View Full Version : of laptops and handphones
b_ronick
06-03-2004, 03:42 PM
hey..
just wanna get some information about notebooks and the handphones in the US...
just a few questions>>>
do we need to get a notebook to bring to the US?
is it advisable to get a notebook here or a notebook over in the US? if i get it here, would it be obsolete by the time i bring it over there?
is handphone necessary to get in the united states? do the students there use it?
thanx..
b_ronick
06-03-2004, 03:42 PM
hey..
just wanna get some information about notebooks and the handphones in the US...
just a few questions>>>
do we need to get a notebook to bring to the US?
is it advisable to get a notebook here or a notebook over in the US? if i get it here, would it be obsolete by the time i bring it over there?
is handphone necessary to get in the united states? do the students there use it?
thanx..
sim_min
06-03-2004, 04:19 PM
I used to bring my laptop from Malaysia to US. I thought it will be cheaper to get it in Malaysia, but then when I came here 3 years ago, I found that the price is actually not much different compare to here. But see, that was 3 years ago..i don't know how's the laptop market going on in Malaysia right now.
If you wish to get a laptop in Malaysia, make sure the brand name that u are getting can easily find in US. I mean, juz in case something wrong with your laptop and u need immediate "treatment" ... I bought Twinhead, and there was a problem with my laptop, I called to CA, there's no one pick up the phone, I emailed them, and there's no reply..so sad. And when i check through the internet, I found that they have only 2 companies located in US...that's sad. anyway, i can't wait anymore, so i get a DELL pc the next week. One thing u have to think about before buying a laptop, is that whether u are a person who need frequent upgrades to your computer...especially if you are kinda person who are up-to-date in technology..buying a pc would be a good deal here. to sum up, for warranty purpose, i would advice you to get your laptop here in US. but if you find the price is far cheaper in Malaysia, go ahead and grab it there. you can check for the prices over the internet. Sometimes, your university will give their student good deal in buying computer/laptop, you might need to check it out from your university website.
for handphone,
i used to stay in the dorm, it is equiped with telephone services and it's included in the bill. therefore i didn't get a cellphone. but i moved out last summer, my roomate and I decided not to apply for home phone since we will not stay in the house for the whole day, moreover, there will be a monthly fee for about $40 including tax and whatever(but i m not sure about about the price in other state). by getting a cellphone, it's also about $40 per person. but of course, it depends on the area you are staying, and if you would like to have internet access or sms service or not. some other bigger city has very good deal for cellphone. it's even cheaper than owning a homephone! :wink:
anyway, i would advice you to ask your senior about that..hahaha, i am in Nebraska! yeah...and there is no place like NEBRASKA!
sim_min
06-03-2004, 04:19 PM
I used to bring my laptop from Malaysia to US. I thought it will be cheaper to get it in Malaysia, but then when I came here 3 years ago, I found that the price is actually not much different compare to here. But see, that was 3 years ago..i don't know how's the laptop market going on in Malaysia right now.
If you wish to get a laptop in Malaysia, make sure the brand name that u are getting can easily find in US. I mean, juz in case something wrong with your laptop and u need immediate "treatment" ... I bought Twinhead, and there was a problem with my laptop, I called to CA, there's no one pick up the phone, I emailed them, and there's no reply..so sad. And when i check through the internet, I found that they have only 2 companies located in US...that's sad. anyway, i can't wait anymore, so i get a DELL pc the next week. One thing u have to think about before buying a laptop, is that whether u are a person who need frequent upgrades to your computer...especially if you are kinda person who are up-to-date in technology..buying a pc would be a good deal here. to sum up, for warranty purpose, i would advice you to get your laptop here in US. but if you find the price is far cheaper in Malaysia, go ahead and grab it there. you can check for the prices over the internet. Sometimes, your university will give their student good deal in buying computer/laptop, you might need to check it out from your university website.
for handphone,
i used to stay in the dorm, it is equiped with telephone services and it's included in the bill. therefore i didn't get a cellphone. but i moved out last summer, my roomate and I decided not to apply for home phone since we will not stay in the house for the whole day, moreover, there will be a monthly fee for about $40 including tax and whatever(but i m not sure about about the price in other state). by getting a cellphone, it's also about $40 per person. but of course, it depends on the area you are staying, and if you would like to have internet access or sms service or not. some other bigger city has very good deal for cellphone. it's even cheaper than owning a homephone! :wink:
anyway, i would advice you to ask your senior about that..hahaha, i am in Nebraska! yeah...and there is no place like NEBRASKA!
b_ronick
06-03-2004, 05:04 PM
thanx...i'm still not sure...
btw, if anyone's got anything to say, feel free to do so.. :wink: :lol: :lol:
b_ronick
06-03-2004, 05:04 PM
thanx...i'm still not sure...
btw, if anyone's got anything to say, feel free to do so.. :wink: :lol: :lol:
chenghau
06-03-2004, 05:28 PM
I think sim_min has offered much valuable information.
About handphone (which people tend to call it cellphone here). I don't have it here mainly because I have a homephone in my dorm. On campus calls and local calls are free. I don't have to pay for the phone at all because it is covered in the tuition fee.
It depends on your school and your need seriously, like whether your school provides you any free local calls and whether you will be travelling so often that you really need a cellphone (as if you will not surivive without it).
