View Full Version : .:reality crew:.anything n everything bout reality TV shows
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 12:27 AM
this is the post where anyone can voice their opinion about reality TV shows..how much you hate 'em and how much you love 'em..
about survivor..
i decided to start this cos my fav survivor just got voted out..sigh..
colby donaldson was voted off from mogo mogo today and that is really pretty sad!!
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 12:27 AM
this is the post where anyone can voice their opinion about reality TV shows..how much you hate 'em and how much you love 'em..
about survivor..
i decided to start this cos my fav survivor just got voted out..sigh..
colby donaldson was voted off from mogo mogo today and that is really pretty sad!!
13-03-2004, 02:21 AM
<troll>reality tv sucks. nough said.</troll>
13-03-2004, 02:21 AM
<troll>reality tv sucks. nough said.</troll>
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 02:23 AM
i gather that you dun really like reality tv shows? :roll: :lol: :lol:
aww..now you've scared the fans away!! :lol: :lol: heheh..
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 02:23 AM
i gather that you dun really like reality tv shows? :roll: :lol: :lol:
aww..now you've scared the fans away!! :lol: :lol: heheh..
13-03-2004, 07:05 AM
Man... reality shows kills!
Once a grandmother read a story book to her grandchildren, titled The Lady and The Fly. She read until the part where the lady accidentally ate the fly.
The grandma paused and ask the children what will happen to the lady. "Nothing", said one child, "I saw that yesterday on Fear Factor."
(Courtesy Reader's Digest)
13-03-2004, 07:05 AM
Man... reality shows kills!
Once a grandmother read a story book to her grandchildren, titled The Lady and The Fly. She read until the part where the lady accidentally ate the fly.
The grandma paused and ask the children what will happen to the lady. "Nothing", said one child, "I saw that yesterday on Fear Factor."
(Courtesy Reader's Digest)
lonewolfhan
13-03-2004, 11:29 AM
Well.. i know that many ppl think that reality TV sux... however, i just can;t help myself but loooove it ! I wont miss any reality TV shows on the TV>..
Hmm.. dun ask me the reason... im juz sooooo into this type of shows compared to other series on the TV>... its more interesting and can get me sitting by the edge of my chair while watching the challenges... HEhehe..
And to Sian Mei... i know u r going to be very sad when Colby was voted off... i oso got shocked when LEx plotted against him... and i know it's a gone case for COlby ade when ppl want to vote him out.. he is juz too strong for immunity challenges.... Sorry oh~ =(
Btw.. its very ironic that although i loooove reality TV shows soooo much... the topic of my research paper is "Reality TV shows: A bane to our society"... HAhaha....
lonewolfhan
13-03-2004, 11:29 AM
Well.. i know that many ppl think that reality TV sux... however, i just can;t help myself but loooove it ! I wont miss any reality TV shows on the TV>..
Hmm.. dun ask me the reason... im juz sooooo into this type of shows compared to other series on the TV>... its more interesting and can get me sitting by the edge of my chair while watching the challenges... HEhehe..
And to Sian Mei... i know u r going to be very sad when Colby was voted off... i oso got shocked when LEx plotted against him... and i know it's a gone case for COlby ade when ppl want to vote him out.. he is juz too strong for immunity challenges.... Sorry oh~ =(
Btw.. its very ironic that although i loooove reality TV shows soooo much... the topic of my research paper is "Reality TV shows: A bane to our society"... HAhaha....
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 03:28 PM
yeah i know..
it's quite sad to see how lex actually made colby believe that he had an alliance with him and then back stabbed him..
but i think everthing is good now altho i think that it's really sad to see him go..sigh..
b_ronick
13-03-2004, 03:28 PM
yeah i know..
it's quite sad to see how lex actually made colby believe that he had an alliance with him and then back stabbed him..
but i think everthing is good now altho i think that it's really sad to see him go..sigh..
14-03-2004, 12:56 AM
errr..... for me....
i think reality shows are not that real after all...
but i like THE AMAZING RACE.....
it is really exciting and thrilling and i can travel at the mean time....
anyone know when is amazing race 4 coming out???
14-03-2004, 12:56 AM
errr..... for me....
i think reality shows are not that real after all...
but i like THE AMAZING RACE.....
it is really exciting and thrilling and i can travel at the mean time....
anyone know when is amazing race 4 coming out???
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 03:09 PM
but i thought amazing race 4 was already finished last year!
at least that was on astro..
yeah i like amazing race too!
it's nice! and interesting!
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 03:09 PM
but i thought amazing race 4 was already finished last year!
at least that was on astro..
yeah i like amazing race too!
it's nice! and interesting!
miraclesnfantasy
16-03-2004, 09:15 PM
you know that feeling when u get on a roller coaster ride? well sumtimes reality shows give me that feeling..especially when d person u think'll be vote off, doesn't :? . so..anyone want a free roller coaster ride :wink: ? but i was wondering..why do they call it a reality show when nobody in dis reality world lives like them :?
miraclesnfantasy
16-03-2004, 09:15 PM
you know that feeling when u get on a roller coaster ride? well sumtimes reality shows give me that feeling..especially when d person u think'll be vote off, doesn't :? . so..anyone want a free roller coaster ride :wink: ? but i was wondering..why do they call it a reality show when nobody in dis reality world lives like them :?
gesar
16-03-2004, 10:13 PM
hello....nothing much that i can say about reality shows...i'm not a fanatic over reality shows 8) ...Though I find them stupid but I have nothing against them...Its their life, just let them go for it...that's what I think. :oops: ..hehe....
But I can really tell you that the Amazing Race is one reality show that almost killed me...hehe :D ...exaggeration only...hehe...well, its very tensed when they almost reach the stopping point...erm...well, that's exciting though... :P
but reality show like Joe Millionaire is horrible...this show certainly has played the women's feelings...bad bad...but well, no one has objected it so far... :(
coming to Fear Factor....I love that particular one cause it's fun to see how they manage to overcome their fear... :wink: wish whoever wants to join Fear factor....good luck and I admire you people...
:D :lol: :wink: That's all for now....
gesar
16-03-2004, 10:13 PM
hello....nothing much that i can say about reality shows...i'm not a fanatic over reality shows 8) ...Though I find them stupid but I have nothing against them...Its their life, just let them go for it...that's what I think. :oops: ..hehe....
But I can really tell you that the Amazing Race is one reality show that almost killed me...hehe :D ...exaggeration only...hehe...well, its very tensed when they almost reach the stopping point...erm...well, that's exciting though... :P
but reality show like Joe Millionaire is horrible...this show certainly has played the women's feelings...bad bad...but well, no one has objected it so far... :(
coming to Fear Factor....I love that particular one cause it's fun to see how they manage to overcome their fear... :wink: wish whoever wants to join Fear factor....good luck and I admire you people...
:D :lol: :wink: That's all for now....
dinna_g
16-03-2004, 10:57 PM
I can only accept reality tv games ie survivor, the amazing race, american idol. I used to be a big fan of survivor, but I only watch the show until season 3. After that, I notice that the contestants pretty much use the same tactics and there's nothing new that you see on the show, so I quit watching. I guess survivor all-star has a different twist, but since the air-time is the same as F.R.I.E.N.D.S., I choose friends of course ;). But my fave contestant for now is Ethan the soccer dude. I won't be surprised if he'll be voted out next :(
Having said that, I despise reality tv dating games ie joe millionare, the bachelor(ette), for the love of money, my big fat obnoxious fiance etc. I never watch those dating shows anyway. Seriously, how can you fall in love with a guy/girl over a tv show? How ridiculous!
Cheers!
dinna_g
16-03-2004, 10:57 PM
I can only accept reality tv games ie survivor, the amazing race, american idol. I used to be a big fan of survivor, but I only watch the show until season 3. After that, I notice that the contestants pretty much use the same tactics and there's nothing new that you see on the show, so I quit watching. I guess survivor all-star has a different twist, but since the air-time is the same as F.R.I.E.N.D.S., I choose friends of course ;). But my fave contestant for now is Ethan the soccer dude. I won't be surprised if he'll be voted out next :(
Having said that, I despise reality tv dating games ie joe millionare, the bachelor(ette), for the love of money, my big fat obnoxious fiance etc. I never watch those dating shows anyway. Seriously, how can you fall in love with a guy/girl over a tv show? How ridiculous!
Cheers!
17-03-2004, 04:12 AM
reality shows...mm...i've watched some from the US, such as Survivor, Amazing Race, the Bachelor...etc..some taiwan reality shows also...
but for some reality shows, I wonder how real the 'realities' they have shown. For example, there are some scenes that give people the idea that their expressions are so fake, or the conditions sometimes seem too real to be true?! Sorry, can't really give you guys any solid examples..... :?
no matter what it stated as reality show/programme, if people know that a camera is shooting their behaviors, their actions, every movement of them, will they still act the same as in their nature as if they don't know the presence of the shooting crew?
