View Full Version : JPA Interview 2007 (Thread Closed)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

chris1771
04-04-2007, 04:08 PM
Will there be some sort of briefing/registration before the actual interview? Do we have to go really early?

stevenlee
04-04-2007, 04:10 PM
who's goin on the 5th April
10 am
Kolej Yayasan Melaka, bukit sebukor???

i cant find any fellow recommers/ friends goin at the same time/place/date
kinda nervous

im im.....same date, same time, and same place.....wat course u apply and which school u were from. i apply for pharmacy and from stsd

sorry to interrupt but just to say that i am going to the same date/place/time :o :D . zixuan, are you a st.davidian?

teng
04-04-2007, 04:26 PM
thanks a lot v4n3s2a_k!!!

zixuan
04-04-2007, 04:38 PM
who's goin on the 5th April
10 am
Kolej Yayasan Melaka, bukit sebukor???

i cant find any fellow recommers/ friends goin at the same time/place/date
kinda nervous

im im.....same date, same time, and same place.....wat course u apply and which school u were from. i apply for pharmacy and from stsd

sorry to interrupt but just to say that i am going to the same date/place/time :o :D . zixuan, are you a st.davidian?

yup....hope to see u there

carmen
04-04-2007, 04:46 PM
hi, i hear that subjects are sorted by state?
i'm going to ipoh INTIM on the 6th, 10.am
could anyone give a list of topics asked there?
and which part in BI and which in BM?

List of discussion questions:
1. Increasing crime rate among students
2. Patriotism among teenagers
3. Parents are spending less time with their children
4. Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
5. Reality tv program give negative impact on students or not
6. Presents students are more pampered
7. First class infrustructure, third class mentality
8. Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak
9. Junk food
10. Teenagers nowadays do not socialize
11. ICT: Advantages and Disadvantages
12. Tahun ini ialah Tahun Melancong Malaysia. Apakah usaha yang boleh anda buat untuk melaksanakan program ini?
13. Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life, do u agree?
14. Why do you think you deserve the scholarship?

But i not sure which are english or malay. The language that used different from every group and venue. Some intro use BI and discussion use BM or vice versa. So depends on luck only.
Anyway good luck for your interview. And read more ReCom and newspaper.
15. Reading Habit Among Youths Ia Declining. Do You Agree?
16. School Emphasize on Academics. What's Ur Opinion?

bihafana
04-04-2007, 04:57 PM
baju kurung and blazer is fine..........go ahead, it looks smart, and don't worry what others think........

i don't think (at least they should not) they will award a scholarship based on how you dress.............just be decent and smart, .........and let 's hope one gets a scholarship based on scholarly merit, not on anything else............

---->thanx dear 4 supporting me..i'll try my besh..

stevenlee
04-04-2007, 04:57 PM
Blazer?? Not quite sure. Must ask those who went interview today or call JPA. But wearing baju kurung with blazer look kind of weird. Cause last time my school many prefects wear like that.

but my older sister says dat it's a good attire to wear a blazer although wif bju kurung bcoz it shows them(jpa) how much we want the scholarship..erm..and she(my older sister) is studying in ireland..with jpa scholarship..so,,i really get confused..she has her own experience..who shud i listen to??huhu :( :(

i'm a guy, know not much about fashion but for me baju kurung with blazzer is absolutely fine(my former school prefects have to wear like that every day in school). you will look outstanding and special since no one is going to wear like you. just give it a try :)

Daniel_Chin
04-04-2007, 05:11 PM
just came bac from intim. intro in bm. mine got ask y should jpa give u the scholarship. then discuassion in eng.
topic: do u agree tat bloggers should be registered?
i think fat chance i will get.... sigh......

Hey lost_prophet, which panel were you in? I was in panel 3 and I'm not sure which one were you. I'm the guys wearing light purple shirt with dark blue slack and tie. :wink:

By the way, let's talk about my personal experience----->

I reached INTIM at around 9.30 a.m., Went inside to find out which panel I was chosen to be in(there were four). Then I was quite surprised to find out that there were 16 people in my panel but later only found out that we're divided into three groups of six or five interviewees.

Then I went into the men's to put on my tie and you-know-what :oops: (don't want it to come during my interview). And then I returned and waited outside the room and was amazed by a few Indian girls who chatted happily outside the room.

After two groups went in......Oh gosh it's my turn!!!! There were five of us(four boys and a girl) and we sat in a semi-circle facing the two interviewers(1 female n 1 male). Then the lady started explaining everything about how they gonna test us and stuffs like that bla bla bla and we're nodding and 'yes-ing' before she gave us the topic(no introduction though)

Topic: First class infrastructure and third class mentality still prevails, do you agree?

Then a guys came in and the two person beside me started asking me the meaning of the question and we all whispered without the permission of the two interviewers...luckily nothing happened.

Then we're given 2 minutes(two minutes!!!!) to write down anything that came into our mind and the Indian guys was the first to go. He said he don't agree with the question but he explained his points like he agreed...we have good facilities and we must be educated to use it and stuff like that...making me confused

:?: :?:

Then I was the second one to speak and I was trembling and struggling with my words and blah-ing and mumbling all together(ya I know I won't get it)

The after 10 or 12 minutes we switched to Malay and I spoke worst than ever... :( There was a part where I was like: niaaaaameaarareearrraaa because speaking out clearly again (ya I really can't get it)

After that the interviewer asked us why we deserved to be given the scholarship and "apakah potensi anda?" and we started blah blah and blah and I'm the one who spoke the least! My mind just turned blank looking at the interviewers.

Then we went into the dewan for the personality test and although they said you're given 30 minutes to answer all the questions the examiner didn't ask me to stop after 30 minutes...or was it 45? Anyway the questions was a lot! You don't even have the time to think! Just glance and shade.

