View Full Version : nus help!!!
anne2810
19-03-2007, 05:35 PM
Do i hv 2 put AO or A in de level space? For pengajian am its written AO
anne2810
19-03-2007, 05:51 PM
nus>> We are interested to know of your exceptional talents and achievements besides your academic grades
For the talent part, if i was a winner in eg. international singing competiton... hw am i suppose 2 fill it in? I leave de talent part blank but i cant summit my form. it is considered incomplete.
ccyik
19-03-2007, 06:12 PM
Do i hv 2 put AO or A in de level space? For pengajian am its written AO
I applied using STPM results.
I put only AO for Pengajian Am, and then A for other subjects...
anne2810
19-03-2007, 08:19 PM
wat about the talent part?
ccyik
20-03-2007, 05:05 PM
wat about the talent part?
u can leave it blank for 'Exceptional talents and achievements' that part...
anne2810
20-03-2007, 05:18 PM
If i leave it blank i cant summit my form. Its written imcomplete bla bla... So I just put english competition as art. 2005 ASEAN Pre u award as international science competition. <shrug>
I think my application just got disqualified. OO :( :cry: :cry:
ccyik
20-03-2007, 06:32 PM
But i was able to submit the form without filling them (coz i really din win any competition...LOL)
leng_cyl
20-03-2007, 06:58 PM
is it.. only 4.0 (STPM) has chance to be accepted ? hmm... was thinking to apply too but my result isn't good (=bad) enough to apply lah...
anne2810
20-03-2007, 09:31 PM
leng_cyl you should apply. You will never know wat will happen. Besides dat u gt nothing to lose. So go on apply then.
Btw do you all really think they will disqualify me for wat i did? huhu
anne2810
20-03-2007, 09:34 PM
Btw my result is bad either. Maybe worse than you.
prophx_blizice
20-03-2007, 10:12 PM
erm, i hav a question to ask here
now i applied the nUS liao
so now still waiting for the reply
then when should i apply for the financial aid?
or schorlaship?
or they will arrange for those who is accepted
anne2810
20-03-2007, 11:10 PM
Hw much do i have to pay for de fees? I thought it is S$20. But it is written S$52 in de payment slip. So which 1?
prophx_blizice
20-03-2007, 11:24 PM
that is my receipt
Sum of dollars (inclusive of 5% GST as applicable): SGD$20.00
In payment of Undergraduate Admission Application Fee
whre u find the $52???
how is ur result ?haha, juz asking
anne2810
21-03-2007, 01:16 AM
ohhh de S$52 is for entrance examination... hehe
My result... haih... very bad... 2A n 2B+.
Im still very sad. :cry:
anne2810
21-03-2007, 01:40 AM
wat about you prophx_blizice?
i bet you are better
You don't need all straight As to get into NUS. I've known people with all Bs getting in too.
prophx_blizice
21-03-2007, 10:42 AM
i scored 4A!!haha, first straight A in my life..
entrance examination?wat course do u take o anne
or am i miss out any important step to apply uni?
when i check the online status, it say i hav complete the application, juz waiting for the document...
but i am stay in rural area, afraid they didn send it in time....then cham lo...
whre do u live?anne?i am in batu niah, somewhere near miri in sarawak, a small town
anne2810
21-03-2007, 11:57 AM
Congrats prophx_blizice!
I am from Taiping, Perak. A small town too.
When did you send your documents? I haven send yet. goin to do so by this week. Btw can you list down wat you have sent? Erm certified documents, bank draft... anything else? For example ntu we need to print out checklist, documents, bank draft.. dats all rite?
ccyik
21-03-2007, 12:05 PM
hey prophx_blizice,congratz...
u took how many subjects?
What courses u applied for NUS?
I got 4.0 and applying for it too...lol
prophx_blizice
21-03-2007, 12:11 PM
anne2810, i send the high school cert, secondary school cert, birth document,muet, gce 1119,and some supportive document such as the national physic quiz and national chemistry quiz.
i didn send bank draft coz i dunno whether they can clear public bank's bank draft thr or not.. i hav pay via visa card...haha
ccyik, congrate to you too...hehe
i only take 4 subject, tat is PA, CHEM, PHYSIC and MATH T...
my school not allow me to take 5...
how about u ccyik?sound u take 5 sub. haha
my first choice thr is electrical engineering...
follow by mechanical and chemical.....
i send my document 2 days ago, but they still havn receive it
worrying........
anyway, i hope i can make fren here....
if can add me at blizice@<hidden>. haha
my muet result is band 5, 230....how about u 2?but actually my english is not tat good, juz lucky get band 5, haha
Hey, I'm an EE major third year in NUS! Hope to see you become my junior... :wink:
suyuen
21-03-2007, 01:27 PM
hey guys! For those of you having questions about scholarships, as for ASEAN scholarship (this is from my experience last year), you apply for admission to NUS first. Once you gain admission, you will be shortlisted for an interview based on your results, and after that you'll be awarded the scholarship if you pass.
Last year when I asked the scholarship officer whether I needed to bring any certificates or any documents as proof of my extra-curricular activities, she said I need not do so.
leng_cyl
21-03-2007, 02:15 PM
You don't need all straight As to get into NUS. I've known people with all Bs getting in too.
really? haha.. hope so.. but I'm just trying my luck lah... mine only 3.25...
Do we need to certify the documents?
ccyik
21-03-2007, 02:21 PM
Do we need to certify the documents?
