View Full Version : Which laptop is good?

Pages : [1] 2

ngu
01-02-2007, 01:15 PM
HI.i just want to ask which laptop is recomended for student use in university?DEll or Acer or other brands?How about acer 5584WXMI? :D

14-03-2007, 05:04 PM
dun buy acer, get HP, Dell, Toshiba or Fujitsu. Dell's customer support is very good in my opinion. HP's laptops perform well and looks good.

qedx
14-03-2007, 06:16 PM
i've used both dell and acer and i prefer dell to acer. their core 2 inspirons are coming out

Zoe
31-03-2007, 05:13 PM
wad bout Sony?

i know its pricey (VERY!!) but is it worth it?

31-03-2007, 09:05 PM
The VAIOs are cool, but its a little bit expensive compared to other brands with similar specs.

Patrick
31-03-2007, 10:27 PM
The VAIOs are cool, but its a little bit expensive compared to other brands with similar specs.

Not much of a difference, in my opinion.

You have to scrutinise the specifications of the VAIOs......

At surface level, they may seem expensive.

But, at around 5k, you can get something like:
1.66GHz Core 2 Duo
GeForce dedicated graphics card
1GB RAM (And the configuration is 1 piece of 1G RAM, which uses one of 2 of the available slots. Other laptops such as HP, Dell, etc. normally give you 2 512KB RAM pieces, and uses up both slots)
Lightweight (13.3" screens if I'm not wrong)
And the coolness factor

So, probably you might wanna consider the VAIOs....To find other brands with such specifications will cost you almost 5k as well.

bush
01-04-2007, 01:09 AM
epal...

Zoe
01-04-2007, 01:49 AM
epal...

mahal giler

thx for info!

day_dreamer
01-04-2007, 11:54 AM
If you are loaded with $$ , then go for

1st : Toshiba
2nd : Lenovo
3rd : Vaio
4th : MacBook

If you are on a tight budget :

1st : Acer
2nd : Dell !!
3rd : Twinstar - If you are really really on a tight budget !! I mean EXTREME !!

wendy
02-04-2007, 01:15 AM
Yo! I'll be buying a laptop soon. Might be buying acer because it seem to be more worth it. But there is a laptop that attracts me a lot.Its SONY VAIO....emm nt sure of the model cos i'm nt really into electronic gadgets. Bt what attracts me is its weight, only 1.8kg. very light, bt very costly its nearly RM 6000, bt its other functions are exactly the same compared to the RM 3888 Acer. its a vast different. So what say u?

02-04-2007, 05:28 AM
Yo! I'll be buying a laptop soon. Might be buying acer because it seem to be more worth it. But there is a laptop that attracts me a lot.Its SONY VAIO....emm nt sure of the model cos i'm nt really into electronic gadgets. Bt what attracts me is its weight, only 1.8kg. very light, bt very costly its nearly RM 6000, bt its other functions are exactly the same compared to the RM 3888 Acer. its a vast different. So what say u?
If you are getting Acer, make sure you get the extended warranty. You will very likely need it because a lot of acer laptops are broken within the first three years.

I learnt it the hard way. :P

bush
02-04-2007, 08:42 AM

get a mac for that sort of money........

11-04-2007, 01:31 AM

get a mac for that sort of money........

eh ha... I think i gt addicted by microsoft... n microsucceed to fishing me... tat's y I think apple not stable... althou I noe tat may not be the truth.. . but I been using windows since 5 yr old ... tat cause mt can't change to another easily... ho ya ho ya..

11-04-2007, 02:28 AM
Apple not stable or u don't know how to use Apple?

not stable means application crashing and not application not running the way u want...

11-04-2007, 06:04 AM
Yeah I think you may have confused the meaning of "stable" with "intuitive interface". But even with intuitive interface, most people think that Apple is better in terms of control, and the fact that you find it harder to get used to is mostly because you have been using windows for so long. :)

11-04-2007, 06:20 AM
note: please move this thread to the hardware section.

11-04-2007, 11:09 AM
IMO.. for student... really don't need such high-end laptop unless u are pursuing Multimedia course (or something similar) .. Simple typing and online only need simple spec. ... Go for Dell... if u wanna go overseas.. warranty thing... HP too!!

clvn
11-04-2007, 11:43 AM
epal...

meizme11
14-04-2007, 07:48 PM
What are the diff between laptop n mac[apple]??
huhuhu..
Can someone please explain it to me?
thanx.

14-04-2007, 08:08 PM
What are the diff between laptop n mac[apple]??
huhuhu..
Can someone please explain it to me?
thanx.

Laptop is notebook aka portable computer

Apple is a brand that produce iPod, iPhone, Macbook , iMac

Mac is a personal computing platform and computers designed by Apple.

Alextakashi
14-04-2007, 08:30 PM
hahahaha
if you wanna be cool, get a Apple Macbook, or you're richer, Macbook Pro, it cost roughly 20% more than other brands, but if you do look at the stats and specs, it's worth it, well again it's compatibility, if you do not want to take the effort to learn how to use an easier OS, then go for cheapo dells or hp ...
: )
Go MAC~

choogirl
14-04-2007, 08:44 PM
i'm currently using dell, the cost is about 3k+. and seriously, i recommend dell, its worth it for a student. vaio is too expensive la. plus, the dell customer service is quite efficient too. but mainly save money la. its better to use the extra 2k which u spent on a VAIO laptop to get something else right?

worthy
15-04-2007, 05:39 AM
Hp for life...

Good quality, for reasonable money, and good after sales service.

In short its superb. Its looks good and performs well too..not to forget it last long.

mad
15-04-2007, 07:34 AM
i've heard acer is not good, but what is its problem actually?

compare dell and hp, which one is better?

i also want to buy a laptop soon, so hope someone can guide me... :)

15-04-2007, 10:34 PM

compare dell and hp, which one is better?

i also want to buy a laptop soon, so hope someone can guide me... :)ACER will be a good choice if you want a cheap laptop and really know how to take care of it, else, it will break down on you. I had been using ACER for more than one year already, and it's still running strong except for the pesky low quality keyboard, and the overheating bottoms that kept it on a laptop cooler on a permeanent basis.

I'd suggest you get a toshiba if you wan afford it. And BTW, there are lots of affordable Toshibas out there if you bother to look around...

will
16-04-2007, 07:12 PM
i am currently looking for a laptop. These are the 2 that i am interested of:
1. Sony VAIO VGN-C25
2. HP Pavilion dv2201TX

which 1 should i choose or u all have some other better model introduce?

luthien
30-04-2007, 11:11 PM

mine got cracks at the 'joints'(dunno how to call it) oledi.. n sumtimes d screen jz go 'blank'.. reli frustrating.. :evil:

btw, wat do u guys think of NEC? gud or not?

01-05-2007, 11:34 AM
so far haven't heard of any complaints against NEC yet...probably because it's not one of the popular brands...

01-05-2007, 11:45 AM
y Mac.. A student surely don't need Mac... and it's not Windows Based.. Students more suitable for Windows System (IMO)... especially common office format..... (although i know Mac release a software that enable u easily switch from Mac to Windows and vice versa)

Depends wat u wanna do... if u not a graphics design student.. integrated graphics (etc : Intel Graphics Accelerators) will satisfy u.. if u wanna chatting and typing only, a model between RM2000 -RM3000 will do... Go Dell!! (Yesterday is the last day promotion of 2GB RAM @<hidden> RM2800.. anyone miss it?)

luthien
01-05-2007, 01:37 PM
i've heard quite sum -ve remarks bout dell le.. my parents dun encourage dell oso..

Fourthshifter
01-05-2007, 02:02 PM
For better performance in PLM Solutions,

HP is a good choice

http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/3102/30071485mj7.gif

01-05-2007, 07:00 PM
HP's keyboard sucks...

luthien
01-05-2007, 08:13 PM
wat do u think of tis:

NEC VERSA E6210

Processor: Intel Core Duo processor T2300 (1.66GHz)
Memory: 512MB DDR2 SDRAM
Graphics: nVidia GeForce Go 7300 with up to 512MB TurboCache (shared)
Display: 14.1-inch 1280 x 800-pixel TFT Super Shine View display.
Storage: 80GB hard drive, DVD?RW/CD-RW drive.
Connectivity: WiFi, 56K modem, 10/100 Ethernet
I/O ports: Four USB 2.0 ports, one mini-FireWire, one ExpressCard slot, infrared port, legacy ports, microphone, S-video output.
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Other features: 4-in-1 Flash card reader, built-in webcam, remote control
Dimensions (w x d x h): 24.5 x 33.7 x 3.3cm
Weight: 2.3 kg
Price: RM 3999

Website: http://minisites.nec-computers-ap.com/E6210/features.htm

is it worth it?

01-05-2007, 08:30 PM
depends on what you are doing with it.. but i recommend getting a minimum of 1Gb of RAM... many applications today eats RAM for breakfast...

02-05-2007, 02:24 PM
what is the basic thing that a laktop should has??

lyt87
02-05-2007, 02:36 PM
ANYONE can recommend a model of laptop that is worthy??
I wanna buy one about RM3-4k

02-05-2007, 02:38 PM
ANYONE can recommend a model of laptop that is worthy??
I wanna buy one about RM3-4k

me as well..

admin07
02-05-2007, 02:52 PM
Notebook systems have grown in popularity due to their increasing performance and portability. Many systems are even now being marketed as replacements for desktop systems, but few can perform at the same level as a desktop system particularly when it comes to graphics. This guide will help you to look at some of the key items you want to look at before you purchase your next PC notebook system.

Before You Choose a Notebook PC (http://kaichew.110mb.com/index.php/topic,84.0.html)

Dunno if this thread help....

Me.....HP

02-05-2007, 06:06 PM
nice article admin07.

However, i would like to add to the article. While more RAM is good for general performance increase, too much of them will have a negative impact upon the system. It's best to get just the amount that you need, say 1Gb so that the computer don't have to access the page files on the hard drive at all but not too much until there are a lot of unused RAM.

As for graphics, the most prominent producer of graphics processors is actually Intel itself at about 70% of the market. While people won't get much power from their processors, they are actually the most power efficient ones available for consumers.

And with the rise in numbers of C.E.s that utilize the Bluetooth technology (especially cell phones) it might be good to mention it as well...

Altogether, good job in writing this article... ;)

02-05-2007, 09:24 PM
Notebook systems have grown in popularity due to their increasing performance and portability. Many systems are even now being marketed as replacements for desktop systems, but few can perform at the same level as a desktop system particularly when it comes to graphics. This guide will help you to look at some of the key items you want to look at before you purchase your next PC notebook system.

Before You Choose a Notebook PC (http://kaichew.110mb.com/index.php/topic,84.0.html)

Dunno if this thread help....

Me.....HP

Thanks for the article, it mayb useful for me later...

specialized
16-05-2007, 01:18 PM
for more laptop info, pls visit tis site..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showforum=100

quite good, i learnt a lot there. well, u can c me there oso, same nickname.
for those who need laptop recommendation, this is the place. go n take a look.

my advise : wait for santa rosa platform to release.. it should b in tis month or jun. benq s41 is driving me crazy, especially it's nvidia 8600 m gs.

