View Full Version : question on JPA...pls help...
daydreamer
13-03-2007, 12:39 AM
its clear that jpa considers ppl hu got straight a1 first...
but if a person have staright a1s...12a1...n 1 a2 for chinese.....
will her chances be dreadfully cut down?
13-03-2007, 01:14 AM
Not really, her chance will be equivalent to those with fewer subjects but straight A1s
13-03-2007, 09:04 AM
Not really, her chance will be equivalent to those with fewer subjects but straight A1s
REALLY?How does the mark system go anyway?What's that about those with 12a1s n 1a2 having the same chance with those with 10a1s?
uglyducklai
16-03-2007, 12:13 AM
REALLY?How does the mark system go anyway?What's that about those with 12a1s n 1a2 having the same chance with those with 10a1s?
you might be right.but my frenz's bro who obtained 10A1s need to appeal b4 he got the scholarship.
Appolo
16-03-2007, 09:51 AM
you might be right.but my frenz's bro who obtained 10A1s need to appeal b4 he got the scholarship.
Well,getting a string of A1s does help you in getting the scholarship but you still have to think of equal oppurtunity for students taking lesser subjects than you!
16-03-2007, 12:45 PM
its clear that jpa considers ppl hu got straight a1 first...
but if a person have staright a1s...12a1...n 1 a2 for chinese.....
will her chances be dreadfully cut down?one word, no
starfire
16-03-2007, 01:53 PM
oh yippee....i thought i was practically slashed of my chances, coz tats my results too.
hamburger
16-03-2007, 08:48 PM
but...if i got B3 for my chinese and others all a's?
still equal?
16-03-2007, 11:42 PM
but...if i got B3 for my chinese and others all a's?
still equal?yes
Maybe yes, maybe no.
Maybe JPA had already chosen their scholars before hand and the interviews were just for formality and shows?
Maybe they never look at your "cacat" chinese B or A2?
No matter what, let it not be a cause for you to stop hoping to secure a scholarship for yourself. Instead, see it as something to further motivate you to apply meticulously and do well in the interview. Keep hoping. :D
Appolo
19-03-2007, 06:18 PM
Maybe yes, maybe no.
Maybe JPA had already chosen their scholars before hand and the interviews were just for formality and shows?
No matter what, let it not be a cause for you to stop hoping to secure a scholarship for yourself. Instead, see it as something to further motivate you to apply meticulously and do well in the interview. Keep hoping. :D
You sounded like you are trying to lower the spirit of students who are trying to get jpa.Well, there are some cases where some students were pre-selected even before the interview but this serve as an even greater motivation for you to try even harder than you're supposed to.
Stop worrying about Bs and A2(unless you're trying to apply under medic though) because you have to think of other students who did well in their academic but took lesser subjects than you!Try not to be too cocky when you compare the number of As you have with the type of students mentioned earlier.Promise?
20-03-2007, 11:56 AM
Maybe yes, maybe no.
I do believe that there're some pre-selected scholars and of course quota too. Anyway, they don't have so many students to fill up the quota and they don't have so many pre-selected students too. Other students still can compete for the limited remaining places, so give your best shot and keep your fingers crossed....
I have no intention to lower down anyone's spirit. :D I made it clear that it doesn't matter if they have pre-selected the scholars or they see your "cacat" A2 and Bs. I also believe that I mentioned "Keep hoping." at the end of my post? :D
Anyway, future JPA candidates, do start digging into some might-to-come-out questions that they will ask during interviews. Do you homework early. You won't regret it . Ahah, FTA might just be a good shot.
24-03-2007, 12:43 AM
i think that my result is worse than u all..only 9A1 n 2A2...
