View Full Version : Which laptop is good?

Pages : 1 [2]

smile!
20-06-2008, 12:34 PM
I have a Dell Inspiron 1420 laptop n mine is pink colour.

I name my laptop Daisy. haha dun ask me why. nways

Processor: Intel? CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Drive: 160GB
Graphic card: NVIDIA? GeForceTM Go 8400M GS with 128MB DDR3
Full Media Support. DVD, Blu Ray, bluetooth. intergrated webcam (2.0 MP).. yada.. yada..yada

the design is very nice, its cute :) weight 2.5kg

i bought it for rm 2600. I didnt buy it from the net. i bought it from a Dell dealer.

so far so gud, the only downside, isnt the laptop but its the OS, vista is soo freaking annoying and slow. haha

the touch pad is very sensitive, so wen u type, all of the sudden the cursor will hop to sum other place.. wat u type will go haywire

the speaker rox, the screen is very clear .

the best thing bout this laptop is the reasonable price.

overall its ok :D 4 stars

thanks for sharing!
I just ordered a dell inspiron 1420 too..
But my intel processor is only 1.83Ghz.. the graphic card is just the normal one.. but it's more expensive than the price u bought it.. u bought it during pc fair?
May I know how long is your warranty and your McAfee protection?

whui
20-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Personally, if you PC or laptop is not for commercial use, counterfeit operating system, office and antivirus software would be enough for use. There are no much significant differences between a forged one and a genuine one in terms of their functions but do have a distinctive difference when dealing with the comparison between their prices. :notrust Using forges, you have to be specially careful when using your PC or laptop - those genuine software stuffs are precious, aren't they? :)

For the above, I don't mean to encourage the use of counterfeit softwares between recommers, just some of my notion. :) A vey cliche question regarding the use of counterfeit softwares: can we use them when going aboard for study, or we need to use genuine one? :)

If you use a forged one, you have to be clever to prevent Microsoft from "accessing" ur OS information(eg they are good with validating license key when u go online). From what I heard, Microsoft is clever enough to violate and keep ur OS running slow because u doesn't obey the law.
If this happens, TURN OFF automatic updates. and avoid urself from surfing Microsoft-related sites.
If you wanna go overseas its better to use an original one just in case the country you're going voids the usage of pirated software. then u're in big trouble.

One thing for sure, if u're using a counterfeit one, upgrading on-board software for example windows media player is impossible because of validation issue. :)

nadia.g
20-06-2008, 02:21 PM
thanks for sharing!
I just ordered a dell inspiron 1420 too..
But my intel processor is only 1.83Ghz.. the graphic card is just the normal one.. but it's more expensive than the price u bought it.. u bought it during pc fair?
May I know how long is your warranty and your McAfee protection?

I bought it from a dell dealer. Mine is w/o the OS n McAfee Protection.

So i installed counterfeit vista ultimate n Kaspersky (3 years warranty)

20-06-2008, 02:41 PM
If you use a forged one, you have to be clever to prevent Microsoft from "accessing" ur OS information(eg they are good with validating license key when u go online). From what I heard, Microsoft is clever enough to violate and keep ur OS running slow because u doesn't obey the law.
If this happens, TURN OFF automatic updates. and avoid urself from surfing Microsoft-related sites.
If you wanna go overseas its better to use an original one just in case the country you're going voids the usage of pirated software. then u're in big trouble.

One thing for sure, if u're using a counterfeit one, upgrading on-board software for example windows media player is impossible because of validation issue. :)heh...even that won't stop them from contacting home and verifying that OS is counterfeit or not. hard luck to you.

I bought it from a dell dealer. Mine is w/o the OS n McAfee Protection.

So i installed counterfeit vista ultimate n Kaspersky (3 years warranty)
Kaspersky is well known in terms of security. You can expect your activation key to be deactivated in a few months time. At that point you may not update your virus definitions anymore

it is an authorised dealer ok. i bought from lowyat.

i do haf the warranty. yes on-site service. Dell's warranty is from dell n not the dealer.

i think my laptop is cheap becos it doesnt come with an OS and the McAfee Security thingy . we haf to install the OS ourselves. Installing a forge OS doesnt cost tat much.
I don't think it's an authorised dealer. There are many dealers who claimed to be so but sells counterfeit stuffs. Also, I don't think Dell sells computers in Malaysia or anywhere without the OS. You might be short changed here already.

nobody
20-06-2008, 02:44 PM
Kaspersky is well known in terms of security. You can expect your activation key to be deactivated in a few months time. At that point you may not update your virus definitions anymore

Yea, I was soooo jealous when i know my friend's sister got the cracked version of Kaspersky installed on her new laptop. But then, after a few months, she told me that Kaspersky discovered it and deactivated it.
Again...it shows how secure kaspersky is =)
Bondage Hardcore (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/386/hardcore/videos/1)

whui
20-06-2008, 05:00 PM
heh...even that won't stop them from contacting home and verifying that OS is counterfeit or not. hard luck to you.

:P Yes you have to turn on firewall and so on blabla and if it costs some money for just setting a vault between you and microsoft, better use a genuine lah...:P
Safe the hassle

Just my two cents:)

herm
20-06-2008, 05:37 PM
How's the quality of Fujitsu's laptops?Anyone mind to enlighten me?
I am looking for a normal laptop for college use.

Caprio
21-06-2008, 01:50 PM
How's the quality of Fujitsu's laptops?Anyone mind to enlighten me?
I am looking for a normal laptop for college use.

In terms of quality, it is indeed very good. By the way, the price for this laptop is more expensive comparatively to other laptops.

If you are looking for a normal laptop for college use, you may try Toshiba, HP, Compaq or Dell. The price for these laptops are more affordable.

herm
21-06-2008, 05:09 PM
In terms of quality, it is indeed very good. By the way, the price for this laptop is more expensive comparatively to other laptops.

If you are looking for a normal laptop for college use, you may try Toshiba, HP, Compaq or Dell. The price for these laptops are more affordable.

Oic.How abt this model:-S7211(Fujitsu)...

Lexxam
29-06-2008, 11:46 AM
Dell released a new model called "Studio"
It's somewhere between the inspiron series and XPS series

mont blanc
29-06-2008, 12:12 PM
what about macbook? anyone?

Lexxam
29-06-2008, 12:36 PM
ask urself whether familiar with Mac OS X?

Caprio
29-06-2008, 01:23 PM
If you are not familiar with Mac OS, it is recommended that you use Microsoft OS.

y
29-06-2008, 01:26 PM
how about IBM??

Caprio
29-06-2008, 01:32 PM
how about IBM??

Not bad. However, the IBM company is bought over by Lenovo.

Try to look for Lenovo Thinkpad. It is very durable though the design is a bit out-dated.

mont blanc
29-06-2008, 02:51 PM
yeah but what about macbook's compatibility with other computers? like u know, file transfers and all. like there's an office especially for mac right? then can other computers read the files transfered from macbook?

ps; what's he diff between microsoft os and mac os?

lalok
29-06-2008, 04:35 PM
Not bad. However, the IBM company is bought over by Lenovo.

Try to look for Lenovo Thinkpad. It is very durable though the design is a bit out-dated.

yeah..
lenovo is durable..
but the price is so expensive..

macbook is nice too..
but i think u can learn how to use macbook from the internet..

Dell released a new model called "Studio"
It's somewhere between the inspiron series and XPS series

yeah..but malaysia already out or not?
this notebook is big..and might heavy too..

I recommended u to use dell..because dell get nice spec with affordable price...
and dont use acer..seems its service and quality is low..
like dell..if ur laptop rosak and u still under warranty..just call them and tell them about ur probs..
then he will come to ur place and replace affected parts..

29-06-2008, 05:06 PM
:P Yes you have to turn on firewall and so on blabla and if it costs some money for just setting a vault between you and microsoft, better use a genuine lah...:P
Safe the hassle

Just my two cents:)heh, firewall won't stop it all right. So don't bother

yeah but what about macbook's compatibility with other computers? like u know, file transfers and all. like there's an office especially for mac right? then can other computers read the files transfered from macbook?

ps; what's he diff between microsoft os and mac os?there are compatible programs for the Mac to do most of the stuffs that you can do with your PC, so no worries in this department...

lalok
30-06-2008, 11:39 AM
dell is sucks u know..
using low quality lcd screen..
now my lcd got dead pixel..
in the process to contact the technician to replacee my lcd..

Caprio
30-06-2008, 12:50 PM
dell is sucks u know..
using low quality lcd screen..
now my lcd got dead pixel..
in the process to contact the technician to replacee my lcd..

The same thing happens to Toshiba too. May I know which Dell model you are using?

