View Full Version : IMU

niknasir
20-03-2007, 02:07 PM
i am at INTEC doing ausmat bound to Aussie next year for Medic course but it is learnt that quite tough to enroll Aussie U. Can somenone let me know can I apply to IMU by using my semester result as a tentatative result for applying IMU for febuary intake 2008 and when IMU open it's application and when it's due date for febuary 2008 intake

Zoe
31-03-2007, 06:37 PM
I think you can, because on the form, there's a box for you to tick wheter its actual or forecast. You can probably start applying after Imu's sept intake.

Anyway, for more info, try:

http://www.imu.edu.my/

Btw, i'd like to affirm sumthing.
Is it true that the PMS that twins wth IMU does NOT recognize the certs they give out?
Sounds weird, but if u look at it from the uni's pov, its like "why should we give u a cert from OUR uni when ur not here full time, and who knows wad kinda education you're getting for ur pre clinical?"

Replies VERy much appreciated , im due for sept this yr. argh

04-06-2007, 02:47 PM
i am at INTEC doing ausmat bound to Aussie next year for Medic course but it is learnt that quite tough to enroll Aussie U. Can somenone let me know can I apply to IMU by using my semester result as a tentatative result for applying IMU for febuary intake 2008 and when IMU open it's application and when it's due date for febuary 2008 intake

Hi,

I am actually a senior of you then!! haha... was an AUSMATian 17.. ask Mdm Gouri, Pn. Azani or Pn. Syarmila.. they might remember me though.. well, I did AUSMAT, supposedly bound to NZ as well last time, but now i'm in IMU.. yes it is quite tough to get into aussie unis though. quite a number of my friends here actually didn't get offer from the unis in aussie.. about 20 Ausmat 17 here in my batch..

regarding your question, you dont need to worry about your application first. i'm not sure if the application has been opened yet. not so fast i think. it should be somewhere in Aug. but please do check out the IMU's website from time to time. the closing date is normally at the end of november( last year was 30th of Nov). ask puan haliza (if she's still the head of programme) for your forecast results. they would normally take your mid-year results as forecast results. (that's what happened to me last time) i did use my forecast results to apply. there'll be a check list provided from imu's website, got through it and get everything done. u have to do a blood test for hep B. just go to the clinic near cemara and pay bout 15 bucks to get it done. it'll take bout 3 to 4 days for the results to be ready.

when you have all the forms and documents ready, send them to IMU.. and wait for their call to arrange your interview time..

please do let me know if you need tips for the interview though.

04-06-2007, 02:57 PM
I think you can, because on the form, there's a box for you to tick wheter its actual or forecast. You can probably start applying after Imu's sept intake.

Anyway, for more info, try:

http://www.imu.edu.my/

Btw, i'd like to affirm sumthing.
Is it true that the PMS that twins wth IMU does NOT recognize the certs they give out?
Sounds weird, but if u look at it from the uni's pov, its like "why should we give u a cert from OUR uni when ur not here full time, and who knows wad kinda education you're getting for ur pre clinical?"

Replies VERy much appreciated , im due for sept this yr. argh

well, i'm not sure where you've got this statement from. but sorry to say i don't think i can confirm it in anyway.

but what i would like to say is this : if they do not recognise their own certs? why would they be giving them out in the first place?

well good luck in coming to IMU. enjoy the orientation!!!! its gonna be SOOOOOOO fun!!!!! =)

btw, i'm in IMU now... haha... hope to meet u soon..

day_dreamer
07-06-2007, 08:57 AM
Excuse me .. Is IMU medicine accepted in Singapore ?? I mean are doctors from IMU allowed to practise in Singapore ??

07-06-2007, 12:10 PM
Excuse me .. Is IMU medicine accepted in Singapore ?? I mean are doctors from IMU allowed to practise in Singapore ??

erm.. i'm not sure on this.. but according to IMU's prospectus here's what it has to say..