One question to have in mind is "Where are you going to call?" Are you calling friends on campus? Are you making local calls? Are you calling nationwide? Are you making international calls? For nationwide or international calls, you can always use a calling card. The one I have costs me 1 cent/minute to call to anywhere in US, and 4 cents/minute back to Malaysia. (p/s: 1 cent and 4 cents USD, not RM)
The prepaid calling here is not as convenient (and as cheap) as that in Malaysia. Registering for the service is more common and cheaper, and you might also get a free cellphone.The service probably costs you around 30USD/month.
I agree with sim_min that whether getting a notebook in Msia depends on the deal you get. If the price is much cheaper and it is a branded laptop, ie Dell, HP-Compaq, Acer, Fujitsu, Sony, probably you should go for it.
chenghau
06-03-2004, 05:28 PM
I think sim_min has offered much valuable information.
About handphone (which people tend to call it cellphone here). I don't have it here mainly because I have a homephone in my dorm. On campus calls and local calls are free. I don't have to pay for the phone at all because it is covered in the tuition fee.
It depends on your school and your need seriously, like whether your school provides you any free local calls and whether you will be travelling so often that you really need a cellphone (as if you will not surivive without it).
One question to have in mind is "Where are you going to call?" Are you calling friends on campus? Are you making local calls? Are you calling nationwide? Are you making international calls? For nationwide or international calls, you can always use a calling card. The one I have costs me 1 cent/minute to call to anywhere in US, and 4 cents/minute back to Malaysia. (p/s: 1 cent and 4 cents USD, not RM)
The prepaid calling here is not as convenient (and as cheap) as that in Malaysia. Registering for the service is more common and cheaper, and you might also get a free cellphone.The service probably costs you around 30USD/month.
I agree with sim_min that whether getting a notebook in Msia depends on the deal you get. If the price is much cheaper and it is a branded laptop, ie Dell, HP-Compaq, Acer, Fujitsu, Sony, probably you should go for it.
06-03-2004, 06:38 PM
I am not a laptop user, but I often see deals popping out once in a while for laptops.
While I'm 100% sure desktops are WAY cheaper here in the states, I'm pretty confident that it's the same for notebooks.
06-03-2004, 06:38 PM
I am not a laptop user, but I often see deals popping out once in a while for laptops.
While I'm 100% sure desktops are WAY cheaper here in the states, I'm pretty confident that it's the same for notebooks.
mercsinc
07-03-2004, 02:27 AM
its much cheaper to buy laptop/pc in the us. with all the rebates and coupons, you'll probably get it at 70% of the price you would have to pay if you bought it in malaysia.
mercsinc
07-03-2004, 02:27 AM
its much cheaper to buy laptop/pc in the us. with all the rebates and coupons, you'll probably get it at 70% of the price you would have to pay if you bought it in malaysia.
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 04:16 PM
okay...so far so good.. :D
but i have another question, would it be more advisable to get a laptop there or a desktop..which will be better? :?:
and if i have decided to get a laptop in malaysia, which brand would be the best to buy... :?
thanx!!
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 04:16 PM
okay...so far so good.. :D
but i have another question, would it be more advisable to get a laptop there or a desktop..which will be better? :?:
and if i have decided to get a laptop in malaysia, which brand would be the best to buy... :?
thanx!!
07-03-2004, 04:34 PM
ok....first thing first, andswer all the question b4 we can help u to decide or even suggest one brand or one model to you....
do u have a budget?
what do u need to computer/ laptop for?(graphic design, gaming, assignment)
do u want it light for mobility use?
do u want it to look nice(cute) or professional(square and black)?
do u want the latest? or go for economically decent? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
07-03-2004, 04:34 PM
ok....first thing first, andswer all the question b4 we can help u to decide or even suggest one brand or one model to you....
do u have a budget?
what do u need to computer/ laptop for?(graphic design, gaming, assignment)
do u want it light for mobility use?
do u want it to look nice(cute) or professional(square and black)?
do u want the latest? or go for economically decent? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 04:48 PM
budget..not really sure actually..what would be the normal market price for just a decent laptop mainly for assignments..i would love it for the other purposes but you know main purpose is for assignments.
yeah i would want it to be light..
looks? not all that important..
latest? not really necessary...
i'm not really good at computers or laptops..so forgive me for my ermm..lack of knowledge in this thingi.. :oops:
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 04:48 PM
budget..not really sure actually..what would be the normal market price for just a decent laptop mainly for assignments..i would love it for the other purposes but you know main purpose is for assignments.
yeah i would want it to be light..
looks? not all that important..
latest? not really necessary...
i'm not really good at computers or laptops..so forgive me for my ermm..lack of knowledge in this thingi.. :oops:
07-03-2004, 04:52 PM
and my opinion abt getting a laptop/desktop here or in the states...
computer is my life...but I'm not a geek or a nerd...I do have social life and I do play sports.lots of it.
but at the end of the day, or even the start of the day, i will check my mail, read the news and stuff online.and i'm a gamer too...i got my laptop already....a BenQ...but planning to get an AlienWare Desktop over there...Just Planning....and shhhhh.. dun let my parents know about there.... :twisted:
i advocate ppl buying a laptop in Malaysia because....
