View Full Version : Electrolysis Help !! For Chemistry~
k3nth
25-02-2007, 10:29 AM
I have a question for Chemistry
the part for electrolysis
I dont really get the part of which ions to choose to discharge at each rods ?
i know cations go to the positive end and cations go to the positive end
and thats all i'm clear with, can anyone enlighten me ? :cry:
i know cations go to the positive end and cations go to the positive end
cations(positive charges) go to negative terminal(cathode we called in electrolysis).
anions(negative charges) go to positive terminal(anode we called in electrolysis).
but in cells, normally we just write positive or negative terminal, we don't write anode/cathode.
hhhcce
25-02-2007, 02:46 PM
Sorry, I don't understand your questions, but I will try my best to explain to you though. The factors that affect which ions to be discharged at respective electrodes are the concentration of the ions, the type of electrode and the relative position of the ions in the electrochemical series.
The common problem would be the comparison between OH- and Cl-.
OH- would be discharged at the anode because the OH- is far below the electrochemical series(provided the concentration of both ions are the same). The situation is reversed if the concentration of Cl- is higher. But, I really wanted to know which level are you in. Advanced treatment of this problem may need knowledge beyond SPM.
LeongnLye
25-02-2007, 05:42 PM
at first i think u r nt clear with ur concept
pls take note that cathode attract cation n anode attract anion...
what u nid to do is to determine which one is cathode n which one is anode ...thats all
it is a simple thing...dun make it so complicated
n at cathode, reduction take place , anode--oxidation...
hope it helps u...
sunshine88
25-02-2007, 05:46 PM
it clearly shows that the threadstarter havent made any browsing through first before starting a thread.If u have a new question base on another topic,don't rush to start another thread.
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG&id=SPM
Continue posting in the relevant thread.~