17-03-2004, 04:12 AM
reality shows...mm...i've watched some from the US, such as Survivor, Amazing Race, the Bachelor...etc..some taiwan reality shows also...
but for some reality shows, I wonder how real the 'realities' they have shown. For example, there are some scenes that give people the idea that their expressions are so fake, or the conditions sometimes seem too real to be true?! Sorry, can't really give you guys any solid examples..... :?
no matter what it stated as reality show/programme, if people know that a camera is shooting their behaviors, their actions, every movement of them, will they still act the same as in their nature as if they don't know the presence of the shooting crew?
wesleyanne
17-03-2004, 06:23 AM
forget survivor, haha ;) everyone go watch The Apprentice!!! ;) i personally think its one of the better ones out there. its funny, im one of those who think reality shows are dumb but end up sitting in front of the tv watching them anyway...haha
peiwen, you're right, while watching reality shows, one cant help but wonder how "real" these shows are, or are the plots/dialogues/outcomes controlled. which is why its good just to treat it as a source of entertainment and not believe everything that is portrayed. Theres a lot of editing in the media, so its not like these reality shows show you what goes on 24/7. and what they cut out and decide to show, would be what they believe would generate high ratings.
but overall, they're a whole lotta fun to watch! :)
wesleyanne
17-03-2004, 06:23 AM
forget survivor, haha ;) everyone go watch The Apprentice!!! ;) i personally think its one of the better ones out there. its funny, im one of those who think reality shows are dumb but end up sitting in front of the tv watching them anyway...haha
peiwen, you're right, while watching reality shows, one cant help but wonder how "real" these shows are, or are the plots/dialogues/outcomes controlled. which is why its good just to treat it as a source of entertainment and not believe everything that is portrayed. Theres a lot of editing in the media, so its not like these reality shows show you what goes on 24/7. and what they cut out and decide to show, would be what they believe would generate high ratings.
but overall, they're a whole lotta fun to watch! :)
lonewolfhan
17-03-2004, 12:55 PM
Yea.. i agree that only certain reality TV shows are interesting..such as Survivor.. Amazing Race.. Amercian Idol...
The rest just try to try to follow the trend.. but fail.. They Sux.. hehe..
For example.. Joe Millionaire.. what a horrible show.. the concept of the show is boring.. not to mention that it is unethical... Try to fake ur identity to win a gal's heart? Crazy~
Temptation Island... changing partners every few days... Hmm... is this the latest dating trend? Well.. besides the scenes of boys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis.. theres nothing interesting about the show...
There are more and more BORINg reality TV shows coming out... sigh~ i can only say that not all of them are interesting...
lonewolfhan
17-03-2004, 12:55 PM
Yea.. i agree that only certain reality TV shows are interesting..such as Survivor.. Amazing Race.. Amercian Idol...
The rest just try to try to follow the trend.. but fail.. They Sux.. hehe..
For example.. Joe Millionaire.. what a horrible show.. the concept of the show is boring.. not to mention that it is unethical... Try to fake ur identity to win a gal's heart? Crazy~
Temptation Island... changing partners every few days... Hmm... is this the latest dating trend? Well.. besides the scenes of boys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis.. theres nothing interesting about the show...
There are more and more BORINg reality TV shows coming out... sigh~ i can only say that not all of them are interesting...
18-03-2004, 04:38 AM
Well.. besides the scenes of boys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis.. theres nothing interesting about the show...
nothing interesting??!?? 8O
well, I think that TV feeds off it's viewers. No show would last long if there were no support rite?
18-03-2004, 04:38 AM
Well.. besides the scenes of boys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis.. theres nothing interesting about the show...
nothing interesting??!?? 8O
well, I think that TV feeds off it's viewers. No show would last long if there were no support rite?
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:23 AM
LittleBigone:
well.. i said... EXCEPT guys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis... there is nothing interesting about the show... there is a word EXCEPT there.. hehee... :wink:
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:23 AM
LittleBigone:
well.. i said... EXCEPT guys with fit bodies and gals in bikinis... there is nothing interesting about the show... there is a word EXCEPT there.. hehee... :wink:
b_ronick
18-03-2004, 08:42 AM
i should've known what you all are looking for in reality shows!! :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :wink:
b_ronick
18-03-2004, 08:42 AM
i should've known what you all are looking for in reality shows!! :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :wink:
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:59 AM
b_ronick:
well... dun forget i did mention about GUYS WITH FIT BODIES too ~ hehehe...so...i should have known what u r looking at too... Hmm... now im wondering what is the reason u like COlby so much?? kekeke... :lol:
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:59 AM
b_ronick:
well... dun forget i did mention about GUYS WITH FIT BODIES too ~ hehehe...so...i should have known what u r looking at too... Hmm... now im wondering what is the reason u like COlby so much?? kekeke... :lol:
b_ronick
18-03-2004, 09:09 AM
b_ronick:
*ehem*
what do you mean?? :lol: :oops:
i mean i support him because i think he is a good player..
errr.....the other things are just plus points!! :oops: :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:
b_ronick
18-03-2004, 09:09 AM
b_ronick:
*ehem*
what do you mean?? :lol: :oops:
i mean i support him because i think he is a good player..
errr.....the other things are just plus points!! :oops: :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:
18-03-2004, 05:34 PM
Last Fall, I had a conversation with my co-worker. she made a comment on the reality tv at USC. (the sorority life or something).
from what I understand, mtv doesn't allow you to do whatever you want. mtv also somehow would say something what they want, even though they may not have any script for the characters involved.
They would of course edit everything that they don't want.
To sum up, you want to be on MTV, do whatever MTV wants. (it's not 'real').
also, there's a trend now to 'advertise' product through reality TV.
Remember The Apprentice?. I just watched cnbc today that interview those guys involved in this business. they now are looking for anyone who want to 'advertise their product' through reality TV.
whether it's a smart move or not, we don't know. but hey, if it's free advertising, why not.
18-03-2004, 05:34 PM
Last Fall, I had a conversation with my co-worker. she made a comment on the reality tv at USC. (the sorority life or something).
from what I understand, mtv doesn't allow you to do whatever you want. mtv also somehow would say something what they want, even though they may not have any script for the characters involved.
They would of course edit everything that they don't want.
To sum up, you want to be on MTV, do whatever MTV wants. (it's not 'real').
also, there's a trend now to 'advertise' product through reality TV.
Remember The Apprentice?. I just watched cnbc today that interview those guys involved in this business. they now are looking for anyone who want to 'advertise their product' through reality TV.
whether it's a smart move or not, we don't know. but hey, if it's free advertising, why not.
b_ronick
19-03-2004, 09:43 PM
Survivor All-Stars rocks! 8) oh...btw, sian mei, dun feel so bad forr Colby lar...at least he's somewhere much much more comfy than where Lex is...right? :oops: imagine air-conditioned rooms and soft, comfy mattresses... :D [/color]
:lol: :lol: :lol: it's true but i would have liked it better if he had won!!
b_ronick
19-03-2004, 09:43 PM
Survivor All-Stars rocks! 8) oh...btw, sian mei, dun feel so bad forr Colby lar...at least he's somewhere much much more comfy than where Lex is...right? :oops: imagine air-conditioned rooms and soft, comfy mattresses... :D [/color]
:lol: :lol: :lol: it's true but i would have liked it better if he had won!!
gesar
19-03-2004, 10:04 PM
SORRY... :roll: i know nothing about Survivor....though its nice to watch but hehe.... been cut out from the TV channels.....lazy to go to the TV room....cockroaches everywhere..... :(
gesar
19-03-2004, 10:04 PM
SORRY... :roll: i know nothing about Survivor....though its nice to watch but hehe.... been cut out from the TV channels.....lazy to go to the TV room....cockroaches everywhere..... :(
-munhua-
20-03-2004, 03:35 PM
i just knew the effects of not raeding the tv guide in the newspaper...i didn't know survivor last night was gonna start at 1 sth...waited in the stinking tv room since 11pm. :cry: :oops: :? had to go through an indian movie....with two cockroaches...scariest night of my entire life...! :o 8O :roll: :!: hehe....*exaggearating* but i did have to look over my shoulder every 5 minutes to make sure they're not anywhere near me! :oops: :cry: terrible! and ethan got voted off! pity... :oops: :(
-munhua-
20-03-2004, 03:35 PM
i just knew the effects of not raeding the tv guide in the newspaper...i didn't know survivor last night was gonna start at 1 sth...waited in the stinking tv room since 11pm. :cry: :oops: :? had to go through an indian movie....with two cockroaches...scariest night of my entire life...! :o 8O :roll: :!: hehe....*exaggearating* but i did have to look over my shoulder every 5 minutes to make sure they're not anywhere near me! :oops: :cry: terrible! and ethan got voted off! pity... :oops: :(
lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 03:45 PM
MunHUa: haha... same here... have to wait for very long time ohh.. but i watched other channel 1st.. hehe..
btw.. do u know why they change the time? Hmm... my guess is... last nite got some OBSCENE things.. hahahaa..... agree? i think so la.. coz in US>.. the preview stated: Children need parents guildance to watch last nite's episode.... hehehe..
