View Full Version : which country shud i choose 4 pharmacy?
aioxen
04-04-2007, 06:49 PM
Australia, new zealand, japan, n uk
i need to know which is the most suitable one 4 my interview tomorrw. pls give out ur opinion...thanks
limeuu
04-04-2007, 07:24 PM
oz, nz, and uk are all good, and language will be easier...........unless you know japanese, or have a great interest in japan/japanese, may be wise to avoid japan...........
aioxen
04-04-2007, 07:32 PM
oz, nz, and uk are all good, and language will be easier...........unless you know japanese, or have a great interest in japan/japanese, may be wise to avoid japan...........
hm..any other additional info that i need to consider to justify my decision?
qwerty
04-04-2007, 09:56 PM
hey where is ur intervu place n date n time? i chose new zealand....coz my friend's sis is studying there n she said is great...
aioxen
04-04-2007, 10:01 PM
hey where is ur intervu place n date n time? i chose new zealand....coz my friend's sis is studying there n she said is great...
tomolo at kb at 8 am....so early lor.....
mind telling what is the advantages of new zealand
limeuu
04-04-2007, 11:04 PM
hm..any other additional info that i need to consider to justify my decision?
uk: old country, very historic, good quality education, but cold, wet, can be miserable in winter............
oz, usually excellent weather, save may melbourne........
nz: beautiful, natural, clean, can be cold in south island, but small country, quiet (too quiet), somewhat "backward" compared to the above two......
personally i would choose oz...........
Kevin89
04-04-2007, 11:17 PM
and NZ got many sheep *meeeh* just joking
But NZ is really quite a nice place to study, according to my friend.
Btw if u are taking pharmacy, better know some drugs, eg: what medicine to take when fever or whatever illness. Cause a recommer said he/she was asked this question when interview
limeuu
04-04-2007, 11:41 PM
and NZ got many sheep *meeeh* just joking
But NZ is really quite a nice place to study, according to my friend.
Btw if u are taking pharmacy, better know some drugs, eg: what medicine to take when fever or whatever illness. Cause a recommer said he/she was asked this question when interview
not joke, the truth.................there are 4 million humans, and 60 million sheeps.............. 8O
napoloeon
04-04-2007, 11:42 PM
Actually im facing a dilemma also of choosing uk or Aus to do my pharmacy degree. Aus offer bachelor of pharmacy(Bpharm) but uk offer master of pharmacy(Mpharm) so uk will be in advantage as both need 4 years. Besides, in term of reputation i think that uk will be better compare to Aus(quality not sure). But i will like continue to stay and work in the country after i have finished my studies(get a PR or watever). I have heard and eventually checked that Aus will more easier for us(Asian) to migrate and thair policy encourage immigration(correct me if i was wrong) and uk is on the other way. Well, money is not really a problem for me so i didnt apply to any scholarship(parents said give the chance to other people who really need and deserve it). So, anyone can enlighten me whether to choose uk or Aus? I will very grateful if any1 can give some info and advice. Thanks!
limeuu
04-04-2007, 11:48 PM
Actually im facing a dilemma also of choosing uk or Aus to do my pharmacy degree. Aus offer bachelor of pharmacy(Bpharm) but uk offer master of pharmacy(Mpharm) so uk will be in advantage as both need 4 years. Besides, in term of reputation i think that uk will be better compare to Aus(quality not sure). But i will like continue to stay and work in the country after i have finished my studies(get a PR or watever). I have heard and eventually checked that Aus will more easier for us(Asian) to migrate and thair policy encourage immigration(correct me if i was wrong) and uk is on the other way. Well, money is not really a problem for me so i didnt apply to any scholarship(parents said give the chance to other people who really need and deserve it). So, anyone can enlighten me whether to choose uk or Aus? I will very grateful if any1 can give some info and advice. Thanks!
if you ultimate intention is to stay on as a migrant, it's a no brainer.............definite oz, or maybe nz...........seriously, you DON'T want to migrate to the uk...............
