View Full Version : MPM awards top MUET students

morgan
22-03-2007, 11:07 AM
MUET getting more popular now with rm 1000 award. how was your scores? let's see where we stand.. to start the ball rolling, here are mine:

BAND:6
Cummulative Score: 278

prophx_blizice
22-03-2007, 11:36 AM
wow, u are really insane!!
i scored band 5

kobe
22-03-2007, 12:29 PM
278?? Crazy!!

I got Band 5. 256. Geramnya.. but I did well for my essay (60/75). Heheh.

Damn that speaking paper.. they should've give marks based on individual performance.

morgan
22-03-2007, 02:24 PM
kobe, great job on ur essay! i got 59.. i think the essay is the toughest paper. reading comp and listening are really easy, try to score for them.. wonder what Isobel and Nicholas got.. they must be gEnIuSes (is that a real word? :P)

kpchen
22-03-2007, 02:34 PM
Nicholas got 278. Isobel 281/287/288/289. If I remembered correctly lah. And that's a VERY BIG IF. Anyway, they scored the highest for the Mid Year Test and Year End Test. I don't know who's which though.

Extra info: Nicholas was a student of CHS! He got a place in Imperial College for Medicine! =)

Edit: Actually, what's the objective of this thread?

morgan
22-03-2007, 03:29 PM
objectives:
1. know our scores relative to others.
- in other exams such as SPM/STPM/A-levels, we know how others fared. however, the MUET results is a somewhat unknown. this thread helps to shed some light on it.

2. encourage students to strive for the MPM RM1000 award.
- Perhaps more students would try their best in MUET if they might get an award.

3. informal chat about MUET results.
- why is essay so hard to score?! :P

this are some of my objectives lorr...

kpchen
22-03-2007, 03:56 PM
Ooh. Anyway, my score is 267. A low Band Six. My group-mates and I didn't do too well for Speaking =)

22-03-2007, 03:57 PM
So, err... you need to be in band what to get RM1000? Got RM200 consolation price?

wandkey
22-03-2007, 03:59 PM
Isobel got 281 if not mistaken. I was her classmate in form 6.

And fyi she took the mid year test.

We had no idea that there would be such an award back then.
This would surely be an incentive to all those who take the exam to excel.

22-03-2007, 04:03 PM
I got 240. Band 5.

By the way jiinjoo, it needs a band 6 to get that RM1000. No consolation prize :)

morgan
22-03-2007, 04:50 PM
wouldn't it be great if the top MUET students get scholarships.. like for example to study English or Literature or smting at Oxbridge or US. Cool rite 8)

Plus, attach a bond to it to make the grads teach at gov schools.. English standard of Malaysians sure to rise! Even cooler :P

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 05:05 PM
get band 6 and get a scholarship?

No way.

I would rather these people get admission to these schools and then only seek financial assistance, not the other way round.

kpchen
22-03-2007, 05:19 PM

No way.

I would rather these people get admission to these schools and then only seek financial assistance, not the other way round.

Wow. koln_auhc, you're turning into a fossil. So serious one... I think that was just a joke. I dunno. LOL.

morgan
22-03-2007, 05:24 PM

No way.

Hehe, well, i felt it would be a good way to attract good english speakers to take up a degree in English and become teachers, thus raising the english standard. i dont think many would apply 4 such courses without certain incentives. think of it as win-win.

and its not like get Band 6 and *poof* u get a schlrshp. only candidates as good as Isobel and Nick (if they want lah..) need apply.
Just my lil pipe dream :)

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 05:32 PM

No way.

Wow. koln_auhc, you're turning into a fossil. So serious one... I think that was just a joke. I dunno. LOL.

*pulls the cob web

Where got??

*roars in anger

ahh.. doesn't this just sound like a cave man.

kpchen
22-03-2007, 05:34 PM

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 05:43 PM
wah, you know to ... , you think i don't know ah?

.... (4 dots) beat you :D

*idiotic behaviour at its best

kpchen
22-03-2007, 05:48 PM

Okay, enough. Anda disahkan bukan fossil. Buat sementara waktu.

Edit: We should continue at the 191A thread, not here. LOL.

lingling88
22-03-2007, 05:54 PM
hey.i got a friend who got 270 for band6 for the year end muet test.
whereas i myself got only a band5.hahah.i got the highest marks for the speaking part..and also the highest among my friends,in that writing paper.66 .too bad ,the PA system in that school is too poor,so i dont score in both my comprehension and listening.aha.but glad i got band5. :)

kpchen
22-03-2007, 06:00 PM
hey.i got a friend who got 270 for band6 for the year end muet test.
whereas i myself got only a band5.hahah.i got the highest marks for the speaking part..and also the highest among my friends,in that writing paper.66 .too bad ,the PA system in that school is too poor,so i dont score in both my comprehension and listening.aha.but glad i got band5. :)

Sayang betul. Sue your school.

morgan
22-03-2007, 06:02 PM
reading comp need PA meh??

bt yeah, if the PA is bad, really hard to ace the listening.

kobe
22-03-2007, 07:05 PM
How many of them received the RM1000 prize? Do they have like a grand prize or something?

