View Full Version : Technology in education
12-03-2004, 09:50 PM
In 1922 Thomas Edison predicted that "the motion picture is destined to revolutionize our educational system and ... in a few years it will supplant largely, if not entirely, the use of textbooks." Twenty-three years later, in 1945, William Levenson, the director of the Cleveland public schools' radio station, claimed that "the time may come when a portable radio receiver will be as common in the classroom as is the blackboard."
~Quoted from the computer delusions by Todd Oppenheimer
Like Hung Wei, I am doing a research essay and my topic concerns the use of technology(specifically computer) in education(more precisely, in classroom and individual learning).
12-03-2004, 09:50 PM
In 1922 Thomas Edison predicted that "the motion picture is destined to revolutionize our educational system and ... in a few years it will supplant largely, if not entirely, the use of textbooks." Twenty-three years later, in 1945, William Levenson, the director of the Cleveland public schools' radio station, claimed that "the time may come when a portable radio receiver will be as common in the classroom as is the blackboard."
~Quoted from the computer delusions by Todd Oppenheimer
Like Hung Wei, I am doing a research essay and my topic concerns the use of technology(specifically computer) in education(more precisely, in classroom and individual learning).
12-03-2004, 10:12 PM
So, in your opinion, is computer an effective media in the learning process? And how effective? If not, why?
12-03-2004, 10:12 PM
So, in your opinion, is computer an effective media in the learning process? And how effective? If not, why?
13-03-2004, 10:53 AM
Wah, why isn't anyone posting his opinions?
Perhaps I didn't make myself clear enough. Let me rephrase my question:
Should computer be used extensively in the learning process?
13-03-2004, 10:53 AM
13-03-2004, 11:25 AM
I think ideally computer will be an effective media in learning process, however, its usage must not be excessive, i.e., it should not replace teachers.
Personally, I would look at computer as a facilitator of doing many stuff and I think computer makes a lot of classroom sharing possible. Without the usage of computer and internet, our e-learning would not be possible.
however, having classes all in computer labs may not be that good actually. I have had some classes in computer labs and I think I have been multitasking during lecture with emails, icq etc and I know that many others have done so as well. I have chatted with many others while they are having classes. So, perhaps the concentration level of students may not be that good. But, having computer would mean that students can have a hands-on trying on all those stuff.
13-03-2004, 11:25 AM
I think ideally computer will be an effective media in learning process, however, its usage must not be excessive, i.e., it should not replace teachers.
Personally, I would look at computer as a facilitator of doing many stuff and I think computer makes a lot of classroom sharing possible. Without the usage of computer and internet, our e-learning would not be possible.
however, having classes all in computer labs may not be that good actually. I have had some classes in computer labs and I think I have been multitasking during lecture with emails, icq etc and I know that many others have done so as well. I have chatted with many others while they are having classes. So, perhaps the concentration level of students may not be that good. But, having computer would mean that students can have a hands-on trying on all those stuff.
13-03-2004, 01:41 PM
hehehe.... my question abt my research paper was flooded by others messages in a day.....
anyway, i think computer shld only be used as a helping tool... just to show some graphic, and use the simulation.
Extensively? don't realy agree on this.... but how do you defined 'extensively'....?
13-03-2004, 01:41 PM
hehehe.... my question abt my research paper was flooded by others messages in a day.....
anyway, i think computer shld only be used as a helping tool... just to show some graphic, and use the simulation.
Extensively? don't realy agree on this.... but how do you defined 'extensively'....?
kennytang
13-03-2004, 09:49 PM
com?
in classroom dont use too much of that la of coz
just a bit ll do, ll be ok
if not the interaction between lecturers n students ll diminish
kennytang
13-03-2004, 09:49 PM
com?
in classroom dont use too much of that la of coz
just a bit ll do, ll be ok
if not the interaction between lecturers n students ll diminish
kennytang
13-03-2004, 09:53 PM
hey how come i cant c ur topic bout ur thg one?
kennytang
13-03-2004, 09:53 PM
hey how come i cant c ur topic bout ur thg one?
