View Full Version : The KLCI: A Booming Economy/ An Impending Election?

Patrick
12-04-2007, 09:15 PM
The title says it all. What are your views?

kpchen
12-04-2007, 09:32 PM
My part-time job isn't paying me more.
The iPod still has a hefty price tag.
Beggars still roam the streets.
Broadband facilities (read: streamyx) is still too costly for many.
Imported books are still expensive.

Conclusion?

Election.

14-04-2007, 12:08 AM
No, I think it is another 1997 bubble waiting to burst.

Patrick
14-04-2007, 09:12 PM

Conclusion?

Election.

1. Labour abundance. When there's someone else who's willing to take over your job at the going wage rate, of course you won't be getting more money. But, if you're skilled and capable, that's a different story.

2. The price for the iPod is distorted by the exchange rate. If you convert the price from USD to MYR, you'll get a near-similar figure (but actually lower). The rest goes to tax.

3. Uhm....beggars exist in all parts of the world.

4. It's already one of the cheapest in Asia, if not the world.

5. Exchange rate distortions.

Well, I feel that the economy is indeed booming. That's because if you look at other indices, such as the STI and NIKKEI, they all follow similar patterns. Don't tell me that Japan and Singapore are having elections as well!

14-04-2007, 11:28 PM
somehow i think the economy blooming is kind of an illusion now... the wealth isn't really trickling down to the people...

prophx_blizice
15-04-2007, 12:10 AM
The Index point is increasing, but the diesel price also increasing
the chain reaction from that causing everything to be more expensive
even the value of ringgit is increasing, or our annual income is increasing
still cant afford to overcome the problem that everything around is more expensive.
I am not economy expert..haha juz my view

kpchen
15-04-2007, 10:47 AM

Conclusion?

Election.

1. Labour abundance. When there's someone else who's willing to take over your job at the going wage rate, of course you won't be getting more money. But, if you're skilled and capable, that's a different story.

2. The price for the iPod is distorted by the exchange rate. If you convert the price from USD to MYR, you'll get a near-similar figure (but actually lower). The rest goes to tax.

3. Uhm....beggars exist in all parts of the world.

4. It's already one of the cheapest in Asia, if not the world.

5. Exchange rate distortions.

Well, I feel that the economy is indeed booming. That's because if you look at other indices, such as the STI and NIKKEI, they all follow similar patterns. Don't tell me that Japan and Singapore are having elections as well!

No point telling the people about the robust economy if the people couldn't feel it. Like seehua said, an illusion...

1.: Accepted. LOL.

2: And shipping costs. iPods cost a hell lot lower in the UK. According to my friend anyway, and he might be wrong =)

3: You tried going to Klang? Kota Raya area? Yes, they exist in other countries. But try not to compare with other countries as the idea here is that though Malaysia's economy is "improving", our country's hardcore poor are still suffering.

4: South Korea? Plus, you can't really compare with other countries based on the price alone as most Malaysians don't earn a lot.

5: I still don't feel the effects of the economy.