View Full Version : Co-curriculum marks calculation for IPTA entrance

12-01-2007, 10:07 AM
Editted:1st update
I just get the latest co-cu skim yesterday, and I shall make some corrections for easier reference for upper six students out there..Pay attention on the area typed in red-colour :wink:
(pls alwys refer to ur PK koko for latest changes) .....

Introduction.....
Co-curiculum carries 10% in terms of applying IPTA(another 90% is your CGPA).....

3 main categories:
1. Unit Beruniform
2. Persatuan/kelab
3. Sukan dan permainan
4. Program Khidmat Negara(directly given 60/100)

Each categories carries 100 marks.
Marks are given based on:
a) Kehadiran (50%)
a/(b-c)X 50%
a=kehadiran sebenar calon
b=kehadiran yang sepatutnya
c=ketidakhadiran dengan sebab/surat

NOTE:
min number of meetings per year
a)For Unit Beruniform =18
b)For Persatuan/kelab & Sukan dan permainan =12

b) Penglibatan (20%)
-For competition/events
Peringkat.... (%)
a)Sekolah..........................8
b)Zon/Bahagian/Daerah...11
c)Negeri............................14
d)Kebangsaan..................17
e)Antarabangsa................20

c) Pencapaian (20%)

.......................................Johan..........N.Johan..........Ke-3
a)Sekolah..........................8....................7.................6
b)Zon/Bahagian/Daerah...11..................10................9
c)Negeri............................14..................13...............12
d)Kebangsaan..................17..................16...............15
e)Antarabangsa................20..................19...............18

d) Jawatan disandang (10%)

For Badan Beruniform
Pengakap Raja/Pandu Puteri Raja/PW1/Bentara kanan/Sub-Inspektor/Drum Major(ATAU Pangkat2 lain yang setaraf)..........10
PW2/Staf Sarjan/Sarjan Mejar/Ketua Trup/Anugerah Ketua Pesuruhjaya(ATAU Pangkat2 lain yang setaraf).........................8
Sarjan/Penolong Trup/PP Kelas 1/Ketua Platun(ATAU Pangkat2 lain yang setaraf).............................................................................7
Koperal/Lans Koperal/Ketua Patrol/Penolong Ketua Patrol/AJK(ATAU Pangkat2 lain yang setaraf).......................................................5
Pra-persetiaan/Ahli Aktif.............................................................3
Ahli Biasa....................................................................................1

For Kelab/Persatuan and Sukan/Permainan........
Pengerusi/Presiden/Kapten Pasukan/Ketua Pasukan Sukan/Permainan/Ketua Rumah...........10
Naib Pengerusi.......................................8
Setiausaha/Bendahari............................7
AJK.........................................................5
Ahli Aktif.................................................3
Ahli biasa...............................................1

For overall calculation.....
1.sum up the marks in each category.

2. pick 2 of the highest mark categories
a. Unit Beruniform..............80.....(x)(chosen)
b. Persatuan/kelab............70.....(y)(chosen)
c. Sukan dan permainan....65
d. PLKN..............................60(default)

3. Bonus marks......(z)
There're bonus marks for perkhidmatan sekolah and anugerah khas.....
A)Perjawatan Khas Sekolah
1.Ketua Pelajar 1/ketua Pelajar 2..............................10
2.Timbalan/Penolong Ketua Pelajar............................8
3.Ketua/Pengerusi badan-badan perkhidmatan atau pengurusan utama yang ditubuhkan utk membantu sekolah--perpustakaan,surau,kebajikan murid(PRS) dan asrama.......................................................................7
4.Ahli-ahli badan-badan perkhidmatan atau pengurusan utama yang ditubuhkan utk membantu sekolah--pustakawan,pengawas,kebajikan murid(PRS)..........6
5.Ketua/Pengerusi badan2 perkhidmatan atau pengurusan sokongan--Asrama, makanan dan lain2....................5
6.AJK termasuk Penolong Ketua/Pengerusi, Setiausaha, Bendahari bagi badan2 yang tersebut dalam perkara(3 dan 5), ahli2 PRS dan SLAD.........................................................................3
7.Ketua Bilik/Asrama/Kelas.......................................2
8.Penolong Ketua Bilik/Asrama/Kelas.......................1