Hmm. i dunno about the accent things.. but i support CHAPERA for sure.... YEAHhhh..... so many stars in that tribe who i support.... hope they can go far,... but next week a twist is coming up... hope wont screw up everything la...
and ETHAN is out.. no more ex-winners in the game.... the hypothesis has been proven... no winner is allowed to win again !
lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 03:45 PM
MunHUa: haha... same here... have to wait for very long time ohh.. but i watched other channel 1st.. hehe..
btw.. do u know why they change the time? Hmm... my guess is... last nite got some OBSCENE things.. hahahaa..... agree? i think so la.. coz in US>.. the preview stated: Children need parents guildance to watch last nite's episode.... hehehe..
Hmm. i dunno about the accent things.. but i support CHAPERA for sure.... YEAHhhh..... so many stars in that tribe who i support.... hope they can go far,... but next week a twist is coming up... hope wont screw up everything la...
and ETHAN is out.. no more ex-winners in the game.... the hypothesis has been proven... no winner is allowed to win again !
-munhua-
20-03-2004, 04:01 PM
it's not really fair ler that way...dun really know what the tribe is really thinking. :? :cry: now there's only one guy in mogo-mogo. some of the imunity challenges need strength...they'll keep losing tht way. :lol: :oops: furthermore, why must ex-winners not be allowed to win again? it all depends on how they play it wert. *sigh* i was so fed up we tina (ex-winner) got voted off in the first episode. :evil:
eik....what obscene things? rob and amber...? :? hmm...kinda cute wert....hehe! :oops: :lol: :wink:
-munhua-
20-03-2004, 04:01 PM
it's not really fair ler that way...dun really know what the tribe is really thinking. :? :cry: now there's only one guy in mogo-mogo. some of the imunity challenges need strength...they'll keep losing tht way. :lol: :oops: furthermore, why must ex-winners not be allowed to win again? it all depends on how they play it wert. *sigh* i was so fed up we tina (ex-winner) got voted off in the first episode. :evil:
eik....what obscene things? rob and amber...? :? hmm...kinda cute wert....hehe! :oops: :lol: :wink:
lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:07 PM
kekee.. .yea lor.. rob and amber la... but i think msian got censored or edited a bit ade... hehehee....
Hmm... serves MOgo Mogo rite.... hope they lose all the way till the end of this season.... but the twist next week may change their destiny.... not fair... or else we will have the chance to see the consequences of their stupidity !!!
especially JERRI... thought that she will change .... But sighh... she remains as B**chy as she was in australia.... see her face oso want to slap ade.... Grrrr.. cant imagine this world has such a terrible woman... i think she will remain single for the rest of her life ade... Hahahaa.....
lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:07 PM
kekee.. .yea lor.. rob and amber la... but i think msian got censored or edited a bit ade... hehehee....
Hmm... serves MOgo Mogo rite.... hope they lose all the way till the end of this season.... but the twist next week may change their destiny.... not fair... or else we will have the chance to see the consequences of their stupidity !!!
especially JERRI... thought that she will change .... But sighh... she remains as B**chy as she was in australia.... see her face oso want to slap ade.... Grrrr.. cant imagine this world has such a terrible woman... i think she will remain single for the rest of her life ade... Hahahaa.....
20-03-2004, 09:16 PM
but reality show like Joe Millionaire is horrible...this show certainly has played the women's feelings...bad bad...but well, no one has objected it so far...
soree... i have to say tht i was addicted to tht show... very interesting..... i just wanted to know the outcome :lol:
20-03-2004, 09:16 PM
but reality show like Joe Millionaire is horrible...this show certainly has played the women's feelings...bad bad...but well, no one has objected it so far...
soree... i have to say tht i was addicted to tht show... very interesting..... i just wanted to know the outcome :lol:
Sylvia
21-03-2004, 11:08 AM
I think survivor is ok but I like Amazing Race better.
U think Joe Millionaire sucks ,wait till you see For love or money .It's even worse than Joe Millionaire.
I also heard bout The Apprentice .Donald Trump is very famous now 8O
Sylvia
21-03-2004, 11:08 AM
U think Joe Millionaire sucks ,wait till you see For love or money .It's even worse than Joe Millionaire.
b_ronick
24-03-2004, 01:44 PM
i like both personally at least for survivor i liked the australian outback series and this new one which is the survivor all star..
amazing race is great!!
joe millionaire and for love or money?
totally not my kind of thing...
cheating ppls feelings for money?
quite downgrading actually..for the participants
b_ronick
24-03-2004, 01:49 PM
wow....so serious ar? hehe....yeah, i have to admit that i kinda despise her too. :oops: :wink: I mean, she's like so lazy in playing the game yet she still manages to stay in the game for such a long time. But i doubt that she'll win the game. Maybe it's a good thing, :lol: after all, the longer she stays there, the longer she'll have to suffer from more and more insect bites! ah...~ i am soOoo sadistic! :oops: :P 8)
jerri..dear ol' jerri..
as usual..i think she will always be the villian of this game..
this is a real life example of a person who does NOT forgive and also does NOT forget.. :idea: :idea:
geezz..get over it woman!!! :!:
i seriously despise her...she and that shii ann with her rolling eyes :roll: and all!!goodness...
hope both of them would not win!!
:evil: :evil: :oops:
they have just like become the most bitter ppl after the game!! :evil:
miraclesnfantasy
24-03-2004, 01:51 PM
i think i've heard the mak sallehs complaining about it..something about it being unethical.but i guess it might be those who are only concerned about stuff like that. the rest might have 1 or 2 dissatisfied feelings but they don't say it out loud. and anyway i've watched for love or money (1 & 2) but not all the episode...my sister's complain though is that the guy in FLOM1 looks like a perverted freak... :lol:
b_ronick
24-03-2004, 02:05 PM
i think i've heard the mak sallehs complaining about it..something about it being unethical.but i guess it might be those who are only concerned about stuff like that. the rest might have 1 or 2 dissatisfied feelings but they don't say it out loud. and anyway i've watched for love or money (1 & 2) but not all the episode...my sister's complain though is that the guy in FLOM1 looks like a perverted freak... :lol:
joe millionaire? for love or money?
think i agree that both are quite unethical..
but hey, a lot like watching it...
enough said.. :lol: :wink:
24-03-2004, 02:07 PM
Reality shows present fresh, slap-in-your-face kind of entertainment and I'd be lying if I were to say that I don't enjoy Fear Factor, Survivor etc. You get to see the reeeeaaaallll thing...hehehe...beautiful people with ugly personalities, ugly people with even uglier personalities.
But yeah I do agree that 'dating' reality TV shows suck. It's cheap entertainment and I cannot believe there are people out there who would actually sacrifice their intergrity just for a short-lived fame (think Joe Millionaire, FLOM). But producers continue to make these kinds of shows because they SELL.
b_ronick
24-03-2004, 02:17 PM
Reality shows present fresh, slap-in-your-face kind of entertainment and I'd be lying if I were to say that I don't enjoy Fear Factor, Survivor etc. You get to see the reeeeaaaallll thing...hehehe...beautiful people with ugly personalities, ugly people with even uglier personalities.
But yeah I do agree that 'dating' reality TV shows suck. It's cheap entertainment and I cannot believe there are people out there who would actually sacrifice their intergrity just for a short-lived fame (think Joe Millionaire, FLOM). But producers continue to make these kinds of shows because they SELL.
yupz..all that i wanted to say is all said here!!heheh...
:wink: :roll: :wink: but i really like the bit about beautiful ppl with ugly personalities and ugly ppl with even uglier personalities...heheh..
quite true!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
b_ronick
24-03-2004, 02:47 PM
nicely said... :wink: though i would like to ask a question...how true are reality showS? :? how do we know if they aren't just hiring some people to act in the shows? :? i mean, could there really be people as mean as jerri? or as irritating as the 'eye-roller' (is there such a word?) shi ann :roll: ? or do the producers just make them up in order to make the show more interesting? haha! anyhow....i still luv to watch! :D :lol: 8) :P
hmmm..i guess no one will know until one of us joins the show huh?
i mean..there might be ppl LIKE jerri and shii ann and we wouldn't have known it until we watch this show...who knows..maybe they are just a bunch of actors!!
lonewolfhan
24-03-2004, 08:02 PM
Hmm.. sometimes i do think that maybe all the contestants are actors... and we r a bunch of fools who enjoy watching the show.. but... the shwo r still very interesting.... we can't control ourselves from liking it rite? hehhee... :P
miraclesnfantasy
25-03-2004, 12:29 PM
but than again..i remembered someone in survivor mentioning that it was always the negative or bad things :evil: about him that were shown while rupert was always portrayed as a good guy and that his victory moments were shown quite frequently 8) . proves that the producers show only parts that they want... but then again nobody quite mentioned the part where rupert stole stuff from the other team in the first episode :twisted: . :)
b_ronick
25-03-2004, 01:15 PM
cos' the whole intention is to have one evil side :twisted: and the other the good one.. :D
25-03-2004, 01:38 PM
Once upon a time, I even thought that the WWF show was real. I thought those were real people throwing each other around. So there is a possibility that contestants of reality Tv shows are actually actors.
Btw, for people like Jerry, I wonder how they fit themselves back into their society after the revelation of their evil inner selves?