Have to...
prophx_blizice
21-03-2007, 02:47 PM
hi wawa, how is ur life at nus thr
issit stress competing wif the singaporean?lolz
if we didn get the asean schorlaship, we can get the tuition grant right
it support how many % of total course fee
hi wawa, how is ur life at nus thr
issit stress competing wif the singaporean?lolz
if we didn get the asean schorlaship, we can get the tuition grant right
it support how many % of total course fee
Information about it can be found on
https://team.nus.edu.sg/registrar/info/ug/UGTuition2006-7-8.pdf
Yes, practically most people are under the tuition grant.
As for stress level, it depends on how much you are prepared to take and also how high are you aiming for. Really. Normally I find it pretty relaxing and ok, except the week or two when finals are coming and I start to freak out. LOL. Of course, If you're aiming like Dean's list every sem and perfect scores, then its a different matter.
prophx_blizice
21-03-2007, 07:40 PM
ic.......thanks for advise wawa..
oh ya
if somehow my result drop a lot in nus,
will i lost the tuition grant?
or kick out from uni
Anduril
21-03-2007, 11:48 PM
As for stress level, it depends on how much you are prepared to take and also how high are you aiming for. Really. Normally I find itpretty relaxing and ok, except the week or two when finals are coming and I start to freak out. LOL. Of course, If you're aiming like Dean's list every sem and perfect scores, then its a different matter.
wawa, if not mistaken, you are a USP student in NUS right?
I found in NUS website that a USP student will not have extra burden compared to non-USP student. Does that really reflect the true nature?
I intend to apply USP. But I fear I may not be able to cope with those mind-boggling sessions (though they sound interesting) and paperwork. Also, I hope to get involved in some scientific research. So, as to whether USP will prevent one from having time for University Research Opportunity Programme (UROP), I hope you all could help clarify.
Thanks! :)
Europa
22-03-2007, 12:51 AM
I found in NUS website that a USP student will not have extra burden compared to non-USP student. Does that really reflect the true nature?
I intend to apply USP. But I fear I may not be able to cope with those mind-boggling sessions (though they sound interesting) and paperwork. Also, I hope to get involved in some scientific research. So, as to whether USP will prevent one from having time for University Research Opportunity Programme (UROP), I hope you all could help clarify.
Thanks! :)
In the first place, what do you mean by 'not having extra burden'?
FYI, for USP and UROP it's a matter of time management. You can take USP and also do UROP (so far, I haven't heard of UROPs taking longer than a year).
omega
24-03-2007, 09:25 PM
I have heard that for NUS application, there is a compulsory test and a interview for certain courses. Does anyone know exact how the test is conducted or is about? I mean, what are we tested on?
macgyve6
25-03-2007, 09:43 AM
Please visit : the NUS Malaysian Students League site to know more on NUS.
http://www.nusmsl.org/ (Up but still constructing)
http://forum.nusmsl.org/ (Brand new forum)
I have heard that for NUS application, there is a compulsory test and a interview for certain courses. Does anyone know exact how the test is conducted or is about? I mean, what are we tested on?
For medicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, law, and architecture applicants, you're required to attend an interview at NUS. That shouldn't be a test, maybe just an interview.
eslite
25-03-2007, 07:26 PM
NUS does not offer veterinary medicine. Pharmacy doesn't require interview either (heard that its not a very popular choice amongst Singaporeans).
The courses that require interview are hyper-selective courses (ie medicine, law etc) and certain double degree programmes. The list is here (http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/apply/prerequisite.htm).
Some of the interviews includes an aptitude test. This is what I know about some of the courses that require interview.
Medicine: Very important. I know the will ask questions on human anatomy and such.
Dentistry: Includes a dexterity test to see how nimble your hands are. Previous test includes making a cube/shapes using wires.
Architecture: An aptitude test to see your flair in design.
wawa, if not mistaken, you are a USP student in NUS right?
Thanks! Smile
No I am not a USP student. I chose not to join the USP since their programme are somewhat inclined towards the arts side rather than the science side, although I have sat in for some of their classes. It also involves a siginificant amount of writing too. As long as you like reading and can write good english, I do not think joining USP would be a problem.
As said earlier, I plan a career in research and thus I chose to focus on the 'science' side instead -- minoring in mat science and doing UROPs (and also other research related work). The thing about UROPs is highly dependent on which professor you choose to work with: some professors treat you like extra help, while some (like mine) really made sure I learnt how to conduct research well and basically gave me a whole project to work with for a whole year.
If you're in Science, I believe there's this program called SPS (Special project in Science) where students are steeped in the art of science and research from the first year onwards. Unfortunately it is not an option for engineering students to take, but if you're from science, it is definitely something you should seriously consider if you're interested in research.
omega
26-03-2007, 01:23 PM
Some of the interviews includes an aptitude test. This is what I know about some of the courses that require interview.
Medicine: Very important. I know the will ask questions on human anatomy and such.
Dentistry: Includes a dexterity test to see how nimble your hands are. Previous test includes making a cube/shapes using wires.
Architecture: An aptitude test to see your flair in design.[/quote]
I didn't know that the NUS has such intense selection. I am applying for medicine but I don't really know where to start with. Can you share what are the things I have to prepare before going for the test and interview?
eslite
26-03-2007, 03:34 PM
I didn't know that the NUS has such intense selection. I am applying for medicine but I don't really know where to start with. Can you share what are the things I have to prepare before going for the test and interview?
Medicine in NUS is very very very very very selective. They have a quota on the number of international students they accept every year and I think the number is about 15.
I'm not taking/planning to take medicine so I'm not really sure about the selection/interview. Have to ask around though. My friend who is applying Med@<hidden> is preparing recommendation letters to provide a stronger application so maybe you could do the same?
ccyik
26-03-2007, 05:44 PM
I applied for medicine@<hidden> as well. Well, i dont think i can get it thou. Wow, hv to go thru so many selection process... :(
Is recommendation letter required?