View Full Version : Preparations to US (Any Question On US Unis Go Here)
09-05-2004, 10:12 AM
ElansarGelmir, on your question of whether double degree or masters are allowed, it would be case by case basically. I doubt anyone is trying for double degree... Perhaps there are. But, for Master, it is case by case. You can submit an application. But you need to have strong reasons to get approval. Support letter from your academic advisor, good CGPA, admission from prestigious universities for Master, support letter from MSD etc. Basic rule is not direct approval, but there are people who get approval. Apply early, like 1 or 2 years ahead, and plan well ahead.
09-05-2004, 01:59 PM
oh yar.. in the talk by Cik Intan last Friday.. she mentioned that as long as u get a 3.75 CGPA and above, u'll be able to continue to pursue ur Masters under JPA...
and if u are at the borderline, u might stand a chance to do so if and only if ur grades have been consistent (3.33 and above for every single semester)
so ok....now for the packing list, stationaries(small items)..., useful books which aren't too bulky(i dun think there's any book which isn't bulky...hehehee)....
and for cultural thingy, wat do u think we should bring...
i know that we should bring postcards too... especially those of Malaysia sceneries.... and keychains too...(thinking aloud here)
09-05-2004, 02:33 PM
Try to find out which text books you might need if possible and get them from Malaysia. Text books are soooooo much more expensive in here :(. Even if it's like RM100 in Kinokuniya, well the price here might be $100. You get the picture!
09-05-2004, 09:10 PM
Hmm... I hope those books won't weigh much. Anyway, for the culture thingy, I plan to bring paper fan (the Chinese paper fans)... Do you think that's acceptable? I'm not going to bring any songkoks or baju melayu there. No way...
Haha, what about some plastic durian fruits? I doubt they have seen durians before, and since we can't bring it on the plane, might have as well have an artifcial one. Or maybe when we are there, we can make some rojak for them to try? Or cook some Malaysian dishes for them. Just thinking...
10-05-2004, 01:33 AM
Hmm... I hope those books won't weigh much. Anyway, for the culture thingy, I plan to bring paper fan (the Chinese paper fans)... Do you think that's acceptable? I'm not going to bring any songkoks or baju melayu there. No way...
Haha, what about some plastic durian fruits? I doubt they have seen durians before, and since we can't bring it on the plane, might have as well have an artifcial one. Or maybe when we are there, we can make some rojak for them to try? Or cook some Malaysian dishes for them. Just thinking...
i dun think you can findly find books which ain't heavy... try to imagine books like the Calculus book we are having now.....
aquila
10-05-2004, 09:33 AM
lol... u wanna bring durian?
i suggest you forgo the idea... what if the plastic leaks? imagine the smell on the plane?!?!?!
haha... i love durians to be honest... but you can easily find them in Asian markets over here... so my advice is to save yourself some trouble...
I don't think the textbooks will be that heavy after all... imagine the $$$ you will save!!! After finishing your semester you can even sell the books to Amazon at American dollars.. ;P
well, you will easily spend $500 on books alone first semester... imagine one textbook costing around $120 ++. If you're taking a foreign language and need a dictionary, the costs will go soaring high! i'm so not kidding!
10-05-2004, 10:34 PM
lol... u wanna bring durian?
i suggest you forgo the idea... what if the plastic leaks? imagine the smell on the plane?!?!?!
aquila, when i say plastic durian, i didn't say durians in plastics. I mean an artificial durian made by plastic. Hehe...
Anyway, are we going to use our Calculus text book in INTEC in the States? if yes, I will buy one.
10-05-2004, 10:47 PM
do contact your seniors in your future unis,ask them what kind of books are being used there.i guess most of you will be taking either calculus,physics:mechanic,chem,and 2 other general educations for your 1st sem.
so do email your senior and ask them what kind of books that they are using in your uni.and if they dont mind,ask them to check it in the bookstores since you know they might change the editions and stuff.
i bought most of my books from malaysia.even now,i still ask my parents to post them for me.no way i am going to spend usd 500 for books per sem when JPA only give usd 600 for a year (2 sems+ 2 summer sessions).and mind me,jpa will only bank in this money on nov 2004 for you guys.yeap,you'll run out of cash before you can think about it.
the same chem book that i bought in malaysia costed me RM 66 but in USA it's usd 120.do some currency exchange and you know what i mean.
you can bring 2 big bags when you fly to usa,if you think you have to many stuff,just put all your text book in a carry-in duffle bag and put the bag inside the plane.as simple as that.
that will prevent your pockets from having too many dents.
10-05-2004, 10:53 PM
Wah... do you think it's a MUST to have text books? The books seem to be like sold in an exorbitant prices. Is it possible to study without possessing one?
CyberJaya
10-05-2004, 10:55 PM
Oh yeah, to ATU seniors, does JPA allow you to take up any courses you want in the States (like double degree or masters) as long as it's accomplished within 4 years time or they only allow double major? Coz that day Cik Intan Liyana came by and told us in her speech that we are not allowed to do anything extra like double degree or master except double major. Hmm... I asked her personally somemore for about 3 times, and 3 times also she says NO. I feel it's a little funny since my senior in Brandeis is doing master currently.
What is a double degree?
10-05-2004, 11:01 PM
i can't study with textbooks.textbooks here are like buku rujukan in malaysia.some lecturers ask questions from the textbooks,eg:soc,psycho.
i think some textbooks are available at the library but you can't take them out.you can only read there in library.given that most of you will be attending new england's unis,the weather should be taken into account.you don't want to drag your legs to the library while gutsy and nippy wind billowing at your face.and when you arrive at the library,you realize someone else is using them.
should check with your seniors.if you dont have one.check with the profs.i did that.did get good replies.
all of all,buy your textbooks in malaysia.never and ever buy them at usa.except the solution manuals,since there are not sold in malaysia.
10-05-2004, 11:04 PM
double degree: degree such as that you have degrees in both math and physics,i think you have to take an extra like 40 credit hours for that.so basically those having double degrees might finished their studies in 5 years instead of four.
it's different then majoring in physics and minoring in math.in this case,you only have one degree.
10-05-2004, 11:14 PM
let me reclarify on double degree and double major. Typically, if you are taking 2 majors in same college ( i mean like college of engineering), that is called double major. If you are taking 2 majors in different college, says economics and electrical engineering, then it is double degree.
On textbooks, it depends on your usage. Over here in Cornell, some textbooks are more used and some textbooks are less used. However, typically what we do is to utilize borrow direct and borrow those books from other universities. It is completely free of charge and you can use them for a month. So, the process repeats itself, and we borrow from other universities, since there are 6 universities that provide free books borrowing to Cornell (i.e. Princeton, Yale, UPenn, Dartmouth, Brown and Columbia)...
Another thing to mention, the professors here tend to change the edition of textbook whenever possible.
On whether textbooks are needed, it depends. Typically out of 5-6 courses I am taking, I get a couple of textbooks. Usually I use borrow direct.
CyberJaya
10-05-2004, 11:21 PM
How can a person cope with the demands of a double degree(2 degrees at the same time at different colleges)? Is it possible? Do you know anyone that has done it?
10-05-2004, 11:28 PM
Perhaps you have a misconceptions on 2 different colleges. What I mean and I think I clarified earlier is like College of Engineering, College of Arts and Science of same university.
It is very possible to do that. To graduate, it will be something like 180 credit hours, instead of like 120-130 credit hours.
CyberJaya
10-05-2004, 11:31 PM
So are you awarded two degrees? for exp,
bsc electrical engineering
ba economics?
11-05-2004, 04:36 AM
Yeah, if it is double degree, you will get 2 degrees. Double major will not grant you two degrees since both are with the same degree.
So, basically we can look at it as if you have one major with B.Sc and another one with B.A., then it is double major.
Anyway, I think getting double major, double degree, minors etc are not that important, the most important thing is to learn as much soft skills as possible and be technically competent and you should be fine.
windy_city
11-05-2004, 10:10 AM
So are you awarded two degrees? for exp,
bsc electrical engineering
ba economics?
No. Depend on what are you doing, I am doing double major now, econ and engineering.
But in the end, i will get one degree only, but with econ and my enigeering major, it is different from double degree.
11-05-2004, 08:41 PM
I think that's only allowed by JPA kua. Basically, double major is much easier coz the requirements overlap, right? But Windy_city, how come you can do 2 majors from different colleges and yet still doing double major?
tree007
20-05-2004, 11:41 PM
yo seniors!!!
deperate junior here!!
i just received the medical report form, which is due back to the university...
just wanna ask:
1stly, where did u guy took the meningitis n MMR jabs n the TUberculin Kin tests? (i'm sure none had it rite? )...
2ndly... this one pay ourselves ah?
3rdly.. the information, if not accurate nvm wan rite? (e.g. date of the jabs of vacsination)
lastly... did u guy have this crap last time anyway? :P
thanks a lot!!
n for those who r coming back, do come home!!!!! :P
windy_city
21-05-2004, 12:50 AM
I think that's only allowed by JPA kua. Basically, double major is much easier coz the requirements overlap, right? But Windy_city, how come you can do 2 majors from different colleges and yet still doing double major?
It is possible because I am only fulfilling my degree requirement for engineering (example taking all the basic sciences and math stuff and off course my major subject in industrial engineering) plus taking all the major subjects for econ. I get double major but not double degree because I will not fulfill the degree requirement of the econ for example writing class, seminars, humanities??..
But it is possible to get double major in econ and engineering, the only tradeoff, work harder and like econ!!(If you like money, you will most probably like econ (especially corporate finance, economic forecasting???) Hahah, but anyway, interest is the most important thing in deciding whether you want to go for a second major or second degree.
21-05-2004, 02:31 AM
1stly, where did u guy took the meningitis n MMR jabs n the TUberculin Kin tests? (i'm sure none had it rite? )...
>>I guess most clinics (at least privates one should have it)
2ndly... this one pay ourselves ah?
>> Yeah, pay on our own
3rdly.. the information, if not accurate nvm wan rite? (e.g. date of the jabs of vacsination)
>> It is supposed to be correct. Basically, if it is not accurate, and anything happens to you (touchwood), then you will be in trouble. 99% students will be fine... So, if you are unlucky to be that 1%, then...
aquila
21-05-2004, 04:58 AM
I got my tuberculin test in a public hospital. It was pretty quick because not many people take tuberculin tests (in fact none when I went). So there probably won't be a line. Plus you save a lot of money doing that.