22-05-2007, 01:20 PM
BENQ S41

what do u all think

http://www.benq.com.my/products/joybook/?product=1073&page=features

CPU Intel? Centrino? Duo processor technology
Intel? Core?2 Duo processor T7100
Operating System Windows Vista? Ultimate,

Windows Vista? Business (Option)
Windows Vista? Home Premium (Option)
Windows Vista? Home Basic (Option)

Chipset Intel? PM965
Graphic Chip nVIDIA? GeForce? 8600M GS(Max.1GB TurboCache)
Memory DDRII 1GB and above (max to 2.0GB)
Hard Drive 120GB (5400rpm - SATA)
Optical Drive 8X DVD-Dual (Supports Double Layer)
Screen Size 14.1" UltraVivid widescreen
Resolution WXGA(1280x800)
Brightness 200 nits
I/O Ports ? USB 2.0 x 4
? HDMI output x 1
? FireWire (IEEE 1394) x 1
? RJ-45 Ethernet port x 1
? RJ-11 Modem port x 1
? Microphone-in x 1
? Headphone-out x 1
? VGA port x 1
? DC-IN x 1
? ExpressCard Slot x 1
? Line-in x 1

Battery (1)Lithium-Ion 6-Cell (4700 mAH)

Communications/Networks Built-in 56K/V.92 modem, Built-in
Modem: Built-in 56K / V.92 modem
LAN: Built-in 10 / 100 /1000 Ethernet
Wireless LAN:
? Built-in 802.11a/b/g (Worldwide countries except Thailand)
? Built-in 802.11b/g (Worldwide countries)
? Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n
Built-in Rev. 2.0/ EDR (optional) *
*Selected models only.

Card Reader 5-in-1 card reader:MS/MS-Pro/SD/MMC/xD
Audio Built-in Microphone x 1
Built-in 1.5W speakers x 2
Sound System x 2 channels
(1) Sound Blaster Pro Compatible
(2) HD Audio
(3) Noise Suppression & Echo Cancellation supported
(4) SRS TruSurround XT

Software BenQ QMedia Bar / BenQ QShot / BenQ Surround / Adobe Reader / Nero Express / Anti-Virus Software / Power DVD / WebCam Companion / Magic-I / Microsoft? Office Professional 2007 60-Day Free Trial (Only for Microsoft? Operating System)
Dimensions 337 x 248 x 26.6 (front) ~ 38.7 (rear) mm(LxWxH)
Weight 2.05kg (without battery)*
*Weight may vary depending on the particular hardware configuration

Give some opinions??how?

galfera
22-05-2007, 07:29 PM
white 2020, how much does it cost?

22-05-2007, 07:42 PM
if not mistaken lar,, cause this type havent released yet, will be going to release around the middle of JUNE..

The price i am not so sure actually, but i know it is RM 3999 without any windows..

If want to add in windows xp professional, the need to pay like about RM 480 more lar..

xp home , somewhere RM 299

vista home premium, somewhere RM 399( not really sure)

And if u want to upgrade the memory from 1Gb to 2, need not pay more RM 15 0 kut....

How how????

22-05-2007, 07:45 PM
How about this??

Acer Aspire 5920 Gemstone laptop

http://www.pclaunches.com/notebooks/acer_aspire_5920_gemstone_laptop.php

for this, i am not really sure about its specifications...and i also dunno when will it be released...

how?

shade
22-05-2007, 10:40 PM
If I were to have a MacBook, I would worry more about connecting to the college network than the different UI. Most of the PCs and servers here use Tingkaps.

@<hidden>: Whoa. Now that will be my laptop.

23-05-2007, 11:57 AM
If I were to have a MacBook, I would worry more about connecting to the college network than the different UI. Most of the PCs and servers here use Tingkaps.

@<hidden>: Whoa. Now that will be my laptop.

haha...u mean Acer Aspire 5920 Gemstone laptop

or

BENQ S41?

haha89
23-05-2007, 02:21 PM
How bout lenovo's notebook?? Izit gud and will it last?

23-05-2007, 02:28 PM

which type?

Any specifications given?

It is hard to say 1 is good by general statement ler...

23-05-2007, 03:05 PM
Acer sucks...

Lenovo is better...

haha89
23-05-2007, 05:10 PM

which type?

I'm looking for a cheap 1.. so the lenovo Y400 will do. :D

shade
23-05-2007, 07:40 PM
@<hidden>: BenQ

I'm still considering a lenova Y400. Pretty cheap for it's specs, and it has a subwoofer (which I doubt will impress)! The only prob with that laptop is the CPU. Powerful, but eats power. I've read reviews saying the battery will last at 3 hours max.

galfera
24-05-2007, 10:19 AM
can any1 here recommend me a laptop that's powerful enuf 4 some CAD n engineering software? plus, also good 4 gaming....

24-05-2007, 10:24 PM

which type?

I'm looking for a cheap 1.. so the lenovo Y400 will do. :D

I'm still considering a lenova Y400. Pretty cheap for it's specs, and it has a subwoofer (which I doubt will impress)! The only prob with that laptop is the CPU. Powerful, but eats power. I've read reviews saying the battery will last at 3 hours max.

Not really sure about lenovo Y400, perhaps this time around u can explain to me..

anyway, i have come across some lenovo Y400 details here...

Model: Y400 945432A
UsualPrice: RM2698

Model: Y400 945433A
UsualPrice: RM3198

Model: Y400 945428A
UsualPrice: RM3898

Lenovo Y400 Consumer Notebook

[Entry Level]
Package includes:
Model: Y400 945432A(Dos)
M.CPU: T2250 1.73G/2M
TFT: 14.1WXGA
Video: Intel GMA950-128MB
RAM: 512/DDR2
HDD: 80GB-S
ODD: DVD-RW
WiFi/BT: Y/Y
LAN: 100Mbps
Battery: 6 Cell
Extra1: CR3-1/3USB/IEEE
Extra2: -
Extra3: Rambo Slot
Weight: 2.4Kg
Gift: Carrying Bag

Price: RM2682

Warranty: 1year Carry-in

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Mainstream]
Package includes:
Model: Y400 945433A(Dos)
M.CPU: T5500 1.66G/2M
Video: Intel GMA950-128MB
RAM: 512/DDR2
HDD: 120GB-S

Price: RM3183

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Performance]
Package includes:
Model: Y400 945428A(VB32)
M.CPU: T5500 1.66G/2M
Video: NVIDIA GF7300-TC256
RAM: 1GB/DDR2
HDD: 120GB-S

Price: rm3883

[With Webcam]
Package includes:
Model: Y300 944942A (VB32)
M.CPU: T2300E 1.86G/2M
TFT: 13.1WXGA
Video: NVIDIA GF7300-TC256
RAM: 1GB/DDR2
HDD: 100GB-S
Extra1: CR5-1/3USB/IEEE
Extra2: 1.3Mega Pixel WebCam
Weight: 2.15Kg

[b]Price: rm4775 (Special offer for LYN)

~~how?? :)

24-05-2007, 10:27 PM
Acer sucks...

Lenovo is better...

BENQ is under Acer , right?

so, is BENQ good or not??

Do u think BENQ is stylish??...haha..just curious...can please tell me??anyone??

24-05-2007, 11:04 PM
can any1 here recommend me a laptop that's powerful enuf 4 some CAD n engineering software? plus, also good 4 gaming....

I am going to have a laptop that is great for CAD and engineering softwares too...

As, i am aiming for the BENQ S41 for the moment, just that dunno got other better or not ..after considering the financial problem...

Anyway, what u guys think about Sony VAIO??

here is the link...

http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/productinfo_vaio.asp?Subcategoryid=177

25-05-2007, 07:00 PM
Hey, cooling systems are important for a laptop, right?

http://www.pbus-167.com/

have a look :D

haha89
26-05-2007, 12:05 PM
Hi.. I was wondering whether Compaq's Presario V3250AU is good.. Is it? It comes with an AMD Turion 64 X2 processor, I'll upgrade its ram til 1GB, 80GB hard disk space with windows XP. Its around RM2500.

Tourist
31-05-2007, 10:56 AM
I strongly recommends Dell over Acer. It is a better built machine and superior service. If on tight budget and can wait, buy Dell refurbished that comes with almost same warranty at 20% lower cost.

zwei
01-06-2007, 09:29 PM
NO Acer No BenQ!!

Acer may look cheap but the things they used to build the laptop are..'fragile'~~if u get what i mean..

get Dell or HP or Compaq(which is under HP now)...toshiba n fujitsu are good too.just not Acer or BenQ,no matter how cheap it is!!

i'm getting HP or Compaq.the service centre is darn near my house!!

Excal
01-06-2007, 09:50 PM
Should we be using laptops or desktop PC?

evan89
01-06-2007, 10:43 PM
how bout FTec?

01-06-2007, 11:33 PM
NO Acer No BenQ!!

Acer may look cheap but the things they used to build the laptop are..'fragile'~~if u get what i mean..

get Dell or HP or Compaq(which is under HP now)...toshiba n fujitsu are good too.just not Acer or BenQ,no matter how cheap it is!!

Y BENQ no good?

01-06-2007, 11:33 PM
NO Acer No BenQ!!

Y BENQ no good?

02-06-2007, 01:43 AM
btw... how bout new Acer (Gemstone) ?... looks Very NICE.. with good specifications... Core 2 + new 8600 GT graphics card... + 160 GB HDD + 1GB RAM + Dolby Sound..................... and the price about RM45XX.. sounds very nice to me...

Butters
02-06-2007, 08:28 PM
get a Mac....no viruses

02-06-2007, 09:16 PM
get a Mac....no viruses
wrong fact.. is LESS virus.... go for Genuine PC... with good antivirus software (BitDefender rockz)... never go /dl weird stuff... ur pc will 100% secure

02-06-2007, 10:18 PM
get a Mac....no viruses
wrong fact.. is LESS virus.... go for Genuine PC... with good antivirus software (BitDefender rockz)... never go /dl weird stuff... ur pc will 100% securestrange... i know of people who got their PC infected with viruses just by surfing the net...

For antivirus, for those who don't want to pay for one, go get the AOL Active Virus Shield (http://www.activevirusshield.com/antivirus/freeav/index.adp?). It's based on the reliable Kaspersky Antivirus engine (the best antivirus in the world) and should be able to protect your PC properly ;)

Excal
03-06-2007, 07:34 AM
How about Avira AntiVir Classic Edition... Its ok.

http://www.free-av.com/

03-06-2007, 07:39 AM
How about Avira AntiVir Classic Edition... Its ok.

http://www.free-av.com/i hate the pop-up advertisements...

and kaspersky is a better engine than that of avira..

Butters
03-06-2007, 10:29 AM
get avast.....it's free, but the layout looks cheap...

03-06-2007, 11:41 AM
get avast.....it's free, but the layout looks cheap...taking too much resource with it's fancy GUI...

Butters
03-06-2007, 03:13 PM
if you want really good anti-virus software, get Norton....although, you have to pay RM100 every year....like me....

THREEPOINTsix
03-06-2007, 03:34 PM
Bit Defender two thumbs up
or kaspersky

you pay for what you get. dont kedekut la dear.!!!! nothing in this world is free OK?????

thevegenorm11
03-06-2007, 03:45 PM
right now i'm using toshiba. no problems. price? very very reasonable.
one thing for you guys have to bear in mind it's not just the price, it is all about durability. as students, we use our laptop almost everyday. what happens if it is spoiled?

now, i agree tat you should not buy Acer, Dell, Ftec, Twinhead. Freaky. I tell ya, these brands are not as compatible as Japanese laptops. I'm now teaching temporarily in a secondary school, and FYI, most of the teachers' laptop is Dell (hak milik kerajaan). I can tell you, sucks man. cos, it is made in malaysia. think about it, dell is a good brand from the USA.

compatibility is one thing. what about warranty? customer service? are you going to one of the computer shops to repair your notebook? no way...
As far as i noe, Toshiba (the one i'm using) and Sony have their own customer service offices all around malaysia. its fast and reliable. my friend's sony notebook sent to their office for repair (under warranty). within less than 3 days, he got his laptop back, good as new.

what about the hardware? think about it, those brands have all sorts of good specs, but....do you realise that they were bought from different manufacturers? for toshiba, sony, IBM, HP etc, all their hardwares were manufactured by themselves. you should ask your seniors, how many times did their ACER notebook crashed? tell you, IT IS NOT RELIABLE.

what i can say is that, buy JAPANESE products.

