View Full Version : Nihongo anyone? part 2
Since the original thread has become too long, let's continue our benkyou in this thread. shimayou!
08-03-2004, 10:28 AM
tanak! :P
08-03-2004, 10:28 AM
tanak! :P
tanak sudah! main jauh-jauh :P
anyway, senseitachi, kikitai koto ga aru kedo ..
1) I just learned in class about "to omou/omoimasu" and "to iu/iimasu" ... in both cases, the "to" there act like quotation marks, right? would you tell us more similar "to X" combinations? .. also, sometimes I notice when people are wondering about choices, they say something like "X to ka Y to ka dochira no hou ga ii ka na" .. are the "to" there similar to the one in "to omoimasu" ?
2) I noticed in animes, when people are quoting other people's words they use "-tte" in the place of "to" ... sometimes it's used to begin the sentence as in: te koto wa .. eto .. nan to iu ka ..
... is it grammatically correct?
3) How do you say "I cannot X" where X is a verbal? example: I cannot sleep. Is it like "nete dekinai"?
thanks in advance :)
tanak sudah! main jauh-jauh :P
anyway, senseitachi, kikitai koto ga aru kedo ..
1) I just learned in class about "to omou/omoimasu" and "to iu/iimasu" ... in both cases, the "to" there act like quotation marks, right? would you tell us more similar "to X" combinations? .. also, sometimes I notice when people are wondering about choices, they say something like "X to ka Y to ka dochira no hou ga ii ka na" .. are the "to" there similar to the one in "to omoimasu" ?
2) I noticed in animes, when people are quoting other people's words they use "-tte" in the place of "to" ... sometimes it's used to begin the sentence as in: te koto wa .. eto .. nan to iu ka ..
... is it grammatically correct?
3) How do you say "I cannot X" where X is a verbal? example: I cannot sleep. Is it like "nete dekinai"?
thanks in advance :)
08-03-2004, 01:51 PM
aku ckp mak ko, Luke ske buli aku! :(
08-03-2004, 01:51 PM
aku ckp mak ko, Luke ske buli aku! :(
Will you guys stop flirting??? :lol:
1) You got it right Luke, -tte is the informal form of to
-to can act as a particle and quotation,
ex
1) dorobo ga doa wo kowasu to ie no naka in hatta.
泥棒がドアを壊すと家の中に入った。
2)watashi to budakkerek no kankei wa yuujin desu.
私とBUDAKKEREKの関係は友人です
budakkerek to no kankei wa yuujin desu
BUDAKKEREKとの関係は友人です
3)moshi takakereba, kawanai to omoimasu もし高ければ、買わないと思います。
4)to ka carries the meaning close to others or nado等
5)Just take 'nan to iu ka' as a phrase meaning 'how do I say that?' Some people may think that it is impolite to say this phrase, especially in front of elders. It is like saying 'apa nama itu...' in BM
6)Have you learnt potential forms yet?
neru---> nerareru (+)---->nerarenai (-)
You can use
寝られないor
neru koto ha dekinai,
寝ることはできない
but it is so long...
Therefore just say, nerarenai.
PS, 1) to acts to show the happenings according to time or sequence act 時間的の順序- the thief must break the door first before he can enter the house.
Compare with, natsu ga kuru to atsuku naru.
夏が来ると暑くなる。
This form of to carries the meaning of something which happens naturally (自然、当然を表す場合).
2)watashi to budakkerek, this to carries the meaning and
3)-to omoimasu is a set phrase to show what you are thinking about and it is a polite form to express your wishes。
Will you guys stop flirting??? :lol:
1) You got it right Luke, -tte is the informal form of to
-to can act as a particle and quotation,
ex
1) dorobo ga doa wo kowasu to ie no naka in hatta.
泥棒がドアを壊すと家の中に入った。
2)watashi to budakkerek no kankei wa yuujin desu.
私とBUDAKKEREKの関係は友人です
budakkerek to no kankei wa yuujin desu
BUDAKKEREKとの関係は友人です
3)moshi takakereba, kawanai to omoimasu もし高ければ、買わないと思います。
4)to ka carries the meaning close to others or nado等
5)Just take 'nan to iu ka' as a phrase meaning 'how do I say that?' Some people may think that it is impolite to say this phrase, especially in front of elders. It is like saying 'apa nama itu...' in BM
6)Have you learnt potential forms yet?
neru---> nerareru (+)---->nerarenai (-)
You can use
寝られないor
neru koto ha dekinai,
寝ることはできない
but it is so long...
Therefore just say, nerarenai.
PS, 1) to acts to show the happenings according to time or sequence act 時間的の順序- the thief must break the door first before he can enter the house.
Compare with, natsu ga kuru to atsuku naru.
夏が来ると暑くなる。
This form of to carries the meaning of something which happens naturally (自然、当然を表す場合).
2)watashi to budakkerek, this to carries the meaning and
3)-to omoimasu is a set phrase to show what you are thinking about and it is a polite form to express your wishes。
doumo arigatou fish-san ..
but, can you plz explain no 6 (potential form) ? :) ... I know about consonant (-u +imasu) and vowel (-ru +masu) verbals ... now, how do I make potential forms of both consonant and vowel verbals?
mmm let me guess:
consonant - replace final 'u' with 'eru'
vowel - replace final 'ru' with 'rareru'
am I correct? :)
doumo arigatou fish-san ..
but, can you plz explain no 6 (potential form) ? :) ... I know about consonant (-u +imasu) and vowel (-ru +masu) verbals ... now, how do I make potential forms of both consonant and vowel verbals?
mmm let me guess:
consonant - replace final 'u' with 'eru'
vowel - replace final 'ru' with 'rareru'
am I correct? :)
10-03-2004, 12:45 PM
hey hey..
sakana, not nice, using me as an example..ape nih? dh le me no understand!!! Arghh!!! ko balik ni..i'll fry you, fish!
10-03-2004, 12:45 PM
hey hey..
sakana, not nice, using me as an example..ape nih? dh le me no understand!!! Arghh!!! ko balik ni..i'll fry you, fish!
Righto! Potential forms are like -te form. In order for you to add potential forms, you will have to divide it into 3 groups again.
Group I
1. Hashiru===>hashireru====>hashirenai
2. Yomu===>yomeru====>yomenai
add -eru
Group II
1. Taberu--->taberareru---->taberarenai
2. Kiru---->kirareru------>kirarenai
add -rareru
Group III
1. Kuru---->korareru---->korarenai
2. suru--->dekiru---->dekinai
Special group
All verbs transformed to potential forms are automatically classified into Group II. That means if you want to change a basic nomu into potential passive form, it will become nomerareru.
Hope this helps.
By the way, budakkerek, I was saying that you are my friend. That s all. Dun have to fry me.... :( Oh, I prefer kari kepala ikan actually :twisted:
Righto! Potential forms are like -te form. In order for you to add potential forms, you will have to divide it into 3 groups again.
Group I
1. Hashiru===>hashireru====>hashirenai
2. Yomu===>yomeru====>yomenai
add -eru
Group II
1. Taberu--->taberareru---->taberarenai
2. Kiru---->kirareru------>kirarenai
add -rareru
Group III
1. Kuru---->korareru---->korarenai
2. suru--->dekiru---->dekinai
Special group
All verbs transformed to potential forms are automatically classified into Group II. That means if you want to change a basic nomu into potential passive form, it will become nomerareru.
Hope this helps.
By the way, budakkerek, I was saying that you are my friend. That s all. Dun have to fry me.... :( Oh, I prefer kari kepala ikan actually :twisted:
10-03-2004, 04:49 PM
okie! i'll bring a kari kepala ikan instead LOL :wink:
i thought tomodachi is friend?
10-03-2004, 04:49 PM
okie! i'll bring a kari kepala ikan instead LOL :wink:
i thought tomodachi is friend?
tomodachi tu kawan la ... or kalo nak lagi best bleh gune "koibito" :wink: heh heh heh ....
11-03-2004, 01:13 PM
koibito tu kwn ke...ape? hmm..luke nih bkn leh caya eh...
11-03-2004, 01:13 PM
koibito tu kwn ke...ape? hmm..luke nih bkn leh caya eh...
koi = love
bito = person (from "hito")
koibito = kekasih :)
koi = love
bito = person (from "hito")
koibito = kekasih :)
11-03-2004, 01:54 PM
oho... :wink:
So it's like watashi wa anata no koibito?
betul kaa?
hahaha :D jwb luke, jgn xjwb lalala :lol: :lol:
11-03-2004, 01:54 PM
oho... :wink:
So it's like watashi wa anata no koibito?
betul kaa?
hahaha :D jwb luke, jgn xjwb lalala :lol: :lol:
grammar dah betul tp tak sure le kalo dr segi sociolinguistic betul ke tak ... ppl tak declare "I'm your lover" terang2 .. instead they say "I love you", "you are the light of my life", "my heart is just for you" (eww ...) etc.
tp kalo nak bgtau "we are lovers" kat other ppl then baru bleh gune: "watashitachi (wa) koibito desu" ...
grammar dah betul tp tak sure le kalo dr segi sociolinguistic betul ke tak ... ppl tak declare "I'm your lover" terang2 .. instead they say "I love you", "you are the light of my life", "my heart is just for you" (eww ...) etc.
tp kalo nak bgtau "we are lovers" kat other ppl then baru bleh gune: "watashitachi (wa) koibito desu" ...
11-03-2004, 02:06 PM
what does tachi means? in the watashitachi
hehehe :wink: :wink:
11-03-2004, 02:06 PM
what does tachi means? in the watashitachi
hehehe :wink: :wink:
many noun words in nihongo esp if they refer to ppl bleh jadik plural just by adding 'tachi' kat belakang.
watashi (I) -> watashitachi (we)
boku (I (male)) -> bokutachi (we)
ore (I (male)) -> oretachi (we)
anata (you) -> anatatachi (you guys)
kimi (you) -> kimitachi (you guys)
kare (he) -> karetachi (they (male))
kanojo (she) -> kanojotachi (they (female))
hito (person) -> hitotachi (people)
kodomo (child) -> kodomotachi (children)
some male nouns can take -ra instead of -tachi to form plurals
e.g: bokura, karera
p/s: notice I use 'senseitachi' in some of my posts here .. that's because I'm refering to our sensei's (schye, fish et al) ...
many noun words in nihongo esp if they refer to ppl bleh jadik plural just by adding 'tachi' kat belakang.
watashi (I) -> watashitachi (we)
boku (I (male)) -> bokutachi (we)
ore (I (male)) -> oretachi (we)
anata (you) -> anatatachi (you guys)
kimi (you) -> kimitachi (you guys)
kare (he) -> karetachi (they (male))
kanojo (she) -> kanojotachi (they (female))
hito (person) -> hitotachi (people)
kodomo (child) -> kodomotachi (children)
some male nouns can take -ra instead of -tachi to form plurals
e.g: bokura, karera
p/s: notice I use 'senseitachi' in some of my posts here .. that's because I'm refering to our sensei's (schye, fish et al) ...
