View Full Version : No more British English or US English..but Elvish???
07-03-2004, 10:11 AM
Hey, check out on this article...
Tolkien language taught in school
LONDON
A SCHOOL here is offering classes in Elvish - a language invented by JRR Tolkien, who wrote The Lord Of The Rings, now made into movies.
'The recent success of the films has increased the interest in learning Elvish,' said teacher Zainab Thorp at Turves Green Boys' Technology College.
'The reason I'm offering the lessons is to give the boys, some of whom have special educational needs, something to boost their self-esteem.'
She added that 'it involves looking at some of Tolkien's old manuscripts. This develops some very complex skills'. -- AFP, AP
Sounds interesting isn't it? Wonder if Malaysia will offer this....? :?:
07-03-2004, 10:11 AM
Hey, check out on this article...
Tolkien language taught in school
LONDON
A SCHOOL here is offering classes in Elvish - a language invented by JRR Tolkien, who wrote The Lord Of The Rings, now made into movies.
'The recent success of the films has increased the interest in learning Elvish,' said teacher Zainab Thorp at Turves Green Boys' Technology College.
'The reason I'm offering the lessons is to give the boys, some of whom have special educational needs, something to boost their self-esteem.'
She added that 'it involves looking at some of Tolkien's old manuscripts. This develops some very complex skills'. -- AFP, AP
Sounds interesting isn't it? Wonder if Malaysia will offer this....? :?:
08-03-2004, 02:04 AM
Tolken language? aargh, that's so lame. :P
08-03-2004, 02:04 AM
Tolken language? aargh, that's so lame. :P
08-03-2004, 03:46 AM
here's a little more for you Lord of the rings Fan. Peter jackson is going to make a Prequel of the LOTR trilogy.
Read more here http://apnews.myway.com//article/20040306/D814VP480.html
08-03-2004, 03:46 AM
here's a little more for you Lord of the rings Fan. Peter jackson is going to make a Prequel of the LOTR trilogy.
Read more here http://apnews.myway.com//article/20040306/D814VP480.html
hmm is the language Quenya or Sindarin?
miraclesnfantasy
08-03-2004, 10:48 AM
hmm...Elvish as in LOTR...at first I thought it was Elvish as in Elvis Presly...guess i thought wrong...hhehe :oops:
miraclesnfantasy
08-03-2004, 10:48 AM
hmm...Elvish as in LOTR...at first I thought it was Elvish as in Elvis Presly...guess i thought wrong...hhehe :oops:
08-03-2004, 11:58 AM
i'm not a tolkien geek but i read somewhere that tolkien actually named his invented language "Elfish", not "Elvish". but publishers kept spelling the word in its standard form (with a 'v'). any truth in this, tolkien fans?
08-03-2004, 11:58 AM
i'm not a tolkien geek but i read somewhere that tolkien actually named his invented language "Elfish", not "Elvish". but publishers kept spelling the word in its standard form (with a 'v'). any truth in this, tolkien fans?
other way around. tolkien spelled it Elves and Elven, Dwarves and Dwarven, but his editors kept changing it to elfs and elfin, and dwarfs (because that was the correct spelling for those words at the time).
and tolkien did not create any language named Elvish. he created 2 languages for the Eldar, one is Quenya, which is the language of the Elves at the beginning of time and it is the language spoken in Valinor. The other is Sindarin, which is the language of the Elves of Middle Earth. It is derived from Quenya and so there are some words that are similiar but it is a totally different language.
And he probably invented some language for the Dwarves for his personal reference but did not publish them because the Dwarven language is secret and only Dwarves know them.
And for those of you that are wondering the language of the Knights of the Riddermark is actually old English, not an invented language.
other way around. tolkien spelled it Elves and Elven, Dwarves and Dwarven, but his editors kept changing it to elfs and elfin, and dwarfs (because that was the correct spelling for those words at the time).
and tolkien did not create any language named Elvish. he created 2 languages for the Eldar, one is Quenya, which is the language of the Elves at the beginning of time and it is the language spoken in Valinor. The other is Sindarin, which is the language of the Elves of Middle Earth. It is derived from Quenya and so there are some words that are similiar but it is a totally different language.
And he probably invented some language for the Dwarves for his personal reference but did not publish them because the Dwarven language is secret and only Dwarves know them.
And for those of you that are wondering the language of the Knights of the Riddermark is actually old English, not an invented language.
08-03-2004, 12:35 PM
meh i must have read something blasphemous then.
another thing, i think i read somewhere that tolkien was a proponent of esperanto. fact or fiction?
just felt like brushing up on tolkien trivia.:D
08-03-2004, 12:35 PM
meh i must have read something blasphemous then.
another thing, i think i read somewhere that tolkien was a proponent of esperanto. fact or fiction?
just felt like brushing up on tolkien trivia.:D
esperanto? i dont know. tolkien was really fond of languages so probably yes