View Full Version : How important is punctuality to you?

14-03-2004, 01:54 AM
Talking about UiTM bus services, and since coming to Germany, I really can't imagine life without being punctual.

The buses and trains here come right on the minute.

It's so nice to be able to plan your trip upfront and never waste a second waiting for the bus or train. It sure sux if you have to wait in the cold.

I really think that it's high time that we change this "Malaysian Time Attitude"

At least from this generation onwards, we shall be as punctual as the Europeans. (or is it just Germans?)

14-03-2004, 01:54 AM
Talking about UiTM bus services, and since coming to Germany, I really can't imagine life without being punctual.

It's so nice to be able to plan your trip upfront and never waste a second waiting for the bus or train. It sure sux if you have to wait in the cold.

I really think that it's high time that we change this "Malaysian Time Attitude"

At least from this generation onwards, we shall be as punctual as the Europeans. (or is it just Germans?)

14-03-2004, 11:22 AM
Yeah, I fully agree about the punctuality and I have to say that it is a bad syndrome that not only happens in Malaysia, but across the world. I have been mingling with a lot of students from many parts of the world, and I can see that most international students over here in US are not punctual.

I hate it so much that many activities that are attended by international students are not punctual at all. It is the same thing whether I am meeting a group of people from Singapore or any other part of the world. It is always this "tidak-apa" attitude and I think we all need to change.

14-03-2004, 11:22 AM
Yeah, I fully agree about the punctuality and I have to say that it is a bad syndrome that not only happens in Malaysia, but across the world. I have been mingling with a lot of students from many parts of the world, and I can see that most international students over here in US are not punctual.

I hate it so much that many activities that are attended by international students are not punctual at all. It is the same thing whether I am meeting a group of people from Singapore or any other part of the world. It is always this "tidak-apa" attitude and I think we all need to change.

20-03-2004, 04:41 PM

Really? I thought that only Malaysia's time is like rubber band that always stretches... I can't imagine US being unpunctual... It will actually give them a bad image, won't it?

20-03-2004, 04:41 PM

Really? I thought that only Malaysia's time is like rubber band that always stretches... I can't imagine US being unpunctual... It will actually give them a bad image, won't it?

20-03-2004, 09:22 PM

LoVeLy.... :P that sounds like utopia.....

20-03-2004, 09:22 PM

LoVeLy.... :P that sounds like utopia.....

21-03-2004, 06:34 PM
punctuality.............. oh yes!!! i hate people who do not have time literate.

21-03-2004, 06:34 PM
punctuality.............. oh yes!!! i hate people who do not have time literate.

21-03-2004, 09:53 PM
Remind me that a couple of weeks ago, our lecturer commented us on punctuality. As we were conducting a seminar, the seminar was 5 minutes late than the proposed time. In fact, our lecturer arrived at the venue 15 minutes earlier than the proposed time.
I think Japanese still amazed me in their punctuality. Their very particular to time and I think it's already instilled in everyone that time is precious, and if you're the one who's late (in Japan), everyone will throw a weird glance at you, treat you as an 'alien', as if you don't know their culture there. Besides that, their discipline is another aspect that make me really have to put my hat off on them. I attended their assembly once, and those student (high school) were so discipline that they actually didn't need prefect at all, no need teachers to go around to observe and control the situation. When they sang the national athem, school song, all were sung in top, loud, clear voices. Malaysia should take these attitudes as examples and absorb the good ones from them.

21-03-2004, 09:53 PM
Remind me that a couple of weeks ago, our lecturer commented us on punctuality. As we were conducting a seminar, the seminar was 5 minutes late than the proposed time. In fact, our lecturer arrived at the venue 15 minutes earlier than the proposed time.
I think Japanese still amazed me in their punctuality. Their very particular to time and I think it's already instilled in everyone that time is precious, and if you're the one who's late (in Japan), everyone will throw a weird glance at you, treat you as an 'alien', as if you don't know their culture there. Besides that, their discipline is another aspect that make me really have to put my hat off on them. I attended their assembly once, and those student (high school) were so discipline that they actually didn't need prefect at all, no need teachers to go around to observe and control the situation. When they sang the national athem, school song, all were sung in top, loud, clear voices. Malaysia should take these attitudes as examples and absorb the good ones from them.

gesar
21-03-2004, 10:06 PM
I advocate to punctuality....I cannot stand people not being punctual....To me, someone who is not punctual is someone who take things for granted and don't things seriously....Well, that is according to my opinion.... :D :D :wink: :? :roll: 8O

gesar
21-03-2004, 10:06 PM
I advocate to punctuality....I cannot stand people not being punctual....To me, someone who is not punctual is someone who take things for granted and don't things seriously....Well, that is according to my opinion.... :D :D :wink: :? :roll: 8O

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:18 PM
Agreed, but sometimes you just can't help being late. You can never say that you will always be punctual cause even if you are early, you cannot expect what will happen in some cases. If i'm late for some good reasons but get still get scolded for taking things for granted, I'll be really mad.

Talking about late, some lecturers are really inconsistent in punctuality.

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:18 PM
Agreed, but sometimes you just can't help being late. You can never say that you will always be punctual cause even if you are early, you cannot expect what will happen in some cases. If i'm late for some good reasons but get still get scolded for taking things for granted, I'll be really mad.