Butters
03-06-2007, 03:54 PM
one thing for you guys have to bear in mind it's not just the price, it is all about durability. as students, we use our laptop almost everyday. what happens if it is spoiled?

now, i agree tat you should not buy Acer, Dell, Ftec, Twinhead. Freaky. I tell ya, these brands are not as compatible as Japanese laptops. I'm now teaching temporarily in a secondary school, and FYI, most of the teachers' laptop is Dell (hak milik kerajaan). I can tell you, sucks man. cos, it is made in malaysia. think about it, dell is a good brand from the USA.

compatibility is one thing. what about warranty? customer service? are you going to one of the computer shops to repair your notebook? no way...
As far as i noe, Toshiba (the one i'm using) and Sony have their own customer service offices all around malaysia. its fast and reliable. my friend's sony notebook sent to their office for repair (under warranty). within less than 3 days, he got his laptop back, good as new.

what about the hardware? think about it, those brands have all sorts of good specs, but....do you realise that they were bought from different manufacturers? for toshiba, sony, IBM, HP etc, all their hardwares were manufactured by themselves. you should ask your seniors, how many times did their ACER notebook crashed? tell you, IT IS NOT RELIABLE.

well said

galfera
03-06-2007, 05:34 PM

so what laptop do u recommend? toshiba, hp, sony? which models?

btw, u're from s'wak rite? where do u recommend s'wakian 2 buy laptops, s'wak or somewhere else?

03-06-2007, 05:38 PM
thevegenorm11, what do you mean by "less compatibility"? Do you mean the stability and durability of the hardware?

03-06-2007, 08:32 PM
one thing for you guys have to bear in mind it's not just the price, it is all about durability. as students, we use our laptop almost everyday. what happens if it is spoiled?not really... some of the models are pretty expensive

now, i agree tat you should not buy Acer, Dell, Ftec, Twinhead. Freaky. I tell ya, these brands are not as compatible as Japanese laptops. I'm now teaching temporarily in a secondary school, and FYI, most of the teachers' laptop is Dell (hak milik kerajaan). I can tell you, sucks man. cos, it is made in malaysia. think about it, dell is a good brand from the USA.What's wrong with made in Malaysia stuffs? The Intel Chip in your laptop probably came from the Intel fab in Penang...

As far as i noe, Toshiba (the one i'm using) and Sony have their own customer service offices all around malaysia. its fast and reliable. my friend's sony notebook sent to their office for repair (under warranty). within less than 3 days, he got his laptop back, good as new. what compatibility? As far as i know, the Windows Xp that comes together is compatible with every other software written for it...

what about the hardware? think about it, those brands have all sorts of good specs, but....do you realise that they were bought from different manufacturers? for toshiba, sony, IBM, HP etc, all their hardwares were manufactured by themselves. you should ask your seniors, how many times did their ACER notebook crashed? tell you, IT IS NOT RELIABLE.Are you sure? FYI, most notebooks are designed and manufactured by only 10 major companies in the world, some with names that you don't even know exists. Asus and Foxconn are 2 of the names. They are the ones who had designed and laptops according to the specs provided by their customers (Incidentally Hp, Apple, Toshiba, Sony, Acer and all other notebook 'manufacturers' that you can name). The difference that Toshiba and other higher-end providers is that they do their own internal testing before the product got out, while Acer and their likes didn't...

I am using my Acer now, and its been very reliable since the day i bought it. The only reason it crashed is because i tweaked and experimented too much with softwares... The only problem i have is the deformed bottom, but that's my fault because i used it on my bed... Coupled with a laptop cooler, I haven't have many problems yet...

Strange that people cloud their minds with regards to brand-name...

vince
06-06-2007, 01:18 AM
hi,i will further my studies overseas if everything goes fine..
there's 2 ques i wanna ask.

1.should i buy it here or when im there?(customer service or warranty issue)

2.if budget is around 5-7k,which one would be better among hp,toshiba,fujitsu?

jondoe1989
06-06-2007, 08:33 AM
if u're REALLY loaded - 7k-8k - asus G1 or asus g2 is the answer. it's damn great when i tested it. here are the specs
Specs for ASUS G1 AK008M:

* Processor: ASUS G1 Intel? Core?2 Duo T7200 (2.0GHz)
* Screen: 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680x1050) ColorShine
* RAM: 2048M DDR2 667
* Hard Disk: 160GB HD 5400 RPM
* Graphics: NVIDIA GeForceGo 7700 GPU 512 MB
* Optical Drive: M-a-t-s-h-i-t-a DVD-RAM UJ-850S DVD RW DL (No LightScribe)
* Wireless: A/B/G + Bluetooth
* Card Reader: MMC, SD, MS, MS-Pro
* Operating System: Windows Media Center Edition
* Kensington Lock hole
* 1.3 Mega Pixel camera with microphone

Specs of the Asus G2P

* Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 (2.0Ghz; 667mhz w/ 4mb Cache)
* Display: 17" WXGA+ (1440 x 900) Color Shine, AUO4087 (B170PW04 V0)
* Asus G2P w/ Intel 945PM Chipset
* Memory: 2048MB DDR2 667 (2x 1024mb)
* Hard Drive: 160GB @<hidden> SATA (Seagate)
* Graphic: ATI Mobility Radeon X1700 512MB
* Wireless: Built-In Intel PRO/Wireless 3945 A/B/G
* Optical: 8x Super Multi DVD Burner (LG Electronics)
* Battery: 8-Cell Li-Ion, 4800mAh, 71Whr
* Operating System: Windows Media Center
* Dimensions: 16" (length) x 12.5" (width) x 2.63" (height)
* Weight: 9.7lbs
* Ports: 1x Express Card, 1x VGA port, 1x Headphone-out jack (SPDIF), 1x Microphone-in jack, 1x RJ11 Modem, 1x RJ45 LAN, 3x USB 2.0 ports, 1x IEEE 1394 port, 1x TV-Out, 1x Infrared Port, 1x μ-DVI, 1x Docking Port,
* 8-in-1 Card Reader
* (MMC/SD/Mini-SD/XD/Memory Stick/MS Pro/MS-Duo/MS-Pro-Duo)

well, then again, these are really for the fully loaded and the hardcore gamers who cant bear to leave their powerful desktops at home.

Tourist
06-06-2007, 09:01 AM

I would have to strongly disagree.

1. A Microsoft Window XP in Dell is exactly the same as the one in Toshiba so the same goes to Office or whatever softwares you uses. In 90+% of cases, compatibility is a software issue and very seldom a hardware one unless you are using a obscure hardware.

2. With Sony & HP, you have to go to their service center. With Dell, they COME to you. Your choice but I would rather they come to me if I live in a big city. Could take 1/2 a day just to get there if relying on public transport. And if in smaller town, there aren't even any HP center so it will take days to get there! Where got time? I have used Dell desktop and they did come to me.

But I would agree with you Toshiba is better built then Dell but it almost always cost much more spec-for-spec. If you wanted a tougher Dell, get their Latitude series instead of Inspirion.

06-06-2007, 09:39 AM
hi,i will further my studies overseas if everything goes fine..
there's 2 ques i wanna ask.

1.should i buy it here or when im there?(customer service or warranty issue)

2.if budget is around 5-7k,which one would be better among hp,toshiba,fujitsu?

here's my oppinion to your ques

1. well, if the laptop you purchased has international warranty for hardware and parts, buying it here and overseas makes no difference. its up to you whther you can wait till you go overseas and get it or not..

2. toshiba!!!! haha... well, i would strongly recommend toshiba.. cos i'm using one of them as well.. but comparatively to these three brands, fujitsu would normaly be alittle bit more expensive for the same spec... and with your budget around 5 to 7k, toshiba would be just great... try looking at the qosmio series.. very good entertainment facilities, but a little heavy though..

specialized
11-06-2007, 11:52 AM
Well, laptops nowadays are no longer fully manufactured by the manufactures themselves. Your laptop's screen might be a Samsung, hard disk from seagate, dvd rom from fujitsu or battery from sony. Toshiba might no full toshiba, sony might no ful vaio. but some company like asus, they'r fully manufactured by the own manufactures, depends on model as well.

24-06-2007, 07:43 AM
Dell and HP is very popular brand among the world... Dell model in US is different and better if compared with Asian Dell.....

What will be happened if u go to overseas??... (western country)

Butters
24-06-2007, 10:35 AM
Dell and HP is very popular brand among the world... Dell model in US is different and better if compared with Asian Dell.....
WRONG!!!!
read this.....Popular PC (http://news.yahoo.com/s/macworld/20070622/tc_macworld/macshare20070622;_ylt=Ak37t42hEWHD9zk4ZSGLM2wjtBAF)

it depends....some brand will give you "international warranty".

24-06-2007, 11:06 AM
WRONG!!!!
read this.....Popular PC (http://news.yahoo.com/s/macworld/20070622/tc_macworld/macshare20070622;_ylt=Ak37t42hEWHD9zk4ZSGLM2wjtBAF)
hehe...i juz wanna stat out that Dell and HP are traditional leaders on the market share...
not all ppl here actually can work very familiar under Mac OS.. but i glad to hear the news... the market of Apple surely will be increased once the Leopard is released....

it depends....some brand will give you "international warranty".
hmm... so don't buy the brands that don't promise for international warranty thingy if u wanna go to overseas... (is Acer have any service center on the overseas (western)??.. hehe.. quite their new laptop seems attractive http://www.trustedreviews.com/notebooks/review/2007/05/31/Acer-Aspire-5920/p1 ) )

Butters
24-06-2007, 11:29 AM
hehe...i juz wanna stat out that Dell and HP are traditional leaders on the market share...
not all ppl here actually can work very familiar under Mac OS.. but i glad to hear the news... the market of Apple surely will be increased once the Leopard is released.... can't wait any longer..!!!

hmm... so don't buy the brands that don't promise for international warranty thingy if u wanna go to overseas... (is Acer have any service center on the overseas (western)??.. hehe.. quite their new laptop seems attractive http://www.trustedreviews.com/notebooks/review/2007/05/31/Acer-Aspire-5920/p1 ) )
i dunno....go check on their official website.....

26-06-2007, 09:11 PM
not all ppl here actually can work very familiar under Mac OS.. but i glad to hear the news... the market of Apple surely will be increased once the Leopard is released.... can't wait any longer..!!!

i dunno....go check on their official website.....

Acer only provide for warranty in South East Asia, I think.

Butters
26-06-2007, 10:53 PM
Acer only provide for warranty in South East Asia, I think.

probably....

Daniel_Chin
11-07-2007, 12:19 PM
What about Asus? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=257302

shade
11-07-2007, 04:10 PM
What about Asus? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=257302

The specs are pretty confusing. Normally, laptops with Intel GMAs don't specify their graphics memory because it uses shared memory and those laptops with Intel GMAs certainly lack memory.

But Asus-Lambo VX1 LOOKS SO COOL

chris7
27-07-2007, 02:32 PM
which one is the in laptop .
amd turion x2 or intel core 2 duo?