The Dell service is superb. The technician will come to look for you soon. No worries. :P

lalok
30-06-2008, 01:12 PM
xps 1530..
yeah..the service is superb..but quality sucks..
haha..

Yukie
29-07-2008, 03:01 PM
Is there anyone who can tell me which kind of laptop is suitable for an animation course student? I read in a news paper that they recommend :
-160 GB or more for hard drive
-7200 rpm
-Intel Core 2 Duo (at least 2.2 GHz)
-Nivida/AMD graphic card
-2 GB or more DDR2 RAM (4 GB being best)
All these specifications sound very expensive TT And, should I use a Microsoft or a Mac?

qedx
29-07-2008, 04:05 PM
I think that sounds about right. You'll need a fast CPU or rendering/encoding is going to take a long time, you'll need lots of RAM otherwise actually working on your stuff will be a pita, and you'll need a big HD to store the stuff that you need/have worked on.

I'd say you can skimp a bit on the CPU but still Core 2 Duo or AMD equivalent, but that's about it.

You can always opt for a desktop though. A desktop with the same specs as a laptop should cost less.

Oh, and the OS (Windows or Mac) really depends on what they're going to teach you to use on your course. Although if you get a Mac you can always use Boot Camp to install Windows on it *shrug*

Caprio
29-07-2008, 09:35 PM
Is there anyone who can tell me which kind of laptop is suitable for an animation course student? I read in a news paper that they recommend :
-7200 rpm
-Nivida/AMD graphic card
All these specifications sound very expensive TT And, should I use a Microsoft or a Mac?

How about Dell Inspiron? If you can afford a more expensive laptop, go for Dell XPS! It costs you around 4k!:P

For compatibility, use Microsoft instead.

PC fair is coming, you may get cheaper deals during the fair.

superdupree
30-07-2008, 12:02 PM
get acer gemstone blue! the lastest from acer's line of production. model no : aspire 6920G :)

skatemusicianer
20-08-2008, 03:42 PM
I'm using a Toshiba L310. It's affordable and the specs aren't too bad. Of course you can get better specs for this price for other brands, but Toshiba 's durability outweighs other brands.

Leen
21-08-2008, 12:02 AM
Acer is not a good choice for those that use their laptop heavily.

I will recommend Toshiba and to a lesser extend, Asus.

Sony is good but the price is too high, as always.

Dell is solid on one hand and the service is great, but I don't like how it is so hard to uninstall McAfee from my friend's Dell. One thing about Dell laptops that you must know is that the lid is very fragile. They can come off after some time of using it. I personally know a few person that have the lids come apart.

As for the battle between Mac and Microsoft, Mac wins hands down. The only reason people are still using Microsoft is because everyone else is using it. And not to mention, there is less cetak rompak application CDs/DVDs out there for Mac.

Mac does not get attacked by virus. It keeps both Mac and Microsoft, it has very solid computer speed that does not slow down or lag, it is elegant, and also, it has pretty good service. A friend of mine got a whole new laptop after the company failed to fix a recurring problem he has. You can never get that with Acer. I sent it for reformatting (because they have the original XP SP2 disc and I still get charged RM120 despite being STILL under full warranty).

21-08-2008, 04:39 AM
Mac does not get attacked by virus. It keeps both Mac and Microsoft, it has very solid computer speed that does not slow down or lag, it is elegant, and also, it has pretty good service. A friend of mine got a whole new laptop after the company failed to fix a recurring problem he has. You can never get that with Acer. I sent it for reformatting (because they have the original XP SP2 disc and I still get charged RM120 despite being STILL under full warranty).
A pretty misconception that it is more secure. There are actually more known security holes on a Mac than Windows Vista. Security through obscurity doesn't means it's really secure

But i like the service given to owners of Macs though. Replacing an out of warranty laptops with a newer better model makes them one of the companies that actually cares about its customers.

Musida
28-03-2010, 11:35 PM
I'm getting ready to go to college and am looking at laptops. I'm not going to get a Mac, but all other brands are on the table. For computers under $700, what is the best brand? (I'm especially looking into HP and Toshiba, so any extra info on those would be appreciated.)

sugarspice
29-03-2010, 08:07 AM
You may find your answer here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=4407)?

nuha
30-04-2010, 04:14 AM
netbook??
any recommendation??

alter_ego
30-04-2010, 07:34 AM
netbook??
any recommendation??
yeah, me too need recommendation.:)

30-04-2010, 08:23 AM
the Apple iPad!

30-04-2010, 12:06 PM
Haha if you want to get any serious work done I doubt iPad is a good option. But if your netbook is meant for entertainment, then ya by all means get one. :)

AllenChew
30-04-2010, 12:12 PM
is HP in the 'tight budget' category?many of my frens advice me nt to buy acer as they said that many hardware probs exist in acer~~

30-04-2010, 12:53 PM
is HP in the 'tight budget' category?many of my frens advice me nt to buy acer as they said that many hardware probs exist in acer~~

Yup, Acer proved to have a lot of problems. Its not recommended if you don't know anything on how to fix a problematic computer. If you are on tight budget, HP and Dell will be the better choice. Among the two, I like Dell better because their customer service is good besides other factors.

LaLaLaKenz
30-04-2010, 01:18 PM
probably buying one Lappy

-budget below 2k , don't want to spend too much .
-for study purpose , decided to quit gaming for my studies .
-high durability
-Good for watching videos / nice screen
-tough keypad ..
anyone recommend me ? thx
HP ? Toshiba ? Lenovo ? Dell ? or others ?

warzone
30-04-2010, 07:04 PM
probably buying one Lappy

-budget below 2k , don't want to spend too much .
-for study purpose , decided to quit gaming for my studies .
-high durability
-Good for watching videos / nice screen
-tough keypad ..
anyone recommend me ? thx
HP ? Toshiba ? Lenovo ? Dell ? or others ?

need strictly under 2k??

Asus K40Ab, AMD RM-75 + ATi HD4570 DDR2 vram, 2 years warranty, freeDOS@<hidden>RM1899
Compaq CQ41-208AU, AMD M520 + ATi HD4200, freeDOS@<hidden>RM1599
Compaq CQ41-217AU, AMD M320 + ATi HD4200@<hidden>RM1599
Lenovo G455, AMD M320 + ATi HD4550 DDR3 vram, freeDOS@<hidden>RM1749
Lenovo G450, T6570 + Nvidia G310M, Freedos@<hidden>RM1899
Dell Inspiron 14, T4400, Home Basic@<hidden>RM1599

all laptops above are 14inch..

well...the latest batch of acer seems to be better...
if u're so worried bout probs...better go with DELL as it has on site warranty!:thumbs

netbook??
any recommendation??

whats ur budget?

ASUS Eee PC 901
CPU Intel Atom N270 @<hidden> 1.60Ghz
Operating System MS Windows XP Home
RAM 2GB
Hard Drive Size 12GB ( C:4GB D:8GB )
Hard Drive Type SSD Drive
Display Size 8.9
Native Resolution 1024x768
Graphics Card Integrated graphics
Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g
Bluetooth Stereo Bluetooth
Ports(excluding USB) Ethernet; Headphone; Microphone; VGA
USB Ports 3
Card Slots 2-1 card reader
Warranty/Support One Week Personal
Size 8.9 x 6.7 x 1.3 inches
Weight 2.6 pounds
Batt Stanby Min 5 hours on High Performance Mode

Price : RM1xxx

Dell Mini 9 with built-in HSDPA/UMTS (3G) module
Alpine White color

1.6GHz N270 Intel Atom Processor
1GB DDR2 533MHz (1 DIMM)
Genuine Windows XP Home Edition for ULCPC
8.9" 1024 x 600 WSVGA glossy LED backlit display
8GB miniPCI SSD card
Intel GMA 950 Integrated Graphics
802.11b/g Wi-Fi
Dell 5530 WWAN PCI-e module (HSDPA/UMTS/3G)
4-in-1 Media card reader
0.3 Megapixel webcam, Dell Video Chat application, Dell Support Center
4-Cell 32Wh Li-ion battery (14.8V)
Size: 9.2" x 6.8" x 1.3" (including feet)
Weight: 2lb 5.5oz (with 4-cell battery), 2lb 11.6oz (with battery and AC adapter)

All for RM8++

-7200 rpm
-Nivida/AMD graphic card

budget????

slappyfin3
30-04-2010, 07:12 PM
I've looked around and have decided to wait for two more batches of MacBooks to come, so in the meantime I've settled with the TM cool Uni Pack. Primarily for the free netbook that comes with it :D~

30-04-2010, 07:16 PM
I love Macbooks. They feel sturdy, and the aluminium shell made them feel like they are able to handle quite a lot of punishment.