12-03-2004, 11:31 AM
koibitachi? heheh...ade ke mcm tu? :lol: :lol:
12-03-2004, 11:31 AM
I think I am going to faint from all the flirting around.........
12-03-2004, 11:56 AM
this is NOT flirting, this is learning japanese hehehe :twisted: :twisted:
12-03-2004, 11:56 AM
this is NOT flirting, this is learning japanese hehehe :twisted: :twisted:
yup yup .. ape la fish ... dirty-minded la ... think "cleanly" skit bleh tak?
13-03-2004, 04:26 PM
or..you want us to clean your mind for you :wink: :twisted: :twisted:
13-03-2004, 04:26 PM
or..you want us to clean your mind for you :wink: :twisted: :twisted:
16-03-2004, 01:45 PM
こにちわ、 わたしわLiewです。
I am using NJStar Comunicator to key in Japanese input. Can anyone tell me what do Romaji and Kuten mean?
btw, you guys are really advanced learners of JL. I find hard to understand and remember the grammatical rules of Japanese language, even that they are quite identical to english grammar. I prefer to learn word by word
p/s: I like the way u guys learn japanese language :wink:
16-03-2004, 01:45 PM
こにちわ、 わたしわLiewです。
I am using NJStar Comunicator to key in Japanese input. Can anyone tell me what do Romaji and Kuten mean?
btw, you guys are really advanced learners of JL. I find hard to understand and remember the grammatical rules of Japanese language, even that they are quite identical to english grammar. I prefer to learn word by word
p/s: I like the way u guys learn japanese language :wink:
アニメと日本語のSIGにようこそ, Liew-さん。
romaji is romanized Japanese i.e Japanese language written using Roman alphabet. Example: kore wa romaji de kaita yo.
mmm I've never heard of 'kuten' ..
anyway, hope you enjoy your stay here :)
アニメと日本語のSIGにようこそ, Liew-さん。
romaji is romanized Japanese i.e Japanese language written using Roman alphabet. Example: kore wa romaji de kaita yo.
mmm I've never heard of 'kuten' ..
anyway, hope you enjoy your stay here :)
16-03-2004, 06:03 PM
I think it should be koibito tachi ;)
and sorry Luke ...
Tazzy is mine...going to meet her tomorrow :P
16-03-2004, 06:03 PM
I think it should be koibito tachi ;)
and sorry Luke ...
Tazzy is mine...going to meet her tomorrow :P
17-03-2004, 06:58 PM
hey, hey! :evil:
sape milik sape nih?
*dush* *dush*
i should have strangled you when i met you this afternoon, schye hahahah :lol:
Luke, jgn caya..dia tipu jer tu..hahahaha :lol: :lol: :lol:
17-03-2004, 06:58 PM
hey, hey! :evil:
sape milik sape nih?
*dush* *dush*
i should have strangled you when i met you this afternoon, schye hahahah :lol:
Luke, jgn caya..dia tipu jer tu..hahahaha :lol: :lol: :lol:
17-03-2004, 11:49 PM
I thought that Japanese writing has two types; Katakana(to describe foreign terms) and Hiragana(the original). And suddenly I come across with Kanji. What is Kanji? Is it traditional form of JL?
17-03-2004, 11:49 PM
I thought that Japanese writing has two types; Katakana(to describe foreign terms) and Hiragana(the original). And suddenly I come across with Kanji. What is Kanji? Is it traditional form of JL?
here I repost my post on katakana, hiragana, kanji and romaji:
hiragana & katakana (these 2 are called kana) are syllabulary japanese character sets while kanji is ideographic japanese characters, sometimes called chinese characters ... romaji is simply the romanized japanese - japanese words written in Roman alphabet - eg: omae wa nani suru n da yo?
each character in kana charts represent an utterance (syllable) like 'ba', 'ka', 'ya', 'ro' and 'u' ... with kanji, you have to determine the meaning/idea each character represents and then choose the utterance accordingly ... each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...
here I repost my post on katakana, hiragana, kanji and romaji:
hiragana & katakana (these 2 are called kana) are syllabulary japanese character sets while kanji is ideographic japanese characters, sometimes called chinese characters ... romaji is simply the romanized japanese - japanese words written in Roman alphabet - eg: omae wa nani suru n da yo?
each character in kana charts represent an utterance (syllable) like 'ba', 'ka', 'ya', 'ro' and 'u' ... with kanji, you have to determine the meaning/idea each character represents and then choose the utterance accordingly ... each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...
19-03-2004, 01:39 AM
Hola ppl...senseitachi, pls help me out here. need the meanings to these words. Thanks! :)
1. aoi
2. aki
3. shikaku
4. sake
5. uso
6. sekai
7. natsu
8. kuchi
9. koko
10.okane
11.kuni
12.kani
13.atama
14.ame
15.kokoro
16.rainen
17.honya
18.shio
19.senpai
20.hitoshi
19-03-2004, 01:39 AM
Hola ppl...senseitachi, pls help me out here. need the meanings to these words. Thanks! :)
1. aoi
2. aki
3. shikaku
4. sake
5. uso
6. sekai
7. natsu
8. kuchi
9. koko
10.okane
11.kuni
12.kani
13.atama
14.ame
15.kokoro
16.rainen
17.honya
18.shio
19.senpai
20.hitoshi
1. aoi = biru
2. aki = musim luruh
3. shikaku = segi empat sama
4. sake = arak jepun
5. uso = bohong
6. sekai = dunia
7. natsu = musim panas
8. kuchi = mulut
9. koko = di sini
10.okane = duit
11.kuni = negara
12.kani = ketam
13.atama = kepala
14.ame = hujan
15.kokoro = hati
16.rainen = tahun depan
17.honya = kedai buku
18.shio = garam
19.senpai = senior
20.hitoshi = sama
1. aoi = biru
2. aki = musim luruh
3. shikaku = segi empat sama
4. sake = arak jepun
5. uso = bohong
6. sekai = dunia
7. natsu = musim panas
8. kuchi = mulut
9. koko = di sini
10.okane = duit
11.kuni = negara
12.kani = ketam
13.atama = kepala
14.ame = hujan
15.kokoro = hati
16.rainen = tahun depan
17.honya = kedai buku
18.shio = garam
19.senpai = senior
20.hitoshi = sama
19-03-2004, 02:02 AM
yay!!! Thanks Luke! you're the best!! :D :D :P
19-03-2004, 02:02 AM
yay!!! Thanks Luke! you're the best!! :D :D :P
19-03-2004, 11:48 PM
I hope that was not your homework lol
19-03-2004, 11:48 PM
I hope that was not your homework lol
20-03-2004, 02:17 AM
yes, it was!! hehe...*ni yg besh nih, ReCom membantu me buat my hwork heheh* LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:
Pesanan penaja utk Schye:
don't sell my pictures tahu? :D
20-03-2004, 02:17 AM
yes, it was!! hehe...*ni yg besh nih, ReCom membantu me buat my hwork heheh* LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:
Pesanan penaja utk Schye:
don't sell my pictures tahu? :D
ces tipu homework! selambe misuse kitorang .. as a punishment, schye, post gambo cik tazzy kite ni kat sini ... muahahaha ...
sore yori, kochira haruyasumi hajimatte, hima ga atte, motto recom ni iru kara ... yoroshiku :)
ces tipu homework! selambe misuse kitorang .. as a punishment, schye, post gambo cik tazzy kite ni kat sini ... muahahaha ...
sore yori, kochira haruyasumi hajimatte, hima ga atte, motto recom ni iru kara ... yoroshiku :)
22-03-2004, 12:18 PM
ape nih? tak phm..translate senseitachi! heheh...
Schye, jgn terpengaruh dgn Luke..hehe...Schye kan budak baik..hehehe...:D (nanti aku blanje ko mkn nak heheh) :wink: :wink:
22-03-2004, 12:18 PM
ape nih? tak phm..translate senseitachi! heheh...
Schye, jgn terpengaruh dgn Luke..hehe...Schye kan budak baik..hehehe...:D (nanti aku blanje ko mkn nak heheh) :wink: :wink:
eleh macam mahal sgt gambo die ... jual ebay pon tak laku :P ... takpe schye, post je ... kite geng kan? kan?
p/s: sore yori, kochira haruyasumi hajimatte, hima ga atte, motto recom ni iru kara ... yoroshiku = anyway, spring break has started here, and I'll have free time, so I'll be at ReCom more ... yoroshiku [explain:9950f8973a]cannot translate that[/explain:9950f8973a]
eleh macam mahal sgt gambo die ... jual ebay pon tak laku :P ... takpe schye, post je ... kite geng kan? kan?
p/s: sore yori, kochira haruyasumi hajimatte, hima ga atte, motto recom ni iru kara ... yoroshiku = anyway, spring break has started here, and I'll have free time, so I'll be at ReCom more ... yoroshiku [explain:9950f8973a]cannot translate that[/explain:9950f8973a]
22-03-2004, 12:27 PM
elleh..mn tau? blm jual lg... :P
22-03-2004, 12:27 PM
elleh..mn tau? blm jual lg... :P
24-03-2004, 01:21 PM
Tazzy ... i hope there will be no more homework here :x as i think you will learn more if you try it yourself.
By the way, how could i post a photo here without posting it in Gallery too as i dont know any place to upload the photo...
miraclesnfantasy
24-03-2004, 01:25 PM
was just wondering...we're (me & tazzy) were just from jap class and our sensei wrote a hiragana 'ha' instead of 'wa' (ie for konbanwa). why? :?
ps: you guys should definately post up her picture..nak gelak jugak.. :twisted:
24-03-2004, 01:40 PM
was just wondering...we're (me & tazzy) were just from jap class and our sensei wrote a hiragana 'ha' instead of 'wa' (ie for konbanwa). why? :?
konbanwa is actually こんばんは(今晩は) which means
tonite is ...
Japanese like to "speak half-way" :?: / use "ayat tergantung"
and for the greetings above, it should be something like tonite is good etc.
It is just like Selamat petang ...
other examples:
cyotto ...