Melo_15
25-03-2004, 02:06 PM
hey frankly speaking, im doing a research for it, for my writing....what i know is, i dunb think it is too beneficial for young plp lor.....u see the way...wait, maybe tempation island is not broadcasted in msia but, the show is just!!! exploitation island!!! :twisted: it has distorted meaning bout a faithful relationship bout plp....really, do u think young plp who watch it wont have any effects on them? these kids will like have the impression of relationship between man n women are not suppose to be faithful...they can choose partners....being tempted n let in to tempatation...so overall, i dun support reality shows.,.....on the other hand, american idol is quite entertaining, besides, it actually give chance 4 plp to become famous...apart from simon's sharp censures.....hehe
btw anyone in US berkeley? send my regards to William Hung!@<hidden>!!!! haha tha guy rocks!! :D
b_ronick
25-03-2004, 08:40 PM
Once upon a time, I even thought that the WWF show was real. I thought those were real people throwing each other around. So there is a possibility that contestants of reality Tv shows are actually actors.
Btw, for people like Jerry, I wonder how they fit themselves back into their society after the revelation of their evil inner selves?
me too!!WWF..my dad and i will be watchin when i was much younger..
jerri?
i guess ppl around her would just have to tolerate her i guess
i just wish them all luck!!heheh :roll: :lol: :lol:
lonewolfhan
25-03-2004, 09:16 PM
Wahh.. u miss Jon ?? OH gosh.... this type of ppl oso got ppl miss him ahh ?Hmmm... despise him.. hate him.... useless Liar !!!! :evil: use his grandma's fake death to cheat ppl.. sumore swore on his grandma's name... too much ! fortunately he din win !!!!
kIdd0
25-03-2004, 09:20 PM
hmmmm... one comment that i would like to make about reality tv shows.... although i do watch some of them like survivor n all but some other reality tv shows are really lame and 'fake'... especailly those dating or coupling shows... man!! cant even stand a minute of it
b_ronick
25-03-2004, 09:56 PM
hmmmm... one comment that i would like to make about reality tv shows.... although i do watch some of them like survivor n all but some other reality tv shows are really lame and 'fake'... especailly those dating or coupling shows... man!! cant even stand a minute of it
agree!
agree!!
i'll second that anytime... :lol: :lol:
b_ronick
25-03-2004, 10:01 PM
oh yeah...has anyone ever seen the show the Body Challenge os sth like tht? :? :wink: well, that's a reality show which i really believe. haha! woah....u should see them, 8O they managed to decrease their body weight by sOOooo much. u should just see the 'before' and 'after' pictures of them...amazing! hehe! :oops: :lol:
that i believe... :D :D
mystique_jasper
25-03-2004, 10:05 PM
8) Yeah, i utterly agree with your opinion. Reality tv shows such as Joe Millionaire and Temptation Island brings a bad influence to the viewers. These TV shows are creating a dream and a fantasy that cannot be achieve in real life. After watching these shows, viewers will be more and more materialistic. They tend pursue a dream that will never come true. :(
kIdd0
30-03-2004, 03:07 PM
hmmm...... body challenge... not bad... heard bout it..... its on this discovery channel rite? One thing, im pretty sure about the "reality-check" part of the series but, where's the fun in watchin' ppl lose weght 10 pounds, 20 pounds n 30 pounds?? We want gore!! we want guns!! hahaaha, typical of city kids with over exposure to tv... and they say, tv dont spoil kids eh?
sKYwalker
30-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Kiddo said: "We want gore!! we want guns!! "
too many of 'Matrix', i assume?
..... :cry: can't imagine how the world will be in the future........
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 03:34 PM
Kiddo said: "We want gore!! we want guns!! "
too many of 'Matrix', i assume?
..... :cry: can't imagine how the world will be in the future........
sigh..i wonder too..
wouldn't be a pretty picture huh?
dinna_g
31-03-2004, 10:32 AM
Anyone is up for American Idol discussion? Simon Cowell rocks, Randy Jackson sucks!
Cheers!
lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 11:09 AM
Errr.... i think both of them suck ! especially simon... i think since we have already labelled him as the"cruel judge"... he is actually acting now... even though he thinks that one contestant is good.. he will not admit it... he's trying to maintain his "evil" image! hate him~ :evil: humiliate ppl for enjoyment !
b_ronick
31-03-2004, 11:26 AM
i, on the other hand, think that simon is doing a job that most of ppl refuse to..that is to criticize when it is needed..
as ppl say truth hurts and we would try our utmost best to avoid having to criticize anyone at all..and simon is doing just that..
i have to admit he is totally evil as some might put it..
but ppl would also have to admit that he is the one behind American Idol that is responsible of churning out the REALLY talented singers that deserves to be winners..
i know of some competitions similar to American Idol that compliments the participants even tho a lot of ppl thinks that that person's singing sucks...
lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 11:33 AM
Hmm.. even if the contestant cant sing.. u can juz say u r not qualified to go into the next round.. Simon doesnt need to labelled ppl as "The worst singer in the world" or laugh in front of the contestants.... IF he is a nice person.. then no one will cry after being humiliated by him.. still remember he critisized one gal as "Too fat to become a star"... Hello! this is a singing competition ok? not pageant~ he has gone beyond the line of critisizing ppl !
dinna_g
31-03-2004, 02:17 PM
but admit it people! without simon, the show is plain and boring. i love simon's comments... even if they're harsh but most of them is true. and he usually knows what the crowd wants. look at jon peter lewis, simon does not like him as a singer, but he does admit that he got so many fans/votes. hence, he thinks that jpl will stay longer in the show. simon rocks AI. withouht simon, the show is just full of randy's crap...
lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 02:28 PM
Hmm.. have to agree that Simon's comments are fun although they hurt the contestants... sigh~ we are having fun while watching others being humiliated... should we feel bad ? hehe.. :oops: i like Paula Abdul though.... kekee...
dinna_g
31-03-2004, 02:35 PM
paula's cool.. we need her in the show.. she's the one who's always bring the tension down, which is great. if i were to vote out a judge, it'll definitely be randy. i hate him so much because i see him as a biased judge. once he doesn't like a contestant, he won't forever and ever. so unfair!
b_ronick
31-03-2004, 03:02 PM
Hmm.. even if the contestant cant sing.. u can juz say u r not qualified to go into the next round.. Simon doesnt need to labelled ppl as "The worst singer in the world" or laugh in front of the contestants.... IF he is a nice person.. then no one will cry after being humiliated by him.. still remember he critisized one gal as "Too fat to become a star"... Hello! this is a singing competition ok? not pageant~ he has gone beyond the line of critisizing ppl !
i guess what he's looking for is both voice and looks...what they call as the whole package 'cos it's basically American Idol..
dun get me wrong..i dun think he's dicriminating..rather he is looking for what they call an American Idol which requires both looks and talent.. :?
but then again look at last year's American Idol...he's not exactly erm...slim but yet he won! :oops: :oops:
b_ronick
31-03-2004, 05:39 PM
well, in my opinion, Simon's actually sort of testing the contestants and their ability to handle criticisms calmly and patiently. :P bcoz once they become a star and get into the real world they can't just break down everytime they are criticized, can they? it is, after all, one of the criterias to becoming an artist is to have the skill to face these kinda people and their comments...no? :lol: :oops:
yeah..
and their critics wouldn't be only one simon..it would be plenty..
i guess if they can take what simon tells them then they can face whatever criticism directed to them...
:!: :!: william hung (altho i think his talent doesn't lie in singing) he was able to face their criticism well and look where he's at...(sorry i dun quite like him btw)
kIdd0
31-03-2004, 08:32 PM
william hung (altho i think his talent doesn't lie in singing) he was able to face their criticism well and look where he's at...(sorry i dun quite like him btw)
HOW CAN U NOT LOVE WILLIAM HUNG!! haha!!
TALK TO ME, TELL ME YOUR NAME....
lalala.... LIKE A BOMB....
SHE BANGS...SHE BANGS......
how can one not love william hung?
b_ronick
31-03-2004, 09:08 PM
sheesh!!
think i sense sarcasm here..
b_ronick
01-04-2004, 04:33 PM
william hung is getting more and more famous now..
someone please tell me why?
b_ronick
01-04-2004, 04:41 PM
i mean..great..he showed optimism and courage..
but does that make him a good singer?
gosh?
i dunno..propose?
geezz..no offense to him that is...
dinna_g
01-04-2004, 10:48 PM
i think william hung is just a joke that has been taken too seriously... and his 30 seconds of fame on AI was repeated on his website and some other tv shows e.g. david letterman. as a female, i don't find him cute or adorable but i pity him because i think his fame is just temporary. have you heard that he received a recording contract? if he ever make an album, do you want to buy it? i don't think so... with that kind of one note voice, i think it's more worth it if i download his songs from kazaa...
so if i were william hung, i'll forget the fame and get on with my life..
just a thought!
lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 08:50 AM
Dinna_g: for ur info.. the album is already OUT in the market.. the album is named "INSPIRATION"... u can go to his websites to listen if u want... i doubt that u will like it though :?
The songs included in the album are YMCA, She Bangs (How can this song not included ?), Shake ur Bon Bon (Err... Ricky Martin's again.. cant get the silly dance moves out of my head.. hehe.. ), and lots more... cant remember all the names..