21-03-2004, 11:41 PM

Are you thinking whom I am thinking of? :twisted:

21-03-2004, 11:41 PM

Are you thinking whom I am thinking of? :twisted:

miraclesnfantasy
22-03-2004, 12:25 PM
punctuality has always been sumthing important in my family. when i was in school, i had to get up early for d bus which came at 6.30am. i guess this sumhow disciplined me. anyway i dont favour late people but sumhow since most of my fwens are those type of creatures, then tolerance is probably the only answer. but just because my fwens are doing it, doesn't mean that i have to join the group right? so i just try to be not to early and not to late...just try to be on time... :)

miraclesnfantasy
22-03-2004, 12:25 PM
punctuality has always been sumthing important in my family. when i was in school, i had to get up early for d bus which came at 6.30am. i guess this sumhow disciplined me. anyway i dont favour late people but sumhow since most of my fwens are those type of creatures, then tolerance is probably the only answer. but just because my fwens are doing it, doesn't mean that i have to join the group right? so i just try to be not to early and not to late...just try to be on time... :)

b_ronick
22-03-2004, 02:29 PM
punctuality? :?: :?:
many ppl don't understand the meaning of this word..
i mean if they knew the meaning they would probably ignore it.. :!: :!:
in my opinion, people who fail to be punctual are those who tend to take things for granted.. :roll:
i mean if you were the one waiting and not the one making the other person wait, would you like that?
am i punctual?
well, i try my best to be..
i dun quite like ppl waiting for me..it would just make me uncomfortable.. :!:

b_ronick
22-03-2004, 02:29 PM
punctuality? :?: :?:
many ppl don't understand the meaning of this word..
i mean if they knew the meaning they would probably ignore it.. :!: :!:
in my opinion, people who fail to be punctual are those who tend to take things for granted.. :roll:
i mean if you were the one waiting and not the one making the other person wait, would you like that?
am i punctual?
well, i try my best to be..
i dun quite like ppl waiting for me..it would just make me uncomfortable.. :!:

22-03-2004, 03:33 PM
People here don't care much about punctuality and it irks me!!! In my college for instance, even formal functions start at least 15 - 30 mins later than the time printed on the invitation card. The funny thing is, most M'sians don't feel bad about being late. "Aiyoh...they won't start on the dot lah...no need to go so early..." It's so disgusting. With this attitude, it's a little wonder why we're still where we are.

22-03-2004, 03:33 PM
People here don't care much about punctuality and it irks me!!! In my college for instance, even formal functions start at least 15 - 30 mins later than the time printed on the invitation card. The funny thing is, most M'sians don't feel bad about being late. "Aiyoh...they won't start on the dot lah...no need to go so early..." It's so disgusting. With this attitude, it's a little wonder why we're still where we are.

22-03-2004, 03:38 PM
I think that the main fault actually falls on the MPs and or the higher authorities ... They are supposed to be the role model of our society and yet they reflects negative values by going to functions very very late... If everyone knows that the MP is going to be late (as always), then will they go early and spend their time waiting there for an hour or so just to wait for the arrival of the MP? No way, man! Time is precious. After all, the people are just emulating those big shots, what's the big deal about that?

22-03-2004, 03:38 PM
I think that the main fault actually falls on the MPs and or the higher authorities ... They are supposed to be the role model of our society and yet they reflects negative values by going to functions very very late... If everyone knows that the MP is going to be late (as always), then will they go early and spend their time waiting there for an hour or so just to wait for the arrival of the MP? No way, man! Time is precious. After all, the people are just emulating those big shots, what's the big deal about that?

b_ronick
22-03-2004, 04:04 PM
that's quite true to a certain extent...
but it doesn't mean that the ppl have to follow right?
i mean as far as emulating others, shouldn't they be wise enough to only emulate the good qualities not the negative ones?

b_ronick
22-03-2004, 04:04 PM
that's quite true to a certain extent...
but it doesn't mean that the ppl have to follow right?
i mean as far as emulating others, shouldn't they be wise enough to only emulate the good qualities not the negative ones?

22-03-2004, 06:52 PM
Let me give you a hypothical example. If you have a teacher who always comes to class more than 15 minutes late, you will attend your class about 10 minutes late as well, yes? I mean, there are some things you can do within the 10 minutes ... So, if there is an extra time, hey, why dun we just grab it, rite?

Well, in my context, it's ok to be not punctual if the one you are meeting is always not punctual, i.e., you understand well his or her unpunctuality...

22-03-2004, 06:52 PM
Let me give you a hypothical example. If you have a teacher who always comes to class more than 15 minutes late, you will attend your class about 10 minutes late as well, yes? I mean, there are some things you can do within the 10 minutes ... So, if there is an extra time, hey, why dun we just grab it, rite?

Well, in my context, it's ok to be not punctual if the one you are meeting is always not punctual, i.e., you understand well his or her unpunctuality...

27-03-2004, 10:31 PM

The MPs have their reasons for being late. do you have any idea how many functions they have to attend everyday? Their drivers are risking their lives speeding everyday on the highways just to make it to the function.

27-03-2004, 10:43 PM
Well, some yes, but definitely not all. They just can't help being punctual... Or maybe they just can't help being later than others... I mean, it's a tradition already...