IMU MBBS medical programme is recognised by the Sri lanka medical council and the degree is listen in the world health organisation directory of medical school.

the medical partner medical schools wil award degrees to students in their respective training programmes. degrees from these schools are recognised internationally and locally by the malaysia medical council for full registration..

so i suppose of you do IMU's twinning programme, you can work in singapore.. but if you did it locally then you can't.. i think...

07-06-2007, 03:26 PM
hi all, for those who are/ will be coming to IMU, there's just an info i wanna share.. in the latest news, university of calgary, canada will no longer be a partner medical school. this is because the canadian gov wanted the uni to increase the number of intakes of their own local students due to the reason that the country is short of local doctors... so they will only accept IMU students till this current semester one batch (i.e. my batch).. so any batch later than mine would no longer can twin to uni of calgary...

jane_gun
08-06-2007, 01:11 PM

Hehe, I was supposed to do AUSMAT in INTEC too after my SPM 2003 but back then, we had the option to "gantung" our pre-U (I still don't like how JPA call us "pelajar gantung" - makes us sound like we got suspended or something)... Anyway, try to keep a positive attitude - Aus unis ain't all that hard to enter... Plus, you're doing AUSMAT which is so much easier compared to some other Pre-U courses like A-Levels or STPM - at least, that's what my juniors from INTEC told me... All the best in getting into med school, whichever that may be! ^_^

08-06-2007, 02:22 PM

Hehe, I was supposed to do AUSMAT in INTEC too after my SPM 2003 but back then, we had the option to "gantung" our pre-U (I still don't like how JPA call us "pelajar gantung" - makes us sound like we got suspended or something)... Anyway, try to keep a positive attitude - Aus unis ain't all that hard to enter... Plus, you're doing AUSMAT which is so much easier compared to some other Pre-U courses like A-Levels or STPM - at least, that's what my juniors from INTEC told me... All the best in getting into med school, whichever that may be! ^_^

what do you mean by gantung pre-u?? means you can opt not to do it??? AUSMAT's curriculum ain't as elaborate as other courses so it is definitely much simpler in terms of curriculum.. but the assignments realtive to those subjects are the killers...

nurulanne
22-06-2007, 05:34 PM
Hi...same as nik nasir...i oso learnt that it is difficult to get a place for medic in NZ as well...i am currently taking my a level here in taylors college under the jpa scholarships and will b finishing around nov 07..
so,if let say we didint get a place in Nz/aussie uni,but we still pass the cut off point,what will jpa do for us? or should we try to apply to imu earlier?if we go to imu...will jpa pay the house rental fees for us? OMG,i m so sorry that i hav lots of Q's here..could someone halp to ans me..

22-06-2007, 09:40 PM
Hi...same as nik nasir...i oso learnt that it is difficult to get a place for medic in NZ as well...i am currently taking my a level here in taylors college under the jpa scholarships and will b finishing around nov 07..
so,if let say we didint get a place in Nz/aussie uni,but we still pass the cut off point,what will jpa do for us? or should we try to apply to imu earlier?if we go to imu...will jpa pay the house rental fees for us? OMG,i m so sorry that i hav lots of Q's here..could someone halp to ans me..

Hi, maybe i can help you on this.. i used to be supposed to go to NZ as well.. but appaently i couldnt gain entry to the uni.. so i ended up in IMU too...

have you gone for the interview by uni of otago n auckland? how was the deans?? d auckland interviewers should be cynthia and parry right?? haha.. nice people.. but one thing i must warn you, there are not so many places offered in NZ.. for Otago its about 7 places and auckland only gives 3.. not sure if it has changed...

so here's the thing. if you do not get any offer from overseas uni, but you have met the JPA's cut off point, JPA would allow you to further on your medic studies in IMU or in MMMC. i would suggest you apply for IMU earlier. cos say if you dont get in, you would have missed IMU's Feb 2008 intake, cos the closing date is on the 30th Nov. then you would waste 6 months of doing nothing to gain entry to IMU.