MMR stands for measles, mumps and rubella. I think if you were born after 1988, doctors (at least those from private hospitals) started administering MMR shots, so check with your mum. Girls get rubella shots in school when they're 7 and 15. Guys, check again. I was born in a public hospital and I got my mumps shot when I was little, so you probably got yours too. I contracted measles when I was a baby so I got natural immunization. I know my rubella shots work because my 3 brothers got German measles 4 years ago and my parents and I are the only ones who didn't catch them.
If you can help it, try getting all your shots back home. BEcause medical costs here are excruciatingly high. Get your meningitis shot at home too. It costs like RM80, I think. If you get one here, it'll be 80 all right but USD 80. I'm travelling to East Africa in a month and I got my immunizations and malarial pills for 2 months. Basically shots for typhoid, Hep A, polio booster, yellow fever and a final one, which I can't remember. I paid $500. Again, that's in USD. I hope you get the idea and get all your shots back home.
Good luck!
tree007
22-05-2004, 12:19 AM
thanks for info!! willl definitely get the shots done here...
btw.. just wanna ask... errr... 1tsly.. the medical form, if they din't say neeed to be filled by doctor, we can fil it up ourselves rite?
2ndly... do we need to show any proof that we had those shots?
thanks a lot for ur help ya~....
more quesiotns coming up maybe..
hehe.. wat to do.. desperate.. :P
22-05-2004, 12:40 AM
I guess it depends on school.
For Cornell, you don't have to show proof, but you need to be certified by a doctor that what you fill in is correct.
22-05-2004, 12:44 AM
Are we allowed to bring our personal medication (e.g. Panadols, ponstans, and hand cream, and stuffs) to the States? Coz i heard that we need the doc's prescription to get those pills, and the cost of consulting the docs is exuberantly high.
22-05-2004, 12:59 AM
I think you can bring, but don't bring tons of it...Just sufficient for personal consumption. Medical cost is expensive over here.
22-05-2004, 01:10 AM
Ok, but do you know how "much" are we allowed to bring them in? Oh yeah, is it feasible to get our winter clothing here in Malaysia or there?
22-05-2004, 01:14 AM
Consult the seniors in your universities.
But generally get those normal sweater, like the one you wear in Genting back in Malaysia and the rest get here. There are tons of factory outlet stores for you to buy.
On how much, I am not sure... as much as you need.
b_ronick
22-05-2004, 01:22 PM
if we bring those medications over, do we need to declare it?
23-05-2004, 02:54 AM
wait... let me make a list
1. stationary
2. textbooks
3. bedsheets
4. sweaters
5. medication
6. documents
7. computer
8. bahasa melayu dictionary??
9. souvenirs
10. national costume
11. malaysian flag??
hehe....
23-05-2004, 07:56 PM
1. stationary
2. textbooks
3. bedsheets
4. sweaters
5. medication
6. documents
7. computer
8. bahasa melayu dictionary??
9. souvenirs
10. national costume
11. malaysian flag??
hehe....
12. Don't forget your clothes and a few toiletries
06-07-2004, 09:06 PM
But generally get those normal sweater, like the one you wear in Genting back in Malaysia and the rest get here. There are tons of factory outlet stores for you to buy.
Be warn that most sweaters you buy from M'sia might give you a nightmare in static electricity once you get here. After I came here I stopped wearing almost all my M'sia bought sweaters because it hurts everytime I put them on / take them off. I hope some physics major can explain this phenomena.
if we bring those medications over, do we need to declare it?
Not really unless you medication falls under some other category (e.g. you have to eat certain live animals... j/k)
kucingbiru
07-07-2004, 01:36 AM
1. stationary (it's a must. i brought a pilot pen that i use it until now)
3. bedsheets (it's quite cheap here. in fact, the size of the mattress might be different. i think you should buy it here).
4. sweaters (you dont need it if you're going to arizona or something)
7. computer (if you're going to bring a desktop, forget it. if you wanna bring ur files (mp3s or something), then bring a hard drive or burn them of a cd).
07-07-2004, 05:58 AM
unless u r going to US in winter time or else there's no point buying an expensive yet not so compatible winter jacket back home.
just another of my experience. there's really no need to bring a lotsa maggi mee or spices to US. unless u r going to a kampung or farm, u can get those stuff in the asian grocery store which i believe exist almost everywhere in US. u can take this chance to check out all the instant noodles from around the world. (another thing to boast to your friend when u r back next time? lol)
instead of bringing maggi mee like what a dumb guy like me did last time, bring some instant herb tea or maybe some nescafe 3 in 1 (pretty hard to get at where i live), u know what u want but the point is just pack what u really need and travel light. it's really not a pleasant experience where u have to carry tonnes of luggages while finding out where to go, what to do next, walking around the airport trying to look for a cab,etc.
remember u r not going to africa, no need to bring every single little thing. u can get most of the things u need except mom's homecook food. maybe bring ur mom together to solve all the daily problem for u ? lol
abepsu
07-07-2004, 08:17 PM
I would say that medications are very important. especially traditional meds. Bring along some chit kit pills, minyak mestika, minyak gamat (handy when I got scratches of playing soccer), minyak cap kapak dll. You wont be able to get them here :D
Some of us couldn't live wihout a handy minyak cap kapak (one of them is me hehe)
Dont buy those expensive winter clothings from Malaysia. Buy them here. Much cheaper and more choices. Long john and regular sweaters will do.
Kavita
09-07-2004, 03:00 PM
Hi....would like to find out where I can get the outlet adaptor? Ive looked all over but cant seem to find it.
09-07-2004, 04:07 PM
Try going to imbi or low yat.
I got my adapter for Germany there.
Also you need a transformer because voltage in USA is 110 volts.
Some appliances have a switch.
Kavita
12-07-2004, 12:48 PM
Thanx kelvinlym I shall go there this weekend
tree007
12-07-2004, 02:53 PM
ohya.. seniors...
err.. b4 u all fly last time... did u all have this medical checkup thingy?
i mean.. sicne atu 10 all go back to their respective states dy, how's JPA gonna conduct the test?
my hunch is complete the medical test n mail the report to JPA? is that so? weird that they din mention anything about this during the last JPA breifing session...
pls enlighten me.... thnks...
12-07-2004, 02:59 PM
uh... we need another medical checkup? can't we just use our uni's health report form and give JPA a copy of it?
jagganatha
13-07-2004, 08:42 AM
ya i wanted to know about this too.. also PLEASE i need to know how to get UMICH -ANN ARBOR Health Form.. please somebody
teckhuavi
14-07-2004, 07:51 AM
The medical check up which you have sybmitted to JPA earlier is valid while you were in Malaysia. So if your univ. require a new medical report, you will need to do it one more time....
INTAN LIANA BAKARUDDIN
Assistant Director
Training Division
Public Service Department
MALAYSIA
14-07-2004, 01:53 PM
The medical check up which you have sybmitted to JPA earlier is valid while you were in Malaysia. So if your univ. require a new medical report, you will need to do it one more time....
INTAN LIANA BAKARUDDIN
Assistant Director
Training Division
Public Service Department
MALAYSIA
Errr... is this message from you or from INTAN? Hmmm... do we need to bring a health cert with us when we fly?
teckhuavi
14-07-2004, 06:11 PM
aiyah...if i'm the author i would not put Intan's name down there mah. She e-mailed me.
sKYwalker
14-07-2004, 07:51 PM
jagganatha Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:42 am Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ya i wanted to know about this too.. also PLEASE i need to know how to get UMICH -ANN ARBOR Health Form.. please somebody
jaggannatha, u can try http://wolverineaccess.umcih.edu
15-07-2004, 01:01 PM
well, erm, more like http://wolverineaccess.umich.edu
btw, anyone going to UW?
15-07-2004, 01:33 PM
I thought the university is supposed to send you that along with the acceptance letter?
anyway, people that are coming here to ann arbor should join wolverinemalaya.com.
Its the website from UM MSA. Questions on what to do, where to find, wasssssssssssssupppppppppp could be asked there.
Plus, the question why Buckeye sucks could definately be asked there too.
15-07-2004, 06:30 PM
I thought the university is supposed to send you that along with the acceptance letter?
anyway, people that are coming here to ann arbor should join wolverinemalaya.com.
Its the website from UM MSA. Questions on what to do, where to find, wasssssssssssssupppppppppp could be asked there.
anyway, although i have my Uniquename... my Umich Uniqname.. i wonder where can i check my UMich email.... wolverineaccess??
pls enlighten me... thankx..
cryzpene
16-07-2004, 02:15 PM
Hey ATU 10,
are you guys having juniors now? I just realized that your summer session will be over soon.
Buy lots of cheap t-shirts and shorts back in Malaysia. You'll appreciate them when you're indoors.
Buy boxers too. They are horrendously expensive here except during sales.
Another good advice. Do not leave home with a gf or bf unless your family have pre-arranged you to marry her or him. You'll save one tankerload of worries and insecurities.
Your senior who knows how to live well.
16-07-2004, 04:57 PM
well, erm, more like http://wolverineaccess.umich.edu
btw, anyone going to UW?
me & another 5. al2gether 6 from intec.
16-07-2004, 04:58 PM
Another good advice. Do not leave home with a gf or bf unless your family have pre-arranged you to marry her or him. You'll save one tankerload of worries and insecurities.
haha...
16-07-2004, 06:17 PM
Buy boxers too. They are horrendously expensive here except during sales.
boxers?for me there are the most hideous thing ever to be created for men.seriously,sharing communal bathroom with americans and watching them parading in their boxers make me sick of my bathrooms.
guys,buy briefs.not da grandpa type,please you gonna be 20.soon or later,you gonna take ur pants off.buy well-designed briefs in malls.BUM/NIKE/PUMA come out with the best designs.plus,buy sport briefs too,helped you when you are working out.
and they all cost less than RM 50.have fun shopping.
windy_city
17-07-2004, 09:51 AM
Dun worry. Not all university hostels have communal bathroom. You will not need to see people parading in their undies.
Many dorms in US came with private bathrooms.
20-07-2004, 02:51 AM
haha...
Is that a nervous laugh or what? un worry lar, she's very faithful one... after all, u're not leaving her behind... in fact, she's flying there too mah! LOL! All the best, dude!
Oh yeah, seniors, is it advisable to buy our winter clothing in Malaysia or in US? how about long john?
20-07-2004, 02:52 AM
Dun worry. Not all university hostels have communal bathroom. You will not need to see people parading in their undies.
ARghhh!!! I have a lofted room (3 guys to a room), and got to use a communal bathroom! Wah lau...
20-07-2004, 04:43 AM
Oh yeah, seniors, is it advisable to buy our winter clothing in Malaysia or in US? how about long john?
