View Full Version : Embryologist

covalent
15-03-2007, 11:32 PM
hmm.. i want to know if i wanted to be an embryologist, what course should i pursue. Need help from those who had been embryologist himself or anyone who got a true answer to this..

thanks for the future reply

16-03-2007, 07:04 AM
hmm.. i want to know if i wanted to be an embryologist, what course should i pursue. Need help from those who had been embryologist himself or anyone who got a true answer to this..

thanks for the future reply
Embryologists are researchers who specialize in the development of embryos, look at the link between embryos and adult animals, derive the origin of congenital diseases etc...

They can be people who studied biomedicine, biology, zoology etc and pursued this field in post-graduate studies. They can also be doctors who turned into this field of research.

This is not a "true" answer as I am not an embryologist myself. But as far as I know, being an embryologist is more of what you do in your future career as a biologist / zoologist etc, so as long as you start undergraduate in biology /zoology related courses, you should be able to do embryology when you move on to post-graduate later.

Shoblast
16-03-2007, 07:43 AM
If you do the biomedical science degree in melbourne uni, there is a specific stream in third year called developmental science and it focuses mainly on embryos.

However, ever since MU adopted the Melbourne Model, i think they are scrapping the B Biomed degree. BUT, there may still be a way for you to get to this stream. So you should do some digging, maybe send the science faculty an email.

But yeah, being an embryologist is mainly science and research, and less of being a medical practitioner, as far as i know.

16-03-2007, 09:21 AM
There's 2 good embryologists in my uni. I can giveyou their contact details if you want to.

covalent
16-03-2007, 12:52 PM
thanks alot for the replies.. i know there are many courses oversea, but i can afford local college in malaysia only.. so right now, i will choose biomedic as my first choice.

Pisanggoreng
17-03-2007, 01:08 AM
haha....u got nothing else to study meh..wan to study embryo...haha

17-03-2007, 06:37 AM
Haha actually embryology is a fascinating field... They can explain how some people are born with an extra finger, how a particular fold behind the neck at week 14 is related to Down's syndrome, when the fetus' ears start functioning etc. It's actually more interesting than the name suggests.

Hoong
17-03-2007, 07:04 AM

you never know... you might need some help from embryologists...

just kidding