JPA would pay for our rentals. they'll just give us monthly allowances in which includes our allowances for accomodation as well.. so its up to us to choose to stay on more expensive or cheaper rentals..

nurulanne
23-06-2007, 05:56 PM
hi jingguo..
i havent go 4 the interview yet...
our interview is around august..
yerp,i know that the place is very limited..
that's why i didnt understand why jpa still want to sent 12 students there although there are around 10 places there...
somemore, we 'll hav to compete with the MARA scholars..
huhu..how sad...

How much do i need to pay if i want to apply for imu?
um..about the allowance,how much did jpa pay u including the rental fee?

24-06-2007, 06:40 PM
hi jingguo..
i havent go 4 the interview yet...
our interview is around august..
yerp,i know that the place is very limited..
that's why i didnt understand why jpa still want to sent 12 students there although there are around 10 places there...
somemore, we 'll hav to compete with the MARA scholars..
huhu..how sad...

How much do i need to pay if i want to apply for imu?
um..about the allowance,how much did jpa pay u including the rental fee?

its normal for jpa to send more than the unis can take in la.. those who didnt make it would either have to go to manipal or imu la.. good luck for your interviews then!!! do feel free to ask me if you do need tips for those interviews!! had experienced that before...

nurulanne
26-06-2007, 01:53 AM
of course i want the tips...could u plz tell me?? :lol:

27-06-2007, 06:23 PM
of course i want the tips...could u plz tell me?? :lol:

their interview is very relaxing one.. more like chat rather than interview.. i dont think you really need to prepare much for it.. cos they can ask you anything.. last time, they ask about my life in INTEc, studies, family background, and the importance of friends, what is my opinion on racism...

nurulanne
28-06-2007, 03:55 PM
owh..i heard from the agent that we need to make sum kind of statement of purposes and sit for the UMAT test...did u sit for the UMAT test ?

28-06-2007, 07:31 PM
owh..i heard from the agent that we need to make sum kind of statement of purposes and sit for the UMAT test...did u sit for the UMAT test ?

statement of purpose?? i tink they meant your personal statement.. i dont think u need to sit for umat, as do my friends over there now.. cos there's a special agreement between jpa and the nz unis on this..

nurulanne
29-06-2007, 12:16 PM
owh really..that is a good news..thanks anyway=)

29-06-2007, 11:19 PM
owh really..that is a good news..thanks anyway=)

well, i'm not sure about your batches intake.. i mean whether it is under special consideration or not.. so i would suggest u better confirm first..

21-07-2007, 09:57 PM
Is it difficult to enter IMU???
I'm under JPA scholarship(for IMU) & now am in INTEC doing A-Levels Medicine.
Btw, do IMU require us to enter any cocuriculum?

23-07-2007, 09:16 AM

difficult to enter IMU?? erm.. i can't say whether its easy or hard though.. this is a very subjective question la.. just work hard for it la.. ask the seniors how was the outgoing seniors in getting in to IMU la.. r u in alm 7? then find out about the alm 5. they're coming this august..

Its better to have something in cocurriculum la.. and i think secondary school involvement would be sufficient. if possible, join something in intec la.. hehe..

all the best to you!!!

29-07-2007, 09:20 AM

difficult to enter IMU?? erm.. i can't say whether its easy or hard though.. this is a very subjective question la.. just work hard for it la.. ask the seniors how was the outgoing seniors in getting in to IMU la.. r u in alm 7? then find out about the alm 5. they're coming this august..