not everybody knows wat to buy! some of my frens dunno wat they need and why they need and they just know how to type...
if u are under this category, i advice u to buy it here, right away so that u can learn how to use it and familiarise it because u will be shocked, very shocked about the advancement and the technology if u dun... and they will be shocked too(abt how kampung u are)... :roll:
and if u got frens togetherwho want to buy in bulk, u can actually ask the dealer to cut down about rm200 a laptop, or during the pc fair where u can normally get abt rm600-800 of free gifts(webcam+thumbdrive+mouse+targus backpack++)...it is not a bad time to buy it here bcoz u have lots of other things to do in the states....and u dun wanna bring that extra amount of money to there...it's dangerous... :roll:
and it takes time to settle down in the states... and if u r those ppl who needs tons of software...i think u should also buy it here..becoz u know wat i mean...install it and bring it over...if u bring all the 'cds' over, it is more dangerous...Hope that u know what i mean... and also mp3.... :roll:
07-03-2004, 04:52 PM
and my opinion abt getting a laptop/desktop here or in the states...
computer is my life...but I'm not a geek or a nerd...I do have social life and I do play sports.lots of it.
but at the end of the day, or even the start of the day, i will check my mail, read the news and stuff online.and i'm a gamer too...i got my laptop already....a BenQ...but planning to get an AlienWare Desktop over there...Just Planning....and shhhhh.. dun let my parents know about there.... :twisted:
not everybody knows wat to buy! some of my frens dunno wat they need and why they need and they just know how to type...
if u are under this category, i advice u to buy it here, right away so that u can learn how to use it and familiarise it because u will be shocked, very shocked about the advancement and the technology if u dun... and they will be shocked too(abt how kampung u are)... :roll:
and if u got frens togetherwho want to buy in bulk, u can actually ask the dealer to cut down about rm200 a laptop, or during the pc fair where u can normally get abt rm600-800 of free gifts(webcam+thumbdrive+mouse+targus backpack++)...it is not a bad time to buy it here bcoz u have lots of other things to do in the states....and u dun wanna bring that extra amount of money to there...it's dangerous... :roll:
and it takes time to settle down in the states... and if u r those ppl who needs tons of software...i think u should also buy it here..becoz u know wat i mean...install it and bring it over...if u bring all the 'cds' over, it is more dangerous...Hope that u know what i mean... and also mp3.... :roll:
07-03-2004, 05:00 PM
oh yar... and acer is having a student rebate thingy....
there are 2 models.... the rm5988 is very light and very powerful...
12.1'lcd, centrino 1.4GHz, 60Gb, windows XPPro, 512mb ddr, ext combo,1.7kg..
and u can get it for rm5688 with the student rebate...
the rm4988 is heavier and is and less powerful...
u can get student rebate at rm4788 :roll:
07-03-2004, 05:00 PM
oh yar... and acer is having a student rebate thingy....
there are 2 models.... the rm5988 is very light and very powerful...
12.1'lcd, centrino 1.4GHz, 60Gb, windows XPPro, 512mb ddr, ext combo,1.7kg..
and u can get it for rm5688 with the student rebate...
the rm4988 is heavier and is and less powerful...
u can get student rebate at rm4788 :roll:
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 05:09 PM
thanx a lot..
i'd probably get it here..
someone actually asked me whether i would want an ibm notebook..is ibm a good brand?
b_ronick
07-03-2004, 05:09 PM
thanx a lot..
i'd probably get it here..
someone actually asked me whether i would want an ibm notebook..is ibm a good brand?
07-03-2004, 05:27 PM
ibm is actually one of the better brand...
go for the one with windows xp pro bcoz it comes with 3 years international warranty....
but it is rather square and looks very mature, suitable for corporate use...for professional presentation...in my opinion... not suitable for young guns and cute look...
07-03-2004, 05:27 PM
go for the one with windows xp pro bcoz it comes with 3 years international warranty....
but it is rather square and looks very mature, suitable for corporate use...for professional presentation...in my opinion... not suitable for young guns and cute look...
chenghau
07-03-2004, 05:39 PM
Some universities here give away free software, ie free Windows XP Proffesional. The best way is to check what your school offers you. It is perhaps too early now to buy a laptop, even if you decide to buy in Malaysia. Wait a few more months when the price drops. Anyway, if you think you get a really great deal, which you won't be able to get later, why not?
chenghau
07-03-2004, 05:39 PM
Some universities here give away free software, ie free Windows XP Proffesional. The best way is to check what your school offers you. It is perhaps too early now to buy a laptop, even if you decide to buy in Malaysia. Wait a few more months when the price drops. Anyway, if you think you get a really great deal, which you won't be able to get later, why not?
07-03-2004, 05:45 PM
to be honest, buying a lap top as a "preparation" to come to US is not an Absolutely essential.
Campus library's Computers would be sufficient in the first few months.
While your settling in, I can almost guarantee that you will find it absolutely easy to decide what kind of computer you really need. Not everybody requires the mobility of an expensive laptop.
Maybe a Desktop would serve you better. Since you professed the lack of knowledge of the Computer world, starting with a lap top sounds like a bad idea.
07-03-2004, 05:45 PM
to be honest, buying a lap top as a "preparation" to come to US is not an Absolutely essential.