I would just get 2 or 3 sweaters. Winter jacket get from here. Winter clothes are very bulky and take up a lot of space. Also it's not necessary during the fall to have a heavey jacket.
long johns...i got them but i've never used them. after awhile you just get used to the weather i guess.
windy_city
20-07-2004, 05:51 AM
ARghhh!!! I have a lofted room (3 guys to a room), and got to use a communal bathroom! Wah lau...
you are just unlucky.
jagganatha
20-07-2004, 10:14 AM
wo elansar.. did you check housing properly.. bad luck my man..
jun_wolverine
20-07-2004, 02:25 PM
anyway, although i have my Uniquename... my Umich Uniqname.. i wonder where can i check my UMich email.... wolverineaccess??
pls enlighten me... thankx..
u can check ur umich email here:
http://mail.umich.edu
20-07-2004, 06:42 PM
you are just unlucky.
Sob sob... what to do? It's not that i can choose my housing in the first place... sigh... hope that i can put up with 2 other guys in my dorm. Both are Americans though... But worst is, i got a single sex floor.... wah, the whole place will stink lar (with the smell of the sweat, unless everyone's dormant there)...
Ermm... can i know overall, how are ur roommies? Are they amiable or snobbish?
gatecrasher
20-07-2004, 08:25 PM
Sob sob... what to do? It's not that i can choose my housing in the first place... sigh... hope that i can put up with 2 other guys in my dorm. Both are Americans though... But worst is, i got a single sex floor.... wah, the whole place will stink lar (with the smell of the sweat, unless everyone's dormant there)...
haha kiamsiap some more la! :twisted: you know what i mean.
anyway check this out:
how to get to KLIA for RM 6.50
Here is a HUGE tip for any budget traveler in Kuala Lumpur. As you know, it usually costs at least RM25 or RM60 to get a bus/taxi back to the airport and the shuttle bus will only pick you up at a hotel - not very convenient for most backpackers. I found an unbelievable way to get back to the airport for RM6.50!! And it takes only 10 minutes longer. I think you will find that no locals will ever tell you about this way as it would be impossible for them to get a commission. Here is what you do! Start off at the KL (old) or Sentral (new) train station. Get on the train to Nilai on Platform three. The ticket will cost you RM4.50. Make SURE you get on the train that goes to Serembang and NOT to KLANG!! (these two trains run on the same track). Take the train to Nilai (The ride is 50 minutes long on the dot. You can track the stops on the train route map in the Lonely Planet Guide to see how close you're getting though). Get off the train at Nilai. Cross the overpass to exit the platform. Exit through the ticket center and turn left. There will be a bus waiting (there will only be one bus - no other busses except the airport transfer bus are allowed to be there) for you. The bus will cost you RM2 and will transfer you to the airport - about 20 minutes!! There you have it - back to the KL airport for RM6.50! I have heard that at times the shuttle bus charges as much as RM4, but obviously this is not very significant compared to the huge savings you're getting! Trust me, this is guaranteed to work!
John Kramer, USA (Mar 02)
at http://www.lonelyplanet.com/letters/sea/mal_pc.htm
tuinkle
20-07-2004, 09:04 PM
My suggestion: PRAY :)
But seriously, the housing department people will usually try to pair you up with people that they think you can get along with (I'm not sure if you filled out a short housing questionairre, but I did anyway). Also, we were made to sign roommate contracts. A good get-to-know-you, and get-to-know-what-I-can-and-cannot-do-in-the-room thing.
I was also put in a triple, but with luck, I only had 1 other roommate. Let's just say we hit it off real well and a year later, we moved out of the dorms into an apartment, and we're still roommates (by choice, this time).
Then again, there *are* roommate horror stories.
Imagine: 2 asian girls + 1 caucasian sorrority girl + 1 caucasian frat guy: In one room, on 3 beds.
Give and take. Show courtesy. The reciprocal will hopefully follow.
Then again, if you really can't tahan from the first day itself, you can (in my school at least) file a request to switch rooms and roommates.
Then again, there *are* roommate horror stories.
Imagine: 2 asian girls + 1 caucasian sorrority girl + 1 caucasian frat guy: In one room, on 3 beds.
Wasn't the caucasian guy just paying a *visit* to the caucasian girl? oh wait, did he go there to *visit* all of the 3 girls? :twisted: ... mmm interesting interesting ... :lol:
anyway, all my roommates are asians .. my 1st semester was a korean, 2nd & 3rd was a malaysian and next semester will be a singaporean .. I don't know if there are people who think that it's better to have an american roommate for the sake of feeling the culture, but for me "no thanks" ..
windy_city
20-07-2004, 11:11 PM
you are just unlucky.
Then you are really unlucky.
Usually single sex floor stink because not all guys are that hygienic!! :D
So far I dun have roommate problem (I never have a roommate since I come here, always single). But usually it is not that bad; I have only few friends who complained about their roommates. Others get along well with their roommates. I dun mind having a roommate too, but single is just perfect!!
And pray that your roommate?s gal friend is not visiting during the weekend!!(You would not have the opportunity to get a pop corn n sit down to watch the show) You will definitely end up being "sexile"!!!
Mixed floor is the best; your life will be more "balanced" with the opposite sex people being your neighbors (guy will behave better when there are gals around!! (This is personal experience staying in a mixed floor)
All the best for you!!
21-07-2004, 12:04 AM
Argh! Ok, i was hoping to get AN American roommate, not 2! Coz the more ppl in the room, the more rules and giving and taking u must have! And yeah, i did request for Co-ed floor, but ended up in single sex instead. But on the bright side, the place i stay have more facilities and nearer to the dining lounge than the house that caters for co-ed floor. However, on the darker side, i think things can get pretty wild in the single sex floor... i dunno... hopefully everything goes well there...
How are the caucasion guys? Are they hygenic? Or are they lazy ppl? Hmm.... hopefully my roomate is not as terrible as the one i have in INTEC. LOL!
windy_city
21-07-2004, 12:11 AM
you cannot generalize how a person behave base on his/her race!!
Not every caucasian is the same!!
21-07-2004, 12:21 AM
yalar, i know.... but there's this thing called culture.... though everyone's different, i believe the way one behaves or thinks or acts is greatly influenced by his/her culture....
gatecrasher
21-07-2004, 10:42 PM
oh... assuming girls are usually more hygienic, this would be the ranking for dorms in terms of smell (best to worst):
1. all-female
2. co-ed
3. all-male
is it true? if it is, a single-sex floor wouldn't be so bad after all.
And pray that your roommate?s gal friend is not visiting during the weekend!!(You would not have the opportunity to get a pop corn n sit down to watch the show) You will definitely end up being "sexile"!!!
Mixed floor is the best; your life will be more "balanced" with the opposite sex people being your neighbors (guy will behave better when there are gals around!! (This is personal experience staying in a mixed floor)
does this work the other way round (for gals) too? any comments?
windy_city
21-07-2004, 11:20 PM
oh... assuming girls are usually more hygienic, this would be the ranking for dorms in terms of smell (best to worst):
1. all-female
2. co-ed
3. all-male
is it true? if it is, a single-sex floor wouldn't be so bad after all.
does this work the other way round (for gals) too? any comments?
True, single sex dorm is the best!! (This only applies to all female dorm though)
I dun mind being the only male staying in an all female dorm, if they accept me!! :wink:
About the ?sexile? thing, yeah it works both ways; my female friend complained to me that her roommate is so active that she is considering moving out. She just can?t stay being sexile almost every weekend!!
gatecrasher
21-07-2004, 11:28 PM
I dun mind being the only male staying in an all female dorm, if they accept me!! :wink:
:lol: :wink: :wink:
22-07-2004, 03:20 AM
How are the caucasion guys? Are they hygenic? Or are they lazy ppl?
just a note. I think that America is very very sensitive to racism. So watch out. If you asked this question aloud you may get some nasty stares or maybe even worse.
22-07-2004, 04:45 AM
hmmm,are we malaysians hard working and hygenic?
well,hmmm,what should i say,americans have dry bathrooms,becoz of that it is much more cleaner .but sharing communal bathroom is not fun.some ppl never even care to flush the toilet bowl after they urinate.so you have to do the honor for them.well,you get used with it.plus,there is not water-pipes inside the cubicle. :lol:
so be inovative!!
lazy?most white mens are smart and some can be hmm,arrogance.it's normal to hear them saying,urgh i got 100% in that exam and it's easy.though some of us may think this as being vain,soon or later we realized that this is their way of looking at certain things.i got annoyed during the early stages,now i can say "boleh blah,who give a shit whether you get 100% or not".
but then again,it's noisy on male floors ,yeas and yeas,it is noisy especially when the RA doesnt care,somebody could wake you up when they hollered on the hall way.this is especially true if you are staying in honors college or with some other smart and brainy dudes.smart ppl are always noisy.it will be darn noisier on friday's nights .
whatever it is,staying with americans really taught you a huge deal of lesson,not all are sex=machines ,some are really conservatives.not all party naked,some dont party at all.
i never came across white ppl in my uni who i could consider as racialist.they are just fine,at least with me,even those wearing hijabs never faced anything.so dont worry.usa is not what you see inside the box called tv.it's about usa.a great land to really have fun and breathe.
22-07-2004, 09:24 AM
For those who are using the communal bathrooms, be prepared to see people of the same sex walking around fully naked. hehehe
just a heads up since we seldom see that in M'sia :lol:
gatecrasher
22-07-2004, 09:35 AM
but then again,it's noisy on male floors ,yeas and yeas,it is noisy especially when the RA doesnt care,somebody could wake you up when they hollered on the hall way.this is especially true if you are staying in honors college or with some other smart and brainy dudes.smart ppl are always noisy.it will be darn noisier on friday's nights .
wah really? doesn't fit stereotypes at all!
who is quiet then?
FiAnS
22-07-2004, 10:00 AM
I would really appreciate if you guys can put up a table listing the number of students from INTEC who'll be going to their respective universities. All the best...
abdullah
22-07-2004, 11:46 AM
hmmm,are we malaysians hard working and hygenic?
A friendly reminder to both Malaysians and Americans alike:
Please remember to wash your hands after using the bathroom.
22-07-2004, 12:30 PM
I've used a communal bathroom in Singapore before, so i think i'm mentally prepared for it (those China scholars never wear anything when they walk to the bathrooms)... well, i just have to figure out how to put up with 2 americans in my dorm. not to say that i'm racist... but i've never befriended any caucasions, needless to say americans, and suddenly chuck me with 2 americans in a floor full of guys... a little cultural shock, perhaps? I hope that they are great guys to hang out with (cross my fingers). Just hope that they dun party all night and come home drunk... or on drugs or whatsoever... or leave their dirty laundry scattered everywhere on the floor... that would be a big pain on the ass...
gatecrasher
22-07-2004, 07:05 PM
I would really appreciate if you guys can put up a table listing the number of students from INTEC who'll be going to their respective universities. All the best...
just curious - why?