30-04-2010, 07:26 PM
I love Macbooks. They feel sturdy, and the aluminium shell made them feel like they are able to handle quite a lot of punishment.

Yup, I got myself a MacbookPro and it is absolutely awesome man.. I booted Windows 7 ultimate in it so i can do gaming in windows and when i do my projects, i will switch to the mac HD.

Well, overall, Mac programmes are satisfactory.. of course Microsoft programmes being made to fit mac isn't as sweet as the real thing though..

MSN messenger for mac for example, doesn't allow u to send offline msg and at the same time it doesn't really connect to to most msn so u can't webcam or see the display pic of some of ur frens who uses a low-version msn..

however, now by booting the comp, i can switch to windows and use the new msn messenger like a normal windows user..

Oh, n did i mention, macbook's graphic card is super awesome so u can even play L4D2 or particularly all da latest games there is in the market on the mac!

the main weakness is of course, macs are never meant for gaming so it gets overheated at times when u play games... old macs will tend to shut down but currently under the snow leopard newer version, no such thing has happen to my mac. but of course I only played for.. 2 hours max actually so.. hahaha!!! its still ok for now..

realn00b
30-04-2010, 07:29 PM
easy.. Alienware m17x

30-04-2010, 07:46 PM
MSN messenger for mac for example, doesn't allow u to send offline msg and at the same time it doesn't really connect to to most msn so u can't webcam or see the display pic of some of ur frens who uses a low-version msn..
You can try using Adium to be able to send offline messages. You will lose the ability to send custom emoticons, and to nudge, but I believe it is a fair trade off to be able to use a program that can connect to Facebook, Google Chat, Yahoo, MSN, and ICQ all at the same time

LLCH
30-04-2010, 07:53 PM
You don have nudge in Mac's window messenger.

30-04-2010, 08:01 PM
You don have nudge in Mac's window messenger.
nor do I need it... I find that the tabbed chat windows a boom with Adium. All the chats are happily gathered into one window, and not spread all around messing up my desktop.

Edit: I take back my words, we can use custom emoticons and nudges with Adium as well... (another reason to ditch windows)

01-05-2010, 10:31 AM
You can try using Adium to be able to send offline messages. You will lose the ability to send custom emoticons, and to nudge, but I believe it is a fair trade off to be able to use a program that can connect to Facebook, Google Chat, Yahoo, MSN, and ICQ all at the same time

well, adium pics are so small.. LOL.. i have the duck staring at me whole day. hahaha!! so cute..

01-05-2010, 11:06 PM
well, adium pics are so small.. LOL.. i have the duck staring at me whole day. hahaha!! so cute..
haha... my dock is hidden all the time anyway :P

AnnieChan
02-05-2010, 09:47 PM
hey.. i need an opinion.. i'll be getting laptop soon.. but i'm kinda clueless bout what to get.. i heard lenovo is terrible and that i should go for acer.. any opinions, mr. technology buffs ? :D

03-05-2010, 08:03 AM
hey.. i need an opinion.. i'll be getting laptop soon.. but i'm kinda clueless bout what to get.. i heard lenovo is terrible and that i should go for acer.. any opinions, mr. technology buffs ? :D

get a mac. prob solved. virus dont work in macs, neither does most windows programmes. but if u r not a gamer and just use it for projects and online, macs are certainly ur choice. how much is ur budget?

*oh, n i dunno about u but I'll always discourage my friends from getting acer and dell. LOL. i used to use Acer travelmate and it made me pissed off a lot since it lags a lot after a while.. by far, my mac hasn't lag at all despite having used it for gaming and everything.

pcgeek
03-05-2010, 09:20 AM

Just need to be wary of new brands... I had a NEC (which is actually made by MSI) which sucked big time...really can bang my head on the wall with this laptop.... 6th month-graphic card dead... 8th month come back again.... and weird problems and bugs like keyboard locking itself when I typed too fast

acer is good... but I think only for the models towards the higher-end... I've been with an acer 6935 for more than a year now, but have not encountered any problem... while my cousin using the 4315 had a few problems with the lcd...

anyway there was a research which showed that, regardless of brand, higher-end laptops tend to be more problem-free...

Also mass producers tend to be less reliable (such as dell, acer group(emachines, acer and gateway) HP ... so asus, toshiba, sony will be better (but more expensive as well I think)

do check out the warranty as well... I think acer has a 3-year extended warranty promotion now.... but Dell warranty service is the best ever..

03-05-2010, 11:43 AM
I think you have gotten it the other way round. I have seen a LOT of Acers failing prematurely. I have no experience with Lenovos, but being the company that took over the Thinkpad division from IBM, their computers should be reliable as well...

In any case, if you want stellar customer service, get a Dell. They can repair your computer on site if something goes wrong, something that all of the others didn't manage to do in Malaysia

03-05-2010, 11:53 AM
Lenovo's top-end series are built like a brick, it's the preferred laptop brand by many corporations worldwide. Its reliability is widely acclaimed. I am not sure about its budget line (I am using one) because they do come with a cheaper-feeling build.

sugarspice
03-05-2010, 06:55 PM
Lenovo's top-end series are built like a brick, it's the preferred laptop brand by many corporations worldwide. Its reliability is widely acclaimed. I am not sure about its budget line (I am using one) because they do come with a cheaper-feeling build.

is Lenovo Thinkpad considered the top-end series? My uncle told me Thinkpad is better than Ideapad...

alter_ego
03-05-2010, 07:13 PM
is Lenovo Thinkpad considered the top-end series? My uncle told me Thinkpad is better than Ideapad...
the sound system of ideapad not a good one. it's weird.LOL

03-05-2010, 07:59 PM
It is. It is the series that they bought over from IBM. Thinkpads are legendary in their strong build and reliability, and have been trusted by a lot of businessmen all over the world...

AnnieChan
03-05-2010, 08:56 PM
but lenovo gets heated up easily right?

iceyaisha
13-05-2010, 09:12 PM
I'm considering of buying a laptop of my own, as I am sharing a laptop with my family at home. Hmm. Which do you all think is, suitable for doing assignments, listening to songs, downloading stuffs, and perhaps, a little bit of gaming? I don't like small screens, so its more likely for me to buy a 14 inch laptop. Hehex. My budget is around RM2,000+. Suggestions, please?

Lance_Kuan
13-05-2010, 09:37 PM
If you want a cheap and quite good laptop go for Acer, as far as I am concerned Acer sells the cheapest laptops.
If you're just doing normal paper works which doesn't include super-graphics stuffs I recommend Lenovo, Sony or Toshiba. They're the best :)

realn00b
13-05-2010, 09:38 PM
Alienware m17x

DShen26
13-05-2010, 09:54 PM
Have anyone heard of Asus?
Any comment?

13-05-2010, 09:55 PM
but lenovo gets heated up easily right?I am guessing that any laptop will be warm depending on your usage.

Lance_Kuan
13-05-2010, 09:56 PM
Alienware m17x

You can't get Alienware for 2k, my dear :)

BTW that laptop is a gaming-biased laptop, shouldn't we students focus on studying instead? :P (No offence)

realn00b
13-05-2010, 09:59 PM
i only read the title of the thread =) haha

Lance_Kuan
13-05-2010, 10:19 PM
I am guessing that any laptop will be warm depending on your usage.

I think what they meant was it gets heat up easily (which means heats up in a faster rate compared to other brands).

And yes, that is a true fact, but as a scholar, don't be too obsessed to computers :)

I use computer a lot, though :P

Have anyone heard of Asus?
Any comment?

Asus is famous for their motherboards and their hardwares. IMO Asus is also OK :)

DShen26
14-05-2010, 11:19 AM
Asus is famous for their motherboards and their hardwares. IMO Asus is also OK :)[/quote]
So, is it ok if I get a laptop from Asus?
Any problems overheard?

Orlando
14-05-2010, 12:17 PM
Hey everyone.. im considering buying a laptop.. budget 2-3.5k.. Heard Acer heats up easily.. toshibas and alienware expensive what about dell?

Lance_Kuan
14-05-2010, 02:35 PM
Hey everyone.. im considering buying a laptop.. budget 2-3.5k.. Heard Acer heats up easily.. toshibas and alienware expensive what about dell?