And then it's all over............I mean really over...no JPA scholarship for me...yea~

bihafana
04-04-2007, 05:14 PM
Blazer?? Not quite sure. Must ask those who went interview today or call JPA. But wearing baju kurung with blazer look kind of weird. Cause last time my school many prefects wear like that.

but my older sister says dat it's a good attire to wear a blazer although wif bju kurung bcoz it shows them(jpa) how much we want the scholarship..erm..and she(my older sister) is studying in ireland..with jpa scholarship..so,,i really get confused..she has her own experience..who shud i listen to??huhu :( :(

i'm a guy, know not much about fashion but for me baju kurung with blazzer is absolutely fine(my former school prefects have to wear like that every day in school). you will look outstanding and special since no one is going to wear like you. just give it a try :)

thanx 4 supporting me..i'll be more confident bcoz of ur support..
wish me luck! gosh~

Daniel_Chin
04-04-2007, 05:18 PM
hi, i hear that subjects are sorted by state?
i'm going to ipoh INTIM on the 6th, 10.am
could anyone give a list of topics asked there?
and which part in BI and which in BM?

List of discussion questions:
3. Parents are spending less time with their children
4. Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
7. First class infrustructure, third class mentality
8. Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak
9. Junk food
11. ICT: Advantages and Disadvantages
12. Tahun ini ialah Tahun Melancong Malaysia. Apakah usaha yang boleh anda buat untuk melaksanakan program ini?
13. Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life, do u agree?
14. Why do you think you deserve the scholarship?

But i not sure which are english or malay. The language that used different from every group and venue. Some intro use BI and discussion use BM or vice versa. So depends on luck only.
Anyway good luck for your interview. And read more ReCom and newspaper.
15. Reading Habit Among Youths Ia Declining. Do You Agree?
16. School Emphasize on Academics. What's Ur Opinion?

The ones that I found out in INTIM today are:
-same as 16.
17. Streaming(Or something like that)-Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream(something like that lah)
18. First class infrastructure and third class mentality still prevails, do you agree?(same as 7 lah, only a bit different)

luvlyrose90
04-04-2007, 05:27 PM
i juz come back!!
2pm at nilam puri,kota bharu
bm-sistem persekolahan menekankan akademik..(sumthg like dat..forgot already.. :lol: )
bi-parents have less time with their children
7 of us in a row..2 interviewers
he said dat 12000 sumthg applicants..6000 sumthg called 4 da interview..n only 1800 will be chosen!
huhu..tuff cmptiton lah!!
i done it but not cnfident ler..huhu
:cry: :cry: :cry:

lightning
04-04-2007, 05:48 PM
hi, can anyone give me directions to IMTIM, ipoh?
i know roughly where it is, but i'd appreciate some concrete details

lawteoh
04-04-2007, 06:05 PM
hi, can anyone give me directions to IMTIM, ipoh?
i know roughly where it is, but i'd appreciate some concrete details

well, its really simple.. erm.. u noe the cempaka place? just turn in the traffic light there... Then go straight..... U will see a big mosque... That 1 is INTIM la.. once u see that mosque, u wil know where already...

bihafana
04-04-2007, 06:44 PM
:(
wuargh!!!ma inteview will b tomorro...im gettin more n more nervous..
diz nite 'kne tdo awal'...i hv to wke up early since ma tview t 8 am..uhuu...pray hard 4 diz~
wish me luck! :?

nervous
04-04-2007, 06:48 PM
phew!!!! :lol:
Finally..
just got back from putrajaya...
first, we intro ourselves in BM..
my topic is should student wear uniform to school?(eng)
i have been instructed to disagree with the statement..
its kinda like a debate.. three of us disagree, three agree..
i talk crap because i am the first..
hahaha
it went so fast..
then there's another question..
tell us one strength and weakness of yours... ONE ONLY!!
and then pick a cartoon character that would best explain u and why.. finally, picture urself in ten years time, wat would u wanna be..
hahaha
then it ended...
there are three categories:interview,waiting for interview and the psychology test... then it rotates.. i.e.the interview ones will go for the test,the waitings to the interview and the test to the waiting..
the test is about 250+ yes or no question..
no need to worry about that.. its easy... but u hv to be fast...
Basically i think that ur interview question will differ according to ur interviewer... no hard topics today... just some normal general question like mine...
my interviewers were very kind... we laugh a few times..
they were ladies of course... the male interviewers looked more intimidating..
but not to be scare...hahaha just relax..
one tip: look in to their eyes when u talk..
hahahaha.. any question please email me...
kl_nyoi2404@<hidden>.... i'll be glad to help..
for those going to putrajaya of course.. :P :lol:

my89
04-04-2007, 06:51 PM
My interview is already over. Yiha

Putrajaya, 2pm

First, intro yourself in bm(name, school,coco involment,, family.)
Then, my discussion topic is "Should school get rid of school uniform.Do you agree or disagree?".
Think for four minutes.Then, start to give your points. Can choose whether you agree or disagree.

Then after everyone gave their own points, the panel asked us to switch as in like those people who agreed must disagree now and vice versa and give your point again. Then, the end.

After the interview, went for the test. Just a simple one..

Good luck for the others

prince_J
04-04-2007, 07:28 PM
people..

i've been through the process be4...
i think the best things is to be natural and be yourselves...

be confident but not over confident...

the topics discussed will always be easy...
no worries...

so good luck for those going tomolo...

oh ya.. sleep early as it will be a long day tomorrow!!

galfera
04-04-2007, 08:26 PM
omg! it's really scary hearing all of your terrifying experience.... i didnt heard any1 from Kuching, sarawak.... btw, is there any receptionist to greet us in the venue? coz i dont think i can navigate myself properly in a big place.... furthermore, the offer letter only state the venue which is not specific... they should have mention which building n which floor the interviews taking place...

i so scared!!!! my interview is tommorow..... hope dat Almighty helping hands are with me.... Amen.....

fallen_neoangel
04-04-2007, 08:30 PM
Got back from the interview in putrajaya today...