22-07-2004, 11:20 PM
For those who are using the communal bathrooms, be prepared to see people of the same sex walking around fully naked. hehehe
just a heads up since we seldom see that in M'sia :lol:
well,quite a sight!!ahaks.at the end of the day,e'body has the the same size. :lol:
jagganatha
26-07-2004, 10:06 AM
greetings and thanks for the info on Umich.. also wanted to know from fellow Umich mates.. have you guys already received the housing forms which eric received during the jpa talk.. not really sure what they call it.. :?: :?:
26-07-2004, 12:51 PM
yup... most of us have received the housing contract...
by the way u ask the question, can guess that u have not receive it either...
Putt hasn't receive it too.... i suggested him to call OSSP, u should call OSSP too...
26-07-2004, 03:03 PM
On medical report, I used to be able just submitting the university one to JPA, for their purpose. They are fine with it back then, not sure about now.
On whether there is a need to bring health document to the states, I would advise those that have to fill up those form to submit to the uni, just bring a photocopy of it. No harm.. Just a few pieces of paper.
On a suggestion to bring t-shirt and shorts, yeah, if you enjoy wearing it, definitely~! If you are the type that will buy a t-shirt every university, every tourist attraction you go, then you can bring less.
On long john, I am same as littlebigone. Bought a set before I came. Never even open the wrapper till today.
26-07-2004, 08:20 PM
Just hope that they dun party all night and come home drunk... or on drugs or whatsoever... or leave their dirty laundry scattered everywhere on the floor... that would be a big pain on the ass...
Be prepared, that may be the case.
Which uni u going to?
26-07-2004, 08:37 PM
Brandeis, in Boston. Err... got two americans as roomies though... Hope things turn out good.
gatecrasher
26-07-2004, 10:14 PM
can you wear t-shirts and shorts indoors during winter?
let me generalize my question:
what do you wear indoors and outdoors during winter? what extra measures do you think would be needed in chicago?
what purpose does a long john serve? if you wear long john, do you still need to wear other warm clothing?
thanks a lot!
jagganatha
27-07-2004, 10:38 AM
Thanks a million for the reply DecentMerson.. :D :D
27-07-2004, 01:49 PM
can you wear t-shirts and shorts indoors during winter?
of course you can. you could even strip naked if the heater is working.
let me generalize my question:
what do you wear indoors and outdoors during winter? what extra measures do you think would be needed in chicago?
what purpose does a long john serve? if you wear long john, do you still need to wear other warm clothing?
thanks a lot!
long john? you dont need that thing. its bs crap. a warm jacket should be enough. plus, snowcap or whatever and glove.
but no need to worry about it so soon. if you are getting to chicago in august, you should be able to enjoy the sunlight and the heat till at least mid december. snow probably won't come out till january.
windy_city
27-07-2004, 02:16 PM
This year the weather in chicago is crazy!!
Now it is about 16 Celcius. It should be damn hot, but it is so cold now!!
27-07-2004, 02:29 PM
Sound like "The Day After Tomorrow" climatic change effect...haha :lol:
windy_city
27-07-2004, 02:33 PM
Maybe, but no complaint for now. At least it is better than the hot and humid weather. But will definitely dun wan it to be very cold during fall.
Sound like "The Day After Tomorrow" climatic change effect...haha :lol:
27-07-2004, 02:42 PM
Well, you are luckier than those in Japan. Summer soon begins in this August. My sensei told us that summer in Japan is much hotter than in our motherland; at night the hot weather could make your sleep very uncomfortable without fan.
27-07-2004, 02:48 PM
Well, you are luckier than those in Japan. Summer soon begins in this August. My sensei told us that summer in Japan is much hotter than in our motherland; at night the hot weather could make your sleep very uncomfortable without fan.
summer has already started. august is more like end of summer. that should be true for all places in the northern hemisphere.
gatecrasher
27-07-2004, 09:07 PM
Maybe, but no complaint for now. At least it is better than the hot and humid weather. But will definitely dun wan it to be very cold during fall.
how hot is it usually during summer? beh tahan that kind?
how was the weather when you arrived last year? (chicago starts about the same time)
gatecrasher
27-07-2004, 09:16 PM
are imported brands (that is, imported to malaysia) such as levi's cheaper in the US? and is it easy to find the sizes available here?
27-07-2004, 10:24 PM
I think the best way to wear indoor is layering, i.e. t-shirt and shorts/pants. Personally, even at coldest time of the year, I think a t-shirt and a good sweater will do a good job already, unless you go skiing or something.
On long john, fully agree... Not needed.
Glove and cap is essential though.
27-07-2004, 11:03 PM
Ok, i've just succeeded in persuading the 'rents not to buy me winter clothing here.... but now the issue is the long john.... they still INSIST of my bringing at least TWO sets there.... oh dear.... Is Boston really that cold? Coz the report says that winter is almost as cold as 21 F, which is about 5 C?
27-07-2004, 11:11 PM
one thing to be clear about winter is it isn't cold all the time. It doesn't snow all the time. You'll usually get weather like 30F - 40F. Then sometimes you get the blizzards which bring down the temp to 20F sometimes 10 or maybe 5 F. But even then, these extreme weathers are usually at nite when you won't be going out.
Even with these temperatures, all you need is a good sweater and a heavy jacket.
I wouldn't recommend using long johns because as soon as you get in the building, the heaters will warm you up. You'll only want to wear a sweater at most indoors. Most times t-shirts would do fine. So imagine if you have you long johns on while in class.
I think people usually wear the long johns to sleep. But in the dorms, the heaters should be super good so no need for them
27-07-2004, 11:16 PM
Cool... I think finally I am eager to appreciate warmth.... Haha...
Do you guys recommend shopping for clothes in Malaysia or in US? I think i've bought too much and I afraid that 2X 29" bags won't fit... oh yeah, do we have a place to store our luggage? Or do we need to find the place ourselves?
28-07-2004, 12:45 AM
don't.... need.... long.... johns.....
save the environment
8)
Another practical way to look at it is this - you're stuck in front of your computer/books most of the time - and this is usually indoors. no point wearing something that itches you for 99% of the time and hardly help for 1% of the time. Your legs are surprisingly resistant to cold, as compared to your body. A beanie or something that protects your head (since 75% of your body heat escapes through there) is 1000 times more useful than long johns.
Shopping of course M'sia la :) but bringing lots of things around is not fun thing I tell you. After all, if you're "pampared" enough, you'll be home in no time (some people after first semester) and you'll know exactly what to shop for. And of course, there's nothing you absolutely need that you can't get in a foreign country. And if you really can't find it, there's always substitutes. Isn't that what an "overseas education" is all about? Learning about ways of life elsewhere?
28-07-2004, 07:31 AM
so i shud b thinking of how to protect my ears, nose etc then my body? makes sense since there'll b lots of wind in chicago...
28-07-2004, 08:16 AM
I don't know how cold it will be for the fall. But, I'd say wear some stuff if you are coming to the Midwest. The summer here has been excessively cold. It already feels like November.
are imported brands (that is, imported to malaysia) such as levi's cheaper in the US? and is it easy to find the sizes available here?
first lesson for you on macroeconomics:
Do not compare prices between countries unless if you are planning to use ringgit in the US.
But I would advise you buy it here. but then, it wouldn't an imported brand...
jun_wolverine
28-07-2004, 08:44 AM
yeah....you definitely want to protect your nose, ears, body and feet from the blistering cold...
for ears i recommend you come here and get a pair or ear warmers...
i am using a brand called (180s ... might be mistaken here)
these things are really good but they are quite expensive...about US30+ tax...
another cheaper alternative -> snow cap...
ear warmers won't mess up your hair :)
for the nose....the only gear i can think of is the terrorist mask....
it's a mask with holes for your eyes...and maybe for your mouth too...not too sure though...
for your body...i recommend getting a good winter jacket........
....with US100 - 150 or maybe less , you should be able to get a decent jacket... (depends on brand also la... :) )
for your feet...
i never used any special gear though..
i just wear normal socks ( the one up to the ankle )
and a pair of sneakers....
you don't have to buy a pair of boots..
when i got here...i wasted about 60 bucks to buy a pair of winter boots ...
but i never wore them......... lol
anyhow ...for fall / autumn (the time when most of you arrive)
you should be able to survive with a sweater and long sleeve tshirts........ + jeans + shoes + socks
then u can go to the factory outlet or mall near your uni. to buy ur winter gear...
but if u wanna buy em in msia.....go ahead....
i'm just saying you have more choices in the states.....
p/s: for umich bound students, UMIMSA(Univ of Mich. Malaysian Student Association) USUALLY organizes a trip to the factory outlet so that the new freshmen can go winter gear shopping... wohoo...
go blue!
windy_city
28-07-2004, 08:55 AM
so i shud b thinking of how to protect my ears, nose etc then my body? makes sense since there'll b lots of wind in chicago...
I was worried like you too when I came here.
But dun worry, windy city(Chicago) is not that bad.
You will get used to it after a month or two, and hei, you have the whole fall quarter to adjust before winter arrive; come on, dun worry too much.
Protecting your nose?? What you plan to do, wear a ski mask that covers your whole face and make you looked like a terrorist or something??
Take it from a person who survives winter in windy city without Long John. A shirt, a sweater (maybe 2), a Columbia or North Face jacket, and a jean will keep you warm enough. Plus a snow cap (that covers your ears) then you are good to go!!!! And hei, I bought all my winter stuffs here. Why you want to carry something as heavy as winter clothing from Malaysia when you can get better winter clothing here. (The price for a good winter jacket here is no much difference from those back in Malaysia (after converting to RM).
And about shopping, dun worry, as long as you are loaded, you can get anything you want here. My friends here(gals) just cannot stop shopping for winter clothing during October/December last year, even they already bought their winter clothing in Malaysia. The temptation to shop at Mag Mile is too great for them to resist it, haha. So gals, why you want to burden yourself when you know that you will go shopping again anyway!!! Just get a sweater when you come here, it can be quite windy during September. That all, after that you have 3 months to buy your winter stuffs before winter arrives.
Who better to trust about the weather condition in windy city, apart from Windy City, hahaha!!