Personally, i think that the record company juz want to make money from this JOke... he wont be able to record 2nd album i think... Poor William... he is juz humiliated in a NICER way only... :(
02-04-2004, 09:05 AM
man...you guys don't get it...william hung is a freaking genius! come on, he goes to berkeley, he's no idiot. he obviously premeditated his american idol stunt, probably as a way of showing the middle finger to the show, and see how far he can push it. sure enough, american idol made a big deal out of it and even celebrated him, to boost their ratings, what else? it's showbiz. nothing is real!
dinna_g
02-04-2004, 09:13 AM
urgh.. the album's out? man.. how pathetic the world is. I do agree with topdog. Actually, I'm not surprised if he's the one who made his own website.. LOL
02-04-2004, 07:09 PM
Speaking of William Hung, there are many of his wannabes around in KL now. That says much of his popularity! :lol: They're having the auditions for Malaysian Idol soon and some of my friends are planning to put their intergrity at stake. Let's see if we'd give birth to a Guy Sebastian or a Kelly Clarkson or just another (horror!) Master Hung.
02-04-2004, 10:19 PM
William Hung....
i think he get all the fame becoz of all of
jealousy.... how can some one like him became to highest search over name in Google in the past few months... how can someone like him .... blah blah...
good marketing... since his appearance and his coming back, the viewing rate of American Idol is on the rise...
depicts the "Anerican Dream"....
u can be a something out of nothing... U can be a star even though u dun shine... U can be s pop idol, even if " u can't dance, u can't sing"....
remember, Marketing and Packaging is very important... just like any As Seen On TV item....hahaha... :roll:
b_ronick
02-04-2004, 10:25 PM
since we are talking about the American Idol ..
who do you think would win?
who do you like most in the show?
lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 01:34 AM
Just watched the latest episode of Survivor All Star..
can't imagine that i actually didnt dislike Boston Rob now... he care of Amber soooo much !!! he seriously fell in love with Amber ade.. 1st time in Survivor history oh.. hehee..
He cried when he had to leave Amber in another tribe.. he tried everything to save her from being voted off.. Woww.... dunno they really end up being together onot..
b_ronick
03-04-2004, 01:39 AM
hopefully they will..
but it is really hard to say cos they are in this game..you know..
pressure and all!
b_ronick
03-04-2004, 09:35 PM
but i think they are merging soon so i dun think they'll be apart that long... :wink:
lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 10:16 PM
Hmm.. IT IS CONFIRMED that they will merge in the next episode.. check out CBS official website... its confirmed ade..
anyway.. im so happy that they are seriously fell in love with each other... BUT... BUT... this might put both of them at risk too ! COz.. the others will sure think that both of them have a very strong bond... it is good to cote them out 1st... Somemore last episode ROb made it so obvious by approaching LEx at the end of the chanllenge... so now everyone is aware of the romance between Rob and AMber.... i hope they wont be voted off soon ! PLzzz.. PLZz...
03-04-2004, 10:18 PM
Sigh, i missed the last few episodes of Survivors and American Teen Idols again. All this is due to Bridge.
Anyway, i hope the Polynesian (forgotten her name liao... ) will win. She has all that it takes. Not only her voice, but her personality and background makes her fits into the title
b_ronick
03-04-2004, 10:33 PM
yes!
yes!!
jerri is out!!
the villian is out!!hahahahah :twisted:
so much for her plotting and all!!hahah
lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 10:40 PM
MunHua... its not a good thing to merge ahh !! ROB is an obvious threat in Immunity Challenge... im worried that he will be voted off as soon as he lost in the challenge.. unless his tribe's loyalty still stays after the merge... then Shi Ann and LEx them will be out 1st !
Hmm.. what a nice ending if we can have Rob and Amber as the FInal two.. holding hands.. and no matter what happen.. they will share the money.. hahaha....
and im looking forward to the Reunion too.. i wanna see whether RoB and Amber are still together onot.. hehe..
b_ronick
07-04-2004, 05:09 PM
but there is a possibility that the close bond they have would be at their disadvantage..amber and rob being the final two,,
i think that's what most of them wanna avoid...cos the others wanna win too and their relationship may be the reason behind the higher chance of getting voted out :!: :!:
08-04-2004, 01:42 PM
yeah, and being a sweet couple doesn't entitle you totally to be a survivor winner. But let's hope this time's survivor is a real survivor ... unlike the previous one. I can't believe that lady (what's her name? Sarah?) won...
08-04-2004, 05:01 PM
Since many are discussing Survivorolgy here, I think I should go back and ask my Mom for some thoughts. She'd have LOTS to say about Survivor.
b_ronick
08-04-2004, 05:45 PM
sure..hehehhe..
we welcome any opinions from anyone!!
heheh..something different.. it would be interesting :lol: :lol:
lonewolfhan
08-04-2004, 11:19 PM
Elansar: hmm.. i think u mean JENNA ??? the swimsuit model ? hehehe.... yeah she won.. i kind of happy though... kekee... :P
24-04-2004, 01:34 AM
not Jenna
Sarah, from PEarl Island.... And i dun think she's a swim suit model ....
Anyway, i can't believe Kathy is being kicked out and Rob is going to betray Rupert.... I say, vote Rob out!!!
b_ronick
24-04-2004, 02:00 AM
i can't stand shii ann!!
why did she get the immunity?!!
arrgghhhh..those rolling eyes!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
she roll her eyes to practically everything!!
arrgghhh..
why?why?
i just hope she's next!!..
i dunno..
who should win?
i dunno....sigh..but not shii ann!!!i dun want her to win!!
and i'm surprised with today's vote..hmmm...
24-04-2004, 02:38 AM
Well, i just told mun hua that it's a waste they vote alicia and shi ann out, coz they could have just been voted out easily the next few rounds... They should have voted Rob out first when they have the chance . . . Rob's the reall aslov here... I hope Amber knows what she's doing...
b_ronick
24-04-2004, 03:02 AM
but i still dun fancy shii ann too much!! :evil:
and her rolling eyes!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
24-04-2004, 03:32 PM
Remember when shi ann cried STUPID PLAYERS??? Well, she repeated it and her face gets more and more repugnant each time she repeats it... Anyway, i think either she or Alicia is worth taking to the last 2 rounds... Hehe, very simple logic - i doubt no one would want to give them the 1 million dollars.
b_ronick
26-04-2004, 12:17 AM
i dunno...
taking her until the final two?
i dun think i would want her to be in the show any longer..
the thing is cos i think she is one snobbish brat..i dunno..
maybe it's just because i dun like her!
26-04-2004, 01:28 AM
Haha . . . We need to be patient . . . Anyway, i believe that no one should trust rob. . .
Randomphantom
28-04-2004, 03:27 PM
Funny but i root for her... although she can be a pain in the ass but when she won the challenge - hah! show those snobbish fools that they've been playing into Rob's plan all along... And to think survivor all stars would have more people conniving clever schemes against each other...
29-04-2004, 04:45 AM
Funny but i root for her... although she can be a pain in the ass but when she won the challenge - hah!
har?! u serious? hehe....jus kidding...i know everyone has the right to have his/ her own opinion......but, u seRiOus?! haha...hmm..yeah, she may have proven herself to be a worthy opponent when she managed to win the imunity challenge. But her attitude after the challenge does not really appeal to me. i mean, she acted in such a snobish manner! hehe...and yeah..maybe it's coz of the rolling eyes...can't stand~ :D
And to think survivor all stars would have more people conniving clever schemes against each other...
well, i gotta agree with u in this one...personally, i like the last season of survivor more than this one...what with the presence of johnny fairplay in the last one, he just spices things up. but so far in the game, there has only been the strong tribe eliminating the weaker tribe...(though they have merged) anyway, i kinda hope the show will get more and more interesting. hee~!
Johny Fairplay? I despise him, but I have to admit it, Survivor ain't survivor without him . . .
b_ronick
29-04-2004, 11:56 PM
Funny but i root for her... although she can be a pain in the ass but when she won the challenge - hah!
har?! u serious? hehe....jus kidding...i know everyone has the right to have his/ her own opinion......but, u seRiOus?! haha...hmm..yeah, she may have proven herself to be a worthy opponent when she managed to win the imunity challenge. But her attitude after the challenge does not really appeal to me. i mean, she acted in such a snobish manner! hehe...and yeah..maybe it's coz of the rolling eyes...can't stand~ :D
And to think survivor all stars would have more people conniving clever schemes against each other...
well, i gotta agree with u in this one...personally, i like the last season of survivor more than this one...what with the presence of johnny fairplay in the last one, he just spices things up. but so far in the game, there has only been the strong tribe eliminating the weaker tribe...(though they have merged) anyway, i kinda hope the show will get more and more interesting. hee~!
hmmm..shii ann..again i dun like her..yeah..the reaction from her when she won the challenge was just adding my hatred towards her..at least pretty much...yupz..i think it's the rolling eyes!!
schemes? when that is the most important part of the game i guess..as they say may the best person wins..it's the whole purpose of the game~to outwit, outplay and outlast to become the sole survivor..thus being the motto of the reality TV hit!