Hello Orlando :)
FYI, Alienware itself is already DELL's.
BTW I do not really recommend you to go for Alienware because that series of laptops are basicly gaming-orientated. If you still think Toshiba is expensive then I think you would not consider Sony.
As such, if heating up easily really annoys you, I also won't recommend you to go for Acer (as for my case, I chose Acer because its cheap and I do not really mind heating up easily).
Then I think you should go for either Lenovo or Asus, both companies provide mid-ranged price laptops :)

Orlando
14-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Hello Orlando :)
FYI, Alienware itself is already DELL's.
BTW I do not really recommend you to go for Alienware because that series of laptops are basicly gaming-orientated. If you still think Toshiba is expensive then I think you would not consider Sony.
As such, if heating up easily really annoys you, I also won't recommend you to go for Acer (as for my case, I chose Acer because its cheap and I do not really mind heating up easily).
Then I think you should go for either Lenovo or Asus, both companies provide mid-ranged price laptops :)

Hey Lance, thanks. Sorry i'm abit technology challenged.. How much would Sony cost?

Lance_Kuan
14-05-2010, 03:41 PM
Hey Lance, thanks. Sorry i'm abit technology challenged.. How much would Sony cost?

The price range is as about Toshiba's. :) Both of them emphasize on quality laptops. but if your budget reaches 3k I think you should pursue Sony or Toshiba. For 3k you should be able to get a good one :)

Orlando
14-05-2010, 03:43 PM
The price range is as about Toshiba's. :) Both of them emphasize on quality laptops. but if your budget reaches 3k I think you should pursue Sony or Toshiba. For 3k you should be able to get a good one :)

Alrighty thn.. I wil go have a look see soon.. Once again, thanks for your help Lance.. =)

Kemai
14-05-2010, 03:48 PM
please please and please DO NOT get a HP. ALL my HP laptops at home overheat after 15 minutes of usage. I think it can cook egg as well !! By the way the models that i've used was the tx1000,tx2000 and pavilion dv6. Before Buying ANY type of HP brands please check with the seller, TEST it out thoroughly !

Lance_Kuan
14-05-2010, 04:32 PM
please please and please DO NOT get a HP. ALL my HP laptops at home overheat after 15 minutes of usage. I think it can cook egg as well !! By the way the models that i've used was the tx1000,tx2000 and pavilion dv6. Before Buying ANY type of HP brands please check with the seller, TEST it out thoroughly !

IDK whether HP laptops get heated up easily or the other way, but considering the price to function ratio I won't get myself a HP or Compaq laptop :notrust

14-05-2010, 08:04 PM
Overheat until the machine shuts itself off, or only it feels warm? The normal operating temperature for my laptop is around 60-75 degrees celcius (as measured by the utility SMC Fan Control), and it will definitely feel warm in any case.

speckboyz
14-05-2010, 09:54 PM
Don't buy Sony...
Sony still new in laptop business..
i use Sony Viao for myself..

and trust me, my laptop having cooling fan problm..
At first it make some cracky noise.. then, it's stop moving at all.
the problm is not from the wy i'm using it, but the design of fan itself..
believe it or not, i've send my laptop to Sony Centre for warranty..
guess how long it can survive?
3 weeks only then, the same problm happn again..

I think i'm not alone..
cuz my friend having the same prblm with his laptop too.

If the company really takes seriously to get into this field..
and care about their thousands customer world wide..
they should change the fan design ASAP..
but then, nothing they done to imprve it..
they only care about the profit

p/s mine is not an old model.. it's 2009 model CS26G.. cost Rm3.9K

AnnieChan
14-05-2010, 10:47 PM
so, best solution is what model ?? HP is out, so is Sony and Lenovo & Acer.. haha lets see if i can 'convince' my parents to get me a Macbook :D

14-05-2010, 10:54 PM
Why is lenovo out? I am using one and it's fine. My girlfriend's IBM (the same with lenovo) has been working for the last 6 years and is still going strong.

AnnieChan
14-05-2010, 11:03 PM
hmm.. coz someone said lenovo gets heated up really fast that you could even fried an egg.. or am i wrong?

14-05-2010, 11:13 PM
hmm.. coz someone said lenovo gets heated up really fast that you could even fried an egg.. or am i wrong?Did he mention the specific model?

Unless the laptop shuts itself down suddenly, with no warning, we can assume that it is still working ok. Intel chips are rated to function properly with temperatures up to 105 degrees celcius.

Lance_Kuan
14-05-2010, 11:35 PM
hmm.. coz someone said lenovo gets heated up really fast that you could even fried an egg.. or am i wrong?

I've never heard of any laptop that can heat up till the extend that it could fry eggs up! :notrust
Its rare for Lenovo to have any problems, so you will as well go for it. About the Sony mentioned above, IMO both of the users are quite unlucky :(

As for Acer, it is true that it heats up quite easily, but still my stand is that Acer is suitable for those with low budget but needs a quite-ok laptop. While for those going for low-req laptops or have a high budget can go for Lenovo or Sony :)

day_dreamer
14-05-2010, 11:35 PM
I think another important thing to consider when buying a laptop is the laptop screen hinge.

After some serious lookout .. I find that Apple and Lenovo(ThinkPads only) did a great job with securing the hinges.

High-end models like Alienware laptops and Dell Adamo has pretty decent hinges too.

Weak hinges will make the laptop screen sway around after 2 years or maybe even 1 year of use !!

Lance_Kuan
14-05-2010, 11:41 PM
I think another important thing to consider when buying a laptop is the laptop screen hinge.

After some serious lookout .. I find that Apple and Lenovo(ThinkPads only) did a great job with securing the hinges.

High-end models like Alienware laptops and Dell Adamo has pretty decent hinges too.

Weak hinges will make the laptop screen sway around after 2 years or maybe even 1 year of use !!

Agreed, that's why I say for those who do not need high-end laptops should go for Lenovo.
IMHO Apples and Alienwares are VERY expensive T.T and I can't afford them :cry

baby92
15-05-2010, 12:14 AM
what about dell? im thinking to buy one.. but im not sure whether it suits for students like us, for doing assignment, dwnloading songs and stores great enuf memory.. does anyone from here ever used dell b4?

15-05-2010, 12:41 AM
what about dell? im thinking to buy one.. but im not sure whether it suits for students like us, for doing assignment, dwnloading songs and stores great enuf memory.. does anyone from here ever used dell b4?
Dell is known to have excellent customer service. From my own experiences, I haven't have to troubleshoot too much problems from a Dell computer (apart from standard Windows Xp, Vista, 7 querries). So, go for it.

From your description, I am guessing that any of the laptops offered will do well to suit your needs.

Lance_Kuan
15-05-2010, 12:55 AM

It seems that what you require are light tasks, you may as well go for any laptops except Acer IMO (get those laptops that doesn't heat up easily) but IMO Acer has reputation for having long battery life, which is also taken in consideration of students like us :)

baby92
15-05-2010, 01:05 AM
ok2.. i guess i shall buy dell then.. hehe. im interested in acer too. but my sis got one already n i want to buy somethng different. wanna get some varieties. haha. nyway, thnx guys!! ;D

sugarspice
17-05-2010, 05:30 PM
OMG! The MBP superdrive is so 'fierce'! It makes such loud, weird and 'rude' noises as if it was eating my DVD! I thought it would be smooth like those slot-in CD drives in cars....hahaha...sorry, but I was freaked out...lol!

17-05-2010, 05:34 PM
OMG! The MBP superdrive is so 'fierce'! It makes such loud, weird and 'rude' noises as if it was eating my DVD! I thought it would be smooth like those slot-in CD drives in cars....hahaha...sorry, but I was freaked out...lol!
Haha... The CD-Drives in cars are spinning at a relatively slow speed compared to the drives in your MBP. This high speed is what causes the loud noise in most computer drives when a disc is slotted in...

OoiYanLing
17-05-2010, 08:55 PM
Hey all :) Just thought this might help a lil' bit :
You can win Del laptops in this word challenge game on Facebook. See the link here: http://bit.ly/cSovfy more gadgets are giving out.

bekann
25-05-2010, 10:09 AM
Is there much difference between Intel Dual Core Processors and Intel i5/i7 processors?

How is i5/i7 better compared to dual core?

sugarspice
25-05-2010, 02:39 PM
Agreed, that's why I say for those who do not need high-end laptops should go for Lenovo.
IMHO Apples and Alienwares are VERY expensive T.T and I can't afford them :cry

Apple Macbook (the white one) is only RM3099 if you buy at Apple's Education store!

Lance_Kuan
25-05-2010, 05:20 PM
Is there much difference between Intel Dual Core Processors and Intel i5/i7 processors?

How is i5/i7 better compared to dual core?

Dual core itself is already not recommended (Should have get Core 2 Duo)
i5 and i7 have big difference compared to dual core, VERY BIG in fact.

Apple Macbook (the white one) is only RM3099 if you buy at Apple's Education store!