Yeah, the essay was pretty tough. Something about how the education system can produce creative individuals... Some of my friends couldn't even write more than one paragraph! :(

By the way, I hated it when there were echos during the listening test (caused by multiple speakers).. ((you)) ((have)) ((one)) ((minute)).. :D

deaf-knee
22-03-2007, 07:39 PM
maybe the whole point of this thread is to be kiasu and boost self esteem :)

kpchen
22-03-2007, 08:23 PM
maybe the whole point of this thread is to be kiasu and boost self esteem :)

Ah. Finally.

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 08:27 PM
O my, I got band 1.

What should I do?? 8O 8O 8O

kpchen
22-03-2007, 08:54 PM
Sumbat your head somewhere. Please la, this is a serious thread. LOL.

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 08:58 PM
hmm, is getting band 6 being serious and getting band 1 being not serious?

kpchen
22-03-2007, 09:11 PM
Sorry. My deepest sympathy and sincere apologies. I shall treat you seriously. And I did not mean what you meant.

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 09:16 PM
wait wait. relax.

It's just that I feel that the thread is very narrow in discussion which deaf-knee pointed out.

And the fact that a frequent recomer like you were the only one to reply after I stated the "band 1" thing, goes to show the fact that this thread caters to only a specific group with the results.(imo)

ps:imo means in my opinion, not international maths olympiad.... sigh...

kpchen
22-03-2007, 09:32 PM
wait wait. relax.

It's just that I feel that the thread is very narrow in discussion which deaf-knee pointed out.

And the fact that a frequent recomer like you were the only one to reply after I stated the "band 1" thing, goes to show the fact that this thread caters to only a specific group with the results.(imo)

LOL! I was kidding lerr...

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 09:35 PM
wait wait. relax.

LOL! I was kidding lerr...

Argh...you cheated my feelings.....(sounds like korean drama)....

Why you little!!!! *chokes you like Homer does on Bart

haha.

kpchen
22-03-2007, 09:40 PM
You sound gay. Which definition of gay? Go figure. LOL.

koln_auhc
22-03-2007, 09:42 PM
*plays with my hair

Serious? (bimbotic sound)

Marvels of internet

tako
28-03-2007, 12:16 AM
it's been years since i took MUET. 278/300, speaking listening 45/45, writing 72/75... comprehension 116/135.. haha bugger!

adele
10-03-2009, 05:38 AM
Does MPM still award RM 1000 to Muet 2008 band 6 students?

markwongsk
10-03-2009, 08:54 PM
Does MPM still award RM 1000 to Muet 2008 band 6 students?

yes... today the award was given to Tang Chao Tien of SMK Sultan Ismail who got 288/300 (THAT'S ******** insane -.-)

guess that's quite far away eh haha

sugarspice
10-03-2009, 09:52 PM
yes... today the award was given to Tang Chao Tien of SMK Sultan Ismail who got 288/300 (THAT'S ******** insane -.-)

What was your score when you're awarded back in 2007?

p/s: I reckon this Tang guy has broken the record of MUET score liao

adele
11-03-2009, 03:37 AM

OMG thats like so high.I did get Band 6 but its a low one.

markwongsk
11-03-2009, 01:21 PM
What was your score when you're awarded back in 2007?

p/s: I reckon this Tang guy has broken the record of MUET score liao

I got 279/300 But Tang said that he also sat for the MUET I took. Does that mean I can get 290/300 :P:P

joking lar - - He must have worked reallllllll hard to get 288/300 Can only DREAM of those scores. Congrats Tang!!!

Btw, Muet oct 2007 was really damn hard. I was lucky I had my SAT preparations

starfire
11-03-2009, 06:31 PM
(sigh) my 1st muet and only muet happens to b da oct 2007 one.... and due to my age, i cant take it in sch (whre i would've scored better). had to compete wif teachers-to-be, aunties, uncles, and other private candidates instead.

i got mid band 5, 241. kinda regret for deciding not to re-sit for da May 2008 one as my frens said it's way easier, and i would hv been able to take it in my own school.

ucanmakeit
14-01-2010, 09:35 PM
Impressive! Btw, how to ace in writing part, it's somehow difficult, what knid of essays will be asked?

btys
14-01-2010, 10:43 PM
[quote=starfire;214089](sigh) my 1st muet and only muet happens to b da oct 2007 one....

i got mid band 5, 241. kinda regret for deciding not to re-sit for da May 2008 one as my frens said it's way easier

same here.. i kinda regret because my frend say i hv quite a high chance to get Band 6 if i retake. btw, i gt B5, 243. i also wondered how ppl gt those *insane* marks for writing? i scored ok in the other 3 and writing jz totally pulls my band down... :wink

ps: who's this nicholas and isobel you guys are talking bout?