We were interviewed in groups of 7. The interviewer was quite nice... not strict... smiled alot... Basically we were asked to intro ourselves in BM.... then give our opinions on the questions below

1. Apakah isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini?
2.Adakah kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan?
3. Do you agree schools place too much emphasis on academic excellence? Why?
4. What's your favourite tv programs? Why?

The interview is just to gauge your language skills in bm and english. So there is no need to worry on what facts to say as long they are reasonable. But if you are going to use acronyms like FTA or SMART, make sure you know what they mean and stand for.

After that, we had to do a personality test. 200+ questions in 30 minutes. I couldn't finished it in time... You have to be really FAST!!!!

Oh yeah, it's NOT compulsory for girls to wear skirts. Slacks are just fine. The interviewers did not mind open toed shoes too.

jojyi
04-04-2007, 09:09 PM
oh...GOD!my interview is tomorrow...
okok...juz relax...

GOOD LUCK too for those going for interview tomorrow!

I will share my experience once i finish my interview... :wink:

5th april
Kolej Yayasan Melaka
2pm...

GOOD LUCK!

joan89
04-04-2007, 09:16 PM
oh...GOD!my interview is tomorrow...
okok...juz relax...

GOOD LUCK too for those going for interview tomorrow!

I will share my experience once i finish my interview... :wink:

5th april
Kolej Yayasan Melaka
2pm...

GOOD LUCK!

same here..vry nervous now
5th Apr...Putrajaya...10am
gud luck for all those who r going too! all da best...

cleoy
04-04-2007, 09:20 PM
venue:intim(ipoh)
date n time:4/4 2pm

I was in the panel 2 n was the second batch....

first v hav to introduce ourself in english.....after that v started our discussion which is in bm....the topic is NELAYAN LAUT DALAM LEBIH MENGUNTUNG DARIPADA PELADANG.....

although v were given 2 minutes to think 1st,there was 1 girl in my who started immediately,which causes us to hav no time to think..sigh..

later on,v were stopped by the interviewer, each of us hav to say our own conclusion on that topic n there were no time limit(but it does not seem to be conclusion for me as all of us stated all our points again)

that is how our interview ended n went on for our psychology test........

joan89
04-04-2007, 09:27 PM
one person roughly have how much time to talk??

04-04-2007, 09:29 PM
juz come back!!
2pm at nilam puri,kota bharu
bm-sistem persekolahan menekankan akademik..(sumthg like dat..forgot already.. )
bi-parents have less time with their children
7 of us in a row..2 interviewers
he said dat 12000 sumthg applicants..6000 sumthg called 4 da interview..n only 1800 will be chosen!
huhu..tuff cmptiton lah!!
i done it but not cnfident ler..huhu

Hi, same question, different place. Mine was sistem persekolahan ...akademik (BI) and wy do you deserve this scholarship or something like that.
I got two male interviewer and he gave the same speech.

teng
04-04-2007, 09:29 PM
is it better 2 paste our name in front of d clear holder 2 let the interviewers indentify our holders or printing our details in a piece of paper and put it in d 1st page?

04-04-2007, 09:36 PM
Before I forgot, girls wear baju kurung. My outstation friend was ask to change her clothes into baju kurung to be appopreiate but was accepted when she says she was from outstation place.

joan89
04-04-2007, 09:45 PM
Before I forgot, girls wear baju kurung. My outstation friend was ask to change her clothes into baju kurung to be appopreiate but was accepted when she says she was from outstation place.

wat did ur fren wear?

joan89
04-04-2007, 09:47 PM

wat did ur fren wear?

Kevin89
04-04-2007, 10:51 PM
List of Questions that were asked this few days, hope can benefits the others that going for 5th and 6th April.

3. Parents are spending less time with their children (Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak)
7. 1st class infrustructure, 3rd class mentality (1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails)
8. Schools emphasize on academics excellence (Education system too emphasised on academics and tourism)
9. Junk food
11. ICT: Advantages and disadvantages
14. Heavy fines should be issued to litter bugs
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
17. Students who are choosy in picking their courses (Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job?)
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
20. Things to prepare before going abroad
21. Children nowadays prefer to play computer games, etc
22. Violence
23. Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
24. Reading Habit Among Youth is Declining
25. Dasar pandang ke timur
26. Corruption
27. Do you agree that bloggers should be registered?
28. Education system
29. The philosophy of a coin [the most unexpected question for me]
30. Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream
31. Should school uniform be ambolish or not
32. Tell us one strength and weakness of yours. One only
33. Pick a cartoon character that would best explain you and why
34. Picture yourself in 10 years time, and what would you want to be
35. Isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini?
36. Kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan
37. Your favourite tv programs and why
38. Nelayan laut dalam lebih mengutung daripada peladang
39. National Service for females should be established or not?
40. Malaysia harus membina sebuah pusat penyelidikan di kutub selatan

For those questions which are alike, i put it in bracket ( )

pjaya89
05-04-2007, 01:48 AM
Coin Philosophy.for this topic what should you say?help out please.thanks in advance

pop_kornt
05-04-2007, 01:54 AM
my topic was...
"men are to lead and women are to follow...what do u think??"
we didnt even askd to intro ourself...
just straight away go to the Q half in eng and half in malay..
we got the same Q for eng and malay..
huhuhuhuh i dont know it just a simple interview..
maybe bcoz we r the 1st group~~...

pjaya89
05-04-2007, 02:01 AM
what are the questions asked in sp-intan up to date?

Tourist
05-04-2007, 10:05 AM
Asked to chose a topic that everyone can talk about. Picked "Pollution"

starcatcher89
05-04-2007, 12:48 PM
for the interview, i've heard that there are 12000+ have been chosen. Out of this 6000+ will go for the interview and only 1800 will be selected?

