View Full Version : Which local university is good for engineering?
prophx_blizice
06-03-2007, 11:54 PM
Hi every 2006 batch of stpm student...result going out soon
good luck to everyone!!
i wan to take electrical and electronic engineering
if didn get, i hope i can get mechanical or sivil too
so can anyone giv information which local u is good for engineering?
i hope i can consider the facilities, lecture, environment and distance from city...thanks a lot for those help me...god bless haha
prophx_blizice
07-03-2007, 08:15 PM
i heard that some ppl say UTM is better for engineering because the university is focus on engineering.
But also some claim that Ukm is better because it is rank 189th among international university....
also some say UM is the best because it is the eldest university
can anyone give opinion?
melalia
20-03-2007, 02:38 PM
Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM) is the first technical public university in Malaysia. Located at Ayer Keroh Melaka, 15 minutes to Malacca Town (by bus).. it's, offer 5 courses; electrical eng., mechanical eng., manufacturing eng., electronic and computer eng., and computer science... have 3 campus; main campus at durian tunggal, which for faculty of electrical eng., and fac.of electronic and computer eng.. Industrial campus at taman tasik utama, ayer keroh, for fac.of mechanical eng. and fac.of manufacturing eng.. City campus is for Master level.. you can find the informations at www.utem.edu.my . for me, as UTeM's 3rd year student, this university is the best place for engineering field. it is because, it offers 'hands-on' academic system (70% practical, 30% teory). most of the lecturer came from multinational company, in/out of the country. the silibus also related with industry requirements..
facilities
- 5 kolej kediaman pelajar
- 19 Buses used to bring student from hostel to campus (shuttle)
- great cafetaria
- sports facilities for student.
- free wi-fi at campus.
06-06-2007, 02:21 PM
I would recommennd Multimedia University.it is bcoz:
1. quite cheap(E&E 8000-foundation 48000-degree)
2. good facility.
3. good environment.(got overseas students here--most from west asia n africa. don't look down on them, their english is fantastic!)
......n many more advantages.
U won't regret la if u study at MMU
4 more info, plz refer www.mmu.edu.my
06-06-2007, 08:38 PM
IMO, UM is rather best known in Malaysia...
littlepiglet
06-06-2007, 11:26 PM
i heard some rumors said the qualities of UM is drop down already, i not very sure in it. But i heard UTM is not bad. And they are more specify in engineering course.... That's what i heard...
06-06-2007, 11:51 PM
but UM is the only one university in malaysia which offers environmental engineering...(my desired course)..pardon me for the biased..hehe.. :D
08-06-2007, 10:56 AM
My suggestions are
UTP
UNITEN
MMU
UM
UTM
day_dreamer
08-06-2007, 11:03 AM
NUS ? :lol:
Or NTU ?? :lol:
08-06-2007, 11:34 AM
Are these local??
08-06-2007, 11:34 AM
Are these local?? :? :? :? :?
littlepiglet
08-06-2007, 12:16 PM
NUS or NTU not local university. there are Singapore Univesity.
i heard NTU is better, now the singapore news also said NTU engineering graduate get the starting salary higher than the other institute engineering graduate in singapore. Mm... Just my opinion, NUS is better in medicine and business.
lost_prophet
17-06-2007, 05:13 PM
how come onli one person mention utem? does anyone know bout the uni?
18-06-2007, 09:37 AM
how come onli one person mention utem? does anyone know bout the uni?
dear lost_prophet, I am not quite sure about UtTeM as I never been there before and I dint survey on it.
Well, At least I can give you this website, have a look then.
http://www.utem.edu.my/default.html
Chrisntine
22-04-2008, 02:25 PM
I would recommennd Multimedia University.it is bcoz:
1. quite cheap(E&E 8000-foundation 48000-degree)
2. good facility.
3. good environment.(got overseas students here--most from west asia n africa. don't look down on them, their english is fantastic!)
......n many more advantages.
U won't regret la if u study at MMU
4 more info, plz refer www.mmu.edu.my
bt as far as i noe, mmu do offer E&E?? 1 of the admin told me the courses in mmu are too specific. if study over thr, it will hard to find a job. actually i wan to stdy thr but after hearing wat she said, i had changed my mind. btw, i goin matrix soon
alepbing
22-04-2008, 02:34 PM
I do not have details on these universities, but I bet that they are among the best if you consider EE for your degree:
1. UTM johor
2. USM penang
3. UKM bangi
UM is not bad, but people prefer something less technical in UM like medicine and law.
if you prefer private universities, then UTP and UniTen are good choices. YOu might want to consider MMU as well
Chrisntine
22-04-2008, 02:40 PM
what i have heard of other ppl said is the facilities in UNITEN is good. last month, i have try to apply uniten. but i fail. sob. they said uniten is good in engineering.
yana89
28-04-2008, 08:35 AM
i think UTM may be da rite choice...:amuse
28-04-2008, 08:51 AM
i think UTM may be da rite choice...:amuse
UTM is good but still i would say UTeM is better...as i come across many well-potential and successful malaysian engineer graduate from UTem...