Its better to have something in cocurriculum la.. and i think secondary school involvement would be sufficient. if possible, join something in intec la.. hehe..

all the best to you!!!

hehe...thx yea...No I'm from ALM 8...only juz started my 1st sem in INTEC ... :lol:

nurulanne
10-08-2007, 11:48 PM
jingguo..ill be havin my interview with uni of otago this monday...
some tips plez..... :lol:

niknasir
23-12-2007, 04:24 PM

I just wanna know if we pass JPA cut off point do we entitle for PMS program or we have to do all 5- 6 years at IMU
please advice me

niknasir
24-12-2007, 09:00 AM

do you now at IMU doing your PMS program

do JPA allow us to to do PMS or IMU with clinical training at seremban or johor bharu
please advice me

24-12-2007, 03:23 PM

I just wanna know if we pass JPA cut off point do we entitle for PMS program or we have to do all 5- 6 years at IMU
please advice me

hi,

here's the thing: as long as u meet up with jpa's cut off point, jpa would still allow you to continue on to study in IMU/melaka manipal per say. however, what you should know is that jpa would not guarantee you a place in IMU or any other unis. it is up to yourself to apply for these unis and inform jpa that you have applied for these uni and gained entrance into the uni. then jpa would let u continue on. acording jpa last time, we were required to apply for PMS only. not locally, because, again, according to the agreement that you signed with them last time, you are required to go overseas. so u'll have to apply for PMS instead of local.

do you now at IMU doing your PMS program

do JPA allow us to to do PMS or IMU with clinical training at seremban or johor bharu
please advice me

yes, i'm in IMU, for PMS

jpa would want you to do PMS as mentioned before

niknasir
11-01-2008, 09:29 PM
nurulanne

Nurul' did you manage to fly or stranded at IMU - PMS or IMU MBBs

please let me know

niknasir
17-01-2008, 02:46 PM

actually how much JPA pay for IMU students allowances every month

17-01-2008, 03:14 PM

actually how much JPA pay for IMU students allowances every month

calling me once would be enough.. haha.. well, we got RM5500 of allowances per year. that's somewhere around RM450 per month.. but this year onwards, i heard they're gonna increase the rate. but i do not know how much.

niknasir
28-01-2008, 11:22 AM
nurulanne
nurulanne

where wewe you now nurul are you also stranded at IMU
regisrtation on 24/2 IMU - MBBS or IMU PMS

28-01-2008, 11:34 AM
eh i thought registration on the 25th??

29-01-2008, 11:05 PM
hey ppl,
just curious, how many are coming in for IMU's medicine this Feb?
how bout dentistry? anyone coming in for that?

nurulanne
01-05-2008, 01:08 PM
sori for the long silence..huhu..im now in university of otago..

derexeddie
02-05-2008, 12:07 AM
does IMU accept matrik qualification? CGPA 3.50 rite?

anyway, can matrik students take up IMU twinning programme (medic) to partner medical schools in overseas?

pls answer me...

09-05-2008, 08:45 PM
does IMU accept matrik qualification? CGPA 3.50 rite?

anyway, can matrik students take up IMU twinning programme (medic) to partner medical schools in overseas?

pls answer me...

IMU do take in matrix students.. regarding the CGP, you would have to confirm with IMU itself.
regarding your second question, you definitely can. because its up to you to choose whether to do it locally or overseas. if you can afford it you defnitely can go.

09-05-2008, 08:49 PM
Just want to ask you guys is biomedical science course in IMU good ? Any scholarship for it ?

10-05-2008, 11:01 PM
Just want to ask you guys is biomedical science course in IMU good ? Any scholarship for it ?

regarding the course i'm not sure as is a new course offered by IMU. but what i can tell u is that the researches done here is equivalent to world standard as we do have a few researchers who are actually in collaboration with WHO and other health organizations in the world.

IMU does not have any scholarship for biomedical sciences. but i think there should certain private associations or foundations which offer scholarships or maybe PTPTN loans.