_____ desuga...
However sometimes the usage of the ayat tergantung in Japs brings a lot of misunderstanding....
24-03-2004, 01:49 PM
*sob..sob* :cry:
oke laa..not lei..ms tu, i was very very the lazy bum, malas..xnk cari seniri...hehe..oke..won't tanya unless betul betul sthing that i don't know k..mcm stuff psl grammr ke..
I pledge allegiance, to the code of ethics of Anime+Nihongo SIG...hehehe :wink:
Arigato, senseitachi! :D
miraclesnfantasy
24-03-2004, 02:13 PM
like yours tak panjang jer(budakkerek) :roll: ..just write 'mnf' lor.neway another q...since konbanwa means 'tonite is...'. does that mean tonite is 'konban'?
yes .. konban means tonight .. likewise:
konsyuu = this week
kon'getsu = this month
konnichi = today (but "kyou" is more oftenly used)
25-03-2004, 12:06 PM
so it's like they're stating that "it is night now", is it? i thought konbanwa is to say good evening...how n when do u use konbanwa n when do u use oyasuminasai? oyasuminasai is for parting at night, or to greet someone bl jupe di mlm hr? :?
hmmm...peningnye!
Apepun, senseitachi, pls explain :D
:arrow: miraclesnfantasy, konye nick lg panjang berjela dr aku. Lebih 5 huruf from mine hehehe...sudah laa..aku panggey ko makmal je... :twisted: dh jimat 9 huruf :lol: :lol: :lol:
it's very simple .. because we do the same thing in BM and in English .. like this:
when you meet someone at 9:00pm, what would you say? "selamat sejahtera" or "selamat malam"? "good evening" or "good night"?
then when you are parting, what would you say? "selamat sejahtera" or "selamat malam"? "good evening" or "good night"?
the same system is used in Japanese ... "konbanwa" is basically "good evening" .. "oyasumi" is "good night" .. that's all .. not that's complex ...
25-03-2004, 01:48 PM
o..oke...coz Schye said, konbanwa is "tonight is.." so i was like..thinking it in some other way..coz he said, japs like to speak halfway...lotsa ayat tergantung... 8O
Anyway, it's oke..got what u mean. :D
Hmm..how to say, "happy birthday Luke" in Nihongo? :wink:
selamat hari jadi = お誕生日おめでとうございます
hehe baca sendiri! :twisted:
25-03-2004, 02:40 PM
laaa..part yg mule tu laa yg aku tatahu :roll: ..yg blkg, omedetoo gozaimas tu aku sudah tahu...cit :evil: ...cikgu yg xberjaya tull ko nih *grr* *grr*
25-03-2004, 04:08 PM
It is otanjyoubi omedetou gozaimasu...
tanjyou means born
tanjyoubi (bi = hi = day) means birthday
o is added in front to make it more polite...
25-03-2004, 04:14 PM
heheh..thanks Schye! i know i can count on you... :wink:
Sorry luke..i got backup teacher lalalal :lol:
So here goes:
:D Otanjyoubi omedetou gozaimasu, Luke-san! :D
laa ... apsal tak "Luke-chan" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
anyway, thanx guys ... huhuhu terharu orang ingat birthday aku, a noone's man in a nowhere's land ... cayang korang :D ...
btw nak tanye schye and sape2 kat jepun ... how do japaneses celebrate birthday? I can't find any birthday party scene in animes except that couples spending time together on their birthdays (eww how come I know that ? :oops: )
26-03-2004, 03:18 PM
oops....lupe lak!!
oke:
:D Otanjyoubi omedetou gozaimasu, Luke-chan! :D
semua the hype hype psl ur bday tu, thanks to masterof_none! he told me..hehe...and i mengehypekan ngeh ngeh ngeh :twisted: :twisted: *biasak laa..nm pun budakkerek :wink: *
My sensei's going to Japan for his Masters.. :cry: hmm...xbeshnye..dpt sensei perempuan lak lps nih... :(
26-03-2004, 03:53 PM
For Japs, they just go out with their friends and DRINK a lot... for kids, basically they have birthday party too. I think it is the same as any other countries.
By the way, how did you celebrate your birthday?
ちなみに、あなたの誕生日はどう過ごした(お祝いした)の?
chinamini, anata no tanjyoubi ha dou dugoshita (oiwaishita) no?
back to NIHONGO mode please
26-03-2004, 04:04 PM
can someone explain the function of dozo in nihongo? i found that it's used for many different purposes...why?
from what I have learned so far, I think "douzo" serves like Malay equivalence "sila"
douzo = silakan
douzo tabete kudasai = sila makan
(or usually people use "jemput makan")
douzo yoroshiku = sila beri tunjuk ajar
(schye, is this translation OK? it's really hard to translate this one little word :P)
I guess it's used when requesting something from someone .. to be/sound polite, perhaps ...
while we are at it, I want to ask sensei-tachi about "doumo" ... last week I just learned about <interrogative> + mo like nanimo, itsumo, daremo etc. I learned that dou + mo means "in any way" such as in:
dou mo hen desu nee = in any way [you look at it], it's weird isn't it?
so, is the "doumo" in "doumo arigatou gozaimasu" and "doumo sumimasen" related to this dou+mo construction? I know nihongo is really deep when it comes to polite language, so maybe the "doumo" in the 2 examples are somewhat related to the "dou mo" that means "in any way" in a very deep way ...
uh, sorry if my question is weird but I'm really interested in linguistic and I could say that nihongo is one of my ways to delve into the field ... I'm still exploring English while at the same time honning my BM skill and now I'm taking nihongo ... and while people don't like the polite part of nihongo, I think it's cool ... nihongo ga saikou yo!
27-03-2004, 11:40 AM
okie! thanks..
:wink: but what bout other senseitachi? can you comment on this..
:arrow: what happened to fish anyway? haven't seen him in for a long time... :?:
bump up bump up .. senseitachi kenape tak reply?
29-03-2004, 07:59 PM
from what I have learned so far, I think "douzo" serves like Malay equivalence "sila"
douzo = silakan
douzo tabete kudasai = sila makan
(or usually people use "jemput makan")
douzo yoroshiku = sila beri tunjuk ajar
(schye, is this translation OK? it's really hard to translate this one little word :P)
I guess it's used when requesting something from someone .. to be/sound polite, perhaps ...
Perfect explanation 8)
so, is the "doumo" in "doumo arigatou gozaimasu" and "doumo sumimasen" related to this dou+mo construction? I know nihongo is really deep when it comes to polite language, so maybe the "doumo" in the 2 examples are somewhat related to the "dou mo" that means "in any way" in a very deep way ...
errr...actually its quite hard to explain about the word doumo. however, i think it has the meanings as below.
1. dou-mo that has been stated by Luke as above.
doumo hen desune ...
to me, i think it is used when you want to express that "i dont know why but i think/feel that..." kind of like sixth sense or hunch... (aku rasa pelik laa hari nih...etc)
2. doumo = doushitemo = no matter what ...
doumo ikitakunai.
doumo watashi niha awanai.
3. doumo = totemo/hontouni= very
doumo sumimasen.
doumo arigatou
4. It is being used often to express a lot of feelings without saying the whole sentence. You may say just "doumo , doumo..." whenever you meet someone , or when you want to thank someone who has helped you some time before by saying "sennjitsu(先日) ha doumo ne.." or to express "you are welcomed" you could say "iya(=iie), doumo..." rather than "iya, kochira koso"....
another word which is being used for "ayat tergantung :roll: "
yappari ... doumo :)
btw, where's budakkerek pic? :P
30-03-2004, 09:16 AM
http://www.recom.org/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10375/normal_kerek1.JPG
30-03-2004, 10:04 AM
8O hey 8O hey 8O ....buang buang!!
sila bakulsampahkan gambar itu :D
terima kasih :lol:
*in BM mood now, coz doing me BM esei*
Luke, WHY :x did you hv to remind him grr....
*segan aku ngeh ngeh ngeh*
30-03-2004, 10:47 AM
apa segan, muka langsung tak nampak. I think I have seen people took their pic like that several time...what style do we call that? oh...that 's the way criminals are taken shot by reporters...hahaha :lol:
btw, who is the guy beside budak kerek?
Douzo yoroshiku... I thought we pronounce it as Dozo...
Is the word built from Do+u+zo (but we say naturally Dou+Zo) or should be my suggested D0+zo?
30-03-2004, 10:54 AM
hmm...yekban81, that's Schye...hehehe... :D
The colour of the pants, reflects the mind perhaps? :wink: hehehe :lol: :lol:
*yess...sudah berjaya mempublikan Schye hehehe* :wink: :lol:
Douzo yoroshiku... I thought we pronounce it as Dozo...
Is the word built from Do+u+zo (but we say naturally Dou+Zo) or should be my suggested D0+zo?
actually it's pronounced as "doozo" (long 'do' and short 'zo') ... but in hiragana, double 'o', except for a few, is written as 'ou' so instead of どおぞ (doozo), we get どうぞ (douzo) ..
the same thing goes to double 'e' .. we get 'ei' instead ... きれい (kirei) instead of きれえ (kiree) .. exceptions are the 2 words: ねえ and ええ ...
30-03-2004, 01:19 PM
oh, yes. I have forgotten that. Thanks for refreshing me about that. :D
30-03-2004, 03:23 PM
btw, who is the guy beside budak kerek?
ouch....
:( being forgotten ...
How can you guys cheat??What type of picture is that???? Argh!! I demand another picture of SengChye and Cik Tazzy.
I am back from Shanghai. Got no time to buy omiyage for you guys but those stuff can be purchased from Petaling Street. I mean that they are nearly the same, quality and price wise.
Huh, tommorow will be a big day for me. Will try to attempt to shift my house together with 2 other friends house in one car and give a speech in Japanese to the Rotary club people later in the evening....am I going crazy or what?
30-03-2004, 09:47 PM
http://www.recom.org/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10375/normal_kerek2.JPG
Actually you can see more in gallery as i dont want to make this thread out of topic (though it is out of topic now)..will post more if kerek allo me to....