B)Anugerah Khas
1. Anugerah Remaja Perdana (ARP)
a)Emas.....................10
b)Perak......................7
c)Gangsa....................5
2.Pingat Hang Tuah Kebangsaan/Tunas Jaya Kebangsaan.......10
3.Pencapaian aktiviti kokurikulum di luar negara atas pembiayaan sendiri
a)Johan....................5
b)N.Johan.................3
c)Ketiga....................2
4.Program Nilam.................5
5. Lain2 anugerah yang setara.......5

NOTE:Setiap murid hanya layak menerima satu markah bonus untuk jawatan/anugerah yang tertinggi

4.count the markah purata(without adding the bonus mark)
Markah purata,(MP)=[(x)+(y)]/2

5.Markah Keseluruhan,(MK)=(MP)+bonus mark

Final mark (out of 10% allocated for cocurriculum as required for IPTA entrance criteria)
=(MK)/100X10%

12-01-2007, 10:12 AM
"Jawatan" is surprisingly carries the lightest weightage for the calcutation.....This is to ensure that the system is fair for those who don't get posts in the club/societies they participate. Another explanation is.....They don't want a bunch of "pengerusi" who just enter or create their own club just for the sake of jawatan, but never organise activities or participate in any competition/event.

Thanks goodness, my PK koko said he can approve my certs from my former school.

By the way,the skim may not be accurate, so correct me if I am wrong.....feel free to ask and post any comments on this latest skim. :wink:...and I will update the skim again if there's any change.

Larry
12-01-2007, 08:34 PM
Where do you get such information?

For the bonus mark, there is no mark allocated for caunsellor? It is one of the service groups also.

If the co-cu is really this case, i wonder how many marks will i get? The marks for Pencapaian and penglibatan are really hard to gather.

Let say i am the vice president of Math Society and i represent my school in olympiad physics(example only), can i combine both of them under one so i will get a higher mark? For the previous system, this cant be done.

12-01-2007, 09:21 PM
I've just attended a talk in my school by the PK Ko-ko explaining to us the way our co-curriculum activities will be graded. I didn't take any notes though but I've got the gist of it. Out of 3 activities only the 2 highest ones will be picked and the marks will be counted.

I think the marks for your jawatan, penglibatan, and kehadiran part is correct. I'm not very sure about the pencapaian part though. And ketua kelas gets only 1 mark? That's so low. What bout the other people in the class organization list? Like the assistant monitor, treasurer and others.

My teacher said that stuff like prefect, librarian and such are now categorized into persatuan already and not in the bonus section any more.

Larry, when you say counselor, do you mean PRS (Pembimbing Rakan Sebaya)? In that case, I think it is a persatuan. Penglibatan and pencapaian marks are definitely hard to get. We'll have to look out for certain competitions, camps, seminars and stuff so we can get the cert. My teacher suggested we enter marathons, quizzes and other types of competitions.

Isn't Maths Society usually known as Science and Maths Society? I guess you can combine both so you'll get marks for both jawatan and penglibatan. And you must win either first, second or third place to get marks for pencapaian.

4seasonspring, you're right. Jawatan has the lightest weightage. But people are still telling us we should fight for jawatans whenever possible for the extra few marks

terence_lim
12-01-2007, 09:55 PM
4seasonspring, is this the official scheme made by Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi?

terence_lim
12-01-2007, 10:12 PM
let say one got
80% for pasukan beruniform, and
70% for kelab&persatuan

(80+70)/ 200 x 10 = 7.5

7.5 marks out of 10 marks is pretty low for one to apply for critical courses..

ya, my class teacher told us that this 'pengiraan markah kokurikulum' system has been changed to 'school-based assessment' system, that means PK Gerco will calculate the marks, verify it, and post it to kementerian pengajian tinggi.. but don't know this is true or not..

wendy
13-01-2007, 09:19 AM
Hello! I'm a lil lost here. In my school we're graded according to the above method anually. So in the end, which year would they pick to submit, the latest one?
If it's the latest one(upper 6), then it would not serve to my advantage as i've slowed down in co-co to fully concentrate for STPM. i've got a B..i think,can't remember how much though.