Campus library's Computers would be sufficient in the first few months.
While your settling in, I can almost guarantee that you will find it absolutely easy to decide what kind of computer you really need. Not everybody requires the mobility of an expensive laptop.
Maybe a Desktop would serve you better. Since you professed the lack of knowledge of the Computer world, starting with a lap top sounds like a bad idea.
chenghau
07-03-2004, 05:53 PM
I never had a laptop before I came to United States and many friends of mine didn't either. Believe me that you will not feel much shock at your very first time using a laptop. Assuming that you at least know how to type, you should get faimilar with your laptop within 1 hour. (Probably one hour is too much, should have said within minutes.)
Also, try to think about the after-sale service. If you buy it in Malaysia, you have to make sure that you can get some sort of warranty/service when your laptop is not working properly in USA. Without that you are going to suffer a lot because a laptop, in general, is harder to repair than a PC. If your school doesn't provide any computing support to the students, you will also need to pay EXTRA BUCKS to get it works.
Like what pervious posts mentioned, sometimes computer dealers here just come out with surprising rebates up to 250 USD (sorry, not RM). You should watch this out.
About the software, try to think about the students here. How do they get the software? Then, you know the answer.
chenghau
07-03-2004, 05:53 PM
I never had a laptop before I came to United States and many friends of mine didn't either. Believe me that you will not feel much shock at your very first time using a laptop. Assuming that you at least know how to type, you should get faimilar with your laptop within 1 hour. (Probably one hour is too much, should have said within minutes.)
Also, try to think about the after-sale service. If you buy it in Malaysia, you have to make sure that you can get some sort of warranty/service when your laptop is not working properly in USA. Without that you are going to suffer a lot because a laptop, in general, is harder to repair than a PC. If your school doesn't provide any computing support to the students, you will also need to pay EXTRA BUCKS to get it works.
Like what pervious posts mentioned, sometimes computer dealers here just come out with surprising rebates up to 250 USD (sorry, not RM). You should watch this out.
About the software, try to think about the students here. How do they get the software? Then, you know the answer.
chenghau
07-03-2004, 06:01 PM
Besides, some schools also have some sort of affliation with certain computer dealers and the students can get a computer at really cheap price.
About whether to buy a laptop or a desktop. I agree with Thirdshifter that sometimes a desktop might serve you better. It totally depends on your need. Indeed, I don't really have to bring a laptop to campus. Most of the time, my laptop is in my room. Occasionally, I will bring my laptop together with me, ie bring it with me when I have a long journey for spring break, simply for entertainment purpose.)
chenghau
07-03-2004, 06:01 PM
Besides, some schools also have some sort of affliation with certain computer dealers and the students can get a computer at really cheap price.
About whether to buy a laptop or a desktop. I agree with Thirdshifter that sometimes a desktop might serve you better. It totally depends on your need. Indeed, I don't really have to bring a laptop to campus. Most of the time, my laptop is in my room. Occasionally, I will bring my laptop together with me, ie bring it with me when I have a long journey for spring break, simply for entertainment purpose.)
08-03-2004, 12:03 AM
Keep in mind that desktops are a lot easier and cheaper to maintain than a laptop, provided that you don't get one of those cutesy desktops that use proprietary components.
The usual going rate for repairing computers is about $50/hour (at least here in SC).. so it's best that you either learn how to fix your own PC problems, or be damn good at looking for solutions on the net. Or just be buddies with someone who is really good at it :D
And oh - Alienware products are generally overpriced IMO. For the same price, I can guarantee you that I am able to build a superior system ;) I can't say the same for laptops though - no one can personally assemble a laptop yet!
IBM laptops are very-highly regarded. If I want a laptop, I would want an IBM. Dell offers decent products at a great price, but since they start outsourcing their tech-support crew to India, many are complaining that they can't understand what on earth they are saying and generally, lousier service.
Know what you want before you buy it. Computers are just cheaper in the states. Period. I find myself blowing a lot of $$$ on electronics :oops:
08-03-2004, 12:03 AM
Keep in mind that desktops are a lot easier and cheaper to maintain than a laptop, provided that you don't get one of those cutesy desktops that use proprietary components.
The usual going rate for repairing computers is about $50/hour (at least here in SC).. so it's best that you either learn how to fix your own PC problems, or be damn good at looking for solutions on the net. Or just be buddies with someone who is really good at it :D
And oh - Alienware products are generally overpriced IMO. For the same price, I can guarantee you that I am able to build a superior system ;) I can't say the same for laptops though - no one can personally assemble a laptop yet!
IBM laptops are very-highly regarded. If I want a laptop, I would want an IBM. Dell offers decent products at a great price, but since they start outsourcing their tech-support crew to India, many are complaining that they can't understand what on earth they are saying and generally, lousier service.
Know what you want before you buy it. Computers are just cheaper in the states. Period. I find myself blowing a lot of $$$ on electronics :oops:
08-03-2004, 02:23 AM
Actually computers in general are alot cheaper in Malaysia. There's no tax on computers and also no sales tax on it either.
I can get a radeon9800xt for about $15 less compared to the list fond here www.pricewatch.com in Malaysia.