30-04-2004, 03:16 AM
Hmmm.... Is Shi Ann's real personality really that despiseful? I dunno . . Yeah, everyone agrees that she's horrible in the survivor . . . But come to think of it . . .Will you behave that way in front of the camera when you know that the whole world is watching you? I don't think so I will . . . It's like making a fool out of myself . . . Do you think that Shi Ann's really a prick, or is it some schemes going on like Shi Ann is supposed to behave like that to spice things up . . . And I can't help noticing that it seems that Jeff knows who will be going to be voted out in the tribal council, even the TV crew, coz they always lock on the 2 people who would be voted out that night . . .
01-05-2004, 12:05 AM
Hmm.... i'm following the survivor now. Shi Ann calls herself She-Devil. At least she knows she's evil.
And Rob, the more he's in there, the more I'll go crazy. But if becomes the survivor, i'm not surprise - the way he plays the game... However, I still don't want him to be the one going back with the 1 million dollars.
but like jerri, after a few days she got voted off, i visited the cbs website which has an interview of her and believe it or not, i found that her attitude was a bit different from the jerri in survivor.
You like Jerri? Maybe she's not that lazy or behave like "siu jie" in real life. But why would she want to be like that in Survivor? Hmm... Want herself to be kicked out ASAP?
01-05-2004, 01:06 AM
Hmm.... can't believe Shi Ann's voted off. The 5 of them seems to have like telepathic ability... Or at least they don't show us when they were packing alliance. Well, I hope she really stirs things up, coz I dun want the game to be predictably dominating Rob and Amber. Everyone's afraid of them.
b_ronick
01-05-2004, 01:37 AM
in a way i was pretty sad and happy that shii ann was voted off..
i dunno.pretty funny mix emotions esp the sad part huh since i dun really like her that much..hee hee!!truthfully she played quite well...
but it was a good thing that she stirred up something before she left...it's true what she says cos amber is like playing real well..
she's like this innocent, quiet person in the game, not really playing the game but in fact that she really is...in fact playing the game really well...
no one thinks that she's a threat..something like the strategy that ethan adopted when he won the africa survivor thingi...
i think this game is going to be a little more interesting...
and rob..goodness..he's so full of himself...but i think that in a way it is because his tribe allows him to...hmmm..i wonder who would be the sole survivor...hmmm...
b_ronick
01-05-2004, 01:48 AM
who watches american idol here? anyone?
hmmm..who do you think would win?
and what do you all think about fantasia, la toya and jennifer being the bottom 3 and then jennifer was out? was it really racism?
01-05-2004, 01:56 AM
and what do you all think about fantasia, la toya and jennifer being the bottom 3 and then jennifer was out? was it really racism?
Aren't the 3 African Americans? Didn't follow American Idol today - slept through the early night. Do you mean that the Polynesian (what's her name? Gosh, I've got to do something about my memory) was out? :cry: :( :cry: I like her, both her voices and her personality... Besides her, I like La Toya though. But i think she's a little old, compared to the rest, although age doesn't really matter.
b_ronick
01-05-2004, 02:19 AM
Aren't the 3 African Americans? Didn't follow American Idol today - slept through the early night. Do you mean that the Polynesian (what's her name? Gosh, I've got to do something about my memory) was out? :cry: :( :cry: I like her, both her voices and her personality... Besides her, I like La Toya though. But i think she's a little old, compared to the rest, although age doesn't really matter.
something like that.. i mean elton john thinks that it was racism..and guess what..the next person out of the american idol is john stevens..soz to those who didn't wanna know... and they think it's because of the controversy that emerged last week and this week is to prove that they aren't racist..i dunno how true that is..hmmm...i think sometimes he can't really sing that well but i like him and his voice is somewhat brilliant...i love his voice..it's different but not versatile..i think i would love to hear him sing jazz songd..lovely!!!
01-05-2004, 02:47 AM
I like it when Simon said "Unfortunately, Mandy fall asleep."
Got my ass off laughing too hard.
b_ronick
02-05-2004, 06:24 PM
I like it when Simon said "Unfortunately, Mandy fall asleep."
Got my ass off laughing too hard.
it's funny but it's pretty harsh...
02-05-2004, 07:17 PM
poor johnny
03-05-2004, 03:24 AM
simon to johnny:
you and latin music are like chocolate and onions... they just don't go together!
03-05-2004, 03:36 AM
Hmmm... Are American Idols supposed to get friendly with every type of musics?
04-05-2004, 12:41 AM
Wah... So it's not easy to become an American Idol. I mean, it's not just having good voice, or sing well. It's the matter of bringing the mood out to the audience. To paint the emotion and scenery of the song by just using melody... And poor George, not that good with sentimental songs...
04-05-2004, 12:45 AM
Anyone interested in joining the Malaysian Idol? Hehe... I really hope to see another William Hung (malaysian version)...
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 12:54 AM
but i think it is unfair for the participants..i dun think anyone can actually sing all genres of songs..i mean to get someone who can sing from latin to jazz and then from r&b to soul music..it is difficult to get someone who can sing all types of songs...
i dun think anyone prominent in the music industry can sing all types of songs...
take this as an example.
celine dion can't sing gloria estefan's songs and vice versa and both of them are great singers in their own genres that they are singing in..
it is difficult to get a singer who can sing everything...
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 12:56 AM
Anyone interested in joining the Malaysian Idol? Hehe... I really hope to see another William Hung (malaysian version)...
let's hope not....
04-05-2004, 01:07 AM
but i think it is unfair for the participants..i dun think anyone can actually sing all genres of songs..i mean to get someone who can sing from latin to jazz and then from r&b to soul music..it is difficult to get someone who can sing all types of songs...
i dun think anyone prominent in the music industry can sing all types of songs...
take this as an example.
celine dion can't sing gloria estefan's songs and vice versa and both of them are great singers in their own genres that they are singing in..
it is difficult to get a singer who can sing everything...
Jack of all traits, master of everything? Btw [segan+malu], what's B&R music?
04-05-2004, 01:11 AM
let's hope not....
Hey, William Hung has a lot of supporters u know. Dun look down on him... I admit that he's more entertaining than any other participants in American Idol. Anyway, music is for entertainment right?
04-05-2004, 01:12 AM
Jack of all traits, master of everything? Btw [segan+malu], what's B&R music?
U mean...R&B? Rock & Ballad? I think so? hehe...I'm also not sure...
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 01:13 AM
R&B is rhythm and blues...
genre that beyonce and destiny's child and ruben studdard sings
at least i think so..hmm....
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 01:16 AM
let's hope not....
Hey, William Hung has a lot of supporters u know. Dun look down on him... I admit that he's more entertaining than any other participants in American Idol. Anyway, music is for entertainment right?
dun misunderstand me..i know he does have a lot of supporters and all..and i am not looking down on hum..believe me..
but i dun want another singer who can't really sing to be a famous not because of his singing talent but for some other reason which i dunno what..hmm...do i make sense? gosh!
04-05-2004, 01:19 AM
hehe...dunno where i heard r&b means rock & ballad. My friends must be fooling me....Sorry about that
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 01:21 AM
hehe...dunno where i heard r&b means rock & ballad. My friends must be fooling me....Sorry about that
sure no prob..at least i think R&B is what i think it is..not too sure as well..but i think i heard that it is..anyone good in music can help us to confirm this for us?
04-05-2004, 01:21 AM
dun misunderstand me..i know he does have a lot of supporters and all..and i am not looking down on hum..believe me..
but i dun want another singer who can't really sing to be a famous not because of his singing talent but for some other reason which i dunno what..hmm...do i make sense? gosh!
yeah....but then he has the right to be a singer too...since a lot of ppl like his singing.... How do we define a good singer? It's really very subjective....
04-05-2004, 01:23 AM
I heard of both versions before. That's why confused. Hehe, (very sia sui).
b_ronick
04-05-2004, 01:27 AM
yeah....but then he has the right to be a singer too...since a lot of ppl like his singing.... How do we define a good singer? It's really very subjective....
i dun say that he doesn't have the right but in a way what about the peeps who can actually sing? won't it be unfair to them..
i think someone who is a good singer is someone who can carry a tune well...
04-05-2004, 01:29 AM
I heard of both versions before. That's why confused. Hehe, (very sia sui).
It should be rhythm and blues. Just did some googling.... ^_^
04-05-2004, 01:31 AM
i dun say that he doesn't have the right but in a way what about the peeps who can actually sing? won't it be unfair to them..
i think someone who is a good singer is someone who can carry a tune well..
yeah...i guess u have ur point there. ^_^
b_ronick
05-05-2004, 12:00 AM
let's hope not....
any of you ever seen akademi fantasia advertisement? they make william hung look really really talented! anyway, about the argument whether or not william hung should be saluted for his popularity, i kinda pity him. i mean, yeah, initially, people respect him for his courage and determination to pursue his own dream...that's completely understandable. but, now, i feel that people don't look up to him as a singer anymore...they just take him as someone who gives them a reason to laugh out loud. i find that kinda disturbing...;) *sigh*
i know what you mean..but who can we blame..the audience themselves or the person who made him famous?
it is quite sad how he is famous for the wrong reasons..what i mean here is if he was respected for his courage and stuff but if it was as a joke it is quite sad for him..really..who can we blame?