However,my co-co scores durin my form 5 year is preety high...got an A, cos i was preety active then.

So how does the sch pick which year score to submit? Their choice will leave quite a great impact!

YiYang
13-01-2007, 10:05 AM
Quote:"My teacher said that stuff like prefect, librarian and such are now categorized into persatuan already and not in the bonus section any more."

However, my school did calculate the prefect, librarian and such as bonus marks, and I think the categorizing of them into the persatuan system is what I saw in the online application of the last year UPU application.

Imagine if prefects and librarian are categorized as persatuan then what kind of participation and achievement they might get?
"Books arranging champion" internationally or nationally?
Quite weird.

I am not quite sure of this year system though but since many schools have did that I think it might be "school-based" calculation.
I think I saw that on newspaper before too.

13-01-2007, 08:00 PM
It's probably up to your PK Ko-ko whether she wants to accept your marks from your previous school since he/she is the one who is going to verify the certs and all that. I'm starting to think that some schools are more lenient at counting their students' co-co marks. The fact that different people have different ideas about how the marks are counted makes it even more confusing

YiYang
13-01-2007, 11:21 PM
It's probably up to your PK Ko-ko whether she wants to accept your marks from your previous school since he/she is the one who is going to verify the certs and all that. I'm starting to think that some schools are more lenient at counting their students' co-co marks. The fact that different people have different ideas about how the marks are counted makes it even more confusing

However, if all of our PK KoKo attended the same meeting, why is there a deviation in the calculating methods?
It seems that many of us heard different ideas of different PK KoKo's.

On the 20 June 2006 The Star on the page 3 of the National section (N3) Higher Education Management Department director-general Prof. Datuk Dr. Hassan Said stated that
"From next year, however, the Ministry will obtain the marks directly from their schools and institutions."

So it seems that it is a school-based system but then I think it is impossible for every school to have different calculatin system.

carine
14-01-2007, 11:33 PM
for upper 6 students, if you participated in ns and if your marks for any of those 3 is below than 60, you can choose ns mark cause u will get 60 if you participated in ns... :lol:

demonedge
17-01-2007, 01:26 AM
I'm just wondering if I join more than 1 club for each field,will 1 of it be ignored?For example,I get 75% for chess club and 70% for rumah Sukan and for the other 2 fields(kelab/persatuan and unit beruniform) I only get 60% each.Does this mean my rumah sukan points will be ignored?What a waste.....

racheL_cLc
18-01-2007, 10:39 PM
Hello! I'm a lil lost here. In my school we're graded according to the above method anually. So in the end, which year would they pick to submit, the latest one?
If it's the latest one(upper 6), then it would not serve to my advantage as i've slowed down in co-co to fully concentrate for STPM. i've got a B..i think,can't remember how much though.

However,my co-co scores durin my form 5 year is preety high...got an A, cos i was preety active then.

So how does the sch pick which year score to submit? Their choice will leave quite a great impact!

I'm totally in the same boat with you wendy. I think my cocuriculum is better when I was in form 5. But the thing is my school's PK Koko said that they will only start filing our cocuriculum record this year. Then the school will choose the best record to be sent to the ministry. So my record will only start this year as I was in Upper 6 this year. And I was now considering whether to really concentrate on my studies or not. I've actually decided to let go but i can't confirm my doubts whether Form 5 cocuriculum can be used. This thing really bothers me especially when I look at my PK Koko who is very "not-the-hardworking" type and really doesn't look convincing. I knew it from the way he teaches us. So my question here is, does it really depend on the school or more precisely, the PK Koko to choose the best year for our cocuriculum to be sent to the ministry? And, cocuriculum during Form 5 can be counted in? If that's the case, then I really have to make sure the PK Koko take my Form 5 record.

