he failed almost every paper and his parents had to take him out n let him pursue law. in the end he did really well in it. even though a person has really amazing results but doesnt have the interest n passion he wont do well too...don't u think so?
anyway...i hate ppl who dont stand for themselves n juz follow what other ppl say even though they dont like doing it :evil: ...rite? hahaz...good luck!

yhc
21-04-2007, 01:10 AM
yea, cheryl_c2x, you are right that we should pursue what we are really interested in and not being influenced by others. Our decisions will lead the path to our future, and we dont hope to waste our precious time ...

cheryl_c2x
21-04-2007, 01:29 AM
hahaz...thanks :D

21-04-2007, 01:00 PM

THANK YOU !!! ( <<<emphazise in capital letter.. )In this case she's your mother then you should lower you voice but still ask her to let you choose youself since it's a lifetime work....

yes I do.. .so I think even now she 's still banyak cakap... but at least not forcing edy... there r others who r reli bising... bt I think tat doesnt matter... I juz do wat I wan. and NOTHING RELATED to them. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

21-04-2007, 01:02 PM
jetlee, i say GO FOR UR DREAMS too...i noe what u mean...hahaz...if u dun hv the interest then dun do it...i went back to school some time ago to settle some things and my chem teaher asked me wad i wanted to do n i told her vet science. she asked 'what abt doc' n i said no n she said that it was very strange coz ppl wif gd results usually want it n y dun i want it (hahaz actually i din get straight As but got an A2 for chinese but that made me the top scorer in my school anyway...which was kinda unexpected..lol). anyway...wad i'm saying is...dun let other ppl influence you...i noe you got super results rite? 13A1s if i'm not mistaken?
i read in an article in the recess magazine by docotrjob n there was this article abt a guy who wanted to pursue law but his parents wanted him to become a doctor. they went for a counselling session at HELP institute and the guy finally agreed to study med. however he failed almost every paper and his parents had to take him out n let him pursue law. in the end he did really well in it. even though a person has really amazing results but doesnt have the interest n passion he wont do well too...don't u think so?
anyway...i hate ppl who dont stand for themselves n juz follow what other ppl say even though they dont like doing it :evil: ...rite? hahaz...good luck!
Thanks cheryl... emmm... no, I'm nt straight A1s... I gt A2 for chinese too... so 12 A1 onli... but tat make me the top scorer in the school too... haha... so mayb we r in d same condition , huh ? so... ALL THE BEST loh~
gambateh :!: :!: :!:

cheryl_c2x
21-04-2007, 03:38 PM
Thanks cheryl... emmm... no, I'm nt straight A1s... I gt A2 for chinese too... so 12 A1 onli... but tat make me the top scorer in the school too... haha... so mayb we r in d same condition , huh ? so... ALL THE BEST loh~
gambateh :!: :!: :!:

oic...hahaz you took accounts as an extra sub? i din take accounts coz i dun like it...all those debit credit buku tunai stuff.... =.=...hahaz. i think it's great that ur mum's not really forcing you anymore...but i guess i can see from their point of view too...they wan their son to chu ren tou din n be successful in life wad. a lot of ppl hv this misconception that medicine is the only noble n lucrative field huh...anyway...yea...don care wad other ppl say :twisted:
ALL THE BEST TO YOU TOO!!! :D

21-04-2007, 08:39 PM
you can still do research with a medicine degree.

21-04-2007, 11:09 PM
you can still do research with a medicine degree.yea... but places nt enuf... dunno... mayb going for physics will be my reli LIKING.. dunno

21-04-2007, 11:11 PM
cheryl... u didnt take extra subs ? I took account and art... account quite interesting, n easy at d level of SPM... while ART is reli one of my interest... haha... thanks, again. cheryl n seed seed

hamburger
22-04-2007, 12:36 AM
cheryl... u didnt take extra subs ? I took account and art... account quite interesting, n easy at d level of SPM... while ART is reli one of my interest... haha... thanks, again. cheryl n seed seed
yayayayaya
art is sooooooo nice yeah.....!

22-04-2007, 10:07 PM
yayayayaya
oh.. u took ART in spm too ?