Anyway, i wont give up and still will try my very best 2 prepare 4 the interview..(if only i am short-listed) :o ....
btw, is there anybody applied 4 German Engineering?? 4 german engineering, there r usually how many places allocated 2 those applicants each year?? :roll: :?:
24-03-2007, 07:57 AM
btw, is there anybody applied 4 German Engineering?? 4 german engineering, there r usually how many places allocated 2 those applicants each year?? :roll: :?:for those who are going to INTEC, there will be arnd 50 who will be chosen...
Anyway, i wont give up and still will try my very best 2 prepare 4 the interview..(if only i am short-listed) :o ....
btw, is there anybody applied 4 German Engineering?? 4 german engineering, there r usually how many places allocated 2 those applicants each year?? :roll: :?:
for SPM 2005, there are 60 places allocated for a-level German in INTEC... 12 non-bumis and only 10 girls...
liangfuhan
24-03-2007, 01:01 PM
i think people misunderstand the selection process of the JPA scholarships, many perceive that all they are looking for is the A1s. And that even if you have straight A1s, it isn't a guarantee that you are sure to obtain the scholarship. I have friends who go, "Oh my, X got straight A1s, and yet she didn't get the scholarship". From what I know, if your parents income are more than 10000, your chances are REALLY cut down, even more compared to getting an A2 or B3. And as we all know, not many straight A1 students are good at expressing themselves, some may have the A1s but in the interview, not many are eloquent in debating what they feel is right.
even an article mentioned that the selection commitee are not looking for the A1s, instead i think they want well-rounded indidviduals, ready to lead malaysia to their vision 2020..
haha, i love to say that, it just sounds so inspirational.
anyway, don't get me wrong, I'm not stereotyping straight A1 students, i have known brilliant students who can even debate at national level debates. But it's sad to say that they still fail, i guess it was because of the family's income.
24-03-2007, 01:15 PM
And as we all know, not many straight A1 students are good at expressing themselves.
I beg your FREAKING pardon?????
deaf-knee
24-03-2007, 02:16 PM
dude. chill. :P
liangfuhan
24-03-2007, 03:53 PM
if it'll make u feel better, i 'accidentally' put as we all know, but i'm not taking back my words about the lack of confidence in speech of a few straight A1 students.
wendy191
24-03-2007, 06:26 PM
i hv a silly question here.i'm currently form 5 and i hv some misconcept bout JPA and Petronas scholarships.i want to ask actly when JPA and Petronas scholarships are open for application?are we using SPM trial's results to apply?
25-03-2007, 01:45 PM
liangfuhan wrote:
And as we all know, not many straight A1 students are good at expressing themselves.
Well, I think you are talking about me. :D I do get straight A 1 this SPM but I have a slight strutter to my speech so I prefer not to talk if I can help it. :oops:
liangfuhan
25-03-2007, 01:49 PM
no la, how can i refer to someone i barely know, i was saying in general, but then again, isn't it true? u do agree that not all straight A1s students are eloquent right?
petertok
25-03-2007, 09:41 PM
u're just jealous, liangfuhan.
Ops, i "accidentally" put that and wont take it back as well.
yilian
26-03-2007, 01:50 AM
wendy191,
jpa scholarship is for spm leavers, meaning, you can only apply for it after you receive your actual spm results. u cant apply for it with your trial result. while for petronas, i m not very sure about that, but as what i know, there's two parts of the petronas scholarship. the first one using trial result but only for selected schools and the second one using actual result for all spm leavers.
please correct me if i m wrong. :)
yilian
26-03-2007, 02:03 AM
well, i agree with part of liangfuhan's opinions about jpa and straight A1's students.
In my own opinion, there r straight A1's students who are active in co-cu, have good leadership and able to speak in the crowd.
However, it doesnt mean that students without straight A1's ( a A2 or a B or even no A at all) are not active in co-cu, good in leadership skills and able to speak in the crowd.
Some of them might be even better in handling problems, management, leadership compare to the straight A1's students.
I had lots of friends who did not get straight A1's or straight A's in spm, but undeniable, they are really good at leadership skill.