THank you.

20-01-2007, 05:12 PM
I shall answer some questions based on what I know?.

Where do you get such information?
Frm my teacher. Every F6 form teacher, PK koko and Guru Kanan in my school has a copy of the scheme.
4seasonspring, is this the official scheme made by Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi?
not to say the latest......it's the schmem for last year's STPMers.....
There will alwys be changes(as u hv probably know their style)..no one dare to say the one I posted is the most accurate one......That?s why I say always refer to your PK Koku.

Let say i am the vice president of Math Society and i represent my school in olympiad physics(example only), can i combine both of them under one so i will get a higher mark? For the previous system, this cant be done.
Yes, u can do tat....the marks can be "cross-and-match? as long as it's related under the same category.

eg. Category: Sukan/Permainan
a) Kehadiran (50%)
Kehadiran for Kelab Pingpong???????????12/12X 50% = 50%

b) Penglibatan (20%)
Menyertai Marathon Penang Bridge.....................................Peringkat Antarabangsa=20%
(I heard cert only given for the first 20 winners for each category, dun u dare to think it?s easy?=P)

c) Pencapaian (20%)
Johan bagi acara berpasukan perempuan bawah 18 tahun Pertandingan Pingpong MSSM
???????????????????????.Johan peringkat kebangsaan=17%

d) Jawatan disandang (10%)
Pengerusi/kapten Rumah Sukan Biru???????????????????...10%
????????????????..............................??..Total???97%

Note: this is just an example?.dun be jealous?hehez
Conclusion: U can write whatever u want, as long as the details u fill in are related to?.SPORT(or any other particular category)?.but be sure that u hv the CERT/record and your PK Koko is willing to approve them.

Penglibatan and pencapaian marks are definitely hard to get. We'll have to look out for certain competitions, camps, seminars and stuff so we can get the cert. My teacher suggested we enter marathons, quizzes and other types of competitions.

Yea, our teacher did the same either?.since the scheme was used last year.....I suggest that u guys to take it as sample and try to calculate the marks u ady possessed so far....figure out ways(like suggested by jayden) to improve ur marks while now is still the beginning of the year.....

If u r a newcomer, negotiate wif ur PK koko and make full use of your koku cert frm previous skul. Participation frm Form 1 to Form 6 can be taken into account.(as stated in the end of the scheme)

Dun wait until at the time u wanna apply for IPTA, baru u whine or complain.....sediakan payung sebelum hujan :wink:

For the bonus mark, there is no mark allocated for counselor? It is one of the service groups also.
Not sure abt it....and I dun even know it?s one of the perkhidmatan khas. In my skul, it exists as Kelab Kaunseling?.pls confirm with ur PK Koku

Larry, when you say counselor, do you mean PRS (Pembimbing Rakan Sebaya)? In that case, I think it is a persatuan.
Is the counselor team form any committee board or not? If yes, I think it?s better for u to consider to put it under the persatuan/kelab category first?u can gt the marks for kehadiran and so on?.aft all, bonus mark dun carry much weightage?.

20-01-2007, 05:29 PM
My teacher said that stuff like prefect, librarian and such are now categorized into persatuan already and not in the bonus section any more.
However, my school did calculate the prefect, librarian and such as bonus marks, and I think the categorizing of them into the persatuan system is what I saw in the online application of the last year UPU application.

Seems to me it differs frm skul to skul...

For my school, u can put it under persatuan/kelab if u think it carries more mark. If u think u ady gt enuf marks for persatuan/kelab, and wanna put it as bonus mark, up to u?.