14-03-2004, 07:16 AM
interaction between lecturers n students ll diminish
I agree with that, if computers are used extensively, I don't think it'll do students much benefits when it comes to interaction with people and communication with people. For example, due to computers, my friends and I will spend more time discussing projects or chatting using ICQ, MSN, IM or emails to each other rather than meeting up, sitting down and discuss. In the long run, we somehow lose the 'touch' or we feel a bit strange when we meet each other. In fact, many IT students in my Uni are so 'tied up' with the computers (here I mean downloading notes, searching information, gaining more knowledge using Internet), that they hardly communicate with people, hence they tend to lose the basic interaction among human beings, which is very sad to know that.
14-03-2004, 07:16 AM
interaction between lecturers n students ll diminish
I agree with that, if computers are used extensively, I don't think it'll do students much benefits when it comes to interaction with people and communication with people. For example, due to computers, my friends and I will spend more time discussing projects or chatting using ICQ, MSN, IM or emails to each other rather than meeting up, sitting down and discuss. In the long run, we somehow lose the 'touch' or we feel a bit strange when we meet each other. In fact, many IT students in my Uni are so 'tied up' with the computers (here I mean downloading notes, searching information, gaining more knowledge using Internet), that they hardly communicate with people, hence they tend to lose the basic interaction among human beings, which is very sad to know that.
14-03-2004, 09:40 AM
I think that it depends on the class. If it's an english class I doubt that there would be any major advantage of using a computer in class. But if it were somthing technical or something that requires special programs, then definitely. But even then it would be like a lecture without the com to get students to understand what they need to do, then the next lecture, it would be more like a practical. I guess what I'm saying is that com should be used more like a lab kind of thing I mean look at physics or any of the science subjects, without labs, it would seem that you take away less from the course.
Also, the thing about students using the labs to email and all that, i think it is up to the lab operator to enforce certain restrictions on the computers that the students use. I don't think it would be that big of a problem controling privileges and rights.
14-03-2004, 09:40 AM
I think that it depends on the class. If it's an english class I doubt that there would be any major advantage of using a computer in class. But if it were somthing technical or something that requires special programs, then definitely. But even then it would be like a lecture without the com to get students to understand what they need to do, then the next lecture, it would be more like a practical. I guess what I'm saying is that com should be used more like a lab kind of thing I mean look at physics or any of the science subjects, without labs, it would seem that you take away less from the course.
Also, the thing about students using the labs to email and all that, i think it is up to the lab operator to enforce certain restrictions on the computers that the students use. I don't think it would be that big of a problem controling privileges and rights.
14-03-2004, 11:14 AM
I think the usage of ICQ, AIM etc in fact, does simulate some kind of real world interaction. I remember helping Business school here doing some survey where we discuss business projects using AIM, without seeing who we are discussing with. This is to simulate where people do business across the world and you may use all those technologies to discuss your business. And discussing it on those means, even though we are just a meter or two apart seems like the simulation.
It is one of the usage in education too, especially in those business schools.
14-03-2004, 11:14 AM
I think the usage of ICQ, AIM etc in fact, does simulate some kind of real world interaction. I remember helping Business school here doing some survey where we discuss business projects using AIM, without seeing who we are discussing with. This is to simulate where people do business across the world and you may use all those technologies to discuss your business. And discussing it on those means, even though we are just a meter or two apart seems like the simulation.
It is one of the usage in education too, especially in those business schools.
06-06-2005, 03:30 AM
Reviving an old thread.
chiunlin, you're probably done with your project now - if it's (ehm.) "open source", can you share it with us? (Or put it in the creative corner?)
We have many new faces on recom since we asked the question the first time. So far we've decided that if we just use computers as means of communicating with each other, then it' much better that we avoid it and communicate directly (study together).
But there must be some other uses of technology like this in school. Any one wants to come up with some bright ideas?