26-03-2007, 02:10 AM
:D haha....i do agree with your opinions..... :P
no offence.....
yeah, agree too. I have known some friends with not-so-good results in SPM, but indeed they have good leadership skills and are creative and intelligent in managing things other than studies. I really admire and respect them for this particular reason. I believe that they may become more excellent than some top scorers in life.
chriss
26-03-2007, 03:25 PM
wendy191,
jpa scholarship is for spm leavers, meaning, you can only apply for it after you receive your actual spm results. u cant apply for it with your trial result. while for petronas, i m not very sure about that, but as what i know, there's two parts of the petronas scholarship. the first one using trial result but only for selected schools and the second one using actual result for all spm leavers.
please correct me if i m wrong. :)
The petronas company will select a school in a particular place for their first term intake.....supposely i know in Sungai Petani, Kedah, they choose Ibrahim for year 2004, SIn Min for year 2005(ask your teacher about it).....that is when the applicants used their trial examination results to apply......the petronas schorlaship will be open for appication via online after the SPM results come out.........My year(2005) i have to pay an extra fee of RM20 to apply that. You can print out the application letter online and send to them. Then, there will be a list and those who are short listed will be going for a camp(interview included). It is to test your leader ship and other qualities handling spesific situation (according to my friends who got that scholarship). And if you got it, congratulations you will be in UTP in no time.
liangfuhan
26-03-2007, 05:14 PM
yilian! thank you! i needed someone to back me up... urgh, some people just don't admit it, but anyway, i'm not classifying every top scorer as a nerd and all, I know brilliant people who are great in cocuriicular activities...
liangfuhan
26-03-2007, 05:15 PM
and yes, i' jealous i didn't get straight A1s for my SPM, but that's not the reason why I'm pointing out my views, there's more to an education rather than scoring that string of As... and no, i'm not going to take my words back.
26-03-2007, 06:17 PM
chill guys... everyone is unique in their very own ways. We shouldn't be putting gross generalization onto them. Even so, it's how you put your uniqueness to the others that makes you stand out...
jaya13a1sree
26-03-2007, 06:30 PM
chill guys... everyone is unique in their very own ways. We shouldn't be putting gross generalization onto them. Even so, it's how you put your uniqueness to the others that makes you stand out...
I Second that motion!!!! :P
ericjoe
27-03-2007, 02:18 PM
1 of the main condition 4 jpa scholarship is our parents income muz below RM1500.... i know most of our parents earn more than that right? ( sorry if this statement offended some parties ) then, if our parents income is more than 1500, how do we fill the income part in jpa form? should we write the actual amount? i know the option 2 give a false income amount is not advisable cuz the department can check the income tax....if the income is more than 1500, then do we have chance 2 be selected 4 jpa interview?
27-03-2007, 02:20 PM
1 of the main condition 4 jpa scholarship is our parents income muz below RM1500.... i know most of our parents earn more than that right? ( sorry if this statement offended some parties ) then, if our parents income is more than 1500, how do we fill the income part in jpa form? should we write the actual amount? i know the option 2 give a false income amount is not advisable cuz the department can check the income tax....if the income is more than 1500, then do we have chance 2 be selected 4 jpa interview?could you tell me the source of your info? As far as i know, a lot of the people who got JPA have parents who earn more than double the amount stated by you...
ericjoe
27-03-2007, 03:22 PM
you try 2 log on into the jpa offical web site and download a file ( i forgot what the title is )... from there u will know the maximum income of an applicant's parents should have..... oh i recelled.. i got that news from the newspaper...even tough all of us have doubted the credibility of a newspaper regarding the 19 a1 spm news, i still believe that the maxsimum income 4 jpa is 1500....how do u fill the income portion in jpa form?