01-08-2007, 09:26 AM
which one is the in laptop .
amd turion x2 or intel core 2 duo?editted

21-01-2008, 10:35 AM
apple latest laptop

Macbook air, the slimmest laptop in the world..It can even fit inside a mailing envelope

http://www.apple.com/macbookair/

Too bad, it has only 1 USB port. Its disk drive 's storage is maximum 80 GB...The price is also not cheap (around RM 6000)

22-01-2008, 05:51 PM
apple latest laptop

Macbook air, the slimmest laptop in the world..It can even fit inside a mailing envelope

http://www.apple.com/macbookair/

Too bad, it has only 1 USB port. Its disk drive 's storage is maximum 80 GB...The price is also not cheap (around RM 6000)Well, you do you expect from a ultra-portable?

23-01-2008, 12:20 AM
I would rather use a heavier, bigger laptop with better specification..

Anyway, I m not Apple fan

23-01-2008, 05:03 PM
I would rather use a heavier, bigger laptop with better specification..

Anyway, I m not Apple fanThat's for you...

There are also lots of executives that spend a lot of time on the road traveling as well... For them, an ultraportable might suit them well...

Butters
25-01-2008, 10:02 PM
The new MacBook Air...

i think it's suitable for frequent travelers or people who are always on the move....

i can't say anything yet about the MacBook Air....because I haven't hold it in my hands..

PS:No optical drive....Apple must have good reason for that....

26-01-2008, 01:14 PM
PS:No optical drive....Apple must have good reason for that....

I guess it's still physically impossible to slim down the optical drive at the moment. They should include an external drive though so that you can install ur stuff at home. Most people don't use their drives on the run anyway.

29-01-2008, 12:30 PM
With the availability of permanent internet connection, i find myself using my dvd drive less and less (except for backup purposes)...

So the point of including a drive *just in case* is moot anyway. I do support the idea of including a external drive in the package though, will save time rather than having to use another computer's drive wirelessly as advertised.

Macbook Air review: http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardware/macbook-air-review.ars/

Appolo
13-02-2008, 03:59 PM
Hi, I'm planning on getting a laptop to do my assignments and I'm torn apart between HP or Toshiba.

I've narrow down my selection according to budget first, followed by the brand.Hence I need to choose the laptop that I want carefully since the features offered and price are nearly identical.

Can anyone tell me more about the differences of these two brands.I know nuts about computers and I would really some good advice on that.

Caprio
23-04-2008, 12:37 PM
Hey, I just bought my Dell XPS 1530. So far so good, really satisfied. And I would recommend for those who are looking for a gaming/performance laptop. :P

Hi, I'm planning on getting a laptop to do my assignments and I'm torn apart between HP or Toshiba.

I've narrow down my selection according to budget first, followed by the brand.Hence I need to choose the laptop that I want carefully since the features offered and price are nearly identical.

Can anyone tell me more about the differences of these two brands.I know nuts about computers and I would really some good advice on that.

You can refer to notebook.review.com. There are tons of information. At this point, I don't know which model is you refer too. Different model diffent pros and cons. Besides, that it depend the purpose for your laptop.

plovesb
23-04-2008, 11:55 PM
i like apples.. how about hp?

d3stinydanc3withm3
24-04-2008, 12:08 AM
If you're a gamer then you would do well to steer away from intel integrated graphic cards *shudder*

I have a dislike for acer laptops cos my sis once had one and after just 2 years it started giving her shocks whenever she touched the metal surface.

Acer latops are like rubbish wrapped as presents

24-04-2008, 12:18 AM
mine is acer..haha

24-04-2008, 01:05 AM
My 2 years old Acer is still humming quietly while i input commands for it to process right now...

Caprio
24-04-2008, 05:34 PM
There are a lot of problems for acer laptop. Some of my friends complain that the laptop is being heated up easily. In addition, the hardware and the mother board is very fragile. My friend took the laptop twice for service in just one year. Anyone facing such problems?

By the way, acer is still the first choice for consumer. This is perhaps due to its lower price.

For those acer user, no offense. Haha...

24-04-2008, 05:50 PM
No problem with overheating. But, I have to admit my Acer is one slow machine to startup.

24-04-2008, 06:25 PM
reformat, uninstall unneeded softwares works everytime...No problem with overheating. But, I have to admit my Acer is one slow machine to startup.

qedx
25-04-2008, 12:56 PM
I find that the new Acer laptops look like children's toys. You know, the ones with the simple word games and the like for preschoolers. I stay away from them. I've actually never seen anyone actually using them though. My family primarily uses Dell Inspirons. Mine is the oldest from mid-2006, no problems so far.

Iraka
26-04-2008, 01:12 AM
I find that the new Acer laptops look like children's toys. You know, the ones with the simple word games and the like for preschoolers.

Agreed lol. My mum recently got a new one and it was just this....plastic-looking fragile little thing.

I've had my Toshiba Satellite A80 for about 2 and a half years now and it's still going strong. Real solid. Though whenever I recommend a Toshiba to anyone, it's always the price that puts people off...

26-04-2008, 08:45 AM
Agreed lol. My mum recently got a new one and it was just this....plastic-looking fragile little thing.

I've had my Toshiba Satellite A80 for about 2 and a half years now and it's still going strong. Real solid. Though whenever I recommend a Toshiba to anyone, it's always the price that puts people off...
if you want something good you will have to pay for it...

nadia.g
26-04-2008, 09:02 AM
i want to buy a new laptop n m still stuck in chosing. wat do u guys think of sony vaio CR? is sony ok? or shud i jus stick to dell?

shakira
26-04-2008, 03:10 PM
is the dell xps m1330 good? i'm on a really tight budget abd i need something reliable..

qedx
27-04-2008, 12:07 AM
is the dell xps m1330 good? i'm on a really tight budget abd i need something reliable..
"Dell XPS" and "budget" should never be in the same sentence IMO.

The Dell laptops (Inspirons all of them) that my family use have never given me problems so far. Never had to call their support too. So... *shrug*

megatfais
27-04-2008, 02:26 PM
i want to buy a new laptop n m still stuck in chosing. wat do u guys think of sony vaio CR? is sony ok? or shud i jus stick to dell?

when u buy a vaio its more to buying the brand.sony is good but u can find better ones for the same price.

hfz
27-04-2008, 02:38 PM
Yeah. When you want to buy a laptop try avoiding Sony and Toshiba. Both are expensive considering you are only using it for college work.

If you want the best bang for buck get an Acer or Dell.

And remember, you don't have to get a powerful one. You're not going to play games on it, rather just to surf the net and get done with assignment.s

megatfais
27-04-2008, 02:44 PM
Yeah. When you want to buy a laptop try avoiding Sony and Toshiba. Both are expensive considering you are only using it for college work.

And remember, you don't have to get a powerful one. You're not going to play games on it, rather just to surf the net and get done with assignment.s

even if u wan to play games sometimes,acer shud be just fine.lol.

hfz
27-04-2008, 02:50 PM
Haha.. True. But I don't really think you have time to game when you're in uni later. :P

shakira
27-04-2008, 03:15 PM
"Dell XPS" and "budget" should never be in the same sentence IMO.

The Dell laptops (Inspirons all of them) that my family use have never given me problems so far. Never had to call their support too. So... *shrug*

thanks for the advice.. i just like the m1330.. 13.3' small yet stylish.. yeah the inspirons are gud too.. 1420 is nice..

Caprio
27-04-2008, 03:26 PM
thanks for the advice.. i just like the m1330.. 13.3' small yet stylish.. yeah the inspirons are gud too.. 1420 is nice..

I agree whole-heartedly that the XPS1330 is small and stylish.

However, I would not recommend Inspirions laptop. There are many problems affiliated with this model such as grainy screens, hard disc problems. XPS laptops are the better deal.

shakira
27-04-2008, 03:33 PM

However, I would not recommend Inspirions laptop. There are many problems affiliated with this model such as grainy screens, hard disc problems. XPS laptops are the better deal.

yup.. i guess the inspiron is out then.. i'm left with nothing much then. i really dont like the acer aspire models because of the keyboard. like old computer only... the travelmates are nice though..

qedx
27-04-2008, 04:16 PM

Seriously? Never noticed anything wrong with mine. Must be luck of the draw then *shrug*

27-04-2008, 05:05 PM
i'm using inspiron 1520 and i'm really happy with it. Besides, with dell's excellent customer support, you just have to call them and they will come change it.

27-04-2008, 05:47 PM

Toshibas provides excellent value for money for the quality they provide. Besides, they are more affordable than ever before. Sonys on the other hand, despite their good hardware quality, just fails in the software department because of their bloated softwares

megatfais
27-04-2008, 06:02 PM
Haha.. True. But I don't really think you have time to game when you're in uni later. :P

agreed.lol.just joking only.well again i wud go for acer.its gud and not that expensive.shud be fine for students.

d3stinydanc3withm3
27-04-2008, 06:06 PM
If you're looking for a gaming laptop, i recommend the BenQ range. It's quite affordable. But BenQ has some serious heating issues.

Do you guys think Cooler Pads are useful? Does it depend on the amount you pay? From the ciplak RM20 plastic cooler pad to the RM200 CoolerMaster?

27-04-2008, 06:12 PM
I think HP is not bad . I am using tx1316AU ~~ has rotatable screen , remote control and the the functions are not bad . My relative who sold it to me said it's entertainment lappy .....

27-04-2008, 06:34 PM
If you're looking for a gaming laptop, i recommend the BenQ range. It's quite affordable. But BenQ has some serious heating issues.

Do you guys think Cooler Pads are useful? Does it depend on the amount you pay? From the ciplak RM20 plastic cooler pad to the RM200 CoolerMaster?
I am using a RM 70+ cooling pad to cool my laptop. Just test it before buying it to make sure it doesn't make too much noise...

Caprio
27-04-2008, 09:48 PM

I am just using a China brand cooler pad. So far so good. I would say it doesn't make much noise. Quite effective too.

I got it as freebies when I bought my laptop. The market price is around RM15.

Value for money.:P

yogurt_addict
28-04-2008, 12:17 AM
maybe we shd open a poll to vote which brand is the best......... i m lazy to browse through all the threads

28-04-2008, 03:00 PM
maybe we shd open a poll to vote which brand is the best......... i m lazy to browse through all the threads
I think you should read peoples' opinions before committing a large sum of money buying a laptop... Else you will pay the price of being lazy...

prince_J
28-04-2008, 03:02 PM
ACER with the latest casing is pretty good.. trust me, and it is not that expensive, altho it might be a little bit heavy..

hfz
28-04-2008, 03:04 PM
ACER with the latest casing is pretty good.. trust me, and it is not that expensive, altho it might be a little bit heavy..

Hey, you might want to remember not to be too flashy in college! Your stuff might be the prime target for thieves!

liangfuhan
28-04-2008, 03:09 PM
I think that the XPS M1330 is really good! I have one and it sure seems very very durable. it's definitely a whole new line of laptops as compared to the usual Dell laptops. I hear Latitude is pretty good too.

If you're looking for something to do your work with in College, please remember that you should invest some money in a good laptop. You might be using the laptop as both, your room desktop and a portable computer. The last thing you want if to have your laptop crash when you're in the middle of some extremely important presentation.

I recommend the Macbook, if you're into sleek stylish designs and reasonable pricing, and the fact that it runs on a different OS gives you more reasons to buy it! Or the Dell XPS, which is reasonably priced too! But I've been looking around and I saw this really nice HP Pavillion for less than 4K.

If all else fails, lug your desktop to school.

28-04-2008, 06:34 PM
If you want a cheap laptop that can run most games well, the inspiron 1520 is the cheapest now. You even get rm500 discount if you configure it past RM5000. There's no other laptop offering better deals at the moment i think. Acer and HP is a close competitor but the graphics card is Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS compared to the Nvidia Geforce 8600M GT offered by the dell inspiron 1520. If you have a little bit more cash to spend, get the XPS 1330 or the XPS 1530, they are both really good laptops.