05-05-2004, 12:11 AM
Dont worry about William Hung la...anyway he has got a civil engineering career in future to back him up... I started the topic about william hung...so i better end it up..or else William Hung will cry if he saw this thread....
Anyway, talking about Malaysian Idol and shows like that....I can see that there is a sudden increase in the numbers of such shows. Is this a good sign or wat? Previously..there are only very few of such shows...Asia Bagus was the very first that I can remember. Then came along Astro Talent Quest..and now Akedemia Fantasia...Malaysian Idol...and many more with weird weird names. No wonder more and more students dreaming of becoming a superstar one day...
b_ronick
05-05-2004, 12:30 AM
and not to forget AUDITION on NTV7..
i think it's like overdosage of talent quest in malaysia...
dun think it's practical to have too many of these singing competitions..
just one major one will do..but i dunno..
whether it's bad? maybe...maybe not..i dunno
05-05-2004, 12:32 AM
i still think Asia Bagus is the best...really miss this program man....
I dun even bother to look at the other talent quests...
b_ronick
05-05-2004, 12:34 AM
asia bagus was interesting...
i dunno about the rest..and i do watch american idol....
05-05-2004, 02:23 AM
Uhmmm... I hope when Malaysians vote, they vote it soley based on the singer's talent, not because of they are borned in what skin.
05-05-2004, 03:31 AM
dun worry..... there is certainly no racism in akademi fantasia.... vince won even though he is a chinese.... no discrimination...yay...
06-05-2004, 12:46 AM
no one from recom interested in joining one of those programs? Maybe can help do some promoting for recom...hehe....and I will definitely show my full support!
06-05-2004, 10:07 PM
no one from recom interested in joining one of those programs? Maybe can help do some promoting for recom...hehe....and I will definitely show my full support!
hmm... bad idea.... ... heehee... i think we should support ppl who sing well lar... if not the Malaysian Idol chosen would not sing well... then when he represent us to World Idol.... sigh .... malu lar.... haha....
07-05-2004, 01:55 AM
hmm... bad idea.... ... heehee... i think we should support ppl who sing well lar... if not the Malaysian Idol chosen would not sing well... then when he represent us to World Idol.... sigh .... malu lar.... haha....
no lar..what i mean is those here with singing abilities should join these programs and at the same time...promote recom. haha...sambil menyelam minum air...
Malaysian singers not that bad kua.... should be ok la. Since malaysians eat all kind of spicy food...like sambal, curry, rendang..., their voices will be better than the mat sallehs...hehe
07-05-2004, 03:27 PM
Malaysian singers not that bad kua.... should be ok la. Since malaysians eat all kind of spicy food...like sambal, curry, rendang..., their voices will be better than the mat sallehs...hehe
8O 8O 8O 8O erm.... never heard of that theory before....... ehehehe
07-05-2004, 09:03 PM
8O 8O 8O 8O erm.... never heard of that theory before....... ehehehe
haha...just joking la. didnt get it ar?
b_ronick
08-05-2004, 12:42 AM
tom buchanan was just voted off..
what do you think?
a right move?
for my part i'm not sure what to say..
good strategy or back stabbing move?
08-05-2004, 09:29 PM
tom buchanan was just voted off..
what do you think?
a right move?
for my part i'm not sure what to say..
good strategy or back stabbing move?
Haha... If Rob is going to make it to the final 2, he must be prepared to face the ones that he had betrayed - Lex, Kathy, and Tom. Wow, i love the glare that Tom gave Rob before he left the council. Hmmm... Now this is getting more interesting. Who do you think that Rob and Amber are buying over to their side? Jenna or Rupert?
b_ronick
10-05-2004, 09:38 PM
i would think jenna...
if it does mean that rupert wins the last immunity challege, chances are that rupert will definitely win...but same goes to jenna as well..
i think most of them wouldn't want rob nor amber to win..
all i am wondering is that if amber and rob does happen to be the final 2 who would be the sole survivor?
10-05-2004, 09:44 PM
Eh, I heard that tonight would be the finale for Survivor. Is it true arr? What time start? I tried finding it in the newspaper but to no avail. can you tell me about it ASAP?
b_ronick
10-05-2004, 09:50 PM
it's today only at bangsar but on normal TV it's on friday..
10-05-2004, 09:55 PM
Sigh. Thomas Cup what time arr? THe CHina vs Indo one?
b_ronick
10-05-2004, 10:03 PM
sorry not sure...haven't been catching up with badminton
10-05-2004, 10:07 PM
sorry not sure...haven't been catching up with badminton
Sigh... looking at these previous posts... THis forum has turned into ICQ chat room liao arr... Hmmm...
b_ronick
10-05-2004, 10:08 PM
hahahah..who started it first....
hmmm..you? hahahah
10-05-2004, 10:12 PM
See what i mean?
Ok, transmission ends here...
b_ronick
13-05-2004, 09:48 PM
sheesh..anyway..can you believe it la toya london is out...
arrggghhhh..why? why?
i think she can sing really well..i dunno what to say...
anyone agree with me?
13-05-2004, 10:21 PM
Yeah, I think she's one of the best... Too bad, majority votes count... Jasmine's not bad wert... I dun think Diana really qualifies lor, if compared to La toya.
14-05-2004, 12:24 AM
Anyone seen "There's something about Mirian"?
Avandia Problems (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/avandia/)
b_ronick
14-05-2004, 10:06 PM
Yeah, I think she's one of the best... Too bad, majority votes count... Jasmine's not bad wert... I dun think Diana really qualifies lor, if compared to La toya.
i know!!!
i really thought that she was going to win...
jasmine..well..not my type of singing kind of thing..heheh
14-05-2004, 10:08 PM
Eh, she has good voice wert....
b_ronick
14-05-2004, 10:17 PM
Eh, she has good voice wert....
yeah but it takes more than a good voice to be a singer...
i really think that it is mostly cos of her looks that got her this far
15-05-2004, 03:03 PM
Sigh! Amber won the million dollars. Luckily it isn't Rob, but i think she will split up the money with him anyway. I think the whole Survivor All Stars is being dominated by this 2 love birds. They got each other, a car each, and a million dollar. I heard that there's another million dollar which the spectators can vote whom to give them to, right? Who do you think will get the million cash? I hope it's either Rupert or Kathy.
b_ronick
17-05-2004, 09:00 PM
i think rupert have a big chance of getting it cos the thing is that he has always topped the favourite survivor polls..
17-05-2004, 10:02 PM
Who can actually vote? Can we? They didn't give us the no. to vote. else, i would have cast 20 votes on Rupert! :D
b_ronick
18-05-2004, 10:01 PM
i think he has won the 2 million dollars..
i just dunno who told me before!
i think if i am not wrong rupert has already won the cash prize
20-05-2004, 01:38 AM
Oh, really? How come 2 mill?
b_ronick
22-05-2004, 01:18 PM
oppss..soz..wrong info from fren..it's one million..
sigh..now that there is no survivor on tv what is there to watch?
22-05-2004, 01:21 PM
oppss..soz..wrong info from fren..it's one million..
sigh..now that there is no survivor on tv what is there to watch?
malaysian idol?? hehe...see who will survive??
23-05-2004, 02:53 AM
i think i've just seen them singing for audition's audition. My opinion - they always put on a funny face while singing, some sort of gestures that makes you think they are having constipation.
23-05-2004, 11:32 AM
i think i've just seen them singing for audition's audition. My opinion - they always put on a funny face while singing, some sort of gestures that makes you think they are having constipation.
ya ya..thats true. They are trying to act like they are professionals ler... Cant they just be themselves?
b_ronick
23-05-2004, 04:47 PM
when is it aired on TV?
23-05-2004, 08:01 PM
when is it aired on TV?
8tv....somewhere in june kua..
23-05-2004, 08:23 PM
when is it aired on TV?
Recently, somewhere in the evening. Forgotten which channel, coz i was on comp when the TV aired it (my sis was watching some show)... Just caught some glimpse of it. Not that much impressive. Even the prologue sound/ prelude sounds exactly the same as America's Idol.
23-05-2004, 08:25 PM
when is it aired on TV?
Recently, somewhere in the evening. Forgotten which channel, coz i was on comp when the TV aired it (my sis was watching some show)... Just caught some glimpse of it. Not that much impressive. Even the prologue sound/ prelude sounds exactly the same as America's Idol.
u watched the acapella version?? just a few minutes oni rite?
23-05-2004, 09:10 PM
I think so lar.. Something like that. They had a group singing, right? Hmm... I saw some people tried to dominate the singing session. No doubt they are good, but please be a little original.
25-05-2004, 03:07 PM
does "Audition", "Akademi Fantasia" comes under reality TV? though both suck..haha...like so..fake and so...hmm..i dunno what to say..
25-05-2004, 09:03 PM
does "Audition", "Akademi Fantasia" comes under reality TV? though both suck..haha...like so..fake and so...hmm..i dunno what to say..