07-04-2004, 02:16 PM
oi..oi..buang gmbr tu..dengki tull...Schye..send me the others..haha..must look so funny... :lol:
?????^??????B???????????????????????B
???{????????????????B
???????????w?@<hidden>???w??????B???????A???{?????????????A???w?@<hidden>??????????B
?F?A???????????B
07-04-2004, 06:02 PM
入学、おめでとう。
やっと正式的に、院を始めたね。
ほかの写真はあるけど、ネットに載せるか載せないかは。。。kerekに任せる。
???????BKERREK?????B
?????A?????A????????GALLERY????w??^???????????B?F?A????????B
あれ?fish先生は女の人だと知らなかった。ずっと前から男の人だと思ってた。 :oops:
08-04-2004, 09:44 AM
hey hey!!!
why write in japanese? me no understand..i can read, but dunno the meaning....can put translation ka? grr..grr... :x
hahaha...NEWSFLASH!!! i'm singing a Jap song, "Miraii" (future) for the Msian Technical Co-operation (MTCP) cultural night hahaha.... *malu* :lol:
Pls pls pls, pray for me, that i don't swallow the mike okie hehehe... :oops:
Hehehe...GAMBATTE!!! :x
*MTCP's a Msian Gov prog, they hv foreigners coming in for 3-4 weeks courses...
ark! cik tazzy kita nyanyi lagu jepon!
びっくりした!信じられない!
bikkuri shita! shinjirarenai!
I'm surprised! Unbelievable!
anyway,
ちゃんと歌ってください。がんばって!
chanto utatte kudasai. ganbatte!
Please sing properly. Good luck!
:P :P :P
08-04-2004, 10:10 AM
haha..okie!! thanks sensei!! :twisted:
[quote=luke]?????Hfish???????l???
授業はもう始めたの?頑張ってください :)
忙しくなるかもしれない。それでも閑の時にこちらに来ておしえてくださいね。いろいろことを私たちに教えつづけてください。これからも宜しく :)
translation (for budakkerek :P)
so your class has started? good luck! :)
you may become busy but still, do come here and teach when you have free time ok? please continue teaching us lots of stuff. from now on also, "yoroshiku!" :)
08-04-2004, 01:42 PM
hehehe..thanks Luke..you're the besh!! After Schye of course :lol: :lol:
8O Ehem...is that a ploy to 'distract' me from pestering you bout sending me "Alive"? Coz if it is, it's not working bah!! :wink:
I WANT "ALIVE"!!
???[???B???????????????B
I will always be here :o
I hope that I am Kerrek's number 3, after that ranking with SChye and Luke :D
LUKE????????????B??????KERREK??????????B
Poor Luke. Kerrek always ignores him.
ALIVE???????B
What is ALIVE?
09-04-2004, 05:48 PM
hahaha....gomene fish-sensei!
you guys, regardless of sex n age, are always number one in watashi kokoro..(betul kaa my grammar?)
Alive is a song by Raiko, one of the ending songs for Naruto!!
... are always number one in watashi kokoro..(betul kaa my grammar?)
"watashi no kokoro" :)
p/s: someone has overriden your MP3 request at my homepage :P
10-04-2004, 09:12 AM
haha...yap...i know i was wrong that part..just not too sure where to put the particles...but i do know, "no" is for "kepunyaan"..like watashi no kokoro - saya punya hati. Betul kaa? :D
LUKE!!!! I want ALIVE!! *grr..grr...* :x
Does this mean i hv to request again? :? *sigh*
20-04-2004, 07:43 AM
hmm...i miss my nihongo Lessons!!! :(
ハハハ。それは当たり前でしょう。
私も皆と会いたかった。
20-04-2004, 07:00 PM
wow....ただいま!!
久しぶりだな!
finally the family of anime@<hidden> RECOM is back !!!
*kiss....kiss*
free kiss to ALL!!!
:oops: :oops: :oops:
------------------------------------------------------
最近は忙しいから、
しばらく前のようによくオンラインできなくなるから、
ご了承ください...
でも時間があったら,できるだけみんなと電子世界出会うから、またね!
*translation exercise number 1*
--------------------------------------------------------
そうそう
久しぶりだな!
最近は忙しいから、
しばらく前のようによくオンラインできなくなるから、
ご了承ください...
でも時間があったら,できるだけみんなと電子世界出会うから、またね
I think the 1st and 2nd lines mean
I've been unable to go online for a while back so I hope you understand (sorry for the troubles [?]) ..
but I don't understand the last line .. it sounds weird when I tried to translate it (except for the last part which I think translates to "I have Electric Club [?] meeting with everyone so next time ok?" )
someone else want to try? oooi cik tazzy .. tak try translate ke?
それは、多分、CIKTAZZYしか答えない。
だから、私は黙った方がいいんじゃない。
SCHYE、キスは誰にあげるの。たしかにCIKTAZZYにあげるかな
ヒント:出会う
SCHYEとTAZZYか?そう何だ。いいカップルだねえ。ちょっと羨ましい。私の彼女はどこにいるのかな。探しても見つけられないな :(
24-04-2004, 12:45 PM
ARGHH!!!! tak aci!!! X aci!! :evil:
*living in an unsupportive environment can dampen the spirit of learning of a child* (quotation from one psychologist yg i don't remember the name)
hish..sedih nih.. :cry: :cry:
ala .. ciannye .. lupe lak kat cik tazzy .. tp takpe kalo tak paham sebab kitorang tengah ngumpat ko je muahahaha ... nak aku translate kan?
mm start from fish (April 20)
=======================================
fish:
ハハハ。それは当たり前でしょう。 私も皆と会いたかった。
hahaha. of course! i wanted to see everyone.
Schye:
<bla bla> ... ただいま!! .. <bla bla> ... 久しぶりだな!
<bla bla> ... i'm home .. <bla bla> ... it's been a while ..
luke:
そうそう 久しぶりだな!
yeah yeah it's been a while!
fish:
それは、多分、CIKTAZZYしか答えない。
that, maybe only cik tazzy will answer it.
だから、私は黙った方がいいんじゃない。
so, I better keep quiet.
SCHYE、キスは誰にあげるの。たしかにCIKTAZZYにあげるかな
Schye, that kiss for whom? most probably it's cik tazzy, right?
ヒント:出会う
hint: meeting
luke:
SCHYEとTAZZYか?そう何だ。
Schye and Tazzy? so that's how it is.
いいカップルだねえ。ちょっと羨ましい。
what a good couple. I'm a bit jealous.
私の彼女はどこにいるのかな。探しても見つけられないな :(
I wonder where's my gf. even if I look for her, I can't find her.
fish:
あら、彼女はCIKTAZZYじゃない。
eh? isn't it cik tazzy?
luke:
何言ったの?Tazzyならいらないよ。
what did you say? if it's tazzy, i don't need one.
=======================================
pueh hati?
24-04-2004, 01:50 PM
uuuuuuuiks!!!
thanks Luke..cayang kau *smooch*
Schye, jgn mare.... :twisted: heheh...
Fish sensei, i am a single entity, koibito janai *heh, betul ke grammar tuh?*
[quote=
Fish sensei, i am a single entity, koibito janai *heh, betul ke grammar tuh?*[/quote]
Eh? Koihibito jyanai? Koihibito ga inai to iitakatta, deshou? Sore ha Luke-kun ni tanondara :D Hora-kare ha kawaikunai?
エ?恋人じゃない?恋人がいないと言いたかったでしょう。それはLUKE君に頼んだら :lol: ホラ、彼は可愛くない。
ma-- chotto chigau hanashi ni natte, gomen ne. Benkyou ganbare-- Hokani shitsumon aru? Moshi koi no shitsumon dattara, watashi ha nigate yo.
マー、ちょっと違う話になって、ごめんね。勉強頑張れ。他に質問ある。もし恋の質問だったら、私は苦手よ。
Tashika ni 4 nin (BUDAKKEREK,LUKE,SCHYE,FISH) ha dokushin da ne. Dakara, nihongo no singaru- kurabu wo hajimemashou ka?
確かに4人(TAZZY,LUKE,SCHYE,FISH)は独身だね。だから、日本語のシングル クラブを始めましょうか。
あの~ かわいい?私?そうかな。確かに恋人はまだ出来てない。
ano~ kawaii? watashi? sou ka na .. tashika ni koibito wa mada dekite inai.
err .. cute? me? I wonder .. certainly I don't have gf yet ..
でも、シンガル クラブか?fishと私だけじゃない?tazzyとschyeはもう恋人じゃない?
demo, singaru kurabu ka? fish to watashi dake ja nai? tazzy to schye wa mou koibito ja nai?
but, single club? fish and I only, right? tazzy and schye are couple already aren't they?
28-04-2004, 10:05 AM
Umm... *small voice* wakaranai... hihihi :cry:
i got nihongo no kurassu at 11 today YAY!
*hint...hint..Luke-translate please hehehe...*
alamak lupe lak nak translate fish punye reply .. warukatta na ..
Eh? Koihibito jyanai? Koihibito ga inai to iitakatta, deshou? Sore ha Luke-kun ni tanondara :D Hora-kare ha kawaikunai?
Eh? "Koibito jyanai"? You wanted to say "Koibito ga inai" didn't u? if that's the case maybe luke will help .. see, he's cute isn't he?
ma-- chotto chigau hanashi ni natte, gomen ne. Benkyou ganbare-- Hokani shitsumon aru? Moshi koi no shitsumon dattara, watashi ha nigate yo.
well, a bit off-topic .. sorry .. good luck in study .. any other question? if it's love question, I'm weak (i.e give up)
Tashika ni 4 nin (BUDAKKEREK,LUKE,SCHYE,FISH) ha dokushin da ne. Dakara, nihongo no singaru- kurabu wo hajimemashou ka?
certainly, 4 of us are singles, right? so, shall we start a japanese singles club?
28-04-2004, 10:20 AM
いいアイデアだな!
独身クラブ...hahha....
俺も恋人いないよ:)
Luke:
恋人は探すものじゃないよ...
?時間?になったら、自然に出会えると思うよ。
Luke はいつも効率的な人だから、
問題ないと思うよ。
ちなみに、
2男2女
:twisted: ちょうどいんじゃない...
hahahhha...
Kerek:
ganbatte nihongo wo bennkyou shitara, wakaru yo...
muahahhaha...
sorry as i am too lazy to translate :P
p/s:
LUKE KAWAIIIIIiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!
tazzy no tame ni watashi ga yakusu yo. yasashii hito da ne, watashi ..
いいアイデアだな!
独身クラブ...hahha....
俺も恋人いないよ:)
good idea isn't it!
single club .. hahha ..
i don't have gf too!
Luke:
恋人は探すものじゃないよ...
?時間?になったら、自然に出会えると思うよ。
Luke はいつも効率的な人だから、
問題ないと思うよ。
u don't look for gf
when the "time" comes, you'll meet eventually
luke is always efficient so no prob, i think.
ちなみに、
2男2女
ちょうどいんじゃない...
btw,
2 guys 2 gals
perfect, isn't it?