Can someone confirm this? I thought last year out of 15000+, only 3000+ will go for the interview. Doubled up this year???

stevenlee
05-04-2007, 12:56 PM
hello, i'm from melaka. i got the title "youth nowadays lack of leadership quality", discuss it.

coolmelon_89
05-04-2007, 01:14 PM
for the interview, i've heard that there are 12000+ have been chosen. Out of this 6000+ will go for the interview and only 1800 will be selected?

Can someone confirm this? I thought last year out of 15000+, only 3000+ will go for the interview. Doubled up this year???

r u sure???were did u get d information??

starcatcher89
05-04-2007, 01:14 PM
wow, they really did recyled most of the questions. so how did it turned out?

05-04-2007, 01:20 PM
just back...

coolmelon_89
05-04-2007, 01:28 PM
just back...
how's ur interview??

zixuan
05-04-2007, 02:55 PM
hello, i'm from melaka. i got the title "youth nowadays lack of leadership quality", discuss it.

oi...steven...u post so fast d hor....

admin07
05-04-2007, 02:59 PM
Jz came back!!

wat 2 know more
jz go to the link below!!!

PSD/JPA (http://kaichew.110mb.com/index.php/topic,62.msg181.html#msg181)

zixuan
05-04-2007, 03:10 PM
date: 5 april
time: 10am
place: yayasan kolej melaka

just came back.....so share my experience with u guy.....2 minutes introduction....in bm....discussion in bi.....corruption....2 minutes to prepare.....can talk bad about government....they dun mind.....just tell them what u think......critisize them also nevermind.....they just wanna know how u speak.........when i started to talk about the topic, the 2 interviewers just look at each other and sigh......dunno wat they mean.....anyway i just continue to talk......if u guy run out of idea, can steal other people idea.....just tell them in a different way....thats what i did all the time......so...thats all.....good luck to the last batch people......nothing to be scared one lar.......have fun!!!

starcatcher89
05-04-2007, 03:13 PM

r u sure???were did u get d information??

I've heard from someone on recom.

-celest-
05-04-2007, 03:33 PM
I just came back from the interview. Phew..its over at last!! :P

I just spent bout 45 minutes in the room. First we introduced ourselves in BM n it took bout 20 min. There were 6 girls in the room (5 chinese 1 malay). Then we were asked to talk about "parents are spending less time with their children". It is not a discussion actually cuz we stated our opinion one by one according to our numbers.

Don't be nervous and just be yourself!!

05-04-2007, 04:31 PM
1. Arrive there
2. Register.. grouped to Panel #2
3. My interview was scheduled to 2nd group .. Wait 1st group.. go inside and interview.
4. Meet with new friends (Alex, 2 new 'Chew' -got 4 Chews ......)
5. Talk .. laugh.. seems very relax... some friends even come from Taiping
6. Wait 1 hour......................
7. At last.. go inside
8. Say "Selamat Pagi" and sit
9. The panel asked y some guys hairstyle so cool.. but my hair is kinda too short.
10. Start to intro ourself (Family background... name... etc) in malay
11. Start with the topic "The History of Time" ('cuz one of the group members said love the books by Stephen Hawking... )
12. Talk.. how to define "time".. waste "time".. blah blah.. Hawking
13. From Hawking.. to Science... how to define "Science" .. blah blah again
14. Lack of time.. the interviewers decided to finish it....
15. Overall interview.. juz like "chit-chat". and listen to interviewer's views
16. Say "Terima Kasih" and go to d psycho test......

jojyi
05-04-2007, 05:00 PM
Juz came back from interview!

ha...it's kinda....weird,cz my group din talk much...
:cry:

This is wat we did...

1.register
2.check which panel u r in
3.check whether u r the one who go for interview first or test

INTERVIEW
intro(bm)anything about u n urself
TOPIC: first class facility, third class mentality
it was slow as no one of us give any strong points... :cry:
the interviewer even said:"u still hav plenty of time,anybody wanna add on points?"haih...

TEST
282 questions in 30mins...
U MUST B FAST!!

Good luck to al of u...this is wat i can share wit u all...hehe :wink:

bihafana
05-04-2007, 05:01 PM
:(
juuz came back from d jpa intview..huhu..very disspointing..
i didnt get chances to give my opinion..everythin's going fast..

i hav to be intviewed b4 sit 4 the psonality test..
my interviewer were both women..in my group there were 4 boys and two gurls..after introduced ourselves in BM,we proceded to d discussion..titled "are we safe to live on d earth?"

huhu..i said yes but the rest said no..so,i hav to defend my opinion..but i was very sad bcoz i didnt hav the chance to give my opinion..its a 'rude' 4 me if we intefere or 'mnyampuk' when people give their opinion..but wat happened just now,,they didnt care about it..huhu..should it be happened among us??
i think d concept or format is wrong..the panel have to give their pmission b4 the interviewee intefere when others talk about their opinion..

erm..n more thing,,i was in the same group with "NADIAH AMIRAH"..can u believe it??im sure that all of u know her already..the gurl who in the paper 'konon2 nya' gets 19A1 in her spm..her and i were the only 2 gurls in our group and the other 4 were boys..

erm..but wat i can say bout my tview,it was dissapointing me..erm..i juz pray hard to get the scholrship..but the only good thing is i've gone through my tview..nothing to b scared anymore~yuhuuuu!!

for others who will attend to d tview tmorrow,gud lark!! :D

Kevin89
05-04-2007, 05:08 PM
JPA Group Discussion Question for 2007:

3. Parents are spending less time with their children (Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak)
7. 1st class infrustructure, 3rd class mentality (1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails)
8. Schools emphasize on academics excellence (Education system too emphasised on academics and tourism)
9. Junk food
11. ICT: Advantages and disadvantages
14. Heavy fines should be issued to litter bugs
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
17. Students who are choosy in picking their courses (Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job?) ( Discuss unemployment of Malaysia undergraduates especially those of science and IT background. What action should be taken?)
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
20. Things to prepare before going abroad
21. Children nowadays prefer to play computer games, etc
22. Violence
23. Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
24. Reading Habit Among Youth is Declining
25. Dasar pandang ke timur
26. Corruption
27. Do you agree that bloggers should be registered?
28. Education system
29. The philosophy of a coin [the most unexpected question for me]
30. Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream (Arts vs Science)
31. Should school uniform be ambolish or not
32. Tell us one strength and weakness of yours. One only
33. Pick a cartoon character that would best explain you and why
34. Picture yourself in 10 years time, and what would you want to be
35. Isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini?
36. Kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan
37. Your favourite tv programs and why
38. Nelayan laut dalam lebih mengutung daripada peladang
39. National Service for females should be established or not?
40. Malaysia harus membina sebuah pusat penyelidikan di kutub selatan
41. Negara barat dikatakan lebih maju dlm bidang IT. Apakah sebabnya?
42. Leadership & followership. The conclusion between leadership & followership (Youth nowadays lack of leadership quality)
43. Our leader idols
44. Kehidupan di Malaysia lebih baik daripada kehidupan di luar negara
45. Men are to lead and women are to follow. What do u think??"
46. Pollution
47. "The History of Time" by Stephen Hawking
48. Are we safe to live on the earth?

For those questions which are alike, i put it in bracket ( )

Some interview questions that were asked:

- Bagaimana dengan kokurikulum anda?
- Whats ur highest achievment in co-cu?
- Where would you like to sudy medicine?
- Will you accept the scholarship if you were be sent to India?
- What do you like the most about Malaysia?
- Say one thing that you will miss the most if you are going oversea?

natlee
05-04-2007, 07:27 PM

hi. ectually, u guys can refer THE STAR for the amount of how many they chose for interview and so on. i chose the field of medicine, and i've caculated that about 6 candidates fightunf for 1 space. for others, is about 10 to 1.

hope it can help you all.

sore_four_eyes
05-04-2007, 07:44 PM
When will the results of JPA interview coming out, I wonder? :?

p4peace
05-04-2007, 08:58 PM
When will the results of JPA interview coming out, I wonder? :?

wat i heard is after 2 weeks..not sure :P

WiNd90
05-04-2007, 09:06 PM
it's on mid may..
after 2 weeks is only for japan engineering..
kind of late..

p4peace
05-04-2007, 09:11 PM
yahoo~~
finally over..my interview is in melaka.
d same procedure.
1st part was d psychology test. (muz finish it fast,don hesitate!)

then goin 4 d interview.
firstly introduce urself (name,from,sch,family background n course applied).jus short n simple.speak either bi or bm.

then start our discussion.

1st topic (eng) - Academic is the only benchmark for students to achieve excellent.

2nd topic (BM)- Program realiti tv membawa keburukan.

v did given time to write down our isi. n even during d discussion,
everyone stil busy taking their notes (d interviewers din say anything).

and i think my group is very nice. very tolerate. everyone got d chance to speak up their views (like bergilir-gilir). hehe..
v din 'fight' to speak... :lol:

erm...just stay calm n dont b too nervous.
nothing to b scare actually..n good luck 4 those who r goin interview 2molo...
aLL the best ya! :P

jasmine_tea
05-04-2007, 09:12 PM
Kolej YAyasan Melaka
10 am
5th april

haha.... those goin to melaka tmr... pray hard u will get panel 2
cos... the interviewers r quite friendly
they let us choose our own issue
so nice of them!
but no time for u to think abt the topic
after choosing ur topic, then begin the discussion

1st, we introduced ourselves in BM
haiz.... i dunno y i got short time talking abt myself
i not yet finish n they go to the next person.... sad
then begin discussion in english
topic: "increasing crime rate among juveniles"
easy &Past year ques cos we chose it ourselves :)

gd luck to those goin tmr

e-rah
05-04-2007, 10:10 PM
wAa...... wat a relief...fuH....
I got this topic:
-current unemployedment is due to graduates who r choosy... wat is ur opinion(u agree or not) and WHY??

hehehe....... GOOD LUCK TO ALL....

p/s: i failed.... hahahaha

uglyducklai
06-04-2007, 01:40 PM
INTIM ipoh perak.10 am session.panel 2

i reached there damn early,around 8 something.
saw many bumis waiting their turns.

i checked in about 9 something.suddenly the woman asked me to join the 8 am session.wow,6 malays.....*damn nervous*
4 applying for enginnering,1 medicine ,1 density,me is science course.

the interviewers seems nice at the beginning,but after we discussed,i could see that they want to fall asleep *sigh*
all of us cant speak english fluently.

and me looked at the interviewees when they talked instead of thinking new points.then,the interviwees have alot of eye contact with me as if i am their interviewer. * another deep sigh*

my mind went blank,talked crap (till a malay boy mentioned that i talked the same point twice already :( ) and i talked my points without organised the sentence.too nervous and usually i aso talked like that de.and,i seemed to be the loudest person in the room,the interviewees and even the interviewrs talked softly.i just talked my point confidently and not fluent at all. *sigh*

not sure whether it is good or bad if whole group is malays.who can tell me?
go form 6 lu~~~
anyone from intim?

fiekry_89
06-04-2007, 03:22 PM
:D Today i`m so hepi cz i have done my intevie well..Thank a lot to my intevie fren cz they all so shy to talk n give opinion n make me have an opputinity to give my opinion.I`m so satisfied with my inteview.. :lol:

06-04-2007, 05:28 PM
looks like ..this thread ..should be a good reference for SPM leavers next year...

good luck every1..all the JPA interviews for 2007..have finished..