Chrisntine
03-05-2008, 11:46 AM
how about UniMap?
okaywhy
26-06-2008, 02:48 PM
UTeM was the runner-up in this year's ROBOCON competition (a national competition deals with robotics). The highest ranking for local public universities, ahead of many so-called branded universities like UTP, UM, UKM, UTM, UPM etc...
tomatoinc
26-06-2008, 09:09 PM
as someone that only heard of local uni thru friends, employers, industry, research output and oversea reputation:
1) UM : good reputation with employers, record of strict entrance, internationally recognised. some amount of decent research
2) UTP/MMU/UNITEN: hard to say who is the best, but all three are unique in its industry-focused, internship, scholarship opportunities (esp utp), strict entry (UTP), good reputation with local employers (mostly). almost lacking of research. i suspect these universities are modelled against German technical institutes - churning good technically competent + rounded engineers.
3) UTM - research focused in undergraduate/graduate levels. good faculties (lecturers) and facilities. the let down would be - large graduating classes with some dubious engineers coming thru (not to mention easier entry requirement), large class leading to poor levle of education. U gotta be first class grad to be properly recognised (my opinion)
4) USM,UiTM (shah alam)
what's UTem?? while their website seem decent, nearly all (95%) of the lecturers/prof/assoc prof have only masters/bachelor degrees. seems to be too new to have reputation or proper facilities. no offence, coz the teaching is probably excellent. but in my book, it's more like a polytech for diploma engineers/technicians than universities. [that sounds so snoobish..but it's not really]
yen_05
27-06-2008, 01:28 AM
Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM) offers all engineering courses, established in around year 2001 as a University College (formerly known as Kolej Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka). UTeM is known as the first technical university in Malaysia due to the courses offered only focusing in engineering field. It's not a famous and established public university as compared to UM or UTM, but the demand for UTeM graduates are high in industries due to the specific courses of studies. This year, UTeM is having their fourth convocation, so it is still a very new public university to be known by others. Regardless of that, I can say that the this place offers a great choices of engineering courses for those who are interested. Basically, in other university there are only limited majors that we can choose but in here, take for example, Faculty of Manufacturing Engineering, there are 5 degree majors available:
(i) Bachelor of Manufacturing Engineering majoring in Management
(ii) Bachelor of Manufacturing Engineering majoring in Process
(iii) Bachelor of Manufacturing Engineering majoring in Design
(iv) Bachelor of Manufacturing Engineering majoring in Material
(v) Bachelor of Manufacturing Engineering majoring in Robotics and Automation
Same goes to the Electrical Engineering Faculty, there are 4 or 5 majors available depends on which course you choose.
Additional info: Apart from that, being a technical university (which do not have any art or music faculty), UTeM has twice won the Inter Public University Musical Fiesta since 2007.
Watch: http://youtube.com/watch?v=E9a67Jl6Pvs
Read this: http://www.malaysia-students.com/2006/11/on-kolej-universiti-teknikal.html
vikraman
27-06-2008, 04:21 AM
how about foreign university w/ local branch campus? Monash and Nottingham immediately come to mind. As far as undergraduate is concerned I think notts is pretty good because of the long UK engineering history. Is there budget issues?
SaLiNi
27-06-2008, 11:38 PM
The list of academic programs conducted by the university
DIPLOMA PROGRAMS
Diploma in Electronic Engineering
Diploma in Electric Engineering
Diploma in Mechanical Engineering
Diploma in Manufacturing Engineering
Diploma in Information and Communication Technology
BACHELOR Programs
Bachelor of Computer Science (Software Development)
Bachelor of Computer Science (COmputer Network)
Bachelor of Computer Science (Interactive Media)
Bachelor of Computer Science (Database)
Bachelor of Computer Science(Artificial Intelligence)
Bachelor of Mechanical (Structure & Material)
Bachelor of Mechanical (Design & Innovation)
Bachelor of Mechanical (Thermal Fluid)
Bachelor of Mechanical (Automation)
Bachelor of Electronic Engineering (Telecommunication Electronic)
Bachelor of Electronic Engineering (Computer Engineering)
Bachelor of Electronic Engineering (Industrial Electronics)
Bachelor of Electronic Engineering (Wireless Communication)
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Control, Instrumentation and Automation)
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Industrial Power)
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (Power Electronics and Drives)
Bachelor of Mechatronic Engineering
The Manufacturing Faculty Mojoring are already listed by Yen...