28-04-2004, 11:19 AM
Luke....
Perfect translation ...
argh..urayamashi na!!!!
i bet you will be able to score 100% in my translation class with the sense you have :lol:
29-04-2004, 09:32 AM
heh, in that case, i agree wholeheartedly hehe
*aren't we going a bit off topic here? but i guess, xpe kot..since it seems like it's always us talking to each other here..hehe*
hv a question:
'Janai means no right? in what sense is it used? like i say, "mondai nai" does it mean," i don't hv a problem' or it is not a problem? senseitachi, pls explain
Plus, utk jamak (things more than one), do you just add tachi at the end or you put some other stuff at the end? hehe...like a lot of windows, do you say madotachi? hehe...please explain...arigato senseitachi!
ps: tazzy single mingle tringle heheh. I want to be the secretary of the nihongo no singaru- kurabu!! :lol: :lol:
i think i'll let schye or fish answer that .. but for a hint, let me ..
mondai (wa) nai = there is no problem
mondai ja nai = it is not a problem
29-04-2004, 10:32 AM
arigato!
Luke-kun, watashi wa, hentai nai heheh
29-04-2004, 12:54 PM
"Jyanai" is the omitted word of "dehanai".
This also means that jyanai is the negative form of "DEARU" or "DESU".
That means usually it comes after a NOUN or "na"adjectives.
"na" adjectives means adjectives such as kirei(na), baka(na), odayaka(na) etc
= not "i" adjectives like kakkoii, ureshii, sabishii etc
on the other hand, mondai (ga) nai means there is there is no problem and the nai here is the negative form of ARU.
Hope you get the point 8)
29-04-2004, 01:47 PM
so..if you wanna say, not cute, use kawaii nai or kawaii dewa arimasen? the 'ga' in mondai (ga) nai tak disebut? why the "ga" is there anyway? arigato!
*uuuhh..i feel so lucky, got so many senseitachi!! hehe...*
Any follow up on nihongo-no singaru kurabbu? hehehe
29-04-2004, 03:52 PM
i notice that, you guys use a lot of "natte". why? and how it is used? arigato!
ps: hope sensetachi don't mind i'm asking loadsa question coz i find learning nihongo in recom make me able to understand better how to Nihongo works. arigato, senseitachi! *i feel so small beside you big senseitachi* ^_^
29-04-2004, 07:43 PM
so..if you wanna say, not cute, use kawaii nai or kawaii dewa arimasen? the 'ga' in mondai (ga) nai tak disebut? why the "ga" is there anyway? arigato!
*uuuhh..i feel so lucky, got so many senseitachi!! hehe...*
Any follow up on nihongo-no singaru kurabbu? hehehe
Kawai is "i"- adjectives which means it will be kawaikunai 8)
by the way, i dun get what "natte" that you means here... i mean in which part of sentences .... need more details :P
"Jyanai" is the omitted word of "dehanai".
This also means that jyanai is the negative form of "DEARU" or "DESU".
That means usually it comes after a NOUN or "na"adjectives.
"na" adjectives means adjectives such as kirei(na), baka(na), odayaka(na) etc
= not "i" adjectives like kakkoii, ureshii, sabishii etc
on the other hand, mondai (ga) nai means there is there is no problem and the nai here is the negative form of ARU.
Hope you get the point 8)
こんなに難しい除雪なら私でもあまり分からないよ。 :wink:
konna ni muzukashii josetsu nara watashi demo amari wakaranai n da yo.
if it's this difficult, even I don't understand it very well.
まっ、tazzyなんだから、もう少しやさしくて。。。ね?
ma, tazzy na n da kara, mou sukoshi yasashikute .. ne?
well, it's tazzy, so (make it) a little easier, ok?
じゃ、私がやります。
well then, let me try ..
"mondai ja nai" is contracted version of "mondai de wa nai", which literally translates to "being a problem is not there". this is how japanese expresses the idea of "it is not X" ... so after taking the difference in the way japanese and english express this idea, "mondai de wa nai" simply means "it is not a problem" ... this implies that something is there or something has happened but it is not a problem ... for example you don't have money but it doesn't bother you .. in this case you say "mondai ja nai" - "it's not a problem" ..
on the other hand, "mondai nai" is contracted version of "mondai wa nai" or "mondai ga nai" which literally translates to "there is no problem" or "a problem doesn't exist" ... this oftenly implies nothing, particularly a problem, has happened ... for example you walked alone during night time and you arrived home safely ... in this case you will say "mondai nai" - "there is no problem" ...
so the bottomline is, if something has happened but it is not a problem, we say "it is not a problem" - "mondai ja nai" .. if nothing happens, we say "no problem" - "mondai nai" ..
on that note, different word classes have different negative forms:
nominal/noun: X -> X ja nai OR X ja arimasen
verb: Xmasu -> Xmasen
verb: Xu -> Xanai
verb: Xru -> Xnai
adjective: Xi -> Xku nai OR Xku arimasen
note for Schye: my japanese class considered "na" adjective as "na" nominal(noun) so that we don't get confused. the way my japanese class categorizes word classes is by looking at how it transforms, not by its meaning ... so, even though "midori" means "green" (an adjective in English), it is still considered as a "nominal" because "midori" doesn't take a -ku form ...
30-04-2004, 12:26 PM
like otabe ni natte, Schye..why "natte" ? what's the function?
actually i do understand what you mean. Coz i know jap words are mostly contracted (shortened), no wonder the confusion..but anyway, oke laa..coz i kinda understood..i mean, thanks to Luke-kun..he explained why hv to use certain phrases etc..like the function of 'o' in 'benkyou o shimashite'
takpe..just go on..i'll pick stuff up along the way. Apart from here at ReCom, i also ask my sensei here..but itupun if i meet her...so easier if i ask you guys.
ano...fish sensei, doko desu ka? *my grammar, betul ka?*
01-05-2004, 02:47 AM
i see...
otabe ni naru (natte) is the polite form ...
Xru => o X ni naru ...
hihi..maybe Luke could explain in details :) cos i am not really good in explaining actually.
as you might have known, cik tazzy oi :), japanese is super rich with all these polite expressions, even more than our so-called "rakyat malaysia bersopan-santun" ... and to make life harder, japanese language has three kind of politeness: honorific, humble and neutral polite.
honorific
used to honor the 'topic', thus it is only used when refering to other people. it's never used to refer to self and nonhuman entities (cats, ketchup, vacuum cleaners).
there are several ways how to be honorific.
verb
some verbs have special honorific form. e.g: ikimasu/imasu/kimasu -> irassyaimasu, shimasu -> nasaimasu .. for these verbs you just have to memorize their honorifications.
the rest of verbs can be turned honorific by using this formula:
o + verb_stem + ni + naru
where a verb stem is a -masu verb with its 'masu' omitted. e.g: tabemasu -> tabe, kaimasu -> kai, oshiemasu -> oshie
i think i'll skip the honorific for nouns and adjective, and humble and neutral polite for the time being :P
btw, natte is the gerund for naru ... gerunds in japanese are used in many places and making request is one of them ... so "otabe ni natte" means "please eat" (with honorific value) ... just like you use "ganbatte" to say "please do your best" ... fyi "ganbatte" is the gerund for "ganbaru" which means "to do one's best" ...
04-05-2004, 02:43 PM
wow! felt like deja vu..hehe...like last time in grammar klass...n i'll be like "Eh?" *xphm le tuh*
thanks anyway...very detailed explanation
cant talk much..at home now..demam! :(
Woh,
LUKE君、日本語は非常にうまくなりましたよね。
07-05-2004, 05:10 PM
haha...thanks! will let you know if i hv other questions. Missed watashi no nihongo no jugyou last Wednesday coz demam...heh, sedih tul! :x
haha...thanks! will let you know if i hv other questions.
what were you thanking for? fish-sensei was praising me lar ... anyway, I just came back from my japanese class .. we were having skit ... I'll post the video when I get it from my sensei :)
my japanese class .. today was the last day so we took a picture .. :)
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/nihongo102.jpg
so which one is me? guess .. guess ...
mmm i have a question for senseitachi-sama :) ...
if I am not wrong, to create the potential form of a consonant verb (-u verb), we replace the ending 'u' with 'eru'
iku -> ikeru
kaku -> kakeru
but why does "iu" become "iwareru"? ... I know about why "kau" becomes "kawanai" due to silenced "w" in the word "ka[w]u" ... but if I apply the rule to "iu" then it shoud be "iweru", which in place turns into "ieru" ... but it turns out to be "iwareru" instead ... care to explain?
11-05-2004, 10:45 AM
yeah!! i'm finally okie! *not really laa..but hey, at least i got some excuses to be a bit lazy..blame it on the illness haha*
anyway, have a question on the writing. like yakushitte ---> how do you write it in hiragana? coz takde syllable to show the T sound...care to eksplen? thanks!
*Luke, i was just saying thanks..i mean i read everything AGAIN..and kinda understand..though still pening..hehe*
oh ye...----> Otanjyoubi omedeto gozaimasu, Schye-kun! You're old already haha :twisted:
ハハハ。面白い質問ですよ、LUKE君。
まず、言われるは可能形(かのうけいーPOTENTIAL)じゃなくて、受身形(うけみけいーPASSIVE)です。したがって、こういうルール(言われる--->IWERU)は使えません。
もし、「言う」を可能形に使いたいだったら、「言える」になります。否定の場合は「言えない」になります。
LUKE君は可能形を受身形と間違えたではないでしょうか。
下の表をご覧ください:
動詞(+) 可能形(+) 受身形(+)
言う 言える 言われる
買う 買える 買われる
動詞(-) 可能形(-) 受身形(-)
言わない 言えない 言われない
買わない 買えない 買われない
最後のポイント、グループ1の動詞は可能形と受身形に変わるとグループ2の動詞になります。日本語ではWEの発音がないので、IWERUは不自然な感じを表すではないでしょうか。
BUDAKKEREK、YAKUSHITTEはやくしてになるですよ。
SCHYE、お誕生日おめでとう。
11-05-2004, 01:56 PM
hah, then correct la. i mean, ive been spelling it like that but since in roma-ji it's like got 2 T, so i was not sure. takut salah je. anyway, arigato, fish-sensei!