* Something to add after I read jun_wolverine post:
The temperature in Chicago is always higher than the temperature in Michigan. But it is extremely windy here, so dun let the temperature fool you. The wind chill will be the one torturing you here not the cold temperature or the snow. People here will rather have snow than wind. :o
for me personally, long johs(leg warmer) is quite important. Especially when you're wearing skirts. Other than that, 100% fleece sweatpants and some good sleep pants (made of mainly cotton and spandex I guess) can warm you enough. Good sleeping pants and sweatpants are useful if you have morning class coz you don't have to change to jeans whatsoever. In late fall or early spring, I always wear sleeping pants all day long to class. It's comfortable and hassle-free.
28-07-2004, 09:06 AM
Thanks so much for all the tips!! =)
28-07-2004, 09:14 AM
Oh..and bewarned, those going to the northern area states, your first winter, you might experience a slight nosebleed. it is NORMAL. the air has just become to dry for your nose and it will adjust. DONT freak out!
gatecrasher
28-07-2004, 09:31 AM
thanks a lot for the tips!
just one more question... are students required to wear 'traditional' clothing to malaysian functions?
28-07-2004, 09:38 AM
hrmm..girls maybe but all the guys i see all wear formal suit onlyleh...
windy_city
28-07-2004, 09:42 AM
thanks a lot for the tips!
just one more question... are students required to wear 'traditional' clothing to malaysian functions?
Define Malaysian functions.
You have only 3 seniors in U Chicago, what Malaysian functions can you have?
So far, I still haven wear/required to wear any traditional clothing.
But for a guy, a suit (complete set with those sparking black shoes) is necessary; I wore it for a few functions such as client meeting and stuffs already. You will need to look ?professional? sometime.
28-07-2004, 02:18 PM
is it better 4 me 2 get my hp here or in the u.s.? is it true that i'll get a free phone if i subscribe the line in the u.s.?
28-07-2004, 06:51 PM
i believe it's better to get ur phone there, isn't it? phones come with suscriptions..either free or much cheaper...correct?
gatecrasher
28-07-2004, 07:04 PM
Define Malaysian functions.
You have only 3 seniors in U Chicago, what Malaysian functions can you have?
msian functions as in official ones. so MSD Chicago doesn't organize anything is it? cos too few msians (just a guess, i dunno how many are in northwestern)
if so, no need to bring baju loh.
28-07-2004, 07:25 PM
hmm...i tot there were abt 6-8 ppl goin to northwestern? there's 4 going to chicago...identify urself plz gatecrasher...
tree007
28-07-2004, 08:36 PM
har~~~?
i tot gatecrahser's identity is known to every1 already. ;P
29-07-2004, 01:47 AM
I would strongly recommend you guys to have a set of formal wear and traditional wear.
For guys, having a coat/suit, would be essential. You may not use it often, but you would use it whenever there is official function in your campus, or even when it is not compulsory, wearing formal wear to make presentations would help making you look good. It is the same for girl. Get a good set of formal wear too. No need to be fancy, but look professional. You will get the chance to use it a few times in your four years, especially if you plan to go for any interview (to get a job, conference, trip, even positions in your associations, etc...)
As a Malaysian, especially those government-sponsored student, I would strongly advise you to bring at least a set of traditional clothings. It could be a batik, baju Melayu, or even traditional clothings of chinese or indian ; and for girls, baju kurung, kebaya, cheongsam, sari or any other traditional clothings. You would use it whenever you have Malaysian activity on campus, or even when there is any international activity on campus, those traditional clothings would be useful to showcase. Events at MSD would sometimes require you to wear traditional clothings too.
29-07-2004, 07:01 AM
i wonder when did jpa contact the seniors about the confirmation of their flight dates? i have called jpa several times but to no avail. will they give us only less than a week's notice about our flight dates?
29-07-2004, 07:41 AM
is it better 4 me 2 get my hp here or in the u.s.? is it true that i'll get a free phone if i subscribe the line in the u.s.?
can some1 pls enlighten me especially seniors in the states?
29-07-2004, 09:45 AM
Most likely you would know about 5-10 days before your flights. And to everyone, be prepared to hear the news that you would fly in a week before your planned date. That happened many times already, since JPA has block-booked the date long ago.
On cellphone, usually the phone is very cheap when you get with buying a plan. Your cellphone in Malaysia won't work here... Maybe others should comment, since I don't own a cellphone.
windy_city
29-07-2004, 09:50 AM
Most likely you would know about 5-10 days before your flights. And to everyone, be prepared to hear the news that you would fly in a week before your planned date. That happened many times already, since JPA has block-booked the date long ago.
On cellphone, usually the phone is very cheap when you get with buying a plan. Your cellphone in Malaysia won't work here... Maybe others should comment, since I don't own a cellphone.
There is no point to bring your cellphone here!!
When you sign up for a network provider(example: US cellular, AT&T, T-mobile....), they will give you a cell phone.
gatecrasher
29-07-2004, 09:53 AM
hmm...i tot there were abt 6-8 ppl goin to northwestern? there's 4 going to chicago...identify urself plz gatecrasher...
only 5 goin northwestern la...
haha you dunno who i am... :p
i'm quite surprised actually. but good one. i hope it stays that way...
by the way i know who you are! :twisted:
jun_wolverine
29-07-2004, 12:14 PM
can some1 pls enlighten me especially seniors in the states?
don't bring ur cell phone from malaysia..
it won't work in the states
unless ur cell phone is a tri band phone...
but i u bring ur cell phone there, u need to sign up for one of the phone plans there...
it's gonna cost you about US20 to US40 per month...depending on what kind of plan u wanna take...
u can get phones for free if you sign up for the phone plans here...
the phones you get wont be the cikai2 ciplak2 cap palang one...
some of the phones are really nice ones...
i.e colored, polyphonic, bluetooth...etc.
however, it is free only after mail in rebates...
so u actually have to pay a certain amount first...then within six month they will send a check back to you..........
btw, what are you gonna use ur cell phone for?
if you wanna make international calls like calling home (malaysia),
then i suggest using phone cards..the rate is only 4.0 cents per minute...(maybe less)
if you wanna make local calls, some unis give unlimited local calls using your room phone...
if you travel a lot, then a cell phone will surely come in handy... :)
i survived my first two years in US without a cell phone...
i bought it because i was doing quite a lot of travelling and having a cell phone definitely helps when u need to make calls........
go blue! :P
29-07-2004, 01:18 PM
Oh yeah, i guess i'm the only one without a formal wear right now... Err... Is it advisable to get my suit done in the States or in Malaysia? Any suggestions?
29-07-2004, 06:34 PM
only 5 goin northwestern la...
haha you dunno who i am... :p
i'm quite surprised actually. but good one. i hope it stays that way...
by the way i know who you are! :twisted:
hey! hmm...plz don tell me u r nizar...
29-07-2004, 07:21 PM
For those who are going to US or are already in the US...
http://www.phonecardsforsale.com
Search for phone cards for M'sia with "NO Connection Fee".
You will find come cards that are as low as USD$0.016/min
Just in case anyone wants to know...
29-07-2004, 08:22 PM
For those coming to US, I would strongly advise you get a phone card online first before coming. Try to consult the seniors at the university you are going to ensure that the phone cards are working.
Things to look at when getting phone card:-
a) Look for 1 minute rounding, instead of 3 minutes rounding, especially if you are making a lot of short phone calls.
b) Typically there is no connection fee (although through experience, they do deduct a bit hiddenly...but not much)
c) For calling from public phone, usually there will be surcharge of like 50 cents to 99 cents. Typically around 65 cents. So, if you plan to call a lot on public phone (i.e. when you travel and you don't have cell, try to look at this). But if you are staying at hostel, then don't need to worry about this.
d) Maintenance fee:- Most online phone cards would have this. So, again this is something you have to weigh. For those who would call a lot, a higher maintenance fee (like 65 cents per week) in exchange for slightly lower rater of calling may be beneficial to you. To those who seldom call, then try to get a lower maintenance fee.
e) This is important. Make sure the phone card you get can be called from your place. Ideally try out the 1800 number first. (There may be different rate for local access and 1800, so take care on this too).
f) Unless you live in major cities, those local access won't work for you. Like NYC is 202, LA 213, etc.. So, don't get fooled by the cheap rate shown for local access.
For those who are coming and you don't have a US credit cards, odds are you can't buy it yourself. So, best way, is to ask a senior to buy for you first and then you pay the seniors.
Calling from US to Malaysia is 011 + (6012 for instance for maxis) (603 for selangor etc) + 7 or 8 digits of your phone.
Calling 1800 from public phone is free.
Having a phone card before coming means you can call home once you reach LAX (Los Angeles Airport). Buying a phone card there could cost you around USD1 per minute.
Anyone coming Cornell and needs a phone card, please contact me. Anyone going to those universities that you don't have seniors and you can't find anyone to get for you, I don't mind getting for you too.
I have been using www.phonecard4sale.com since 3 years ago. Not bad.
29-07-2004, 09:29 PM
thanx a lot 4 d info, chen chow. there r so many phone cards 2 choose from. btw, which card should i buy if i'm staying in wisconsin? can i use a los angeles local access phone card in wisconsin? i wanna call 2 other states as well. seniors (especially those from wisconsin), pls enlighten me!
tree007
29-07-2004, 09:50 PM
hey! hmm...plz don tell me u r nizar...
nizar??!!! wah.... gatecrasher.... u're nizar wor.. not bad lah.. both got small eyes.. hehe..
i wanna call 2 other states as well
yeah... especially to a state called pennsylvania rite? n espeically to a city called philadelphia rite? hehehehehe....
ohya. if buy phonecard online.. then they ship to where wor?
29-07-2004, 09:55 PM
gatecrasher = yee fay
yeah... especially to a state called pennsylvania rite? n espeically to a city called philadelphia rite? hehehehehe....
yes. yes. don't post so many craps la. let the seniors answer my questions 1st...
29-07-2004, 10:02 PM
ohya. if buy phonecard online.. then they ship to where wor?
nothing gets shipped. tehy'll email you a PIN as soon as your transaction is complete so you can use it almost instantly. you don't actually get a card per se.
as for cellphones, don't waste your money (or your parents') getting one from malaysia. in the first place you won't need a cellphone for the first year at the very least. anyway you'll get a free cellphone when you sign up with a service provider. so cellphones shouldn 't be something you should be worried about.
29-07-2004, 10:09 PM
yes. yes. don't post so many craps la. let the seniors answer my questions 1st...
So what if we post a lot of crap? Anyway, don't worry too much lah, I'll tell my sister to pay extra attention to her, ok?
gatecrasher
29-07-2004, 10:20 PM
gatecrasher = yee fay
woi! you've robbed my anonymity! spoil my fun only... :evil:
sorry if you find this rude, but you shouldn't be the one to tell because you're not involved.
anyway i'm not pissed off la... just a bit disappointed.
windy_city
29-07-2004, 10:58 PM
Oh yeah, i guess i'm the only one without a formal wear right now... Err... Is it advisable to get my suit done in the States or in Malaysia? Any suggestions?