The teaching and learning at the university adopts the practice and application approach which comprise of:
Competency based development
Action based learning
Simulation of real situations and problems
Solving industry related issues
The UTeM students are required to undergo industrial training for a period of six month (bachelor programs) and three months (diploma programs)
okaywhy
29-06-2008, 02:46 PM
what's UTem?? while their website seem decent, nearly all (95%) of the lecturers/prof/assoc prof have only masters/bachelor degrees. seems to be too new to have reputation or proper facilities. no offence, coz the teaching is probably excellent. but in my book, it's more like a polytech for diploma engineers/technicians than universities. [that sounds so snoobish..but it's not really]
Same goes to other local public universities.
tomatoinc
29-06-2008, 08:37 PM
okaywhy: i think some established universities like UM, UTM, USM do have a more 'solid' lineup of faculty members.
utem advocator: I hope utem is not just a degree-mill. with good solid visionary university leaders and faculty, I am sure UTEM will go places. UMP sounds like a similar uni too
okaywhy
30-06-2008, 01:13 AM
okaywhy: i think some established universities like UM, UTM, USM do have a more 'solid' lineup of faculty members.
It depends on how you define the 'solidity' of faculty members. The lecturers in UTeM would have at least a Master's degree. I've seen some from renowned institutions like Imperial College London, Kyoto University etc. Plus, many of them are still doing their doctorates on study leaves. Compared to the so-called more established local universities, UTeM has more teaching staff with the qualification of professional/chartered engineer.
Well, it is not rather superficial to judge a university merely based on the number of phDs it has instead of the education system and the students performance in major competitions?
tomatoinc
30-06-2008, 02:22 PM
okaywhy: check this out:
UM http://civil.eng.um.edu.my/Staffs
http://mechanical.eng.um.edu.my/
full doctorates: 18 EE 15 Mechanical
UTEM
http://www.utem.edu.my/fke/Staff_MainPage.htm
http://www.utem.edu.my/fkm/portal/index.php?option=com_contact&catid=25&Itemid=3
full doctorates: 5 EE 3 Mechanical
The qualification of the faculty give a strong indication of its research ability and performance. If the aim of the institution is merely to "teach", then yes, perhaps you should get some B.E. grads with Diploma Penguruan instead. that's probably a better teacher.
Student performance in "major" competitions should be a measure? well, then, we have to see what "major" competition you are talking about. ability to compete = ability to performa s engineer? i doubt that too.
anyway, no intention to put down any university, but i believe there IS alreayd an existing effort to upgrade its teaching staff, judging from the number of lecturers on study leave - which is great. :)
nazerrul_za8
13-07-2008, 11:07 PM
UNMC is good too..its 9th in d uk ranking..plus its mechanical faculty is vewy femes though..join us now..!!visit d Nottingham university Malaysia campus in Semenyih..
meihong
14-01-2010, 09:08 PM
For electronic engineering do you guys think UTM or UTeM is better? :nod
GuanTyng
17-04-2010, 12:49 AM
I recommend UniMAP!!!
It is a school which emphasizes on practicals while at the same time not neglecting the theory as well. It is different from the conventional universities like UM, UKM and USM. It is similar to UTM and I would say UniMAP is good for electronics engineering students because it is the only universities which provides chip waffering training.
iyouweblog
17-04-2010, 01:20 AM
i m in a dilemma now..... would like to further study in e&e.
1)matrics> University Malaya Engineering
2)foundation> Nottingham
1 or 2 which one will be better choice (job opportunity, starting salary) without money constraint ? really need suggestions.
17-04-2010, 02:54 AM
2)foundation> Nottingham
1 or 2 which one will be better choice (job opportunity, starting salary) without money constraint ? really need suggestions.
I guess it will be Nottingham then. I have a few seniors doing their engineering at Nottingham and they recommend me and my friends to go there. As for the starting salary, i guess it will be about the same for both. Anyway, its just my opinion.
iyouweblog
17-04-2010, 10:40 PM
I guess it will be Nottingham then. I have a few seniors doing their engineering at Nottingham and they recommend me and my friends to go there. As for the starting salary, i guess it will be about the same for both. Anyway, its just my opinion.
how about i choose the 1st route matric> um/usm and then later i will do master in nottingham?
18-04-2010, 01:23 AM
how about i choose the 1st route matric> um/usm and then later i will do master in nottingham?