Oh, you mean like the part when they are supposed to vote a person out of the singing group? Their crying were like so affected. Yeah, you should be sad to see your mates being voted off, but crying on the stage? What are you trying to show to the public? You're the most sensitive and caring friend in the world? Rite! I bet they are happy that they are not the ones being voted off that night. Tears of joy, i guess.
b_ronick
26-05-2004, 08:50 PM
i know what you mean..
i mean if you are upset or really sad that their fren is leaving..doesn't mean you have to start hugging on the person's legs or stg..
it's so unbelievable..
it's more like ermm.. a stage drama..gosh!!!!!!!
26-05-2004, 09:18 PM
it's more like ermm.. a stage drama..gosh!!!!!!!
Maybe that's what Akademik Fantasia is all about. Drama kings and queens.
27-05-2004, 11:43 AM
then they should name it, "Akademi Drama" instead LOL
their crying, and hugging and screaming out the persons's name, it was a s if the person's dying...like meraung raung and all..like, what the...anyway, AF sucks..though i like watching it coz it's so LAME-O! hihihi
anyway, today's the final for American Idol..and i cant watch it coz hv to prepare stuff for BTN blergh! anyway, hope Fantasia wins...Shs'e so cool. plus i like the fact that she's not white hehehe...power to the non-whites! (not that im against white ppl or anything but, once in a while, it's good to see a winner of a different colour) :wink:
27-05-2004, 10:20 PM
then they should name it, "Akademi Drama" instead LOL
their crying, and hugging and screaming out the persons's name, it was a s if the person's dying...like meraung raung and all..like, what the...anyway, AF sucks..though i like watching it coz it's so LAME-O! hihihi
anyway, today's the final for American Idol..and i cant watch it coz hv to prepare stuff for BTN blergh! anyway, hope Fantasia wins...Shs'e so cool. plus i like the fact that she's not white hehehe...power to the non-whites! (not that im against white ppl or anything but, once in a while, it's good to see a winner of a different colour) :wink:
Last year's winner was a black guy what.
lonewolfhan
28-05-2004, 12:41 PM
Fantasia Won...
Sigh~ i knew the result b4 i watched it by myself...
Abit sad that Diana din win... but i wont deny that Fantasia was superb in the finale !!!
Malaysian Idol is coming soon.. hahaa... do u guys think that it will be as interesting as American Idol ? i hope soo.... i hope the contestants have the certain standard,... hope it wont turn out to be another version of Akademi Fantasy ( or watever the name is..).. :P
30-05-2004, 10:25 PM
Wah, i missed the grand finale... Was Fantasia that good? I know she's like the hot chilly that spices the whole American Idol, but i don't think that's what it takes to be an American idol. Hmm... I'll have to find the website to download the finals and listen to her myself.
31-05-2004, 12:36 AM
jasmine trias RULEZ..................!!!
b_ronick
31-05-2004, 09:45 PM
Last year's winner was a BLACK guy what.
what??african american not black okay?
and his name is ruben studdard
b_ronick
31-05-2004, 09:48 PM
Wah, i missed the grand finale... Was Fantasia that good? I know she's like the hot chilly that spices the whole American Idol, but i don't think that's what it takes to be an American idol. Hmm... I'll have to find the website to download the finals and listen to her myself.
if you say that..then what does it take to become an american idol?
looks over talents? then who do you think should become the american idol?
31-05-2004, 09:49 PM
Last year's winner was a BLACK guy what.
what??african american not black okay?
and his name is ruben studdard
Uhmm... If African Americans are not black, then who are blacks? ERmmm... maybe i sounded too racist, but at that moment, i couldn't think of the word African American, so that's why i used the word black.
b_ronick
12-06-2004, 08:15 PM
now that malaysian idol have started..what do you guys think about it?
i saw one of the audition there are some that can really sing..
lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 03:10 PM
Hmm.. i dun like Malaysian Idol actually... since this is an international event.. i think all of them should speak and sing in English... sighh.... but this does not happen...
i watched one episode b4.. haha... some really CANNOT sing... im wondering.. r they trying to be the next William Hung ?? they r juz humiliating themselves.... Hmm... i feel embarrassed for them... :oops:
lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 03:13 PM
BRonick: ..Hmmm.. u miss the GRAND finale... i mean really really GRAND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
woww.. both of them were superb ! i like the song named "I BELIEVE" very much.. i have downloaded it... both Diana's and Fantasia's version...
After finish singing.. Fantasia cried on the stage... and every one stood and clapped... so..u say... was she great ? haha...
20-06-2004, 04:21 PM
BRonick: ..Hmmm.. u miss the GRAND finale... i mean really really GRAND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
woww.. both of them were superb ! i like the song named "I BELIEVE" very much.. i have downloaded it... both Diana's and Fantasia's version...
After finish singing.. Fantasia cried on the stage... and every one stood and clapped... so..u say... was she great ? haha...
u have it on ur comp? can i have it?
lonewolfhan
20-06-2004, 04:39 PM
Haha.. yea.. i got the songs in my notebook.. but the quality is not that good la.. but i still listen to it everyday... hehe.. =)
Randomphantom
20-06-2004, 08:49 PM
about Malaysian Idol, Is it me or do they spend way too much time doing MTV style scenes. They should display contestant names onscreen... come on where's that 5 seconds of fame every contestant deserves?
Some of them can really sing well. Go malaysia! Still, too many irritating william hung wannabes...
that last episode...oh man that girl - acting like the judges owe her or something... *vomit*
20-06-2004, 08:57 PM
Thread unlocked. ^_^
Some ppl feel that this discussion can proceed, so u guys and girls can continue discussion about reality tv shows here.
As for Malaysian Idol, there's a separate thread here :
Malaysian Idol !?!? Mixed Opinion? (http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=711&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0&sid=3feb4721cc47ae41eec014c3095b8f62)
Hi boys and girls,
RE: AKADEMI FANTASIA
i have read much comments and thoughts on American Idol and Malaysian Idol. i wonder if there are anyone who have been following our very own "Akademi Fantasia"?
i never saw last year's Akademi Fantasia but have heard the winner Vince was fantastic and well deserved to win. i have been told that the contestants for this year's Akademi Fantasia appear to be much more talented compared to last year and some of them have shown enormous star quality and showmanship during the first few weeks.
For those who watch this show, who are your favourite contestant?
Linda was my pick, just that she was eliminated last weekend. we were all so upset.
02-08-2004, 03:20 PM
soorry mate, wat akademi fantasia....
THE AMAZING RACE is back with the 5 season now, and is running at full speed.....it is so 'thrilling' and filled with unexpected results....
so, which pair do you like the most???
i like the twins, not only becoz of their looks, but also for their competitiveness...
quite a number of lenglui also ler...
and Brandon is reallly a nice guy...
anybody watch the last episode... where they have to eat 2 pounds (about 1kg) of caviar(fish eggs).... ewwwww.....
and i dun like that small thing..... she is so evilish and so full with preconceptions...
any comments???
03-08-2004, 01:22 AM
oh... being small has her advantage... she and her partner got free rides while others were panting on the streets running to the destination point.
kucingbiru
03-08-2004, 06:12 AM
i really really really hope that shows like elimidate wont come to malaysia. uuh, it's so lame. u can see how cheap people can be, fighting for "love" like gorillas.
dinna_g
24-09-2004, 02:40 AM
Anyone's addicted to The Apprentice? Because I am! If you haven't seen it, you should... it's sooooo goood. probably the best reality tv show next to survivor.. (sorry, survivor is getting old.. i dont do survivor no more)
20-12-2004, 04:12 AM
Anyone's addicted to The Apprentice? Because I am! If you haven't seen it, you should... it's sooooo goood. probably the best reality tv show next to survivor.. (sorry, survivor is getting old.. i dont do survivor no more)
AGREE....
The Apprentice is really TOO GOOD.... Can't believe it that i've been missing almost 2 seasons... started to catch the show when it was left with 8 applicants on the season 2....
Kelly is the winner... hands down....
no doubt about it...
hmm... it really does educate us about interviewing.... and meeting business people... and learn how to deal with others... and how to be a leader... and when to be a leader.
it is really educational and exciting... and it gives a lot of teachings.. like sex selling...
can't wait for the third season... Jan 20th 2005.. damn, it is almost the end of the year already...
and the next season concists of 2 teams.. 1 team is Book Smart vs the other team of Street Smart...
Book smart team members will be of those with several degrees from top US Uni... while the street smart team members will be of those with high school diploma but successful entrepreneurs...
it's gotta be exciting....
and I kinda like the talking bobblehead.... Donald Trump... especially when he says," YOU'RE FIRED!"
astraltruist
20-12-2004, 05:44 PM
(sorry, survivor is getting old.. i dont do survivor no more)
yeah i agree with tht.. it's also getting boring, the games are almost the same n it's not as nice as before.. so i have stopped watching it. apperentice rocks! :lol:
b_ronick
22-12-2004, 02:35 PM
ahaha..
din know this topic was still hot..hahaha..
that's great!
23-12-2004, 03:08 AM
(sorry, survivor is getting old.. i dont do survivor no more)
yeah i agree with tht.. it's also getting boring, the games are almost the same n it's not as nice as before.. so i have stopped watching it. apperentice rocks! :lol:
it's good that some reality shows get old and boring.... if not, i will have to spend many more hours a week watching them...
currently, i'm just watching the amazing race , the apprentice(ended, waiting for the new season), battle of the sexes..(sometimes)