Get it done in Malaysia, unless you want something like Brook Brother's suit which cost 10K USD minimum.(They will tailor made it to perfection for you, off course there is a price to pay)
Zepnomaniac
29-07-2004, 11:20 PM
just to add...besides phone cards, you can also do audio conferencing, especially for those of you who have broadband in Malaysia.
it's worth it!
dial-up, err...i've heard of ppl doing it but it's sometimes slow.
haven't really done a cost comparison analysis on both methods but they seem reasonable.
29-07-2004, 11:42 PM
wah..... ok, so chiunlin's RM670 suit doesn't sound that expensive anymore.... oh dear, better get it done ASAP... only 20++ more days to go....
Thanks for the answers... :)
one more question...
webcams and comp peripherals (ie. printers and co.)
buy in Malaysia or in US? mum's bugging me to get them here (the webcam, not the printer)...
thanks again!
kIdd0
30-07-2004, 01:10 AM
Last minute QUESTIONS!!
1. do foreign students need to transfer their medical records? If so, can anyone enlighten me on how to go about doing that? Do i just go to my family doctor and ask for medical record? What if its unavailable?
2. pertaining to birth certificate... do i need to have them translated to english to be brought along with my original copy? Do i translate it myself and get someone like a lawyer to certify the translation or something?
3. Immunizations! Is there like any additional regulation by the US government or something pertaining to these besides those required by university?
4. Electrical appliances! I understand the power surcharge is different in the states with 110V or izzit 120V compared to M'sia 240V?? and the plug itself is different. So my question is, do i need to look for a converter or some sort in msia itself or i can get them there? both the power regulator and the plug adapter..??
5. Credit Cards! thinking of getting one, can i get one back here in malaysia? or is it better for me to register for it in the States? How do we make payment? I heard there is something called the Student Credit Card or something which doesnt require the cardholder to have a fix income? Any seniors with credit cards? Please enlighten..
6. thank you...
kucingbiru
30-07-2004, 01:30 AM
i dont think u are required to get any extra immunizations.
i dont think u need to bring ur birth cert.
u need a power converter if u wanna bring elec appliances. but i think u can quite easily find one here, online.
u dont need fix income to get a CC here, but u need Social security number.
30-07-2004, 05:29 AM
On the question on phone card like "Los Angeles Local Access", i.e. only those in Los Angeles should get the card, as the rate is from local call as per Los Angeles.
Hence, for those who are not in major cities, get Toll Free Access. The best way is to consult seniors in your university. They would know what works and what doesn't work.
Yeah, as topdog says, you won't physically get the card. Within like 3 seconds (except that you are first time customer, they may need you to verify some information), you would get your pin to start calling.
Those immunization requirement should have been known to you from your university. Bring the medical form that your university asks you to fill up. If not, just bring the copy of JPA medical form. You don't really need it, but just bring.
You don't need your MyKad or Birth Cert in US.
I would advise not to bring any electrical appliances from abroad. Get it online when you reach here. The adapter may even be more expensive than the electrical appliances.
On webcams etc, check the prices online. I believe you can get better deals online... Over here, we buy almost everything online.... So, basically whereever has the best deal, that's the place to get...
Phone rate is so low, that I don't think you need to use audio conferencing, which has much worse quality.
Most banks would give you a debit card, which you can use as credit card everywhere. That's pretty convenient.
30-07-2004, 05:42 AM
Oh and do make a copy of your passport and I-20 and store it somewhere away from the original. that way..if u lost it(knock on wood!), at least MSD will be able to help u out.
Get it done in Malaysia, unless you want something like Brook Brother's suit which cost 10K USD minimum.(They will tailor made it to perfection for you, off course there is a price to pay)
actually the suit in the US is not that expensive too especially for girls. wait for the sale. some worth places to go includes Express, Ann Taylor, Banana Republic. If you're a girl and going to alot(or some) formal/ semi formal, the dress in the States is pretty decent and cheap too.
But of coz, if you wanna make it in Malaysia, it's fine but you have to stuff the bulky shirt in the luggage. I didn't wear suit when i first got here but most scholars does. Imagine, wearing suit and sit on cramp economy class seat. Oh my
jagganatha
30-07-2004, 09:58 AM
i think i realised who was gatecrasher based on her location.. only nizar, voon seng, and her are in subang and nizar hardly recom's voon seng is well (you know who) so who's left but our dear yee fay but her id did make me think a while.. 8) 8)
30-07-2004, 10:45 AM
Can i get my Laptop's adapter anywhere in Malaysia? I got 2 (Dell gave one free, didn't see that... ouch!)
jagganatha
02-08-2004, 10:42 AM
Dell gave one free ?? Dont understand what you said?? Well if you are looking for the 240 to 110 V transformer switchy thingamajig i guess lowyat is the place to go.. :wink: :wink:
02-08-2004, 06:48 PM
In fact, you will be wearing suit when you enter and leave the plane... However inside the plane, stuck your boarding pass into one of the pockets of your suit and pass to one of the air stewardess/steward and they will take care of it, till you are about to arrive at your destination and they would give you back... It is very convenient~! and you would look smart too~!
02-08-2004, 07:45 PM
hahaha
But one knows how uncomfy it it to be in one of those monkey suits. Usually i keep everything in a neck wallet. Safer that way. Dressing in just T-shirt and Jeans are OK too. U won't look too much like a foreigner in the airport.
02-08-2004, 08:55 PM
Keep your belongings in the neck wallet is definitely a great idea...it is very safe...and at the same time, have some loose change in your pocket or somewhere easily accessible...
Carry travelers' cheque rather than cash would be a good idea too... just have some cash would do...
02-08-2004, 09:34 PM
oh yeah... when we fly.... JPA only mention we need black coat or blazer, rite? Must we wear shirt and tie?
02-08-2004, 10:59 PM
would you wear a Coat/Blazer with a t-shirt ?
windy_city
02-08-2004, 11:06 PM
would you wear a Coat/Blazer with a t-shirt ?
Sure, it is called casual wear. :lol:
but I dun think it is appropriate!!
03-08-2004, 12:17 AM
I dunno.... i'm not really comfortable with formal wear... Especially long sleeves! And no, not with ties on.... I'd rather wear like what Windy_city mentioned, a T-Shirt (turtle nexk, perhaps?) with a blazer... however, what will the MSD say?
jun_wolverine
03-08-2004, 12:31 AM
I dunno.... i'm not really comfortable with formal wear... Especially long sleeves! And no, not with ties on.... I'd rather wear like what Windy_city mentioned, a T-Shirt (turtle nexk, perhaps?) with a blazer... however, what will the MSD say?
i think the purpose why JPA wants you to be formal is so that the MSD officers/seniors in the US can identify all of you easily........
if all of you wore casual clothes, it would be hell to keep count
now when i travel back to Malaysia and US
i just wear short pants + t shirt + comfy shoes
windy_city
03-08-2004, 12:49 AM
I wore like that last time, casual (with turtle-neck shirt and black suit) and MSD officers did not say anything. As long as you look casual (not sloppy), it will not be a problem.
03-08-2004, 12:57 AM
I wore like that last time, casual (with turtle-neck shirt and black suit) and MSD officers did not say anything. As long as you look casual (not sloppy), it will not be a problem.
Thanks! :D But u dun think it's approppriate, huh?
03-08-2004, 02:07 AM
I don't think MSD officers care that much, especially, the nice Kak Roslawati... However, it is just to portray a good image. JPA officers would be at KLIA to send you off, MSD officers would be in LA to pick you up. So, the onus is on you... But travel comfortably is important too... besides looking smart.
03-08-2004, 11:41 AM
Yeah, but i'm not someone who can wear a long sleeve shirt for more than 24 hours... And then still got to carry those big luggage.... what if i sweat? Hmmm... dun see what's the point of wearing shirt and tie just to look good in the plane...
chillout
03-08-2004, 05:34 PM
u won't sweat in the plane.. instead you will feel cold if u dun wear enough...
last time i had just a short t-shirt... boy was i cold...
03-08-2004, 06:16 PM
i agree that jpa proabbly want you guys to present a good image, hence the formal wear requirement (or is it just recommendation?). however, on retrospect, i must say that my friends and i must have looked really ridiculous all suited up for a 24 hour flight. and in economy class too!!
03-08-2004, 09:23 PM
u won't sweat in the plane.. instead you will feel cold if u dun wear enough...
last time i had just a short t-shirt... boy was i cold...
Well, what i mean is after we alighted from the plane, drag our heavy luggage to our universities... u know, that kind of work.... sweat is like, inevitable for me. and i think it's ridiculous checking into our uni with shirt and tie.... most ppl wear casual...
03-08-2004, 11:15 PM
I think especially the domestic flight into the campus, there would be a lot of people wearing suit... since many of those are professors or are coming for meetings... So, you won't look odd...
students in hotel schools in cornell for instance have to wear suit every friday, be it winter or summer....
04-08-2004, 02:53 AM
I think especially the domestic flight into the campus, there would be a lot of people wearing suit... since many of those are professors or are coming for meetings... So, you won't look odd...
students in hotel schools in cornell for instance have to wear suit every friday, be it winter or summer....
i saw the video of Yale students checking into their housing... most wear t-shirts and shorts.... well, that's practical since it makes unpacking easier... can u imagine what it would be like to pack with them with formal wear? Err.... overdressed?
don't fret.
if you find wearing full formal wear is suffocatting but you still decided to put on blazer, make it casual . No tie or shirt whatsoever. Then you can take off the blazer once you get to your school or once you meet the person to pick you up.
04-08-2004, 05:29 AM
ElansarGelmir, as you said, you would be arriving one day earlier... So, you would not be arriving at the same time with other international students... However it is up to you guys...
roast
04-08-2004, 12:03 PM
thanx a lot 4 d info, chen chow. there r so many phone cards 2 choose from. btw, which card should i buy if i'm staying in wisconsin? can i use a los angeles local access phone card in wisconsin? i wanna call 2 other states as well. seniors (especially those from wisconsin), pls enlighten me!
nope, zAiTsEv (sticky caps, sweetie?), you can't use an LA local access phone card in WI unless you own a cell, 'cause most cell plans here allow you to make long distance phone calls within US for free.
best bet is to get a card that comes with a toll-free access number.
btw, if you're new here and thinking of getting a cell, you might have some issues re: your credit history and your social security number. chances are you don't have either, and tf won't be approved for a cell account. this can be remedied by getting a pay-as-you-go cell, which will (natch) cost a little bit more than the plan cells.
