View Full Version : Free for Breakfast??

13-03-2004, 10:22 PM
Are you too busy for breakfast? You're not alone. In the rush to get the kids to school or ourselves to work, plenty of us skip breakfast. Or we grab a cup of coffee and a pastry and call that a meal.

Unfortunately, we may be giving up a lot more than just breakfast, several studies suggest. In findings published in the April 1999 Journal of the American College of Nutrition, researchers looked at what 1,108 French volunteers served up for their morning repast. People who ate a hearty breakfast containing more than one-quarter of their daily calories -- usually in the form of a ready-to-eat breakfast cereal -- consumed less fat and more carbohydrates during the day than people who skimped on food in the morning. Breakfast eaters had a higher intake of essential vitamins and minerals. Plus they generally had lower serum cholesterol levels, which are associated with reduced danger of heart disease.

Better physical health isn't the only payoff. A study of 262 volunteers reported in the November 1999 issue of the International Journal of Food Science and Nutrition showed that people who consumed breakfast cereal every day reported feeling better both physically and mentally than those who rarely poured a bowl of flakes.

Sit down to a healthy breakfast and -- who knows? -- you might even add years to your life. Researchers from the Georgia Centenarian Study recently reported that people who reach the ripe old age of 100 tend to consume breakfast more regularly than those who skip the first meal of the day.

I've seen this phenomena in many of my friends in Uni...they tend to sleep very very late and when they wake up the next day, already noon..hence, they tend to have brunch. But, IMHO, breakfast is always the most important and indispensable meal of the day, a good breakfast is a good start for the day. I just want to share this information with you all, hopefully after reading the above short quote from MSN, for those who hardly grab a bite in the morning for breakfast, please do so, for the better...hehe....

Cheers! :D

13-03-2004, 10:22 PM
Are you too busy for breakfast? You're not alone. In the rush to get the kids to school or ourselves to work, plenty of us skip breakfast. Or we grab a cup of coffee and a pastry and call that a meal.

Unfortunately, we may be giving up a lot more than just breakfast, several studies suggest. In findings published in the April 1999 Journal of the American College of Nutrition, researchers looked at what 1,108 French volunteers served up for their morning repast. People who ate a hearty breakfast containing more than one-quarter of their daily calories -- usually in the form of a ready-to-eat breakfast cereal -- consumed less fat and more carbohydrates during the day than people who skimped on food in the morning. Breakfast eaters had a higher intake of essential vitamins and minerals. Plus they generally had lower serum cholesterol levels, which are associated with reduced danger of heart disease.

Better physical health isn't the only payoff. A study of 262 volunteers reported in the November 1999 issue of the International Journal of Food Science and Nutrition showed that people who consumed breakfast cereal every day reported feeling better both physically and mentally than those who rarely poured a bowl of flakes.

Sit down to a healthy breakfast and -- who knows? -- you might even add years to your life. Researchers from the Georgia Centenarian Study recently reported that people who reach the ripe old age of 100 tend to consume breakfast more regularly than those who skip the first meal of the day.

I've seen this phenomena in many of my friends in Uni...they tend to sleep very very late and when they wake up the next day, already noon..hence, they tend to have brunch. But, IMHO, breakfast is always the most important and indispensable meal of the day, a good breakfast is a good start for the day. I just want to share this information with you all, hopefully after reading the above short quote from MSN, for those who hardly grab a bite in the morning for breakfast, please do so, for the better...hehe....

Cheers! :D

13-03-2004, 10:36 PM
hehehe ... I'm one of those ppl who cannot study after skipping breakfast ... b4 going to class every morning, I always spare 30 minutes to go to the grill bar and get some breakfast ... even the guy at the grill bar know me and my 2 pieces of egg-and-cheese sandwich breakfast :) :)

13-03-2004, 10:36 PM
hehehe ... I'm one of those ppl who cannot study after skipping breakfast ... b4 going to class every morning, I always spare 30 minutes to go to the grill bar and get some breakfast ... even the guy at the grill bar know me and my 2 pieces of egg-and-cheese sandwich breakfast :) :)

kennytang
13-03-2004, 10:45 PM
huh.. ashamed to say
i take breakfast depending on my mood n the time i wake up
should change, right?

kennytang
13-03-2004, 10:45 PM
huh.. ashamed to say
should change, right?

13-03-2004, 10:49 PM
I agree with Luke and PeiWen that breakfast is very essential. I for one, cannot have a productive time, if I skip breakfast. I count breakfast the most essential meal of the day... Yeah, very sad to see most people give it a miss.

Having said that, I would say that all 3 meals are essential!

13-03-2004, 10:49 PM
I agree with Luke and PeiWen that breakfast is very essential. I for one, cannot have a productive time, if I skip breakfast. I count breakfast the most essential meal of the day... Yeah, very sad to see most people give it a miss.

Having said that, I would say that all 3 meals are essential!

14-03-2004, 12:11 AM
it is true that breakfast is the most essential meal... after about 10 hours of not consuming(from after dinner of the day b4, about 8pm until the next morning 6am,) the stomach should be very empty...

but 1 more thing, what we consume is also very vital...
don't ever be like my room mate =>KENNYTANG

huh.. ashamed to say
should change, right?
sorry, kenny....
averagely, he consumes 2 packets of instant noodles daily.....
as a result... he is as skinny as lidi.... hahaha.. it rhymes...
he is 4+ kg.... for a guy slightly less than 170cm...
:roll:

14-03-2004, 12:11 AM
it is true that breakfast is the most essential meal... after about 10 hours of not consuming(from after dinner of the day b4, about 8pm until the next morning 6am,) the stomach should be very empty...

but 1 more thing, what we consume is also very vital...
don't ever be like my room mate =>KENNYTANG

huh.. ashamed to say
should change, right?
sorry, kenny....
averagely, he consumes 2 packets of instant noodles daily.....
as a result... he is as skinny as lidi.... hahaha.. it rhymes...
he is 4+ kg.... for a guy slightly less than 170cm...
:roll:

14-03-2004, 01:53 AM
the only time I take breakfast is if i pull an all niter. Otherwise, then I don't even eat during the day i think. But I snack a lot.

