View Full Version : Talk on Oxbridge - Mar 31st

28-03-2007, 02:00 PM
Hey all
Here's the sequel to Nat's talk on his experience in Harvard. This week's Descartes Education Counselling Center talk is by two alumni of Oxford and Cambridge on their own adventures. You really don't want to miss this one!

From Tony Pua's Educationmalaysia.blogspot.com
http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2007/03/talk-on-oxbridge.html

Wednesday, March 28, 2007
Talk on Oxbridge
Hey guys,

The first Descartes talk was held last Sunday, with Nathaniel Tan giving us his take on his experience at Harvard University. We attracted a small crowd, with Dr Goh Cheng Teik, the interviewer in Malaysia for undergraduate admission into the college making a surprise appearance. ;)

This coming Saturday, we'll be holding a talk, this time on two universities across the Atlantic in the United Kingdom, Oxford and Cambridge. The details are as follows:

Topic: Life & Experiences @<hidden> Oxford & Cambridge Universities
Date: 31st March (Sat)
Time: 4.00 pm
Venue: DECC, 55-1 Jalan SS21/1A, Damasara Utama (Uptown), 47400 Petaling Jaya

Speakers:

Allen Ng

Allen was the president of the Cambridge University Malaysia Society in 2001. He is currently work as a practising Economist with Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), having completed his degree in Economics on the BNM Scholarship. Prior to that, he completed his 'A' Levels with Taylors College.

Allen originates from Ipoh and is contemplating crossing the bridge with a MPhil degree in Economics from Oxford University.

Tony Pua (that's me)

Tony graduated from Oxford University with a degree in Philosophy, Politics & Economics in 1991 with a scholarship from MTC Foundation. Prior to that, he had his secondary education at Raffles Institution and Raffles Junior College in Singapore under the ASEAN Scholarship.

He worked in a multinational consulting company for almost 2 years before venturing out to set up his own company in 1997. He listed the company in the Singapore Exchange in 2001 before divesting his stake in the company in early 2007 to focus solely on socio-political community work.

Read also my earlier write ups on application and my personal experiences at Oxford.

We hope to attract a bigger crowd to establish the Descartes series of talks. Future talks currently being planned include the ASEAN Scholarship, application to top US universities, workshop on writing university application essays, picking the right courses etc.

A token fee of RM10 is collected to help defray the cost of the running DECC.

So please help spread the message around to interested parties. You can also reach me at tonypua(at)yahoo.com. ;) See you!

Link: First talk on Harvard by Nathaniel Tan -
http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2007/03/first-descartes-talk.html

28-03-2007, 10:27 PM
*bump

Estrella
28-03-2007, 10:46 PM
most probably i'll be going!!! see u there!!!!
which part of uptown actually?? any shops beside??

29-03-2007, 01:18 PM
i've no idea ~ just relaying messages. i'm sure it'll be beneficial to all and you should show your support for DECC.

perhaps you should go early? you're going to have a fun time looking for a parking spot

johnleemk
29-03-2007, 02:06 PM
I went for Nat's talk - but it was quite sad lah. Only 20 people showed up, and Nat joked that half of them were his family.

Not sure about how precise my navigational bearings are, but I remember DECC is near a bus stop. I think it's also around the same row as the Federal Academy of Ballet (I remember this because my sister used to go there for ballet classes) Not too helpful, I know. :p

29-03-2007, 10:07 PM
I went for Nat's talk - but it was quite sad lah. Only 20 people showed up, and Nat joked that half of them were his family.

Not sure about how precise my navigational bearings are, but I remember DECC is near a bus stop. I think it's also around the same row as the Federal Academy of Ballet (I remember this because my sister used to go there for ballet classes) Not too helpful, I know. :p

Well that's because there was so little publicity about this talk. I think more people should go to such talks to dispel the myths of applying to such 'ivory towers'. Often times, people don't apply to these schools because of some misconceived notion of "cannot-get-in-lah-so-why-apply?"

So you potential oxbridge students out there... go! (and go early to find your parking spot)

koln_auhc
29-03-2007, 10:49 PM

Well that's because there was so little publicity about this talk. I think more people should go to such talks to dispel the myths of applying to such 'ivory towers'. Often times, people don't apply to these schools because of some misconceived notion of "cannot-get-in-lah-so-why-apply?"

So you potential oxbridge students out there... go! (and go early to find your parking spot)

The target group you are aiming are those that normally don't live in the cities, especially KL. Dispelling it there won't help much in my opinion. Nice effort though.

Estrella
30-03-2007, 12:08 AM

I help to promote this talk thru MSN by making it as my nickname....LOL

i think i roughly know where it is . same row as Am bank if i'm not mistaken.

17-07-2007, 02:53 PM
Hmmm... surprised that there's no thread on Nat since the recent events. Instead of starting a new thread, just want to tag on to this one and let everyone know about his recent detention.

Live updates from his sister's blog: http://thetrialsofcheryl.wordpress.com/

Elizabeth Wong's rant: http://elizabethwong.wordpress.com/2007/07/14/nat-tan-updates-questions-and-rant/

The blog that Nat ran: http://jelas.info/

For Wikipedia freaks: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nathaniel_Tan

And Recom's favourite cross link website: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/14/nation/20070714182404&sec=nation

And what exactly did he do to deserve this?