04-08-2004, 12:16 PM
ElansarGelmir, as you said, you would be arriving one day earlier... So, you would not be arriving at the same time with other international students... However it is up to you guys...
yeah lar, i'm not checkin in with other students... but that's not my point... what i want to point out is, students dun go to their unis in suits... well, perhaps there are some.... but to me, it looks, yeah, overdressed.... and why make urself uncomfortable?
Oh yeah, can i install one game (requires CD crack) in my laptop and bring it to the States?
04-08-2004, 02:41 PM
hhehehe.... of course u can....
but if u got caught, too bad... but it is very unlikely lar....
(p.s.: dun go and ask the custom officer whether izzit ok to install a game and bring it into the states...)
04-08-2004, 02:44 PM
(p.s.: dun go and ask the custom officer whether izzit ok to install a game and bring it into the states...)
err.. u think i will do that? Our tall friend may, perhaps... not me...
jaclyn
04-08-2004, 09:52 PM
i just noticed that practically every software in my laptop is 'ciplak' version....microsoft office, norton antivirus, some games, possibly winzip as well.....
is it safe for me to bring it to US? :idea: :oops: :D
04-08-2004, 10:59 PM
Let me make this clear..
US baggage checkers are more worried about the probable bomb in your shoes, laptop, etc. They DO NOT care about the software you bring or in your laptop as long as u r not shipping crates of pirated software to the US. Jeeezzz...
Since many of you are leaving for the US, i assume you have better things to worry about. Please quit worrying about software and mp3s. They don't care, ok?
04-08-2004, 11:03 PM
Err... did we list out what we must not bring? Can we bring scissors (put it in the luggage bag instead of hand luggage)? Or perhaps a metal fork?
jaclyn
05-08-2004, 01:30 AM
elansar.....tat's okay.....the last time my grandma tried to board the plane with a pair of scissors in her hand luggage, the security guard stopped her and requested her to check in that pair of scissors together with her bag instead... assuming that rules are still the same, it's fine :D correct me if i'm wrong
14-08-2004, 12:09 AM
No scissors or any sharp object in your hand carry. Checked-in luggage should be fine....unless you bring lots of those...
14-08-2004, 12:08 PM
nope, zAiTsEv (sticky caps, sweetie?), you can't use an LA local access phone card in WI unless you own a cell, 'cause most cell plans here allow you to make long distance phone calls within US for free.
best bet is to get a card that comes with a toll-free access number.
btw, if you're new here and thinking of getting a cell, you might have some issues re: your credit history and your social security number. chances are you don't have either, and tf won't be approved for a cell account. this can be remedied by getting a pay-as-you-go cell, which will (natch) cost a little bit more than the plan cells.
can u gimme more details on pay-as-you-go cells? r u using 1? i'm planning 2 get a cell there. do u buy phone cards online? which toll-free access number card do u use & recommend? thanks 4 the infos.
14-08-2004, 07:18 PM
On online phone card, I would suggest check with seniors in the university that you are going. I post this some time back on some issues about online phone card.
I am using www.phonecard4sale.com
05-09-2004, 05:40 PM
if i have a phone card, does that mean i call from a public phone? or any phone will do?
05-09-2004, 09:03 PM
if i have a phone card, does that mean i call from a public phone? or any phone will do?
any phone
06-09-2004, 04:40 AM
but many online phone cards do charge surcharge of 50 cents to $1 per call on public phone.
07-09-2004, 01:16 AM
I am using www.phonecard4sale.com
Well, that works too... although the real name for the website is www.phonecardsforsale.com Guess they must have bought every single permutation of their domain name.
Yah, couldn't say this enough - don't bring Any Sharp Object (ASO) on your hand carry. Check them in to your check-in luggage.
Say, I don't get the blazar part - is it Compulsory? If so I must say that's the stupidest thing I've heard all month. Really. It's true. It is very very weird!! You might be mistaken for some Korean or Japanese tourist for wearing a suit. They wear a suit when they go travel and even they try not to wear a suit on a plane unless absolutely necessary. Alas, if you have to wear you have to wear. Good luck :P :P :P
School should have started for most people - so your seniors in school should be feeding you new rumors and tricks and way of life. I still can't find any University of Washington Malaysian students here in Seattle - is there any?
May the I-20 be with you!!
aquila
07-09-2004, 03:45 AM
or try www.pinonsale.com
I have a $5 card that can be used in the Chicago area only (meaning you can call anywhere in the world but only thru a Chicago number).
Obviously, I cannot use it so anyone who's interested in having it, please email me.
You can send me the money thru Paypal and I'll email you the number immediately.
07-09-2004, 08:13 AM
Argh! i just lost a freshly new $20 phone card...
10-09-2004, 04:42 PM
how did tad happen?
14-09-2004, 04:36 AM
Misplaced the PIN... anyway, luckily i can redeem the lost... coz they emailed my senior who bought the card for me, so she hasn't deleted the email where my PIN is in there... yeah... anyway, i think i misplaced things more often in US... i even ter-handed in one of my writing assignment along with another essay to another lecturer... aiyohh... was franctically searching for it the whole week.
18-09-2004, 04:10 AM
Oh btw, Textbooks are expensive in the US.
to buy textbooks, you can go to:
www.addall.com
or
www.firstandsecond.com
I prefer addall.com tho. Have fun!
tuinkle
18-09-2004, 07:32 AM
I still can't find any University of Washington Malaysian students here in Seattle - is there any?
Sure is! :wink:
There's a member that's listed on the North America "Where in the world are you?" map.
I'll also pm you my friend's e-mail address should you be interested in meeting up with him. He's from my hometown but I believe he holds a US green card.
18-09-2004, 11:44 AM
jinjoo,
what happened with stanford?
19-09-2004, 12:31 AM
Jiin Joo is working with Amazon now.
14-01-2005, 08:17 PM
Hi there, I will be going to the States later this year, However I like to know about these four places before deciding which place to go:
1) University of Wisconsin Madison
2) Northwestern University at Evanston /Chicago
3) University of Texas-Austin
4) University of Pittsburgh
I would appreciate any information concerning studying and living in these four places. I would especially like to know about the safety, cost of living and housing, weather , its community, and general why you 'hate' or 'love' the place.
Thank you ,
Ming[/b]
This is copied from another thread. Please continue discussion here.
14-01-2005, 08:20 PM
happyspider, good luck in your applications, as I guess right now, it is in your application process right?
I would say that in terms of living in the state, I would say that generally it is pretty safe. The students in those unis will be able to share with you. There are ReComers in each of those 4 unis.
On weather, check out www.weather.com
tree007
14-01-2005, 08:57 PM
most of the unis u listed should cost u a bomb.
'cos firstly, they're all good unis.. n all good unis dun come cheap....
secondly, none of them are rural.. in fact, i dun think any of them r suburban anyway... evanston IS a township rite? as in, is there downtown evanston?
in terms of details.. i can only brief u on UPitt... well.. UPitt is in a place called "Oakland".. in fact, it's sort of at the heart of downtown Oakland... Oakland is pretty close to downtown Pittsbugh.. i think it's like.. a 20 min bus ride... n Oakland, since it's generally a uni area, ti's freakin safe.. even if u dun feel safe, there're escort programs.. which i dun think guys will use.. :P n ppl here are frenly n helpful.. n the weather, well.. yesterday it was 21 degrees.. now, it's like.. 2.... sth u dun get in M'sia..heheh.. so.. yeah.. Pittsburgh rox~.. beauitiful place... :P
happyspider1000
14-01-2005, 09:38 PM
TQ,
how much expenditure are we talking about here? ball park figure, let's say for a month excluding school fees.
14-01-2005, 10:13 PM
It would depend on housing and dining mainly. I would put housing at around $250-1000, depending on your location, and how far it is from school. In Cornell, a typical single room on campus is about $850 per month, and a double room (2 people sharing) is about $700 per person per month. Off campus housing is typically around $500-1500 within collegetown, $250-$600 for those places around 10 minutes walk to 10 minutes by bus.
For food, if you are cooking, it is pretty cheap. I would say $20 a week would be sufficient. Eating out is costly though.
Life at Pitt:
- severe whether. It has nice whether the 1st 2 week of school and the last 2 weeks of school (the summer is nice too). Other than than it's either raining or snowing.
-big campus. If you schedule you classes wrong, man it's gonna take forever to go from one class to one class. Since it's big, sometimes you dont even know the professor's name.
- bizzare classes. Vampire: Blood and Empire, Russian folktales and bunch more
fun stuff :
-thursday is party night. if you're a girl you can get in free at most
house party
-there's always a lot of free food around campus
-half price food after 11pm (some after 9.30pm (Hemmingway) or after 10pm (La Fiesta)) Just imagine $3 for a bowl of wings. It's really worth it
lodging: on campus you can check the University website for rates. Off campus is varies. The nearer you are to the campus, the more expensive it could be, around $400-$600 for one bedroom apt and $350-$500 for 2-4 bedroom apt. If you want cheaper rent, go for something a little bit far from campus in south oakland. You can get as low as $200 for 5-6 bedrooms apartment. and it's still nice.
reality check:
-you have to work your ass off to get a good grade
-so, though Pitt student look as if they party hard and seems to be wasting their time hanging out with friends, they actually put a lot of efford in their study.
-pittsburgh is not a hip city like KL. there's no one in the downtown after 7pm. But if you bother to look hard enough, you get to appriciate the culture that they have.
-if you hope to have a lot of malaysian community to be around you all the time, Pitt is not the right place. We do get to meet people from CMU occasionally, but you don't want to bother them too much since they're busy people.