Note: as far as my PK koku tell me, u cannot use one stone to kill 2 birds.
Eg.
Ali is the Ketua Pengawas (Pengerusi for the Prefect Committee Board). Since he is not active in any other persatuan, he decided to put the marks he has frm Prefect Committee Board under kelab/persatuan.

With that, he gets the mark for Persatuan/kelab, but he CANNOT get the bonus mark for Ketua Pengawas.

Imagine if prefects and librarian are categorized as persatuan then what kind of participation and achievement they might get?
"Books arranging champion" internationally or nationally?
Quite weird.
not really....as there's the "cross-match-method"....if one put Ketua Pengawas to get more marks for the "jawatan" and "kehadiran" under Persatuan, he can still get the marks for Penglibatan and Pencapaian frm essay competition, pertandingan syarahan, debate or watever.

*I personally think the "cross-and-match" method is kinda unfair, but if u can get more marks using tat method, just terima sajalah.

*again, I strongly advice u to confirm it with your PK koku. Under school-based system, wat u get is in ur PK koku's hand!!

20-01-2007, 05:40 PM

I'm totally in the same boat with you wendy. I think my cocuriculum is better when I was in form 5. But the thing is my school's PK Koko said that they will only start filing our cocuriculum record this year. Then the school will choose the best record to be sent to the ministry. So my record will only start this year as I was in Upper 6 this year. And I was now considering whether to really concentrate on my studies or not. I've actually decided to let go but i can't confirm my doubts whether Form 5 cocuriculum can be used. This thing really bothers me especially when I look at my PK Koko who is very "not-the-hardworking" type and really doesn't look convincing. I knew it from the way he teaches us. So my question here is, does it really depend on the school or more precisely, the PK Koko to choose the best year for our cocuriculum to be sent to the ministry? And, cocuriculum during Form 5 can be counted in? If that's the case, then I really have to make sure the PK Koko take my Form 5 record.

THank you.

I faced the same problem either!!

However, as stated in the last part of the scheme.....

Penglibatan sepangjang Tingkatan 1 hingga 6 adalah diambil kira

I think the reason why ur PK koku dun wanna take in consider ur Form 5 record is mainly b'cos of PENGLIBATAN......it's kinda hard to prove that u really attend every perjumpaan during ur F1-F5 years, esp if u r frm diff skul during F1-F5.

My solution: Participate in the any persatuan/kelab in my present skul.....just be ahli biasa and get full attendance....the rest like jawatan, penglibatan dan pencapaian, I use the one from my F4-F5 years.

Maybe my method can help u either? :wink:

Good luck :wink:

22-01-2007, 03:46 PM
Pls refer 2 my latest update in 1st post :wink:

ken_zie
23-01-2007, 03:43 PM
i think the info should be correct... i'm an upper six student last year and we are given briefing about the KK stuff... the calculation and all the marks is the same with the one our school is using... although they said that the KK activities from F1 - F5 will also be counted, my school only count the KK activities in F6 (L & U)... and there's another 10 bonus points allocated for those anugerah thing or post like librarian or school prefects...

Larry
23-01-2007, 06:33 PM
Being the monitor of the class only get 2 marks? This mark is really low compare to others.

Hey, 4seasonspring, do you know how are the marks allocated for the martial art uniform body?

My school only takes f5 and upper six co-cu marks into account.

23-01-2007, 11:15 PM
The overemphasis on PKLN is irritating...

ken_zie
24-01-2007, 12:20 AM
The overemphasis on PKLN is irritating...

ya... this is so true... they should just give 60 marks... that's too much and it's just not fair to those not selected for the NS... i mean for the KK, we still have to put in effort to get the post all involve in all the activities... and for NS, they just got selected like that.... go there, get allowance, get extra 60 marks... sorry to those NS trainees if u don't agree with me...