Sony is overpriced.
Fujitsu is excellent but pricey.
HP is an excellent company, can be considered.
Acer.. well, the latest design is cool, but I just don't trust Acers.. :P
Toshiba is good, but I'm hearing stories from people that own them.
Compaq is a subcompany of HP and it is the cheaper line of the HP laptops.

For service, I think Dell is really excellent. I've dealt with them before and they will come to you to fix your things for you. No travel or sending hassles. No experience dealing with other companies though.

Price wise, cheapest ranges are Acer, Compaq, Dell Inspirons and maybe HP.

When you buy, make sure:
If you get a vista laptop, your RAM should be at least 2Gb (Vista takes 1Gb for itself).
Memory get at least 160G (or more depending if you store pictures/movies/etc.) But if you want you can always get an external, it's quite cheap nowadays.
Graphics card, if you don't play games at all and don't do any design/engineering programs, an integrated card is enough. Otherwise, get at least 128mb Graphics card (but you can't run some games with that).
Make sure you have dvd burner.
Make sure you get at least 3 year warranty (my opinion).

Hope it helps, but I'm not a professional computer person :P

Olataro
28-04-2008, 06:47 PM
gaming laptops arent worth it. Anyway i heard that amd is gonna come up with a USB portable external graphic card. If so the we would all be pleased an AMD gonna make lots of money.

28-04-2008, 07:20 PM
gaming laptops arent worth it. Anyway i heard that amd is gonna come up with a USB portable external graphic card. If so the we would all be pleased an AMD gonna make lots of money.USB can never bring along enough data bandwidth to pipe the huge amount of data that a graphics card requires... Just where did you get the rumours anyway?

29-04-2008, 02:10 AM
gaming laptops arent worth it. Anyway i heard that amd is gonna come up with a USB portable external graphic card. If so the we would all be pleased an AMD gonna make lots of money.

Buying a laptop to game is not worth it. A desktop is of course cheaper and more powerful but here we're talking about students who need a laptop and wants to game at the same time.

29-04-2008, 02:27 PM
Then, why game at all. Hehe, when in college, you should study, not play games. A cheap laptop with with crappy specification only to accommodate a word processor and the ability to go online should be adequate for all college bound student.

But, I still prefer Acer lah. Why? Cause it's cheap, nothing more.

29-04-2008, 10:30 PM
Buying a laptop to game is not worth it. A desktop is of course cheaper and more powerful but here we're talking about students who need a laptop and wants to game at the same time.
I like the portability of a laptop... and I don't like lugging a ?ber-pwn-u-@<hidden> desktop back home when I am finished with my studies later on (No, i am not just going to sell off my precious desktop just like that).

Then, why game at all. Hehe, when in college, you should study, not play games. A cheap laptop with with crappy specification only to accommodate a word processor and the ability to go online should be adequate for all college bound student.

Games and studies comes together in one complete package

d3stinydanc3withm3
29-04-2008, 11:17 PM
Games and studies comes together in one complete package

Lol, agreed.

And whether it's a rumour or not, I hope AMD does churn out those portable Graphic cards. Right now I'm stuck with an intel integrated one. How sad is that? My mom chose my laptop without even consulting me...I'm sure she did it on purpose

Oh, and a note to future gamers, for gaming purposes, Intel Integrated Graphics is the absolute worst you can get, be it 64Mb, 128Mb, 256Mb. They all suck. Stay away from them. Get 3D cards from AMD/ATI or Nvidia. I've lost count of the number of times I've bought an interesting game, went home, installed it, clicked open on the shortcut with wide-eyes and childlike enthusiasm only to find out that the damn game can't run because of 3D card incompatibility. My intel is a 128Mb and it CANT run some games from 2 years ago, like NoOneLivesForever2, Deus Ex 2 etc. Bah!
I mean, you seriously don't expect me to request the owner of the shop to insert the CD into his comp so I can check the readme right?

29-04-2008, 11:23 PM
I mean, you seriously don't expect me to request the owner of the shop to insert the CD into his comp so I can check the readme right?

Technically, an original game package would have the minimum requirements written on the box. :P

d3stinydanc3withm3
29-04-2008, 11:29 PM
Technically, an original game package would have the minimum requirements written on the box. :P

Are you trying to be funny Zeroth? :p

megatfais
30-04-2008, 12:19 AM

i wud not wana study 24/7.so games wud be needed at times.life is short.live it to d fullest.

30-04-2008, 01:18 AM
Lol, agreed.

And whether it's a rumour or not, I hope AMD does churn out those portable Graphic cards. Right now I'm stuck with an intel integrated one. How sad is that? My mom chose my laptop without even consulting me...I'm sure she did it on purpose

Oh, and a note to future gamers, for gaming purposes, Intel Integrated Graphics is the absolute worst you can get, be it 64Mb, 128Mb, 256Mb. They all suck. Stay away from them. Get 3D cards from AMD/ATI or Nvidia. I've lost count of the number of times I've bought an interesting game, went home, installed it, clicked open on the shortcut with wide-eyes and childlike enthusiasm only to find out that the damn game can't run because of 3D card incompatibility. My intel is a 128Mb and it CANT run some games from 2 years ago, like NoOneLivesForever2, Deus Ex 2 etc. Bah!
I mean, you seriously don't expect me to request the owner of the shop to insert the CD into his comp so I can check the readme right?Nope, like i said, external graphics cards will not be possible, until they manage to make an external pcie x16 slot available...

before you buy any game, check online for reviews and system requirements :p

qedx
30-04-2008, 01:21 AM
If you want to play the latest games on your laptop expect to pay a minimum of RM 3,500. But that laptop might still be limited in some ways. On the other hand if you spend that RM3,500 on a desktop you'd get a pretty sweet box, and maybe even an original OS and games :p But this is straying from the topic

30-04-2008, 12:24 PM
Are you trying to be funny Zeroth? :p

I dun have to try, lol! But seriously, if you're concerned, you can always check for the specs requirements online. However, if you have an aging computer, don't really bother as most new games now have rather high requirements..

30-04-2008, 04:18 PM
I dun have to try, lol! But seriously, if you're concerned, you can always check for the specs requirements online. However, if you have an aging computer, don't really bother as most new games now have rather high requirements..
Hmm...I can still play C&C3 and WoW with relatively high settings even with my more-than-2-years-old laptop.

Maintenance works to keep it in the tip top condition all the time. In fact, it's so optimised that it runs faster than a lot of the Core2Duo machines out there hehehe

Caprio
30-04-2008, 10:24 PM
For games like C&C and dota are not really the high end game. No problem running them with a decent graphic card.

In order the to play the high-end games like FEAR, Crysis, and Gear of War, one needs to invest wisely in a good graphic card.

And to buy a good gaming laptop, you need to fork out quite a huge sum of money. If you are an gaming enthusiasist, you will say it is value for money, vice versa.

30-04-2008, 11:11 PM
Hmm...I can still play C&C3 and WoW with relatively high settings even with my more-than-2-years-old laptop.

Maintenance works to keep it in the tip top condition all the time. In fact, it's so optimised that it runs faster than a lot of the Core2Duo machines out there hehehe

That's because C&C3 is based on CNC Generals' game engine which is almost 6 years old and Wow is a game older than 3 years :P

However, some game producers like Blizzard likes to keep their game requirements as low as possible so that the market is larger, such as the upcoming Starcraft II.

High end games like Call of duty 4, Crysis, Supreme Commander are almost impossible to run on older systems.

30-04-2008, 11:12 PM
CoD4 runs just fine on my laptop as well kekeke

01-05-2008, 12:35 AM
CoD4 runs just fine on my laptop as well kekeke

Lol! I heard that from a friend too actually. That's due to excellent coding from the developers I guess.. :) then you should be able to run world in conflict as well.

Caprio
01-05-2008, 02:22 PM
Lol! I heard that from a friend too actually. That's due to excellent coding from the developers I guess.. :) then you should be able to run world in conflict as well.

Hmm... What do you mean coding here?

Olataro
01-05-2008, 02:29 PM
Acer is the best for us moderate spenders. Its cost effective and carries a great price tag compared to Dell. Dell usually overcharges things.

01-05-2008, 11:05 PM
Acer is the best for us moderate spenders. Its cost effective and carries a great price tag compared to Dell. Dell usually overcharges things.

Not essentially true, the inspiron 1520 is cheaper than Acer if you put the same specs.

Hmm... What do you mean coding here?

Some programmers are not efficient when writing their programs, resulting in more processing required for the same end result. If you compare Universe at war with World in Conflict, Universe at war has really high requirements but the graphics in poorer than world in conflict that has less requirements but looks a lot better.

BUT, i'm no programmer, so perhaps someone more qualified can explain or maybe i'm wrong totally, lol!

davidchak
02-05-2008, 12:53 AM
Toshiba

If you wan durability

02-05-2008, 03:11 PM
IBM is a tank if you want durability, my friend had his dropped from a flight of stairs and it still works normally..

02-05-2008, 03:28 PM
Toshiba

If you wan durability

agree, I m also Toshiba user..

My current Toshiba laptop is working fine even if it is multitasking.. (Downloading, Surfing net, chatting, playing songs, antivirus scanning...can be done at the same time..)

02-05-2008, 03:33 PM
Toshiba

If you wan durability

IBM is a tank if you want durability, my friend had his dropped from a flight of stairs and it still works normally..
have i just read durability? (http://www.panasonic.com/business/Toughbook/products.asp)

BTW, IBM doesn't produce laptops anymore. Their laptop division have been bought over by Lenovo China...

Some programmers are not efficient when writing their programs, resulting in more processing required for the same end result. If you compare Universe at war with World in Conflict, Universe at war has really high requirements but the graphics in poorer than world in conflict that has less requirements but looks a lot better.

BUT, i'm no programmer, so perhaps someone more qualified can explain or maybe i'm wrong totally, lol!You are correct. It takes absolute skills to write a efficient programs, both in terms of processing and memory. For a routine, some programmer can write in 10 lines, while another might be able to do the same routine in 5 lines of program code (usually resulting in a smaller program)...

qedx
03-05-2008, 05:37 PM
My current Toshiba laptop is working fine even if it is multitasking.. (Downloading, Surfing net, chatting, playing songs, antivirus scanning...can be done at the same time..)
Seriously, any new computer bought within the last year or two should be able to do that.

-----
The Toughbook looks awesome. Definitely droolworthy.

04-05-2008, 09:33 AM
Anyone has any comment about ASUS? The specs by ASUS are quite nice for gaming...

Olataro
05-05-2008, 10:17 AM
:PI am playing world in conflict with my acer laptop that has GMA950, and i tell you, no lags.

Seriously!!! But for CC3, you need a better graphic card.

Anyone has any comment about ASUS? The specs by ASUS are quite nice for gaming...

My say in this is that, yah, ASUS gaming laptop are one of the best in the market but let me ask u, is it worth it? For 4k, you can get a hell of a desktop:nod and hell, the laptop will only allow you to play games for a max of 1 hour without charging its battery. So if you need to plug it constantly to play games, then its better that you buy urself a good desktop.

Laptops are for work, surfing, etc. They were not meant for gaming.........yet.

So if u really plan on gaming ask urself,

For 2.5k you get a decent ACER laptop with weak graphics
for 1.5k you can upgrade ur old desktop into a super rig ( if yyou know where to find the best bargains)

For 4k+, you get a great laptop that allows you to play games......for 40 min+ without charging.....................

