View Full Version : Where are you in the food chain?
06-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Reading this interesting header, one can read the full text from this link,
http://202.186.86.35/health/story.asp?file=/2004/2/29/health/7329396&sec=health
How many of us really spend the time sit down and enjoy meals with our family? I'm sure for those who are studying aborad, this is even impossible for them, except they have their meals with their friends or Malaysian friends instead. Even studying in Malacca now, I've never get the chance to go home for almost 2 months, I know it means nothing to the students who are noe in overseas. But, I do miss the precious moments of this family gathering. It's really indispensable to have meal with family members, to strengthen the relationships, at the same time to share each other's thoughts and opinions.
With the phenomena of mothers are working as well, ths has added to the scenario that, since no one is cooking, then everyone has to settle his/her own meal. Hence, there's simply no need for this family members gather around the table to have meal together. Perhaps the chances only available during weekends, yet sometimes Mums will like to rest instead of cooking.
In a nutshell, we shall practise this 'family having meal together' as much as possible, to tighten the family bonds and make each other feel owned and loved. :wink:
06-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Reading this interesting header, one can read the full text from this link,
http://202.186.86.35/health/story.asp?file=/2004/2/29/health/7329396&sec=health
How many of us really spend the time sit down and enjoy meals with our family? I'm sure for those who are studying aborad, this is even impossible for them, except they have their meals with their friends or Malaysian friends instead. Even studying in Malacca now, I've never get the chance to go home for almost 2 months, I know it means nothing to the students who are noe in overseas. But, I do miss the precious moments of this family gathering. It's really indispensable to have meal with family members, to strengthen the relationships, at the same time to share each other's thoughts and opinions.
With the phenomena of mothers are working as well, ths has added to the scenario that, since no one is cooking, then everyone has to settle his/her own meal. Hence, there's simply no need for this family members gather around the table to have meal together. Perhaps the chances only available during weekends, yet sometimes Mums will like to rest instead of cooking.
In a nutshell, we shall practise this 'family having meal together' as much as possible, to tighten the family bonds and make each other feel owned and loved. :wink:
06-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Let's see - maybe the FATHER should try to find time to cook and share the burden? In the past if only the father work, then naturally the mother have more time to play with the kids and cook etc. Given now that both parents are working, especially if they are in equally stressful jobs, shouldn't the reponsibility of the family be shared equally between both parents?
Funny how I grew up having only breakfast with my family - orthogonal to the common practise of skipping breakfast, and trying to have dinner together. Fact of the matter is that we wake up and go to school/work at the same time, so it is easier to have breakfast together. In the evening, although mum's usually back to make dinner, dad might come back late depending on the job, I might come back way late (like 10pm and beyond) depending on extra-curricular activities, or simply becoz i sat at the mamak stall till i got tired of the moon. With varying timing to "come home", I didn't foresee much chance to have dinner together.
Even on Weekends, the only meal we have together is again breakfast (brunch) before I start running around, coming home only after midnight. 8) Boy I miss my childhood...
06-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Let's see - maybe the FATHER should try to find time to cook and share the burden? In the past if only the father work, then naturally the mother have more time to play with the kids and cook etc. Given now that both parents are working, especially if they are in equally stressful jobs, shouldn't the reponsibility of the family be shared equally between both parents?
Funny how I grew up having only breakfast with my family - orthogonal to the common practise of skipping breakfast, and trying to have dinner together. Fact of the matter is that we wake up and go to school/work at the same time, so it is easier to have breakfast together. In the evening, although mum's usually back to make dinner, dad might come back late depending on the job, I might come back way late (like 10pm and beyond) depending on extra-curricular activities, or simply becoz i sat at the mamak stall till i got tired of the moon. With varying timing to "come home", I didn't foresee much chance to have dinner together.
Even on Weekends, the only meal we have together is again breakfast (brunch) before I start running around, coming home only after midnight. 8) Boy I miss my childhood...
06-03-2004, 03:29 PM
I unfortunatly ate 3 meals a day with my family everyday (mamak penang la katakan) until i was about 15.
Now i enjoy eating by myself. Matter of fact i don't even like the company of my family that often. Once in a week is cool but everyday? phew.
06-03-2004, 03:29 PM
I unfortunatly ate 3 meals a day with my family everyday (mamak penang la katakan) until i was about 15.
Now i enjoy eating by myself. Matter of fact i don't even like the company of my family that often. Once in a week is cool but everyday? phew.
10-03-2004, 02:26 PM
why such feelings, thirdshifter? :?:
10-03-2004, 02:26 PM
why such feelings, thirdshifter? :?:
10-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Let's see - maybe the FATHER should try to find time to cook and share the burden?
When i was a kid, me and my bros never saw our father cooking. the occasional sausages on Sat mornings when Mom decides to sleep in were the closest we'd ever get. then when one time, Mom fell sick really bad that my Dad had no choice but to take in charge of the pots and pans! Hahaha..it was hilarious but then we found out that he'd got some natural talents in cooking.
Being in a close-knit Thai family, meal times are super important to us. You have to be on the dinner table, CLEAN when it's time to. I take pride in the fact that even tho we all lead busy lives (extracurricular activities, college, work, part-time at McD's, persatuan ibu-ibu pok pek etc...) we can make it for dinner every night. it's just a matter of willingness.
10-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Let's see - maybe the FATHER should try to find time to cook and share the burden?
When i was a kid, me and my bros never saw our father cooking. the occasional sausages on Sat mornings when Mom decides to sleep in were the closest we'd ever get. then when one time, Mom fell sick really bad that my Dad had no choice but to take in charge of the pots and pans! Hahaha..it was hilarious but then we found out that he'd got some natural talents in cooking.
Being in a close-knit Thai family, meal times are super important to us. You have to be on the dinner table, CLEAN when it's time to. I take pride in the fact that even tho we all lead busy lives (extracurricular activities, college, work, part-time at McD's, persatuan ibu-ibu pok pek etc...) we can make it for dinner every night. it's just a matter of willingness.
20-03-2004, 06:31 PM
When i was a kid, me and my bros never saw our father cooking. the occasional sausages on Sat mornings when Mom decides to sleep in were the closest we'd ever get. then when one time, Mom fell sick really bad that my Dad had no choice but to take in charge of the pots and pans!
How irony... Initially, my mom doesn't know how to cook, so most of the time my family and I depend on outside food. Then as we found this habit rather taxing to our family budget, so my dad began to cook instead... Slowly, my mom learned from him. But somehow, she couldn't be better than my dad at cooking... How weird....
20-03-2004, 06:31 PM
When i was a kid, me and my bros never saw our father cooking. the occasional sausages on Sat mornings when Mom decides to sleep in were the closest we'd ever get. then when one time, Mom fell sick really bad that my Dad had no choice but to take in charge of the pots and pans!
How irony... Initially, my mom doesn't know how to cook, so most of the time my family and I depend on outside food. Then as we found this habit rather taxing to our family budget, so my dad began to cook instead... Slowly, my mom learned from him. But somehow, she couldn't be better than my dad at cooking... How weird....