30-01-2007, 06:54 AM
Anyway, since it' s already implemented, might as well go and make the best use out of it. Do the best you can and pray for the best... good luck everyone...

and salute to 4seasonspring for taking the effort to post the info here ;)

17-04-2008, 05:52 PM
for those who is not that active in koko during form 4 and 5 ...is it a possible that they can reimburse the koko marks like holding high post during matri or form 6?
is the koko marks oni considered or get counted as a prerequisite of enrollment in public university oni??
pls enlighten me..

phyl
18-04-2008, 03:08 PM
i heard dat 4 matrix students, da kk marks 4 ipta wud b da average of the secondary n matrix marks.
matrix do not hv uniform bodies, only sports n society.
so, da matrix students hv 2 try hard 2 get marks in sports n society!!!!!

21-04-2008, 08:39 AM
i heard dat 4 matrix students, da kk marks 4 ipta wud b da average of the secondary n matrix marks.
matrix do not hv uniform bodies, only sports n society.
so, da matrix students hv 2 try hard 2 get marks in sports n society!!!!!

i dont think so matri do not have uniform ..just as i post in other thread previously, i have come across that matri has 'kawad kaki'activity,which mean it is a uniform body so..
btw,i was quite curious that hw the koko marks in matri is counted since it requires each student to join only one koko out of society , sport and kawad...

?toile
23-04-2008, 12:11 PM
it's true that there are only societies and sports in matriculation.
you might have heard of kawad kaki because it's one of the competitions in KAKOM ( Karnival Kokurikulum Matrikulasi)
you'll have to fill only 1 with higher marks (either sports or society) for maticulation.

23-04-2008, 12:19 PM
it's true that there are only societies and sports in matriculation.
you might have heard of kawad kaki because it's one of the competitions in KAKOM ( Karnival Kokurikulum Matrikulasi)
you'll have to fill only 1 with higher marks (either sports or society) for maticulation.

that means we can only join either society or sports?
the koko marks that we get at the end of the year on matri will be just either sports or society?
then the marks on either society or sports will be added up to our sport or society of secondary school marks to get the average marks?
that mean the koko marks that we can make changing while on matri is just society or sports?

?toile
23-04-2008, 12:34 PM
yes.

the koko marks that we get at the end of the year on matri will be just either sports or society?
yes.

then the marks on either society or sports will be added up to our sport or society of secondary school marks to get the average marks?
it's the total mark you obtained for secondary level that to be added with the total mark for matriculation level, and then divide by 2 to get the average mark.

that mean the koko marks that we can make changing while on matri is just society or sports?
you can't make any amendments for your marks in secondary school.

23-04-2008, 01:43 PM
yes.

yes.

it's the total mark you obtained for secondary level that to be added with the total mark for matriculation level, and then divide by 2 to get the average mark.

you can't make any amendments for your marks in secondary school.

we are only required to join 1 activity in matri .so in secondary level,we oredi have the total marks for the 3 koko-activities(uniform,society,sports)in our hands...since that in matri we are only required to join 1(either sport or society) than, how does the calculation done while in matri? hw to divide to get an average marks since that we only involve in only 1 koko-activity while in matri??

?toile
23-04-2008, 02:03 PM
in secondary level, you get to choose 2 highest out of 3.
in matriculation, you don't have to choose or divide, as it's the only 1 that contributes to your mark.

23-04-2008, 02:10 PM
in secondary level, you get to choose 2 highest out of 3.
in matriculation, you don't have to choose or divide, as it's the only 1 that contributes to your mark.

u mean among uniform,society and sports that we have partake in secondary school, we have to choose the highest 2 of them in the koko marks calculation?

then the remaining 1 is based on matri ?

must be 3 koko-activity? regardless of whether they are uniform ,society or sports?