Kuekkuek
28-05-2008, 04:20 PM
hello, jingguo!!!!
i hv a question to ask u since u're a current medic student in IMU...is IMU recognized internationally???? like Aus, NZ, Canada, Ireland, US n UK? cz i heard my fren's aunt trying to apply to work in Aus gov hosp, bt was turned down with the medic degree cert from IMU...so can u help me to clarify my doubts???? thnks in advance.....

along4896
23-06-2008, 04:32 PM
hi, jingguo^^

i wil be goin for BPharm july 2008. any senior to introduce for me?

20-07-2008, 04:33 PM
For the JPA students in IMU, does JPA provide free hostels for them during the first year? Or do they need to find accomodation themselves? What are the recommended accomodations that are convinient enough?

06-08-2008, 10:28 PM
hello, jingguo!!!!
i hv a question to ask u since u're a current medic student in IMU...is IMU recognized internationally???? like Aus, NZ, Canada, Ireland, US n UK? cz i heard my fren's aunt trying to apply to work in Aus gov hosp, bt was turned down with the medic degree cert from IMU...so can u help me to clarify my doubts???? thnks in advance.....

hi!! sorry for such a late reply. here's the thing, depending on whether you are doing IMU MBBs locally or with the partner medical schools, your application would depend. so far, IMU's local degree is recognised locally and in sri lanka. however for degree of which is from your partner medical schools, it would depend on whether the degree offered by the overseas uni is recognised in the particular country or not.

hi, jingguo^^

i wil be goin for BPharm july 2008. any senior to introduce for me?

hi sorry for the late reply. hope u would b able to settle here by now. if you still need any help around sri petaling and IMU just let me know. I'm in M107.

newell
19-08-2008, 01:27 AM
Hi there! I would like to join IMU for the Feb 2009 intake, and I would like to find out from those who are currently in IMU on the processes and procedures in application + interview section held by IMU annually. Any tips/ advice for a newbie applying to IMU?? ;-)

Please enlighten me on whether the application has now been open or not. Thx!! :-)

07-09-2008, 12:25 AM
For the JPA students in IMU, does JPA provide free hostels for them during the first year? Or do they need to find accomodation themselves? What are the recommended accomodations that are convinient enough?

Again, sorry for this uber late reply.. have been stuck with tonnes of stuff.. as with accomodation, there are no free hostels or what so ever in IMU.. JPA would bank in certain amount of monthly allowances, and we in IMU are left to fend for ourselves with the amount of money. Accommodation lies squarely on our shoulders. There are our course apartments to let around IMU, which is the nearest of all already. IMU do provide accomodation as well, but again, it is normally on the slightly more expensive scale with rules and regulations attached of course.

Hi there! I would like to join IMU for the Feb 2009 intake, and I would like to find out from those who are currently in IMU on the processes and procedures in application + interview section held by IMU annually. Any tips/ advice for a newbie applying to IMU?? ;-)

Please enlighten me on whether the application has now been open or not. Thx!! :-)

hi!!! as of now, i think the registration is open, you can visit this site

http://www.imu.edu.my/pros_un_medicine_entry.html

you can get the details and information of the registration there,as of the interview there has been a lengthy discussion regarding the interview process. however, if there is any specific queries with the interview, do feel free to post them up!!!

breeze
15-02-2009, 11:30 PM
Hi everyone. I am new here and this is my first post.
I have some questions regarding the IMU-PMS. I want to know if it is possible for me to work in the country that the PMS university is located after I have graduate? The country that I wished for is Australia but I am also curious about other countries which IMU twins with. If the answer is yes, how high are the chances for me to settle there? Thanks in advance for any replies.

randywang
27-03-2009, 11:49 PM
Again, sorry for this uber late reply.. have been stuck with tonnes of stuff.. as with accomodation, there are no free hostels or what so ever in IMU.. JPA would bank in certain amount of monthly allowances, and we in IMU are left to fend for ourselves with the amount of money. Accommodation lies squarely on our shoulders. There are our course apartments to let around IMU, which is the nearest of all already. IMU do provide accomodation as well, but again, it is normally on the slightly more expensive scale with rules and regulations attached of course.

hi!!! as of now, i think the registration is open, you can visit this site

http://www.imu.edu.my/pros_un_medicine_entry.html

you can get the details and information of the registration there,as of the interview there has been a lengthy discussion regarding the interview process. however, if there is any specific queries with the interview, do feel free to post them up!!!

