View Full Version : Photoshop 101
22-09-2003, 02:21 PM
I want to learn photoshop. Does anybody willing to share their expertise/ provide tutorial for reCom?
Or , could you give me the links ?
thank you.
bachok83
22-09-2003, 11:43 PM
i'm not that good in photoshop, but i can provide some tips to start..
hehe.. we will begin our lesson shortly...
anybody else wanna join ?
c'mon and join us.. it's goin' to be "really" fun...
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
count me in .. i'm quite comfortable working with photoshop .. have been using photoshop for quite some time ... i know some skills of using photoshop's tools and filters ... don't expect much though; I'm still learning ...
08-11-2003, 09:24 PM
count me in bachok!
ok let me start. My tutorial today is "Using Clone Stamp Tool to cleanup an image". Most of us download wallpaper from the internet right? Some of the wallpapers are so nice that we use it to make graphics for websites or to create our own composite wallpapers. However many a time the part of the wallpapers we like are 'stained' by texts, copyright statements etc etc. Today I'll show you (muahahahaha) how to clean them up. The principle (fuiyoo even this has principle huh?) behind this is to use clean portions of the the image to cover the stains. This is where Clone Stamp Tool (see below) is very very useful.
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/pshop_clone_01.gif
OK let's begin!!
First step: Open the image file, of course. Identify which spots you want to clean up.
Second step: Select Clone Stamp Tool. Choose a reasonable brush size.
Third step: Find a spot the has similar color/pattern to the each spot you want to clean up. While holding down Alt button, click on that spot (This is called Clone). The cursor will change to something that looks like below.
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/pshop_clone_02.jpg
Fourth step: Release the Alt key. Now try painting on the "stained" spots (This is called Stamp). See below. Notice that the cloned spot is marked with a cross and moves as you stamp.
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/pshop_clone_03.jpg
Cool isn't it? Repeat these steps until all stains are gone. You may have to repeatedly clone and stamp. It's tiresome but hey this is art. Patience is virtue.
Good luck.
~ luke ~
10-11-2003, 02:23 PM
just a small tip that i learnt...while first starting to use photoshop, you'll make lots of errors and mistakes. Become good friends with the "undo" shortcut key. Not sure what it is in photoshop, is it ctrl-z luke?
Yes it's Ctrl Z ... also, Photoshop is equipped with a feature called History .. it's so damn (sorry but I have to use this word :P) important you know this function if you really want to 'excel' in 'photoshopping' ... this is what it looks like:
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/pshop_history_01.gif
~luke~
10-11-2003, 03:12 PM
for the clone stamp, you can also use patch or healing brush
can also be one of the method
but i like clone stamp because i can choose which color
we like most
kijal4
11-11-2003, 02:31 PM
That was a cool tip. And the discussion board is neat when you can include snapshots like that!
kijal4 the pics are directlinked from my http server since this forum doesn't support file upload ... mm it would be nice though if such a feature is added in ... what do u think masterof_none? is it possible to allow ppl to upload/attach pics to a post? I've been in a forum that allows this and there's no problem at all ... the way it works: attachments are left as links ... ppl have to click on the links to see the pics ... that way ppl won't be annoyed by large pics that take up space and consume lots of loading time ..
p/s: sorry if my snapshots cost you your loading time ... I've tried my best to make the size of the files as small as possible ... maybe I should leave them as links in my future posts :)
bachok83
11-11-2003, 03:04 PM
guys.. i heard that photoshop is now available for linux... and dreamweaver too.... aarghhh i just wish i'm in malaysia now.. so that i can buy the software from low yat.. gegege
11-11-2003, 03:14 PM
Thanks guys for your response. I hope I can document this tutorial, and update it from time to time.
Cool Tips!
11-11-2003, 04:34 PM
why use photoshop with linux? gimp is at least as good
polarized
16-12-2003, 03:22 PM
ne1 near me with good photoshop book?
loc: michigan
Ishveir
17-12-2003, 03:08 AM
the posts are very informative.
good job!
i tried following the steps, and i learned it well
start lesson 2 soon ;)
04-05-2005, 07:33 AM
hello, read the tutorial above, its very useful and effective! hehe! Mind starting the next one?
Maximus05
03-02-2006, 02:27 AM
BLENDING OPTION in short BO
BO is use to make special effect like embose, glow in and out, shadow in and out, etc.
NOTE1: You have to learn about layers first before you could understand about BO though.. Layer is the second important thing you have to learn after history..
NOTE2: I can't provide pictures though...
1. Drawing an image
Have any image on a layer (i am not saying a square picture that covers the whole canvas). For this tutorial lets try on a square vector drawing buttons.
a. Click on an icon showing a square buttons the toolbar (usually it is a square buttons)
b. Just click and drag the desired size on the canvas. Best if the square is not to big and not too large.. so that you could see the effect of the BO.
c. there you have your own square on a single layer.
2.Selecting a layer
a. Right click on the layer which you have drawn the square.
b. There should be an option says.."Blending option.."
c. Click on to it..
3. Selecting/Using Blending Option
a. Click the check box of any special effect on the left bar.. (for now lets try "glow").
b. If you want to chage the setting click on the name of the panel (Glow).
c. you will see various option to "alter"
d. if you click on the yellow box you can chage the glow colour..
If you ant to see the examples of what should happen after the effect of glow click on my website.. (the heavens crew..)
both wings are "glowed" in red and blue respectively..
Note3: Sorry for my bad English... if you still dont understand please continue to ask..
Note4: Everything was type spontanously using my memories.. Now I online was using my friend's PC that does not have any Photoshop..
Maximus05
03-02-2006, 02:36 AM
Oh, i for got too mention..
the ... round yellow thingy.. (even i don't have the name for it myself) is also made using glow. I made the square REALLY SMALL and with settings of:
Glow Colour= Yellow
Glow type= The other one besides "Precise"
Density= 2%
Spread*=55 pixel
The Wings with the settings of:
Glow Colour = Red n Blue respectively
Glow type* = Precise
Density = 1%
Spread = 15%
*I am not sure if i go the name right..
*confused check my website..
03-02-2006, 08:24 PM
This is one of the best threads on ReCom! Huge props to thread starter!
I will post my PSD's whenever I have something worth showing.
I think I want to start a digital photography/SLR thread.
03-02-2006, 08:38 PM
Cool. I sign..
03-02-2006, 08:50 PM
Cool. I sign..
The photography SIG (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=50) is already in place for a long time. But it's been rather dormant for some time.
Anyone knows why it is not displayed under the SIG section in the main page?
03-02-2006, 08:54 PM
I have for a long time opposed the creation of SIG in recom. Most of them end up not being used. However creating a thread here and there might seem to be more justified then creating a whole board. Thats just me though.
04-02-2006, 02:08 AM
Cool. I sign..
The photography SIG (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=50) is already in place for a long time. But it's been rather dormant for some time.
Anyone knows why it is not displayed under the SIG section in the main page?
AIYAK! aku tak tau. I post pics there now.