27-03-2007, 03:36 PM
you try 2 log on into the jpa offical web site and download a file ( i forgot what the title is )... from there u will know the maximum income of an applicant's parents should have..... oh i recelled.. i got that news from the newspaper...even tough all of us have doubted the credibility of a newspaper regarding the 19 a1 spm news, i still believe that the maxsimum income 4 jpa is 1500....how do u fill the income portion in jpa form?From what i had read, i know that JPA will give priority to the lower income group instead of setting it to mandatory for your parents' income to be lower than RM 1500...
27-03-2007, 03:38 PM
could you tell me the source of your info? As far as i know, a lot of the people who got JPA have parents who earn more than double the amount stated by you...
Yup, some are even 10 times more, just wonder whether they put in the actual amount....
Anyway, there is no statement that JPA will ONLY give the scholarship to those whose parents earn less than RM 1500. They've just said that those below RM 1500 will be given priority.... If this is true how about those government servants' children, they can't cheat right?
limeuu
27-03-2007, 03:43 PM
the rm1500 thinggy is from an annoucement that ALL straight a1 students with family income less than 1500 will automatically be given scholarship when they apply...........
the family income was not a requirement in the application till i think 2 years ago, as it was then a pure merit scholarship............and there are millionaire families given the scholarship..........it plays a part when there is a tie between a few candidates..........
finally, based on the breakdown, no matter what the jpa says about being a meritocracy, statistics show 80% will be given to bumis, and non-bumis, thousands literally with straight As, will fight for the remainding 20%..........good luck.........
ericjoe
27-03-2007, 03:51 PM
btw.. are there any essays question 4 jpa? all the while i used 2 be fear of essays....
27-03-2007, 03:52 PM
btw.. are there any essays question 4 jpa? all the while i used 2 be fear of essays....yes, there will be...
27-03-2007, 03:57 PM
btw.. are there any essays question 4 jpa? all the while i used 2 be fear of essays....
Essay question has been abolished last year, instead, some sort of psychology or career test had been introduced. I'm not sure whether the essay question will make a return this year, you'll know it exactly when the first batch returns from their interview.
About your avatar....dekamaster...haha.....
liangfuhan
27-03-2007, 04:06 PM
yeah, it's not a MAIN CONDITION but they go by a point system, families with an income of 1500 or less are awarded 10 points, and the scale goes down to less than 5000... until 10000
prophecus
28-03-2007, 01:19 AM
for SPM 2005, there are 60 places allocated for a-level German in INTEC... 12 non-bumis and only 10 girls...
apart from the 60 places in intec, there are another 20 places for AUSMAT-German in KBU. So about 80 2005 spm leavers are bound to Germany..
-anip ist sehr schoen (read on kelantanese dialect)-
Estrella
29-03-2007, 12:19 AM
instead of wondering how those candidates with high-pay parents fill in their form for borang pendapatan, i wonder why they actually need to apply for this scholarship. Most of them actually think that it's something proud. :roll:
29-03-2007, 09:56 AM
instead of wondering how those candidates with high-pay parents fill in their form for borang pendapatan, i wonder why they actually need to apply for this scholarship. Most of them actually think that it's something proud. :roll:
You'll be amazed to see on registration day, if you get the scholarship. Parents send their children there in Mercedez, BMW, Camry, Civic etc......
There is even a students who drives Mercedez to college....Imagine.....JPA scholar...!
29-03-2007, 10:04 AM
You'll be amazed to see on registration day, if you get the scholarship. Parents send their children there in Mercedez, BMW, Camry, Civic etc......