BTW, what's the translation of the thing you wrote? i kinda think of it as "becomes like this" or sthing along that line
hmm..one more, if translated from hiragana to roma-ji, becomes like this:
hyakushite ni naru detsu yo
why the use of the character "ha" (i cant write in hiragana here coz comp xallow) for the first syllable? bley explain? thanks! ^_^
doumo osewasama fish-sensei ... mmm passive and potential forms .. I guess I'll read more about those two some other time ... it's not that I'm confused with the two .. it's just that I often hear anime characters say "sou iwaretemo ...", which the subtitle explains as "even if you can say that .." so that's why I though
'iwareru' is the potential form of 'iu' ..
why the use of the character "ha" (i cant write in hiragana here coz comp xallow) for the first syllable? bley explain? thanks! ^_^
budakkerek-chan oi ... were you refering to "BUDAKKEREK、YAKUSHITTEはやくしてになるですよ" .. hahaha that's the particle 'wa' lor ... just like "X wa Y" ... did you forget that the particle 'wa' is written as 'は' ? and you don't have to type it here lor ... just copy from fish's post lor ... *sigh*
12-05-2004, 02:36 PM
hahah..okie..lupe lak! LOL
in every word pun, 'wa' is written like dat ke? or just some words jaa?
[wa] is written as [ha] when it is a particle.
But when [wa] is attached to form a word, for example, [watashi], it will be written as [wa]
12-05-2004, 03:59 PM
arigato!
cayang ikan nih! hihihi *smooch!*
*hmm...Schye diam je..mentang mentang laa dh jd org tua..heheh*
12-05-2004, 10:40 PM
well, i am still here :) just dont have much time recently ...
Tazzy, if you are confused about the hiragana => romaji or vice versa, please visit Luke homepage:) (help to promote ...hihih)
He wrote a programme on that rite , Luke?
14-05-2004, 01:17 PM
no lei..i know the section's there..Just that for a moment, lupe kejap..hihihi...
sile sile .. jemput datang .. penat ambo buek tu ... hehehe ...
btw i just finished my japanese final written test an hour and 20 minutes earlier than the given time ... hebat tak ambo? 8) 8) 8) muah muah muah ..
17-05-2004, 04:51 PM
sasuga...
*pay respect...tabik*
17-05-2004, 05:38 PM
hmm..my nihongo no jugyou..sudah a few weeks xjln..sbb sensei jyanai..asyik meeting jer..grr..grr..sampai bila pun ambo xtere jepung mcm nih..isk..isk...
sbb sensei jyanai
"sensei jyanai" means "I am not a teacher" (which is still true but irrelevant) ... but if you want to say "there is no teacher", you say "sensei wa nai" ... if you want to use honorific to honor your sensei (japanese always honor knowledgable people), you should say "sensei wa irassyaranai" .. well, that's a different story altogether .. but plz etch this in your back of your mind:
X jyanai = I am (or s/he is or they are) not X
X wa nai = X is not here / there is no X
examples:
kore wa neko jyanai = this is not a cat (a dog perhaps?)
koko ni wa neko wa nai = there is no cat here
watashi wa kodomo jyanai = I am not a kid
watashi wa kodomo wa nai = I don't have a kid
watashi wa inu jyanai = I am not a dog
watashi wa inu wa nai = I don't have a dog
18-05-2004, 10:31 AM
oh..oke..! thanks Luke!
*damn..he's much better a teacher than i am...*
Heh, just want you guys to know, i'll be having this teaching practice next July..haha..habis laa..mati laa anak org..hihihi
retroque
18-05-2004, 05:24 PM
examples:
ermn..if im not wrong for humans we use "inai" not "nai"
eg'
watashi wa kodomo wa "inai"
plus...isnt it more appropriate to use particle "ga" instead of "wa"before "inai" or "nai"?
plus "wa" is used to stress upon something.
eg
watashi wa kodomo "ga" "inai"
um .. you are right .. I got carried away :P :P :P
19-05-2004, 01:23 PM
LOL
*dang, kalau i noticed the thing earlier, bley sakat Luke hihih*
19-05-2004, 01:39 PM
examples:
ermn..if im not wrong for humans we use "inai" not "nai"
eg'
watashi wa kodomo wa "inai"
plus...isnt it more appropriate to use particle "ga" instead of "wa"before "inai" or "nai"?
plus "wa" is used to stress upon something.
eg
watashi wa kodomo "ga" "inai"
Yupe, in fact normally it is kind of weird to have 2 "wa" in a sentence.
ex:
niwa ni wa niwa niwa tori ga iru.
19-05-2004, 02:03 PM
"wa" is for the main object, n "ga" is for the secondary object right?
retroque
20-05-2004, 01:00 AM
my sensei back in msia once said that particle "ga" and "wa" is the hardest to understand n differentiate.reading lots of reibun(example statements?)might help.
but dont worry and dont be too cautious of making mistakes.there's a japanese saying (kotowaza)
shippai wa seikou no moto
failure is the base of success.
02-06-2004, 02:44 PM
Retroqueさん,今どくにいるの。
doku @<hidden> poison .... 8O
retroque needs poison? ah but the "ni" messes that up :P oh well
retroque
02-06-2004, 04:19 PM
いきなり?どく?と言われてびっくりした!! 8O :D ボクはいま四国にいるよ。(田舎だけど。。)
ごめん、ごめん。かなり大きなミスでした。失礼しました。四国か。私も田舎にいるよ。
03-06-2004, 03:42 PM
retroque ...
did we met before?
are you from ppktj or aaj?
in kosen or dai?
retroque
03-06-2004, 05:00 PM
ハハハ
一番知ってる人のはずなのに。。。こう聞かれたらどうすんだよ。。
03-06-2004, 05:29 PM
hahahaha...
ごめん、ごめん...
四国は田舎だから、
つい忘れちゃった。
ちなみに、プロファイルちゃんと書けよ。
07-06-2004, 02:49 PM
argh!! pertemuan senseitachi yg hebat1 me no understand heheh
haha sian tazzy-chan ... takpe takpe selalunye ambo pon jenuh gak check kamus ... kali ni malas nak check kamus so ambo pon tak pahe gak pebende diorang tulih .. pahe skit2 je la ... :D
anyway, got a question for senseitachi-sama :)
last time I recall we use -te form for commands right? (like damatte, yamete, dete itte etc) .. then I notice people also use -re to give commands (like tomare, ganbare, ike etc) ... they also use "yamenasai", "iinasai" .. so, are all these alternative forms correct? is there any difference?
2nd, when giving negative command (don't X), we use negative+de, right? (iwanaide, konaide, shinaide) ... then I notice people also use positive+na for the same purpose (kuru na, miru na) ... the same question like above, is the 2nd form correct also? any difference?
retroque
12-06-2004, 01:11 PM
oopss...sorry2....we kind of got carried away
back to nihongo lesson.(although im no sensei)
-command form-
all three kinds of forms u mention....all are command form.the difference is the level of command.(tahap kekerasan mengarah?whutever).i've arranged it from the softest level (yg paling berbudi bahasa) ..untill the hardest level (tahap kasar sket )
1. tte form ...damatte...suwatte ....(which actually comes from tte kudasai form)
2. nasai form......damarinasai...suwarinasai...(moms used this often to scold thei kids)
3. re form......damare...suware.....(u really dont want to hear this kind of form frm ur sensei..trust me)
-negative command form-
its the same withe command form.i've also arranged this according to their levels.
1.naide form....ikanaide(dont go).....kakanaide(dont write).
this is a relatively soft form.even lovers use this...such as ...
"luke kun.....ikanaidee!!!!"
(luke...dont go!!/dont leave me!!):P
2. na form....ikuna......kakuna....
u also dont want to hear from your sensei...in class....such as
"kurasu de..hanasuna!!"
(dont talk in class!!)
adeh mataku pening membaca kanji
arigatou gozaimashita, retroque-sensei :) ... naruhodo nee ... begitu rupenye .. kawe doh agok .. hehe ... satu lagik .. ape -re form utk "kuru" and "suru"?
hehe qdex ... letih baca kanji, jom makan bubur kanji ..
(lawak bodoh :oops: )
That is imperative form (the one you called 're').
It is normally used during:
1. Emergency
2. Fights
3. Between very close friends/ parents to kids
Group III
kuru ---> koi (+), kuruna (-)
suru ---> shiro (+), suruna (-)
tadashikana. I do not normally use imperative forms as I find it not really useful in daily life. Normally -re form is used by guys and -nasai (another more polite imperative form) is used by girls - like what Retroque had written (mom scolding kids).
The 'te' form is called 'request form'. We have plenty of different 'request forms', ranging from:
1. nonde kudasai (please drink)
2. nonde hoshii (would like you to drink --)
3. --shi te ii desu ka (permission asking form)
4. --shi te moraemasu ka/ shi te kuremasu ka (polite request form)
5. --shi te itadakemasu ka/ --shi te kudasaimasu ka (keigo request form)
6. yarasete moraemasu ka (permission asking- to perform the task yourself)
16-06-2004, 11:44 AM
when you wanna ask someone to "go to the hell" you may said
"SHINE" too :)
when you wanna ask someone to "go to the hell" you may said
"SHINE" too :)
SCHYEは勉強過ぎかな。。。。
17-06-2004, 11:10 AM
heh, we sure can count on Schye to give us all the "nice" words LOL
:lol:
Schye, hazukashikunai no :p
hazukashikunai? tak malu? bukan kerek mmg tak malu ke? :twisted:
btw, bile hang nak tukaq avatar hang? dok meluat ambo nengok ..
awww geli i
18-06-2004, 08:08 AM
yupe ...yupe....
maybe a more girlish one ...
or you may ask Luke to draw one for you ...huhu
Speaking about Cik Tazzy's one, I think you had grown much more than your avatar, Luke :D
I need to post more to get back my lil' stars---- 400 posts is a LONG way to go!!
18-06-2004, 08:41 AM
haha... i will try to stay active too although the exam is NEAR...argh.....
awww geli i
apsal geli? sape geletek?
muah muah muah ...
19-06-2004, 10:20 AM
ehem..FYI, i am still in love with mr. frodo baggins and therefore, do not see the relevance or need of changing my avatar...LOL
anfd yes, fish-sensei, i AM much bigger than him..but it doesn't matter...i like mr frodo for who he is and not his height..
hihih..kecik kecik laa besh, kawaii!! hihihi :lol:
luke-kun, cik tazzy adalah seorang yg pemalu dan sangat bersopan-santun.
nape?
tak percaya ke? :lol:
okie..my words, all berkenaan shame heheh... :
tsurayogoshi - disgrace, shame
akahaji - shame
chijoku - disgrace, shame, or insult
shuuchisin - shyness, shame
heheh, i got this of an online dict off the net..so sensei, check pls? arigato! :wink:
hahaha nih pun dgr mcm vocab anime hentai :P
budakkerek hentai ...
fish hentai sensei ...
choudo ii ...
aman dunia ... :twisted:
世界の平和は私とKEREKに任せた?