3k is expensive enough for me :(

bekann
25-05-2010, 08:51 PM
Dual core itself is already not recommended (Should have get Core 2 Duo)
i5 and i7 have big difference compared to dual core, VERY BIG in fact.

3k is expensive enough for me :(

Oops, I meant Core 2 Duo vs i3 or i5.
Is i3/i5 worth the greater price?

AnnieChan
25-05-2010, 10:13 PM
any opinions on toshiba?

lxy
26-05-2010, 01:35 PM
I'm gonna start a levels soon and i wanna get a decent, durable laptop for studying purposes. not into gaming, but can handle some multimedia. budget: rm2-2.5K, can extend to 3K. from what i read, dell seems to be a probable choice, but which model? I'm open to any other brand options, though. =)

wany_kyo
26-05-2010, 03:07 PM
yea,i also wanna buy a laptop...but my budget around 2k-2.5k...so,any suggestion??

runninghorse
26-05-2010, 03:15 PM
I'm gonna start a levels soon and i wanna get a decent, durable laptop for studying purposes. not into gaming, but can handle some multimedia. budget: rm2-2.5K, can extend to 3K. from what i read, dell seems to be a probable choice, but which model? I'm open to any other brand options, though. =)

Dell Inspiron. Nice design. Suitable for everyday computing. Speaker and the video quality is excellent. You can get one at around RM 2500 with good specs.

Last year I bought one during PC fair in Malaysia. 3 GB with Windows Vista premium and it costed me only 2311 :))

lxy
26-05-2010, 10:00 PM
Dell Inspiron. Nice design. Suitable for everyday computing. Speaker and the video quality is excellent. You can get one at around RM 2500 with good specs.

Last year I bought one during PC fair in Malaysia. 3 GB with Windows Vista premium and it costed me only 2311 :))

thanks a bunch. :) are there any authorized dealers for dell, or we can only order online?

chocomaniac
26-05-2010, 11:44 PM
what i would recommend is dell studio. bought mine in last year's pc fair for RM2500. (comes with 11 free gifts too). it's great for multimedia presentation and it comes with a small remote too (to control the slides).

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 12:18 AM
what i would recommend is dell studio. bought mine in last year's pc fair for RM2500. (comes with 11 free gifts too). it's great for multimedia presentation and it comes with a small remote too (to control the slides).

Mine's Dell Studio 15...works excellent...
Mine is among the best gaming laptop in my Uni...
It's about Rm3000++

chocomaniac
27-05-2010, 09:48 AM
but with RM3000+, i would rather buy myself a macbook. You guys can get RM400 discount if you are a student. Better still, buy yourself a macbook pro and get a free ipod touch (only for student price)

sugarspice
27-05-2010, 02:45 PM
Better still, buy yourself a macbook pro and get a free ipod touch (only for student price)

Who should I approach? The sales people at Apple retail outlets like Switch?

How does it go about? Just show them my invoice and get an iPod touch free instantly? O.O

I heard this Back to School promotion is only on around late summer...in the UK, but I have never heard of such promo in Malaysia......

By the way, which is better? iPod Touch + normal mobile phone OR iPhone?

alter_ego
27-05-2010, 03:08 PM
Depends on what's your purpose. IPod Touch is as great as IPhone except it can't be use to call and sms. The apps is more or less the same as iphone.

bush
27-05-2010, 03:39 PM
Macs are good. Especially if one surfs a lot of porn. PCs will just dai if one is a heavy porn user. But then again, if one sticks to legit porn sites like brazzers, PCs are good enough.

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 04:32 PM
Macs are good. Especially if one surfs a lot of porn. PCs will just dai if one is a heavy porn user. But then again, if one sticks to legit porn sites like brazzers, PCs are good enough.
What's the relationship between porn n macs? I don't get it...

27-05-2010, 04:34 PM
What's the relationship between porn n macs? I don't get it...

I guess it's because macs don't really get hit by viruses and those sort of sites are full of them or so I heard

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 04:47 PM
I guess it's because macs don't really get hit by viruses and those sort of sites are full of them or so I heard

Or maybe u mean virus rarely made for targeting macs...
I disagree of buying a mac just for the sake of watching porn...

but with RM3000+, i would rather buy myself a macbook. You guys can get RM400 discount if you are a student. Better still, buy yourself a macbook pro and get a free ipod touch (only for student price)
U mean mac book pro is about RM3000 n is at a higher end than dell studio 15?
Will it encounter compatibility issues when running games...softwares? Or does it support most of the softwares/programmes on the market?

bekann
27-05-2010, 04:47 PM

How does it go about? Just show them my invoice and get an iPod touch free instantly? O.O

I heard this Back to School promotion is only on around late summer...in the UK, but I have never heard of such promo in Malaysia......

Wow, discounts! I wonder if there are discounts for other brands like HP/Sony/Asus for students.

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 04:49 PM

I only know Switch since Sunway Carnival Mall is a few kilometres from my house...
Is there anymore pc shop available, chocomaniac?

bush
27-05-2010, 04:58 PM
Or maybe u mean virus rarely made for targeting macs...
I disagree of buying a mac just for the sake of watching porn...

U mean mac book pro is about RM3000 n is at a higher end than dell studio 15?
Will it encounter compatibility issues when running games...softwares? Or does it support most of the softwares/programmes on the market?

If you are going to play games, Macs are out of the question. For other things, Macs are fine.

mitsukolyn
27-05-2010, 05:55 PM
hey..i need some feedback too...im going to study in spore next 2 mnths...so im considering either Dell OR HP...
As for Dell, I was considering Dell Inspiron M301z:

ProcessorAMD

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 07:30 PM
[QUOTE=mitsukolyn;325153]hey..i need some feedback too...im going to study in spore next 2 mnths...so im considering either Dell OR HP...
As for Dell, I was considering Dell Inspiron M301z:

ProcessorAMD

chocomaniac
27-05-2010, 07:55 PM

The promotion only goes when you buy online. (PS: it's even more cheaper in american dollar). About the rest, sorry, even i myself haven't bought an apple product using student price.

In my opinion, iPhone. So that your pocket wouldn't be so bulky. :)

sugarspice
27-05-2010, 09:20 PM
I only know Switch since Sunway Carnival Mall is a few kilometres from my house...
Is there anymore pc shop available, chocomaniac?

PC shop? or authorised Apple retail outlets? :huh

Wow, discounts! I wonder if there are discounts for other brands like HP/Sony/Asus for students.

Never heard of...lol

Depends on what's your purpose. IPod Touch is as great as IPhone except it can't be use to call and sms. The apps is more or less the same as iphone.

Purpose? Hmm... to make calls of course, email and other applications like GPS and compass are useful too - I have no sense of direction. :wink

The promotion only goes when you buy online. (PS: it's even more cheaper in american dollar). About the rest, sorry, even i myself haven't bought an apple product using student price.

In my opinion, iPhone. So that your pocket wouldn't be so bulky. :)

Yeah I bought mine online, with student discount. Btw I think this is the best time to get a Macbook? US currency is so low. Like the previous entry level MBP it was priced at RM4499 but now phew..dropped RM600 become RM3899...If you buy with student discount then it will be only RM3599, good deal, is it not? (provided you are not a gamer)

Hmm, I do not like the bulkiness too. I shall wait for the iPhone OS 4 then. :P Thanks.

lawrenceleong88
27-05-2010, 11:21 PM
PC shop? or authorised Apple retail outlets? :huh

Sorry for being not specific enuf...it's authorised Apple retail outlets...

edoovel
27-05-2010, 11:33 PM
In term of hardware, there are many things you should consider.

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo or i-3 or i-5 is pretty good. However, what I heard is i-series processor performs much superior than Dual core processor.
Edit: Processor's performance also depends on four things: Clock speed, bus speed, memory cache and number of core/threads. The higher value for each of them indicates a better performance (but don't demand too much or else you will end up spending a lot on processor)

Memory (RAM): 2GB is recommended, if you play game or do some graphics editing, then go for 3GB or 4GB (note: if you buy 4GB memory or more, please make sure you are running 64bit Operating System (x64) not 32 bit Operating System (x86) because x86 only supports only up to 3.7GB) type of RAM: DDR3 is recommended

Hard Disk: 320GB is enough, unless you have many things to be stored

Weight: get a laptop around 2kg, else it will not be portable. Some laptop like Dell m301z or Inspiron 13z separates the DVD drive from the laptop itself, reducing much of its weight. (However, I don't really recommend m301z because it is running AMD low-power processor)

Graphics: If you are not playing game or edit graphics, Intel Integrated GMA X4500 is enough. If you seriously want to play game, then go for ATI or NVIDIA (google search the model name + the word "benchmark" to see their scores for graphics)

Webcam: 1.3MP or 2MP is ok. Laptop's camera is seldom used.