Shannon
22-04-2007, 10:39 PM

Hear hear! Lol...I'm going for Vet Science too...Haha...And yeah, I truly agree: GO FOR YOUR DREAMS!!! Its most important to go for the course you're most interested and have the most passion in. I get that all the time too, " Why don't want to go for med? Why take Vet Science?" Agreed...Most people expect that students with good results will take up med, and not some less popular one like Vet Science. But then again, it all comes down to what I'm most interested in, and which field I think I'll be able to really excel in the future.

So, you shouldn't let anyone influence your decision, you should just pursue what you feel you're truly passionate in. Good luck! :D

yhc
22-04-2007, 11:33 PM
yayayayaya
oh.. u took ART in spm too ?

i took art too, ...yeah i agree, art is so nice and so much fun with it...

cj6455
22-04-2007, 11:43 PM
is the jpa schoalarship itself would sponsor fully our expenses abroad?
how many they give ?is it enough 4 basic life?
aft coming bac, how many year act we bond wit them, is it 10 o according to amount of year we study oversea??/

can somebody post some comment.......thnks in advance :wink:

yhc
22-04-2007, 11:51 PM
aft coming bac, how many year act we bond wit them, is it 10 o according to amount of year we study oversea??/

Well, i would like to know the answers for the first three questions too..
as i know, 10 years bond for medicine, and 6 years for others... am i right?

thanks in advance. :D

cheryl_c2x
23-04-2007, 12:01 AM

Hear hear! Lol...I'm going for Vet Science too...Haha...And yeah, I truly agree: GO FOR YOUR DREAMS!!! Its most important to go for the course you're most interested and have the most passion in. I get that all the time too, " Why don't want to go for med? Why take Vet Science?" Agreed...Most people expect that students with good results will take up med, and not some less popular one like Vet Science. But then again, it all comes down to what I'm most interested in, and which field I think I'll be able to really excel in the future.

So, you shouldn't let anyone influence your decision, you should just pursue what you feel you're truly passionate in. Good luck! :D

hi shannon...hahaz i finally meet someone who has the same interest as me...mostly ppl here talk abt med, engineering, actuarial science, biotech etc...hehez. nice to meet ya! which country didja choose durin the interview? i chose aussie...really hope to get it. i totally agree wid ya...some ppl even gv me weird looks when i tell them that i wanna do vet science...sigh...oh well, let's see who'll have the last laugh...lol. so what didja get for ur spm? surely good results rite...coz ppl oso want you to do medicine...hahaz
best of luck to ya! hahaz hope we both get it then we'll be able to meet each other :)

cheryl_c2x
23-04-2007, 12:02 AM

muahahaa....you always create names for our seedy...lol...btw is seedy a guy/gal?

cheryl_c2x
23-04-2007, 12:08 AM

hey...my cousin's doin her engineering diploma in japan currently...what i wanna say is..lol she gets more than enough for expenses...seriously. it's abt rm4000 a month....seriously some ppl who work dun even get that much. she's not living in big towns like tokyo so the cost of living is not that high anyway. but she saves also...i mean a lot of ppl who suddenly find themselves with so much money juz cant control...but u really gotta save. with that money she can come back once a year...sometimes even twice...and she buys us lotsa stuff :)
i noe med's bond is 10 yrs, pharmacy, vet 6 yrs. i dunno abt the rest tho
hope this is helpful...hehe

cj6455
23-04-2007, 12:22 AM

hey...my cousin's doin her engineering diploma in japan currently...what i wanna say is..lol she gets more than enough for expenses...seriously. it's abt rm4000 a month....seriously some ppl who work dun even get that much. she's not living in big towns like tokyo so the cost of living is not that high anyway. but she saves also...i mean a lot of ppl who suddenly find themselves with so much money juz cant control...but u really gotta save. with that money she can come back once a year...sometimes even twice...and she buys us lotsa stuff :)

thnks 4 telling me...
cheryl_c2x, well actually the scholarship is enough 4 our living cost(like wat u say)...btw its impossible 4 us to live splendidly right?coz we r there 4 study but not fun.....
juz 1 thing i feel tough is the long duartion bond....i think its really a pressure esp 4 some one who like freedom.......imagine 10 year o 6 o whatsoever, its a torture.......haiz