8)

yilian
06-04-2007, 06:04 PM
mine is the last session. Although it's over already, but i just want to share my experience here in recom.

venue: IKWAS, Kluang
date: 6 april 2006
time: 2 pm
course: pharmacy

1. the physocology test (as you guys already know)
2. interview

-there's only 3 of us in the group. 3? That's so few. Ppl say lesser ppl will have better chance, but I think the overall process of the interview was too fast.

a)introduction: name, school, family background, which country you want to choose (i am not satisfy with my performance because i forgot to tell them about my cocurricular, so i add it up at the end of the interview. hwr, i did not manage to tell them about leadership stuff, ARGH!!!!!! I missed the chance! Hope that they will really look at the letter of recommandation and the photocopied certificates that i've submitted)

b)discussion topic (forum type)
topic 1: unemployed graduates. are they too choosy? (english)
employer are too choosy. agree or disagree?
topic 2: gaya pemakanan makanan ringan/segera telah menjadi suatu kebiasan di masyarakat kita. haruskah iklan makanan ringan/segera diharamkan? (malay)

Well, i think i did better in malay language. I was the first one to speak during the discussion, so, kind of tounge tied for the first topic. :'(

c) end of the interview
as what i've known from my friends who already had the interview in Kluang, they are given a chance to speak out, why they deserve the scholarship, but poor thing, the interviewer didn't give us the chance. too bad! I've prepared the whole script and yet she didn't ask us about that. And what, she didn't even ask me anything about the pharmacy as other ppl do. I think, perhaps she want to cepat-cepat balik as we were the last group.

Conclusion: I am not satisfy with my performance nor the interviewer. sad* i want to do it again ar... hahaha 8) dreaming!

darkpanda89
06-04-2007, 08:04 PM
lol.. same here buddy
went to putrajaya today.. last batch.. last group to be interviewed..
and the interviewee simply just brush us off and rush everything...
just asked us to introduce ourselves and give us a topic...

i was prepared for her to start shooting me on questions regarding my cert and course.. well.. but that didn't happen.. and she also stopped me before i finished my introduction.. oh.. and i was even the first to introduce myself.. i think she's a little too impatient... regarding that the interview just started.. i didn't even talk long.. not even for 5 minute...

and surprisingly she only wants us to discuss the topic in 10 minutes.. omg and we have 7 people in that group and i was thinking that 1 hour would be fun but..... man..
she gave two topics to the group before mine.. while she only wants us to discuss in one topic and also.. in such a limited time.. luckily i had warned the people in my group to allow others the chance to speak.. and speak in only 1 or 2 sentences before jumping to another guy... or else.. those shy ones will never get to say anything...

Kevin89
06-04-2007, 09:43 PM
JPA Interview Questions For 2007 (Final)

General Interview Questions:
- Whats ur highest achievment in co-curriculum?
- Where would you like to study medicine (or other course)?
- Will you accept the scholarship if you were be sent to India(or other country)?
- What does this scholarship mean to you?
- Tell us one strength and weakness of yours. One only
- Pick a cartoon character that would best explain you and why
- Picture yourself in 10 years time, and what would you want to be
- Your favourite tv programs and why
- Isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini

Education:
- Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
- Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
- Should school uniform be ambolish or not
- Education system
- Schools and education system emphasize on academics excellence and tourism
- Academic is the only benchmark for students to achieve excellent
- Students who are choosy in picking their courses
- Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job
- Unemployment of Malaysia undergraduates especially those of science and IT background, and the action to curb this problem
- Is it the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream
- What is science and what is the separating of science and art?
- Arts vs Science

Students/Teenagers:
- Usage of handphone in schools
- Increasing crime rate among students/juveniles
- Patriotism among teenagers
- Teenagers nowadays do not socialize
- Reading habit among youth is declining
- Children nowadays prefer to play computer games, etc

Family:
- Parents are spending less time with their children
- Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak
- What kind of parents would you like?
- Presents students are more pampered

Science:
- ICT: Advantages and disadvantages
- Kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan
- Negara barat dikatakan lebih maju dalam bidang IT. Apakah sebabnya?

Social/Politics:
- Drugs
- Violence
- Pollution
- Corruption
- Global warming
- Human resource
- Junk food & Fast food
- Gaya pemakanan makanan ringan/segera telah menjadi suatu kebiasan di masyarakat kita. Haruskah iklan makanan ringan/segera diharamkan?
- Malaysian Diet
- Credit card: Advantages and disadvantages
- Reality tv program give negative impact on students or not
- 9th Malaysia Plan (RMK 9)
- Dasar pandang ke timur
- 1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails
- Usaha untuk melaksanakan program Tahun Melancong Malaysia
- Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life
- Heavy fines should be issued to litter bugs
- Bloggers should be registered or not?
- National Service for females should be established or not?
- Malaysia harus membina sebuah pusat penyelidikan di kutub selatan?
- Kehidupan di Malaysia lebih baik daripada kehidupan di luar negara
- Nelayan laut dalam lebih mengutung daripada peladang
- Men are to lead and women are to follow. What do u think??"
- Are we safe to live on the earth?
- Our leader idols
- Leadership & followership. The conclusion between leadership & followership
- Youth nowadays lack of leadership quality

Weird Questions? 8O :
- The philosophy of a coin
- "The History of Time" by Stephen Hawking

Other Pass Year Questions (not in 2007):
- Public Transport in Malaysia
- Quality of Local Film vs Foreign Film
- National Service
- Agricultural
- Teaching of Mathematics and Science in English
- How to Promote our country?
- Qualities of A Good Leader
- Healthy LifeStyle
- Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs Sending Students Abroad
- How will AFTA affect our Automobile Industry
- Vision School
- Courtesy Among Malaysians
- Terrorism
- White Collar Crime
- Ways to Overcome Piracy (Counterfeit) Problem
- Price of Petrol Increasing
- Age For Driving Licence
- Foreign Workers in Malaysia

P/S: If i miss out any topic, kindly post it here to benefits those who are applying JPA scholarship next year. TQ in advance :D .

Shannon
07-04-2007, 12:23 AM
Putrajaya, 2pm

Strange question for the BM topic. The interviewers gave us a scenario, which we had to describe.