Which is worth it?Its up to you!!:wink

Caprio
05-05-2008, 11:24 AM

Yeap. The specs by ASUS is ideal for gaming. You may consider it other than DELL. By the way, in Malaysia, ASUS laptop is currently out of stock due to the high demand of consumers during last PC fair. You will only get your laptop in June.

05-05-2008, 03:08 PM
They are one of the only 10 companies worldwide to produce their own laptop hardwares (all others contract their wares from these 10). And they do provide their own in-house testing... so a pretty good deal if you ask me...

05-05-2008, 03:45 PM
My say in this is that, yah, ASUS gaming laptop are one of the best in the market but let me ask u, is it worth it? For 4k, you can get a hell of a desktop:nod and hell, the laptop will only allow you to play games for a max of 1 hour without charging its battery. So if you need to plug it constantly to play games, then its better that you buy urself a good desktop.

Laptops are for work, surfing, etc. They were not meant for gaming.........yet.

So if u really plan on gaming ask urself,

For 2.5k you get a decent ACER laptop with weak graphics
for 1.5k you can upgrade ur old desktop into a super rig ( if yyou know where to find the best bargains)

For 4k+, you get a great laptop that allows you to play games......for 40 min+ without charging.....................

Which is worth it?Its up to you!!:wink
I'm going overseas later this year, so it's almost impossible for me to bring a desktop over there, in this case laptop would suit me more...
Yeap. The specs by ASUS is ideal for gaming. You may consider it other than DELL. By the way, in Malaysia, ASUS laptop is currently out of stock due to the high demand of consumers during last PC fair. You will only get your laptop in June.
June is okay for me... What about DELL? Is it good for gaming too? It seems the price of DELL is not much cheaper compared to ASUS, but the advantage is the on-site service provided by DELL...
They are one of the only 10 companies worldwide to produce their own laptop hardwares (all others contract their wares from these 10). And they do provide their own in-house testing... so a pretty good deal if you ask me...
What are other good and affordable companies?

05-05-2008, 04:06 PM
I'll have to read it up somewhere. I got my info from Chip magazine a few years ago, but the fact still stands

d3stinydanc3withm3
05-05-2008, 04:12 PM
Try BenQ for gaming!!Search it up! It's quite affordable!

Caprio
05-05-2008, 05:15 PM

Though it is comparatively cheper, quality must take into consideration too.

I'm going overseas later this year, so it's almost impossible for me to bring a desktop over there, in this case laptop would suit me more...

June is okay for me... What about DELL? Is it good for gaming too? It seems the price of DELL is not much cheaper compared to ASUS, but the advantage is the on-site service provided by DELL...

DELL XPS 1530 is ideal for gaming. I am using it and I am satisfied with that.

05-05-2008, 07:04 PM
Though it is comparatively cheper, quality must take into consideration too.

DELL XPS 1530 is ideal for gaming. I am using it and I am satisfied with that.

Yes,the XPS 1530 is a great laptop. If you're short on cash, just get the inspiron 1520 (same specs but heavier and no finger print reader).

If you have enough money, getting a desktop for gaming and then a super cheap laptop for work might suffice :P I heard ASUS had a super cheap and small laptop.

Olataro
06-05-2008, 01:03 AM
Dell is expensive...............too expensive......a darn ram upgrade costs a whooping rm200! that aint worth it. A gaming laptop??? Thats wat u want then you really should go for asus. Then again if money is not ur limit, go for dell.

06-05-2008, 01:15 AM
Dell is expensive...............too expensive......a darn ram upgrade costs a whooping rm200! that aint worth it. A gaming laptop??? Thats wat u want then you really should go for asus. Then again if money is not ur limit, go for dell.
Dells slots aren't covered by stickers from what i can remember, you can go to the shop and get it installed yourself if you want to save the money.

06-05-2008, 02:47 AM
Yes, you're right, or get it from ebay. RAM is worth your investment though. I have 4g ram, lol!

Appolo
10-05-2008, 09:01 PM
Been having problem with my laptop(fujitsu) in terms of its lan port and speaker.I'm planning on sending it over to the shop to repair my lan port that hasn't been working since the last time i used it.Normally, would it take long as i'm dead sure that its not a software problem?

Another thing is that the volume of my laptop is so soft that i have to really on my headphones if i really want the loud sound that i want.Any suggestion on improving the und quality of the laptop? How about changing the internal speakers? I just bought it a couple of months ago i wouldn't want to make dratic changes on my laptop.What to do?

vivace
13-05-2008, 03:48 PM
hi.. i am going to be a Foundation student in Mechanical engineering..
can anyone tell me..
do i need a Laptop during my study in Foundation course?

13-05-2008, 08:17 PM
hi.. i am going to be a Foundation student in Mechanical engineering..
can anyone tell me..
do i need a Laptop during my study in Foundation course?
not a necessity

Caprio
13-05-2008, 09:50 PM

Of course it is not worth it. You can buy from other retail shops. The current price for 1GB of Kingston RAM costs you around RM68. :)

By the way, I may help you solve your greatest mystery in recom, vseehua is a boy.
*Pardon me, off topic.*

nicky_chin
14-05-2008, 11:37 AM
Go shopping for a notebook computer today, and you'll likely to focus on these
-dualcore processor
-large screen
-size
-light weight

Glossy Screen
When buying a notebook, pay extra attention to whether the LCD is glossy or matte. Nowadays, manufacturers are offering glossy screens. These are great for watching movies but not optimal for office work.
Reason:Glossy screens are highly reflective. In typical office environments, glossy screens can be hard on your eyes and concentration(you need to work harder to ignore ambient lighting and background objects that are reflected in your screen.
So, if you are buying a notebook for work and not for movies or games, avoid glossy screen.

Slow wireless
Most notebooks come with a built-in wireless technology.
Problem:Most of them are yesterday's technology. Wireless transmission standard is going to get a big boost in speed with the official unveiling of the 802.11n standard, which provides Internet and networking connectivity speeds that are 10 times faster than the wireless standard currently in use. To add a new wireless standard to your machine, you need to purchase an add-on device and potentially crowd the limited ports in your notebook.
So, avoid notebooks that offer only built-in 802.11b or 802.11g wireless cards. Even if the version of 802.11n is dubbed "draft" or "pre-release", it'll likely still be faster than 802.11g standard.

Flimsy construction
Consumer level notebooks: (Those not designed for business) are typically constructed with a less durable shell. The result-they don't stand up very well to any type of fall or hard knock.
If you'll be doing a lot of traveling, think about buying notebooks that were made to take some abuse. The Dell Latitude series or Lenovo Thinkpad are highly regarded in terms of durability.

Heat
A powerful processor+fast hard drive+hefty battery=Lots of heat
So, if you are usually working on your lap, find out how hot the underside will become.

Noise
Source: The hard drive and the cooling fan
So, to eliminate the noise, consider a notebook with a solid state drive.
Alternative for old notebooks: Download Notebook Hardware Control herehttp://tinyurl.com/7pptl.

All credits go to Jay Dougherty.
-Just wanna share this with you all:)

14-05-2008, 11:43 AM
Thanks for sharing, but since we have an existing thread about good laptops, I merged your new thread into this one.

nadia.g
14-05-2008, 11:15 PM
mine is dell inspiron 1420. Its great! the spec is good n the price is cheap.

holydiviner
15-05-2008, 12:37 AM
Vaio L-series its cool!! I've got one and my dad got one. It juz cost round 5k

runninghorse
15-05-2008, 12:09 PM
i would like to know... is it a MUST for a student in college and university to have a laptop? can we survive through college life without a laptop? is it possible?

one more question - what is the usage of laptop in college and university? to do assignments ONLY?

hehe... sorry if i did ask stupid question...

15-05-2008, 01:09 PM
i would like to know... is it a MUST for a student in college and university to have a laptop? can we survive through college life without a laptop? is it possible?
our admin Chen Chow (chenchow) survived four years in Cornell University without personal PC, let alone laptop. Imagine how he could commute to university computer lab everyday to do his assignments and post those thousands posts in ReCom (he is the top poster for so long already).

p/s: sorry chenchow if you did have a laptop in Cornell without me knowing it or if you don't want me posting about this please delete this post. I salute you for that feat nevertheless... :nod

17-05-2008, 02:30 AM
our admin Chen Chow (chenchow) survived four years in Cornell University without personal PC, let alone laptop. Imagine how he could commute to university computer lab everyday to do his assignments and post those thousands posts in ReCom (he is the top poster for so long already).

p/s: sorry chenchow if you did have a laptop in Cornell without me knowing it or if you don't want me posting about this please delete this post. I salute you for that feat nevertheless... :nod

Thanks luke for posting it. I would say that it is definitely possible, and yes, I do not own any laptop. In fact, I don't even own a handphone during my entire 4 years at Cornell. I guess it is just a matter of discipline.

So, once I get back to my room, there is no internet to "distract" me, and hence, it would be bed time.

Most of the universities would have a lot of computer labs available, so as long as you are willing to walk for a few minutes, it shouldn't be any trouble.

17-05-2008, 02:37 AM
*Ultimate Salute*

17-05-2008, 12:56 PM
mine is Fujitsu Esprimo Mobile (The series no. I have forgotten already), Anyway, I just bought it a few months ago with a price of RM 1999. Anyway, its speaker is quite poor.

Olataro
18-05-2008, 01:34 AM
i find that all budget laptops have poor speakers, is that true?

Caprio
18-05-2008, 01:03 PM

Not necessary. Depends which brand you buy. If you are looking from good speaker, go for toshiba.

Satisfaciton guaranteed.

18-05-2008, 05:08 PM

I don't think they are poor, just that they are average and not as good as the sounds you can get from a proper speaker. Most cheap laptops' speakers can't produce base though.

one more question - what is the usage of laptop in college and university? to do assignments ONLY?

hehe... sorry if i did ask stupid question...

It really depends. You can survive without a laptop because you can rely on the computers provided by your college and the university in the library etc. However sometimes these places have opening times and computers are limited, hence you might not get to work when you want to.

For pre-university courses (except SAM maybe) usually you don't need a computer. I survived my A-levels without using the computer for the whole duration of the course.

In University, I need my laptop to do many things. The tasks include searching online for articles, journals and so on for my research and also in general searching for good articles for my studies to add to my textbook. Other important usages are the emails and so on. But i use my computer for gaming and just lazying alot as well.. :P

davidchak
18-05-2008, 11:24 PM
Toshiba speaker rulez.

If you are going to ICPU, personal experience is that you might need a laptop cuz you will have to do lotsa resarch and comp work and Taylors (if you are going there) have really limited pc for students.

cyther90
18-05-2008, 11:32 PM
Is Laptop/desktop a must if i'm doing ADFP in INTEC?

stupidboy
19-05-2008, 06:00 AM
I salute Chen Chow for not needing a personal PC. But still, in some other places, students still need to have a personal PC for emergency uses. Some students don't live in their university campus and so they don't have any computer access. They'll then need to have their own PC.

So, what about DELL XPS M1330? It seems kind of nice.

Appolo
19-05-2008, 09:42 AM
mine is Fujitsu Esprimo Mobile (The series no. I have forgotten already), Anyway, I just bought it a few months ago with a price of RM 1999. Anyway, its speaker is quite poor.

Got the same prob as you.What i did was I bought a headphone to solve the prob, since i don't really want to disturb my roommates with loud noises.

But, i would say the rest of the features are quite commendable.

Is Laptop/desktop a must if i'm doing ADFP in INTEC?

Not really.You can always use the computer labs available (though i would say that you will be subjected to the time limitations there).

Take me for example, i only bought my laptop during my 4th semester as i needed extra practice on my c++ programming.