08-03-2004, 02:23 AM
Actually computers in general are alot cheaper in Malaysia. There's no tax on computers and also no sales tax on it either.
I can get a radeon9800xt for about $15 less compared to the list fond here www.pricewatch.com in Malaysia.
chenghau
08-03-2004, 05:57 AM
I would agree with you that PC parts like mouse, webcam, keyboard, internal hard drives (not external hard drives) are ways cheaper in Malaysia. So if you are able to assemble a new PC, probably you could bring the parts here.
However, if you are buying a laptop, you have a better chance to get it cheaper in USA. Why? As others said, you can always get rebates. You just need to buy at the right time and buy from the right dealers. I got my laptop cheaper than I could in Malaysia, even after shipping (I got free shipping) and taxes! Yes, for real, even after taxes. Why? Because I got 225USD mail-in rebate.
chenghau
08-03-2004, 05:57 AM
I would agree with you that PC parts like mouse, webcam, keyboard, internal hard drives (not external hard drives) are ways cheaper in Malaysia. So if you are able to assemble a new PC, probably you could bring the parts here.
However, if you are buying a laptop, you have a better chance to get it cheaper in USA. Why? As others said, you can always get rebates. You just need to buy at the right time and buy from the right dealers. I got my laptop cheaper than I could in Malaysia, even after shipping (I got free shipping) and taxes! Yes, for real, even after taxes. Why? Because I got 225USD mail-in rebate.
08-03-2004, 08:12 AM
Since when are they taxes on computers? Sales tax - just buy your stuff out of state online.
Almost every comparison I've made, the prices are cheaper here. How much can you get for the Radeon 9800XT in Malaysia (in USD)?
08-03-2004, 08:12 AM
Since when are they taxes on computers? Sales tax - just buy your stuff out of state online.
Almost every comparison I've made, the prices are cheaper here. How much can you get for the Radeon 9800XT in Malaysia (in USD)?
Yeogolas
08-03-2004, 01:35 PM
Malaysian student also has a handphhone and laptop cause that thing is important for any student at Malaysia. Handphone is very necessary cause you buy it your own money. Now more people at Malaysia have a handphone, like farmer and so on but they does't have laptop.
I think U.S people have a laptop for own like teenage has own laptop, little teenage at Malaysia has own laptop.
Coz' they spend all money to buy motorcycle, car, enjoy, buy handphone.
Almost student has handphone. At my college there 99.3 percent has a handphone.
Yeogolas
08-03-2004, 01:35 PM
Malaysian student also has a handphhone and laptop cause that thing is important for any student at Malaysia. Handphone is very necessary cause you buy it your own money. Now more people at Malaysia have a handphone, like farmer and so on but they does't have laptop.
I think U.S people have a laptop for own like teenage has own laptop, little teenage at Malaysia has own laptop.
08-03-2004, 01:51 PM
Dayum.. I lost you somewhere after the first sentence :?
08-03-2004, 01:51 PM
Dayum.. I lost you somewhere after the first sentence :?
08-03-2004, 01:54 PM
man, you're SO out of topic...
08-03-2004, 01:54 PM
man, you're SO out of topic...
chenghau
08-03-2004, 02:06 PM
Did you really do the research that 99.3%? Not 50%? Not 99.88%?
chenghau
08-03-2004, 02:06 PM
Did you really do the research that 99.3%? Not 50%? Not 99.88%?
b_ronick
08-03-2004, 02:35 PM
thanx for all the replies that i got regarding the questions that i have posted..really appeciate it.. :D
i'd probably get a laptop here in malaysia if i have decided to get a laptop instead of a desktop..but i'm still in doubt.. :? :?
thanx a lot however for the response that i got from you all!! :wink: :D :lol:
b_ronick
08-03-2004, 02:35 PM
thanx for all the replies that i got regarding the questions that i have posted..really appeciate it.. :D
i'd probably get a laptop here in malaysia if i have decided to get a laptop instead of a desktop..but i'm still in doubt.. :? :?
thanx a lot however for the response that i got from you all!! :wink: :D :lol:
08-03-2004, 03:42 PM
thanx a lot however for the response that i got from you all!! :wink: :D :lol: If you still insist on getting your laptop in Malaysia, get a branded one (IBM, Dell, Compaq etc). It'll save you a lot of headaches down the road.
08-03-2004, 03:42 PM
thanx a lot however for the response that i got from you all!! :wink: :D :lol: If you still insist on getting your laptop in Malaysia, get a branded one (IBM, Dell, Compaq etc). It'll save you a lot of headaches down the road.
chenghau
08-03-2004, 07:25 PM
Totally agree. Also, the PC fair is coming soon right? (within few months I guess)
chenghau
08-03-2004, 07:25 PM
Totally agree. Also, the PC fair is coming soon right? (within few months I guess)
b_ronick
08-03-2004, 09:11 PM
think the pc fair should be just around the corner...
not sure..will ask someone who knows :D
b_ronick
08-03-2004, 09:11 PM
think the pc fair should be just around the corner...
not sure..will ask someone who knows :D
08-03-2004, 10:51 PM
speaking of buying computers. Is this a good time to get computers? By that I mean how fast do you think the market will grow for 64bit processors?