There is even a students who drives Mercedez to college....Imagine.....JPA scholar...!it's not about what cars zou drive to college. Anyonw who deserves the scholarship will get no matter what class they come from... what's so special about driving Mercs to college? it's literally everywhere now....
carine
29-03-2007, 12:28 PM
HELP!!!!HELP!!
i wrote jurujual n is sendiri in the pekerjaan there
n dont have any salary voucher....
what's slip bayaran bantuan?????
what should i show them then???
limeuu
29-03-2007, 12:41 PM
There is even a students who drives Mercedez to college....Imagine.....JPA scholar...!
i think there is some confusion here as regards scholarships...........
there are basically 2 extremes of scholarships...........one is a pure merit scholarship, where you are judged PURELY based on your academic merits, nothing else..............
the second is means tested scholarships, where you are selected based on your financial means, with academic merit sidelined, as long as you meet the minimum requirement............
most scholarships is based on a combination of the two.............to varying degrees............
the jpa scholarship, in it's present form, started i think in 1999, open to all, was intially based purely on merit............so i know of millionaire families getting it............it was easy then, as there were more places than straight As student, so practically all straight As students who applied received the scholarship............
since about 2 or 3 years ago, they have stated to take into consideration family income, as one of the factor to be considered..........exactly how important this criteria is in the selection process is unknown, and the process is not transparent.........
i think jpa, and the students themselves will need to decide what kind of scholarship this is and will be............
ericjoe
29-03-2007, 04:10 PM
hey...does any1 know who will interview us? teachers? lecturers? doctors? plz reply...
groundum
29-03-2007, 04:19 PM
err..just a normal human being who can talk and ask u some questions, nth else...
what makes them so special is our future is in their hand :twisted:
ericjoe
29-03-2007, 04:33 PM
thanks.... but it is better to know who the interviewers are... so we can prepare better... but what i heard from rumours is the jpa department have selected who should get this scholarship in advance before the interview... then they call almost every1 2 attend interview.. i suspect more people will be disappointed after the interview result is announced. 8)
29-03-2007, 05:05 PM
hey...does any1 know who will interview us? teachers? lecturers? doctors? plz reply...The officers from JPA itself will be giving out the interviews...
uglyducklai
29-03-2007, 07:36 PM
my father owns a small business,
when i applied JPA and i asked him about his salary,he said his salary is around rm 1000.Thn after i selected to the intrerview and told him that i need to bring his income tax along, he really shock coz i found that his annual income is around RM 30k !!
damn,now the borang pengesahan pendapatan bulanan i really have no idea how to fill it!!
should i fill my dad's salary as rm 1200 (as my prerious application form ) or i just fill it as rm 3000??
Omg.....im such a fool..what should i do....please help...
ericjoe
29-03-2007, 08:20 PM
my father owns a small business,
when i applied JPA and i asked him about his salary,he said his salary is around rm 1000.Thn after i selected to the intrerview and told him that i need to bring his income tax along, he really shock coz i found that his annual income is around RM 30k !!
damn,now the borang pengesahan pendapatan bulanan i really have no idea how to fill it!!
should i fill my dad's salary as rm 1200 (as my prerious application form ) or i just fill it as rm 3000??
Omg.....im such a fool..what should i do....please help...
1st thing- what course do u apply?
2nd, my recommended solution is you should write the actual income amount in the borang pengesahan pendapatan... wait till when the interviewers question you why there is difference in the income then only u tell them the truth.
theunknown
30-03-2007, 12:03 AM
can i change my course now???????????
:oops: :oops:
ericjoe
30-03-2007, 12:12 AM
can i change my course now???????????
:oops: :oops:
too late..what course u wrote in da form? then now which course u re interested in?
theunknown
30-03-2007, 12:17 AM
i wrote med.
now i thought of engineering.. :P :P
haha!
ericjoe
30-03-2007, 12:25 AM
i wrote med.
now i thought of engineering.. :P :P
haha!
i also taught of medicine last 2 years ago...really i loved medicine.. till after form 5..i hav no interest in medicine cuz i studied biology like hell......so i plan 2 take engineering..
but i suggest you try 2 maintain ur interest in ur medicine cuz u will be disqualified when u wan 2 change course at 11th hours.
how is ur spm result?