(something like that)

Anda berada dalam sebuah bot. Terdapat 5 orang di atas bot tersebut:

-Pemandu Bot
-Anda sendiri
-seorang adik kecil
-seorang mak cik tua
-musuh anda

Tiba tiba, ribut taufan melanda. Bot anda hanya boleh menyelamatkan 4 orang. Siapa yang akan anda pilih untuk korbankan, dan mengapa.

~~~~~

Strange... :? ...Haven't heard of this topic before...

Anyway, the english one was : Describe a cartoon character that resembles you...

I crapped...

Glad its over though....

Anyway, is this th final hurdle we have to go through? Will there be a second interview?

yilian
07-04-2007, 12:32 AM
i hope i can get such interesting ques. 8)

07-04-2007, 01:08 AM
.. same here buddy
went to putrajaya today.. last batch.. last group to be interviewed..
and the interviewee simply just brush us off and rush everything...
just asked us to introduce ourselves and give us a topic...

i was prepared for her to start shooting me on questions regarding my cert and course.. well.. but that didn't happen.. and she also stopped me before i finished my introduction.. oh.. and i was even the first to introduce myself.. i think she's a little too impatient... regarding that the interview just started.. i didn't even talk long.. not even for 5 minute...

and surprisingly she only wants us to discuss the topic in 10 minutes.. omg and we have 7 people in that group and i was thinking that 1 hour would be fun but..... man..
she gave two topics to the group before mine.. while she only wants us to discuss in one topic and also.. in such a limited time.. luckily i had warned the people in my group to allow others the chance to speak.. and speak in only 1 or 2 sentences before jumping to another guy... or else.. those shy ones will never get to say anything...

haha...i face the same problems like u...when i only introduced myself halfway...not even 3 minutes..i was required 2 stop...everything seems like 2 rush...sigh...
just pray hard and hopefully all the fellow ReCommers could secure a place 4 JPA scholarships.... :D

07-04-2007, 11:17 AM

- Will you accept the scholarship if you were be sent to India(or other country)?

Education:
- Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
- Education system
- Unemployment of Malaysia undergraduates especially those of science and IT background, and the action to curb this problem
- Is it the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream
- Arts vs Science

Students/Teenagers:

Family:

Science:

Social/Politics:
- Drugs
- Violence
- Pollution
- Corruption
- Global warming
- Human resource
- Junk food & Fast food
- Gaya pemakanan makanan ringan/segera telah menjadi suatu kebiasan di masyarakat kita. Haruskah iklan makanan ringan/segera diharamkan?
- Malaysian Diet
- Dasar pandang ke timur
- Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life
- Our leader idols

Weird Questions? 8O :

- National Service
- Agricultural
- Healthy LifeStyle
- Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs Sending Students Abroad
- Vision School
- Terrorism
- White Collar Crime

P/S: If i miss out any topic, kindly post it here to benefits those who are applying JPA scholarship next year. TQ in advance :D .

Thanks a lot

07-04-2007, 12:26 PM
So it has finished?

Good. Now i can safely tell u guys to relax cos i don think the interview serves any purpose whatsoever.

Thank you and goodbye.

darkpanda89
07-04-2007, 03:01 PM
haha.. figured.. since they are not really that serious during the interview..

dnsz89
07-04-2007, 03:11 PM
So it has finished?

Good. Now i can safely tell u guys to relax cos i don think the interview serves any purpose whatsoever.

Thank you and goodbye.

what made u say that? come to think of it most interviewrs seemed pretty laid back plus rushin thru the interviews like it doesnt matter.

a2in
07-04-2007, 04:21 PM
Thanks and much love to you guys who've posted your topics!

-a2in.

launa
07-04-2007, 07:27 PM
With this, it is the end of JPA scholarship interview (i believe) .

Good luck and look forwards to the future.

07-04-2007, 08:27 PM
With this, it is the end of JPA scholarship interview (i believe) .

Good luck and look forwards to the future.

ya..good luck all..if u all get the scholarships..do infrom us,..ahaha :D :lol:

i_yeani
07-04-2007, 09:30 PM

Education:
- Education system
- Arts vs Science

Students/Teenagers:

Family:

Science:

Social/Politics:
- Drugs
- Violence
- Pollution
- Corruption
- Global warming
- Human resource
- Junk food & Fast food
- Malaysian Diet
- Dasar pandang ke timur
- Our leader idols

Weird Questions? 8O :

- National Service
- Agricultural
- Healthy LifeStyle
- Vision School
- Terrorism
- White Collar Crime

i'm from ipoh. and the topic that is given to my group is: Pelajar dari sekolah berasrama penuh lebih cemerlang dan berjaya dalam hidup berbanding dengan pelajar dari sekolah biasa.

mi1_niyiL
08-04-2007, 02:48 PM
jpa result for program kejuruteraan jepun is on 19 april 2007
and the other courses will be on minggu kedua mei 2007.

so Good Luck to all the recommers! :)

08-04-2007, 03:17 PM

er..may i know where u get the info?? :oops: :oops: :oops:

btw..Thanks... :oops:

ericjoe
08-04-2007, 03:32 PM

er..may i know where u get the info?? :oops: :oops: :oops:

btw..Thanks... :oops:

this info can be obtained from jpa website.

Daniel_Chin
08-04-2007, 04:08 PM

My interviewer told us that. :)

sore_four_eyes
08-04-2007, 10:22 PM
Why is it earlier for the japan engineering? If I may ask?

I applied for Biotech but don't know why now feeling as if I should have applied for German Engineering instead. Yarrrgh so confused.

By the way, I didn't manage to finish all the personaliti test questions (yikes!) But I did make sure that I lorek for the ones that correspond to the field that I applied for - all the science stuff. I just main lorek TIDAK for the perakaunan, business and psycho stuff. :(

launa
09-04-2007, 07:15 AM
Why is it earlier for the japan engineering? If I may ask?

they starts early...

Estrella
09-04-2007, 12:47 PM
may i know normally how JPA choose which UNI for JPA scholar to study in australia? for medical student or any science related courses

hamburger
09-04-2007, 07:15 PM

erm...okay..thanks for the info...but the programme you had mention is the diploma programme to japan or just engineering to japan (for bumiputeras only)

prophecus
09-04-2007, 09:15 PM