14-03-2004, 01:53 AM
the only time I take breakfast is if i pull an all niter. Otherwise, then I don't even eat during the day i think. But I snack a lot.

royston
14-03-2004, 06:26 PM
Breakfast problem? After your studies, come to Intel to work. Your breakfast time is fixed, if you don't go for makan, you will be lectured by your supervisor. Even if you are busy with something, you have to go.

You have no money or REALLY no time? Don't be silly, our company subsidy 1 bun and 1 sachet of coffee milk daily for everyone of us, just drop by the canteen and get it.

I used to take 1 cup of coffee daily while I was in CLHS, I have *used* to it but it is still not healthy. So no matter how, I have to take my 3-meal daily... :wink:

~ roy ~

royston
14-03-2004, 06:26 PM
Breakfast problem? After your studies, come to Intel to work. Your breakfast time is fixed, if you don't go for makan, you will be lectured by your supervisor. Even if you are busy with something, you have to go.

You have no money or REALLY no time? Don't be silly, our company subsidy 1 bun and 1 sachet of coffee milk daily for everyone of us, just drop by the canteen and get it.

I used to take 1 cup of coffee daily while I was in CLHS, I have *used* to it but it is still not healthy. So no matter how, I have to take my 3-meal daily... :wink:

~ roy ~

chenghau
14-03-2004, 06:52 PM
Breakfast. Back at home, my family always had our breakfast ready before I went to school.

But now, I very rarely have breakfast. Not that I really don't have time or money, but I tend to eat brunch.

But then, I need a lot of food at midnight.

chenghau
14-03-2004, 06:52 PM
Breakfast. Back at home, my family always had our breakfast ready before I went to school.

But now, I very rarely have breakfast. Not that I really don't have time or money, but I tend to eat brunch.

But then, I need a lot of food at midnight.

Cirnelle
15-03-2004, 04:23 AM
.i realised breakfast is really important in european coutries. people eat really a lot for breakfast. since coming to germany i have gradually developed this habit of eating really heavy breakfast, unlike in malaysia when my breakfast usually consist of a piece of bread. . here i eat bread with ham,butter,honey,cornflakes,milk and coffee.and i really must say this-- a good breakfast can really make my day!

i realised i am "addicted" to eating proper breakfast when i could actually wake up at 730am on sunday morning to eat breakfast!! (the youth hostel i was staying in serves breakfast at 8am).
and at night b4 i go to sleep, i am actually looking forward to eating breakfast!! people who know me would have said this," what?yiling? waking up at 730pm for breakfast on sunday? that's unbelivable!!" yea, i am that kind of people who will skip breakfast when they dun need to wake up for class or sth,which means the possibility for me to be awake at sunday morning is like...~0 :oops:

my dad once told me this : eat like a king for breakfast, eat like a begger for dinner. i think i know why he told me this now. eat like a king ( or queen.. :D ) in the morning and u will feel like a king for the rest of ur day!!

Cirnelle
15-03-2004, 04:23 AM
.i realised breakfast is really important in european coutries. people eat really a lot for breakfast. since coming to germany i have gradually developed this habit of eating really heavy breakfast, unlike in malaysia when my breakfast usually consist of a piece of bread. . here i eat bread with ham,butter,honey,cornflakes,milk and coffee.and i really must say this-- a good breakfast can really make my day!

i realised i am "addicted" to eating proper breakfast when i could actually wake up at 730am on sunday morning to eat breakfast!! (the youth hostel i was staying in serves breakfast at 8am).
and at night b4 i go to sleep, i am actually looking forward to eating breakfast!! people who know me would have said this," what?yiling? waking up at 730pm for breakfast on sunday? that's unbelivable!!" yea, i am that kind of people who will skip breakfast when they dun need to wake up for class or sth,which means the possibility for me to be awake at sunday morning is like...~0 :oops:

my dad once told me this : eat like a king for breakfast, eat like a begger for dinner. i think i know why he told me this now. eat like a king ( or queen.. :D ) in the morning and u will feel like a king for the rest of ur day!!

15-03-2004, 04:28 AM
it's human nature to resist what's good for them. that's why i don't eat breakfast.:D

15-03-2004, 04:28 AM
it's human nature to resist what's good for them. that's why i don't eat breakfast.:D

dinna_g
16-03-2004, 12:11 AM
if you don't eat breakfast, your metabolism for that day will be low. try to eat breakfast, even if it means a small bite of cookie. i rarely miss breakfast, i need that one cup of coffee :D

dinna_g
16-03-2004, 12:11 AM
if you don't eat breakfast, your metabolism for that day will be low. try to eat breakfast, even if it means a small bite of cookie. i rarely miss breakfast, i need that one cup of coffee :D

16-03-2004, 03:04 AM
if coffee counts as breakfast, i guess i do eat breakfast after all.:D

16-03-2004, 03:04 AM
if coffee counts as breakfast, i guess i do eat breakfast after all.:D