05-04-2007, 10:28 AM
A teacher told me, his daughter said she wanted to do medicine in Australia during interview but at the end she got Ireland. So, actually it doesn't matter what you choose, the final decision is on their side....
napoloeon
05-04-2007, 10:21 PM
if you ultimate intention is to stay on as a migrant, it's a no brainer.............definite oz, or maybe nz...........seriously, you DON'T want to migrate to the uk...............
haha. Y not uk? is it because of its bad weather u mentioned juz now?Nz will not be my choice because u need to have first degree before u can do pharmacy.
limeuu
05-04-2007, 11:09 PM
haha. Y not uk? is it because of its bad weather u mentioned juz now?Nz will not be my choice because u need to have first degree before u can do pharmacy.
not correct.............the "medical sciences" cohort do a common 1st year called health science, and then depending on results and interested, gets pigeon holed into the respective health sciences courses like medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry, physiotherapy, or move on to non-health related courses...........
not a good system for foreign fees paying students, but a great system for the nation, as you will get the right people getting into the right courses, with the right qualifications (no back door like russia.........)
hunliang
05-04-2007, 11:17 PM
Another thing is that a MPharm has no advantage over a BPharm. In the end of the day, all u will be is a registered pharmacist. Unless u want to go further into academic or research side of things, a BPharm is usually sufficient.
kintaro_kun
06-04-2007, 07:12 PM
absolutely correct that the Mpharm in the uk has no difference whatsoever when compared to the Bpharm in oz. ppl tend to get misguided by the term "masters of pharmacy" in the uk Mpharm programme. you still get registered to practice the same way. if you have a Mpharm and intend to do postgraduate studies you'd still have to study for a proper masters in research, as the oz pharmacists do.
the american PharmD, however, is totally different. but no one in msia is prepared to face the hassle in doing pharmacy in the states anyway.
aioxen
07-04-2007, 07:29 AM
not correct.............the "medical sciences" cohort do a common 1st year called health science, and then depending on results and interested, gets pigeon holed into the respective health sciences courses like medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry, physiotherapy, or move on to non-health related courses...........
not a good system for foreign fees paying students, but a great system for the nation, as you will get the right people getting into the right courses, with the right qualifications (no back door like russia.........)
does that we have to waste one year study there?
n
how bout japan?seems that no one comment on the country....
limeuu
07-04-2007, 11:31 AM
does that we have to waste one year study there?
n
how bout japan?seems that no one comment on the country....
you wouldn't "waste" one year................if you are good, particularly if you are a jpa scholar, you should be able to make the cut off, but no guarantee, you will need to work hard the first year............
if you fail however to enter pharmacy 2nd year, you can choose another of the health related courses (eg physiotherapy), or ghet your credits transferred to other courses...........
but it does mean there is NO guarantee you will finish in pharmacy, going in the first year..........
it is a very good system for NZ, it ensures the best suited candidates for the critical courses like nedicine, and minimise wastage, as many who may have originally intended to take up medicine, will have changed their minds, and their places not wasted, unlike programmes that are fixed from year 1.........NZ is a small and not very rich country, but they have managed their resources (natural and human) very well.................
aioxen
07-04-2007, 04:53 PM
owh..ic...hm..how bout japan?seems like no one talking bout it....
studioworks
09-04-2007, 03:10 PM
yah,how about japan pharmacy?wat is the chances to get uk,nz,aus,jp or imu(imu twinning with which country n wat da duration)
can some1 answer this.thx
aioxen
09-04-2007, 10:34 PM
n wat is imu?
Kevin89
09-04-2007, 10:37 PM
n wat is imu?
International Medical University in Malaysia
napoloeon
09-04-2007, 11:42 PM
IMU twin with university of Strathclyde(scotland,uk). It's a 2.5(local) + 1(uk) twinning course. However, the Mpharm degree awarded is not accredited by the Royal Pharmaceutical Of Great Britain meaning that upon finishing d course u must return back to malaysia to practice as pharmacist(except u continue to study for higher degree) .