-most students in Pitt are local and not rich, so if you're looking for poshy crowd, it's not a good place to go. They will get annoyed if you tell them your big plan about your summer or winter break, or tell them you are broke when you're splurge your scholarship money on new i-pod while they work their ass off to pay their own tuition fee. Moderation is the key.
if you still wanna go to Pitt after this brief overview about Pitt, no one is stoping you.
happyspider1000
15-01-2005, 08:49 PM
I guess Pitts is a medium town, no so expensive, not so cheap but means not so many things to see....."mo keng mo hin, kou yat sang"...type of place huh....maybe...
b_ronick
17-01-2005, 10:42 AM
if you are still wondering how northwestern university, evanston is like
bear in mind that NU is a private school so you can expect the fees to be high...
it is an expensive school..but at the same time it is a good school..
it not only concentrates on science and technology(mcCormick) but also there are other schools which are recognized esp the kellogg business school and the medill journalism school..
so you wanna know more about the place...
so...
studying :
first..it adopts the quarter system.
cons: so it means it requires you to work harder every quarter, comparatively to the semester system, the quarter system goes thru 3 midterms and 3 finals as opposed to 2 midterms and 2 finals for the semester system ( if i am not wrong)
pros : your quarter will breeze thru fast as each quarter only lasts around 2 month..as my friend would put it, you won't get bored of the subjects. and furthermore, a lot of ppl say that we generally enjoy our breaks more cos our breaks are usually between the two quarters while for the semester system, it would be in the duration of their semester.
living :
i would include cost of living and housing here..
as the fees are expensive, so are the housing fees as well.. i would advice you to check the prices out at northwestern.edu. that would be a good place to start.
housing here..well there are a lot of types here...depending on what you like and stuff..if you really want to know the individual housings you can email me at s-yeoh@<hidden>
taxes here are high..around 8-9% and the books here are generally pricey as well..but books prices shouldn't be much of a problem..you could always get it online...
safety:
generally it is safe.. let me remind you that it is a town in university kinda concept. it is not like it's surrounded by fences like the usual universities you see in msia. but there are a lot of services that ensure your safety in the university grounds.
weather :
well..now it is really kinda cold..not to scare you of whatsoever, i heard it can get really bad..i mean the wind chill and all..i have yet to go thru and trust me i am not looking forward to it..
but generally the states around the midwest area is generally gonna be cold...
community:
i can't say much on this area cos i have still yet to get a foot hold in blending with the ppl here.. but generally it is kinda okay..the ppl here are pretty friendly..so i can't say much about this...
i dun think i can say i hate the place whatso ever..
i mean i would say the weather can be nasty but so can at other places..and for the terms that i have yet to blend in with the ppl and the amount of effort you have to put in..which is pretty much the problems you will encounter at any uni i would say...
i like this place cos of the uni itself and all..
and to get to downtown evanston it would just take around 20-30 minutes to get there on foot. and the msd office is just around the corner...this place i would say isn't too dull that you would get bored but it isn't all that hype that you can't study..so it's kinda balanced...it's generally like a nice place..
chicago is like about an hour away by the train and subway..so it's not too far..
and do bear in mind that it would be a really competitive school..
and you will have to put in a lot of effort and all..cos it practices quarter system here...
are there other questions that you might be wondering about?
hope all these information helped
b_ronick
17-01-2005, 10:53 AM
i write some lil knowledge i know about university of wisconsin madison..some information that i got from my friend there..
well as far as i can remember, it is pretty much suburban as well if i am not wrong..
the cost of living is lower comparatively to evanston...so same goes for the school fees and the housing fees. it's lower and if i am not wrong it is a public school so the books there isn't too expensive either...
uwm adopts the semester system..
so far this is all that i can remember..
hopefully there are other seniors here who are from uwm to help you out with this...
b_ronick
17-01-2005, 10:56 AM
just out of curiousity, what is your major that you are planning to take?
chem E?
happyspider1000
17-01-2005, 10:47 PM
Thank you for your info.
I am in Media Cultural studies ( Communication Department/Graduate School). I should know the results of my applications ( Wisconsin Madison, Northwestern, Pittsburgh, Penn State, Iowa University, Texas Austin) by mid-late March. Then I have a bout 2-3 weeks to decide which one to go to. So I am trying to gather as much info as I can before making the decision.
P.S I really appreciate any info big and small, so please post anything you think is interesting.
kucingbiru
17-01-2005, 11:24 PM
P.S I really appreciate any info big and small, so please post anything you think is interesting.
interesting? wisconsin had (2004) quite a good football team. But SC has better one. :P
sweetiepie
13-04-2005, 08:46 PM
i had gone thru a great dilemma in deciding betw rit or davis.i noe sum had alredi posted d topic, but i need a detailed expl 4 dis.. i decided 2 go 2 rit instead...n mara apprved...is it a bad decision?plus, i consider dat i can transfr ma credit 2 rit but cant do so in davis. pls seniors, gimme some enlightment 4 dis... i really appreciate it :)
13-04-2005, 11:47 PM
i had gone thru a great dilemma in deciding betw rit or davis.i noe sum had alredi posted d topic, but i need a detailed expl 4 dis.. i decided 2 go 2 rit instead...n mara apprved...is it a bad decision?plus, i consider dat i can transfr ma credit 2 rit but cant do so in davis. pls seniors, gimme some enlightment 4 dis... i really appreciate it :)
is this suppose to be in this thread?
anyways, if you check out the thread for ATU11, you'll already see a myriad of responses from seniors in davis n rit alike. it really boils down to you yourself. what criterias are important to you?
happyspider1000
07-07-2005, 08:25 AM
Hi there ,
I am going to Penn State this fall, any body wants to give me their two cents worth?
Sincereliness
08-12-2005, 01:16 PM
Oh, and remember to read PhD comics, whether or not you like Jorge Cham or not. He might also come to campus ;-)
http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/archive/phd120305s.gif
ax_basis
12-12-2005, 11:46 PM
hmm..
i've beeen wondering..
could we use mobile phone from malaysia in us?
n how abaout the price of mobile phone in us compare tu malaysia?
13-12-2005, 06:36 AM
hmm..
i've beeen wondering..
n how abaout the price of mobile phone in us compare tu malaysia?
yes you can... but only certain carriers that offer sim cards that are not in-built in the phone...
the price of mobile phone is cheaper(free, some even pay you after rebate), but those phones are not typical Asians' phones... nokia here vacuums... and the biggest thing here(currently) is the Rzr V3...
if u are not familiar with phone charges outside Malaysia, u shld learn that you will be charged for talking on the phone during peak hours...(regardless of who initiated the call...), free at night and weekends(most of the packages are so)... same goes to text msging too...(regardless the hour, or who sent the msg...) you will be charged for receiving text messages... of coz picture messages too...
by the way... it's cellphone... not mobile phone, not handphone... lol
13-12-2005, 07:00 AM
hmm..
i've beeen wondering..
only if it's a tri-band phone. gsm is not widely used in the US, and the gsm standard here is different from malaysia's. i believe the only US carrier that operates a nationwide gsm network is t-mobile, though i might be wrong.
i would advise against buying a phone from malaysia for use in the US. i don't know if phones are cheaper in malaysia or in the US but you need to consider the price of cellular service too. prepaid plans are terribly expensive here. also, you can't buy a prepaid sim card as you would in malaysia (though you can do it, somewhat illegally, through ebay for example...). i think it makes more economic sense to just go for a one-year contract if you'll be here for at least a year. you will typically get a free phone as part of the deal.
AtMostFear
21-12-2007, 07:56 PM
sorry for bringing up an old topic, but I don't think there's any other thread here relevant to my question.
1. what kind of food from here won't be allowed to pass the US customs? is anything that's not wet fine to them? maggi won't definitely be a problem right?
2. can I bring cigarettes from here? if yes, what's the limit? 2 cartons? it's because my friend asked to get some for him.
22-12-2007, 10:40 PM
sorry for bringing up an old topic, but I don't think there's any other thread here relevant to my question.
1. what kind of food from here won't be allowed to pass the US customs? is anything that's not wet fine to them? maggi won't definitely be a problem right?
2. can I bring cigarettes from here? if yes, what's the limit? 2 cartons? it's because my friend asked to get some for him.
I think this is a useful threads too, especially useful for those who want to go over to U.S.
On food, you can't bring over wet food. For maggi mee, I believe it should be ok. I think a number of students have brought it over too.
Maybe you can check with students at your area. You can get maggi in some parts of U.S. Wegmens in Ithaca does sell Maggi, and it is the same as here (Buatan Malaysia).
On cigarettes, I am not too sure on the limit.
chelle1611
14-01-2008, 05:34 PM
hi people. kinda new at this. could any of you let me know what is it like to study in the states and if i want to further my studies to the states should i really go for ADP instead of STPM? :)
TimeTraveler
14-01-2008, 09:22 PM
If you are not aiming for the top universities in the state, ADP would be good course to do.ADP only allow you to tranfer the credit to certain selected university which varied between the colleges that offers ADP.if you want to have a wider selection of universities including the top universities in us,you could sit for the SAT which is the prefered qualification for admission to us universities.you can just go for form six or pre-u and do self study for SAT.for more info about sat go http://www.macee.org.my/04_frame.htm and http://www.collegeboard.com/splash/
strikingstar
25-01-2008, 02:48 AM
Here, it isn't 'Maggi'. It's 'Ramen'.
You probably won't find durian or white promfret in Ithaca.
Appolo
11-05-2008, 08:34 AM
Can i know whether the custom department over there would check my notebook like what happened in Australia a couple of months ago?Currently using a lot of softwares that uses keyen to crack.Rather conerned about infringement of copyright law.Also, I've kinda copied a lot of fansubs in my notebook and it would be a pity to delete them.
About housing, planning on renting a vacant residence for 4 but not sure about the complications that might arise from the decision in terms of buying furnitures,electricity, heat,neighbourhood and lease agreement.Any comments?
AtMostFear
12-05-2008, 03:48 PM
Can i know whether the custom department over there would check my notebook like what happened in Australia a couple of months ago?Currently using a lot of softwares that uses keyen to crack.Rather conerned about infringement of copyright law.Also, I've kinda copied a lot of fansubs in my notebook and it would be a pity to delete them.
I just arrived in the States last December. no, they didn't check our laptops. the custom officer only asked us to take out our laptop from our bag and put it separately when the x-ray screening is being done.
bernardseah
19-06-2008, 02:54 PM
Can I know if anyone is going to University of Wisconsin-Madison this Fall 2008? Anyone studying there right now?
siong1987
19-06-2008, 05:15 PM
Anyone going to UIUC then?
bambi
22-06-2008, 02:57 PM
Anyone going to St John's University this Fall 2008 ?
And does anyone know there is any sales going on now or later ( luggage, winter clothes, camera, kettle , etc )
Yukie
24-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Is there anyone going to De Anza College, Cupertino, California? Or somewhere near it? San Jose anyone?
Yukie
26-06-2008, 11:27 AM
It will be my first time travelling abroad alone...does anyone know for certain what are we NOT supposed to bring into the cabin and what can NOT be packed into the luggage that we check in? Can someone please enlighten me on this matter?
smile!
26-06-2008, 02:04 PM
It will be my first time travelling abroad alone...does anyone know for certain what are we NOT supposed to bring into the cabin and what can NOT be packed into the luggage that we check in? Can someone please enlighten me on this matter?
welp...in ur hand carry, u're not supposed to bring liquid stuff like shampoo, toothpaste, drinking water or even milk. depends on the airline but most of it are like that.
about ur big luggage, bring anything except for illegal stuff like drugs of course. hehehehe!
correct me if i'm wrong here