08-03-2004, 10:51 PM
speaking of buying computers. Is this a good time to get computers? By that I mean how fast do you think the market will grow for 64bit processors?
dinna_g
08-03-2004, 11:36 PM
This is actually true. The only difference is, there is a wider range of products to choose from in the states as compared to malaysia. However, you can actually get a computer at a decent price in the states. IMO, it doesn't really matter where you want to get your computer. If you think you can't live without a computer even for a month, get it from Malaysia.
If you're looking for a laptop, I would suggest you to buy it in Malaysia. As someone has pointed out earlier, get a brand that can be found easily in the states, just in case if anything goes wrong, it's so easy to get your computer fixed. Avoid brands like Acer, Fujitsu and Twinhead. Their service centers are very rare around here.
I am a laptop lover. I hate desktops. I've been living in the states with my laptop for 3 years and never had a problem. (Yes, I don't do computer games :P). Anyway, just a general suggestion, don't buy twinhead laptop! My dad bought a twinhead laptop, it is extremely slow even though its specs are generally better my good old laptop. A friend of mine used to have a Twinhead and he had troubles because the moniter kept on crashing on him.
Cheers!
dinna_g
08-03-2004, 11:36 PM
This is actually true. The only difference is, there is a wider range of products to choose from in the states as compared to malaysia. However, you can actually get a computer at a decent price in the states. IMO, it doesn't really matter where you want to get your computer. If you think you can't live without a computer even for a month, get it from Malaysia.
If you're looking for a laptop, I would suggest you to buy it in Malaysia. As someone has pointed out earlier, get a brand that can be found easily in the states, just in case if anything goes wrong, it's so easy to get your computer fixed. Avoid brands like Acer, Fujitsu and Twinhead. Their service centers are very rare around here.
I am a laptop lover. I hate desktops. I've been living in the states with my laptop for 3 years and never had a problem. (Yes, I don't do computer games :P). Anyway, just a general suggestion, don't buy twinhead laptop! My dad bought a twinhead laptop, it is extremely slow even though its specs are generally better my good old laptop. A friend of mine used to have a Twinhead and he had troubles because the moniter kept on crashing on him.
Cheers!
dinna_g
08-03-2004, 11:44 PM
if you live in the dorms, it is not necessary because normally, on campus and local calls are free. but if you have a girlfriend or boyfriend in another universities, it is a must-have because you can get night and weekend unlimited phone calls. that will save your money because you can "bergayut" as much as you want. this might be a poyo comment, but it is true.. admit it people! heheheh..
anyways, in my personal experience, my phone rarely rings except when a fricking telemarketer wants to bug my life. my friends always get in touch with me through IM or MSN, so i think it's a waste to have another phone. it really depends on your situation.. but i have to assure you that handphones aka cellphones in the states are not expensive, so if you want to get hold of one, it's no big deal.
dinna_g
08-03-2004, 11:44 PM
if you live in the dorms, it is not necessary because normally, on campus and local calls are free. but if you have a girlfriend or boyfriend in another universities, it is a must-have because you can get night and weekend unlimited phone calls. that will save your money because you can "bergayut" as much as you want. this might be a poyo comment, but it is true.. admit it people! heheheh..
anyways, in my personal experience, my phone rarely rings except when a fricking telemarketer wants to bug my life. my friends always get in touch with me through IM or MSN, so i think it's a waste to have another phone. it really depends on your situation.. but i have to assure you that handphones aka cellphones in the states are not expensive, so if you want to get hold of one, it's no big deal.
silverblue
08-03-2004, 11:53 PM
I got a desktop when I first got here. But after less than a year, I sold it off and got a laptop.
Reason? I found out that dorm life isn't permanent.... we've gotta shift in and out so often!! It's really not easy to move a bulky desktop around (yalar....no money to get flatscreen mah). You also risk hurting your PC through the moving process. I know I have to move it around at least 3 times a year!!
Second reason is because it simply saves so much space on my desk!! My desktop took up almost half of my desk. Now, whenever I don't need to use my laptop, I'll just close it and stack papers on top of it.
Oh yeah...and I do get to present my CS assignments in my professor's office on my laptop too.
Well, these are the practical reasons to get a laptop as opposed to a PC. Of course, if you are a big gamer, it's a good enough reason to get a desktop.... So if u are deciding btw laptop or desktop, list your priorities and then decide..
silverblue
08-03-2004, 11:53 PM
I got a desktop when I first got here. But after less than a year, I sold it off and got a laptop.
Reason? I found out that dorm life isn't permanent.... we've gotta shift in and out so often!! It's really not easy to move a bulky desktop around (yalar....no money to get flatscreen mah). You also risk hurting your PC through the moving process. I know I have to move it around at least 3 times a year!!
Second reason is because it simply saves so much space on my desk!! My desktop took up almost half of my desk. Now, whenever I don't need to use my laptop, I'll just close it and stack papers on top of it.
Oh yeah...and I do get to present my CS assignments in my professor's office on my laptop too.
Well, these are the practical reasons to get a laptop as opposed to a PC. Of course, if you are a big gamer, it's a good enough reason to get a desktop.... So if u are deciding btw laptop or desktop, list your priorities and then decide..