20-05-2008, 12:08 PM
So, what about DELL XPS M1330? It seems kind of nice.

From what I know, it's an excellent laptop. There's a larger version called XPS 1530 if you prefer a 15.4 inch monitor instead of a 14.0 inch monitor. The 1530 has a better graphics card as well.

stupidboy
21-05-2008, 03:04 AM
From what I know, it's an excellent laptop. There's a larger version called XPS 1530 if you prefer a 15.4 inch monitor instead of a 14.0 inch monitor. The 1530 has a better graphics card as well.

Yeah, the XPS M1530 is better for games. But if you really want one which is even better for games, I suggest to you to go for the 17" XPS M1730. It's made specially for gamers, if I'm not wrong. Anyway, I prefer smaller laptops cause it's lighter and easier to bring anywhere. And I also don't always play games so I don't need the better graphic cards(XPS M1330's graphic card is already quite good).

P/S: XPS M1330's monitor is 13.3":))

21-05-2008, 12:11 PM
Yeah, the XPS M1530 is better for games. But if you really want one which is even better for games, I suggest to you to go for the 17" XPS M1730. It's made specially for gamers, if I'm not wrong. Anyway, I prefer smaller laptops cause it's lighter and easier to bring anywhere. And I also don't always play games so I don't need the better graphic cards(XPS M1330's graphic card is already quite good).

P/S: XPS M1330's monitor is 13.3":))

Yeap, the M1730 has crazy specs.. Really good for games. But then again, I'd rather get a good desktop and a cheap laptop with that money instead. It costs at least rm9000 if i remember correctly. The 1330 is 13.3 inch? My bad :P Smaller laptops fulfill the roles of a student more IMO. If you find the screen too small at home, you could buy a cheap external monitor and do a dual screen.

21-05-2008, 01:35 PM
Yeap, the M1730 has crazy specs.. Really good for games. But then again, I'd rather get a good desktop and a cheap laptop with that money instead. It costs at least rm9000 if i remember correctly. The 1330 is 13.3 inch? My bad :P Smaller laptops fulfill the roles of a student more IMO. If you find the screen too small at home, you could buy a cheap external monitor and do a dual screen.

Get an external mouse, keyboard and an extra hard disk and make your home a workstation :p

03-06-2008, 12:30 AM
I have a question here. For Intel Core 2 Duo processor, comparing T7500 (2.2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800FSB) and T8100 (2.1GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 800FSB), which one is better?

I've heard of T7XXX series processor get heated fast, not quite suitable for long hours use, is it true?

03-06-2008, 02:05 AM
I have a question here. For Intel Core 2 Duo processor, comparing T7500 (2.2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800FSB) and T8100 (2.1GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 800FSB), which one is better?

I've heard of T7XXX series processor get heated fast, not quite suitable for long hours use, is it true?

every processor gets hot under stress. if you want to use it for a long time use the ULV (Ultra Low Voltage) version usually found in the ultraportables.

Iraka
03-06-2008, 10:16 PM
Toshiba speaker rulez.

The speakers on my old Satellite A80 sucks. XP The soundcard's just okay though. At least it supports ASIO.

I'd go with the T7500. Bigger cache. From what I heard the T8xxx was meant to replace the T5xxx, whereas the T9xxx replaces the T7xxx. And from the benchmarks (http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Intel-Core-2-Duo-Penryn-CPUs.7876.0.html) I've seen, the T7800 outperforms the T8xxx except for power consumption. So on the other hand, go with the T8xxx if you're worried about power consumption.

Caprio
04-06-2008, 11:17 PM
I have been using T8100.

I would recommed go for T8 if you are not a hardcore gamers.:P

Iraka
04-06-2008, 11:29 PM
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Processors-Benchmarklist.2436.0.html

A full list of processors and their benchmarks. Yeah, I was right in assuming that T7500 outperforms T8100.

04-06-2008, 11:31 PM
I have been using T8100.

I would recommed go for T8 if you are not a hardcore gamers.:P
I'm not a hardcore gamer but I think I'll be a part-time gamer. By the way, you would recommend which processor for better gaming?

Beatles
04-06-2008, 11:46 PM
Acer, NEC, Hp, Dell, which one is the best in terms of price and quality?

nobody
06-06-2008, 02:27 AM
I've read MANY negative feed backs on Acer...

Actually...how bad is it?

Erm...i know it might be wrong to do the following thing...moderator...just remove this post if you feel it might raise serious issue/problem.

http://www.acer.com.my/product/prod_spec.aspx?model=Aspire+4920G-602G25&category=Mobile+PC&series=Aspire+6920G+Series&diff=

The laptop above...has a VERY good price for the spec. relatively...

But...the only concern...it's Acer...

So...tech whiz...any opinion?

(MY DEEPEST APOPOLOGY IF I OFFENSE ACER)
Macintosh games (http://macgame.org)

whui
06-06-2008, 03:12 AM
Just a question.
Should I use Vista Basic or just roll back to XP SP2?
I heard Vista's a real-time power hunger and unbelievably glitchy.

06-06-2008, 03:09 PM
I've read MANY negative feed backs on Acer...

Actually...how bad is it?

Erm...i know it might be wrong to do the following thing...moderator...just remove this post if you feel it might raise serious issue/problem.

http://www.acer.com.my/product/prod_spec.aspx?model=Aspire+4920G-602G25&category=Mobile+PC&series=Aspire+6920G+Series&diff=

The laptop above...has a VERY good price for the spec. relatively...

But...the only concern...it's Acer...

So...tech whiz...any opinion?

(MY DEEPEST APOPOLOGY IF I OFFENSE ACER)While the prices are usually good, Acer usually produces Laptops of crappy quality. Much of the problems are caused of their lack of a good quality control system so that they can cut back on the costs of production.

Price is not everything in determining the purchase of a laptop. There should be a good balance between price and quality so that we can be assured that the laptop itself can last long in our care...

Just a question.
Should I use Vista Basic or just roll back to XP SP2?
I heard Vista's a real-time power hunger and unbelievably glitchy.get Windows Xp if you can get them legally

Iraka
06-06-2008, 04:13 PM
While the prices are usually good, Acer usually produces Laptops of crappy quality. Much of the problems are caused of their lack of a good quality control system so that they can cut back on the costs of production.

Price is not everything in determining the purchase of a laptop. There should be a good balance between price and quality so that we can be assured that the laptop itself can last long in our care...

Yeah...that's the reason I never recommend Acer if anyone asks me for suggestions lol. They keep looking at the price, but yeah...you get what you pay for. :P

If we're talking about brands, the ones I'd recommend are either Toshiba or the Lenovo Thinkpads if you want something really solid. I've heard good things about Fujitsu as well. Based purely on personal experience though, I can definitely vouch for Toshiba. My dad has a 6-year-old HP Compaq that's still working pretty good these days, so maybe that's another brand worth taking a look at.

nobody
07-06-2008, 02:08 AM
While the prices are usually good, Acer usually produces Laptops of crappy quality.

Crappy quality in the sense of? quality on?

Just wondering...if they're using the same softwares and components...why are they worse compared to others?

I'm REALLY being torn-apart by price and negative feeback. Cuz' i don't think student should spend a lot on lappy(not consider as an investment to me, as a student)...

In addition...i'm not THAT funded to own Toshiba, Lenovo or Sony Vaio...Macbook? Airbook? Dream on...i know...it's my problem then... =.=

Er...anyone has REALLY tried an acer laptop before? Please post some acer laptop review based on your experience.

~TQ~
Health injuries &amp; problems advice (http://www.health-forums.org/health-injuries-problems/)

07-06-2008, 07:12 AM
do u guys recommend buying laptops online?? is the quality guaranteed?? i plan to buy online from DELL..

09-06-2008, 07:21 AM
Crappy quality in the sense of? quality on?

Just wondering...if they're using the same softwares and components...why are they worse compared to others?

I'm REALLY being torn-apart by price and negative feeback. Cuz' i don't think student should spend a lot on lappy(not consider as an investment to me, as a student)...

In addition...i'm not THAT funded to own Toshiba, Lenovo or Sony Vaio...Macbook? Airbook? Dream on...i know...it's my problem then... =.=

Er...anyone has REALLY tried an acer laptop before? Please post some acer laptop review based on your experience.

~TQ~While they are using the same components (i.e. same chipsets, softwares, hardwares), the material that they use for some non-core parts of the laptop are different. The housing, for example might be designed differently from each other. Acer usually takes very little care in this aspect as their laptops tend to overheat over time. The bottom part of my Acer laptop had changed it's shape due to overheating. This design oversight is for me unacceptable even it's lower in price.

I think you are better off saving your money for something can last instead of buying something that is cheap at first but costs even more in repairs later on.

do u guys recommend buying laptops online?? is the quality guaranteed?? i plan to buy online from DELL..I am not sure about the condition in Malaysia, but buying things online is a pretty common phenomenon in germany

andy lee
09-06-2008, 11:15 AM
I would recommend to call them personally as u can know the name of the person u are dealling with and u can call that person again if got any problem or inquiry.

sonatinalai
18-06-2008, 08:31 PM
Hello! I'm a ACER laptop user ,Model ASPIRE 4720G.
Specs: Intel Core 2 Duo T7300(2.0GHz, 800 MHz FSB, 4MB L2 cache--i don't know what is this...)
Windows Vista Home Premium
GeForce NVIDIA 8400M G TurboCache (384MB)
2 GB DDR2 RAM
160 GB HDD
DVD Super Multi-DVD Drive DL
802.11 a/b/g/Draft N WLAN
Bluetooth 2.0 EDR

Cost around RM 3600 (after upgarde to 2GB RAM and Extended Warranty) Bought Dec 2007 PC Fair @<hidden> KLCC Convention Centre

Use Experience: Good Performance. Not much problem. Maybe still new... But I'm comfortable using my laptop. But a bit bulky, so quite heavy (3 kg i think). Nonetheless, it is a good laptop. Anyone to comment?

smile!
18-06-2008, 08:37 PM
do share your reviews on the laptop by DELL Inspiron 1420. Thank you!

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 08:57 AM
do share your reviews on the laptop by DELL Inspiron 1420. Thank you!

I have a Dell Inspiron 1420 laptop n mine is pink colour.

I name my laptop Daisy. haha dun ask me why. nways

Processor: Intel? CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Drive: 160GB
Graphic card: NVIDIA? GeForceTM Go 8400M GS with 128MB DDR3
Full Media Support. DVD, Blu Ray, bluetooth. intergrated webcam (2.0 MP).. yada.. yada..yada

the design is very nice, its cute :) weight 2.5kg

i bought it for rm 2600. I didnt buy it from the net. i bought it from a Dell dealer.

so far so gud, the only downside, isnt the laptop but its the OS, vista is soo freaking annoying and slow. haha

the touch pad is very sensitive, so wen u type, all of the sudden the cursor will hop to sum other place.. wat u type will go haywire

the speaker rox, the screen is very clear .

the best thing bout this laptop is the reasonable price.

overall its ok :D 4 stars

seeweijie
19-06-2008, 11:24 AM
I wish to buy a good laptop cost around RM3500. Any suggestion?

lpsoldier007
19-06-2008, 11:38 AM

Processor: Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
Graphic card: NVIDIA® GeForceTM Go 8400M GS with 128MB DDR3
Full Media Support. DVD, Blu Ray, bluetooth. intergrated webcam (2.0 MP).. yada.. yada..yada

i bought it for rm 2600. I didnt buy it from the net. i bought it from a Dell dealer.

so far so gud, the only downside, isnt the laptop but its the OS, vista is soo freaking annoying and slow. haha

the touch pad is very sensitive, so wen u type, all of the sudden the cursor will hop to sum other place.. wat u type will go haywire

dell has blu ray already?