Battery: 6-cells, some offer 9-cells (more cells, battery life longer, but of course more expensive)

Operating System: get Windows 7 Home premium is ok (home basic is too simple, nothing much to offer) And ya, look at the 32bit (x86) or 64bit (x64) edition. 32bit supports more hardware and software, but 64bit runs faster (of course uses up more memory as well)

and ya, there is no point buying a Mac. You will find many issues especially on software, if you support genuine software, it is usually MORE expensive; if you want to get software illegally on a Mac, it will be hard to find too. Mac is usually for rich people to buy...
Besides, the prevalence of virus attacks in Windows OS is not a new scenario. Just get some free antivirus programs such as Avast Free Antivirus (requires free registration) or Microsoft Security Essential (requires genuine Windows license), then your computer will be free from viruses.

just some advices from me.

mitsukolyn
28-05-2010, 12:50 PM
Know ur own needs b4 u buy a laptop...so tell us about wat u require...
E.g. For me is for gaming...so an advanced graphics card is essential...allowing me to play all latest games without any problem...I can play Crysis(the benchmark graphics game) smoothly that my laptop is way ahead of the recommended requirements...
Looking forward for Crysis 2...XD
And I am very good in eliminating virus without the help of antivirus software...(regedit rocks!) thus I don't have to get a Mac just to evade viral attacks...

uHM...Perhaps,maybe I will giv up gaming for my studies...I'm not a game-addict for now...Most probably..Haha...Uhm...I wanted a laptop which doesnt have heat problem as I think I will be using for quite long hours...bout 5 to 6 hours perhaps..:)
Oh yeah, as for Antivirus thing,which Antivirus is better ??

edoovel
28-05-2010, 01:35 PM
uHM...Perhaps,maybe I will giv up gaming for my studies...I'm not a game-addict for now...Most probably..Haha...Uhm...I wanted a laptop which doesnt have heat problem as I think I will be using for quite long hours...bout 5 to 6 hours perhaps..:)
Oh yeah, as for Antivirus thing,which Antivirus is better ??

regarding the "heat problem", I think most Dell laptops are slightly hotter at the left side of the laptop (with my experience, not sure about other brands), unless you get a low-power processor like Intel Atom or AMD Turion II Neo, but of course, low-power consumption means lower performance.

For antivirus, I think another thread should be started (or maybe there is an existed one) - but in short you may consider installing Avast Free 5.0 and Microsoft Security Essential together in your computer - it won't take up much memory and will not affect your computer performance (no point getting commercial antivirus because some are "worse" than the free one).:nuts

28-05-2010, 06:50 PM
Please don't run two antiviruses at the same time. The two softwares will actually interfere with each other and you will simply end up with depleted memory and ineffective protection.

edoovel
28-05-2010, 08:30 PM
Please don't run two antiviruses at the same time. The two softwares will actually interfere with each other and you will simply end up with depleted memory and ineffective protection.

Lol sorry for continuing offtopic, but I would like to say I'm currently doing so (installing two antivirus programs in my computer), and both avast and MSE are extremely "light" program, they don't really affect my PC much, and it is like "install-and-forget". :))

Anyway if you think it's unsafe, then install only one. A hint: usually MSE detects viruses faster than Avast, but both are really good.

28-05-2010, 10:55 PM
Actually, youngyew is right. Running two anti-viruses will cause them to interfere with each others' operation. Imagine one catches a file with malicious code, and moves the file to its quarantine folder. The other will catch it, and move it to its quarantine folder instead. This copy forward and back will continue for eternity until the end of time, causing resource wastage, reduced battery life, and in the worst case, causing your operating system to lock itself out.

If you really want to be on the safe side, install one anti-virus that runs in the background, for example either MSE or Avast. Then install an malware detector like Malwarebytes(free version) that doesn't run in the background. If you see anything suspicious, just scan it with MWB.

seowmay
10-06-2010, 10:25 PM
Hi,
normally how long can a laptop lasts? 3 years?
I'm now having difficulties whether to choose Dell Inspiron 14R or Toshiba Satellite L645
According to my relatives, they recommend Dell, as it has well known service in Malaysia. Plus Dell's headquarter is in Penang (I'm going to enter usm Kampus Induk).

My first priority is:
it needs to last at least until I finish my 3 years couse in usm. Which one would last longer?
Now, assuming I handle it with care, no gaming just for document reading, presentation, internet surfing and music playing. Btw, I personally love Toshiba =)

For your information,
Toshiba laptops are having promotion till the end of this month.
Click link (http://www.pc.toshiba-asia.com/portal/public/ads.action?pgAction=ads.action&a=ads&showType=promo&currentTab=promotions) to check it out.

vega_zeta
10-06-2010, 11:17 PM
hi...actually, i'm very interested with sony vaio notebook...however, when i read about this brand in other forums, i found that there are a lot of problems with laptop of this brand. however, some people do not face any problem at all. so, i just would like to know wether sony vaio is really problematic or not...bcoz of course after investing a large amount on this laptop, i don't want to end up regretting my investment.

what about graphic tablet? do you think it is suitable to be used by students? bcoz practically, i think graphic tablet is better than laptop. ---->sorry if this question is off the topic...

jeremiahtsk
11-06-2010, 09:07 AM
How bout Asus? Anyone ever considered it b4? Good battery life and excellent motherboards for reasonable price..:) Thinking of getting an Asus if I can get another comp..:))

11-06-2010, 09:24 AM
hi...actually, i'm very interested with sony vaio notebook...however, when i read about this brand in other forums, i found that there are a lot of problems with laptop of this brand. however, some people do not face any problem at all. so, i just would like to know wether sony vaio is really problematic or not...bcoz of course after investing a large amount on this laptop, i don't want to end up regretting my investment.

what about graphic tablet? do you think it is suitable to be used by students? bcoz practically, i think graphic tablet is better than laptop. ---->sorry if this question is off the topic...Frankly saying, I believe Sony Vaio range is overpriced for the quality and the bloatware that they come with. From what I have saw, all Sony laptops are loaded with unoptimized softwares that can really slow the whole system down, while not performing to the level of free alternatives that are available on the net.

If you have the budget, you can go for the Dell XPS Studio series, or the Lenovo Thinkpad series. Dell has provided very good customer service, listening from the feedback that I have gotten from people who have bought themselves Dell laptops. Thinkpad, on the other hand, comes from a line of legendary mobile platforms since a long long time ago. They are trusted by businesses everywhere to be robust, and lasting.

fokero
11-06-2010, 01:09 PM
among the main problem using dell is the spare part for certain model is so expensive. so if u want a cheaper spare parts, try to order by online. it's more affordable i think. btw, i'm using compaq511. not a good brand though, but it depend on the person who use it, & also the way u use it. :)

lawrenceleong88
11-06-2010, 01:35 PM
among the main problem using dell is the spare part for certain model is so expensive. so if u want a cheaper spare parts, try to order by online. it's more affordable i think. btw, i'm using compaq511. not a good brand though, but it depend on the person who use it, & also the way u use it. :)
Do u collect spare parts or something?
My dell studio laptop once cracked at the hinge(due to over tightening)...after my father contacted dell in Penang...the repairman came to replace it for me in Kelantan for free after 5 days...
They won't charge u a cent unless it is u who have caused the damage...

11-06-2010, 02:55 PM
How bout Asus? Anyone ever considered it b4? Good battery life and excellent motherboards for reasonable price..:) Thinking of getting an Asus if I can get another comp..:))

I think Asus is okay..it's just that it can be a wee bit too heavy, don't you think?

jeremiahtsk
11-06-2010, 03:12 PM
I think Asus is okay..it's just that it can be a wee bit too heavy, don't you think?

Well, for me, weight is not an issue, my top priorities is long life battery and durability of the computer. Guess it all depends on each other's priorities..:))

fokero
11-06-2010, 03:54 PM
Do u collect spare parts or something?
My dell studio laptop once cracked at the hinge(due to over tightening)...after my father contacted dell in Penang...the repairman came to replace it for me in Kelantan for free after 5 days...
They won't charge u a cent unless it is u who have caused the damage...

lol. not like that lah, but they're really expensive . i've gone through that experience :cry

yeah, that's the best about Dell. they'll go no matter where u r. :P

AnnieChan
12-06-2010, 01:50 AM

i like the fact that Asus has international warranty. so, if the laptop died on you overseas, there's still that waranty unless of couse that warranty has expired larr :laugh

jeremiahtsk
12-06-2010, 09:18 AM
i like the fact that Asus has international warranty. so, if the laptop died on you overseas, there's still that waranty unless of couse that warranty has expired larr :laugh

Yeap, totally agreed..:P Regretted not buying Asus, I've got a HP instead, but I've not much complaint for my current lappie too, save the lack of performance..:))

SpongeBobOct
12-06-2010, 11:18 AM
What about Toshiba Satellite M500 & Qosmio F60-S530? Which one is greater?