09-03-2004, 08:04 AM
speaking of buying computers. Is this a good time to get computers? By that I mean how fast do you think the market will grow for 64bit processors?Personally I would hold on. 64-bit platform for PCs are still relatively immature and there are very few applications that can take advantage of it. I do expect this trend to change in about a year!
It's always a good/bad time to get a computer. I'd say, just get whatever you need at that time.
09-03-2004, 08:04 AM
speaking of buying computers. Is this a good time to get computers? By that I mean how fast do you think the market will grow for 64bit processors?Personally I would hold on. 64-bit platform for PCs are still relatively immature and there are very few applications that can take advantage of it. I do expect this trend to change in about a year!
It's always a good/bad time to get a computer. I'd say, just get whatever you need at that time.
09-03-2004, 10:28 AM
if you are concerned with the warranty, better to buy it in the US. Usually, warranty only applies in the country where the product is bought.
09-03-2004, 10:28 AM
if you are concerned with the warranty, better to buy it in the US. Usually, warranty only applies in the country where the product is bought.
b_ronick
09-03-2004, 11:24 AM
so you are suggesting that buying a laptop there in the united states is better?
i thought that there was something like an international warranty or something?
correct me if i am wrong..
b_ronick
09-03-2004, 11:24 AM
so you are suggesting that buying a laptop there in the united states is better?
chenghau
09-03-2004, 12:03 PM
I know Dell does have one, but you have to pay extra RM600-700? Not sure about other brands.
chenghau
09-03-2004, 12:03 PM
I know Dell does have one, but you have to pay extra RM600-700? Not sure about other brands.
b_ronick
09-03-2004, 03:19 PM
that's like so much more that you have to pay!! i mean i have to pay!!8O 8O
so does that mean that i should buy it in US?
b_ronick
09-03-2004, 03:19 PM
chenghau
09-03-2004, 03:46 PM
You should check it out yourself if you would like to get a Dell.
USA - www.dell.com
Malaysia - www.dell.com.my
Well, make sure you have (almost) same configuration before you do any comparison.
BTW, there are many other brands as well, ie IBM, Sony, Compaq...you name it. You should also check out if your school offer any special discounts to students for buying laptops.
I actually know a school which offers its students IBM (T40? I think..) at 1300USD++ plus warranty.
Seems like I have over-promoted certain brands. I shall stop saying a word about this now.
:oops:
chenghau
09-03-2004, 03:46 PM
USA - www.dell.com
Well, make sure you have (almost) same configuration before you do any comparison.
BTW, there are many other brands as well, ie IBM, Sony, Compaq...you name it. You should also check out if your school offer any special discounts to students for buying laptops.
I actually know a school which offers its students IBM (T40? I think..) at 1300USD++ plus warranty.
Seems like I have over-promoted certain brands. I shall stop saying a word about this now.
09-03-2004, 03:51 PM
USA - www.dell.com
you could try apple's powerbook. Anyway, i think we can stop quoting now :D
09-03-2004, 03:51 PM
USA - www.dell.com
you could try apple's powerbook. Anyway, i think we can stop quoting now :D
dinna_g
10-03-2004, 12:12 AM
i don't think so.. you can actually transfer your warranty. what happened to my laptop was, the warranty only applies for SEA. but then, in my first year, the battery kaput.. so i called them up and they asked me to call SEA service center to transfer my warranty. about 2 weeks later, someone called me up to settle my problem. the next day, i got a ups delivery of a new battery.. sweet deal.. and everything was FREE!
cheers!
dinna_g
10-03-2004, 12:12 AM
i don't think so.. you can actually transfer your warranty. what happened to my laptop was, the warranty only applies for SEA. but then, in my first year, the battery kaput.. so i called them up and they asked me to call SEA service center to transfer my warranty. about 2 weeks later, someone called me up to settle my problem. the next day, i got a ups delivery of a new battery.. sweet deal.. and everything was FREE!
cheers!
19-04-2004, 04:47 AM
If you're looking for a laptop, I would suggest you to buy it in Malaysia. As someone has pointed out earlier, get a brand that can be found easily in the states, just in case if anything goes wrong, it's so easy to get your computer fixed. Avoid brands like Acer, Fujitsu and Twinhead. Their service centers are very rare around here
:cry: i have an Acer
Sweelin
19-04-2004, 01:13 PM
Get IBM Thinkpad laptops... :D
or dell will be good too...
19-04-2004, 04:20 PM
How do we buy laptops in the States? Do they receive cash or cheque? how do we know where to buy? Yeah, brandeis has negotiated price with Dell, so i assume buying Dell at Brandeis will be cheaper, but I'm not really sure whether it's cheaper than buying in Malaysia or not.