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 11:49 AM

dah lama dah :P

Caprio
19-06-2008, 12:33 PM
To me, blue ray is useless. Don't talk about a blue ray driver, even a blue ray disc is so expensive. Up to date, I never use any blue ray disc.:)

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 12:39 PM
To me, blue ray is useless. Don't talk about a blue ray driver, even a blue ray disc is so expensive. Up to date, I never use any blue ray disc.:)

nways wats blu ray? i dun even noe. wats gud bout it?

Caprio
19-06-2008, 12:52 PM
nways wats blu ray? i dun even noe. wats gud bout it?

Basically speaking, a blue ray driver enables you to play a blue ray disc.

So what is so speacial with a blue ray disc?
It comes with a larger disk space and with high definition.

For more information, please refer to www.google.com

LOL.:P

cyther90
19-06-2008, 12:52 PM
Blu ray is a new technology (not very new actually) , which have the storage of almost twice of the HD DVD ones...PS3 is an example of game platform which uses blu ray disc...

weiz
19-06-2008, 12:55 PM

wow,it's definitely cheaper than ordering online

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 12:59 PM
wow,it's definitely cheaper than ordering online

yeah much cheaper n the spec is better. n u also get free stuff (bag, mouse)

Vaan
19-06-2008, 01:00 PM

OMG.....same laptop everything same but mine is blue in color and my memory is 220 GB. Mine is fast but I got a mouse. Freaking sick of using the touch pad because it's gila wan.

superdupree
19-06-2008, 01:00 PM
anyone into acer laptops?

cyther90
19-06-2008, 01:01 PM
Oh and speaking about laptop, I've been using Compaq presario v3000 for about 1 and a half year...same goes to my nephew, who bought his lappy the same day as me but at different state. (I bought mine in Pahang while my nephew in Negeri 9)...After using for about 1 year, we have the same problem...Motherboard failure:cry...the technician told me that there have been many cases same like mine, at many state, after 1 year of usage...After I sent my lappy for repair, I continued using my lappy for half-year, and then the motherboard spoiled again:(...Now it took months to repair mine...really hate Compaq after this incident...:mad...Bad aftersale service...Acer won't take too long to repair one...

weiz
19-06-2008, 01:01 PM
Can some enlighten my on Dell's Truelife technology?
Dell claims that it can make your screen brighter and easier to read with,is it comfortable to our eyes?
Should I choose the one with true life,because the price is the same as the one without it.

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 01:07 PM
OMG.....same laptop everything same but mine is blue in color and my memory is 220 GB. Mine is fast but I got a mouse. Freaking sick of using the touch pad because it's gila wan.

how much is ur laptop??

220GB tats a lot. i dunno why mine is slow. why ar??? issit because of vista?? but not tat slow la.. its slightly slower compared to a laptop using XP as OS

im right rite. the touchpad gila?? haha

Can some enlighten my on Dell's Truelife technology?
Dell claims that it can make your screen brighter and easier to read with,is it comfortable to our eyes?
Should I choose the one with true life,because the price is the same as the one without it.

yeah Truelife rox! Seriously!

brighter, easier to read, comfortable, yup yup yup.. even if the brightness is low, with truelife its still bright. Take it!! I love my dell laptop becos of the truelife

weiz
19-06-2008, 01:07 PM
And I want to ask about the laptop carry cases.
What should we emphasize on when choosing laptop carry cases?The lighter the better?
Targus or Dell backpack is better?

Vaan
19-06-2008, 01:38 PM
how much is ur laptop??

220GB tats a lot. i dunno why mine is slow. why ar??? issit because of vista?? but not tat slow la.. its slightly slower compared to a laptop using XP as OS

im right rite. the touchpad gila?? haha

yeah Truelife rox! Seriously!

brighter, easier to read, comfortable, yup yup yup.. even if the brightness is low, with truelife its still bright. Take it!! I love my dell laptop becos of the truelife

Maybe because it's vista but I am not sure. Yaa... the touch pad gila. Fed up of using it.

The brightness with the truelife stuff. I don;t like it just make my eyes hurt after some time. Do you experienced that as well?

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 01:46 PM
Maybe because it's vista but I am not sure. Yaa... the touch pad gila. Fed up of using it.

The brightness with the truelife stuff. I don;t like it just make my eyes hurt after some time. Do you experienced that as well?

i like truelife. its a lil too bright but i always lower the brightness. so its jus nice for the eyes.

u didnt answer, how much did ur laptop cost u?

Vaan
19-06-2008, 01:50 PM
i like truelife. its a lil too bright but i always lower the brightness. so its jus nice for the eyes.

u didnt answer, how much did ur laptop cost u?

Around RM2400 - RM2500. Bought it from the internet. Real cost is around RM2400 but because I want webcam, additional disk space, blah blah blah, so the price increased to around RM2500 but below RM2600.

19-06-2008, 01:55 PM

:) Your Vista is a genuine one or a counterfeit one?

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 01:56 PM
so cheap. for 220 GB.

:) Your Vista is a genuine one or a counterfeit one?

counterfeit duh. the genuine will cost me 300. is it becos its counterfeit its slow?

19-06-2008, 01:59 PM
counterfeit duh. the genuine will cost me 300. is it becos its counterfeit its slow?

No idea but it has been an allegation from Microsoft that a counterfeit operating system typically will work slower than a genuine one. :P Shhh, don't tell others that I'm also a Vista Ultimate user, but a forged one. :nod

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 02:02 PM
No idea but it has been an allegation from Microsoft that a counterfeit operating system typically will work slower than a genuine one. :P Shhh, don't tell others that I'm also a Vista Ultimate user, but a forged one. :nod

hahaha. is yours slow? mine is slow with the taskbar. without it its quite ok. not bad la.. till now im still not familiar with vista

19-06-2008, 02:07 PM
hahaha. is yours slow? mine is slow with the taskbar. without it its quite ok. not bad la.. till now im still not familiar with vista

:P Needless to say, damn slow when coming to 1 GB RAM. Anyway, I love Vista for its superb search function. :)

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 02:09 PM
:P Needless to say, damn slow when coming to 1 GB RAM. Anyway, I love Vista for its superb search function. :)

search function? i never tried to search anything using vista. haha.. told u im still not familiar wit it.

19-06-2008, 02:26 PM
search function? i never tried to search anything using vista. haha.. told u im still not familiar wit it.

:P Well, you can search everything by just typing some related texts in the box provided at the left-bottom of the start menu. Anyway, you need to have Index Searching prior to each search to ensure a faster searching in the future. :) Visit Vista Instant Search Function (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/features/details/instantsearch.mspx) to find out more.

wendy191
19-06-2008, 11:17 PM
I am hunting for a laptop now.Basically its for Uni assignments,no gaming and only a little media files / videos.My budget is around rm2.5k to rm3k.Currently i am looking at Dell Inspiron 1420 and 1525.Can anyone using Dell Inspiron 1525 gives some review on it?What are the differences(pros and cons) between this 2 laptops?Thanks in advance.

Vaan
19-06-2008, 11:27 PM
I am hunting for a laptop now.Basically its for Uni assignments,no gaming and only a little media files / videos.My budget is around rm2.5k to rm3k.Currently i am looking at Dell Inspiron 1420 and 1525.Can anyone using Dell Inspiron 1525 gives some review on it?What are the differences(pros and cons) between this 2 laptops?Thanks in advance.

The screen of Dell Inspiron 1525 is bigger than Dell Inspiron 1420, plus the standard disk space will be bigger. Trust me even if you buy Dell Inspiron 1420, the disk space is so big that you can store DVD games inside too.

nobody
19-06-2008, 11:52 PM

WHHHOOOOOAAAAAATTTT!!!! How did you manage to get such spec. with such price?! RM2,600...sounds ridiculous to me! OMG!!!! Can i have the dealer's contact? I'm needing a laptop as well.

(O.O Still feel shocked O.O)
Anime Tube (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/3/anime/videos/1)

20-06-2008, 02:46 AM

Processor: Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
Graphic card: NVIDIA® GeForceTM Go 8400M GS with 128MB DDR3

overall its ok :D 4 starsHmm... the specs are unbelievable for the price... How about warranty? Is it international warranty? Does it cover on-site service? Or just by the dealer itself?

I doubt whether it's an authorised dealer..

whui
20-06-2008, 03:59 AM
AFAIK a laptop with bluray(which costs an extra 700++), vista ultimate(for dell inspiron 1420 laptops, vista ultimate will slightly decrease its performance because of its high-end requirements), GeForce Graphic Card, TrueLife(TM) display plus the processor T7300 itself shows that u've done quite amount of upgrades. Even if ur OS is a forged one.
Laptops bought from the retailers(I mean Dell's) are relatively cost a bit more compared to when you bought online.
So most probably with limited(or without) warranty with such prices. Mine costs 3000++ with international warranty. Not even with those specs.
My 2 cents.
Do correct me if I'm wrong.
PS: Genuine Vista Ultimate cost about 600++..Microsoft eats people..

If u ask for it. Default package doesn't come with bluray.:)

nadia.g
20-06-2008, 09:36 AM
Hmm... the specs are unbelievable for the price... How about warranty? Is it international warranty? Does it cover on-site service? Or just by the dealer itself?

I doubt whether it's an authorised dealer..

it is an authorised dealer ok. i bought from lowyat.

i do haf the warranty. yes on-site service. Dell's warranty is from dell n not the dealer.

i think my laptop is cheap becos it doesnt come with an OS and the McAfee Security thingy . we haf to install the OS ourselves. Installing a forge OS doesnt cost tat much.

20-06-2008, 10:01 AM
it is an authorised dealer ok. i bought from lowyat.

i do haf the warranty. yes on-site service. Dell's warranty is from dell n not the dealer.

i think my laptop is cheap becos it doesnt come with an OS and the McAfee Security thingy . we haf to install the OS ourselves. Installing a forge OS doesnt cost tat much.

Personally, if you PC or laptop is not for commercial use, counterfeit operating system, office and antivirus software would be enough for use. There are no much significant differences between a forged one and a genuine one in terms of their functions but do have a distinctive difference when dealing with the comparison between their prices. :notrust Using forges, you have to be specially careful when using your PC or laptop - those genuine software stuffs are precious, aren't they? :)

For the above, I don't mean to encourage the use of counterfeit softwares between recommers, just some of my notion. :) A vey cliche question regarding the use of counterfeit softwares: can we use them when going aboard for study, or we need to use genuine one? :)

20-06-2008, 10:19 AM
Personally, if you PC or laptop is not for commercial use, counterfeit operating system, office and antivirus software would be enough for use. There are no much significant differences between a forged one and a genuine one in terms of their functions but do have a distinctive difference when dealing with the comparison between their prices. :notrust Using forges, you have to be specially careful when using your PC or laptop - those genuine software stuffs are precious, aren't they? :)

For the above, I don't mean to encourage the use of counterfeit softwares between recommers, just some of my notion. :) A vey cliche question regarding the use of counterfeit softwares: can we use them when going aboard for study, or we need to use genuine one? :)I was told that if you're going overseas, it's better to install genuine OS, because in some countries you laptop might be checked by immigration officers... I don't know how far is this true though...

nadia.g
20-06-2008, 11:32 AM

For the above, I don't mean to encourage the use of counterfeit softwares between recommers, just some of my notion. :) A vey cliche question regarding the use of counterfeit softwares: can we use them when going aboard for study, or we need to use genuine one? :)

i dunno. no idea..

but since im still staying in msia i wud prefer the counterfeit due to its price. hehe