?toile
23-04-2008, 02:42 PM
u mean among uniform,society and sports that we have partake in secondary school, we have to choose the highest 2 of them in the koko marks calculation?

then the remaining 1 is based on matri ?

must be 3 koko-activity? regardless of whether they are uniform ,society or sports?

nono.
basically there are all together 3 categories
1. secondary
2. national service
3. pre-u or matriculation
you can choose only 2
but if you don't go PLKN then surely you can't choose national service

let's say during secondary level, you get
80 for joining PBSM
70 for kelab badminton
60 for english language society
then (80+70)/2=75 --> your marks
note that you can have bonus marks if you have certain pangkat or jawatan
kindly refer the 1st post of the thread

then if you get 90 in matriculation

your overall marks would be (75+90)/2=82.5

23-04-2008, 02:52 PM
nono.
1. secondary
2. national service
you can choose only 2

let's say during secondary level, you get
80 for joining PBSM
70 for kelab badminton
60 for english language society
then (80+70)/2=75 --> your marks
note that you can have bonus marks if you have certain pangkat or jawatan
kindly refer the 1st post of the thread

then if you get 90 in matriculation

your overall marks would be (75+90)/2=82.5

oic...thx very much...
btw,is it possible to get 90 in matri? must hold post?or just lulus?and wat is the usual lulus marks??50?

?toile
23-04-2008, 03:13 PM
oic...thx very much...
btw,is it possible to get 90 in matri? must hold post?or just lulus?and wat is the usual lulus marks??50?

of course it's possible.
just join the activities and have fun.
if you have a full attendance then 50 marks is yours already
then with a post and an achievement
it wont be a problem :)

natlee
24-04-2008, 04:20 PM
of course it's possible.
just join the activities and have fun.
if you have a full attendance then 50 marks is yours already
then with a post and an achievement
it wont be a problem :)

or u can join smth like KAKOM, an inter-matrix competition in all kinds of sports. then u'll get full marks without questions..

09-05-2008, 07:16 PM
nono.
1. secondary
2. national service
you can choose only 2

Hmm....so, that's how it's counted in matiks:)

for form 6.....it's also carried in GPA and CGPA basis

before I proceed, let me enlighten u about the term GPA(Grade point average) and CGPA(Cumulative Grade Point Average) in cocu mark's case.

The evaluation of koku now is made in year by year basis. At the end of 1st year, u will count your mark u get based on your involvement that year, and tat's ur GPA. Then u will carry your GPA of your 1st year to 2nd year. In 2nd year, u will still have to be active, to make sure u get good GPA for that year. Then, u will have to count your CGPA by getting the mean of 1st and 2nd year's GPA (sum up both the GPA of 1st year and 2nd year, then divided by two).

You will have to carry the CGPA u get in 2nd year to 3rd year. in 3rd year, same thing also applies: get the GPA of that year, sum up with the CGPA of previous year and divided by 2=CGPA of 3rd year.

*please refer to my first post of this thread to see ways to count yout GPA (ie your involvement in that certain year ONLY)

EXAMPLE
for my batch(Keat Hwa, STPM 2007),we only carry our GPA koku marks from form 5 to lower 6.

so, 1st year=form 5, 2nd year=lower 6
eg GPA of 1st year=90
GPA or 2nd year=85
CGPA of 2nd year= (90+85)/2=87.5

*NOTE: PLKN is only counted as one of your criteria to count your GPA in lower 6!!!

Then, we carry our CGPA of 2nd year to 3rd year(ie upper six)
so,2nd year=lower 6, 3rd year=upper 6
eg GPA of 2nd year=80
CGPA of previous year(ie 2nd year)=87.5
CGPA of 3rd year=(80+87.5)/2=83.75

So, u get your overall cocu mark, that's the CGPA u get in upper six.

Conclusion:you have to make sure your involvement in cocu is consistent from year to year to make sure u get a good cocu mark

Hope my post can clear some of your doubt.:)

chess_the_world
09-05-2008, 08:12 PM
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/1541/55952521lt0.jpg

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/3696/13511605ce5.jpg

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/2539/34054772sa1.jpg

http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/7874/61290081eq0.jpg

http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/8932/29706883fq9.jpg

chess_the_world
09-05-2008, 08:16 PM
http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/1483/14468789ja7.jpg

http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/2009/43516157xg1.jpg

http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/949/70582821wy9.jpg