ちなみに、私は変態者ではございません。もしLUKE君は日本に来れば、すぐわかりますよ。
漫画の店、コンビ二(7ELEVEN、LAWSONなど)は自由に変態の読み物を売られています。皆、特に若い男性はコンビ二で立ったままで、そういう読み物を読むことにします。こいうシーンは日本では普通でございます。
ところで、日本の全国の強姦率は2001年では6,393件で大体一人で事件の発生率は0.00502%あるいは人口1万人による事件率、は0.502(男性と女性を含んで、人口の1億2千729万人に対する)。一方、マレーシアの強姦率と比べると大体一人で事件の発生率は0.00582%あるいは人口1万人による、事件率は0.582(男性と女性を含んで、人口の2千380万人に対する)。やや微妙な違いですが、人口100万人による、8件の違いことになっております。
それは、マレーシアの社会と教育の問題ではないでしょうか。マレーシアでは変態なものは厳禁でも、強姦率は日本より高いことが明にされました。さらに、マレーシアは宗教や伝統的な教訓が強い国といわれていますが、逆に犯罪率がかなり高いことがわかってきました。
今日の問題を見ると、倫理や道徳の改善は確かに必要があります。それにしても、皆は正しい倫理や道徳の知識をもっていますが実際に行動として現れて欲しいです。
参考:マレーシアの強姦事件は2001に1386件が発生しました(Kementrian Pembangunan Wanita dan Keluarga)
23-06-2004, 11:32 AM
watashi wa hentai nai!
fish-sensei, tak phm! LOL :wink:
You mean hentai jya nai, right?
Yeah, you know who is hentai...that Ah Beng...ahahaha.
世界の平和は私とKEREKに任せた?
ちなみに、私は変態者ではございません。もしLUKE君は日本に来れば、すぐわかりますよ。
漫画の店、コンビ二(7ELEVEN、LAWSONなど)は自由に変態の読み物を売られています。皆、特に若い男性はコンビ二で立ったままで、そういう読み物を読むことにします。こいうシーンは日本では普通でございます。
ところで、日本の全国の強姦率は2001年では6,393件で大体一人で事件の発生率は0.00502%あるいは人口1万人による事件率、は0.502(男性と女性を含んで、人口の1億2千729万人に対する)。一方、マレーシアの強姦率と比べると大体一人で事件の発生率は0.00582%あるいは人口1万人による、事件率は0.582(男性と女性を含んで、人口の2千380万人に対する)。やや微妙な違いですが、人口100万人による、8件の違いことになっております。
それは、マレーシアの社会と教育の問題ではないでしょうか。マレーシアでは変態なものは厳禁でも、強姦率は日本より高いことが明にされました。さらに、マレーシアは宗教や伝統的な教訓が強い国といわれていますが、逆に犯罪率がかなり高いことがわかってきました。
今日の問題を見ると、倫理や道徳の改善は確かに必要があります。それにしても、皆は正しい倫理や道徳の知識をもっていますが実際に行動として現れて欲しいです。
参考:マレーシアの強姦事件は2001に1386件が発生しました(Kementrian Pembangunan Wanita dan Keluarga)
I thought someone is going to correct my grammar and translate this for me. I am getting malas cause I am having exams real soon. Anyway, the gist is that hentai/pervert stuff are sold everywhere in Japan including at comic stores and convenience stores. People are free to access all these stuff.
The rape cases rate in Japan is suprisingly lower than of Malaysia, a country which is supposingly "strong" in both religion and tradition.
The statistics above shows that there are 1386 rape cases in Malaysia in 2001 (with a populaton of 23.8 million) as compared to 6393 rape cases in Japan (2001). Of course Japan has higher rape cases , but if we do a calculation according to population available (127.9million people in Japan), we find that the rape case per 10,000 population is 0.502% in Japan and 0.582% in Malaysia. The incidence per population has a difference of 8 cases per 1 million population.If Japan where to have the same rape cases rate as of Malaysia in 2001, it would have a total of 7448 cases...an extra of 1055 cases!!
The statistics shows that we have a serious social problem. How could a country which sells hentai/pervert stuff so freely have lower rape rates compared to a country which gives heavy penalty to anyone caught having hentai stuff?
We all know the moral values,ethics, etc but do we practise them in reality?
23-06-2004, 12:33 PM
hahaha..i was thinking of putting in "jyanai" but didnt. Jyanai is for noun right?
anyway, yeah..that's what Schye told me also. Hentai stuff's like normal in Japan..a guy's heaven i guess....And of course, Ah Beng's LOL
IMHO, maybe coz in Msia, ppl are told of what is right n not, and expected to follow wihtout question. Any attempt to do otherwise, will be met w strict penalties. But it's still happening coz knowing this, they do it in secret.
Sthing i got from the theatre "Alang Rentak Seribu" - "benda jahat, buat terang-terang, salah. Kalau buat dlm gelap, tak salah."
hmm..go figure...typical Msian mentality i guess.
Anyway, Fish-sensei, can't wait for you to come back..we'll hv a full-fledged "Ah Beng kutuking" session.
Gurls only - Guys not allowed (this means ppl like Luke LOL)
eh, fish pompuan gak ker? hahaha haram aku ingat lelaki :P
anyway, yeah..that's what Schye told me also. Hentai stuff's like normal in Japan..a guy's heaven i guess....And of course, Ah Beng's LOL
this is what I deduced from my observation while I'm chatting in anime forums and chatrooms:
- hentai guys like to watch "yuri" (girl x girl) anime
- hentai girls like to watch "yaoi" (boy x boy) anime
guess what, there are definitely a number of yaoi animes out there so I'm wondering if you are interested, kerek :P ... let me suggest a title: "Gravitation" :twisted: ...
Gurls only - Guys not allowed (this means ppl like Luke LOL)
now that's what I called fishy ... kerek and fish ... mmm ... omoshiroi ..
dont let your imagination get ahead of you luke-san :P
retroque
24-06-2004, 06:59 AM
hahaha!!i read your threads...and couldnt help laughing....tergolek2 gelak.
結局みんなは変態だ!!
kekyoku minna ha hentai da!
(the conclusion is,everyone is hentai!)
omoshiroi
duh
i dont think i can function without being pervy
eh, fish pompuan gak ker? hahaha haram aku ingat lelaki :P
Yeah, yurusu....hehe. Even Luke, Schye and Kerek thought I was a guy. But why do you guys think that I am a guy? The avatar is just sakana....doesn't suggest anything right?
ok ok fish is a girl ... everyone please memorize and understand it! even if you don't find it pleasant, bear with it! :twisted:
anyway can any of senseitachi be so kind as of to teach me the variety of compound verbs/adjectives out there? so far I've only learnt "-sugiru", "-nikui" and "-yasui" in class ... then I discovered on my own "-au", "-kakeru" ...
also, it would be nice if you also teach me other "-te X" combinations such as "-te iru", "-te kuru", "-te shimau" etc ...
osore irimasu :)
btw: here's a good article about X-polite speeches I found: http://www.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/proj/genbunronshu/24-1/webster.pdf
i dont know why i thought you were a guy. i guess it's just the way i operate on the internet - "Everyone is a guy unless proven otherwise". i think it's safer that way :P
on that note, you havent proven that you're a girl yet
25-06-2004, 08:09 AM
hahah..fish-sensei, no worries..same thing happened to me remmber? hihih...cant believe it when ppl blame my avatar n the way i talk...they say imma a guy...Fish-sensei, ppl probably think u r a guy coz of the way u talk i guess...kinda funny hihih
anyway, sukubun = essay ?
me at home now..sape nak buah pala, pesan cepat!!! :D
25-06-2004, 10:07 AM
Its sAkubunn :)
Well, in Japan... you will be more popular among gals if you are sukebe...cos some of them still having the thinking that it is more 男らしい to be SUKEBE.
By the way, we use SUKEBE for GATAL/lecherous and HENTAI for pervert/kinky ... so basically it is 2 different words...
I am OK if someone say that i am sukebe but NOT hentai...huhuh
anyway can any of senseitachi be so kind as of to teach me the variety of compound verbs/adjectives out there? so far I've only learnt "-sugiru", "-nikui" and "-yasui" in class ... then I discovered on my own "-au", "-kakeru" ...
also, it would be nice if you also teach me other "-te X" combinations such as "-te iru", "-te kuru", "-te shimau" etc ...
so no one wants to answer my request?
retroque
26-06-2004, 09:00 PM
i would love to reply.but at the moment a bit busy plus i have to open up my old textbooks to do this.hehe.sabaq sket aa.
29-06-2004, 03:25 PM
i learned how to sing "Ao no jidai" today..
"Zaman biru"
i wonder which part of the era is blue...hahaha
so no one wants to answer my request?
Ah, my last exam is finally over. Hey sorry for not coming in lately....but Luke, can you be more specific? What type of verb would you like to learn, ie; potential form, invitation, etc
verb compound = two verbs compounded together
like adding -sugiru to add the sense of "doing too much"
tabesugiru
nomisugiru
hanashisugiru
or -naosu to add the sense of "doing something again to improve"
yobinaosu
kakinaosu
tsukurinaosu
so I'm asking if senseitachi would be kind enough to teach me more of this kind ..
the 2nd request is for -te form .. I notice that it's like verb compound : the second verb will modify the first verb
-te iru -> 1st verb becomes progressive
-te kuru -> do 1st verb and come back
-te oku -> do 1st verb in advance
so I want to know more of this kind too ..
:) :) :)
i learned how to sing "Ao no jidai" today..
"Zaman biru"
i wonder which part of the era is blue...hahaha
Ao no jidai is better than ki iro no jidai...hahaha (or is it the other way round for you guys?)
Gek, I will be in Malaysia starting from tommorow! Life will be great!! At least till August, then I will have to come back here, sob, sob.
I saw a very funny variety show yesterday, it was a voting show to vote for which woman shown is bitchier than the other....my god the things that these Japanese women do...
Ayaka san (did I get it right?) (sai aku no koi no monogatari)
Worst Love Story
1. She attracted a salaryman, then he took his company's money to buy her jewellery and got fired. She dumped him.
2. She striped in her another boyfriend's company(after getting drunk) and forced his co-worker to massage her upper part....she said that during then, her hobby was stripping....