erm...okay..thanks for the info...but the programme you had mention is the diploma programme to japan or just engineering to japan (for bumiputeras only)

i thought it's program kejuruteraan jepun in UM that is going to start earlier....

Kevin89
09-04-2007, 10:02 PM
i'm from ipoh. and the topic that is given to my group is: Pelajar dari sekolah berasrama penuh lebih cemerlang dan berjaya dalam hidup berbanding dengan pelajar dari sekolah biasa.

Thanks for the info :D .

evelynw
11-04-2007, 11:08 PM
Ee? How come no one got my topic? My interviewer must be asking off the cuff then.

My topic (IPOH, 6th April 10am) :
1.Should sex education be taught in schools and at what age? BM. Then it mutated into whether it should be an academic subject, bla bla..
2.Should Pendidikan Moral be an academic subject? or something like that. English.

Another question was on how we would conduct ourselves if we were to study overseas and how would we ensure we did not get entangled in relationships. Of course all of us gave the 'correct' answers. But our interviewer was candid and told us that he, too, was a government scholar overseas and still, things happened.

I didn't know how to reply to that. 8O

Anyway, for everyone who got the interview, best of luck! :)

lXl
12-04-2007, 01:28 AM
may i know normally how JPA choose which UNI for JPA scholar to study in australia? for medical student or any science related courses

JPA does not choose the universities. The scholars have to apply to the respective universities and admission is subjected to the approval of the respective universities similar to all other international applicants.

For medical students, admission into Aus universities is most selective and there have been cases where JPA scholars failed to gain admission in the universities that they have applied to. In such cases, JPA may decide to terminate the scholarship or these scholars are transfered to a private college (PMC,IMU, etc) in Malaysia for the next 5 years. JPA may also opt for a twinning program between these colleges and other foreign universities.

yhc
13-04-2007, 02:20 PM

JPA does not choose the universities. The scholars have to apply to the respective universities and admission is subjected to the approval of the respective universities similar to all other international applicants.

means that we have to apply to the universities on our own , and not through JPA..? :wink:

lXl
13-04-2007, 02:34 PM
yup. (although circumstances may differ for some courses or at some preparatory colleges where MOU's between the college and some overseas universities has already been signed)

aioxen
13-04-2007, 08:32 PM
elo..anyone know when will the scholar result out?

yhc
14-04-2007, 12:26 AM
yup. (although circumstances may differ for some courses or at some preparatory colleges where MOU's between the college and some overseas universities has already been signed)

Thanks for your enlightenment ! :D

14-04-2007, 01:16 AM

em ha... other than those goin to JAPAN ... result will be out in 2nd week of may

aioxen
15-04-2007, 11:43 PM

em ha... other than those goin to JAPAN ... result will be out in 2nd week of may
what about for those who r going to japan?how do we know that we r goin to which country?

yhc
16-04-2007, 12:05 AM
what about for those who r going to japan?how do we know that we r goin to which country?

...er, to japan?

aioxen
16-04-2007, 08:56 AM

...er, to japan?
huhu...why lor?

16-04-2007, 10:23 AM

i heard tat Japan engineering is for bumi onli... for those who r goin to Japan, result will be out on 19th April...

hey y didn't u follow up JPA scholarship website... ?
u shd noe if u r... this d advertisement image...

16-04-2007, 10:26 AM
image image image here.. (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/images/temudugaselesai_PILN07.gif)

yhc
16-04-2007, 12:01 PM

...er, to japan?
huhu...why lor?

erm, well, u asked what about for those who are going to japan...for sure they are going to japan, right ? [if and only if they get the scholarship]

do u mean to ask what about those who are NOT going to japan....? :wink:

aioxen
17-04-2007, 12:01 PM

...er, to japan?
huhu...why lor?

erm, well, u asked what about for those who are going to japan...for sure they are going to japan, right ? [if and only if they get the scholarship]

do u mean to ask what about those who are NOT going to japan....? :wink:
huhu..
there is a mistake here..
the result on 19 only 4 ngineering......
huhu....
i though ALL course(which is available in japan n spnsored by jpa) will be announced that day...
in my case..its pharmacy...

17-04-2007, 12:44 PM
Just a wild guess here: the results might come out around 10-11 May, regarding the trends.....

Estrella
17-04-2007, 04:45 PM
Just a wild guess here: the results might come out around 10-11 May, regarding the trends.....

ohhh...so it will before form 6 starts...

yhc
17-04-2007, 05:04 PM
anyway, it's good if the results come out before the date written there, don't u all think so? It will be easier for us to make decision whether to go form 6 , colleges or so...

dnsz89
17-04-2007, 05:59 PM

do we check online or wat? n wat bout appealing? how do u do dat>

18-04-2007, 11:52 AM
Last year, the results came out before the form 6 and matriculation registration date, though you won't know your country till you receive the letter, which reached on the registration day. So, if you're uncertain about the country you'll get, and whether you want to reject the offer, you might want to register first.....

Last year we checked online, but country was not stated if you get it. Appeal can be done online or through MCA.

18-04-2007, 12:32 PM
would it possible that those who applied 4 german engineering was sent 2 Japan eventually???

any ideas?? thankss in advance yea.... :D :wink:

dnsz89
06-04-2008, 11:06 PM
Last year, the results came out before the form 6 and matriculation registration date, though you won't know your country till you receive the letter, which reached on the registration day. So, if you're uncertain about the country you'll get, and whether you want to reject the offer, you might want to register first.....

Last year we checked online, but country was not stated if you get it. Appeal can be done online or through MCA.

thanks so very much fer answering.

youngyew: Thread closed as it was for 2007. Thread only for archival purpose. Use the current discussion thread instead. Thanks!