The Myth
12-06-2010, 11:48 AM

Well, for me, weight is not an issue, my top priorities is long life battery and durability of the computer. Guess it all depends on each other's priorities..:))

Hearsay ASUS laptops cannot operate to their full performance as stated in their market specifications because their graphic and processor performances are lowered to balance the battery life and temperature of the laptop.

Basically I'm an Apple maniac.Recently Apple has released a 13" MacBook pro,I got it at RM3600 after education discount(MacBook should be around RM3000).The battery life can easily reach up to 10 hours.Super cool appearance,super slim unibody design and super fast start up and shut down(around 3 seconds).It operates on Mac OS X snow leopard and it is unsusceptible from most window's virus.Run on Intel core 2 duo(i5 or i7 one around 6-7k),4GB (upgradeable to 8GB) of 1066MHz DDR3 memory(I transfer 3GB of files in 3 minutes),NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics processor(second tier graphic card capable of playing most modern games at least at medium setting,and able to do highly professional graphic works),Multi-Touch trackpad,supporting inertial scrolling, pinch, rotate, swipe, three-finger swipe, four-finger swipe, tap, double-tap, and drag capabilities..So far I've never heard of any1 regretting for buying MBP.In fact I got addicted to it the 1st day i got it.
Just my 2 cents.:)

fokero
12-06-2010, 01:34 PM
Basically I'm an Apple maniac.Recently Apple has released a 13" MacBook pro,I got it at RM3600 after education discount(MacBook should be around RM3000).The battery life can easily reach up to 10 hours.Super cool appearance,super slim unibody design and super fast start up and shut down(around 3 seconds).It operates on Mac OS X snow leopard and it is unsusceptible from most window's virus.Run on Intel core duo(i5 or i7 one around 6-7k),4GB (upgradeable to 8GB) of 1066MHz DDR3 memory(I transfer 3GB of files in 3 minutes),NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics processor(second tier graphic card capable of playing most modern games at least at medium setting,and able to do highly professional graphic works),Multi-Touch trackpad,supporting inertial scrolling, pinch, rotate, swipe, three-finger swipe, four-finger swipe, tap, double-tap, and drag capabilities..So far I've never heard of any1 regretting for buying MBP.In fact I got addicted to it the 1st day i got it.
Just my 2 cents.:)

OMG. envy u so much :P macbook is the best among all. it's performance is damn superb. & yeah. cant deny that the appearance of macbook also looks cool. but, it's quite a problem to handle it for a first timer right? it's different from other brands. but the satisfaction is so great.

i want MBP too. btw, education discount? :nuts

AnnieChan
12-06-2010, 01:42 PM
What about Toshiba Satellite M500 & Qosmio F60-S530? Which one is greater?
well, i'm currently using Toshiba Satellite M500.. so far, there doesnt seem to be any problems. :)

The Myth
12-06-2010, 01:50 PM
OMG. envy u so much :P macbook is the best among all. it's performance is damn superb. & yeah. cant deny that the appearance of macbook also looks cool. but, it's quite a problem to handle it for a first timer right? it's different from other brands. but the satisfaction is so great.

i want MBP too. btw, education discount? :nuts

Nah,I got used to it very fast,and addicted to the super cool trackpad.Now I tend to do pinching and finger swipe when I use other laptop:P.Another cool thing is lagging and crashing are super rare cases when it comes to Mac OS X.
Yup,the last promotion Apple gave to college students was a RM300 discount,from ordinary price of RM3899 to RM3599 for students and education staffs like teachers and lecturers.Now,it is even crazier,if you buy a mbp,u'll get an iPod touch(around RM899) for free.But i'm not sure if this promotion is eligible for Malaysian.Anyway you can always check the apple official site.Wish u'll get 1 too:laugh...Good stuffs are meant for sharing.:)

alter_ego
12-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Free Ipod Touch ? :nuts

COOL !!

fokero
12-06-2010, 03:42 PM
lol. i have to get my own MBP after this.

bekann
12-06-2010, 04:00 PM
Nah,I got used to it very fast,and addicted to the super cool trackpad.Now I tend to do pinching and finger swipe when I use other laptop:P.Another cool thing is lagging and crashing are super rare cases when it comes to Mac OS X.
Yup,the last promotion Apple gave to college students was a RM300 discount,from ordinary price of RM3899 to RM3599 for students and education staffs like teachers and lecturers.Now,it is even crazier,if you buy a mbp,u'll get an iPod touch(around RM899) for free.But i'm not sure if this promotion is eligible for Malaysian.Anyway you can always check the apple official site.Wish u'll get 1 too:laugh...Good stuffs are meant for sharing.:)

No la. Free iPod touch not available in Malaysia. ):
In US, Singapore all got.

alter_ego
12-06-2010, 04:12 PM
:wtf I wish I'm in Singapore now.

fokero
12-06-2010, 04:18 PM

:mad always like that. when will it be available here? i want one :cry badly.

dcwk04
12-06-2010, 06:25 PM
Apple laptop is awesome.

At first I was worried about software and compatability problems but so far my MBP has never failed me. Hardware wise also its never failed me.

Previously I owned a Dell Inspiron. Honestly speaking, YES, Dell customer service is very good and top notch. But I've never seen a Dell last a year without having to call the customer service. Personally I've called their customer service many many times already due to recurring problems. Same goes to all my friends with Dell's (Inspiron, Studie, XPS, even one with Alienware) in my college.

maxdakota
29-06-2010, 03:55 PM
New Apple MacBook Pro MC374LL/A 13.3-Inch Laptop 2010 is excellent product from Apple. Compared to previous models, the new MacBook Pro unibody precision in custody a single block of aluminum, a workaholic end mobile computing and lightweight (less than 1 cm thick and only 4.5 kg) and is also very durable.

chriseveraldo
29-06-2010, 05:49 PM
Second that. My MacPro 13" is the best laptop i've ever had. awesome apps, great to work with my ipod, and with some remodeling, i can operate both macOS X and Windows 7 on it.

I had to work tooth and nail just to get enough money for the laptop and the Microsoft office. had to cough up RM 4500, but worth every ringgit.

Just lovin it :)

sugarspice
29-06-2010, 09:11 PM
hey people, I have sth to ask.

I am going to run Windows 7 using parallels in my MBP. I will use Windows for microsoft office occasionally, and watch PPStream. Nothing else I guess. Most of the things I can have them done in Mac OS.

How much RAM should I give to Windows 7? my MBP has only 4GB of RAM.

Thanks! :):)

29-06-2010, 09:59 PM
hey people, I have sth to ask.

I am going to run Windows 7 using parallels in my MBP. I will use Windows for microsoft office occasionally, and watch PPStream. Nothing else I guess. Most of the things I can have them done in Mac OS.

How much RAM should I give to Windows 7? my MBP has only 4GB of RAM.

Thanks! :):)
Give it 2GB. More than that, and your Mac will start to become too sluggish. Note that versions of Windows 7 below Professional are license clauses preventing it from running in a virtual machine (like Parallels).

guy3288
03-07-2011, 09:58 AM
Found out this thread but i need some fresh advice. First time buying laptop.

Budget ~RM2200 for a laptop i5 intel 2nd generation, 4Gb RAM . for study purposes, plays Dota also la but not heavy gaming.

Found out best price is from Acer Aspire 4750G -2414G50, 500GB HDD, 4GB Ram, NVidia GEforce GT520M, webcam, DVD writer, WIfi, Bluetooth and all. with a lot of freebies now, YES dongle 3.5GB worth RM217, Free Titanium antivirus for 3 persons, free 3 years warranty - RM2149 only.

Read through all posts here,quite alot of "dont buy Acer" remarks , Acer parts poor quality, screen can go blank ,keyboard poor quality cant last long, bottom can get heated and crumbled.....

Any current users can verify these weakneses of Acer Aspire?Has Acer improved on these in currrent models?

also noted good fedback on Toshiba, HP and Lenovo. Are these 3 brands significantly better built with better parts that can withstand daily usage better than Acer laptops? I see their warranty mostly 1 year only.

Is it worth paying abit more to get Toshiba or Lenovo?

How about Dell? all these are more expensive than similar spec Acer right?