Hi JING GUO,
I'm going for IMU medical interview on 2nd April and i'm freaking scared rite now!! I really hope I can get into IMU. Can you suggest on what kind of questions does IMU ask??

Moreover, I got ABB for my A levels. Do you think it is a high chance to get accepted by IMU?? Please answer..

Randy

11-04-2009, 12:42 PM
I am so so sorry for the past date reply!!! Been very very busy with things around in uni.

How did it go??

I'm sure you'll do just fine.

Regards,

13-04-2009, 12:33 AM
Hi JING GUO,
I'm going for IMU medical interview on 2nd April and i'm freaking scared rite now!! I really hope I can get into IMU. Can you suggest on what kind of questions does IMU ask??

Moreover, I got ABB for my A levels. Do you think it is a high chance to get accepted by IMU?? Please answer..

Randy

Hi, so how was the interview? Can you tell me something about it?
Are you going for the August intake? I am. My interview is scheduled on 29 of April.
Hope we can meet in IMU...:laugh
Btw, have you found a house/hostel at IMU?

15-04-2009, 02:44 PM
Hi everyone. I am new here and this is my first post.
I have some questions regarding the IMU-PMS. I want to know if it is possible for me to work in the country that the PMS university is located after I have graduate? The country that I wished for is Australia but I am also curious about other countries which IMU twins with. If the answer is yes, how high are the chances for me to settle there? Thanks in advance for any replies.

Hello, I think I am the only one around to answer these questions of yours. Lol..

1. Yes, you can work in the country that the PMS university is located. Ie if you've graduate from Aussie Uni you would be able to work in Aussie or New Zealand and vice versa.

2. IMU basically twins universities in New Zealand, Australia, UK, US and Canada. However, not all the universities in those countries are twinned with IMU. As much as said, IMU has been changes of the members of the Partner Universities due to regional or national policies. Thus there may be additional or retreat of certain universities when you enter IMU. For current updates on the universities check this link out:
http://imu.edu.my/partner-about-overview.html

3. I don't have any clue of the chances of settling there but there are seniors who are residing there and working. So yeah.

Hope it helps!!

Regards,

Hi, so how was the interview? Can you tell me something about it?
Are you going for the August intake? I am. My interview is scheduled on 29 of April.
Hope we can meet in IMU...:laugh
Btw, have you found a house/hostel at IMU?

Hey hey,

I'd suggest you to check out this thread :
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5316

I'd say the interview format still remains the same all these while and the lecturers, well, ask the same stuff all over again. =)

As for your accommodation, when you do come to IMU for interview, I'd suggest that you head to the Student Services Department on the Ground Floor, just right at the entrance and ask for a list of available accommodation from the staff there.

By any chance, you might see me working there too!! lol..

Regards,

tsar
15-04-2009, 03:29 PM
Anyone can tell me anything about IMU scholarship?

15-04-2009, 07:09 PM
Anyone can tell me anything about IMU scholarship?

Hi,

All about the scholarship in IMU is right over at this link.

http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-financial-imu.html

I think it would basically answer all your queries.

20-04-2009, 12:11 AM
Hey hey,

I'd suggest you to check out this thread :
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5316

I'd say the interview format still remains the same all these while and the lecturers, well, ask the same stuff all over again. =)

As for your accommodation, when you do come to IMU for interview, I'd suggest that you head to the Student Services Department on the Ground Floor, just right at the entrance and ask for a list of available accommodation from the staff there.

By any chance, you might see me working there too!! lol..