theunknown
30-03-2007, 12:27 AM
9A1 2A2
pjaya89
30-03-2007, 12:45 AM
wow ,it has been a real long time since i posted something on recom....one advice to u ppl dont wory so much...if ur fated to get...u definitely will...i would like to add something about ppl who r so'muka tebal',earning hundreds of thousands every year,driving latest volvo(whatever the model is)still want to apply for scholarship.one good advice to them GO GET A GOOD DICTIONARY N CHECK THE MEANING OF SCHOLARSHIP......dont just apply n yearn for it coz it sounds rather glamourous....hehehe....if u have the money,use ur money...ur r not going to get it buried with u when u die :D
limeuu
30-03-2007, 01:03 AM
wow ,it has been a real long time since i posted something on recom....one advice to u ppl dont wory so much...if ur fated to get...u definitely will...i would like to add something about ppl who r so'muka tebal',earning hundreds of thousands every year,driving latest volvo(whatever the model is)still want to apply for scholarship.one good advice to them GO GET A GOOD DICTIONARY N CHECK THE MEANING OF SCHOLARSHIP......dont just apply n yearn for it coz it sounds rather glamourous....hehehe....if u have the money,use ur money...ur r not going to get it buried with u when u die :D
dictionary.com................
schol?ar?ship /ˈskɒlərˌʃɪp/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[skol-er-ship] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation
?noun
1. learning; knowledge acquired by study; the academic attainments of a scholar.
2. a sum of money or other aid granted to a student, because of merit, need, etc., to pursue his or her studies.
3. the position or status of such a student.
4. a foundation to provide financial assistance to students.
[Origin: 1525?35; scholar + -ship]
i copy what i wrote earlier, since you obviously did not bother to read the whole thread...........
quote:
i think there is some confusion here as regards scholarships...........
there are basically 2 extremes of scholarships...........one is a pure merit scholarship, where you are judged PURELY based on your academic merits, nothing else..............
the second is means tested scholarships, where you are selected based on your financial means, with academic merit sidelined, as long as you meet the minimum requirement............
most scholarships is based on a combination of the two.............to varying degrees............
the jpa scholarship, in it's present form, started i think in 1999, open to all, was intially based purely on merit............so i know of millionaire families getting it............it was easy then, as there were more places than straight As student, so practically all straight As students who applied received the scholarship............
end quote
there are many models of scholarships, but maybe i can cite the harvard model, (in case you all don't know, harvard is consistently ranked the best university in the world, by several ranking bodies)
entry into harvard is PURELY by merit, ie purely based on you academic excellence..............you will be offered a place............then you will be asked if you want or need a scholarship...........if yes, you WILL be given one..............
basic principle: all will be admitted on merit, but nobody will have to turn down the offer because of need, as you ask you will be given a scholarship...............
and guess what?.............harvard is a private university, ie it receives no funding from the US government, yet it has more scholarships to offer than there are places................because people donate/bequest generously to it...............it's illustrous alumni are highly suscessful people (not surprising when you only select the best), rich, and very grateful to it...................[/u]
launa
30-03-2007, 04:56 AM
hey...does any1 know who will interview us? teachers? lecturers? doctors? plz reply...
if i am being interviewed by doctor, engineer, and other professional body, i think i won't stand at germany now...
sore_four_eyes
30-03-2007, 05:04 PM
I guess it doesn't matter what your condition is. I believe that those who have excellent SPM results will 'ditapis' first and called for the interview. Then the JPA peeps will see your interview results and pass those who have truly outdone themselves. When it comes down between two people who have performed well in the interviews but only one can get in then they'll look at the income.
This way, it's much more fair to everyone. And being fair totally rocks 8)
yuchengkia
06-04-2007, 02:16 AM
hi..anyone out there taking pinjaman boleh ubah and/or have alr graduated with UK pharmacy degree ?
I am a UK pharmacy student sponsored by JPA under pinjaman boleh ubah. I would like to find out what option do I have after graduation. Do i get 75% discount for degree 2:2 and above or can I convert to scholarship ?
Is there anyway I can postposne my return so that I can do my pre-registration here in UK?
many thanks.