Then there is Asus A53SV-SX053V -15.6" Intel Core i5-2410, 4Gb Ram, 500Gb HDD, Nvidia Geforce GT540 1GB, Wifi Blue vtooth etc and 2 yrs warranty. for RM2349

Pening dont know which should i choose...

Thanks for your advice and comments on the above, trying to get best value for money buy...

acptony
03-07-2011, 11:26 AM
Found out this thread but i need some fresh advice. First time buying laptop.

Budget ~RM2200 for a laptop i5 intel 2nd generation, 4Gb RAM . for study purposes, plays Dota also la but not heavy gaming.

Found out best price is from Acer Aspire 4750G -2414G50, 500GB HDD, 4GB Ram, NVidia GEforce GT520M, webcam, DVD writer, WIfi, Bluetooth and all. with a lot of freebies now, YES dongle 3.5GB worth RM217, Free Titanium antivirus for 3 persons, free 3 years warranty - RM2149 only.

Read through all posts here,quite alot of "dont buy Acer" remarks , Acer parts poor quality, screen can go blank ,keyboard poor quality cant last long, bottom can get heated and crumbled.....

Any current users can verify these weakneses of Acer Aspire?Has Acer improved on these in currrent models?

also noted good fedback on Toshiba, HP and Lenovo. Are these 3 brands significantly better built with better parts that can withstand daily usage better than Acer laptops? I see their warranty mostly 1 year only.

Is it worth paying abit more to get Toshiba or Lenovo?

How about Dell? all these are more expensive than similar spec Acer right?

Then there is Asus A53SV-SX053V -15.6" Intel Core i5-2410, 4Gb Ram, 500Gb HDD, Nvidia Geforce GT540 1GB, Wifi Blue vtooth etc and 2 yrs warranty. for RM2349

Pening dont know which should i choose...

Thanks for your advice and comments on the above, trying to get best value for money buy...
I have moved on from Acer ---> HP ---> ASUS
i5, 4GB RAM is adequate. Just bought ASUS for RM2,500 at Digital Mall, with 2GB Graphic.
15.6" heavy, 14" is sufficient.

FoxyWoxy25
05-07-2011, 12:19 AM
Get a MacBook. End of discussion.

xJing
05-07-2011, 12:25 AM
macbook expensive lah. lol. unless you have the finances lah

adele123
05-07-2011, 08:00 AM
gamers can't exactly go for mac?

i was in the shop the other day, shopping for laptop (in aussie though) and the guy told me that, ASUS probably still the best in _____ (i forgot, but something to do with services rather than the laptop itself, i think... not sure), i only remember him saying you pay more for ASUS but it's really that you get more back too.

my housemate, has a i5 acer aspire too, about >0.5 years old? He dota as well, i dont hear him complaining

Macbook has gotten slightly more affordable =)

kaiyi
07-07-2011, 11:03 PM
Seriously, Acer really offend me of its overheating problem. It shut down automatically when it got heat up (sometimes it's like 0.5 hour after i switched it on!) and this has happened for umpteen times. Mac is not in my list as it's not compatible with quite a lot of programmes esp those from China.

lxy
08-07-2011, 12:55 AM
Seriously, Acer really offend me of its overheating problem. It shut down automatically when it got heat up (sometimes it's like 0.5 hour after i switched it on!) and this has happened for umpteen times. Mac is not in my list as it's not compatible with quite a lot of programmes esp those from China.

what model are you using? Mine's a 4741G and it doesn't overheat. I mean, it gets warm after a few hours, but not uncomfortably hot or to the point where it starts shutting down.

xJing
08-07-2011, 03:35 AM

why don't you try elevating your laptop from its surface? You know, get something to prop it up, like a cooler? You don't necessarily have to connect the cooling pad to the laptop though, coz a lousy cooling pad would only make the laptop heat up more. Just let there be some air space in between the laptop and its surface eg the table, bed, etc. Maybe it wouldn't be so hot. . .

libraaa
23-08-2011, 12:10 PM
any comment or advice about Asus A53sv-sx053v? im taking a 4 year course(applied science) and would like it to at least last and perform at a good speed for 3 years.. :)

Merlin
23-08-2011, 03:20 PM
any comment or advice about Asus A53sv-sx053v? im taking a 4 year course(applied science) and would like it to at least last and perform at a good speed for 3 years.. :)

Been using Dell Laptop for a long time since 2005 without any issue............ Latitude, Inspiron, Vostro and Studio models. Did not encountered any problems so far............

Jagermeister
24-08-2011, 09:00 AM
Lenovo Thinkpand x200 - simply put it, it's light, small, powerful, very useful for students to use in class, doesn't take up much space.
http://www.blogresipi.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/X220-14.jpg
Thinkpad X220 has a small form factor. It has 12.5 inch screen and the weight is less than 1.5kg. The size is similar to an A4 size paper.

24-08-2011, 10:56 AM

Get a Dell. You'll be assured a on-site service when it breaks down. It's a huge plus, since you don't have to bring the computer to a service centre.

melindaL
24-08-2011, 11:16 AM
Been using Dell Laptop for a long time since 2005 without any issue............ Latitude, Inspiron, Vostro and Studio models. Did not encountered any problems so far............

But my dell always encounter problem like cannot be shut down after some period of time.:(

Jagermeister
24-08-2011, 02:06 PM
But my dell always encounter problem like cannot be shut down after some period of time.:(

That is true, many companies, including mine prefer Lenovo or HP for desktop/laptops citing hardware issues. It's a premium, but the hardware last.

24-08-2011, 04:16 PM
Did you call up support?

That is true, many companies, including mine prefer Lenovo or HP for desktop/laptops citing hardware issues. It's a premium, but the hardware last.I haven't encountered problems with a Lenovo machine. It's another case with HP, however, and I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

melindaL
24-08-2011, 04:27 PM
Did you call up support?

I haven't encountered problems with a Lenovo machine. It's another case with HP, however, and I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole.

I brought it to the Dell authorised dealer where I bought my laptop before but the problem came back again few months later.

24-08-2011, 04:33 PM
I brought it to the Dell authorised dealer where I bought my laptop before but the problem came back again few months later.

If it's still under warranty, just call up Dell support directly. They should be able to replace the defective parts if your problem persists.

Lololitam
26-08-2011, 09:00 AM
Which is the best, Lenovo or hp??

Jagermeister
26-08-2011, 10:45 AM
Which is the best, Lenovo or hp??

[/URL][URL]http://shop.lenovo.com/us/products/Laptops/ThinkPad/x-series/x220/index.html (http://shop.lenovo.com/us/products/Laptops/ThinkPad/x-series/x220/index.html)
You want a water resistance model, light enough to fit your backpack but powerful to do work.

star90
27-08-2011, 09:32 AM
have anyone heard of PRYON? is it good for desktop?

Jagermeister
28-08-2011, 01:10 PM
have anyone heard of PRYON? is it good for desktop?

Never heard of that brand.
Better stick with the name brands, just to be safe on the support and warranty.

you might also want to look at Mac Air, trust me its worth it.
Though my company gives out Lenovo, but majority of the Senior Management and other staff buy their own Mac and use it. Mac is a good choice if you want less issues.

day_dreamer
29-08-2011, 08:22 PM
Get a X220 from Lenovo.

Other wise, get an iPad 2 with a cheap DIY desktop. Gives you all the best from both worlds.

day_dreamer
03-01-2012, 06:21 PM
Heard speculations that the new MacBook Pro comes with Retina Display !

04-01-2012, 04:13 PM
Heard speculations that the new MacBook Pro comes with Retina Display !

LOL. macbooks are already running Nvdia graphic card.. + the retina... it will be a TOTAL EYE OPENER!. lol

btw, really reckon Apple to fix the overheating issues with iPhone 4S. I love my phone but it is overheating very very badly...

day_dreamer
05-01-2012, 02:21 PM
LOL. macbooks are already running Nvdia graphic card.. + the retina... it will be a TOTAL EYE OPENER!. lol

btw, really reckon Apple to fix the overheating issues with iPhone 4S. I love my phone but it is overheating very very badly...

Yeah man the overheating is crazy. It happens on my iPhone 4 too ! Try getting a cover with pores and that should keep things cool for a bit.

Retina Display on a MacBook Pro = Pocket Burner = Time to start saving, bro !

05-01-2012, 05:07 PM
I'm thinking of getting the Lenovo Ideapad Y470. Any thoughts?

chloecje
03-05-2012, 06:11 PM
may i ask, which brand n model is suitable for me with a budget RM2000 or below that can hear good quality music + hav all microsoft for college usage + good looking, x so bulky ^^ haha..