Regards,

Thanks for the info. I was a little clueless about house-hunting over here... lolx
You working there? I thought you are studying... part-time job? lol...
The last time I went to IMU for some visiting trip, I saw you too actually... I dun think you remembered though... :laugh

23-04-2009, 09:48 PM
Thanks for the info. I was a little clueless about house-hunting over here... lolx
You working there? I thought you are studying... part-time job? lol...
The last time I went to IMU for some visiting trip, I saw you too actually... I dun think you remembered though... :laugh

Hi,

Well, I am graduating from IMU Bukit Jalil soon, so by any chance I might be staying back in IMU and work for some time before I am off to PMS!!

Really?? When was it? I have seriously no inkling when that happened..

daniel83
12-11-2009, 09:18 PM
hi.. i need help from u all IMU students.. i not IMU student, but my gf she are..

now the problem is she goin oversea study next year, but IMU sent her to a university which is not in her 10 choices list.. n her exam result not bad, but even those student who worst than her can get better university than IMU sent her.. now she already appeals the letter to the office, the office lady said tat the percent very low. she jus called up the lecturer who teaching her and realised tat new lecturer din write up recognition letter to the office..swt..

so can anyone help her, any recognition staff who can help her?? pls...
thanks u all

orthopod
12-11-2009, 09:40 PM
firstly.it would be really helpful if u could type in english i can actually understand..but nevertheless i think i get your drift..

I think she can appeal to go to universities that still have spots left..in the past IMU has lots of spots left in NZ universities...&some not so popular universities in australia like tasmania..(im not sure if this has changed though) if you dont mind me asking..where does she plan to go and where did she get?

I think the australian universities are EXTREMELY POPULAR with the IMU Students because its much cheaper compared to the canadian/UK/irish schools..so if she wants to go to australia..probaby forget it?Come to think of it..look at it this way..most of the students go to IMU because their parents want to save a bit on cost...so even 50 thousand rm is quite a big saving..?

21-11-2009, 11:04 AM
hi.. i need help from u all IMU students.. i not IMU student, but my gf she are..

now the problem is she goin oversea study next year, but IMU sent her to a university which is not in her 10 choices list.. n her exam result not bad, but even those student who worst than her can get better university than IMU sent her.. now she already appeals the letter to the office, the office lady said tat the percent very low. she jus called up the lecturer who teaching her and realised tat new lecturer din write up recognition letter to the office..swt..

so can anyone help her, any recognition staff who can help her?? pls...
thanks u all

hi daniel and orthopod. orthopod, things do have change as compared to the past. maybe you can have a read on this too. just to keep yourself abreast.

daniel, i do agree with orthopod regarding your english. no offence.

from what i comprehend, she should be in her semester 5, exams due next week rite? If my guess is correct, then i would be her senior by a batch. =) I have been studying in imu and been working there too. To clarify a point, what the matching process guarantees is a place for students to go to their university which imu partners with. hence with this said, matching does not guarantee you the top university that you want to go.

and with current trend or the agreement of what i understand, the partner universities will take imu students in ratio of results. for example, if university A offers 4 places, it might be filled up by 1 top scorer of the batch, 2 average student and 1 slightly below average student. hence it is no surprise for someone who is weaker to get to go to their university of their choice though another person who might be better in results vies for the same place. other than that, we should look into other aspects, has her result been consistent all this while? some university may look into overall academic performances rather than just one EOS. how about non academic qualities? has she has something that puts her at the better edge? there was a co-cu form which she needed to fill in.

as of now, she can only appeal (chances are slim definitely) and wait.

and to orthopod, i do agree with you every cent saved is money saved, but i believe the winds have indeed changed, the trend these days is that students are looking into UK and aussie uni equally. reasons being: Aussie exchange is getting stronger, hence with school fees and living costs counted, its not much different being in UK or Aussie. Second, as according to a news article in Aussie, the MOH is reducing the number of international interns. NZ unis are also reducing the places they offer to imu students as stipulated by their government to increase the number of local students. And infact more students are actually looking into NZ as their preferred uni. As seen in my batch.