There's another option also if u opt for uk. University of Nottingham malaysia campus also offer Mpharm. Its actually a 2 + 2 course meaning dat u will do d first 2 years at malaysia campus and d final 2 years at uk campus. As it is a relatively new course(started in 2005), so it hasnt received the accreditation from the authority at the moment but the accreditation process should be completed in may 2007(u can call them).
For Australia, SIT college twin with the University of South Australia to offer Bpharm. Its a 2 + 2 course also. It is accredited by the Pharmacy Boards of South Australia.
Well, all the pharmacy courses i mentioned above is fully accredited by the Pharmacy Boards of Malaysia. If u wan 2 have a overseas pharmacy degree but money is d matter, those will be a better choices cause it is far more cheaper compare to staright away do it 4 years overseas.
studioworks
10-04-2007, 11:20 AM
wat different between Mpharm n Bpharm? is it Master And bachelor?but i c ppl after a level go for Mpharm in imu in feb... Bpharm in imu is offered in sept(i forget)...is it the same or wat?i can either study twinning or fully in imu rite?
-ELaiNE-
10-04-2007, 06:42 PM
wat different between Mpharm n Bpharm? is it Master And bachelor?but i c ppl after a level go for Mpharm in imu in feb... Bpharm in imu is offered in sept(i forget)...is it the same or wat?i can either study twinning or fully in imu rite?
BPharm and MPharm in IMU has no difference in levels..both are undergraduate programmes(entry requirement is pre-u).
Many ppl misunderstood that MPharm is a masters programme and BPharm a bachelor degree..their only difference is that MPharm is a twinning programme with UK(University of Strathlyde,Scotland) whilst BPharm is done full 4 years locally..MPharm is called MPharm so that it is differentiated from the local BPharm. Of course their difference lies in the fees structure as well. For BPharm(4 years locally)is around 125k, for MPharm(2 1/2 years local,1year in UK)is around 180k(not inclusive of living cost). There's also a difference in these two programme's course structure..the proffessor explained this during their open day which i attended 2 weekends ago..it's something about how the syllabus is being divided. For BPharm, it's based on Body Systems and for MPharm i can't recall..but the chapters you learn in each semester is somehow different though the curriculum remains similar. Hope this will help to clarify your doubts. If you are interested in IMU check out their website.
www.imu.edu.my
P.S: Intake for BPharm in IMU is July and MPharm in February
hunliang
10-04-2007, 07:02 PM
For Australia, SIT college twin with the University of South Australia to offer Bpharm. Its a 2 + 2 course also. It is accredited by the Pharmacy Boards of South Australia.
To add to that, once ur registered in Australia, you can go to any state to practice with just a simple license convert as the Pharmacy Board/Council recognise all interstate licenses.
MPharm in Australia is a totally different thing that UK. MPharm in Australia is a graduate entry course - meaning you need a 1st degree before you can enter. I think only UNSW and UWA offers that. I'm currently doing the MPharm course in UWA, and there is not much difference between the course i'm doing compared to an undergraduate course offered in other universities. The only difference is that you do the 4 year programme in 2 years, since we have the basics already when we 1st entered the course.
The advantage is that you have extra skills from your 1st degree to add on to what you learn in pharmacy, which sometimes can be an advantage if you practice in hospitals or work in pharmaceutical industries. The disadvantage is that you have one extra year of study... and the already hard course will be twice as hard since your doing it in half the time.
Oh and don't go to Japan, since your whole course will be in Japanese, the degree won't be recognise in many other countries. Furthermore, a large part of pharmacy is about communication skills... if your language skills is not good enough, you won't be able to communicate well.
studioworks
11-04-2007, 12:30 PM
japan? k,bcaz jpa actually offer japan pharmacy also.....
it is not quite true to say that japan has few recognition....then y jpa send student to study engineering n pharmacy there(any other course)..but learning JAPANESE is a MUST
i seldom or NEVER heard any scholar get pharm japan b4
Ca3ine
14-06-2008, 10:05 PM
Hi I'm going to do pharmacy in NZ.Which uni is best?