Well, if you do matrics, then you will have to work really hard to strive four flats so that you will be considered by UM/USM. It is also a good path for you but you can never be sure that UM/USM will offer the course you like if you don't do well in your matrics. Nevertheless, I think you can do well in matrics too. So you can give it a shot and save your parents' money!! Both paths are good and its up to you now to decide which one you prefer the most. :laugh
bush26
18-04-2010, 08:14 AM
MIT is the best !!!
iyouweblog
18-04-2010, 09:11 AM
MIT is the best !!!
yup, we knew that but extremely difficult to enter MIT... if you know the path, pls share with us here.... =)
does MIT receive malaysia local uni degree cert for their master program? :huh
matabumi
18-04-2010, 10:14 AM
yup, we knew that but extremely difficult to enter MIT... if you know the path, pls share with us here.... =)
does MIT receive malaysia local uni degree cert for their master program? :huh
Mara Institute of Technology.
jerrylinn
18-04-2010, 10:48 AM
2)foundation> Nottingham
I faced the same probelm too.. choosing whether to study matriculation penang or nottingham malaysia campus.. I wanted to study civil engineering.. Is nottingham civil engineering better than local university? will it affect my future job opportunity? some one giv some comments.. .><.
GuanTyng
19-04-2010, 12:30 AM
I faced the same probelm too.. choosing whether to study matriculation penang or nottingham malaysia campus.. I wanted to study civil engineering.. Is nottingham civil engineering better than local university? will it affect my future job opportunity? some one giv some comments.. .><.
In my opinion, if you already get the chance to go for matriculation, you go for it.
In fact, there is no difference what you study for your pre-university's course, as long as you take still take physics classes. Then, after the matriculation, you still can choose whether or not you want to continue to be an engineering. Well, it is like a buffer system for you to consider deeper whether the job of facing mathematics and physics all day is a cup of coffee for you. If you directly enroll to an engineering-orientated course before your pre-uni course, you might be regret on your choice.
I don't really understand why are you already considering Masters program while you guys are still in Matrix level. It is good to look forward but you will have to calculate your money as well. Ask your parents whether are they comfortable to send you to Nottingham U. If you are comfortable with money, then you will have to ask somebody in Nottingham U about the classes there.
Otherwise, it is wise to choose a more economical route - Local Public Uni..
As for the MIT, it is not impossible that none of you can apply. Well, I have seen a few Malaysians have applied there and got accepted with almost full financial aid (means they do not really need to worry about tuition fees and living costs.)
However, most of the MIT applicants from Malaysia went for A-Levels or STPM or IB or SAM before they applied. And, of course, you must be an exceptional student to apply.
I myself have thought of that as well but I didn't really score in my STPM, so I got into UniMAP and I am now pursuing Environmental Engineering Course. (which it is another concentration out of Civil Engineering).
After all, I just share my piece of views lah... The decision is still in your hands... Remember, follow your heart to choose what you want to be or do in the future. Don't just choose to be an engineering because it is glamorous or because your parents/friends/teacher told you so..
Good luck for everything.. ^^
19-04-2010, 11:21 AM
of coz UM la== not UTM pls...coz my mum noe the vice chancellor of utm...and when he heard bout my mum's daugther get 4flat in stpm...he phoned my mum and congrated her and tell her not to ask her daugther to go into utm...as utm is not good at all.
Mind telling me the reason the vice chancellor of UTM told your mum to not send you/your sister to there because from what I can gather, UTM is quite a good place for engineering besides UM, UTeM, UTP, UNITEN etc etc etc. I know UM is also very good, but why not UTM?
lpsoldier007
19-04-2010, 12:19 PM
of coz UM la== not UTM pls...coz my mum noe the vice chancellor of utm...and when he heard bout my mum's daugther get 4flat in stpm...he phoned my mum and congrated her and tell her not to ask her daugther to go into utm...as utm is not good at all.
defamation. your statement here can lead to the vc's dismissal you know.
Robertjz
29-04-2010, 10:22 PM
how abt mmu ?
skyranger
04-05-2010, 10:00 AM
MMU are good for engineering courses ???
04-05-2010, 10:55 AM
People told me it's synonymous with UTAR, or actually better. :wink
Dkpeyeres
06-05-2010, 11:55 PM
How about mechanical engineering programmes ?
07-05-2010, 12:35 AM
I thought for engineering it's UTM? along with MMU
vick5821
09-06-2011, 11:38 AM
How about USM?
melindaL
09-06-2011, 09:12 PM
vick: I heard that many companies prefer grads from USM.
Garfield93
09-06-2011, 10:03 PM
how bout grads from Uniten??
cloverr
11-06-2011, 02:49 PM
if ur family can afford or u can get scholarship, is better for u to go nottingham. cause u cannot make sure that u will get the course u want if u study matriculation although u get 4.0.