Sugita san
1. She bit her boyfriend in a fight and lost 4 teeth in the process...and had a year of treatment and ceramic replacements for her teeth
2. She had a fight with her another boyfriend in a taxi and kicked him out of the taxi (because he mentioned about his ex) while it was travelling on the road.....she said that she had extremely good imagination power...and he fell out, not kicked out...wonder is it true
Can't really remember every story but I was laughing all over. Anyone watched this variety show as well? Anyway, Sugita san won...I mean lost or whatever, she was voted as the bitchier one.
30-06-2004, 11:50 AM
ki iro no jidai? what's that?
hihihi...
it feels good, to know that ppl like you... *boost my ego hahah * :P
but, when it gets to such level, (he tells everyone you're his wife to be etc), that's not besh..that's FREAKY!!
anyway, just glad he's off my stalkers list 8O
Hmm...dont worry, fish-sensei! one gone, a few more come in hehehe :D
hmm..anyway, is the word b****** stands for bitchier? coz i cant think of a more strong b word heheh...
hmm..bleh thn..but i like the first gurl...that was VERY VERY mean, what she did...i mean, she gained sthing (a lot actually LOL) fr the rship
Hmm..dont forget to gimme a call!! cant wait to see you... :wink:
08-07-2004, 02:39 PM
kawaisou Luke...still no one answering his Question....
going to dinner NOW so wont be able to answer...anyone else?
will answer next time if no one reply this thread later....
huhuhu .. I have another request ...
can someone explain or give examples how to use "datte", "nante", "to ka" and "nanka"?
12-07-2004, 02:00 PM
hihih...
anyway, dunno why..today, sensei talked bout food...okashi...sushi...ramen...etc..made me hungry only :? *it was an 8am class, havent had my asagohan yet*
anyone, pls explain how to pluralize inanimate things (i asked like dh 5 juta kali, no one answered sob sob) :cry:
arigato!! :wink:
anyone, pls explain how to pluralize inanimate things (i asked like dh 5 juta kali, no one answered sob sob) :cry:
you asked that in Kyou no Tango thread and Schye has answered it there ... go to that thread, 3rd page .. thank you ..
13-07-2004, 07:02 AM
oh ye ke? :lol: gomene..tak perasan :)
14-07-2004, 01:25 PM
huhuhu .. I have another request ...
can someone explain or give examples how to use "datte", "nante", "to ka" and "nanka"?
Datte is normally being used by kids or gals when they want to "manja" ...Datte is normally followed by da mon .
ex:
sensei:
何で宿題やってきてないの。
nande syukudai yatte kitenai no?
Why didnt you do your home work?
だって、暇がないだもん。
Datte, hima ga nai damon.
cos i have no time...
Nanka is same as Nante in the situation below.
Okane nanka iranai.
Okane nante iranai.
I dont need "such" money. (in the sense of looking down on something.)
omae no tetsudai nanka iranai.
I dont need your help.
Onna nanka iranai (dunno how to translate... :roll: )
However, nanka can be used as the ex. below too.
Nanka sa...
Nanka here is used just to start a conversation (again dunno how tto Xplain it :P)
kyou nanka yaruki nai na...
nanka kimochi warui...
Nanka here means "dont know why but i feel..."
Toka can be used with other words to have different meanings.
Nantoka suru kara, shinnpai shinai de.
Dont worry, I wil try to settle it.
"nantoka suru " here means "dont know how but i will try to do..."
sono mise deha, iroiro na shina mono ga utte iru. penn toka, keshigomu toka nanndemo aru.
variety of stuff are sold in hte shop. For example, penn, eraesr etc.
"toka" here is used when we want to list up a few of example.
other sensei...please double check to see if i miss any meanings...
hihih. Very good explaination. Schye, tsukuba ni ha konai no? Niigata ha kouzui ga aru yo.
15-07-2004, 01:10 PM
hmm..from an amateur's analysis, what i understand is..."niigata got flood." betul ek?
heheh...*tazzy test power :P *
15-07-2004, 07:52 PM
Well, i will enter Tsukuba if i failed Toukoudai.
By the way, thanks for you concern about the flood here. My place is safe as my college is on top of a mount :) The flood is very terrible until some of my friends cant go home and need to stay in hostel. Just hope that the water will be gone soon and i might join those volunteer to clean up the street later.
flood? so got flood in japan too? :P you can help by becoming a boat or something :P :P :P ...
btw can someone please explain the difference in "-te kureru", "-te ageru" and "-te morau"?
16-07-2004, 10:31 AM
-te ageru means doing something for someone else (a third person) which usually is someone we respect or older than us. If it is for our friends, or those who are younger than us, normally we will use "-te yaru".
"-te yaru" is used when we want to help to person we are talking to so that it wont sound rude compared to -te ageru.But for this situation, the best sentence to use is still "watashi ga yarimasyouka..."
-te morau is used when we are talking to a 2nd person about asking a 3rd person to do something for us.
ex:
sensei ni tanonnde yatte moraimasuka.
how about asking teacher to do this for us.
-te kureru is used when we are talking to the person we want to ask for a favor.
ex:
kaite kuremasuka.
can you write this for me?
kaite kuremasen ka. (more polite ... and makes someone hard to say NO :twisted: )
16-07-2004, 10:44 AM
-te kureru is used when we are talking to the person we want to ask for a favor.
ex:
kaite kuremasuka.
can you write this for me?
kaite kuremasen ka. (more polite ... and makes someone hard to say NO :twisted: )
trick usually used by teachers hehehe...
I'm starting practicum on the 26th, i got SK Brickfields 2 8O
So niisang, is it flooding in Niigata now?
18-07-2004, 03:58 PM
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10375/normal_niigataflooda.JPG
Niigata is NOT ok now :) although i am more than OK here.
I just came back from helping those refugees for the whole day... exausted :(
The above photo is taken at the volunteer centre there. As this is Japanese corner so can anyone tell me what is the meaning of the words written there?
p/s: i have posted more photos in gallery.
19-07-2004, 08:01 AM
tolong kami, bantu kami? :D
hehe..j/k! :wink:
the sign with lambda symbol and square symbol means "entrance" ... I can't read the other sign because of the picture's poor resolution :roll:
19-07-2004, 10:17 AM
hihiih....then maybe we will need to wait for fish or retroque 8)
21-07-2004, 05:30 PM
入口 is actually chinese characters which means entrance and pronounced as ru kou. But I don't know how to read the characters in Japanese.
Japanese uses chinese character as kanji in their language. My sensei believes that Japanese language starts from chinese character and gradually evolves into their own basic writing (hiragana) and then with the addition of foreign-translation writing (katakana).
入口 ia pronounced as "iriguchi" in japanese (sorry about calling those symbols lambda and square last time because I was using a lab pc which doesn't have japanese IME support :P) ..
from what I understand, most kanjis have more than one readings and if I'm not mistaken the usual trend is: if more than one kanji in the same word, the kanjis will follow the chinese pronunciation (onyomi or kunyomi? I don't remember which is which :P) while kanjis that are followed by hiraganas will be pronounced using the japanese pronunciation ...
お兄さん = oniisan
弟さん = otoutosan
but
兄弟 = kyoudai
anyway if I am wrong please correct me "machigattara oshiete kudasai" :P
22-07-2004, 07:45 AM
lambda drive...uuh....sthing i heard from Full Metal Panic :P
22-07-2004, 10:06 AM
You mean iriguchi?
nope, i mean the one next to it 8)
Kanji with Japanese pronunciation is kunyomi, while kanji with mandarin pronunciation is onyomi. However, a kanji can have more than one onyomi or kunyomi because:
- Japanese dont have their own characters so sometimes they assign more than one word to a kanji.
- Kanji are pronounced differently in Chine depends on which dinasty was incharged. So the pronunciation maybe different too acording to when the kanji was imported into Japan.
retroque
22-07-2004, 04:29 PM
errkk....schye...u got to be kidding rite?gile ke nak baca?tak nampak laa.
nyway...i'll just have a shot at it.the one in red ...which i can hardly read..but looks like
中人弱.
meaning?dont ask me..cos i dunno.,.ahaha...kanji is my weakest point.
then on the right side...in blue..in katakana reads
ボランテイア センター(borantia sentaa) .
n of course...i guess most of u can figure what's that suppose to mean.can't figure it out?it means "volunteer center"
then on the left side in kanji is
現地本部(genchi honbu)
which means ..ermm...aiyak...direct translation..how aa.any ideas?told ya im weak at kanji.
現地(genchi) means current place,current location
本部(honbu) means main part,main branch.
so when u combine ボランテイアセンター 現地本部 it becomes sort of
"the main branch/headquarters/ for volunteer center".
sensei tachi...comments please(dont just eat2,,sleep2...go out2..i know laa u all enjoying summer hols...hehehe)
自信ないけど正しいかなあ..
23-07-2004, 07:19 AM
senseitachi enjoying your summer? hehe..summer yg melekit..
anyway, i'll be starting my practicum next week, which means i'll miss like 4 kls bhs jepun WAAA :cry:
anyway, wish me luck i got placed at a boys' school...hehe..so..hope i'll come out of the whole thing, unscarred :wink:
23-07-2004, 11:27 AM
errkk....schye...u got to be kidding rite?gile ke nak baca?tak nampak laa.
nyway...i'll just have a shot at it.the one in red ...which i can hardly read..but looks like
中人弱.
meaning?dont ask me..cos i dunno.,.ahaha...kanji is my weakest point.
hahah...
Just want to challenge the eye sight of sensei tachi.
In fact i myself also need to refer back to the original size photo to confirm those kanjis :oops:
The one in red is the name of the place.
中之島町 (nakanojima) nakanojima town
and those in Blue are
水害救援 (suigai kyuuenn) helping those affected by flood <-- any better translation cos its a noun :(
endoru
31-07-2004, 08:20 AM
Watashi = I ( as in you and I ... I )
Tachi = this shows a plural form
So, a lot of "I"s.
Haha.
In short, "私たち / 私達 / わたしたち" means "we".
In Malay, "Kita".
Peace !
haha that reminds me of this question I have since some time ago ..
if "watashitachi" means "kita" in malay, then does "wareware" mean"kami"? what about "bokura"?
another question, is there a rule for using a sequence of adjectives in japanese .. like in english there's a rule about which adjective whould you use first .. for example:
a big black wooden japanese table --> correct
a japanese black big wooden table --> sounds weird
i noticed in some song lyrics, it's "chiisa na kono machi de", not "kono chiisa na machi de" ... is there a reason for this? or is it purely because of poetic reason?