cheryl_c2x
23-04-2007, 12:30 AM

thnks 4 telling me...
cheryl_c2x, well actually the scholarship is enough 4 our living cost(like wat u say)...btw its impossible 4 us to live splendidly right?coz we r there 4 study but not fun.....
juz 1 thing i feel tough is the long duartion bond....i think its really a pressure esp 4 some one who like freedom.......imagine 10 year o 6 o whatsoever, its a torture.......haiz

noprobs...hehez. oh well, dont treat the bond as something that takes ur freedom away..i mean, we shud be super grateful if we get this scholarship rite...think of it as a way of giving back to ur country :wink: . if u really dun wanna be bonded and ur parents can afford then maybe it's better if they send you there?
btw, which course didja choose? if it's med then 10 yrs bond not too bad...coz by then you'll be quite experienced and if you have your own practice the patients will have more faith in you...hahaz

cj6455
23-04-2007, 11:43 PM

thnks 4 telling me...

noprobs...hehez. oh well, dont treat the bond as something that takes ur freedom away..i mean, we shud be super grateful if we get this scholarship rite...think of it as a way of giving back to ur country :wink: . if u really dun wanna be bonded and ur parents can afford then maybe it's better if they send you there?
btw, which course didja choose? if it's med then 10 yrs bond not too bad...coz by then you'll be quite experienced and if you have your own practice the patients will have more faith in you...hahaz

huhu...... ya i somehow agree wit ur point....actually it is good if we get job straight aft graduation....n bonding wit gov will oso help in our future experience........who knows its a turning point in our life....god knows! :wink:

Shannon
24-04-2007, 09:56 PM

hi shannon...hahaz i finally meet someone who has the same interest as me...mostly ppl here talk abt med, engineering, actuarial science, biotech etc...hehez. nice to meet ya! which country didja choose durin the interview? i chose aussie...really hope to get it. i totally agree wid ya...some ppl even gv me weird looks when i tell them that i wanna do vet science...sigh...oh well, let's see who'll have the last laugh...lol. so what didja get for ur spm? surely good results rite...coz ppl oso want you to do medicine...hahaz
best of luck to ya! hahaz hope we both get it then we'll be able to meet each other :)

Lol...Yeah...Finally someone with the same interest...*high five*...You know what? I've never met any aspiring vets face-to-face before...Only through Recom...Well, I'm considering either New Zealand or Aussie...Haha...Yeah...Most of the time, people just blurt out "WHAT?! Vet Science? Why not Med?"

I got 12 A1s and 1 A2. Ok la...Bout the same as you, right? Haha...

Yup, Best of luck to you too...Haha...Hope we'll be able to meet up someday! :D

24-04-2007, 11:47 PM

for JPA scholars who pursue engineering courses in germany, the monthly allowance will be approximately 900++ euro...n i think it should more than sufficient if you are good in your financial management.....pls correct me if i'm wrong... :wink:

25-04-2007, 09:46 AM
JPA bond for medicine and dentistry are 10 years, this one I'm sure. Others are all 6 years, if I'm not mistaken.

25-04-2007, 10:16 AM
the length of jpa bond is dependent on your major...medicine 10 years, engineering 6-7 years etc...I'm a biochem major so the bond is 4-5 years...for US-bound, they cover everything...tuition fees, whatever other school-related fees, housing, boarding and a small allowance...some people complain it's not enough but you can easily work for some extra money...

25-04-2007, 10:27 AM
Sometimes I wonder the term of bonds depend to the demands of the profession in government, rather than the cost of the course. Those going to Indonesia and UK for medicine share the same 10-year bond.

luthien
01-05-2007, 05:01 PM
some people complain it's not enough but you can easily work for some extra money...

we can?

zell_ll
04-05-2007, 01:50 AM
Yes you can, depend whether you have time or not, and are you willing to work??

Personally for me, i think JPA money is enough.. Just plan ur spending, don;t alwiz eat out etc...
Medicine 10 years bond after graduation..or you paid back 'jumlah sebenar yang ditanggung oleh kerajaan'..in large sum...

annlui
04-05-2007, 02:02 AM
JPA bond for medicine and dentistry are 10 years, this one I'm sure. Others are all 6 years, if I'm not mistaken.

yeah, you are right

04-05-2007, 03:31 PM

yeah, you are right

engineering also 6 years?government need engineers for what?may any1 please tell me?