orthopod
21-11-2009, 10:07 PM
hi daniel and orthopod. orthopod, things do have change as compared to the past. maybe you can have a read on this too. just to keep yourself abreast.

daniel, i do agree with orthopod regarding your english. no offence.

from what i comprehend, she should be in her semester 5, exams due next week rite? If my guess is correct, then i would be her senior by a batch. =) I have been studying in imu and been working there too. To clarify a point, what the matching process guarantees is a place for students to go to their university which imu partners with. hence with this said, matching does not guarantee you the top university that you want to go.

and with current trend or the agreement of what i understand, the partner universities will take imu students in ratio of results. for example, if university A offers 4 places, it might be filled up by 1 top scorer of the batch, 2 average student and 1 slightly below average student. hence it is no surprise for someone who is weaker to get to go to their university of their choice though another person who might be better in results vies for the same place. other than that, we should look into other aspects, has her result been consistent all this while? some university may look into overall academic performances rather than just one EOS. how about non academic qualities? has she has something that puts her at the better edge? there was a co-cu form which she needed to fill in.

as of now, she can only appeal (chances are slim definitely) and wait.

and to orthopod, i do agree with you every cent saved is money saved, but i believe the winds have indeed changed, the trend these days is that students are looking into UK and aussie uni equally. reasons being: Aussie exchange is getting stronger, hence with school fees and living costs counted, its not much different being in UK or Aussie. Second, as according to a news article in Aussie, the MOH is reducing the number of international interns. NZ unis are also reducing the places they offer to imu students as stipulated by their government to increase the number of local students. And infact more students are actually looking into NZ as their preferred uni. As seen in my batch.

well yeah maybe u are right about this..because IMU doesnt twin with the more expensive london unis..the other unis probably have comparable fees to aussie..

23-11-2009, 12:37 AM
well yeah maybe u are right about this..because IMU doesnt twin with the more expensive london unis..the other unis probably have comparable fees to aussie..

well, sometimes it isnt just about expensive or cheap universities i guess.. its the quality education.. take uni of edinburgh for example, it still burns a hole in the pocket..

orthopod
23-11-2009, 05:14 AM
am i disputing the quality of education?yeah edinbugh is pricey but not as ex as kings ,ucl or imperial

16-12-2009, 03:39 PM
Hi guys, for those who are thinking of knowing more about medicine and IMU and its Partner schools, or in fact any other courses in IMU, please come find us this weekend at Mid Valley Exhibition Center on either days (Sat or Sun)!! I will be there on both days!!

summer
17-12-2009, 12:29 AM
anyone currently is a BPharm student? i want to know more about the transfer programmes to Uni of Queensland..

23-12-2009, 10:13 PM
anyone currently is a BPharm student? i want to know more about the transfer programmes to Uni of Queensland..

what about it? its a credit transfer course. 2+2 option. only started this year, so i doubt any students out there that can really help you out tho.

Mirianchoo
11-10-2010, 10:18 AM
For those of you interested in studying medicine in IMU, here is a useful ReCom Wiki page to refer to for more info:
http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/Medicine_in_International_Medical_University_(JPA_Scholarship). :)

yAn_Ne
15-09-2011, 12:44 PM
Can IMU graduates work in Singapore?

Young
15-09-2011, 07:01 PM
Can IMU graduates work in Singapore?

Degrees from IMU's local program are not recognised by Singapore. However, if you twin to a partner university and if that university is recognised by Singapore, then yes you may work there.

yAn_Ne
15-09-2011, 10:16 PM
There's no chance for a graduate from IMU to work in Singapore?

Young
16-09-2011, 08:31 PM
There's no chance for a graduate from IMU to work in Singapore?

You'll have to get through their licensing exams, which is a major hassle.