SpRInG
19-04-2004, 05:18 PM
Compaq also have internation warranty - for one year
BioTEch_GizMo
19-04-2004, 08:37 PM
Err i wanna ask sth else besides laptop and handphones... well for digicams and discmans... do we ahve to like buy a suitable adaptor for the equipments? If so...wat's the voltage the US is using?... :D
20-04-2004, 02:45 PM
i plan 2 buy a nec notebook in malaysia. r nec service centers common in the u.s.?
tuinkle
25-04-2004, 05:24 PM
As far as I know, NEC service centers are not common here (in the Bay Area at least)
By the way, all my CS GSIs (Graduate Student Instructor) have IBM Thinkpads. Maybe it's telling us something :wink:
25-04-2004, 09:33 PM
what do u guys think about compaq laptops? I just bought one recently and a lot of people asking me why i bought this laptop. They claimed that compaq laptops can spoilt very easily (faulty cdroms and etc). Any previous encounters from anyone using compaq laptops? I'm actually a bit worried, only one year limited warranty for mine. :(
kIdd0
26-04-2004, 03:48 AM
Hey guys, i have been wondering about getting a laptop in Msia and i am really interested in both the Fujitsu and Toshiba models. In term of Service Centers in the States, which brand of laptop would have more convenient service? or should i just settle for Compaq? Cause i heard Compaq service centers are plentiful in the States! Thanx...
28-04-2004, 11:34 AM
btwin dell & compaq laptops, which is better in terms of service (in the u.s.)?
28-04-2004, 11:51 AM
i don't think there's a lot of service centres for either dell or compaq. In USA everything is done by parcel. YOur laptop needs some fixing you send it to them by parcel. This applies to all brands.
Quality of service in America is generally much more higher compared to Malaysia.
28-04-2004, 12:51 PM
i don't think there's a lot of service centres for either dell or compaq. In USA everything is done by parcel. YOur laptop needs some fixing you send it to them by parcel. This applies to all brands.
Quality of service in America is generally much more higher compared to Malaysia.
i thought dell services provide on-site response?
aquila
28-04-2004, 12:55 PM
u should check with your uni's office of tech... here at duke, i send every prob to our office of informational tech and they fix my comp for me for free!!!
buy IBM!!! seriously, i've dropped it before (wit a loud thud!) spilled water on it ! etc... and it's still serving me well...
28-04-2004, 01:03 PM
i thought dell services provide on-site response?
They might in certain areas. In most case they will ask you to send it.
When you call them, they will send UPS to drop of a box where you would to put your package in and UPS would pick it up the following day. The turn over is usually between 10-14 days.
28-04-2004, 01:13 PM
u should check with your uni's office of tech... here at duke, i send every prob to our office of informational tech and they fix my comp for me for free!!!
buy IBM!!! seriously, i've dropped it before (wit a loud thud!) spilled water on it ! etc... and it's still serving me well...
but ibm's so expensive. anyway, thanks for your advice.
28-04-2004, 01:17 PM
They might in certain areas. In most case they will ask you to send it.
When you call them, they will send UPS to drop of a box where you would to put your package in and UPS would pick it up the following day. The turn over is usually between 10-14 days.
i c. do i have 2 pay?
28-04-2004, 02:02 PM
If its under warantty they you don't have too. If not, it might cost you around 20 bucks for shipping and whatever it cost to repair.
gohweihan
11-05-2004, 02:44 AM
hey...jsu curious...has anyone ever heard of thebrand ASUS? service centers?? anyone?? :)
Well, I just know that ASUS once manufactured their motherboards clocked beyond the advertised speed. Not sure if they do that now, though.
11-05-2004, 05:45 AM
bought compaq in malaysia. using in since nov till now in Germany. No probs :lol:
Friend with same model changed the WLAN card under warranty. Repair guys came on site and even requested to give replacement cos gotta bring back for repairs. Notebook came back in 2 days.
So i'm pretty confident of the service in Germany.
jagganatha
12-05-2004, 10:45 PM
about asus mun hua.. they only have one service center in the states which is in california or something if I'm not mistaken.. stopped me from buying their laptops although they have wonderful deals
b_ronick
14-05-2004, 11:24 PM
i'd like to know..
i was plannin to get an ibm laptop but there are quite a number of my frenz are getting dell..
which one is better?
dell or ibm computers?
in terms of reliability and international warranty and of course the performance as well..
widagdo
15-05-2004, 01:37 AM
about asus mun hua.. they only have one service center in the states which is in california or something if I'm not mistaken.. stopped me from buying their laptops although they have wonderful deals
Do you really think that ASUS is reliable?
15-05-2004, 06:20 PM
if i buy my notebook in malaysia 2 bring 2 the u.s., should i buy a universal power adapter?
15-05-2004, 10:10 PM
if i buy my notebook in malaysia 2 bring 2 the u.s., should i buy a universal power adapter?
some notebook adaptors(bundled with notebook) have the suitable plug for the States 3 pin plug...
and just wan to ask the seniors' advice... do u guys buy all the appliances with the US plug... of do u guys bought a converter+ then use a 4-way gang extension + then can use ur malaysia plug...???
b_ronick
17-05-2004, 08:50 PM
someone pls help me out with the question i have put forward before this
17-05-2004, 10:13 PM
Is it advisable for us to get the Adapter in the States?
18-05-2004, 12:11 AM
it doesn't matter as long as it's the correct one. Check for the correct pins and also for the correct voltage and frequency. I think it should be 110V at 60MHz...someoe correct me if I'm wrong...
18-05-2004, 10:17 AM
Usually most lap tops are equipped with AC adaptors. I believe all AC Adaptors for Laptops are AC Auto. Which Means it supports:
USA and Canada 120V and
Foreign 110/220/240V with 50/60Hz.
What you would need is the Pins/Plug converter like one of these http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore?productLearnMore=M8794G/B and you'll be all set.